It Started With Goodbye
Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

It Started With Goodbye Details

TitleIt Started With Goodbye
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherBlink/HarperCollins
ISBN0310758661
ISBN-139780310758662
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

It Started With Goodbye Review

  • Joshua Gabriel (Forever Bookish Josh)
    February 28, 2017
    My written interview with Christina June can be found here. Thank you, Blink, for sending me an ARC of this book (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.Nothing this summer had gone the way I imagined. But maybe it was supposed to be that way so I could turn the page and move onto a new, clean chapter in my story. —TatumThis contemporary retelling of Cinderella is nothing short of literary perfection. I even liked it more than the original fairy tale. It was a quick read for me, but I t My written interview with Christina June can be found here. Thank you, Blink, for sending me an ARC of this book (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review.Nothing this summer had gone the way I imagined. But maybe it was supposed to be that way so I could turn the page and move onto a new, clean chapter in my story. —TatumThis contemporary retelling of Cinderella is nothing short of literary perfection. I even liked it more than the original fairy tale. It was a quick read for me, but I thought that its content was surprisingly hefty.It Started with Goodbye features elements inspired by its predecessor. Essentially, it is about a teenage girl who finds herself unhappy in her own home, particularly because of her mean stepmother. The doting father archetype is also present, as well as the beloved fairy godmother and the infamous stepsister. Finally, let's not forget Prince Charming, although he is relatively negligible in this book. When I come to think of it, It Started with Goodbye is not a love story. One of the reasons why I loved it is that it focused on Tatum's relationship with her family and friends. In fact, one of the main conflicts in the story is the strained connection between Tatum and her best friend, Ashlyn. The identity of Tatum's very own Prince Charming isn't even revealed until (whisper whisper). ;) It is a truth widely accepted that YA contemporary books generally put a premium on romantic themes. Hence, in light of its sober content, I really found this book to be very refreshing. Surprisingly, the lack of romance (combined with the simplistic writing) even made the novel fast-paced. I could have read it in one day, but I restrained myself because I wanted to savor each intriguing chapter.I also loved this book because of its well-developed and down to earth characters. I especially liked Tatum because her inner monologues made me feel a variety of emotions. It was also hilarious how she tended to overthink the valedictions of her letters. To my delight, I even managed to like Tatum's stepmother and stepsister because they were suspiciously more than what they seemed. Reading about them made me understand why retellings of fairy tale villains became so popular nowadays. This might sound strange, but the only character I disliked was Tatum's loving but naive father. (view spoiler)[I actually expected him to die, like what happened to Cinderella's own father. (hide spoiler)]I may have given this book 5 stars, but I did encounter one minor problem: Tatum's relationship with her mysterious Prince Charming was reminiscent of a certain overhyped novel written by Nicola Yoon. Haha. I shall leave it at that. If you're curious, please go ahead and read this book!In the end, It Started with Goodbye is a new addition to my shelf of favorite books in 2017. Even though this book is a retelling of Cinderella, the feelings it evoked in me were beautifully authentic. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a short yet meaningful book.
    more
  • Lisa Maxwell
    November 17, 2015
    I had a chance to read this one early, and what a terrific debut! Tatum is such a three-dimensional and *real* character. It's a great contemporary take on the Cinderella tale that explores the complexities of family and friendships, love and change.
    more
  • Laurie Flynn
    November 17, 2015
    SUCH a fantastic debut. There is so much to love about this book: an authentic, realistic plot, conflicts you'll relate to, and a main character you'll wish you were friends with in real life. Plus, there's lots of humor and heart, and I adore a book that can make me laugh and make me think. Tatum's voice is fantastic and so spot-on. Teen me wouldn't have been able to put this one down, and adult me couldn't either!
