Ghostsitters (Araminta Spookie, #5)
When Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac head off to Transylvania, Araminta is upset -- they're going to be away on her birthday. However, when it turns out that her almost-grown-up cousin, Mathilda, will be babysitting, it seems things couldn't get any better. But Mathilda's brought along trouble: two rowdy teenage ghosts, Ned and Jed, who listen to no one. It's a disaster! Can the girls figure out a way to get Ned and Jed out of the house for good?

Ghostsitters (Araminta Spookie, #5) Details

TitleGhostsitters (Araminta Spookie, #5)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 1st, 2008
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0061449229
ISBN-139780061449222
Number of pages214 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fiction, Childrens, Paranormal

Ghostsitters (Araminta Spookie, #5) Review

  • Diana
    December 15, 2009
    My kids loved all these books--we read them together. They are fun, funny, spooky, but not at all scary. There are friendly ghosts, a fun haunted house, pet bats, a vampire uncle, and two funny little girls as the main characters. The chapters aren't too long, so they are easy to read aloud.
    more
  • catherine james
    December 24, 2008
    It isn't enough that Araminta and best friend Wanda are left behind during her birthday week just so Aunt Tabby, Uncle Drac, and Wanda's parents can explore the giant bat caves of Transylvannia. Great Aunt Emilene has been "delayed," which means the girls are stuck with a worse baby sitting prospect: Nurse Watkins. Thank goodness Araminta's cooler than cool cousin Mathilda shows up and convinces Nurse Watkins that Aunt Tabby wouldn't mind if she looked after the girls alone.But Araminta and Wand It isn't enough that Araminta and best friend Wanda are left behind during her birthday week just so Aunt Tabby, Uncle Drac, and Wanda's parents can explore the giant bat caves of Transylvannia. Great Aunt Emilene has been "delayed," which means the girls are stuck with a worse baby sitting prospect: Nurse Watkins. Thank goodness Araminta's cooler than cool cousin Mathilda shows up and convinces Nurse Watkins that Aunt Tabby wouldn't mind if she looked after the girls alone.But Araminta and Wanda quickly realize there are worse things than having an old fuddy-duddy for a baby sitter once they meet Ned and Jed; two young poltergeists Mathilda can't make go away. The mischievous spirits aren't in Spookie Manor more than five minutes before wrecking all sorts of havoc. With resident ghost Sir Horace already on edge over the planned destruction of his old keep, it's not long before he's threatening to vacate the premises permanently. When Ned and Jed's antics lead to the discovery of a tarnished old ring hidden in Sir Horace's armor, the old ghost is beyond despair and out the door with the manor's other two ghosts (his page Edmond, and faithful wold Fang) in tow.Together Araminta, Wanda, and Mathilda must find the source of Horace's distress, save his keep, bring their ghosts home, convince their new guests Spookie Manor *isn't* where they want to settle permanently, and set the house back to rights all before the grown-up return from their trip.With its light, humorous story telling and quirky, engaging characters GHOSTSITTERS gives young readers an entertaining escape into Araminta's world of paranormal excursions and hijinx. Originally posted at TeensReadToo.com.
