Doing It Over (Most Likely To, #1)
Voted Most Likely to Succeed, Melanie Bartlett ended up anything but. The down-on-her-luck single mom wants a complete do-over—is that too much to ask? With her family long gone from River Bend, strong, independent Mel is as surprised as anyone to end up in the quaint small town she once called home. But with her friends, Jo and Zoe, by her side, and a comfortable room at Miss Gina’s quirky bed-and-breakfast, she just might have turned the corner on a new life.Wyatt Gibson never liked the big city. River Bend suits the ruggedly handsome builder just fine. Wyatt knows he’s home, even if that means being charmed by the appearance of Melanie and her spunky, adorable daughter. Is Wyatt’s calm devotion—even amid a coming storm—enough to convince Mel she may have found a home to call her own, a family that never leaves, and a true love to last a lifetime?

Doing It Over (Most Likely To, #1) Details

TitleDoing It Over (Most Likely To, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 19th, 2016
PublisherMontlake Romance
ISBN1503950727
ISBN-139781503950726
Number of pages317 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Doing It Over (Most Likely To, #1) Review

  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    March 2, 2016
    I'm going to keep this review short and sweet because it is so the kind of story that can be summed up in few words. A story that packs a punch and will be over long before you are ready for it to be.Bybee always writes amazing stories and her latest is not an exception.With the right amount of of heartache, romance and mystery blended together, this was such a great and fun read. With outstanding friends, that small town feel, and an adorable seven year old to melt your heart, this is one story I'm going to keep this review short and sweet because it is so the kind of story that can be summed up in few words. A story that packs a punch and will be over long before you are ready for it to be.Bybee always writes amazing stories and her latest is not an exception.With the right amount of of heartache, romance and mystery blended together, this was such a great and fun read. With outstanding friends, that small town feel, and an adorable seven year old to melt your heart, this is one story lovers of romance are going to fall in love with.
    more
  • Petra
    April 26, 2016
    Catherine Bybee has been my go-to-author for light, entertaining contemporary romance stories with a dash of suspense for quite some time now. With Doing It Over, the first in a new series, she has produced yet another winner.It is an uplifting story about small town life and lasting friendships. The protagonist, Melanie, is a single Mum returning to her hometown for her 10-year high school reunion. 'Doing It Over' features an adorable 7-year-old, a puppy, a great group of friends, believable ro Catherine Bybee has been my go-to-author for light, entertaining contemporary romance stories with a dash of suspense for quite some time now. With Doing It Over, the first in a new series, she has produced yet another winner.It is an uplifting story about small town life and lasting friendships. The protagonist, Melanie, is a single Mum returning to her hometown for her 10-year high school reunion. 'Doing It Over' features an adorable 7-year-old, a puppy, a great group of friends, believable romance and some drama in the form of the bad ex. Great humor thanks to Miss Gina, the eccentric owner of the local B&B. Cristina Panfilio did an excellent job narrating the audio version. I look forward to the next in the series.
    more
  • Kathryn
    December 31, 2016
    Very enjoyable.
  • Vikki Vaught
    March 13, 2016
    4.25 StarsI became a huge fan of Catherine Bybee’s when I read her Not Quite series, which is fantastic. When I received an invitation from Ms. Bybee’s publisher, via Net-Galley, to read this book in exchange for an honest review, I eagerly accepted. I thoroughly enjoyed Doing It Over. This great book is in the Kindle Unlimited program, and if you’re a member you can read and listen for free!Melanie Bartlett is back in River Bend for her ten-year class reunion. Her car died just short of town an 4.25 StarsI became a huge fan of Catherine Bybee’s when I read her Not Quite series, which is fantastic. When I received an invitation from Ms. Bybee’s publisher, via Net-Galley, to read this book in exchange for an honest review, I eagerly accepted. I thoroughly enjoyed Doing It Over. This great book is in the Kindle Unlimited program, and if you’re a member you can read and listen for free!Melanie Bartlett is back in River Bend for her ten-year class reunion. Her car died just short of town and there’s no fixing it. When Miss Gina offers her a place to stay in exchange for help running her B & B, she accepts. After all, there’s nothing for her in Bakersfield, where she’s been living. At least in River Bend, she has friends.Wyatt Gibson tries to give Mel a ride when her car breaks down, but all she will accept is a call for a tow truck. He quickly realizes he has his work cut out if he wants Mel to trust him. The ruggedly handsome builder is determined to find out where their instant attraction will lead.When Mel’s daughter is placed in harm’s way, Mel and Wyatt must work together to keep her safe. Will his desire to protect her child help him win her heart?Doing It Over is more than a romance, it’s a story of enduring friendship and a woman’s determination to raise her daughter on her own. The book is a fast and enjoyable read. The romance between Wyatt and Mel is fulfilling, and I really wanted them to find their happy ending.Melanie is an endearing character with a good amount of depth. Her fierce determination to be the best mother possible to her delightful daughter, Hope, touched the nurturer in me. While I was not a single mom, I was a Navy wife, so I basically raised my son on my own. I could definitely identify with her feelings and struggles.Wyatt’s character is awesome, and he’s the type of hero I enjoy a lot. He is an all-around good guy, not a playboy, just a hard working man. He doesn’t have much baggage, so it’s easy for him to fall in love with Mel and Hope. He knows he can’t have Mel with Hope, but that is not a problem because the little girl is adorable and easy to love.There is excellent chemistry between Mel and Hope, but what is even better is the friendship that develops. I also love Mel’s two best friends. I particularly liked Zoe and look forward to her story. I listened to the audio version by Cristina Panfilio, and I enjoyed her performance a great deal. She does an excellent job with the male characters and gives each character a distinct voice. She reads with just the right amount of emotion without going too far. This is the first book I have listened to by her and will definitely look for others with her as the narrator.If you like a romance with great characters, an interesting plot and wonderful secondary characters, then you will enjoy Doing It Over. This is another promising series of small-town life and friendship with down-to-earth characters. Happy reading!