    more
  • Katy Upperman
    March 17, 2016
    Another Swanky book! I had so much fun reading It Started with Goodbye. It’s a modern spin on Cinderella, a story with weighty themes that’s told in this spirited, heartfelt way that made diving into its world an absolute joy. Main character Tatum is awesome; she’s constantly railing against her too-strict stepmother, but she never reads as bratty. Her voice is spot-on, full of humor and insight, and I’m pretty sure Teen Katy would’ve wanted her as a BFF. It Started With Goodbye has some steep a Another Swanky book! I had so much fun reading It Started with Goodbye. It’s a modern spin on Cinderella, a story with weighty themes that’s told in this spirited, heartfelt way that made diving into its world an absolute joy. Main character Tatum is awesome; she’s constantly railing against her too-strict stepmother, but she never reads as bratty. Her voice is spot-on, full of humor and insight, and I’m pretty sure Teen Katy would’ve wanted her as a BFF. It Started With Goodbye has some steep arcs, but author Christina June handles them with finesse, letting her characters grow in meaningful ways while preserving the heart of their well-developed personalities. And, as a romance lover, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention “SK”, the mysterious and witty boy Tatum trades emails with after he contacts her regarding her graphic design work. So cute and so sweet, and the payoff is perfection. It Started with Goodbye debuts May, 2017, but mark it To-Read now, because you’ll want to snatch it up as soon as it hits shelves.
    more
  • Tanaz
    September 30, 2016
    In terms of life events, my getting arrested was either pretty horrible timing or pretty perfect, depending on who you were talking to Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is in trouble for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. After being falsely arrested for shoplifting and paying a hefty fine, Tatum’s dad grounds her indefinitely as punishment. Tatum’s best friend Ashlyn (whose boyfriend had done the shoplifting) is shipped off to a private school, while Tatum is left alone at home with her fro In terms of life events, my getting arrested was either pretty horrible timing or pretty perfect, depending on who you were talking to Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is in trouble for being in the wrong place at the wrong time. After being falsely arrested for shoplifting and paying a hefty fine, Tatum’s dad grounds her indefinitely as punishment. Tatum’s best friend Ashlyn (whose boyfriend had done the shoplifting) is shipped off to a private school, while Tatum is left alone at home with her frosty stepsister Tilly, under the strict supervision of her stepmother, Belén. Tatum must now find ways to fill her free time and get through her house arrest without ruffling any more of Belén’s feathers. An unexpected ally arrives in Belén’s mother, Blanche, who sees through everyone’s nonsense, including her daughter’s. As Tatum completes her community service and opens a secret freelance graphic design business, she discovers that there is more to each member of her family than she realized.This modern-day Cinderella story is authentic and multi-faceted. Christina June has written all of these characters with such wit, humor and charm that I couldn’t help but fall in love with them (especially SK!). The references to The Golden Girls made this book even a bigger winner for me! Recommended for readers of quick-paced, uplifting YA with an utterly sweet romance in store! (Provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.)
    more
  • Marci Curtis
    November 17, 2015
    You guys...SO MANY HEARTS TO THIS STORY. Absolutely loved this fresh, charming debut, brimming with friendship, family, and love.And--hello--SK. SK. AHHHHHHH.... *dies* *swoons* *falls over dead*
  • Rosalyn Eves
    January 20, 2017
    IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE is a charming contemporary reimagining of Cinderella--if Cinderella had more gumption and a vision for her own life. Tatum Elsea is essentially under house arrest after a misunderstanding leaves her with a summer of community service and a fine to pay off. To earn money, she starts taking on a few design clients, including the enigmatic SK, who is on vacation with his family in Ireland but needs her help with a website for college applications. While I enjoyed the funny, IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE is a charming contemporary reimagining of Cinderella--if Cinderella had more gumption and a vision for her own life. Tatum Elsea is essentially under house arrest after a misunderstanding leaves her with a summer of community service and a fine to pay off. To earn money, she starts taking on a few design clients, including the enigmatic SK, who is on vacation with his family in Ireland but needs her help with a website for college applications. While I enjoyed the funny, warm romance, what I loved most about this retelling is that it wasn't just about the romance--it was also about Tatum's friendships and her family relationships.
    more
  • Amanda
    November 17, 2015
    I can't wait for everyone to read Tatum's story! I love her attitude and her sweet romance.