    more
  • Jennifer Wardrip
    April 16, 2009
    Reviewed by Cat for TeensReadToo.comIt isn't enough that Araminta and best friend, Wanda, are left behind during her birthday week just so Aunt Tabby, Uncle Drac, and Wanda's parents can explore the giant bat caves of Transylvannia.Great Aunt Emilene has been "delayed," which means the girls are stuck with a worse babysitting prospect: Nurse Watkins. Thank goodness Araminta's cooler-than-cool cousin Mathilda shows up and convinces Nurse Watkins that Aunt Tabby wouldn't mind if she looked after t Reviewed by Cat for TeensReadToo.comIt isn't enough that Araminta and best friend, Wanda, are left behind during her birthday week just so Aunt Tabby, Uncle Drac, and Wanda's parents can explore the giant bat caves of Transylvannia.Great Aunt Emilene has been "delayed," which means the girls are stuck with a worse babysitting prospect: Nurse Watkins. Thank goodness Araminta's cooler-than-cool cousin Mathilda shows up and convinces Nurse Watkins that Aunt Tabby wouldn't mind if she looked after the girls alone.But Araminta and Wanda quickly realize there are worse things than having an old fuddy-duddy for a babysitter once they meet Ned and Jed, two young poltergeists Mathilda can't make go away.The mischievous spirits aren't in Spookie Manor more than five minutes before wreaking all sorts of havoc. With resident ghost Sir Horace already on edge over the planned destruction of his old keep, it's not long before he's threatening to vacate the premises permanently. When Ned and Jed's antics lead to the discovery of a tarnished old ring hidden in Sir Horace's armor, the old ghost is beyond despair and out the door with the manor's other two ghosts (his page Edmond and faithful wold Fang) in tow.Together Araminta, Wanda, and Mathilda must find the source of Horace's distress, save his keep, bring their ghosts home, convince their new guests Spookie Manor *isn't* where they want to settle permanently, and set the house back to rights - all before the grown-ups return from their trip.With its light, humorous storytelling and quirky, engaging characters, GHOSTSITTERS gives young readers an entertaining escape into Araminta's world of paranormal excursions and hijinx.
    more
  • Keeley (ABibliophilesJourney)
    June 29, 2014
    Ghostsitters In the final book of the Araminta Spookie series, Araminta and Wanda are going to be left home alone while all the adults go on a tour of a bat cave. Originally, Uncle Drac's creepy mother was supposed to come babysit but she no longer can make it. So Mahtilda decides to do it instead, but she doesn't come alone. Along with her she brought two ghosts, Ned and Jed, that follow her everywhere. Her parents are ghost removers and they removed Ned and Jed (two poltergeists) from a home a Ghostsitters In the final book of the Araminta Spookie series, Araminta and Wanda are going to be left home alone while all the adults go on a tour of a bat cave. Originally, Uncle Drac's creepy mother was supposed to come babysit but she no longer can make it. So Mahtilda decides to do it instead, but she doesn't come alone. Along with her she brought two ghosts, Ned and Jed, that follow her everywhere. Her parents are ghost removers and they removed Ned and Jed (two poltergeists) from a home after Mahtilda explained to them that haunting that house would be boring. Now Ned and Jed go everywhere with her and she can't get rid of them. Ned and Jed begin harassing Sir Horace to the point that he informs everyone that is will no longer be staying at Spookie House. Araminta and Wanda have to do whatever it takes to get Sir Horace to stay in Spookie House before it is too late! On top of everything else, Araminta's birthday is coming up and no one seems to care (except Uncle Drac of course)!
    more
  • zapkode
    June 10, 2016
    {My thoughts} – Araminta is excited because her birthday is coming up and she is looking forward to celebrating. However, her Aunt Tabby wins a contest and all the adults go on a trip leaving the children behind in the care of other adults.It turns out that her Great Aunt can’t make it to babysit, but her cousin does. Her cousin and Wanda then plan a surprise prefer Araminta without her every figuring out a thing about it.While Araminta is sad about not being able to celebrate her birthday the w {My thoughts} – Araminta is excited because her birthday is coming up and she is looking forward to celebrating. However, her Aunt Tabby wins a contest and all the adults go on a trip leaving the children behind in the care of other adults.It turns out that her Great Aunt can’t make it to babysit, but her cousin does. Her cousin and Wanda then plan a surprise prefer Araminta without her every figuring out a thing about it.While Araminta is sad about not being able to celebrate her birthday the way she wanted to she decides to help Sir Horace. Sir Horace’s castle is up for auction and she’s determined to get it back for him.The end of the book blends both situations together and wraps it all up in a neat little bow.I am sure any child that likes a bit of mystery and paranormal mixed together can easily enjoy this series as much as I have been. I really am enjoying this series and am looking forward to starting the next book.
