The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2)
Thor's hammer is missing again. The thunder god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon--the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn't just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can't retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer's return is the gods' worst enemy, Loki--and the price he wants is very high.

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2) Details

TitleThe Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 4th, 2016
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN1423160924
ISBN-139781423160922
Number of pages471 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Mythology, Childrens, Middle Grade, Adventure

The Hammer of Thor (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, #2) Review

  • Christine Riccio
    November 3, 2016
    I finished it. I LOVED IT. OTIS IS MY FAV <3 Here's my full booktalk: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xy3Dd...
  • Kat O'Keeffe
    November 2, 2016
    LOVED THIS SO MUCH. Rick Riordan just gets better and better with each series. This right here is proof that a book can be hilarious and fun and make the reader feel a whole range of emotions while also touching on some really important and relevant topics.I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS JUST A TRILOGY I NEVER WANT IT TO END BUT HOLY HELHEIM AM I EXCITED FOR THE NEXT BOOK.
    more
  • Darth J
    October 7, 2015
  • P
    October 7, 2015
    “Otis," I said."Shhh," he said. "I'm incognito. Call me...Otis.""I'm not sure that's how incognito works, but okay." The Hammer of Thor is the second book of the series. The book starts off with the quest which is about Magnus finding Thor's hammer. He has to fight against the giants, his uncle and LOKI. BIG BAD LOKI. AWWWW ! It looks promising, right ? And Alex is kinda kickass in this book. I liked her character, but not that much. Heart and Blitz are also my favorite characters, too. I have “Otis," I said."Shhh," he said. "I'm incognito. Call me...Otis.""I'm not sure that's how incognito works, but okay." The Hammer of Thor is the second book of the series. The book starts off with the quest which is about Magnus finding Thor's hammer. He has to fight against the giants, his uncle and LOKI. BIG BAD LOKI. AWWWW ! It looks promising, right ? And Alex is kinda kickass in this book. I liked her character, but not that much. Heart and Blitz are also my favorite characters, too. I have lost count of the moments when I laughed and cried over them.So why didn't I give this book five stars ?Rick Riordan has done many things in these last ten years or so. The things that made me a fan of him was his humor and wonderful idea. The concept of Percy Jackson was new, fresh and vivid - it was easy to love that series. Then comes Carter and Percy Jackson season two. Honestly, because I grow up or other reasons, I didn't enjoy them as fully as possible. However, last year I gave the Magnus series a try and liked it a lot after that. I had had high expectations for this second book, I read it with twinkling stars in my heart. And then, nothing. I felt nothing after I finished this book. Although The Sword of Summer fired me up with its spectacular ending, The Hammer of Thor was another predicament. “Mjolnir is always getting misplaced. I swear, Thor needs to have that hammer duct-taped to his face.” Rick recycled his plot. He polished the materials of his previous Percy books and mixed them up to be the new book showing before your eyes right now. The whole story was predictable. I'd known since the begining that(view spoiler)[ Loki is to be released from his confinement. (hide spoiler)] As why I was not excited and so lazy to finish. If I didn't get a lot of work to be done this weekend, I would put this book on hold until next month.However, I still liked this. I want to know more about Magnus and his friends chasing after Loki and stopping Ragnarok. The next installment is going be mind-blowing ! I know it.Anyway, I was so curious why Thor didn't beckon to his hammer as in the movie...and it would come to his hand like this....https://goo.gl/6ZnIQI
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    October 13, 2016
    I mean OBVIOUSLY I LOVED IT. It's a Riordan book! What other emotions is a reader to have except: 40% laughing, 40% fangirling, and 20% thinking about falafel??? (There is so much falafel appreciation here, by the way. It's truly inspirational.) ANYWAY. I definitely thought this was another exciting and captivating instalment (although, still, like the first book...I think it got a bit rambly) and I loved the newly introduced characters and I loved how whacky all the gods were. And can we take a I mean OBVIOUSLY I LOVED IT. It's a Riordan book! What other emotions is a reader to have except: 40% laughing, 40% fangirling, and 20% thinking about falafel??? (There is so much falafel appreciation here, by the way. It's truly inspirational.) ANYWAY. I definitely thought this was another exciting and captivating instalment (although, still, like the first book...I think it got a bit rambly) and I loved the newly introduced characters and I loved how whacky all the gods were. And can we take a moment to just appreciate HOW HILARIOUS THESE BOOKS ARE??!? I LAUGH. I LAUGH AND LAUGH.Ahem.So firstly, I have to yell about the characters. There's just so much diversity here, that it's glorious. Plus all the secondary characters are enormously interesting and complex with a good dollop of TRAGIC. 3 Magnus of course remains a top-favourite...although at times (this might seem weird to say...) he nearly felt like a secondary character in this story?! It was honestly more about Loki's children and Magnus is child of Frey so...YEAH. But he has tons of sassy quips, he's such a sarcastic dork, and he gets a terrible haircut. So lovely. Sam is still AWESOME although totally stubborn which gets them into a bit of puddles. Also I think it's adorable how in love she is with her betrothed Muslim boy, Amir. (And I'm still so insanely impressed there's no romance between her and Magus. YAAAAS.)I also loved the introduction of Alex Fierro...but I was worried for a bit! Alex comes in really rude and snipy and, gah, I was just worried? BUT THEN ALEX ENDS UP BEING COMPLETELY AWESOME AND I LOVE ALEX. Also Alex is gender-fluid, but goes by he/she pronouns depending on the day. And like, I hope this is okay to say, but I really appreciated the open and blunt discussions on gender-fluidity. I think that'd be really helpful for kids who have questions (or maybe are discovering things about their sexuality/identity themselves) to be able to just read how Alex experiences their gender-fluidity OUTRIGHT without people being angry all the time at discussing it. Also Alex is a shape-shifting child of Loki so, like awesome is just in the top percentiles here.