  • Amanda Searcy
    January 17, 2016
    I found this book absolutely delightful. It if full of fun, well-developed characters, friendships, and a little romance. It is a perfect beach read (or a snowed-in-but-wish-it-was-summer read). By the end, you will be wishing for step-grandmother Blanche to come stay at your house!
    more
  • Jen
    December 12, 2016
    Fun, Refreshing and Swoony! I loved the characters, the story and seeing how Christina June put her own modern spin on the classic tale of Cinderella. Tatum is a relateable character and watching her navigate her way through family, friendships and first love left me with a big, goofy smile on my face. Fairy-tale retellings can be hit or miss with me, but this one was a hit! I can't wait to see what Christina comes up with next. Fans of Kasie West, Jennifer E. Smith, and Stephanie Perkins will e Fun, Refreshing and Swoony! I loved the characters, the story and seeing how Christina June put her own modern spin on the classic tale of Cinderella. Tatum is a relateable character and watching her navigate her way through family, friendships and first love left me with a big, goofy smile on my face. Fairy-tale retellings can be hit or miss with me, but this one was a hit! I can't wait to see what Christina comes up with next. Fans of Kasie West, Jennifer E. Smith, and Stephanie Perkins will enjoy this. Read it.
    more
  • Carlie Sorosiak
    September 24, 2016
    It Started With Goodbye is so darn charming! This book is the absolute perfect summer romance with sweet characters and an abundance of cuteness. I read it in one sitting. I loved Tatum's spunky personality. Her voice is pitch-perfect, and she just felt so real. I was getting major Sarah Dessen vibes throughout the novel, so I would highly recommend for her fans, and also fans of contemporary romance with plenty of swoon-worthy moments!
    more
  • Jackie B. Forman
    October 30, 2016
    16-year-old Tatum Elsea is not having the best start to her summer. Her bestie's skeezy boyfriend shoplifted $300+ worth of merchandise with the two ladies around, meaning all three of them were arrested. After offering her testimony in exchange for a less-harsh sentence, her BFF isn't talking to her and Tatum is under house arrest. When her traditional summer babysitting gig falls through, Tatum is prepared to do nothing but suffer community service and the company of her terrible stepmother. T 16-year-old Tatum Elsea is not having the best start to her summer. Her bestie's skeezy boyfriend shoplifted $300+ worth of merchandise with the two ladies around, meaning all three of them were arrested. After offering her testimony in exchange for a less-harsh sentence, her BFF isn't talking to her and Tatum is under house arrest. When her traditional summer babysitting gig falls through, Tatum is prepared to do nothing but suffer community service and the company of her terrible stepmother. Things cannot get worse. The way this book started out was a bit of a dud for me. I struggled to believe that Tatum would be charged with grand larceny in this situation. I also couldn't understand why her stepmother, Belén, and her father were so unbelievably hard on her. No one was having real conversations with her, they were only looking down on her and holding a hard line. From the perspective of a Cinderella re-telling that made sense, I guess. But from a realism perspective it didn't. But Tatum's character was incredibly realistic. I can relate to the terrible feelings and poor self-esteem that Tatum is going through in It Started with Goodbye. 16-year-old me would have been bestie's with this girl. She is vocal, strong, knows what she wants-- and yet she is constantly questioning herself, her personal worth, and her future. This is a perfect 16-year-old. I adored watching the relationships between Tatum and the people in her life mature throughout this book. Tilly and Abby's relationships were my personal favorites. It was fun watching Tatum come into who she wants to be with friendships, family, and her future career aspiration. In retrospect, Blanche, Tatum's step-grandmother didn't really develop much as a character, but with her fairy-godmother status, I didn't mind. A cute, quirky, and modern take on Cinderella, I strongly recommend this to any fan of contemporary YA and romance.I received a copy of this ARC from NetGalley and Blink/Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review. It Started with Goodbye is expected to be published in May 2017.
    more
  • KT
    October 1, 2016
    IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE is an adorable retelling of Cinderella, yet it manages to feel new. I loved how June added plenty of cute references to the fairytale while modernizing so many elements. Tatum and SK are darling and funny, but Tatum's friendships and relationship with her (step) abuela make the story. There are a handful of flat-out swoon worthy moments, and another handful where I teared up. If you want lots of feels in a sweet, clean, and delightful package, this is the book for you.
    more
  • McCall Hoyle
    December 17, 2016
    This was the sweetest fairy tale retelling I've ever read. I loved it from start to finish. Tatum, the main character, is realistic. I thoroughly enjoyed her character arc, her interest in graphic design, and her interest in the adorable SK, who she develops a relationship with online. I'm a satisfied teacher/reader who will recommend this read to her students.
