Changes in Latitudes
A "road" trip romance that takes place at sea!All Cassie wants is to get some solid ground under her feet following the shock of her parents' divorce. So when she learns of her mom's plans to take Cassie and her brother, Drew, on a four-month sailing trip from Oregon to Mexico, she's stunned. There is absolutely nothing solid about the Pacific Ocean. Cassie is furious. And nervous. It's been hard enough keeping Drew sheltered from what Cassie knows about her mother's role in breaking their family apart, but living in such close quarters threatens to push her anger past its tipping point. Enter Jonah, a whip-smart deckhand who's as gorgeous as he is flirtatious. Cassie tries to keep him at a distance, but the more time they spend together--wandering San Francisco, riding beachside roller coasters, and exploring the California coastline--the harder it is to fight the attraction. ​Cassie wants to let herself go, but her parents' split has left her feeling adrift in a sea of questions she can't even begin to answer. Can she forgive her mom? Will home ever feel the same? Should she take a chance on Jonah? With life's unpredictable tides working against her, Cassie must decide whether to swim against them... or dive right in.

Changes in Latitudes Details

TitleChanges in Latitudes
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

Changes in Latitudes Review

  • Sarah
    May 19, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “Marooned at sea with my mother? For four months?This is not real life. This is not my life.‘What’s the Good news?’ I manage, subtly squeezing my eyes shut, then open, shut, then open, to see if that tilts the world back on its axis.‘That was the good news sweetie.’Yeah, I was kind of afraid of that.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl whose mother made her go sailing for 4 months.Cassie was q (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “Marooned at sea with my mother? For four months?This is not real life. This is not my life.‘What’s the Good news?’ I manage, subtly squeezing my eyes shut, then open, shut, then open, to see if that tilts the world back on its axis.‘That was the good news sweetie.’Yeah, I was kind of afraid of that.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl whose mother made her go sailing for 4 months.Cassie was quite a fierce character, and when she held a grudge, she really held it. She didn’t always show good judgement though, and she often didn’t consider other people’s feelings either. The storyline in this was about Cassie’s mother springing the news on her that they were going sailing for 4 months and Cassie not taking the news well. We then followed them as they began their sailing journey, and Cassie moaned about it. Things picked up a bit when Jonah showed up though, and we got the beginnings of a very slow romance.The ending to this was quite sudden it seemed, and I was surprised that we didn’t get to see the whole of the journey through with Cassie and her family, and didn’t get to see where the romance was heading either really. 6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    January 30, 2017
    Another lovely, swoon-worthy romance by Jen Malone! Her characters are so down to earth and relatable; they have adventures and first love and growing pains, and I'm always hooked from beginning to end. I can't wait for more from her!
  • Sam Kozbial
    June 24, 2017
    A great story about learning how to play the hand the universe deals you and to try sailing in. Full review to follow. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
  • nick
    February 7, 2017
    Another hit from Jen Malone! What can you expect to find in Changes in Latitudes?- A relateable heroine struggling with the changes in her life - Lots of great family dynamics - A boy who is so swoony, he will charm your pants off- Kisses! Lots & lots of delicious kisses - An ocean trip with plenty delightful moments along the way RTC
    more
  • Jaime Arkin
    April 18, 2017
    You guys… Jen Malone writes such good swoon. My very first book from Jen Malone was Wanderlost and anything she writes will forever be compared to the sweet and swoon from that one and while this one doesn’t surpass it, I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Cassie has been struggling with her parents’ divorce for months now. Her father is overseas teaching, her brother could care less and her mom… well, she couldn’t blame her mother more for the end of their family. All she’s looking forward to this su You guys… Jen Malone writes such good swoon. My very first book from Jen Malone was Wanderlost and anything she writes will forever be compared to the sweet and swoon from that one and while this one doesn’t surpass it, I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Cassie has been struggling with her parents’ divorce for months now. Her father is overseas teaching, her brother could care less and her mom… well, she couldn’t blame her mother more for the end of their family. All she’s looking forward to this summer is spending the days with her best friends and forgetting the crap that her life has dealt her. That is until her mother explains that they’ll be sailing from Oregon to Mexico this summer. If she thought it was hard enough to avoid her mom while living in a house, just imagine the fireworks while