(SORRY I HAVE A SLIGHT SOFT SPOT FOR LOKI EVEN THOUGH HE'S EVIL HERE BUT HE'S ALSO TOM HIDDLESTON SO YEAH.)I love the Sam/Magnus/Alex trio!! (And of course we won't forget Hearth and Blitz the trusty sidekicks!) The dynamics, banter, and adventures surrounding them were awesome.Also no romance?! wOOO!! I have a feeling it'll be Magnus/Alex eventually? Magnus has done a lot of staring and kind of dropped his brain when he saw Alex in a really nice dress. SO. I predict....but so far, I would still say "No romance" for this book.And I appreciate all the pop-culture references too. IT'S HILARIOUS. (Although the book will be seriously dated in 10 years, but whatever.) When gods are taking selfies and watching Netflix, I'm just going to be over here enjoying myself okay?!As for the actual plot? It was like 80% awesome and 20% "this is kind of a needless side-tour and why are we doing this get to the point mate". #awkward The quests (in this case, to find Thor's hammer) are always rambly...but sometimes I just want to CUT TO THE CHASE (hahhahhahaa...get it??! Magnus Chase?? HAHAH. Yeah I'll shut up) instead of having a bowling competition with some giants. What can I say. I'm impatient.But we still met more hilarious ludicrous gods. Including more about Thor who's addicted to Netflix, and the guy who guards the bridge (I'm sorry...Norse spelling = me dead) being super into selfies. OH and we get more of Hearth's backstory and it's super tragic. POOR ELF.ALL IN ALL: It was a fabulously awesome hilarious and engaging story! I kept getting interrupted every time I sat down to read and YEAH I'M GONNA START CHUCKING HAMMERS IN A SECOND TOO. I weep 2 tears for the rambly plot and shout 8 hurrahs for how much I snickered. And then I'll just go pet the cover because the font is slightly raised and shiny and I'm in love with it. Book dragon, yo.*** QUOTES ***"Where have you been the last month and a half?"Her shoulders tightened. "My workload this semester has been killing me. I'm tutoring kids after school. Then, as you might remember, there's my part-time job reaping souls of the dead and running top-secret mission for Odin.""You kids today and your busy schedules.""Why doesn't Thor go check this barrow himself?" I asked. "Wait...let me guess. He doesn't want to draw attention. Or he wants us to have a chance to be heroes. Or it's hard work and he has some shows to catch up on.""To be fair," Otis said, "the new season of Jessica Jones did just start streaming."I flung him overhead. Jack spiralled out of view, flying after the goat-killer while singing his own version of "Shake It Off". (I have never been able to convince him that the line isn't cheese graters gonna grate, grate, grate, grate, grate.)"Where's the gold?" I demanded. "Don't make me unleash my sword's playlist."Etiquette tip: if you're looking for the right time to leave a party, when the host yells "No one leaves here alive," that's your cue."Your horn is a phone?" Amir asked."I think technically it's a phablet," Heimdall said. "But, yes, this is Gjallar, the Horn and/or Phablet of Doomsday! I blow this baby once, the gods know there's trouble in Asgard and they come running. I blow it twice, then it's Ragnarok, baby!" He seemed delighted by the idea that he could signal the start of the final battle that destroyed the Nine Worlds. "Most of the time, I just use it for photos and texting and whatnot.""That's not scary at all," Alex said.Heimdall laughed. "You have no idea. Once, I butt-dialled the apocalypse. So embarrassing. I had to text everybody on my contact lists, like, False alarm! A lot of gods came running anyway. I made this GIF of them charging up the Bifrost and then realising there was no battle. Priceless."
    more
  • Simona Bartolotta
    January 16, 2016
    "At this point, most people would have thrown themselves down on the ground and given up hope. And by most people, I mean me."•I know that I have already raved plenty about how much I love this author and his characters, but Magnus Chase defies all standards of cutie-pie-ness and adorable-ness and funny-ness and whatnot. You just cannot not love the kid. And guess what (OBVIOUS FACT ALERT) (cit.)? I love him! •So now that we got the Obvious Fact out of the way, I should start listing all the rea "At this point, most people would have thrown themselves down on the ground and given up hope. And by most people, I mean me."•I know that I have already raved plenty about how much I love this author and his characters, but Magnus Chase defies all standards of cutie-pie-ness and adorable-ness and funny-ness and whatnot. You just cannot not love the kid. And guess what (OBVIOUS FACT ALERT) (cit.)? I love him! •So now that we got the Obvious Fact out of the way, I should start listing all the reasons why if you love Riordan and his previous books, you'll love this one too, and then those why if you have never read anything of his, you'll love it anyway. But I won't, partly because many of them already are in my review of The Sword of Summer, first book in The Gods of Asgard series, and partly because they can be more or less summed up in this sort of epiphany I had right after finishing this book: I think that when Riordan writes a new book, the world becomes a little better place. His books are fun and hilarious. They are also utterly brilliant and full of mythology (yup, you might not have figured it out but that is kind of the point), which is cool and instructive for the children and a real treat for the mythology/history/this-kind-of-stuff freaks, and I know it first-hand now because I'm currently studying for a Germanic philology course and, being able to being up on all the gazillion references? Priceless. Plus, while they entertain you and teach you all this great stuff, they also manage to tackle some sensitive and topical issue on the side. Impossible, you say? People, meet Alex Fierro."I’m gender fluid and transgender, idiot."•And not only is Alex a great character as she (as said, Alex is gender fluid, but since in most of the scenes she appears as a female, I'll use this pronoun for convenience and because she made it clear that she doesn't do "they") represents diversity in such an unusual and compelling and absolutely perfect way, she is also likeable, relatable, kick-ass and a million shades of splendid. I also appreciated how the magical element intervenes in Alex's characterization -she's a shape-shifter, so she can be male one minute and female the next. Brilliant. And she and Magnus actually talk about what it means for her to be gender-fluid and how she feels about it. I think this is all the more perfect and astonishing when you consider that The Hammer of Thor is the second instalment in a middle-grade series. We need more writers like Rick Riordan.Plus, I ship Alex and Magnus so hard you can't imagine.•And now yes, a couple of quotes for you because I'm not that cold-hearted. “The dragon’s mouth opened wide, revealing several extra rows of teeth—just in case the outer row of teeth didn’t kill me dead enough.”---“Hearth finger-spelled: K-E-N-N-I-N-G.“What’s that?” I asked.Samirah edged a little closer to the inscription. “A kenning is a Viking nickname.”“You, mean like… Hey, Kenning. How’s it going?”(My professor would have killed you so much, Magnus.)---“Dagfinn looked at me apologetically. “It's a Thing thing. You wouldn’t understand.”---“Stop that, I told my brain.Also, the wedding is tomorrow, said my brain.Get out of my head.My brain refused to get out of my head. Inconsiderate brain.”---“I think it's time you met Percy.” And that must TOTALLY happen in the next book! Thumbs up for the incoming crossover! *happy dance*PRE-READINGSo, book, this is what I want from you:Oh gods- sorry, wrong gif!*mpfff*- okay, that's funny, but no!Yes. Yes, that's what I want. Evil Loki reigns.
