The Complete Hothead Paisan
Hothead Paisan, the over-caffeinated, media-crazed psychotic lesbian "with scary hair and a fetish for guns, grenades, mallets, and sharp objects, " returns for more search-and-destroy missions and preventative homicides A cult favorite, The Complete Collection combines Hothead Paisan and Revenge of Hothead Paisan with new strips in a single volume for the first time.

The Complete Hothead Paisan Details

TitleThe Complete Hothead Paisan
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 18th, 1999
PublisherCleis Press
ISBN1573440841
ISBN-139781573440844
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Queer, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Feminism, Humor

The Complete Hothead Paisan Review

  • Elizabeth A
    September 29, 2015
    The Complete Collection combines Hothead Paisan and Revenge of Hothead Paisan with new strips in a single volume for the first time.Holy smokes, but how have I not read this before?Are you old enough to remember zines? Ah, the good old days of subversive zines. That I missed reading this when I was younger is a pity. If you are looking for fine art and colored illustrations look elsewhere. If you are a person who still thinks that girls are made of sugar and spice and all things nice, what rock The Complete Collection combines Hothead Paisan and Revenge of Hothead Paisan with new strips in a single volume for the first time.Holy smokes, but how have I not read this before?Are you old enough to remember zines? Ah, the good old days of subversive zines. That I missed reading this when I was younger is a pity. If you are looking for fine art and colored illustrations look elsewhere. If you are a person who still thinks that girls are made of sugar and spice and all things nice, what rock have you been living under?This feminist, queer positive graphic novel, is comprised of black and white comic strips, with sketchy art, and a no-holds-barred-take-no-prisoners attitude, and is as fab and relevant today as when it was first published. As for Chicken, who does not love a cat who does yoga?I have thoroughly enjoyed my travels to this fantasy world where sexists and homophones get what's coming to them. Why was this not made into a movie again?
    more
  • Nico
    January 25, 2008
    Until we have a queer feminist militia, there's Hothead Paisan. So much cheaper than a course in anger management, so much less time-consuming than prison. I keep mine next to my machete collection.
  • J. Rogue
    January 19, 2008
    Now, don't get me wrong, there are things I like(d) about Hothead Paisan, but I just can't forgive Diane DiMassa'a transphobia:Excerpt from Diane DiMassa InterviewBitch magazine, Summer 2004 (Issue #25)[About a musical based on DiMassa's cartoon, Hothead Paisan being premiered at Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, which excludes transsexual women:]Bitch: What about the MTFs?DiMassa: Oh, they're very angry. Okay. It started out with, "We knew you were such a supporter of the transgender community b Now, don't get me wrong, there are things I like(d) about Hothead Paisan, but I just can't forgive Diane DiMassa'a transphobia:Excerpt from Diane DiMassa InterviewBitch magazine, Summer 2004 (Issue #25)[About a musical based on DiMassa's cartoon, Hothead Paisan being premiered at Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, which excludes transsexual women:]Bitch: What about the MTFs?DiMassa: Oh, they're very angry. Okay. It started out with, "We knew you were such a supporter of the transgender community because you drew [the ambiguously gendered Hothead character] Daphne, and how could you let this happen?" and on and on and on. Then it turned into the rumor: "I heard you're putting on a Hothead play that excludes Daphne!"So, you know, it's a widening fire. But, as Susan has explained to me, Michigan's official policy is that Michigan is a space for women-born women who have experienced what it's like to grow up female in our patriarchal society. And just by saying that, they recognize that there are different types of women.Now--should I say this on the record? It's just fucking typical that a man-born lesbian can't get the concept of not being allowed somewhere. "How dare you! I must be allowed in there."------Check this out instead--->http://www.camp-trans.org/
    more
  • Dorian
    April 25, 2012
    Quite cathartic in many ways, and fun to read. DiMassa's treatment of trans people leaves a lot to be desired and is particularly disappointing in light of how liberating this comic can be. Mis or ungendering trans people is really not supportive, and framing transition as easy or something you do because you don't like your gender roles is dangerously false and misleading. The fact that only FTM's were really represented openly is recreating an unfortunate tendency in feminist and queer literat Quite cathartic in many ways, and fun to read. DiMassa's treatment of trans people leaves a lot to be desired and is particularly disappointing in light of how liberating this comic can be. Mis or ungendering trans people is really not supportive, and framing transition as easy or something you do because you don't like your gender roles is dangerously false and misleading. The fact that only FTM's were really represented openly is recreating an unfortunate tendency in feminist and queer literature. specifically the tendency to treat trans men as "really girls but appropriating masculinity" instead of as the men they identify as while ignoring the existence of trans women all together.Its really a shame, since in all other respects, this is a brilliantly funny critique of society from the perspective of the marginalized. It could have done without adding to the marginalization of others.
