Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3)
Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3) Details

TitleWildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherAvon
ISBN-139780062289278
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal, Magic, Paranormal Romance, Adult

Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3) Review

  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    January 1, 1970
    Previous rating: 60 million stars. More or less.New rating: 💥 BOOM 💥 More or less.➽ And the moral of this rerererererereread is : time for another kidnapping adoption update! Because I just realized I had failed to secure Abraham Bug the last four times I read this book! Which is slightly outrageous and stuff! So outrageous that if I wasn't me I'd most certainly unleash my murderous crustaceans on my little nefarious self, for failing to lock up rescue everyone's favorite Swarmer. I mean, the g Previous rating: 60⁸ million stars. More or less.New rating: 💥 BOOM 💥 More or less.➽ And the moral of this rerererererereread is : time for another kidnapping adoption update! Because I just realized I had failed to secure Abraham Bug the last four times I read this book! Which is slightly outrageous and stuff! So outrageous that if I wasn't me I'd most certainly unleash my murderous crustaceans on my little nefarious self, for failing to lock up rescue everyone's favorite Swarmer. I mean, the guy told the Desperately Pathetic Bitch (DPB™) Rynda to fish off when she asked him to get her coffee, then insisted on getting some for Nevada. Now if that doesn't make him Instant Harem Material (IHM™), I don't know what will. So yay and stuff, Bug is mine mine mine and stuff, let's dance and stuff!• Book 1: Burn for Me ★★★★★• Book 2: White Hot ★★★★★• Book 3.5: Diamond Fire ★★★• Book 4: Sapphire Flames ★★★• Book 5: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2020?• Book 6: Untitled Catalina Novel - to be released 2021?[June 2018]💉 Some Clueless People Use Illegal Drugs to Get High But That's Just Because They're Um Clueless and Stuff and Have Never Read a Tactile IA Book Before Ha Buddy Rerererererererereread (SCPUIDtGHBTJBTUCaSaHNRaTIABBHBR™) with the IA Addicts 💉Previous rating: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX³ stars.New rating: 60⁸ million stars. More or less.➽ And the moral of this rerererererereread is : actually, no, what we need here is not a moral, but an update. A kidnapping adoption update. Sooooo, I already did the Poof Gone Harem Thing (PGHT™) on Rogan (view spoiler)[didn’t you get the wedding invite? (hide spoiler)], Nevada, Grandma Frida, Matilda, and the House Harrison Menagerie of Awesomeness (HHMoA™) a looooooong time ago (view spoiler)[meaning: back off puny humans, unless you want to have your little puny heads delicately chopped off via serrated pincers and stuff (hide spoiler)], and will now be snatching away and locking up kindly rescuing:🔑 Sergeant Teddy. Because superiorly intelligent, pacifist bears are super hot.🔑 Cornelius Harrison, aka the Closet Savage. Because both Matilda and his Menagerie of Awesomeness™ miss him, and would love to have him move into the Harem with them. And also because I’ve always wanted a dashing, frying pan-wielding male secretary.🔑 Zeus. Because I’ve always dreamt of adopting a cute, fluffy, cuddly tiger-hound with “teeth the size of steak knives and a fringe of tentacles at his neck.”🔑 Leon. Because hahahaha and also because boom boom boom boom.🔑 Arabella. Because she brilliantly demonstrated that even people with a, um, German, heritage can do maths. Kind of.That it’s for now! Stay tuned for upcoming news on IA abductions adoptions! And since I don’t want you to get bored (because “we do so hate to get bored,” don’t we?) while I’m busy shopping for new victims boarders, I’ll leave you with Grandma Frida, who wanted to do a little dance in honor of Romeo. Go, Grandma! Show ‘em those smooth moves![July 2017]Previous rating: XXXXXXXXXXXX stars. New rating: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX³ stars. At least.➽ As proven by a recent scientific study, reading any Ilona Andrews book will result in:✔ Instant disintegration of one's problems.✔ Eradication of world hunger.✔ A sudden, irrational, irrepressible need to jump up and down like a slightly hysterical 12-year-old fangirl/fanboy/fanperson/fanthing/whatever.✔ Lowered cholesterol levels.