    more
  • April
    December 7, 2016
    YAAASSSSS!! Magnus Chase is going to meet Percy Jackson!! My two faves!!
  • Amber Robertson
    October 12, 2015
    “Otis and his brother, Marvin, pulled the god’s chariot. They also provided Thor with a never-ending supply of goat meat. Each night, Thor killed and ate them for dinner. Each morning, Thor resurrected them. This is why you should go to college, kids—so when you grow up you do not have to take a job as a magical goat." Rick Riordan's books are always some of my favourite books to read so Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor is no exception. That being said, it was even better than the first book “Otis and his brother, Marvin, pulled the god’s chariot. They also provided Thor with a never-ending supply of goat meat. Each night, Thor killed and ate them for dinner. Each morning, Thor resurrected them. This is why you should go to college, kids—so when you grow up you do not have to take a job as a magical goat." Rick Riordan's books are always some of my favourite books to read so Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor is no exception. That being said, it was even better than the first book. The Magnus Chase series feels different from Rick Riordan's other books as well, I'm not sure if it's because Norse mythology is a whole lot more intense or because he uses a series of diverse characters, but it is beyond enjoyable to read. This book got so good that I stopped taking notes and recording quotes for my review because I had been excitedly telling people about this series and running around screaming. Accurate representation of me:Now, what else can I say?I don't even know what to say because I just dove straight into this book and if you have read the first one it may be the best plan of attack. Diversity. I will talk about diversity. Now, I noticed the other month when I joined Twitter for a short period of time people wanted diverse representations in YA fiction. The Hammer of Thor has this diversity. How? You may ask. Well, first we have Samirah al Abbas who is a Muslim character in the Norse world but also believes fully in Allah. Sam's religion plays a large part in this series, with her prayers even being mentioned throughout this book. I studied Islam religion for two years in high school, so it is interesting to be able to use information I learnt in school to help me understand the book further. However, Sam was in the first book so she isn't that big of a shock. The big shock of this book is Rick Riordan introducing the first gender-fluid character in his books, Alex Fierro. I can say so much about Alex, but they were honestly my favourite character throughout this book. The fact that the pronouns were instantly taken on, whether Alex wanted to be called she/he, was amazing. I just loved it. Now, I should probably talk about the plot and the world building. Everything in this book is just perfect. The fact that we have Magnus' witty sense of humour and other characters. The fact that Magnus makes mistakes and screams in situations. The fact that Magnus sucks at sword fighting. Now, that is just Magnus. The rest of the characters are developed so much further in this book. This book doesn't suffer from second book syndrome.The plot was completely action packed. I'm not sure there was a page where something wasn't happening, or if there was it was a chapter filled with humour that had me laughing incredibly loudly. I mean the way that Rick winds his words together, because Magnus, is in fact, Annabeth's cousin, is beautiful. “I’d even had a mind-melting conversation with my cousin Annabeth about the Greek gods who hung out in New York and made her life difficult. Apparently North America was lousy with ancient gods. We had a full-blown infestation." I'm not even sure what else to say, this whole review is a complete mess. I am a mess. I love this series so much. I think the only thing that could have made this book better if our Thor was more like this You can't live in my household, where my mum is so obsessed with Thor/Chris Hemsworth that our dog got named Thor, without loving the man too. Overall, this book is a masterpiece and is definitely on my favourites of 2016 list.