    more
  • Danielle
    May 18, 2007
    Cuz it's not just about hating men, it's about hating people!
  • Thomas
    April 18, 2009
    Okay, so apparently I'm not supposed to like Hothead Paisan, partially because Diane DiMassa is reported to be transphobic. I guess I can see that, plus the whole hating men and wanting to kill them thing. I'm not saying I approve. I'm just saying I laughed. But then, I'm a bad person.
    more
  • Jenny
    January 19, 2011
    First few dozen pages of Hothead Paison: lots of graphic violence and a psychotic main character. I thought, "Why would my friend, Red, who is super sweet, non-violent, and into meditation suggest this book to me? This is totally not her!" But the more you read, the more you see the true heart of the story. Hothead and her vigilante antics aren't the real story or purpose behind the book. It's really about recognizing the fucked up things that are happening in this world and still being able to First few dozen pages of Hothead Paison: lots of graphic violence and a psychotic main character. I thought, "Why would my friend, Red, who is super sweet, non-violent, and into meditation suggest this book to me? This is totally not her!" But the more you read, the more you see the true heart of the story. Hothead and her vigilante antics aren't the real story or purpose behind the book. It's really about recognizing the fucked up things that are happening in this world and still being able to find the love. To temper the violence, DiMassa characterizes Hothead as immature and impulsive, like a child, unable to channel her frustration in any other way. And Hothead's best friends are her biggest critics.Who among us doesn't feel like Hothead some days? When you see queers and women killed, shoved aside, belittled, and held up to ridiculous standards, who doesn't feel like locking up our conscience, downing a pot of coffee, and throwing a few grenades at some douchebags?
    more
  • Sandy
    August 3, 2009
    Every enraged lesbian feminist and everything she has ever wanted to do, is in here. She wacks off male members and is surprisingly metaphysically aware (she contemplates existence a lot for a cartoon). This is no 'Dykes to Watch Out For'. This is fantastically deranged.
    more
  • Susan
    September 28, 2009
    This helped me get through tough situations in 1994 and again in 2006! You don't have to be gay to read and love Hothead Paisan. You just have to be aware.
  • Sandy
    February 10, 2008
    This is a good book for when you're having one of those man-hatin' days. Unfortunately, I wasn't having one of them and it got old. Every issue's plot basically boils down to Hothead drinks coffee, Hothead goes out on the town, man says something stupid, Hothead responds in one of three ways:1) shoots him2) blows him up3) cuts off his wanker.I like a good satire as much as the next person but this was just bad satire.The only reason it gets 2 stars is because her sidekick, Chicken the cat, is fu This is a good book for when you're having one of those man-hatin' days. Unfortunately, I wasn't having one of them and it got old. Every issue's plot basically boils down to Hothead drinks coffee, Hothead goes out on the town, man says something stupid, Hothead responds in one of three ways:1) shoots him2) blows him up3) cuts off his wanker.I like a good satire as much as the next person but this was just bad satire.The only reason it gets 2 stars is because her sidekick, Chicken the cat, is funny. I actually debated between 2 and 3 stars just because of Chicken. But this isn't entitled Chicken Paisan so I went with 2.