    more
  • Luli
    November 15, 2016
    You can find this review in English below.Historia demasiado simplona y empalagosa de gente muy buena a la que le pasan cosas muy malas porque los malos son malísimos.El romance es insta amor para toda la vida y el suspense es poco realista y muy melodramático.No es el tipo de historia que me entretiene.:(***This story has been too simple and too sugary about very good people to whom bad things happen because the bad guys are very bad.The romance is insta love for all our life and the suspense i You can find this review in English below.Historia demasiado simplona y empalagosa de gente muy buena a la que le pasan cosas muy malas porque los malos son malísimos.El romance es insta amor para toda la vida y el suspense es poco realista y muy melodramático.No es el tipo de historia que me entretiene.:(***This story has been too simple and too sugary about very good people to whom bad things happen because the bad guys are very bad.The romance is insta love for all our life and the suspense is unrealistic and so melodramatic.Not my cuppa.:(
    more
  • Stacie
    November 30, 2015
    3 1/2 Stars!This a good small town story with a good set of characters and a mystery to solve. I'm sure I will read the other books in the series. I'm interested in Zoe and Luke. Happy reading!
  • Pam
    December 2, 2015
    I have loved many of Ms. Bybee’s books and was very excited to see she is starting a new series. Her character development and intriguing stories are always entertaining and this is no exception.Melanie Bartlett was a star in high school and voted most likely to succeed. When she was growing up, her family looked perfect, but the cracks were starting to show by the time she finished high school, derailing her college plans. And to top it off, a disastrous relationship that produced only one good I have loved many of Ms. Bybee’s books and was very excited to see she is starting a new series. Her character development and intriguing stories are always entertaining and this is no exception.Melanie Bartlett was a star in high school and voted most likely to succeed. When she was growing up, her family looked perfect, but the cracks were starting to show by the time she finished high school, derailing her college plans. And to top it off, a disastrous relationship that produced only one good thing (her daughter) completed her downfall. Now with a young child to support, she is back in her home town starting over.Wyatt moved to River Bend several years ago and works in construction, and he is beloved by the residents in town. Although he does not get off to a great start with Mel when she arrives, the attraction to her is almost immediate and he has plans to get to know her more. He also finds her daughter Hope to be adorable and enjoys spending time with them. Mel is trying to put her life back together and although is attracted to Wyatt, she tries to take things slow, but when her ex comes to town causing problems and Hope is in danger, she learns that Wyatt is there for her and she does not want him anywhere else.This is another winner from an author I have enjoyed in the past. I love small town romances with quirky characters and lifelong friendships that help create an engaging romance.Mel and her two best friends were inseparable in high school but they went their own ways and are now converging together for their ten year reunion. I like Mel, she thought she had the world at her feet but her parent’s divorce sent her reeling. She made some bad choices but is now ready to start new and you can see it in her determination. She starts working for Ms. Gina (quirky) at the local B&B and gets to know Wyatt while he helps with construction projects around the area.Wyatt is amazing, a patient, calm man, and when he arrived in town several years ago he was looking for a forever place and loved it right away. He lets Mel know how he feels and does his best to nudge her his way, but she is going through many emotions, and takes her time. When her ex comes to town strange things start to happen and her daughter is right in the danger zone. Mel and Wyatt work together to solve the mystery that puts Hope in danger, while her ex threatens Mel for custody.Wyatt and Mel are perfect together, their relationship starts out slow but if he could have changed the pace he would have. The chemistry between them sizzles and the time they are able to steal away by themselves is amazing. I really enjoyed meeting the secondary characters that round out the cast and I look forward to reading the stories of her two best friends Jo and Zoe, there is already a nice set up that looks interesting. I also like how Wyatt’s father comes and helps, and it shows how strong this relationship is. This is a very strong start to a new series and I will definitely be enjoying the ride.Review at: Ramblings from a Chaotic MindCopy received for an honest review
    more
  • Tonyalee
    February 17, 2016
    I've always held a soft spot for small town romances. I love the vibe, the gossip just everything about it. Other than that, and the second chance aspect, I had no idea what to expect from Doing it Over. Which is a good thing, too, because there was a lot that took me by surprise!We meet Melanie on her way to her 10-year high school reunion, her child Hope, and beat up car in tow. After arriving, she decides to stay and work with Ms. Gina and the inn, and of course, there's the budding romance w I've always held a soft spot for small town romances. I love the vibe, the gossip just everything about it. Other than that, and the second chance aspect, I had no idea what to expect from Doing it Over. Which is a good thing, too, because there was a lot that took me by surprise!We meet Melanie on her way to her 10-year high school reunion, her child Hope, and beat up car in tow. After arriving, she decides to stay and work with Ms. Gina and the inn, and of course, there's the budding romance with Wyatt! However, things don't go as planned and soon, her past catches up to her.There are many things I adored about this book! I loved the romance. It was slow building, but their chemistry is instant. Both had their own reasons for not wanting a relationship, but the more time spent with each other, the closer they get. I especially loved how Wyatt was a solid rock for Melanie when things really started to hit the fan with Hope's father popping up in the picture.Besides the romance, I loved all the characters. While the story is primarily Melanie's, we get chapters with Jo and Zoey as well. Both Jo and Zoey plan a huge part of Melanie's life, being her best friends from high school. I can only assume that their stories are next, which was why we got chapters from their POV. Ms. Gina, too, was a hilarious addition.The mystery aspect was the main thing I wasn't expecting. There were several different things happening to, and around Melanie, and we slowly get the pieces to figure out who was behind them all. My first guess was right, it was fun to see how the characters handled it all.All in all - I quite enjoyed Doing it Over. It was such a fun, sweet and romantic small town romance. I'm excited for the other books in the series. It will be fun to revisit all the characters. I recommend it!