✔ Uncontrollable urge to rererererererereread every single book Ilona Andrews has ever written.✔ Immediate resolution of all violent and armed conflicts on the planet.✔ Uncontainable squeeing.✔ Unforeseen improvement of one's financial situation.✔ Insupressible desire urge to adopt non-threatening dragons and big furry, fluffy cats.✔ Peace and love and all that crap.» And the moral of this rereread is : Ilona Andrews. Making the world more livable one book at a time. [April 2017]Actual rating: XXXXXXXXXXXX stars ← this rating was unfortunately censored by GR support. It was so high the tech team feared the site servers would not withstand the pressure, and that GR would implode the second this crappy non-review was posted.✉ My dear Poor Roganless Souls (PRS™): In an uncharacteristically kind display of disgusting heart-warming compassion, I have decided to very graciously spare you, and not write an actual crappy non review for this book until it is officially released. I love nothing better than to relentlessly taunt you ruthlessly, so I do hope you realize how horribly agonizing this is for me. That being said, I know you hate to see me suffer so (because when I suffer you suffer and stuff) and that you would do just about anything to alleviate this most atrocious pain I am currently in because of you. Actually, I think I can hear you begging me to tease you barbarously, all the way from the depths of my undersea kingdom. I shall therefore gleefully remedy this most unpleasant situation we find ourselves in by joyfully complying with your Imploring to be Taunted Plea (ItBTP™). Don't worry, I am not completely heartless (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)], so I shall try and keep this as short and pointless as possible. You are so very welcome.➽ Quick and Mostly Painless Wildfire Facts (QaMPWF™) :① Ze Lusciously Scrumptious World of Total and Utter Awesomeness: The idea of mixing all sorts of most glorious and varied forms of Most Yummy, Fresh, Never-Seen Before Magic Abilities (MYFNSBMA™) with Military Type Armed Conflict Stuff (MTACS™), is pure genius. It is so bloody shrimping mouth-wateringly magnificent I think might shed my exoskeleton and cry tears of crustacean blood. It's beautiful. And quite obviously calls for another 5868 instalments in this series. At least.② Please Abduct Me Characters:When characterisation is so Orgasmically Shrimpazing (OS™) (view spoiler)[← yes, that is a thing (hide spoiler)] you end up wanting to kidnap adopt every single shrimping person thing you read about. Good gals & guys, bad gals & guys, fauna, flora, utensils, vehicles, constructed dwellings, knitting projects (don't ask)…Everything. Even the cute kids and slightly annoying teenagers. Because only IA knows how to do crustacean-approved, non allergy-inducing kids and teenagers (view spoiler)[← I never wrote that. Kids are revolting and teenagers are repulsive. Go home, you're obviously drunk (hide spoiler)]. The Andrews create such Amazingly Amazing Characters (AAC™), I'm pretty sure they'd even manage to make barnacles fascinating, if they ever decided to write about them (view spoiler)[not that you aren't, you know, interesting and stuff, my Little Barnacles, it's just that, you know, there are more, you know, exciting subaquatic stuff beings to write about than, you know, you. No offense (hide spoiler)].③ Succulently Succulent IA Dialogues and Banter (view spoiler)[DUH (hide spoiler)]:I'd love to prove this to you mathematically but maths suck to do so I'd have to quote 95% of the book which I clearly cannot do since it hasn't, you know, been published yet (view spoiler)[← this in case you hadn't noticed. You're welcome. (hide spoiler)] and sharing a single sentence from the book with you would surely mean Spontaneous Subaquatic Crustacean Combustion (SSCC™) for me and I'm pretty sure you wouldn't want that so QED and stuff. ④ The Most Wondrous IA Petting Zoo: The animals/beasts/creatures/monsters/pets/whatever in this series are so bloody shrimping awesome I'm thinking of kidnapping adopting them all (view spoiler)[sorry, what? You want to know why I'm so keen on adopting everything and everyone? Because the little heart that I don't have is overflowing with sickening luurrve, obviously. (hide spoiler)]locking them up in a high security menagerie-like harem kindly providing shelter for them. And also: mozzarella cheese sticks. Dark horses. Chocolate mousse. Cologne. Zeus. Mushrooms. Hot