    more
  • Dolly
    November 30, 2012
    This is the fifth and last book in the Araminta Spookie series by Angie Sage. I discovered this book at our local library and thought it might be a fun, spooky read for our oldest. She loved it and has read through the entire series very quickly. Now I'm just trying to catch up. This story centers on Araminta's birthday and her adventures with Wanday while Brenda, Barry, Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac away for the week. The story is entertaining and exciting and the deadpan humor is snort-out-loud fu This is the fifth and last book in the Araminta Spookie series by Angie Sage. I discovered this book at our local library and thought it might be a fun, spooky read for our oldest. She loved it and has read through the entire series very quickly. Now I'm just trying to catch up. This story centers on Araminta's birthday and her adventures with Wanday while Brenda, Barry, Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac away for the week. The story is entertaining and exciting and the deadpan humor is snort-out-loud funny. It's an easy read and I really enjoyed reading it. We are sad that there aren't any more books in this series. They were a lot of fun to read. interesting quote:"Things always look better when you have a Plan." (p. 32)
    more
  • Rebecca
    September 17, 2009
    Ghostsitters is a neat little story that is a very light, fast-paced read. I really like the Araminta Spook series by Angie Sage. They are for younger readers but the storyline is interesting enough to keep me entertained.I find Araminta to be such a funny character. She is clueless about so many things like in this book she had no idea what a pizza was. It was so cute.The illustrations are really cool too. I find the way the people are drawn to be similar to Arnold of Hey Arnold, with the footb Ghostsitters is a neat little story that is a very light, fast-paced read. I really like the Araminta Spook series by Angie Sage. They are for younger readers but the storyline is interesting enough to keep me entertained.I find Araminta to be such a funny character. She is clueless about so many things like in this book she had no idea what a pizza was. It was so cute.The illustrations are really cool too. I find the way the people are drawn to be similar to Arnold of Hey Arnold, with the football shaped heads.There were a couple of things that were meant to be a surprise but I guessed them part way through the story but that didn't stop me from enjoying it.Overall, Ghostsitters is a neat little story that is entertaining and a very light and fast read that is mostly good for younger readers but it is a delightful story for anyone who is interested.I'd recommend this one to anyone who likes ghosts and little mysteries.
    more
  • Ms. Patterson
    February 10, 2012
    Araminta Spookie is left at Spookie House while her Aunt and Uncle go to Transylvania to see the giant bats. Having Great Aunt Emilene as her babysitter is not how Araminta wished to spend her birthday, but it looks like that's what is happening. When cool cousin Mathilda comes instead, Araminta couldn't be more thrilled. Mathilda always dresses super stylish and is loads of fun to be around--the two ghosts she's brought along, eh, not so much. What will Araminta do to get rid of these rambuncti Araminta Spookie is left at Spookie House while her Aunt and Uncle go to Transylvania to see the giant bats. Having Great Aunt Emilene as her babysitter is not how Araminta wished to spend her birthday, but it looks like that's what is happening. When cool cousin Mathilda comes instead, Araminta couldn't be more thrilled. Mathilda always dresses super stylish and is loads of fun to be around--the two ghosts she's brought along, eh, not so much. What will Araminta do to get rid of these rambunctious ghosts before they completely destroy Spookie House?Although this is the fifth Araminta Spooky book, I didn't feel lost not having read any of the other books in the series. This is a fast-paced tale, perfect for reluctant readers. I'd recommend to fans of funny stories. My rating: C.