    more
  • Natalie Monroe
    November 8, 2016
    Nice Natalie: I don't like that we're always here these days with Riordan's books.Cynical Natalie: Maybe if he wrote quality material, we wouldn't be here. Exhibit A: the plot. Hello, quest-with-sidekicks narrative 65.0.Nice Natalie: Oh, come on, you liked the plot! You laughed a bunch of times.Cynical Natalie: I laugh at Vines, but that doesn't mean they deserve an Oscar. What about Hearthstone's dad? (view spoiler)[They basically left him there, half-mad and terrorizing his guests. (hide spoi Nice Natalie: I don't like that we're always here these days with Riordan's books.Cynical Natalie: Maybe if he wrote quality material, we wouldn't be here. Exhibit A: the plot. Hello, quest-with-sidekicks narrative 65.0.Nice Natalie: Oh, come on, you liked the plot! You laughed a bunch of times.Cynical Natalie: I laugh at Vines, but that doesn't mean they deserve an Oscar. What about Hearthstone's dad? (view spoiler)[They basically left him there, half-mad and terrorizing his guests. (hide spoiler)] That plot thread is so loose, people keep mistaking it for the word "lose."Nice Natalie: They were on a tight schedule. I'm sure they'll get back to it next book.Cynical Natalie: And don't even get me started on the ending.Nice Natalie: Oh boy, here we go. *takes cover*Cynical Natalie: "I think it's time you met Percy." Percy. Fucking. Jackson. He has to be dragged into every damn series, every damn mythology now, does he? We all know why—The Kane Chronicles bombed without Percy. The fans want Percy, so Riordan's going to keep extending the franchise and stabbing Easter eggs in places Poseidon's son has no business being.And people are eating it up! Oh, my God, hardly anyone is complaining about this. Why are we sitting by and letting this blatant fanservice sneak by?Nice Natalie: Maybe because, like us, they squealed with delight during that part and maybe because, like us, it's the main reason they're excited for the next book.Cynical Natalie: ...Shut up. Nice Natalie: Can we talk about the good stuff now? There's a transgender and gender fluid love interest. How awesome is that?Cynical Natalie: Yes, and the reveal was about as subtle as a haddock to the face. Sam told us outright that she's transgender. It's lazy writing.Nice Natalie: It's a middle-grade book. A good portion of adults don't understand the gender spectrum beyond gay, lesbian, and bisexual. This way, the message clearly comes across. Culture appropriation is mentioned, too. It seems as though Riordan is finally getting a handle on this diversity thing. It felt a little for show in The Hidden Oracle, but here, we get to see Sam pray and interact with her culture. Nothing against Muslim-Americans who don't feel strongly about their religion, of course, but in the wake of the election and all these hate crimes going on, it's nice to see a Muslim American character who indulges in these belief and still be portrayed positively. She's someone we can root for, not a fear-monger's terrorist. This line is beautiful: "I wondered how Inge felt about being required to show her tail at all times. Was it a source of pride to show her identity , or did it feel like a punishment?" Respectful, thoughtful while leaving room for personal consideration. Cynical Natalie: You think you have me beat, don't you?Nice Natalie: Nice girls don't engage in competition, but yes.Cynical Natalie: ...Fuck you.Nice Natalie: I love you, too.Other Nice Natalie/Cynical Natalie brawls reviews:The Fault in Our StarsA Girl Like YouIf I StayDreams of Gods & MonstersThe MartianMe and Earl and the Dying GirlCatching FireAll The RageAn Ember In The AshesHarry Potter & the Cursed Child
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    October 20, 2016
    Thor's lost his dang hammer again.Loki is scheming and causing trouble, again.3.5 stars. Final review, first posted on Fantasy Literature:The god Thor has lost his hammer again, but this time it’s even worse: the giant Thrym has gotten hold of it and has hidden it away where no one else can reach it. If the hammer isn’t returned to Thor quickly, enemies of Asgard will take advantage of their weakness and attack, triggering Ragnarok, the battle at the end of the world, and bringing massive death Thor's lost his dang hammer again.Loki is scheming and causing trouble, again.3.5 stars. Final review, first posted on Fantasy Literature:The god Thor has lost his hammer again, but this time it’s even worse: the giant Thrym has gotten hold of it and has hidden it away where no one else can reach it. If the hammer isn’t returned to Thor quickly, enemies of Asgard will take advantage of their weakness and attack, triggering Ragnarok, the battle at the end of the world, and bringing massive death and destruction in the Nine Worlds.Loki the trickster, who has been chained up by the other gods as punishment for his misdeeds, visits Magnus Chase in a dream (Loki gets around pretty well in dreamland). He tells Magnus that he’s worked out a deal to get Thor’s hammer back: all Magnus has to do is bring Thrym a certain bride for a wedding in five days, along with the bride-price, and Thrym will give back the hammer as his wedding gift.There are just a few problems with this plan: The intended bride is the Valkyrie Samirah, Magnus’ friend and Loki’s daughter, who is already engaged to another man and, by the way, has absolutely no interest in marrying a giant. The bride-price that Magnus is supposed to bring to the giant is the magical Skofnung Sword, hidden in a mummified Danish king’s tomb and protected by zombie Viking guards. And certainly not least is the fact that Loki certainly has a scheme, his own devious reason for brokering this deal … if only Magnus could figure out what it is. But Magnus doesn’t see any choice but to go along with the plan, at least for now. Luckily he has his friends Samirah, Blitzen the fashion-forward dwarf, and the elf Hearthstone to help him, as well as a new acquaintance, Alex Fierro, the latest addition to the halls of Valhalla.The Hammer of Thor (2016) doesn’t diverge from Rick Riordan’s formula of mythological gods and smart-aleck half-blood children who are sent off on various quests and adventures in each book, but Riordan excels at telling a fast-paced, humorous adventure. Magnus’ talkative sword Sumarbrander, the Sword of Summer (fondly known as “Jack”) is back in full force, chatting with Magnus, flying through the air to fight enemies all by himself, and ill-advisedly falling in love with the lovely and deadly Skofnung Sword. Samirah and Hearthstone both become more fully fleshed out characters, as we get to know more about their lives and backgrounds, particularly when we visit Hearthstone’s family home in Alfheim. Thor’s hammer strikes me as a bit of a MacGuffin, an object whose primary function is to advance the plot, and, entertaining as it was, I’m not certain the overarching plot of this series was advanced much in this middle book. While the plot is amusing and we explore a few more of the Nine Worlds, the entire book struck me as a rather elaborate way to set up just one particular event that occurs toward the end.The most notable difference from his earlier books is that Riordan is making an appreciable effort to include more diverse characters, particularly in the MAGNUS CHASE AND THE GODS OF ASGARD series: Magnus is a formerly homeless teen, Hearthstone the elf is deaf, and Magnus’s closest companion is Samirah, a devout Muslim. Now in The Hammer of Thor we meet the gender-fluid Alex, whose self-identification as either male or female can change from day to day. Like Samirah, Alex is a child of the trickster god Loki, who in the traditional Norse legends was able to change his sex: he often disguised himself as a woman. So it does make sense for Loki to have a gender-fluid child. There’s a slightly clunky lecturing tone to Magnus’ discussions with Alex about respecting Alex’s current gender choice and calling Alex by the gender he/she currently identifies as, but overall this somewhat touchy subject is handled sensitively and in a way that most will consider appropriate for its intended age group of readers.The MAGNUS CHASE AND THE GODS OF ASGARD series is generally light-hearted and humorous, though it does include a fair amount of violence and mayhem, in a nod to the warlike Viking culture that inspires this series. Most of the time the violence is played for comic effect, so it’s not likely to traumatize any but the most sensitive readers. The Hammer of Thor is a solid story; it might not appeal to readers who are tired of Riordan’s formula, but it will almost certainly please the Riordan fan in your house.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. Thank you!
    more
  • Melanie
    October 8, 2015
    Aaaaand the year of waiting for Riordan's next book commences! You'd think I'd be good at waiting since I've been doing this for so many years now but NOPE. At least there's THE HIDDEN ORACLE coming out on May 3rd...