living for months on a cramped ship. First of all, I really loved the setting of this story. The majority of it takes place on a sailboat in the water, and it really allows for a unique spin to the story. As someone who has never sailed I appreciated Cassie’s newbie status which allowed Malone the opportunity to teach us readers a few things along the way. For as much angst and drama that there is in Cassie’s family at the current moment, I appreciated that their love for each other was apparent. Cassie’s dad, while not on the boat, was still a part of this story and in such a positive way, and I loved Cassie’s relationship with her younger brother. And yes, while a teenager being angry at their mom can be somewhat cliché, Cassie has her reasons, but I loved the evolution of their dynamics in this story. Malone really develops these relationships between everyone in such a wonderful way.Then there is Jonah… *sigh*. This guy is flirty, fun and sweet and I can completely understand how Cassie couldn’t resist. Jonah has his own issues going on, but he and Cassie manage to bond and build a friendship that blooms into so much more. I loved how he actually listened to her and offered her advice… even if she was too stubborn to take it. Their relationship was just lovely to read and I can’t wait to experience it again when I reread this story!Of course I have to admit that there were times that Cassie really irritated me with her selfishness, but then I had to remind myself that she is a teenage girl, who is pissed that her summer is ruined and she’s going to lose all the things that she feels define her and her family … and while I still didn’t love it all the time, I understood why she acts the way she does. If you are a fan of fun, sweet contemporary romances you don’t want to miss this one from Jen Malone. Thank you to the publisher for an early copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Madison
    April 24, 2017
    Changes is Latitudes is a road trip novel set at sea. A story about big changes, facing the difficulties life throws up, family - whether it is broken or healing - and maybe even a chance at love. Cassie's life has been one curve ball after another recently. Like her parents' divorce and her father moving to Hong Kong. But the sailboat that appears in her driveway might beat it all, especially when her mother explains that she, Cassie, and Cassie's brother Drew will be skipping their summer plan Changes is Latitudes is a road trip novel set at sea. A story about big changes, facing the difficulties life throws up, family - whether it is broken or healing - and maybe even a chance at love. Cassie's life has been one curve ball after another recently. Like her parents' divorce and her father moving to Hong Kong. But the sailboat that appears in her driveway might beat it all, especially when her mother explains that she, Cassie, and Cassie's brother Drew will be skipping their summer plans and sailing the yacht down the coast to Mexico. Life on board is just as awful as Cassie expects - seasickness, tight quarters, separation from her friends and their summer plans, and no distance from her mother who Cassie blames for all the recent changes in her life. But there might also be a few unexpected benefits, like the cute guy who is sailing on another boat in their group. It's a summer of big changes, but it might also be a summer of new discoveries and healing old hurts. Who doesn't love a road trip and this book takes that to the next level by setting the trip at sea along the West Coast of USA. Rugged weather, gorgeous animal encounters, and amazing scenery provide a fantastic backdrop for the story. I think what I liked most about this book was the way in which the author makes Cassie likeable. Yes, she is very upset about everything that has happened to her. Yes, she is angry and takes that out on the people around her. Yes, she would rather be anywhere else but on that sailboat. And yet, she never comes across as whiney or ridiculous or boring, which is great. In fact, I really felt for Cassie and could definitely empathise with her situation. I also liked that Cassie readily acknowledges that having her parents divorce might not be the rarest form of upset in her life, it may not be as bad as the things other people might have to deal with, but it is still painful and upsetting. I think this is so important. Just because it might be a common occurrence doesn't mean it hurts or that Cassie isn't entitled to be upset. I loved that Cassie is into plants. She wants to be a botanist and has a beautiful garden that she carefully tends. It made a great contrast to her life at sea, but I liked that it is a rare interest for YA characters.This book is all about relationships. Cassie's relationship with her mother is obviously a key one, as is her relationship with Jonah. But there are also other relationships explored, like the one she has with her brother as she learns to see him slightly differently than she has before. And, of course, her relationship or view of herself and her world, which undergoes a few big changes. The romance between Cassie and Jonah is well-paced, a perfect addition to the story, but it doesn't steal the limelight.Overall, Changes in Latitude is a fun contemporary novel that explores important themes in a very enjoyable way.The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Deyse
