Rules for Thieves (Rules for Thieves, #1)
After twelve-year-old orphan Alli Rosco is cursed with a deadly spell, she must join the legendary Thieves Guild in order to try and save herself in this high-stakes debut.Twelve-year-old Alli Rosco is smart, resourceful, and totally incapable of keeping her mouth shut. Some of these traits have served her well during her nine years in Azeland’s orphanage, and others have proved more troublesome…but now that she’s escaped to try her luck on the streets, she has bigger problems than extra chores to contend with. Surviving would be hard enough, but after a run-in with one of the city’s Protectors, she’s marked by a curse that’s slowly working its way to her heart. There is a cure, but the cost is astronomical—and seems well out of her reach.Enter Beck, a boy with a gift for theft and a touch of magic, who seems almost too good to be true. He tells Alli that the legendary Thieves Guild, long thought to be a myth, is real. Even better, Beck is a member and thinks she could be, too. All she has to do is pass the trial that the King of Thieves will assign to her. Join the Guild, collect her yearly reward and buy a cure. Plus, Alli hopes the Guild will be the home—the family—that Alli has always wanted. But when their trial goes wrong, innocent lives are put in danger, and Alli has to decide how much she can sacrifice in order to survive.

Rules for Thieves (Rules for Thieves, #1) Details

TitleRules for Thieves (Rules for Thieves, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherAladdin
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade

Rules for Thieves (Rules for Thieves, #1) Review

  • Emily Murphy
    February 28, 2017
    I loved RULES FOR THIEVES. It's clever, original, fast-paced, and brimming with shades of gray. Ott's writing is beautiful and she's created a heroine in Alli Rosco who is sharp-tongued, complex, and endearing. An easy five stars--make sure to pick this one up.
    more
  • McCall Hoyle
    March 27, 2017
    I love everything about this book. Alli Rosco, the twelve-year-old protagonist, is a girl I can root for and who's voice and sense of humor I love. The story is fast-paced and suspenseful. I already can't wait for more books by this author.
  • Lori
    March 2, 2017
    I really love this book! It kept me captivated from beginning to end. I love Alli Rosco's sense of humor and sarcastic wit. At times I was laughing out loud. Beck's character was mysterious yet endearing. Can't wait to read book two!
  • Allison
    June 14, 2017
    I really, really enjoyed this book. I found myself reading it when I was eating and walking around the house. The characters, especially Alli, are spunky and likeable, and I love the tension of the heist scenes. Also, a cool use of magic in a magical yet familiar world. No spoilers, but I thought the ending was managed well, and I'm looking forward to the next installment!
    more
  • Joanne O'Sullivan
    June 24, 2017
    It's hard to believe this is a first novel! From the first page, the reader has the feeling of being in the hands of an expert storyteller. The world that Alli and Beck live in is so endlessly fascinating, with magic and saints and ancient guilds- it's a world you'll never tire of spending time in. Alli and Beck are likable and brave, and their adventures are heart-stopping. But this story has a lot of heart, too. Ott expertly balances the fast-paced plot and wonderful character development- I c It's hard to believe this is a first novel! From the first page, the reader has the feeling of being in the hands of an expert storyteller. The world that Alli and Beck live in is so endlessly fascinating, with magic and saints and ancient guilds- it's a world you'll never tire of spending time in. Alli and Beck are likable and brave, and their adventures are heart-stopping. But this story has a lot of heart, too. Ott expertly balances the fast-paced plot and wonderful character development- I can't imagine a kid who wouldn't love this book (but it's great for adults, too!).
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 1, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineAllie Roscoe is in an Azeland orphanage, but isn't excited about Adoption Day. She's been adopted before, and things didn't work out, so she is surly to prospective parents, and then decides to run away, not thinking about what she would do afterwards. Hungry, she tries to steal something and is almost caught. Luckily, she meets Beck, who helps her and tells her about the Thieves Guild, and offers to take her there to come under their protection. Unluckily, E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineAllie Roscoe is in an Azeland orphanage, but isn't excited about Adoption Day. She's been adopted before, and things didn't work out, so she is surly to prospective parents, and then decides to run away, not thinking about what she would do afterwards. Hungry, she tries to steal something and is almost caught. Luckily, she meets Beck, who helps her and tells her about the Thieves Guild, and offers to take her there to come under their protection. Unluckily, she has been cursed with Xeroth's Blood by one of the city's Protectors, and will die in nine days unless she can get to the far off Healing Springs and pay ten thousand majas to enter. She and Beck go to the king of the Thieves Guild, and he agrees to help them... after they complete the task of stealing Lady Atherton's necklace. This is a complicated matter, and takes a lot of preparation and cunning. The two manage to steal the necklace, but the theft does not go smoothly, and there is a death. Will Allie manage to get to the Healing Springs in time? Will she and Beck be accepted into the Guild?Strengths: Hard core fantasy readers who like books like Nielsen's The False Prince and Turner's The Thief will enjoy this quasi-medieval tale of magic and suspense. It moves quickly and has all the facets of a standard fantasy adventure. A sequel is in the works. Weaknesses: Allie was not a very pleasant character, the world building fell flat for me, and there were a lot of improbably moments. What I really think: I am not a big fan of this type of fantasy, so this type of book has to really have an unusual hook for me to buy it. The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart had a similar premise, but intrigued me more.
    more
  • John Clark
    June 21, 2017
    Take two appealing and gutsy twelve year old street urchins, poison the girl with magic inflicted by one of the Protectors-guards who have pretty ruthless powers of enforcement, and have healing cost more than she'll imagine making in her lifetime. That's Alli Rosco and her sarcastic benefactor, Beck. He's on the cusp of joining the thieves guild he's grown up in and when he offers her a chance to sign on and pass the challenge leading to membership and get the money needed to get healed, she ju Take two appealing and gutsy twelve year old street urchins, poison the girl with magic inflicted by one of the Protectors-guards who have pretty ruthless powers of enforcement, and have healing cost more than she'll imagine making in her lifetime. That's Alli Rosco and her sarcastic benefactor, Beck. He's on the cusp of joining the thieves guild he's grown up in and when he offers her a chance to sign on and pass the challenge leading to membership and get the money needed to get healed, she jumps at it. Following the thrill-a-minute trip the two must take to pass their test for guild membership is quite the enjoyable ride. This is a satisfying read, not only for juvenile lovers of fantasy, but for anyone liking a well crafted entry in the genre.
    more
  • Diane Magras
    June 20, 2017
    A fast-paced adventure woven with mysteries with a tough girl protagonist who never loses her nerve (expect a bit inside). A great story with a powerful ending. My 10-year-old son has read it twice and both he and I highly recommend it.
  • Alex
    March 19, 2017
    Man I really don't like to talk poorly of a book, but this was just a little thin for me. 2.75
  • My
    June 27, 2017
    The main character, Alli, reminded me of someone I know in real life who's quite overbearing and speaks her mind regardless of how the other party might feel afterwards. I don't like her sometimes, but other times she's okay. I guess that just leaves room for character development in the sequel?
    more
Write a review