  • Jessica (priceiswong)
    October 28, 2016
    I'll admit there were times when I thought this book was a little too silly (again, maybe I'm slightly outgrowing middle grade books finally). Regardless, I still really enjoyed the story! I'll definitely want to pick up book 3!
  • Ashley Nuckles
    December 12, 2016
    This book took me so long to get through for absolutely no reason at all BUT IT WAS SO WORTH IT. 5 STARS. ALSO ALEX IS MY NEW FAVORITE CHARACTER IN THESE BOOKS! (If that wasn't obvious enough before)
  • Pragya
    January 13, 2017
    This book felt like a basket case of déjà vu. Literally speaking.Sword that turns into utility item: ✔Stupid gods: ✔16 year old 'heroes' do all the quests: ✔Snarky do-gooder protagonist: ✔What is surprising is, despite the fact that it is near indistinguishable from the Percy Jackson series, this novel managed to hook me. It was funny. “Valkyrie business. Possible code three-eight-one: heroic death in progress.""You're making that up.""I'm not.""So...what, somebody thinks they're about to die an This book felt like a basket case of déjà vu. Literally speaking.Sword that turns into utility item: ✔Stupid gods: ✔16 year old 'heroes' do all the quests: ✔Snarky do-gooder protagonist: ✔What is surprising is, despite the fact that it is near indistinguishable from the Percy Jackson series, this novel managed to hook me. It was funny. “Valkyrie business. Possible code three-eight-one: heroic death in progress.""You're making that up.""I'm not.""So...what, somebody thinks they're about to die and they text you 'Going down! Need Valkyrie ASAP!' followed by a bunch of sad-face emojis?”The story is the same - the usual demigod squad save a bunch of assess, nearly get killed, get gold trophies. You know, your usual Rick Riordan book.What made it worth reading was the diversity:✔ We have Samirah Al-Abbas (aka Sam, and my favorite person in this novel) who believes in Allah (and is the embodiment of badass: does her prayers by noon, and transports heroic souls by night)✔ There's Hearthstone, who might be my favorite elf ever. He's deaf, but never is that portrayed as a handicap or something that holds him back. There's another deaf minor character too.✔ And of course, everybody's (my) favorite, Alex Fierro, who's gender fluid and transgender. “Look, some people prefer they,’ Alex said. ‘They’re non-binary or mid-spectrum or whatever. If they want you to use they, then that’s what you should do. But for me, personally, I don’t want to use the same pronouns all the time, because that’s not me. I change a lot. That’s sort of the point. When I’m she, I’m she. When I’m he, I’m he. I’m not they. Get it?’‘If I say no, will you hurt me?’‘No.’‘Then no, not really.’”Oh, and did I mention I'm in love with all of Floor 19?...and Sam and Amir. They're so cute, they make me blush.----It's been so long since I read a Rick Riordan book, I can feel the absence of snarky puns and sassy high school protagonists fighting gods.
    more
  • Carlos.
    April 9, 2017
    Rick Riordan lo ha vuelto a hacer. De verdad, con cada libro de este señor que leo me enamoro aún más de su forma de escribir. Y sí, todos sus libros son iguales, pero es que me da igual.Como con todos los libros de este señor, ha sido un libro súper divertido y súper ágil de leer. Me lo he pasado genial reencontrándome con Sam, Magnus, Blitz y compañía; y me ha encantado saber un poquito más de Hearth, de su historia y de su mundo.También quiero señalar una cosa que me ha parecido muy heavy, in Rick Riordan lo ha vuelto a hacer. De verdad, con cada libro de este señor que leo me enamoro aún más de su forma de escribir. Y sí, todos sus libros son iguales, pero es que me da igual.Como con todos los libros de este señor, ha sido un libro súper divertido y súper ágil de leer. Me lo he pasado genial reencontrándome con Sam, Magnus, Blitz y compañía; y me ha encantado saber un poquito más de Hearth, de su historia y de su mundo.También quiero señalar una cosa que me ha parecido muy heavy, incluso para ser Rick Riordan: la introducción de un personaje genderfluid, Alex Fierro (que ya lo sabía porque lo leí en tumblr pero whatever). Me parece ameisin que este señor esté inculcando este tipo de tolerancia y de respeto a la cantidad de niños pequeños que leen sus libros, y que se esté enfrentando a todos los padres retrógrados que dicen que ya no van a comprar más sus obras. No sé, quiero mucho a este señor.En fin, no puedo decir nada de este libro que no haya dicho de cualquiera de Rick. Es maravilloso, ameno, y entrañable. Yo creo que me ha gustado incluso más que el primero, y con ese final estoy nerviosito por leer el tercero.