    more
  • Heather Fleet
    September 27, 2016
    There is so much to love about this story that I can't get all my thoughts straight quite yet. In other words...full review to come. :)
  • Amanda
    March 22, 2017
    "I cried for the girl whose voice remained unheard, who did her best to be good but didn't always get it right. I cried for the girl constantly trying to forge a connection, to find someone who took her at face value and didn't ask her to be something she wasn't. I cried for the doors that had closed and cried for the ones that might never open. I cried out of want, out of thirst for something nameless, my heart beating itself into a frenzy..." ***ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in e "I cried for the girl whose voice remained unheard, who did her best to be good but didn't always get it right. I cried for the girl constantly trying to forge a connection, to find someone who took her at face value and didn't ask her to be something she wasn't. I cried for the doors that had closed and cried for the ones that might never open. I cried out of want, out of thirst for something nameless, my heart beating itself into a frenzy..." ***ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***This was such a cute Summer read. This story is a modern contemporary Cinderella retelling. It's about Tatum who was arrested for being an accessory to a crime and she must now spend her summer doing community service hours, but she is also working on a secret project by night; her own graphic design company. With her father away on a business trip and her bff shipped off to boarding school, Tatum must spend the summer locked up in the house with her frigid Stepmother and Stepsister. Feeling lonely and inadequate she must try to have a fresh start and mend some of the relationships that have been broken by lack of trust and anger. I really enjoyed this book and thought it was pretty relatable. I connected well with the main character and thought that the development of her character was done extremely well from the beginning of the book through to the end. I enjoyed the love interest for most of the book but did find it a bit too insta-lovey In the end. The Cinderella retelling has been done a time or two but I still thought it was executed well.
    more
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    January 14, 2017
    DNF Mini review to come.
  • Erin Clemence
    January 26, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel, received in exchange for an honest review. “It Started with Goodbye” is the newest YA contemporary fiction novel from author, Christina June. In “Goodbye”, Tatum Elsea is sixteen years old and confined to her house, under the supervision of her stepmother, after being charged for a crime she didn’t commit. While she is adapting to what is sure to be her “summer of solitude”, Tatum unexpectedly finds new friends throu Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel, received in exchange for an honest review. “It Started with Goodbye” is the newest YA contemporary fiction novel from author, Christina June. In “Goodbye”, Tatum Elsea is sixteen years old and confined to her house, under the supervision of her stepmother, after being charged for a crime she didn’t commit. While she is adapting to what is sure to be her “summer of solitude”, Tatum unexpectedly finds new friends through her community service project, strengthens bonds that previously were broken- or at least chipped- and discovers surprising new talents in herself. This novel was described as having a “Cinderella arc” and that is evident right from the beginning, with the “evil stepmother” and “stepsister” roles of Belen and Tilly. However, that is about as far as the comparisons go to the classic fairy tale. This novel was YA in every sense of the genre- it was overly cheesy and extremely predictable, with young “misunderstood” characters who clumsily discover themselves while struggling with angst-y teenage dramas. I kept waiting for this novel to start. Tatum was a great character at first, however I found it hard to pick a focus for the plot. First, she’s arrested and has a falling out with her best friend. Then, she is on house arrest and the plot changes to her developing her home business. Then she meets a boy, and some new friends, and the plot changes again to Tatum’s social life. Than a step grandmother is introduced and the plot switches to Tatum building relationships with her step family. All very confusing, none of it very interesting. To a modern-day teenager, I am sure this novel would speak to them, as it details the day-by-day doldrums of teenaged Tatum. However as an adult (who perhaps is biased because I work with teenagers and am surrounded by their drama all day long), this novel did not really keep my interest. It was a quick read so I wanted to finish it, as I expected a dramatic ending (which didn’t happen). The plot line was cheesy and predictable and the characters were overly ordinary and I did not really form a bond with any of them. The writing was well done, however, and the novel was an easy read with quick chapters and a simplistic, non-pretentious style. This novel is definitely worth investigating if you are a pre-teen or teenager. Hard-core YA fans that are NOT adolescents (like myself) will find the novel a bit dull and again, cheesy. I have not read any of June’s other books, so I have nothing to compare this novel to, but this one did not quite have the impact I thought it would. The cover was pretty though.