    May 20, 2017
    I really hate that my slump made me ready this one so slowly. It's a great story and I think the more mature from Malone so far, it has the right balance between cute summery romance and real life shit. The MC is having a hard time dealing with her parents separation and coming from separated parents I could relate to her feelings so much, a situation like this is always messy and hard on everyone involved, it was nice to see this family trying its best to make things work, there was a lot of ti I really hate that my slump made me ready this one so slowly. It's a great story and I think the more mature from Malone so far, it has the right balance between cute summery romance and real life shit. The MC is having a hard time dealing with her parents separation and coming from separated parents I could relate to her feelings so much, a situation like this is always messy and hard on everyone involved, it was nice to see this family trying its best to make things work, there was a lot of times when I teared up. I world have liked a bit more of the father side of things, maybe he could have showed up on one scene at the end, same from the friends, I get that there was geographical barriers and stuff, but still. Also, the ending is super open, so I wouldn't have minded a epilogue.
    more
  • Lindsay
    May 19, 2017
    Cassie’s world has turned upside down. Her parents divorced, her dad flew overseas to China where he teaches as a professor and her mom explains that they are renting out their house while they charter a sailboat from Oregon to Mexico for four months. So Cassie unwillingly says goodbye to her house, her garden, her friends, and her life of seventeen years as her mom, brother, and her board a sailboat and set sail. Their caravan is made up of two other boats including another family and a sailing Cassie’s world has turned upside down. Her parents divorced, her dad flew overseas to China where he teaches as a professor and her mom explains that they are renting out their house while they charter a sailboat from Oregon to Mexico for four months. So Cassie unwillingly says goodbye to her house, her garden, her friends, and her life of seventeen years as her mom, brother, and her board a sailboat and set sail. Their caravan is made up of two other boats including another family and a sailing expert with his twenty-year-old nephew. The story revolves around Cassie attempting to adjust to life at sea as well as battling her mom, since she is the cause of the divorce, while developing a relationship with Jonah.This book could have had so much potential. The main character was the reason it failed. Cassie was almost eighteen and yet she acted like a child, pouting and storming off in tantrums when she heard something she didn’t like. Not to mention that her fourteen-year-old brother acted like an adult amidst Cassie’s outburst and guilt trips. Honestly, if I were in Cassie’s shoes then yes, I would be upset over the house rental and living on a boat for four months, but I wouldn’t resort to acting like a child the whole trip, constantly bickering and reminding everyone of how awful sailing down the west coast is. I mean, imagine. Seeing marine life, dolphins, sea lions, and whales along with beautiful sunsets, crystal blue skies and the Pacific Ocean. What other seventeen-year-old would have that chance? And instead of realizing that this is a once in a lifetime experience and accepting that she isn’t in charge of everything, Cassie mopes and is bitter to everyone except Jonah.But then again, not everyone was raised like me, learning to accept things and not fight back when a decision has been made by the parents. I would have liked the story better if Cassie learned to accept the trip earlier on, instead of at the end, and didn’t use Jonah as her only reason for liking it. She hated everything about sailing until her and Jonah started hanging out and then bam, she is love stricken and spends all her time fantasizing about him.I love anything to do with the ocean and sailing, but Cassie’s attitude ruined the book for me.I received an ARC of Changes in Latitudes from Edelweiss.
    more
  • Alexa
    June 15, 2017
    This is the second Jen Malone novel I've had the pleasure of reading, and I enjoyed it a whole lot! It was really cool to read a story set on a sailboat for majority of the scenes, as the main character sets or on a months long voyage at sea with her mom and little brother. I found those details fascinating! I also liked that, apart from sailing shenanigans, there was also a lot of stuff that Cassie had to deal with - like her lingering resentment towards her mom and her developing feelings for This is the second Jen Malone novel I've had the pleasure of reading, and I enjoyed it a whole lot! It was really cool to read a story set on a sailboat for majority of the scenes, as the main character sets or on a months long voyage at sea with her mom and little brother. I found those details fascinating! I also liked that, apart from sailing shenanigans, there was also a lot of stuff that Cassie had to deal with - like her lingering resentment towards her mom and her developing feelings for a member of their sailing caravan. It was a fun read (even if it was a touch predictable), and I would recommend adding it to your summer TBR!