    more
  • Ladiibbug
    July 27, 2015
    #4 Araminta Spooky series - childrenYoung Araminta is happy when Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac win a trip to Transylvania. Araminta is happily planning activities and excursions with her friend Wanda that normally Aunt Tabby would not allow.Aunt Tabby destroys Araminta's plans with news that there will be babysitter. :-( And worse, Great Aunt Emilene will babysit the girls. Araminta's visions of a bit more freedom get worse - her Great Aunt cannot come, so at the last minute, the dour and strict Nur #4 Araminta Spooky series - childrenYoung Araminta is happy when Aunt Tabby and Uncle Drac win a trip to Transylvania. Araminta is happily planning activities and excursions with her friend Wanda that normally Aunt Tabby would not allow.Aunt Tabby destroys Araminta's plans with news that there will be babysitter. :-( And worse, Great Aunt Emilene will babysit the girls. Araminta's visions of a bit more freedom get worse - her Great Aunt cannot come, so at the last minute, the dour and strict Nurse Watkins arrives.The girls still have their version of spooky fun, with the house's ghostly Sir Horace (who lives inside a suit of armor). Two young poltergeists keep the girls on the run.I liked 1-3 of this series better, but I'll keep reading it. It's quick, quirky and fun.
    more
  • mandyfujita
    February 8, 2012
    Aunt Tabitha wins a contest that her and 3 others will get to see the bats in Transylvania. Araminta and Wanda hope they are one of the three, but alas the parents are going. Araminta is disappointed not only because her birthday is during this trip, but she loves bats and the Wizzard parents don't. Great-aunt Emilene is scheduled to babysit, but because of a disasterous hair appointment, Araminta's cousin, Mathilda shoes up. Nurse Watkins babysits for one day because Great-aunt did not show u Aunt Tabitha wins a contest that her and 3 others will get to see the bats in Transylvania. Araminta and Wanda hope they are one of the three, but alas the parents are going. Araminta is disappointed not only because her birthday is during this trip, but she loves bats and the Wizzard parents don't. Great-aunt Emilene is scheduled to babysit, but because of a disasterous hair appointment, Araminta's cousin, Mathilda shoes up. Nurse Watkins babysits for one day because Great-aunt did not show up. Araminta is bummed, but life gets exciting when 2 poltergists follow the babysitter.
    more
  • Kamryn Robertson
    March 17, 2011
    Ghostsitters is about two girls named Arimata and Wanda and there parents are going on a trip to see bats. Arimata's grandamother was supposed to watch them but she had a hair emerency, it turned orange! So her nurse watched them, but Arimata's cousin talked the nurse into letting her watch the girls. She bring two ghosts with her named Ned and Jed, they tear the house up, but when their parents got back it was clean. In the end Ned and Jed ended up staying in a castle with one of their good gh Ghostsitters is about two girls named Arimata and Wanda and there parents are going on a trip to see bats. Arimata's grandamother was supposed to watch them but she had a hair emerency, it turned orange! So her nurse watched them, but Arimata's cousin talked the nurse into letting her watch the girls. She bring two ghosts with her named Ned and Jed, they tear the house up, but when their parents got back it was clean. In the end Ned and Jed ended up staying in a castle with one of their good ghosts. This book is really good and I think you should read it.
    more
  • $$$$i get money$$$
    February 23, 2009
    yo who is thinking of there cat cuz i noe i am and who is not thinking of teachers hehehe im mad bored right know im in mi house doin nothing today at skell is was crazy and today is 3.4.09 and i hated this day becuz dusty throw mi friend out becuz she said to ha stut up omg it was mad funny i was dieing it was so funny and mi she would not even dare do that to mi naw im just playing haha it was so funny it was sooooooooo funny to day and who the hell likes this website it is so boring who ever yo who is thinking of there cat cuz i noe i am and who is not thinking of teachers hehehe im mad bored right know im in mi house doin nothing today at skell is was crazy and today is 3.4.09 and i hated this day becuz dusty throw mi friend out becuz she said to ha stut up omg it was mad funny i was dieing it was so funny and mi she would not even dare do that to mi naw im just playing haha it was so funny it was sooooooooo funny to day and who the hell likes this website it is so boring who ever likes this web sit e ur a jerk and a twiki
    more
  • Terry
    January 7, 2009
    "This was awesome" was the response we received when we closed the book. Over the two weeks it took us to read the book, there were lots of "uh-ohs" and giggles along the way. There were several nights our daughter asked if she could stay up later to keep reading. This is a book our daughter is recommending to her friends.To read our full review, go to The Reading Tub®.