    more
  • Tink Magoo is bad at reviews
    January 22, 2017
    Let me start by saying the first 70% of this book gets 4 stars, the rest 2 because I only have a certain cheese tolerance level before I overload and the last part of this far exceeded it.While the writing made this a quick and smooth read for me the development lacked. There is little conflict and it's all resolved quickly and easily with flowers and glitter and happy happy people . Okay I exaggerated, we are told she has learned a lot and grown up over the summer but I never felt that she had. Let me start by saying the first 70% of this book gets 4 stars, the rest 2 because I only have a certain cheese tolerance level before I overload and the last part of this far exceeded it.While the writing made this a quick and smooth read for me the development lacked. There is little conflict and it's all resolved quickly and easily with flowers and glitter and happy happy people . Okay I exaggerated, we are told she has learned a lot and grown up over the summer but I never felt that she had. And that was the issue.
    more
  • Kristy Mauna
    February 6, 2017
    I completely fell in l-o-v-e with this book. "I wished more than anything that I could teleport myself somewhere peaceful and quiet, where people smiled and laughed instead of keeping themselves buttoned so tight they choked themselves." If you're a fan of Cinderella then this book is for you! There is an adorable romance in this story, but the heart of this book revolves around family and friendships. I loved it. It felt so refreshing to read because Tatum is such a relatable character. We have I completely fell in l-o-v-e with this book. "I wished more than anything that I could teleport myself somewhere peaceful and quiet, where people smiled and laughed instead of keeping themselves buttoned so tight they choked themselves." If you're a fan of Cinderella then this book is for you! There is an adorable romance in this story, but the heart of this book revolves around family and friendships. I loved it. It felt so refreshing to read because Tatum is such a relatable character. We have all been in a situation where we've felt completely isolated or misunderstood, and her story is all about finding her people and finding confidence in herself.I'm going to write a longer review closer to the release date, but please add this book to your TBR list if you're a fan of contemporaries!! It's such a good one, I promise.* Quotes listed above are subject to change.
    more
  • Brianna
    January 15, 2017
    Christina June did a wonderful job with her debut novel! I genuinely enjoyed It Started With Goodbye, i was sucked into the book from the first page. The characters are funny and relatable, and the family issues really made you feel for the main character Tatum.With all that being said, i did have a couple issues with the book. First the pacing was wierd to me. It was moving along at first, then got pretty slow, and then everything seemed to happen in the last 75 pages. It made the ending feel v Christina June did a wonderful job with her debut novel! I genuinely enjoyed It Started With Goodbye, i was sucked into the book from the first page. The characters are funny and relatable, and the family issues really made you feel for the main character Tatum.With all that being said, i did have a couple issues with the book. First the pacing was wierd to me. It was moving along at first, then got pretty slow, and then everything seemed to happen in the last 75 pages. It made the ending feel very rushed. My other issue was with Tatum. She seemed unrealistically mature at times, not necessarily with her personality, but with the graphic design things she was doing. I mean shes only 16, i believe, and yet shes starting a business and knows business lingo with her all equally as young clients. I dont know just seemed off for me.Regardless of of my personal feelings, they did not overshadow my overall love of the book, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good contemporary read.
    more
  • Tabby
    March 26, 2017
    Nice little book, review to come
  • Regan Mies
    December 31, 2016
    Read with: toasted marshmallows and emotional cello musicRead when: you're feeling summer-y!Read if: you like quick, sweet, cute contemporaries with relatable protagonists :)I got the chance to read IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE before its release--thank you goodreads giveaways! thanks Christina omg--and I loved it!It took me a bit to totally warm to this book, but by the end, I was in love <3 It's about a sixteen year old girl, Tatum, who's put under her stepmother's house arrest for the summer af Read with: toasted marshmallows and emotional cello musicRead when: you're feeling summer-y!Read if: you like quick, sweet, cute contemporaries with relatable protagonists :)I got the chance to read IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE before its release--thank you goodreads giveaways! thanks Christina omg--and I loved it!It took me a bit to totally warm to this book, but by the end, I was in love <3 It's about a sixteen year old girl, Tatum, who's put under her stepmother's house arrest for the summer after being tied to a crime her best friend's sketchy boyfriend tried to commit. Said super strict stepmother refuses to let her do anything social at all besides community service for the entire summer. All of it. This bothered me (maybe because I'm a teenager, myself) and I also thought it came across as a wee bit unrealistic? (which, eventually, was an opinion that evolved as the relationships in the book evolved, too.)The relationships in this book are so so great. I loved Abby, and the band, and Ash, even, and Tatum's father was amazing, and SK <<3333, and Abuela, and I really ended up loving frosty ballet-dancing stepsister Tilly, too :) Also, the fact that half of Tate's family is Chilean was really cool. I liked the little cultural pieces here and there. I have to take a second for the romance in this book because it was so cute so so cute. I sat and smiled to myself as I read it. And the music too! And the design! And the conclusion was so beautiful and made me smile so much. This is a very smiley cute book. I enjoyed it immensely. Oh oh and that cover is beautifullllllll.
