Who's That Girl
Junior Nattie McCullough is totally OK with her place in life: Latin whiz. Member of the school’s gay-straight alliance. Joni Mitchell superfan. Seventeen-year-old who has never been kissed. So when last summer’s crush and her former classmate—Young Lungs lead singer Sebastian Delacroix—comes back to town with his new hit single “Natalie,” she can’t bring herself to believe it could possibly be about her…could it?As Nattie sorts through the evidence (the lyrics, Sebastian’s elusive text messages, and their brief romantic encounter last year), the song’s popularity skyrockets, and everyone starts speculating about “Natalie’s” identity. If that wasn’t mortifying enough, Nattie runs into another problem: her confusing, flirtation-packed feelings for her good friend Zach. With her once-average life upended, Nattie is determined to figure out once and for all if her short-lived past with Sebastian was something love songs are made of—or just a one-hit wonder.

Who's That Girl Details

TitleWho's That Girl
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherHarper Collins Children’s
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Who's That Girl Review

  • Jodi
    February 13, 2017
    This book has some of the best dialogue I've read in a looooong time. The snappy banter between the characters was one of my favorite things about this fun new YA! I felt like I was right there hanging out with the two Zach's, Tess, and Nattie, and following all their inside jokes (Jamba Alert!). This book's clever hook will draw you in from the get-go, but the well-rounded, awesome characters will keep you turning the page.
    more
  • Julie
    March 3, 2017
    this book was perfect with the romance and the friendship. I loved tess, Sam, and and Zach, and the whole gang. natty was so normal and loved her parents. this book was perfect ❤❤
  • Tracey Neithercott
    February 3, 2017
    Well, this was all sorts of adorable. is the kind of book you want to curl up with after a long and possibly terrible day. That’s exactly what I did, and I couldn’t help but smile pretty much the entire time I was reading it. Part of that came from Nattie’s quirky family, especially her father, who was hilarious and stole every scene he was in. If you loved the parents in Easy A, you'll adore Nattie’s, too. Then there are her friends, each of whom I completely adored, especially Zach. Because of Well, this was all sorts of adorable. is the kind of book you want to curl up with after a long and possibly terrible day. That’s exactly what I did, and I couldn’t help but smile pretty much the entire time I was reading it. Part of that came from Nattie’s quirky family, especially her father, who was hilarious and stole every scene he was in. If you loved the parents in Easy A, you'll adore Nattie’s, too. Then there are her friends, each of whom I completely adored, especially Zach. Because of course Zach. His relationship with Nattie was the cutest, straight from the start. Like I said: Nonstop smiling. Particularly well done was the setting—in Philly and its suburbs. I lived there years ago, and Who’s That Girl made me so nostalgic for it.If you need a feel-good book with a wonderful voice (or just love adorable romances), definitely check this out. It’s especially great for fans of Robin Benway’s Audrey, Wait!
    more
  • Eric Smith
    June 13, 2016
    ADORED this. Full review soon.
  • Sam Kozbial
    June 16, 2017
    Rating: 3.5 StarsThis was a super-cute rom-com that had me laughing out loud and often. I am pretty sure I wore a smile from the beginning until the end of this book. I am of lover of all things fun and cute and this one really delivered.Things I loved:*Nattie was adorable, quirky, a little nerdy, and a bit awkward. I really enjoyed her Lucy-esq antics, and that she was just so normal. Her emotions, fears, and joys were so commonplace. It was easy to relate to her. *Nattie's friends were such a Rating: 3.5 StarsThis was a super-cute rom-com that had me laughing out loud and often. I am pretty sure I wore a smile from the beginning until the end of this book. I am of lover of all things fun and cute and this one really delivered.Things I loved:*Nattie was adorable, quirky, a little nerdy, and a bit awkward. I really enjoyed her Lucy-esq antics, and that she was just so normal. Her emotions, fears, and joys were so commonplace. It was easy to relate to her. *Nattie's friends were such a wonderful, eclectic group. I adored listening in on their conversations. There was some great banter going on here, and it was often very amusing. Her squad was very special and as Nattie was dealing with all these emotions, I was glad she had her squad there to support her. They were all special, but Tess stood out, because she played such a huge role in the secondary plot. I liked that Thornburgh made her a little more than a sidekick, and I had a mile-wide smile when her big plot line was fulfilled. *Another wonderful group of people in Nattie's world was her family. The quirky apple didn't fall far from the tree here. We get lots of laughs with each visit to her parents and her "brother", foreign exchange student, Sam. They were all very warm and open, and their home seemed like a lovely place to grow up. I really liked that her relationship with Sam evolved a little over the course of the book, and that it may have been stronger than she had anticipated. Lots of warm and fuzzy feels on the family front here. *The romance was adorable. It was a total slow burn, with one party being totally oblivious to its existence! There were so many times that I wanted to shake some sense into Nattie and tell her to open her eyes. But alas, these things take time, and that just made it so much sweeter when it finally happened. I will not lie, the main plot hardly mattered to me, as I was enraptured by this lovely group of people that Thornburgh assembled. Who's That Girl was a fun story of love, friendship, family, and being oneself, which kept me jolly and fully entertained. Warning: There is a lot of baking and baked goods in this book. Beware reading this on an empty stomach. =)**I would like to thank the publisher for the advanced copy of this book.BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Ava