    more
  • Dana
    October 19, 2016
    I'm beyond disappointed in Rick Riordan. I'm disappointed that I've likely lost one of my favorite authors. The Percy Jackson series was phenomenal. It was fun and witty. The Kane Chronicles were entertaining, if mildly confusing at times, but the Egyptian spin made it worth it. I was truly excited about a new series that featured the Viking gods, as my knowledge about them was scant. Magnus Chase, vol. 1, was a small change from his normal formula (considering the guy was dead?), but the normal I'm beyond disappointed in Rick Riordan. I'm disappointed that I've likely lost one of my favorite authors. The Percy Jackson series was phenomenal. It was fun and witty. The Kane Chronicles were entertaining, if mildly confusing at times, but the Egyptian spin made it worth it. I was truly excited about a new series that featured the Viking gods, as my knowledge about them was scant. Magnus Chase, vol. 1, was a small change from his normal formula (considering the guy was dead?), but the normal elements were there: group of 3-4, home base with friends and frienemies, lots of gods aiding in the quest or asking for favors, etc. As expected our first book set the world up and I longed to explore it as I waited for book 2.Only book 2 was horrifying. Some of the smaller complaints are these:The gods are stupid- seriously. In Percy Jackson, the Greek gods were a mixed bag. Some were funny, some cruel, some strangely wise, but they all had a high level of intelligence, even if it was misguided and selfish. However, the Viking gods? They're all idiots. None of them invoke any level of respect from the reader. It's like all of a sudden we have authority issues and anyone who is an adult in this series is portrayed as immature and much less in stature than our teenagers. I understand a handful of stupid gods, but really all of them? Ugh. Next complaint is the pop culture references: I'm all for pop culture jokes. I am. But this series is SO heavy with them. Unfortunately, I didn't even understand a couple of the early ones and that's probably because they were relevant over 2 years ago when he started writing. Final complaint, and this one guys is the taker of the cake: this series is apparently Rick Riordan's political and social platform and that's unacceptable. He starts us off with Transgenderism. Okay, I get that. He's progressively added things into his series' in the past so I can see and accept adding one new issue. But then he quickly moves onto religion. All of a sudden we're discussing the ins and outs of the Muslim religion and atheism... ok, it took me by surprise, especially considering I'm barely 1/4 of the way through the book. We're really discussing heavy topics. But then he takes a GIGANTIC stab at police officers. I was incredibly offended by this. I kept reading to see if he'd explain himself or share both sides of the issue??? Nope. He just says they are racist and out to hurt people if you're not careful. That's it. We're DONE. In the Kane Chronicles, we touched on race issues and I thought it was done in a classy low key kind of way. I admired that. This series though, ripped that admiration away. What bothers me is that this book is being purchased by 6th graders everywhere. Their parents are oblivious to the social agenda that Riordan is espousing. What happened to writing a great story??? Writing intelligent and suspenseful books with lovely doses of friendship and loyalty? Sorry Riordan, but this faithful fan of yours is done.
    more
  • Catarina (TravelerBetweenWorlds)
    January 12, 2016
    October 23, 2016 UPDATE This magnificent book is already out and I haven't had the chance to read it. *sniff* #cryingoutloudOctober is getting closer!!! *dancing around* July 5, 2016 UPDATE You can find the first chapter here. April 30, 2016 UPDATE I'm late, as usual! I just seen the synopsis and sounds amazing...And the cover.... It's so beautiful!!! January 12, 2016 UPDATE The second book from Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard..... October 4th.... I'm going to die... Why, Why??? Just:
    more
  • Tabby
    October 6, 2016
    THE REVIEWWhy this book?I really liked the first bookWhat I thoughtRick Riordan did it again another amazing book! I just can't wait to get my hands on them and devour all the Rick Riordan goodness!!! Can I just say how much I love the bromance between Blitz and Hearthstone! I just love them!!! One thing I didn't like though Sam and Amir drama,I just don't care! Magnus is really growing on me though, I wasn't so sure about him in the first book. That being said I just loved the hell out of this THE REVIEWWhy this book?I really liked the first bookWhat I thoughtRick Riordan did it again another amazing book! I just can't wait to get my hands on them and devour all the Rick Riordan goodness!!! Can I just say how much I love the bromance between Blitz and Hearthstone! I just love them!!! One thing I didn't like though Sam and Amir drama,I just don't care! Magnus is really growing on me though, I wasn't so sure about him in the first book. That being said I just loved the hell out of this book definitely a must read (view spoiler)[One last thing why is Rick bringing Percy into this series? It's totally unnecessary (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Mariam
    October 9, 2015
    “You understand there's no such thing as a little death prophecy, right?"I really wish I could give this five stars (this is Rick Riordan's book after all!) but if I sit down, take a deep breath, and think about how many of these chapters Riordan's reused from his Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, I can't. I loved the characters, and the hilarious adventures Riordan writes about, but it's getting to be too much. Sure, there were some amazing, brand new scenes. But the rest? All reused wi “You understand there's no such thing as a little death prophecy, right?"I really wish I could give this five stars (this is Rick Riordan's book after all!) but if I sit down, take a deep breath, and think about how many of these chapters Riordan's reused from his Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, I can't. I loved the characters, and the hilarious adventures Riordan writes about, but it's getting to be too much. Sure, there were some amazing, brand new scenes. But the rest? All reused with maybe a couple of tweaks to it. Don't get me wrong, the book was very good. So much better than The Sword of Summer. And the last chapter got me super pumped for the next book, which is coming out in 2017 (!!!!!)Despite my complaints, I will always, always read Rick Riordan's books. So keep writing, Rick!