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    June 28, 2017
    DNF @ 15%. I'm sure many people will enjoy this fluffy contemporary romance, but I'm just not feeling it. I might pick it up at a later date when I'm up for it, but right now is just not the time.
  • April
    April 12, 2017
    Definitely didn't like this one as much as the last one I read. I'd give it a 2.5 stars if that was an option on here.
  • Natalie
    February 20, 2017
    2.5 starsAfter her parents' divorce, Cassie McClure's mother takes her and her brother on a sailing trip to Mexico in an attempt to rebuild their family. Cassie is having none of it...until she meets sweet, funny deckhand Jonah.I was delighted by the idea of a road trip romance at sea until I spent some 300-odd pages inside the head of the whiniest teenager ever. Admittedly, there are some efforts to acknowledge that Cassie's situation is not the worst thing ever and she does become more self-aw 2.5 starsAfter her parents' divorce, Cassie McClure's mother takes her and her brother on a sailing trip to Mexico in an attempt to rebuild their family. Cassie is having none of it...until she meets sweet, funny deckhand Jonah.I was delighted by the idea of a road trip romance at sea until I spent some 300-odd pages inside the head of the whiniest teenager ever. Admittedly, there are some efforts to acknowledge that Cassie's situation is not the worst thing ever and she does become more self-aware as the book goes on, but the near-constant complaining and virulent hostility towards her mother, which was all based on an overheard conversation, are exhausting. Having an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience is just so incredibly terrible, especially when you could be hanging out in your small suburban town, right? The sailing aspect was fun, as well as the teasing flirtation between Cassie and Jonah, and there were some touching moments between Cassie and her mother and brother, but the protagonist's entitlement ultimately put a damper on what could have been a fun summer romance.
    more
  • Monika
    November 7, 2016
    Changes in Latitudes is a cute road trip romance that takes place at sea. Easy read perfect for summer with a relatable main character and strong character development. In this book family has a very important role too and it's not only about the romance. If you have read Jen Malone's previous books then I'm pretty sure you have noticed how good Jen Malone is at writing all those flirting scenes. She's the master of flirting - literally.It hasn't made it to my favorite books list as Wanderlost d Changes in Latitudes is a cute road trip romance that takes place at sea. Easy read perfect for summer with a relatable main character and strong character development. In this book family has a very important role too and it's not only about the romance. If you have read Jen Malone's previous books then I'm pretty sure you have noticed how good Jen Malone is at writing all those flirting scenes. She's the master of flirting - literally.It hasn't made it to my favorite books list as Wanderlost did, but it's stills very good and I'm not regretting reading this book.I received an ARC of this book from HarperCollins via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mic
    September 24, 2016
    SIGN ME UP. I'm ready for travel feels, family/sibling banter feels, FLIRTY OTP FEELS (we all know Jen is the master of the flirt).