    more
  • Jonah
    March 15, 2013
    I couldn't stand the misandry.I bought this book because I loved Dykes to Watch Out For, and I looked for books using the keywords "lesbian comic," and this turned up, and I had a gift certificate, so I bought it. While this book does have its good points, and while the author or main character certainly mellows out by the end ... you're not going to enjoy this book if you don't enjoy violent fantasies, or the portrayal of men as being universally driven by a desire to be worshipped (sexually an I couldn't stand the misandry.I bought this book because I loved Dykes to Watch Out For, and I looked for books using the keywords "lesbian comic," and this turned up, and I had a gift certificate, so I bought it. While this book does have its good points, and while the author or main character certainly mellows out by the end ... you're not going to enjoy this book if you don't enjoy violent fantasies, or the portrayal of men as being universally driven by a desire to be worshipped (sexually and otherwise) by women.
    more
  • Leigh Anna
    December 21, 2009
    Homicidal Lesbian Terrorist strikes! It's a wonderful, at times surrealist, graphic novel that provides catharsis for all those times you just wanted to find that serial rapist you've been reading about in the news and exact painful bloody revenge. But in spite of the graphic violence, Hothead and her vengeful antics aren't the real story or purpose behind the book. The real book is about seeing the things that are happening and still finding peace and love. Worth the read.
    more
  • Wolverina
    November 25, 2015
    This is glorious. One of the most beautiful, uncompromising and sustained angry rants possible, and manages to show rage as exhausting even when completely justified. Bits are hard to stomach (like getting too caught up in damaging anger is I guess). Absolutely cutting.Probably if you are part of the mob couldn't stand Requires Hate, this isn't the book for you. Intensely critical of its own community as well as the wider world and soooooooooooo mean.
    more
  • Laura
    June 3, 2008
    What can I say? I adore Diana DiMassa, and want to have her babies. Hothead is my favorite character and everyday I ask WWHHD? (What would Hothead do?) Would she take it lying down? Would she let the world leave treadmarks on her? Hell no! She gets right back up, fuels herself with strong coffee, and kicks ass. I love it.
    more
  • Sabrina Chapadjiev
    June 28, 2009
    Brilliant. The interchange of DiMassa's text and clever images makes the weight of the issues she's tackling just a bit easier to bear. Her humor, rage and love are apparent in every single strip, and it is the most accurate depiction of the rage I've often felt. If you think no one understands- turn to Hothead. She does.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 10, 2010
    Hothead Paisan was part of my feminist awakening. Love the "crude" drawing, love Chicken, love the violence and outrage. Wish it was less of a one-note comic; can't read that much of it without wanting more variation in story line. :)
  • Gitta
    February 17, 2009
    One for the raving, man-hating separatist lesbian feminist hatemonger in me. She's small, and she doesn't get out much, but why shouldn't she want a quality read?I recommend it to everyone. Everyone.
  • Matt
    October 3, 2008
    Eh. Just read Alison Bechdel.
  • kubby
    January 31, 2008
    what can i say? it's that crazy hothead. sometimes she's a bit much for me, but i'm thankful she exists
  • Kit
    December 14, 2016
    Trying to put DiMassa's issues with huge sections of the queer community in mind, I can sit around three stars. Art's a mess, but that's kind of part of the point and culture, but for pure entertainment? I've gotta say I need a copy to show to people in my library at home.