    more
  • MsChris1161
    March 22, 2016
    Fantastic!! DOING IT OVER just confirmed my stance, Catherine Bybee is a Must-Read author! Doing it Over is the first book in her new trilogy, Most Likely To, which shows the life of three high school friends ten years after graduation starting with Melanie. This new cast of characters are fun to read and get to know in that easy likeable, relatable way Bybee has of making you feel right at home as if they are real people... family, friends, or even neighbors you wish you had. The romance develo Fantastic!! DOING IT OVER just confirmed my stance, Catherine Bybee is a Must-Read author! Doing it Over is the first book in her new trilogy, Most Likely To, which shows the life of three high school friends ten years after graduation starting with Melanie. This new cast of characters are fun to read and get to know in that easy likeable, relatable way Bybee has of making you feel right at home as if they are real people... family, friends, or even neighbors you wish you had. The romance develops between Melanie and Wyatt, the new guy in town at an easy pace that pulls you right into their chemistry as it builds for them. The dialogue has a nice mixture of wit, charm, humor and the undertone of words unsaid... I have to say, as much as I loved the love story, I think Miss Gina and little Hope often stole the scene. Loved their sassy, feisty ways. I recently read a quote that basically said, if you want to get back to the right perspective on life, just talk to a four year old and an eighty-four year old. The ages are a bit off, but I think the advice would hold in this case. As I've come to love, Bybee once again sucked me into this fun and lighthearted romance that takes a sudden turn into danger and suspense that ALWAYS makes her stories impossible to put down. Bad guys must be caught and the people she's made you love Must. Be. Safe!!! DOING IT OVER was no exception. Loved every laugh, every giggle, every steamy love scene, and every tense moment!! Can't wait for book two!! You don't want to miss this one!! 5 stars~Complimentary copy downloaded from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Emily (Mrs B's Books)
    February 22, 2016
    **My thanks to NetGalley and Montlake Romance, for providing me with a free copy for an honest review**I have always loved each and every book that i have picked up by this author and this book is no exception.Melanie has come back for her ten year high school reunion, but the last ten years have been nothing like what Melanie had expected or planned for.Wyatt and Melanie's first encounter is not the best, however after a proper first encounter the attraction is very much there, especially on Wy **My thanks to NetGalley and Montlake Romance, for providing me with a free copy for an honest review**I have always loved each and every book that i have picked up by this author and this book is no exception.Melanie has come back for her ten year high school reunion, but the last ten years have been nothing like what Melanie had expected or planned for.Wyatt and Melanie's first encounter is not the best, however after a proper first encounter the attraction is very much there, especially on Wyatt's side.The story is very well written and we get multiple points of view, not just Melanie and Wyatt that not only adds to the story but gets us more acquainted with the rest of the characters which helps set up further books in the series. I can see novels for at least three characters.Can't wait to see what happens next.
    more
  • Joy
    May 14, 2016
    My first book by this author and I'm disappointed. Disappointed because this is the first in a brand new series, which means I have to wait for Jo's and Zoe's stories!! haha.Thoroughly enjoyed this book (if you couldn't tell by the 5 star rating). It was sweet, easy to get into, the characters were enjoyable, and the story had enough hints of various intrigue and drama to keep you from putting it down. I really hope the next book and the overall series turn out just as well as this one.
    more
  • Irene
    May 10, 2016
    3.5 starsDoing It Over was a good read and a solid start to the Most Likely To series.The characters were likable, relatable and very entertaining. I enjoyed the friendships and the relationship between Wyatt and Melanie was engaging and kept me turning the pages. I'm a big fan of Catherine Bybee's writing, once again she's given us a well written story with strong characters that leave you full of happy feels.*Thank you to Montlake Romance via NetGalley for the advance copy.*
    more
  • Mary McFarlane
    April 3, 2017
    This was very good. Much more of a thriller then her other books I've read have been but I still really enjoyed it. Looking forward to the next book in this series
  • Umaiya ⚡A ℱar Off ℳemory⚡
    March 23, 2017
    Wrong book, wrong time.Maybe some other time, this'll be a perfect read.
  • Anna
    January 24, 2016
    I really enjoyed this start of a new series. I love all of Catherine's books and was excited for this one. Full of charm, sexiness, laughter and fraught with danger no one expects this is one you don't want to miss. Life doesn't always turn out like you expect it will and that was no exception for Melanie. Voted most likely to succeed, she had everything going for her when life got in the way. Now without her college degree and a mother to a little girl, she is coming back home for a fresh start I really enjoyed this start of a new series. I love all of Catherine's books and was excited for this one. Full of charm, sexiness, laughter and fraught with danger no one expects this is one you don't want to miss. Life doesn't always turn out like you expect it will and that was no exception for Melanie. Voted most likely to succeed, she had everything going for her when life got in the way. Now without her college degree and a mother to a little girl, she is coming back home for a fresh start. And hopefully a better life for her daughter. When Wyatt sets his sights on her she just may return the attention. Wyatt hasn't been in town but a few years but is beloved by all. And when he sets his sights on Melanie he can't stop himself. Their attraction is more than either of them knew and they want to be together. But trouble comes in the form of her dead beat ex and danger with it. Will Wyatt be able to keep Melanie and Hope safe and show them what a family is supposed to be like?Will Melanie take this chance and do it all over with love and happiness for herself? Great Start and can't wait for the next!!
    more
  • Vickie
    May 20, 2016
    Doing It Over is the first in a new series by Catherine Bybee, an author I enjoy reading. After experiencing hard times, Melanie Bartlett moves back to her small hometown with her adorable daughter and is immediately surrounded by the love and support of her friends. Her ex-husband shows up in town, along with some shady characters, and attempts to gain custody of their daughter. I liked the development of the relationship between Melanie and Gibson, very cautious! Also, the little twists and cr Doing It Over is the first in a new series by Catherine Bybee, an author I enjoy reading. After experiencing hard times, Melanie Bartlett moves back to her small hometown with her adorable daughter and is immediately surrounded by the love and support of her friends. Her ex-husband shows up in town, along with some shady characters, and attempts to gain custody of their daughter. I liked the development of the relationship between Melanie and Gibson, very cautious! Also, the little twists and creepy turns in the story were good. I look forward to reading the other stories in the series.Go Cards! L1C4!
    more
  • Ofelia
    March 1, 2016
    What a great book. Reading about Hope and how resilient, smart and funny she is for a 7 yr old was fun to read especially how she interacted with everyone around her. This book was filled with laughter, romance and with some mystery that made you think what might happen next. Can't wait to read the next book on the series. A must read
    more
  • Carol Erhardt
    June 2, 2016
    Romantic SuspenseDidn't expect the suspense, but loved it. Would read this author again. Characters I liked. Good hero. Small town with characters who are like family. What's not to like?