tactile stuff (view spoiler)[DUH (hide spoiler)]. Bang, you're slightly dead. MCMs (view spoiler)[What? Where you seriously expecting me to tell you what MCMs are? You are so naïve sometimes, my Little Barnacles. It's really cute (hide spoiler)]. Blue spoiler spoiler spoiler. Bonsais. Tentacles. Montezuma cypresses. Spoiler spoiler spoiler. Monsters and abominations. Multiple nostrils. Arcane stuff. And spoiler spoiler spoiler.And also, also: Maths suck. And also, also, also: (view spoiler)[spoiler spoiler spoiler (hide spoiler)].» And the moral of this Worry Not Poor Roganless Souls For You Too One Day Shall Read this Book not Today though or the Day After It Won't Be Next Month Either or the One After that Damn I'd Hate to Be You Right now Crappy Non Review (WNPRSFYTODSRtBnTtotDAIWBNMEotOAtDIHtBYRNCNR™) is: I refuse to think this will be the last instalment in this series, or the last book set in this world. It cannot be. It will not do. And I WILL NOT ALLOW IT. You are quite welcome.P.S. I look at the covers for the books in this series, think of all the clueless people who will buy them, thinking this ain't naught but a silly romance, and go:P.P.S. In case it had slipped your silly barnacled mind: Rogan is slightly mine (view spoiler)[MINE MINE MINE MINE (hide spoiler)]. (view spoiler)[MINE (hide spoiler)].ARC kindly provided by the Slightly Awesome Authorlords (SSA™) in exchange for...Something. Not sure what. Which is quite worrying. I already gave them my soul, I wonder what they could possibly ask of me now. A chunk of my exoskeleton maybe? Or a piece of my black, withered heart? Apprehensive apprehension is me.[Pre and post and in-between read nonsense and stuff]☢ Bump Your Heart Out Warning: this review is going to get bumped repeatedly until this book is released. So if you are one of those freaks who convulse whenever they see the same review in their feed more than once, do us both a favour: unfriend and block me. You're welcome ☢[July 13, 2017]Wednesday kicked Ilona's butt. So she retaliated by posting a new snippet on the blog. Ilona is slightly awesome, if you ask me. [June 22, 2017]It's Snippety Snippet Time again!!! [June 9, 2017]Chapter 2, part 4 is already online, Most Glorious Authorlords (MGA™)? Uh-oh. I guess that's it then. This is the end. Bye bye, Poor Roganless Souls (PRS™), it was nice slightly taunting you![June 8, 2017]Chapter 2, part 3 is here. I kid you not, Poor Roganless Souls (PRS™). Three excerpts from this slightly scrumptious book in three days. This is utmostly fishy. I have a feeling the Most Wondrous Authorlords (MWA™) are up to no good and stuff.[June 7, 2017]Slightly unexciting update #21583: the Most Scrumptious Authorlords (MSA™) just posted Chapter 2, part 2 on the blog. Sigh. How positively unstimulating.No, this is NOT my boyfriend Mad Rogan. Just in case you were wondering.[June 6, 2017]Yet another Impromptu Non-Review Interruption for the Greater IA Good (INRIftGIAGS™): those somewhat desperate souls who find themselves willing to slightly slaughter things if they don't get their hands on the present book yesterday might possibly want to click here. Should they valiantly and heroically choose to do so, they might magically come upon a kinda sorta NOT short excerpt from said book. Said NOT short excerpt possibly being a moderately lengthy part of chapter 2. Maybe. Perhaps. Now please go squee elsewhere. Thank thee kindly.[April 21, 2017]Bloody shrimping hell, I have an ARC.➽ January 13, 2017 : it's Snippety Snippet Friday (SSF™)!!!➽ January 5, 2017 : we have a T-shirt cover!!!!!➽ January 4, 2017 : it's snippety snippet day!!! I want to adopt Grandma Frida!!! And her blowtorch, too!!!➽ December 15, 2016 : time to unleash your slightly immature inner fangirls/boys/whatevers, my Little Barnacles, we got ourselves our first snippet!!!!➽ November 30, 2016 : we've got book cover news! In her latest blog post, Ilona says: "Looking at mockups of WILDFIRE, the third Nevada and Rogan book. Rogan has a shirt. Thought you would like to know." Bloody hell. There is a God and he loves me.➽ November 20, 2016 : we have a title + we have a blurb + we have a publishing date + the book is available for pre-order =➽ January 9, 2016 :Actual rating: 15 stars.No there is no title.No there is no book cover. No there is no publishing date. No I haven't read the book. YES I'm giving it 15 stars anyway. Because TACTILE. TACTILE. TACTILE. TACTILE.