    more
  • Amy
    August 17, 2015
    I've had this one on my shelf since about the time it came out and never read it. Why? I have no idea. It would have resonated much more with 20-something me than current me. There are many things I love about this comic (the occasional breaking the 4th wall, how Hothead's t-shirt can change 6 times in one strip, Roz's character) but at the same time it felt like one idea/one story (patriarchy is the worst, I will assert my power by killing sexist men) done over and over again. I was over it aft I've had this one on my shelf since about the time it came out and never read it. Why? I have no idea. It would have resonated much more with 20-something me than current me. There are many things I love about this comic (the occasional breaking the 4th wall, how Hothead's t-shirt can change 6 times in one strip, Roz's character) but at the same time it felt like one idea/one story (patriarchy is the worst, I will assert my power by killing sexist men) done over and over again. I was over it after the third justifiable homicide. And yeah, I like rage fulfillment fantasy as much as the next marginalized queer but ... and maybe this is one of those catch-22 situations ... DiMassa did a pretty good job of making me feel connected to Hothead; her own writing made me want more out of her. I wanted more stories *about* Hothead, Chicken, Roz, etc. rather than just Hothead making the world safer for humanity, one chopped off dick at a time. I feel like her rage cost me the opportunity to get to know her better.Read as #20 in 2015 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge: read a graphic novel
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 23, 2014
    Probably merits a flip through again to see if I can get anything out of it from the perspective of age. Read it in college, fresh out of my dinky little hometown where "Wouldn't you rather be a nice nurse or a pretty teacher?" was still considered acceptable career advice by my hs guidance councilor. Nope. ...Eh, nope.So, with those pent up frustrations and an overweening desire to excel on my own terms fresh, you'd think I'd be amongst the target audience, and I did laugh. But it got repetitiv Probably merits a flip through again to see if I can get anything out of it from the perspective of age. Read it in college, fresh out of my dinky little hometown where "Wouldn't you rather be a nice nurse or a pretty teacher?" was still considered acceptable career advice by my hs guidance councilor. Nope. ...Eh, nope.So, with those pent up frustrations and an overweening desire to excel on my own terms fresh, you'd think I'd be amongst the target audience, and I did laugh. But it got repetitive. I recall thinking, "What's the point?"Well, I could go into a long analysis, but it would wind up more about my own scars, philosophies, and feels. I'll leave it so: give it a shot if fantasies of vigilante justice relax you.
    more
  • Regina Clarkinia
    May 1, 2015
    A must-read. Everybody read now. She expresses the rage women and women-lovers feel from rampant misogyny. Poking fun at herself for her sillyness and anger and extremist views. And blowing off steam by kicking lots of ass in the most ridiculous way possible.after-thought...(just read abt dimassa's trans-phobia, which sucks, maybe she's changed her perspective or will change it... keeping the faith that dumbness in people can always smarten up)
    more
  • Chris
    January 9, 2009
    The level of detail DiMassa manages to infuse into the superficially dirt-simple art can be amazing. The anger/rage/fear/disgust are sometimes hard to read (especially from the wrong side of the audience), but it's also fascinating to watch someone's public self-therapy. The plotlines are interesting, although as someone who doesn't drink coffee, I was definitely missing out on that aspect too.Favorite touches: Fritz the Cat clock; '13' idee fixee in #13; Daphne.
    more
  • M.
    July 12, 2010
    hothead! roz! daphne! CHICKEN!!!! i love this book and its characters. i think this could be the most personally significant book i've read since blood and guts in high school, i mean on the grounds of channeling so strongly its politics and aesthetic approach. and it's so self-aware too. maybe i'll put some more articulate thoughts together some other time. all i wanna do now is gush. this book is a genius and therapist to many.
    more
  • Miranda
    September 14, 2007
    Hothead Paisan (homicidal lesbian terrorist) is such a cute little nutball. She's been driven insane by our sexist crap culture, and it has driven her to acts of terrorism (or justice, depending on how you look at it ... maybe "vigilantism" would be a more accurate term). This book is funny, thought-provoking, and it makes me feel better when I'm pissed off at the world.
    more
  • Alex L.
    September 20, 2011
    This is the first Huge Lesbian Book I ever read, secretly, in the aisles of the then-new Indigo Books at Yonge and Eglinton. I read it after school and I don't remember much other than vivid, dirty linework and a sense that it was important fiction. And, of course, funny, the way things from a different time are funny, before you're old enough to really get the joke.
    more
  • Tatiana
    November 13, 2007
    not for the faint of heart. pretty violent, pretty crass, this book is all id. but really, what woman in this society hasn't felt her trigger finger itch after being harrassed by some ahole? and chicken, the cat, is one of those shakespearian supporting characters that surpasses the subordinate role.
    more
  • Sarah
    March 20, 2012
    Surreal, full of non-sequiturs and random tangents, but lots of fun, and definitely a great wish-fulfillment tool at times. (Honestly, I would enjoyed even more violence by HH. Her revenge on the rapists was one of my favorite bits.)
  • Melina
    June 8, 2008
    I love Chicken the Cat! Chicken needs a spinoff of her own. Oh, Hothead is pretty okay herself, too. Everyone needs a homicidal heroine to root for, but Chicken! Chicken is a cat who takes yoga classes! Chicken is the TRUE heart of the story.
Write a review