    more
  • Katie Nelson
    January 2, 2017
    A Cinderella retelling perfect for modern teens!When Tatum gets arrested for being the getaway driver for her ex-best friend and her skeezy boyfriend, she's placed on house arrest, forced to live under her step mother's rules. But Tatum is no damsel in distress, and between her daytime community service and her graphic design business on the side, she's determined to rescue herself through hard work, some help from friends and family, and a little bit of breaking the rules.This was a fresh, orig A Cinderella retelling perfect for modern teens!When Tatum gets arrested for being the getaway driver for her ex-best friend and her skeezy boyfriend, she's placed on house arrest, forced to live under her step mother's rules. But Tatum is no damsel in distress, and between her daytime community service and her graphic design business on the side, she's determined to rescue herself through hard work, some help from friends and family, and a little bit of breaking the rules.This was a fresh, original take on the Cinderella story. Tatum is a likable character and I instantly rooted for her and wanted her to succeed. I enjoyed her growth and the relationships that she developed, especially with her family members.
    more
  • Andrea
    January 17, 2017
    I loved It Started With Goodbye, Christina June hit all the right notes in this sweet YA with a cleverly disguised message about the importance of family while finding oneself and maybe even Prince Charming while your at it. I would definitely read more by this author, I flew through the pages eager to find out how Tatum's summer of self discovery would turn out.
    more
  • Tandie
    March 18, 2017
    This was so stinkin' adorable! Full review soon.
  • Nichelle Roe (fistpumppirate)
    February 26, 2017
    *I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*4.5 starsThis is an amazing debut by Christina June! This story has a lot of Cinderella-esque themes which I adore. First of all, the main character Tatum is amazing. She is definitely someone 16-year-old me would've wanted to have as a best friend. Even though she is confident with what she wants, she is just a normal 16-year-old. She has doubts about her skills and her future, which are definitely things I was *I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*4.5 starsThis is an amazing debut by Christina June! This story has a lot of Cinderella-esque themes which I adore. First of all, the main character Tatum is amazing. She is definitely someone 16-year-old me would've wanted to have as a best friend. Even though she is confident with what she wants, she is just a normal 16-year-old. She has doubts about her skills and her future, which are definitely things I was wondering about at that age too. Especially if your "Stepmonster" was always seeming to be super supportive of your incredibly talented stepsister. Watching her develop throughout the story was something that the author did perfectly and I was always rooting for her when everything seemed to fall apart. Secondly, we just need to take a moment to appreciate her step-abuela, Blanche. She was definitely the fairy godmother of this story and she was amazing. I was constantly laughing or smiling anytime she was in a scene. She is the person you wish to have around whenever something isn't going right. There were so many amazing characters that got introduced throughout the story and that was something I really appreciated. I love when an author takes the time to develop all the characters of a story instead of just the main one. All of the characters were relatable in one way or another and that was something very memorable about this book.Lastly....what would a Cinderella story be without a prince charming?? The prince charming in this story was developed in a way that made me smile. I was always waiting for that moment when everything comes together and I loved the way it was worked out. Everything about that was perfect.This is an amazing summer-type read, or if you're just wanting to enjoy a good contemporary with the whole package-humor, excitement, and some tears. I was really impressed and I want to read more by this author! Make sure you add this to your "To Be Read" list because you will definitely want to read this when it is released May 2017.