  • Andrea at Reading Lark
    June 27, 2017
    Review Posted on Reading Lark 6/28/17: http://readinglark.blogspot.com/2017/...Cass has had a rough few months as she struggles to understand her parents' divorce and the implications it has on her future. How could her happy family have fallen apart? After overhearing a heated argument between her parents, she begins to lay blame for the dissolution of her family solely at the mother's feet. Rather than discussing what she overheard, Cass plunges forward into her hurt and anger, pushing her mot Review Posted on Reading Lark 6/28/17: http://readinglark.blogspot.com/2017/...Cass has had a rough few months as she struggles to understand her parents' divorce and the implications it has on her future. How could her happy family have fallen apart? After overhearing a heated argument between her parents, she begins to lay blame for the dissolution of her family solely at the mother's feet. Rather than discussing what she overheard, Cass plunges forward into her hurt and anger, pushing her mother further and further away with every turn. Mother and daughter relationships can be complicated, but this one is more strained than usual.Cass finally is forced to confront her emotions about everything when her father takes a teaching job in Hong Kong and her mother decides to take Cass and her younger brother, Drew, on a trip sailing from Coastal Oregon down to Mexico. Cass will be gone for at least four months which means she will miss summer road trips with her best friends, working at the ice cream shop, and beginning her Senior year with everyone else in the fall. Instead, Cass will be living on a sailboat in close proximity with her mother and brother dealing with online homeschool, the ruthless whims of the ocean, and no chance of escape. There is no such thing as alone time on a sailboat. Cass is furious that her mother made such a monumental decision without even consulting her children, but she has no choice but to tag along as their home in Oregon has been rented out to a visiting professor.Cass reluctantly packs her bag, says her goodbyes, and hopes that her garden will be well tended in her absence. She boards the sailboat with a heavy heart and a bad attitude. Things don't get much better for Cass once things get underway. Her brother takes to sailing like a gull takes to the breeze, but Cass refuses to learn anything about her floating home. Rather than make the best of her situation, she chooses to wallow in her self pity and keep focusing on what she's leaving behind. She can't see what she might be moving towards. Even meeting the others in their small sailing convoy isn't truly enough to get Cass in the right frame of mind.A deckhand with sticky fingers will change the course of Cass' summer and help her get some new perspective when one of the convoy members brings aboard Jonah as his first mate. Jonah is a handsome, intelligent college drop out who is running away from the expectations of his rich and powerful family. He decides sailing to Mexico with a family friend is a good first step in asserting his independence, but he never expects to meet someone like Cass along the way. The pair instantly hit it off, but Cass knows that due to Jonah's age and the expiration date on this trip, that getting romantically involved can only lead to heartbreak. She decides to pursue more plutonic avenues with Jonah, but will soon find that the heart wants what it wants.After Jonah comes on the scene, Cass' mood improves significantly and she finally has a confidant for all of her emotions and concerns. Jonah helps her navigate the rocky current of her relationship with her mother and see solutions to bridge the chasm between them. I loved this pairing and was firmly in favor of Jonah from the moment he makes his appearance in the novel. Cass was always more bearable when he was around. I liked her and understood her frustration, but I did find her wallowing and whining to be a bit trying at times.Aside from the serious relationship issues of both a romantic and familiar nature, I loved tagging along for a summer adventure and getting to take mental vacations to some exciting locales such as San Francisco, the town where The Lost Boys was filmed, and the town that inspired Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds. I have never been to California, but I can only hope that if I do go someday that I will enjoy seeing everything as much as Cass and Jonah did. This was a fun summery read with depth, romance, and some beautiful moments on the sea.One Last Gripe: Ultimately, Cass will make or break this novel for readers. I chose to forgive her whining, but I wanted her to confront her Mom about what she heard and clear the air.Favorite Things About The Book: I loved the various settings and the relationship between Cass and DrewFirst Sentence: There are things I fully expect to encounter in my driveway.Favorite Character: JonahLeast Favorite Character: I didn't truly have a least favorite, but there were moments when Cass was difficult to like.