  • Clara Charter
    July 16, 2016
    EnjoyableThis book was warm and had humor I enjoyed the characters and the good ole home town feel it had
  • Charlie
    April 30, 2016
    The SkinnyMelanie Bartlett returns to her hometown of River Bend a week before her 10 year reunion, as she promised her two best friends when they graduated high school. The three were inseparable as teens but have grown apart over the years as usually happens. But Melanie is back in town and down on her luck, desperately needing for her car not to break down. But it does one furiously rainy night. After refusing the help of a stranger, he calls the Sheriff – none other than her best friend Jo.A The SkinnyMelanie Bartlett returns to her hometown of River Bend a week before her 10 year reunion, as she promised her two best friends when they graduated high school. The three were inseparable as teens but have grown apart over the years as usually happens. But Melanie is back in town and down on her luck, desperately needing for her car not to break down. But it does one furiously rainy night. After refusing the help of a stranger, he calls the Sheriff – none other than her best friend Jo.As Melanie and her young daughter get settled back in at Jo’s and later Ms. Gina’s B&B, Melanie realizes Bakersfield was a distant memory in the rear view mirror. Voted Most Likely to Succeed in high school, Melanie is embarrassed about the circumstances of her life. The closer it comes to the reunion, the more Melanie and her daughter feel right at home with Melanie’s old friends and the townspeople. It could be the change that she’s needed for far too long.A newcomer to the town, Wyatt, moved to River Bend to get out of the big city. He is very busy with his contract work even in a small town. When Melanie and her adventurous kid move into the B&B, Wyatt finds himself inexplicably drawn to the familial clan that bands together around Melanie, Jo, and Zoe. When a ghost from Melanie’s past resurfaces in town and threatens everything she’s built for herself and her daughter, things get dicey. Melanie’s nightmare is only just beginning, and Wyatt, Jo, Zoe and the gang must band together to figure it all out.The PlayersMelanie Bartlett – a down-on-her-luck single mom voted Most Likely to Succeed in high school is returning for her 10 year reunionHope Bartlett – Melanie’s seven year old daughter, she is sometimes bold and adventurous and very spunkyJo Ward – only child of the sheriff, she choose to rebel as a teen and take his stead later in lifeZoe Brown – voted Most Likely to Never Leave River Bend has become a world famous chef and travels on a regular basis, leaving a relationship in RB behindLuke Miller – Zoe’s high school sweetheart who stayed in River Bend, he works with his father at the local autoshopMs. Gina – the racy owner of the the local B&B, she took in the three girls as teens and gave them a safe space to hang out, she is known to smoke, laugh and cuss “like a sinner on Saturday”Wyatt Gibson – a local contractor who moved out of the big city for the small town life, he avoided the career path of his prominent fatherZane – Zoe’s younger no-good brother destined to follow his father right into prisonJosie – the owner of the local bar R&BThe QuotesAfter getting settled in at Jo’s home the first night in town, Melanie reflects on Sheriff Ward as she opens a bottle of wine, although he has been gone several years. I still feel like this as well even as an adult.She found herself looking around waiting for Sheriff Ward to walk in the door and read her the riot act for drinking. Didn’t matter that she was twenty-eight now, well past the legal age to drink…your parent,s or even your friend’s parents who knew you before you could wear a bra, intimidated you into believing you were still ten.Wyatt stepped out of his truck; shut the door without even taking the keys with him. River Bend was this side of Mayberry in terms of crime. The chances of someone jumping in his truck and taking off were nil.The lemonade was from a powder and not nature’s fruit.With vodka…it was perfect.The Highs and LowsTruth About Small Towns. Small town life is very complex, but I feel Bybee captured it perfectly in this novel. There are intricacies that are often exaggerated or overlooked, and that was not the case here. Bybee zooms the lens on each character throughout the novel and scrutinizes their history. Although life was relatively pleasant for most of the gang, some of negatives of their lives (like Jo’s rebellious behavior, Melanie’s parent’s divorce, and Zoe’s steady relationship with Luke and her family history) are present. They aren’t stereotypical, they aren’t glazed over. There are more than one occasion that show how those things now affect the characters – and others around them. This is the kind of place where the sheriff takes rebellious teens – including his own – and hands them over to the high school track coach for doing their time. I appreciated that Bybee took the time to get it right and make small town life realistic and not develop the storyline into its own trope about small towns.The Gang. Melanie, Jo, and Zoe were high school besties. They formed a bond that has lasted through the years, no matter how far they go or how long between talks. Growing up, they all gravitated to Ms. Gina’s B&B. They also got dragged in by the Sheriff (Jo’s dad) to be on the track team. At Ms. Gina’s, the girls did odd jobs and were treated as equals. They could talk to Ms. Gina in a way they couldn’t to their own parents, and it was a safe haven for them. There were at Ms. Gina’s more than they were at home, and they became very familiar with her red cup of spiked lemonade, which she still has around. :)The Tension. There was incredible tension between Zoe and Luke Miller. I’m still not clear what really went down all those years ago, but I do know that Zoe left and she now travels the world and has a lucrative lifestyle in Dallas, Texas working as a famous chef while Luke stayed home and continued his familiar lifestyle. When Zoe pops back into town, the tension is real and evident. Other characters pick up on it.The Town & The Gang Adopting Wyatt. It is hard to be a