    more
  • Kate
    March 9, 2017
    I don't know the exact moment or the exact book that made me a fan of YA Contemporary Romance, but It Started With Goodbye is a great example of the sweetness and magic of the genre. Full review will be on our blog closer to release date, but I'm recommended this one! Plus, I know the author and she's amazing and possibly magical herself. ;)
    more
  • Leah
    January 24, 2017
    Tatum's summer got off to a rocky start. She happened to be at the wrong place at the wrong time when her best friend's loser boyfriend decided to steal from a department store and then use her as the getaway car. Unfortunately for Tatum, the police and her parents don't think she was just being a not-so innocent bystander is forgivable, so she is sentenced to a summer of community service, a $500 fine, and house arrest as deemed fit by her parents. To make matters worse, her BFF is made at her Tatum's summer got off to a rocky start. She happened to be at the wrong place at the wrong time when her best friend's loser boyfriend decided to steal from a department store and then use her as the getaway car. Unfortunately for Tatum, the police and her parents don't think she was just being a not-so innocent bystander is forgivable, so she is sentenced to a summer of community service, a $500 fine, and house arrest as deemed fit by her parents. To make matters worse, her BFF is made at her for ratting them out and her father has to go out of the country for work leaving her with her super controlling stepmonster and evil golden child stepsister for the entire summer. The only ally she seems to have is her Golden Girls loving her step-grandmother, Blanche, who is visiting for the summer to help assist with Tatum's punishment. Thankfully the summer turns out to not be as bleak as it seemed at first once she realizes an acquaintance from her school is doing community service with her. Tatum also launches a graphic design business since she has so much free time on her hands and ends up emailing with a client who turns out to be something a little more special. Tatum does a lot of growing up in her solitude with a little help from Blanche and her new friends. By the end of the summer, she is not the same girl she was at the beginning and has a new appreciation for herself, her friends, and her family. it-started-with-goodbyeLet me preface this review by saying that I immediately wanted to read this book because Tatum is one of my absolute favorite names. Once I saw that was the MC's name, I knew I had to have this book. I didn't realize until I started reading that It Started With Goodbye is a modern day spin on Cinderella. It works perfectly and ends up being just familiar enough with the fairy tale without feeling cheesy or forced. This is very much a character driven story, which are my favorite kind. Tatum is a great MC and does a full character arc by the end. I was able to relate to her easily and remember feeling similar things when I was 16. Tatum's friends are realistic and really feel like these could be actual people. There is so much diversity in the characters, and it made the book so unique from anything I've ever read. Tatum's stepmom and step-grandmother are immigrants from Chile, her stepsister is half Chilean/half white, and SK is half Irish/half Kenyan and the son of immigrants. The author did a great job of incorporating the heritage of each of the characters by using their language, names, and food from their home countries. I really enjoyed learning about the characters and seeing how their backgrounds influence them as people. The characters also have a wide variety of interests- dance, graphic design, art, music, and journalism, to name a few. It was refreshing to be able to relate with so many varying hobbies.Overall I am super happy with this book. If you love a good contemporary like I do and love authors similar to Kasie West, then you need to add this book to your TBR immediately. You will not be disappointed!
    more
  • Sky Destrian
    October 14, 2016
    If I had to pick one word to sum up It Started with Goodbye, it would have to be charming. Not only does this book fit this descriptor, but the word charming is doubly fitting because this is a retelling of Cinderella. Lost shoe? Check (kinda). Evil-ish stepmother? Check. Swoonworthy love interest? Check (he is seriously swoonworthy, guys). If you're looking for a cute, whimsical modern fairy tale, this book passes the test. (And that cover is my favorite--so gorgeous!) Other things you can expe If I had to pick one word to sum up It Started with Goodbye, it would have to be charming. Not only does this book fit this descriptor, but the word charming is doubly fitting because this is a retelling of Cinderella. Lost shoe? Check (kinda). Evil-ish stepmother? Check. Swoonworthy love interest? Check (he is seriously swoonworthy, guys). If you're looking for a cute, whimsical modern fairy tale, this book passes the test. (And that cover is my favorite--so gorgeous!) Other things you can expect:A focus on friendships. Honestly, the romance in It Started with Goodbye isn't as front-and-center as Tatum's friendships with other females. They grow throughout the book, and it's seriously really heartwarming to see her connect with other girls. An interesting love interest. Sometimes YA love interests can be a bit cookie cutter. Not for this book! With a rich background and compelling personality, ISWG's love interest definitely wins here. The love interest also is diverse, which is really good to see. Character development. Several characters change throughout the book, even if they're secondary characters. Tatum for sure changes the most, but it's interesting to see the change in the other characters as well. An adorable plotline. It Started with Goodbye is an excellent read if you're looking for something light and fluffy to escape into, and it's an amazing Cinderella retelling to boot. I loved all the details that correlated with the famous fairytale, except with a modern spin. It's also clean, so I highly recommend it to preteens or teens of any age. Originally posted at Youer than You. Many thanks to Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book!
    more
Write a review