    more
  • Cassandra
    October 8, 2016
    "Just like the good old days: marching together into the unknown, searching for missing magical weapons and risking painful death. I’d missed my buddies!" Every time I try to ignore one of Uncle Rick's releases, or act like there are too many of his books for me to possibly still love them, I end up preordering it anyway and binge reading it. At this point I might as well admit I'm hopeless, and will be reading at minimum Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo to completion. This was the perfect boo "Just like the good old days: marching together into the unknown, searching for missing magical weapons and risking painful death. I’d missed my buddies!" Every time I try to ignore one of Uncle Rick's releases, or act like there are too many of his books for me to possibly still love them, I end up preordering it anyway and binge reading it. At this point I might as well admit I'm hopeless, and will be reading at minimum Magnus Chase and Trials of Apollo to completion. This was the perfect book to get me out of my reading slump. It was fast paced, hilarious, and honestly, held a lot more maturity than I was expecting. This book handled some topics that most authors won't dare to poke with a stick (religion, gender fluidity, and even mentally abusive parents) well and without pause. Besides a few more childish jokes, I can tell that Uncle Rick's books are beginning to mature into novels I would consider much more young adult than middle grade. Besides the stunts of the gods, Magnus and co. are definitely much more mature and deeper than past books. (Don't worry; this is by no means a jab at any of his past books.)Look forward to lots of great pop culture references guys, because as usual, there are lots and I love it. What other author talks about Netflix, Captain America, Star Wars, and Jessica Jones so freely in their novels?This book is also fantastic for Blitzstone fans, as we get a much deeper look into Hearth's childhood and many awesome bromantic scenes between everyone's favorite elf and dwarf. These two are definitely one of my favorite bromances of all time, and one of, if not my favorite, parts of the book.Now that I'm itching for The Ship of the Dead, I'll inform you that if you haven't yet, you should pick up this series. It has humor, a man-eating squirrel, diversity, an elf and dwarf who you may or may not ship, and the best promise for the next book ever: "I think it's time you meet Percy." Are you excited now?!?!
    more
  • John Papadopoulos
    July 19, 2016
    Ok, wow. What can i say about this book? Sheer perfection, brilliant, wonderful! Is this suppose to be middle grade? Because it did not seem like that at all; which that was the main factor for me to love it even more. I wish Rick would write an adult fantasy series. What makes this book stand out is the maturity and the development of the characters. It did not felt like his previous books whatsoever; Rick wanted to focus even MORE on the bond between friends, being there for each other physica Ok, wow. What can i say about this book? Sheer perfection, brilliant, wonderful! Is this suppose to be middle grade? Because it did not seem like that at all; which that was the main factor for me to love it even more. I wish Rick would write an adult fantasy series. What makes this book stand out is the maturity and the development of the characters. It did not felt like his previous books whatsoever; Rick wanted to focus even MORE on the bond between friends, being there for each other physically AND mentally which made the quest less overwhelming in a good way (you know what i mean). #Blitzstone_forever! If i say more i am going to spoil it and i don't want that. The plot was sooo engaging, fast paced, hilarious and sarcastic, as always; had me laughing out loud so many times. It totally sucks you in and takes you away from the crappy reality. Cheers to you Rick for making me feel that way. The chapters were not super long which i find it pretty refreshing. I love this series sooo much! Oh, and what an ending!! What made me really excited is that it takes place at the same time as the trials of apollo woohoo! We also got to see Annabeth again and we had a few mentions of Percy; yaas! I sooo hope we get to see Annabeth and Percy in the next book!  What a fabulous ride has been a huge step up from book 1. I cannot wait to read the next book! You guys should start reading the series if you haven't already. Big happy sigh..
    more
  • Shannon (leaninglights)
    December 12, 2016
    I knew it was only a matter of time.... yay!
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    February 7, 2017
    I think that I’ve decided that Norse Mythology is maybe my least favorite of all the mythologies I’ve learned anything about. This isn’t the first series I’ve read that when it delved into the Norse Mythology I didn’t get excited about it I think it is a Norse thing with the world tree, different realms, rainbow bridge, gods, giants, ogres, Valhalla, Ragnarok and much much more. Sometime it just feels like too much maybe.Rick Riordan is a fantastic writer. He tells very engaging stories with som I think that I’ve decided that Norse Mythology is maybe my least favorite of all the mythologies I’ve learned anything about. This isn’t the first series I’ve read that when it delved into the Norse Mythology I didn’t get excited about it I think it is a Norse thing with the world tree, different realms, rainbow bridge, gods, giants, ogres, Valhalla, Ragnarok and much much more. Sometime it just feels like too much maybe.Rick Riordan is a fantastic writer. He tells very engaging stories with some pretty cool twists to them. This one is no different than that. It has all the humor, one liners and situational comedy that I expect from one of his book and yet…..I am not enjoying this series as much as his others. Maybe it is just he lack of Percy Jackson or maybe it is the added in cultural lessons. *shrugs* I’m just not sure.This has so extra things in there for a Middle Grade to YA book that I guess if you are an uptight kind of parent you might want to be made aware of. I’m totally fine with these things being in there but if I had a kid around the age of 11-15 I’d be prepared for some discussion maybe.First there is a teenage betrothal. Sam has been betrothed to Amir since they were babies practically. They are Muslim and so some of the book time is spent on their unusual (compared to an American Teenager) relationship and the upcoming marriage they will have in about 2 years. The good news is that they are actually in love so it isn’t like her family is forcing her to marry someone she has never met or hates. Still I really don’t have a lot of expertise in this area and so I have no idea if culturally speaking this is representative or let’s get our panties all bunched up over. I’m just mentioning it.Second and this is where I’m sure some parents got peeved and Mr. Riordan got letters (good and bad) is he has a transgendered teen in this book. It works and is book appropriate because it is Loki’s child and so he/she is a shapeshifter and very gender fluid due to the nature his/her parent. Alex is the first transgendered teen to make it into anything I’ve read at this level. It is done well, it is never really preachy or anything and hey this is the world we live in. But that said I’m sure some parents will not be expecting to see that in an MG/YA book. “Look, some people prefer they,’ Alex said. ‘They’re non-binary or mid-spectrum or whatever. If they want you to use they, then that’s what you should do. But for me, personally, I don’t want to use the same pronouns all the time, because that’s not me. I change a lot. That’s sort of the point. When I’m she, I’m she. When I’m he, I’m he. I’m not they. Get it?’‘If I say no, will you hurt me?’‘No.’‘Then no, not really.’She shrugged. ‘You don’t have to get it. Just, you know, a little respect.’‘For the girl with the very sharp wire? No problem.’ I’m glad that RR went this direction with a character in his book and it totally makes sense to the story since Loki can also be male and female as well. Still heads up.Third there is some discussion about homelessness since Magnus and Alex were both homeless from time to time. Again this isn’t something normally in a contemporary UF MG/YA book. But again some magical people in this world don’t really fit in well and are sorta looked upon as mentally ill so I think the homeless/troubled teen follows this line of thought.Okay so enough stretching how much social messaging we can fit into one book series. The crux of the story is about trying to get Thor’s Hammer back since he lost it sometime in the last book. The problem isn’t so much that it is lost but about who took it. It seems someone stole it and made a deal with Loki to trade Thor’s Hammer for the hand of Sam (the previously mentioned betrothed to someone person) in marriage. So they need to find a way to get the Hammer back without marrying of their friend to a fate worse than death. It is a fun and fast paced story full of lots of little adventures leading into the big showdown. Still it is all Norse Mythology and so while some of it is pretty cool I just miss the Greeks and Romans. But, there is hope since at the end of this it is discovered that we might need a little help from my favorite Greek demi-god Percy in the next book. “Annabeth smiled. “I don’t know the ocean very well, but my boyfriend does. I think it’s time you met Percy.” I think what I’m saying is that is you haven’t read the Percy Jackson series then go read that first and then add this on after you finish those 10 books. Don’t let those movies fool you they were about a 1/10 as awesome as the books were. Unless Norse Mythology is totally your thing and you are the opposite of me and think that Greek and Roman mythology is less cool than Norse MythologyAudio Note: I didn't enjoy the narrator at all. (The original Percy Jackson series 1-5) audio narration is fantastic and this one is sub par for me.