    more
  • Beth Rodgers
    June 23, 2017
    'Changes in Latitudes' by Jen Malone is a great summertime read. Taking place the summer before Cassie's senior year, life begins serving up a ton of surprises. First and foremost is that Cassie, along with her mother, Elise, and brother, Drew, are going to be taking off for several months to sail a boat to Mexico. The idea is appalling to Cassie, who would much rather spend her final summer of high school hanging out with her two best friends, traveling the countryside and taking scenic detours 'Changes in Latitudes' by Jen Malone is a great summertime read. Taking place the summer before Cassie's senior year, life begins serving up a ton of surprises. First and foremost is that Cassie, along with her mother, Elise, and brother, Drew, are going to be taking off for several months to sail a boat to Mexico. The idea is appalling to Cassie, who would much rather spend her final summer of high school hanging out with her two best friends, traveling the countryside and taking scenic detours. Adding to her upset is her parents' divorce, which is affecting her in numerous ways, including being angry at her mother, whom she had always had a great relationship with, up to the point of the divorce.The fact is that Cassie overheard something on the last night her father stayed at home, and it is shaping the way she is placing blame for the divorce, and the way she is coping with her life after the fact. As she deals with what she considers a complete upheaval of her life, she finds that not everything is quite as bad as it seems to be. Her pride, however, keeps her from admitting this, until her father requests that she send him two pictures every day, one of something bad or that isn't going her way, and one of something good or right in her day. This task helps Cassie gain some much needed perspective and come to new understandings of not only herself, but of her mother, and of her life in general.When she meets Jonah, a cute and quick-witted deckhand on a boat that is in their caravan down to Mexico, she learns that perspective is a definite plus, and everything and everyone has their own which might change the way they live their lives, the way in which they treat others, etc. Between Jonah's seeming ease with the father he doesn't talk to and Cassie's anger at her mother that she can't seem to let go, they work together, sometimes unknowingly, to come to conclusions about how to move past the struggles that seem to be overtaking their lives.Cute references to 'Star Wars' and welcome quotes about what it takes to be happy lend credibility to the novel, showing how Cassie's perspective might just change her life and her relationships in some of the best ways possible. There is some predictability at work in the novel, but it doesn't take away from the desire to find out how it will all end up. Fans of stories with romance, sightseeing, and a healthy dose of drama will really enjoy 'Changes in Latitudes' by Jen Malone. Definitely worth picking up this summer - or any time of the year, for that matter.*Review originally posted on YABooksCentral.com*Beth Rodgers, Author of 'Freshman Fourteen' and 'Sweet Fifteen,' Young Adult Novels
    more
  • Jennifer
    July 1, 2017
    3.5/5 starsChanges in Latitudes is a standalone Young Adult contemporary novel.The narrator is almost 18 year old Cassie (1st person POV). She is getting ready to start her senior year of high school.The book is part romance, part road trip (but on a sail boat) and part realistic fiction.Cassie's parents are getting a divorce and her mom wants them to go on a 4 months sailing trip on a small boat.When I started the book I was thinking that Cassie would be on the boat with her friends. So that pa 3.5/5 starsChanges in Latitudes is a standalone Young Adult contemporary novel.The narrator is almost 18 year old Cassie (1st person POV). She is getting ready to start her senior year of high school.The book is part romance, part road trip (but on a sail boat) and part realistic fiction.Cassie's parents are getting a divorce and her mom wants them to go on a 4 months sailing trip on a small boat.When I started the book I was thinking that Cassie would be on the boat with her friends. So that part surprised me. I was also not expecting the boat to be so small. That added a level of discomfort to the story.I knew that there would be a boy involved, and there was one. That definitely made the story more interesting.The book is basically about a sailing trip. It's about a family going through a divorce and how the teenage children handle the situation.The sailing part of the story was definitely very interesting. I also thought that how they traveled (with other boats) was very cool.Overall, the story was fine. I enjoyed it while I was reading it. Although I wish that more had happened throughout the book. There was some drama towards the end. And that was my favorite part of the book. However, the story did not end how I was expecting it to end. The ending was too unresolved. I wanted to know what would happen with Jonah, with school ... I wanted more. It just felt like the story wasn't complete.Thanks to edelweiss and HarperTeen for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Andrew
    June 28, 2017
    **I read an arc from work**Ehh. I feel like I was half skimming the last hundred or so pages. It felt a little long considering the storyline, on top of it not really ending in a good spot, at least to me. It's not a totally cute-fluff story, even a bit stressful at times, but could be a good summer contemporary match for many. The romance is pretty clean, so might be a good introductory book for ages 13-15 transitioning to YA lit. For me personally, I wasn't too caught into the relationship.
    more
  • Lauren R.