newcomer in a small town, especially one as tight-knit as River Bend. However, Wyatt is a contributing member of society and a decent guy. He’s made the widows of the town very happy with his work, even accepting pot roasts and apple pies as payments. It’s a different way of life and Wyatt has embraced it – and the town has embraced him. I didn’t realize how seamlessly the gang had accepted him into their family, and I don’t even know when exactly it happened, but toward the end of the novel he was just like them. There was no exclusion or different treatment for being an outsider. He earned his way into their hearts and their lives, and they gladly welcomed him.Melanie. She is such a complex woman. For being so smart, I was surprised. She went off to college away from her family following her parent’s divorce – announced the night of her high school graduation (parents of the decade right there) – and she didn’t look back. When money became a struggle and she could no longer afford to go to school, she fell into the “playing house” situation with her overbearing, intimidating, bullying boyfriend. Shortly later, she was pregnant and working all the time. When the baby came, she was left alone to raise her. All the while, Melanie let her boyfriend tell everyone they were married to avoid the embarrassment. She has struggled so much over the years that she wants to hide it all. When she returns to River Bend, she is not very willing to be forthcoming with her friends, who didn’t like the situation when she shared it along the way. Her placation for all those years now comes to bite her in the butt. After all those years on her own, coming back home, without even spending too much time dwelling on it, Melanie has this new resolve to fight back that was never there before. Having the support of really good friends can do amazing things for a person.The Crazy Ex and Mr. Lewis. What good would a book be without a crazy ex involved? No joke, the guy is bad news all around and pretty sleazy at that. Some wild things happen – including a potential kidnapping, a fall almost off a cliff, and a mysterious mystery man who vanishes into thin air. Cue the FBI!The Take-AwayThe characters and the town of River Bend truly make this book meaningful and memorable. I loved them all, even the sloppy, messy, ugly, sassy, and classy sides of them. I told a colleague today that I wanted to go live in River Bend. Knowing these characters, I would be warmly welcomed.Recommendation – Buy, Borrow or Skip? My recommendation is to buy this one. It’s a feel-good to keep around for years of re-reads and characters to serve as role models to your kids and grandkids.
    more
  • Lauren at Live Read and Breathe Reviews
    May 4, 2016
    3.75 Wyatt Loving Stars!  Source: eARC for Honest Review Courtesy of Author  Genre: Romantic Suspense Part 1 in a new series My Doing it Over Review . . .  I simply adore Catherine Bybee.  Which made reading this book such a pleasant experience for me.  Every single book I have read of Catherine's has left me feeling the love and with a good after taste.  Her books are ones that don't blend into the plethora of all the other books within the same genre. Her stories always have a f 3.75 Wyatt Loving Stars!  Source: eARC for Honest Review Courtesy of Author  Genre: Romantic Suspense Part 1 in a new series My Doing it Over Review . . .  I simply adore Catherine Bybee.  Which made reading this book such a pleasant experience for me.  Every single book I have read of Catherine's has left me feeling the love and with a good after taste.  Her books are ones that don't blend into the plethora of all the other books within the same genre. Her stories always have a feel good story with an air of suspense and intrigue that make us hang on waiting to find out what is going to happen and trying to find out who done it.  Even though this book is a contemporary romantic suspense it had a completely different feel then her Weekday Bride series or the Not Quite series.  Doing it Over starts with three high school best friends making a pact to come back at their ten year reunion no matter where they're at in life.  Melanie was voted most likely to succeed, where Jo was voted the most to rebel while Zoe was voted the most likely to stay in River Bend.  Now ten years later and Jo is the town sheriff and Zoe is famous and living large in Texas while Mel is struggling trying to make a home for her and her daughter.   On Mel's way back to River Bend for the reunion she finds herself stranded at the side of the road with her car dying.  Even though one stranger stops to help, you can never be to sure so she's a bit leary when she first meets Wyatt.  Once Mel comes back she realizes that this is where she should be to raise her daughter.  With a small community who acts more like family then her own real family.  Even though the three best friends had moved on in life it didn't deter their friendship which is just as strong today as it was 10 years ago.  Wyatt is newish to town and normally he hooks up with passer throughs however something about Mel and her daughter pulls at him making him want more than his usual.   I loved Wyatt.  He was a great mix of rugged, manly, loyal, sweet and loving.  The relationship between Mel and Wyatt escalated at a nice pace without any useless angst between them.  Even when there could have been some angst instead they maturely dealt with things and moved on.  Instead of angst they had to deal with the issue of Mel's ex making nasty waves to Mel's new future as well as whole lot of nasty shenanigans happening around this small town.  The story was told in different POV's from many different characters but it never felt confusing instead it helped progress the story and the series.  I can not wait for Staying for Good which is book two in the series.  It doesn't say on Goodreads yet but my fingers are crossed that it is Luke and Zoe's story.From the moment I picked up the book I couldn't put it down.  I was immediately enveloped with the story and Mel, Hope and Wyatt.  All the characters of this town were charming and amazing and I can't wait to read more about them.   Great suspense filled loving story.