    more
  • Steven
    November 9, 2015
    I know that Rick Riordan's books aren't for everyone. They have a silly, wacky style that just doesn't appeal to all readers. But for me, they're relaxing, fun, and highly entertaining because of the sheer amount of cheese. And I love how they share knowledge about mythology while cloaked in the disguise of a fun romp through multiple worlds.This one was an excellent "middle book" for the Norse trilogy... and the end REALLY makes me excited to see the big finale. I mean, honestly... hints of you I know that Rick Riordan's books aren't for everyone. They have a silly, wacky style that just doesn't appeal to all readers. But for me, they're relaxing, fun, and highly entertaining because of the sheer amount of cheese. And I love how they share knowledge about mythology while cloaked in the disguise of a fun romp through multiple worlds.This one was an excellent "middle book" for the Norse trilogy... and the end REALLY makes me excited to see the big finale. I mean, honestly... hints of you know who making an appearance? YES PLEASE!
    more
  • Dots
    November 15, 2015
    I hope it's like this.
  • Melissa
    October 8, 2015
    Oh man, I cant wait for the next book after that ending! Such a great, fun read. Oh man, I can´t wait for the next book after that ending! Such a great, fun read.
  • Ashley
    November 6, 2016
    What a silly book.At this point I think I've given up expecting to see anything new from Rick Riordan, and yet I'm going to keep reading his books, so I think I shall make a vow to not talk about how repetitive they are, and how he just keeps doing the same thing over and over again with variations. After that sentence I mean. In the future I shall call this The Riordan Factor and link back to this review as an explanation. It will go something like this:Excepting The Riordan Factor, this book w What a silly book.At this point I think I've given up expecting to see anything new from Rick Riordan, and yet I'm going to keep reading his books, so I think I shall make a vow to not talk about how repetitive they are, and how he just keeps doing the same thing over and over again with variations. After that sentence I mean. In the future I shall call this The Riordan Factor and link back to this review as an explanation. It will go something like this:Excepting The Riordan Factor, this book was actually pretty great. This is largely due to his sense of humor, and his supporting characters. Magnus is an engaging hero, and even though you can easily predict where this is going, even if you haven't read previous Riordan books, it's still fun getting there. I particularly love the elf and dwarf duo, Blitzen and Hearthstone, and the addition of new character, Alex Fierro, who I will say nothing more about so as to be mysterious.If y'all haven't read any of Riordan's books yet, it would be okay if you started with this series, but I highly recommend starting with the original Percy Jackson series, because that is just straight up great, and if you like it enough, just know there's lots more where that came from, at only slightly more diminishing returns.
    more
  • the tenth muse
    November 16, 2016
    "You understand there's no such thing as a little death prophecy, right?I gave The Sword of Summer a solid 4 stars, which meant that I loved the book in general, but did not find it as good as Rick Riordan's other books. Because of this, I had slightly lower expectations for The Hammer of Thor than I would have had for, say, The Hidden Oracle, or hell, any other book by Riordan.Riordan smashed through those expectations and wrote such an incredible book that I'd give it more than 5 stars if I co "You understand there's no such thing as a little death prophecy, right?I gave The Sword of Summer a solid 4 stars, which meant that I loved the book in general, but did not find it as good as Rick Riordan's other books. Because of this, I had slightly lower expectations for The Hammer of Thor than I would have had for, say, The Hidden Oracle, or hell, any other book by Riordan.Riordan smashed through those expectations and wrote such an incredible book that I'd give it more than 5 stars if I could.
    more
  • Kaya Dimitrova
    November 13, 2016
    Ревю -> http://justonebooklover.blogspot.bg/2...Рик Риърдън отново предоставя на читателите си обилна доза забавления и напрегнати моменти с втората книга от света на нордическите богове! Забавната компания, включваща любими герои като Магнус, Сам, Харт, Блиц е в пълен състав, за да тръгне по следите на вечно липсващия чук на Тор, а това приключение няма да им се размине без няколко смъртоносни битки, загадки, които героите ще трябва да разрешат, приятни и недотам приятни срещи с богове.
    more
  • Empress of Books
    August 23, 2016
    I don't care if it's a different series, if it's a mythology-based book by Rick Riodan, I will consider it a Percy Jackson book.
Write a review