    more
  • Amy
    March 8, 2011
    Genre: Modern day fantasy, fiction, young readerVery fun book to read and I enjoyed it. Young readers will enjoy the details and fast pace. The descriptive writing is excellent. The black and white illustrations are detailed and help the reader to experience what is happening at Spookie House. This book is also part of a series which I think will make the reader want to continue on and see what else happens with the character or Araminta Spookie.
    more
  • Little Miss and the Legomeister
    August 18, 2012
    Another absurd and funny book in the Araminta series. I love Araminta's unique POV. The characters are amusing, if a little stereotypical, and it had a good story with an ending that Little Miss enjoyed so much she couldn't hold still. Maybe not the best choice for bedtime reading. But we've really enjoyed reading these together.
    more
  • James
    December 27, 2012
    This is the last book of Arminta Spookie series. I liked this book because it was so hilarious and funny. It also had those mystery feelings. Arminta is growing up to be a good teenager. And she has some adventures like this. She likes these adventures. If I am in a same situation as her, I would be so glad.
    more
  • Beth A.
    September 19, 2012
    Another absurd and funny book in the Araminta series. I love Araminta's unique POV. The characters are amusing, if a little stereotypical, and it had a good story with an ending that Little Miss enjoyed so much she couldn't hold still. Maybe not the best choice for bedtime reading. But we've really enjoyed reading these together.
    more
  • Tasneem
    January 26, 2016
    I adored the people who come to stay with Wanda and Araminta while the adults go off to Transylvania for the Batty about Bats tour. Ned, Jed and Mathilda are just a wonderful extension to the mad-cap world of the Spooks and Wizzards. I adored Minty's surprise party too and even the horrid Nurse Watkins turns out to be not too bad after all.
    more
  • Emily
    January 23, 2009
    this book is very fascinating. i love the ghost fight and how the two ghosts that araminta hates actually helped her. it shows that even though people may be annoying, or ghosts, you can still like them and be kind to them.
  • Angela
    November 24, 2011
    I love this little series about a sort of spunky and funny Addams-family-like household. This installment is about the adults winning a trip abroad and leaving the kids in the care of a series of very unusual babysitters! Fun!
  • Michael Galan
    June 2, 2010
    What I learned from this book is that if I want to find or get something I have to keep looking towards it and never give up...By the way i'm on the last book, i read #1, #2, #3, #4, and i'm on book #5.
  • Shana
    December 20, 2012
    I would be mad if my mom and dad is not here with me on my birthday. Like Araminta. But I think that her cousin is like a lazy babysitter that don't really care about the children. I also think that Ted and Jed are so not helpful.
  • RiverinaRegional Library
    April 7, 2013
    Members of Riverina Regional Library reserve your copy now
  • Hobby
    June 11, 2013
    more about this book, check on here :( http://little-alice-garden.blogspot.c... )
  • Fatemeh
    September 19, 2014
    بخاطر اینکه خیییلی منو خندوند بهش پنح ستاره دادم:)
  • Gaelan
    July 19, 2011
    it is a great book
  • Robert
    March 7, 2009
    Araminta and Wanda vs. Ned and Jed, the Poltergeists silliness, more ghosts more shocking politeness from Araminta!
  • Audriana ' Ronnie
    December 23, 2009
    I think the book was funny and instresting to me. It is very cool and I love that the author used ghosts and not real babysitters.
  • Kim
    July 8, 2010
    Spooky without the scary. Cute.
  • Andi
    October 20, 2008
    A fun little book about Araminta Spookie and her troubles with two young poltergeists when her family goes out of town. Cute book for kids with lovely illustrations.
Write a review