    April 19, 2017
    I can't think of anything I hated about this book, so I think it's more of a case of it didn't impress me very much or stand out in any way. Review to come later.
  • Sarah
    April 23, 2017
    This was fine. I'm really unenthused by most of this year's YAs... it's possible it's me, but they seem like a lot of the same. Anyway, cute enough read, I was irked that there was a random running joke than Sam Huang the foreign exchange student was always called by his full name like Huang was soooooo funny. I know this is a thing that happens but it was pretty icky to read, to be honest.
    more
  • Andrew
    June 20, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • Trista
    May 22, 2017
    I went in to this book thinking it would be a cute read with some romance, a growth arc, a little angst, and it had all of that. It also had great friendships, great dialogue between characters, and was a lot of fun to read. I loved the group of friends, the family dynamics, and the plot.Nattie was an easy character to like, even when she was making bad decisions because I could understand her reasoning behind them. That didn't mean I agreed with her or that I couldn't see the bad outcome that w I went in to this book thinking it would be a cute read with some romance, a growth arc, a little angst, and it had all of that. It also had great friendships, great dialogue between characters, and was a lot of fun to read. I loved the group of friends, the family dynamics, and the plot.Nattie was an easy character to like, even when she was making bad decisions because I could understand her reasoning behind them. That didn't mean I agreed with her or that I couldn't see the bad outcome that was coming from that decision, I could just understand why she came to the conclusion that her way was the best way. It was fun to see her push herself out of her comfort zone as she tried to get answers from Sebastian about the origin of the song "Natalie".The dynamics between the two main groups Nattie interacted with, her family and her group of friends, were so great. I loved the quirkiness of her parents, the sibling bond that had developed between her and the family's exchange student Sam, and just the whole overall family dynamics. Her group of friends were just so much fun any time they were all together. I enjoyed the romance aspect of the plot as well. I was a little worried about it feeling too love triangle-ish, but it felt more like a girl who was ultimately trying to figure out her confusing feelings.The main plot was mostly Nattie trying to figure out if she was the mysterious 'Natalie' in Sebastian's song and how to deal with it, while also figuring out her feelings for her friend Zach. It made for a light, perfect beginning of Summer read. I could easily see myself re-reading this by the pool on a nice day.*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Teresa
    May 19, 2017
    This book was fun in so many ways:1. The sheer awkwardness of Ms. Nattie (it made me pretty happy that I wasn't in high school anymore while simultaneously remembering that I acted that way sometimes while in high school) 2. The parents that walk to the beat of their own drum...Nattie's folks are second only to Nattie IMO...I would love to read a book about these two people...yurts better be included3. The feelings that begin to plague you when you find yourself thinking of your friend romantica This book was fun in so many ways:1. The sheer awkwardness of Ms. Nattie (it made me pretty happy that I wasn't in high school anymore while simultaneously remembering that I acted that way sometimes while in high school) 2. The parents that walk to the beat of their own drum...Nattie's folks are second only to Nattie IMO...I would love to read a book about these two people...yurts better be included3. The feelings that begin to plague you when you find yourself thinking of your friend romantically at times....I laughed out loud throughout the book it was that funny. Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC
    more
  • Lucía Cafeína
    June 26, 2017
    Ha estado bastante bien, es un libro de esos que se lee en un momento: sencillo, gracioso y con momentos tiernos. Sí que es verdad que ha habido algunas partes y actitudes por parte de la protagonista que no me han gustado, pero en general es todo positivo.
    more
  • F.M.
    April 30, 2017
    A YA contemporary debut with adorable/funny awkwardness, a strong group of friends, musical theming, and compulsive readability. I loved the voice in this book -- for such a large cast of friends, the dialogue came naturally and felt very distinct, which is a difficult task! The basic premise is that main character Nattie discovers that the boy she had a massive crush on / sort-of kissed the previous summer has hit the big time with his band's song "Natalie"... and when the band comes to town to A YA contemporary debut with adorable/funny awkwardness, a strong group of friends, musical theming, and compulsive readability. I loved the voice in this book -- for such a large cast of friends, the dialogue came naturally and felt very distinct, which is a difficult task! The basic premise is that main character Nattie discovers that the boy she had a massive crush on / sort-of kissed the previous summer has hit the big time with his band's song "Natalie"... and when the band comes to town to play a local show, she becomes a news-gossip celebrity by default as everyone suspects the song is about her. But she'd assumed that Sebastian never gave her another thought after they'd parted ways. Life understandably gets complicated at this point, especially when she starts to develop feelings for her guy friend Zach. Chaos ensues! A LGBTQIA-friendly, fun read that's perfect for summer! (I always read more contemporary books when it starts to get sunny outside... I don't know why, but it happens every year!)
    more
  • Teresa
    February 6, 2017
    * eArc provided by publisher via Edelweiss *
Write a review