    May 16, 2017
    3.5 stars. Loved the unique twist on the "road trip" premise, but a few elements never clicked for me. I wasn't in LOVE with the romance, for one. Jonah was a little too smooth, kinda corny, and almost annoying sometimes. And Cass was... always annoying lol. If all of the book's tension can be resolved with one conversation, I'm not going to be all that invested in what happens. So yeah, not a favorite like WANDERLOST was but I'm still glad I read it. Good family feels in general, especially at 3.5 stars. Loved the unique twist on the "road trip" premise, but a few elements never clicked for me. I wasn't in LOVE with the romance, for one. Jonah was a little too smooth, kinda corny, and almost annoying sometimes. And Cass was... always annoying lol. If all of the book's tension can be resolved with one conversation, I'm not going to be all that invested in what happens. So yeah, not a favorite like WANDERLOST was but I'm still glad I read it. Good family feels in general, especially at the end.
    more
  • Lucía Cafeína
    June 27, 2017
    2.5-3.Ha habido partes muy interesantes y tiernas, pero en general no me ha enganchado demasiado, había partes bastante lentas y aburridas. En fin, que ha sido un libro que me ha dejado indiferente...
  • Natalie
    May 13, 2017
    this was a really nice story with a great family aspect. I really enjoyed it.
  • Sandy
    March 7, 2017
    Thank you HarperCollins Canada for sending our store this ARC. It was a fantastic read. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Kasie West and any other strong teen chicklit author.I love when a story is more about the journey the girl is on for her own growth and less about the journey she's on to meet a guy.Can't wait for this to come out so I can share it with everyone!
    more
  • TheReadandSeek
    May 6, 2017
    First Sentence: "There are things I fully expect to encounter in my driveway."Last Sentence:""To sailing in" we say in unison."Quotes were found in the ARC edition and might not be in the final copy. I will change quotes accordingly, once the final copy is out. This was a cute summer read. It was about being put in a uncomfortable situation, but in the end, that situation could be life changing. It was slow start, since the main character was dreading every little thing about being on the ocean. First Sentence: "There are things I fully expect to encounter in my driveway."Last Sentence:""To sailing in" we say in unison."Quotes were found in the ARC edition and might not be in the final copy. I will change quotes accordingly, once the final copy is out. This was a cute summer read. It was about being put in a uncomfortable situation, but in the end, that situation could be life changing. It was slow start, since the main character was dreading every little thing about being on the ocean. Then, Jonah comes aboard. Once the main character found someone she could connect with, she lets loose and has more fun. Overall, it had lots of summer vibes and drama for the story to be interesting. I did find some connections with the character, but it was a slow read for me because of her being down in the beginning. I did like the author's writing style so I might look into her other books in the future.
    more
  • Maggie
    February 18, 2017
    Highly enjoyed this, probably more than Wanderlost, which I also really liked. Turns out I like books set on sailboats (Unbreak My Heart, anyone?). I really liked Cassie's interest in plants and how, even at sea, that was such a big part of her personality. The family relationships really stood out (even with the dad in Hong Kong) and the friendships and romances were great, too. If anything I wish there was more about the other boats. Follow-up adult book about Christian, anyone?
    more
  • Book
    February 15, 2017
    Cute!
  • Teresa
    January 22, 2017
    A fun, cute, easy read that takes place on a sailing trip from the PNW to Mexico...which in turn made me wish that I knew how to sail, that lead to me looking up ways to sail the world..sorry I got distracted. Cassie is reeling from the divorce of her parents, her father moving halfway across the world then to top it all off her mother takes her away from her best friends for the summer, right before senior year. While sailing with her mother and younger brother, Cassie is forced to confront her A fun, cute, easy read that takes place on a sailing trip from the PNW to Mexico...which in turn made me wish that I knew how to sail, that lead to me looking up ways to sail the world..sorry I got distracted. Cassie is reeling from the divorce of her parents, her father moving halfway across the world then to top it all off her mother takes her away from her best friends for the summer, right before senior year. While sailing with her mother and younger brother, Cassie is forced to confront her feelings surrounding all the things and she is introduced to the charming, handsome Jonah.I really liked the growth that Cassie took throughout the story, and I think my favorite relationship was that between her mother and her...it was very realistic. Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC!
    more
Write a review