    more
  • Marlene
    April 25, 2016
    Originally published at Reading RealityThey say that no good deed goes unpunished. I say that no bad ex fails to show up in a romance novel. Once they and their badness are introduced, the reader just knows that they are going to show up as soon as the hero or heroine finally starts getting their life together, just so that they can mess up their life all over again.In Doing It Over, that dastardly ex added a suspense element that kept on giving chills right up to the very end of the story.But t Originally published at Reading RealityThey say that no good deed goes unpunished. I say that no bad ex fails to show up in a romance novel. Once they and their badness are introduced, the reader just knows that they are going to show up as soon as the hero or heroine finally starts getting their life together, just so that they can mess up their life all over again.In Doing It Over, that dastardly ex added a suspense element that kept on giving chills right up to the very end of the story.But the story doesn’t start with the evil ex (there should be a word, “evilex”) it starts with three sisters-of-the-heart and their small-town high school graduation. As they chew over the infuriating comments left in their yearbooks, they vow that, no matter what happens in their lives, they will all come back to tiny River Bend, Oregon, for their tenth high school reunion. (It feels like River Bend is just down the road from Thunder Point, and that’s a good thing!)When Melanie Bartlett returns to River Bend for that reunion, all of those yearbook predictions have been turned on their heads. Jo, voted most likely to end up in jail, is now the local sheriff. Zoe, voted most likely to stay in River Bend, is a jet-setting, world-renowned chef who lives in Dallas, far, far from River Bend.And Melanie, voted most likely to succeed, is a flat broke single-mother whose crappy car dies its final death less than 20 miles from River Bend. Mel has had only one success in her post-high school life, her seven year old daughter Hope. Who has not been happy cooped up in the car for several days on the road from Bakersfield to River Bend.But when they all come home for that reunion, everyone’s life starts to look up. Jo has her BFFs back, and finally has someone she can tell the truth about her father’s death. Zoe finds herself drawn back to the life, and the man, she left behind in River Bend ten years ago.And Melanie finds out that you can go home again. In River Bend, she has friends and a support network to help her raise Hope. She makes a job at Miss Gina’s very quirky Bed and Breakfast, and finds again that Gina is her surrogate mother, and is thrilled to be a surrogate grandmother for little Hope.She reaches out again. The man who tried to rescue her and her broken-down car turns out to be a man who will stand beside her, and who falls in love with her daughter every bit as much as he does with Melanie.Of course, her nasty dastardly ex shows up just as Melanie is getting her life back on track. He says he just wants to take care of the daughter he once denied might even be his. And he wants a divorce – which surprises the hell out of Melanie, because she never married the bastard. Getting to the bottom of what smarmy, weaselly Nathan really wants gets the whole town behind Melanie and Hope. It’s a good thing that Melanie came back to River Bend, because she needs all the protection she can get!Escape Rating A-: There are two completely opposite sayings about going home. One is the Thomas Wolfe version, “You can’t go home again.” The other is the Robert Frost version, “Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in.”Although the women all experience a bit of that first version, in that all the places they remember from their childhood all seem much smaller now, what Mel does is definitely that second version – she has to go home, and the town she called home takes her back in and calls her their own.The irony in this story is that none of these women go home to their birth families. Mel’s parents divorced and left River Bend the minute she graduated high school. Jo’s parents are dead. Zoe’s dad is in prison and her mother is still codependent. So instead, the home that Mel goes back to is Miss Gina’s B-and-B. Miss Gina was always a surrogate mother, always the favorite “cool” aunt to these three girls who had no one but each other.And the old lady is still “cool”. But she’s also ready to hand the reins of her B-and-B over to younger and more energetic hands – when the right hands come along in the person of Melanie.We see enough of Melanie’s perspective to understand why she is extremely leery of Wyatt Gibson when his truck pulls up beside her very dead car on the road to River Bend. But once one of her friends vouches for Wyatt, Melanie finds it difficult to resist the attraction she’s been feeling ever since the tall, dark stranger offered her a rescue.The great thing about this story is that while Wyatt offered her a rescue from her broken-down car, he doesn’t try to rescue her from her life. Melanie comes back to River Bend to stand on her own two feet. She’s grateful for the support, and can’t help falling in love when Wyatt rescues her fearless daughter from falling off a roof, but he doesn’t “save” her. He just makes the life she has saved brighter.The suspense element in this story kept me guessing until the end. When slimy ex Nathan shows up, Melanie knows him more than well enough to recognize that the bastard is up to something. While it is mostly possible that he is just up to messing up Melanie’s life by threatening to take Hope, there’s too much smoke for that to be the only source of the fire. Nathan is so obviously playing a much bigger game, but Melanie doesn’t know enough about Nathan’s current life to figure out what he is really after and why he is after it.Set a thief to catch a thief. Wyatt’s dad comes to the rescue. In order to ferret out the motives of a lawyer, get another (and better) lawyer. As the case unravels piece by piece, we find out just what a slime her ex really is, and what he was really after. And what is after him.The solution to the mystery was a surprise until nearly the very end. And the way that the situation is finally brought to a close is a lovely bit of poetic justice. If you are looking for a new contemporary romance series to get lost in, Doing It Over, and River Bend are a terrific read.
    more
  • Anne
    February 26, 2017
    I didn't realize this was the first book in a series. I will read the others. The story started off with a prologue where three friends celebrated their high school graduation together. Their yearbook pegged each of them "the mostly likely to . . ." All of them took different paths than their peers thought they would or they thought they would. They made a pact that night to come back to their tenth high school reunion . . . no matter what, and they did. Chapter 1 starts with Melanie's return to I didn't realize this was the first book in a series. I will read the others. The story started off with a prologue where three friends celebrated their high school graduation together. Their yearbook pegged each of them "the mostly likely to . . ." All of them took different paths than their peers thought they would or they thought they would. They made a pact that night to come back to their tenth high school reunion . . . no matter what, and they did. Chapter 1 starts with Melanie's return to River Bend and she brings along her seven year-old daughter, Hope.
    more
  • Cinthia
    February 5, 2017
    Yes I did like this book but I didn't love it. The whole story was a little too much where Nathan was involved. I liked Melanie and wayath enough but not crazily. I didn't really like that Hope was to go through the whole almost dying ordeal. I guess I was waiting for a bigger punch line when it came to Nathan's reason for hurting Hope or putting her in harms way. I'm glad "Mr. Lewis" was apprehended.
    more
  • Bec
    April 23, 2016
    4.5 StarsMelanie hasn't had the sort of success that most people in River Bend thought she'd have. Still, her experiences in life have made her the strong, independent woman she's become. Unable to break the promise she made to her two best friends, she's back in her hometown to attend her ten year school reunion. But with money in short supply, a car that is continually on the fritz destined to finally quit working, and the mother of an adventurous little girl, Melanie isn't sure what the futur 4.5 StarsMelanie hasn't had the sort of success that most people in River Bend thought she'd have. Still, her experiences in life have made her the strong, independent woman she's become. Unable to break the promise she made to her two best friends, she's back in her hometown to attend her ten year school reunion. But with money in short supply, a car that is continually on the fritz destined to finally quit working, and the mother of an adventurous little girl, Melanie isn't sure what the future holds for her. At least not until she's offered a job at the local B & B, and she meets Wyatt Gibson; a handsome man that wants her to give him a chance. But she does know one thing, staying in River Bend might be just what she needs to turn her life around for the better. Being a huge fan of Ms. Bybee's stories, I always look forward to whenever she releases another book, and I've got to say that Doing It Over provided a wonderful start to a new series for this talented author. The prelude opens this story nicely, and I liked how it introduced me to the heroine and her two best friends. It shows how close they are, and no matter where they ended up after graduating that they'd always be friends. But it was from the first chapter that this story really grabbed my undivided attention, and did not let go until the end. As for the dialogue, it was compelling and a perfect blend of intense and playful. Melanie's ex is a real piece of work, causing problems when she's finally starting to get her life back on track. Yet, Wyatt helps her, gives her the strength to fight against anything her ex decides to do. He supports her not just with his advice or a shoulder to lean on, but also with his actions by getting his father involved to help solve the major problems thrown Melanie's way. Then there's the secondary characters that band together to support the heroine in difficult times as well, especially once they learn her ex's true motives.I really liked both the main characters, as well as the secondary ones. Miss Gina, the elderly woman that owns the town's B&B is a real hoot and I liked how she encouraged Melanie to give Wyatt a chance. Then there's the heroine's daughter, Hope. She's adorable, and I liked that she trusted Wyatt almost right away. Though even more so after he saves her from one of her little climbing explorations. As for the heroine, she's strong, brave and independent. She finds it hard to trust after everything she went through with her ex. He really let her down, and it was no wonder she couldn't stand to give him a second chance. Yet, Wyatt is the total opposite of her ex. He's patient, kind and determined to show her that she's worth waiting for. That he's willing to wait until Melanie's ready to give him a chance. However, the obstacles they face aren't easy. Such as: Can it be proven that Melanie is an unfit mother? Can it be proven that Wyatt is a bad influence for Hope? Can it be proven that Melanie and Hope's current living arrangements are unsafe? All so someone can take what matters most away from the heroine, if any of those obstacles are proven to be true.There was plenty of sexual tension between Melanie and Wyatt, which kept increasing every time they conversed. Until eventually, their intense chemistry spilled over onto the pages in hot sex scenes. Since moving to River Bend, Wyatt hasn't been all that interested in dating, but there's something about Melanie that intrigues him. Besides, the hero is charming, so there was never any doubt that Melanie would be able to resist him forever.Overall, Ms. Bybee has proven she's a master when it comes to writing contemporary romances mixed with a dash of suspense, that encompass warm and relatable characters that her readers want more of. The ending wrapped this story up nicely, as Hope's new friend comes to her rescue. While the epilogue illustrated how confident Wyatt was when it came to how much Melanie loved him. They really have a love that will last a lifetime. I would highly recommend Doing It Over by Catherine Bybee, especially if you enjoy the opposites attract trope, small town romances, or stories where the heroine manages to turn her life around for the better.
    more
  • Home. Love. Books.
    May 5, 2016
    Check out more of my reviews on at Home. Love. Books. - The best place to find your next book! http://www.homelovebooks.comI'm a huge fan of small town romances, I love the dynamics that you find in small towns. You would never see people who have known each other their entire lives and know everything there is to know about everyone in a big like NYC, but in small towns you get lifelong friendships, gossip that spreads before anyone has the chance to pick up the phone, and romances that everyon Check out more of my reviews on at Home. Love. Books. - The best place to find your next book! http://www.homelovebooks.comI'm a huge fan of small town romances, I love the dynamics that you find in small towns. You would never see people who have known each other their entire lives and know everything there is to know about everyone in a big like NYC, but in small towns you get lifelong friendships, gossip that spreads before anyone has the chance to pick up the phone, and romances that everyone seems to know about even if you aren't quite ready for people to know. Part of the reason this book appealed to me was because it was about someone who had to move back to her small town after leaving ten years prior. Going back to where you came from is sometimes a mixed bag, you have to face the things you left behind, sometimes come to grips with revealing the failures you've had, but at the same time there really is something great about going home to the people who loved you the most.I liked Melanie, she kind of reminded me a little bit of my mom when I was little. She is super protective of her daughter, although I wouldn't call it quite stifling. She's had to make being a single mom work, she has almost no support system out in California and making ends meet is not something that is easily achieved. So when her 10 year reunion comes up, she takes the opportunity to go ahead and just move back home. Things have changed, friends have moved or ended up in jobs no one saw coming, but all in all everyone welcomes her with open arms and its like she was never gone. Her daughter is adorable, and its great seeing how these two are able to really find their footing. Plus Mel's daughter is not just cute, but she's smart, worldly I would call it, and she has such a great dynamic with her mom.Wyatt is the first guy Melanie meets coming back into town, of course she isn't exactly trusting of him until later on. He's a good guy, comes from a good family with money, but wanted a different life, a small town pace where he could do honest work. It's great seeing how much he likes Mel, and even more when her no good shows up. He's fiercely protective of her, and takes her daughter almost as fast as he took to her. I loved how he was willing to go all out just to make sure that his girls would be okay.This book has quite a bit of suspense in it, I wouldn't necessarily call it mystery because I put the pieces together fairly easy, but the suspense was definitely on point. There a lot of things going on, an ex who shows up making all kinds of demands and accusations, really manipulating the court system, and on top of all that a creeper who attacks when you least expect it, followed of course by the manhunt. It was a good read for me, I was interested from beginning to end. I hope the series continues on with Zoe, and ends with Jo, cause I really know what happened with Zoe and Luke. Easily recommended if you like small town romances. a Rafflecopter giveaway This review was originally posted on Home. Love. Books. - The best place to find your next book!
    more
  • Patricia Stubbs
    February 25, 2017
    A captivating story of love of family.Recommended to all new parents. Nothing as impressive as the love and wisdom of a child! Throw a puppy into
  • Romance Between The Sheets
    May 1, 2016
    Please note this review may contain spoilers.Mel left River Bend for college and is now back for her ten year reunion. She wants a better life for her and her young daughter, Hope, so if she can find a job and a place to stay, she plans on making her stay permanent. Surrounded by old friends and a woman who’s more a mother to her than her own, she feels at home for the first time in years. Stranded on the outskirts of town, she meets Wyatt, the local handyman who’s been living in town for five y Please note this review may contain spoilers.Mel left River Bend for college and is now back for her ten year reunion. She wants a better life for her and her young daughter, Hope, so if she can find a job and a place to stay, she plans on making her stay permanent. Surrounded by old friends and a woman who’s more a mother to her than her own, she feels at home for the first time in years. Stranded on the outskirts of town, she meets Wyatt, the local handyman who’s been living in town for five years and who’s very well known and respected in the community. But just as she’s about to open herself up to the possibility of dating again, her ex-boyfriend and Hope’s deadbeat father, Nathan, comes to town causing Mel nothing but trouble.The attraction between Wyatt and Mel was fun and flirty and how he treated Hope was really sweet. Mel is a wonderful mother and Hope is absolutely adorable. Wyatt is a protector and the way he helped Mel in her times of need were totally swoon worthy. What I really liked in this story is that Mel didn’t let her pride get in the way when Wyatt helped her. She needed help. He got her help. She said thank you. I can’t tell you how refreshing that was.Wyatt: “A man takes care of his family, provides for them. If he doesn’t, he leaves another open to take that role over.”DOING IT OVER starts out as a nice romantic read, but when Hope disappears, the mystery surrounding that, and Nathan’s antics, really overshadows the rest of the story. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the mystery and it certainly added an element to the story I wasn’t expecting, but I felt it took a lot away from the romance. DOING IT OVER is the first book in the Most Likely To series that will revolve around three best friends (Mel, Jo and Zoe) as they find love in their hometown of River Bend. The story is told mostly in Mel & Wyatt’s POV, but it also includes the POVs of Jo, Zoe and the villains. It was well written and you can’t help but fall in love with the people of River Bend and their sense of community. While it’s part of a series, this is a stand-alone as Wyatt and Mel got their HEA and Nathan got what he deserved.For more reviews, please visit our website: www.romancebetweenthesheets.comI was given an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Liza
    April 19, 2016
    I've always enjoyed books from Catherine Bybee in the past, but have to say without a doubt that Doing It Over is my favorite book ever from Ms. Bybee.I loved Melanie, Jo, and Zoe from the very first page. I loved they had been friends their entire life and remained best friends 10 years after they graduated from high school. Mel was voted most likely to succeed in high school, and with the exception of a wonderful daughter, not much else has gone as she has planned since high school. I loved th I've always enjoyed books from Catherine Bybee in the past, but have to say without a doubt that Doing It Over is my favorite book ever from Ms. Bybee.I loved Melanie, Jo, and Zoe from the very first page. I loved they had been friends their entire life and remained best friends 10 years after they graduated from high school. Mel was voted most likely to succeed in high school, and with the exception of a wonderful daughter, not much else has gone as she has planned since high school. I loved that Jo and Miss Gina were the locals who immediately took Mel and Hope in once they arrived. I have to say Miss Gina is one of my favorite characters ever. She has always been the one person Mel, Jo, and Zoe could always depend on, and nothing about her has changed. I really love the Zoe and Jo both are always there when Mel needs them, even after Zoe had left after the class reunion.You hear about the perfect meet-cute, and I have to say while Mel and Wyatt's wasn't the average one, it continued to give them much to laugh about the more time they spent around each other. Wyatt had moved to River Bend after Mel had left and is now happy to call River Bend his home. I thought the chemistry between Mel and Wyatt was really strong from the beginning and I really liked them as a couple. I especially liked that Wyatt seemed to fall for Mel's daughter Hope every bit as much as he fell for Mel. There was a bit of suspense in Doing It Over that was different from other books I've read from Ms. Bybee. While I figured out pretty quickly who was behind everything, the why behind it was the real mystery. I did have issues with some of the choices the person behind everything made, but quickly figured out this individual really didn’t care about anyone else honestly. I enjoyed the suspense aspect of the story, and feel like we will see more of it in future books in the series. Doing It Over was a great start to the Most Likely To series. I'm excited to see where Ms. Bybee takes both Zoe and Jo in their stories. Review copy provided by publisher
    more
  • Kelli
    March 8, 2016
    The synopsis of this story does not do it justice; "a coming storm" is the only hint given to the exciting events that take place in this story. I thought I had already figured out the complete story line after reading in a chapter or two and was expecting the typical fairy tale with some good friends supporting her "do over" in her small hometown. I was far from right. I would classify this more as a suspense and mystery read with some romance splashed in the beginning and end.I was enjoying th The synopsis of this story does not do it justice; "a coming storm" is the only hint given to the exciting events that take place in this story. I thought I had already figured out the complete story line after reading in a chapter or two and was expecting the typical fairy tale with some good friends supporting her "do over" in her small hometown. I was far from right. I would classify this more as a suspense and mystery read with some romance splashed in the beginning and end.I was enjoying the story up until Nathan came in to town, and then I began to love it. His character created an eerie, suspense as he came into town asking for trouble with the entire town lined up at the bar to sit and listen to his initial confrontation with Mel. He left the town with an open threat that had you wondering when he would come back into play and really there was no calm after his storm. The story continued to build and develop into something I was not expecting, holding me at the edge of my seat and excited to see the direction the author would take things and it was mesmerizing.I am constantly enthralled by Catherine Bybees' work. She always goes above and beyond what I tend to expect from a story and I love how well thought out her characters are from start to finish. She built a solid foundation for the three friends from the prelude to the cherry on top with the acknowledgements as she shared some of her life events that expired the story, which I loved learning the root to her passion while writing this story. She started this series off strong and I don't know how she will outdo this beauty, but I'm excited to find out where the rest of the series takes us. I look forward to what's next as always. I received a free, advance copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my unbiased review. I would rate this five out of five stars. Thank you for the opportunity to read and review this book.Kindle Giveaway posted to http://bookfix.weebly.com/blog/doing-... on 04/22/16
    more
Write a review