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    Re-read Coming soon in May and June The Re-Read of this was even better!!! Partially because the book was so good, but also because the people over at Ilona Andrews Addicts (IAA) are amazing as well.If like me you got to the end of this book and were sad that it was all over, have no fear Ilona and Gordon are here and it is confirmed that there will be one more book in this series. EVERYBODY CHEER!!!And IA is right there was just no way to shove one more thing into this book let alone a tie up e Re-read Coming soon in May and June The Re-Read of this was even better!!! Partially because the book was so good, but also because the people over at Ilona Andrews Addicts (IAA) are amazing as well.If like me you got to the end of this book and were sad that it was all over, have no fear Ilona and Gordon are here and it is confirmed that there will be one more book in this series. EVERYBODY CHEER!!!And IA is right there was just no way to shove one more thing into this book let alone a tie up everything plot arc. So we are lucky and will get at least one more Hidden Legacy gem. I read this in a day....actually 1.25 days. I read until I couldn't keep my eyes open any longer and then as soon as I woke up in the morning I finished it. Then I took a week and a half to reread and savor every word on the page.Ilona Andrews is a favorite author of mine because I'm constantly thinking"Where do they come up with is stuff???"It is always original, interesting, crazy cool and my mind is yet again blown with what they have come up with.✔ - Swooning time with the Dragon. Mad Rogan I LOVE YOU!!! I leaned forward to look at his face. The dragon was out in all his terrifying glory. I grinned. “What are you thinking about?”“Nothing.”Lie.“You can’t kill Garen Shaffer.”“Technically, I can. I choose not to. And I wasn’t thinking of killing him.”“If you go over to his place and break his arms in five places, it would look bad. People will be afraid to do business with me.”“I wasn’t thinking of breaking his arms either. I was thinking of hamstringing his corporation, ripping it apart, and selling it piece by piece while he watched.”Mad Rogan, the Scourge of Mexico. A civilized and considerate enemy. “You can’t ruin every man who threatens me.”“Yes, I can. Besides, I would only have to ruin the first couple and the rest will get the hint..." ✔- Nevada kicking ass and taking names✔ - Origin stories (love finding out about the family) - You are in for a treat when you learn about Arabella's magic. AMAZING.✔ - OMG magical animals and totally crazy cool arcane stuff. One word ZEUS!!!✔ - Rogan...I know I already mentioned him but trust me he deserves to be here multiple times.✔ - Victoria (you haven't met her yet but she is one scary bitch broad✔ - Grandma Frida and Romeo :Pand everything else is this book was fan-FREAKING-tastic. I can't wait to read it again. edit: I did read it again and probably a 3rd time too. Just as fantastic every time.Thanks to Ilona Andrews for graciously giving me an ARC. I can't give her my soul since it is bound to another but I'd totally send her yarn and baked goods.I have an ARC....*Looks at current TBR list**Looks at Current State of Chaotic Life**Tries to Rearrange said Chaotic Life*This might kill me but I'm going to reread the first 2 before jumping in.....so theoretically I should be able to do that so I get to read this on my Birthday May 7th.I can't wait...but I have to wait a little. ADULTING IS HARD
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads-no-more
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed by: Rabid ReadsBefore anything else, it's important to know: the main storyarc is not resolved in this book. We still don't (definitively) know who Caesar is, and Rogan's conniving snake of a cousin has yet to receive her comeuppance. And while that may not be ideal, guess what is? MOAR HIDDEN LEGACY. *dares you to be a pessimist*I mention this b/c while I knew a fourth installment was planned, before reading WILDFIRE for the first time, I had assumed that promise was a boon rather than Reviewed by: Rabid ReadsBefore anything else, it's important to know: the main storyarc is not resolved in this book. We still don't (definitively) know who Caesar is, and Rogan's conniving snake of a cousin has yet to receive her comeuppance. And while that may not be ideal, guess what is? MOAR HIDDEN LEGACY. *dares you to be a pessimist*I mention this b/c while I knew a fourth installment was planned, before reading WILDFIRE for the first time, I had assumed that promise was a boon rather than a necessity. I find it's best to know in advance that a series you thought was ending isn't in fact ending. SO. Now you know.Secondly, this chapter of Rogan and Nevada's life carries a lot of DREAD. Dread over a megalomaniac grandmother's intentions, dread over the repercussions of Nevada and her mother's continued silence on Leon's ability, dread over a certain worthless former flame of Rogan's . . . Speaking of which, did you know that I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate the appearance of old-flames-with-an-agenda? B/c I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate the appearance of old-flames-with-an-agenda. And while, it's handled well (I can't help but feel that this was a result of the outcry over KATE #6), meaning there are few moments of serious (legitimate) doubt, that doesn't negate the fact that I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate the appearance of old-flames-with-an-agenda. *fumes*So that might color my overall experience a bit.To make things worse: She was the kind of person who would see a pot overflowing on the stove and come and tell you about it, instead of picking it up and moving it off the burner. And then she would be proud of herself for acting quickly in a crisis. *throws head back and shrieks with rage*It is a truth universally acknowledged that the kind of female not bothered by the relationship status of her target male is also some version of useless and or (seemingly) helpless. Smart, capable women aren't interested in beginning relationships with disloyalty at the foundation, but this woman . . . GAH. *plots murder* Basically, the fact that she was such a well-crafted target for my ire isn't necessarily a good thing in this situation. It's impossible for me to separate the negative feelings the Andrews' evoked with their masterfully imagined relationship obstacle from my overall experience. The hate is too strong. That's the only reason I'm giving WILDFIRE 4.0 stars. It doesn't seem fair, even to me, to punish the authors for their mastery of characterization, BUT. I hate, loathe, despise, and abominate the appearance of old-flames-with-an-agenda. *shrugs awkwardly* It causes me real anxiety. Otherwise, it was everything I've come to expect from my favorite writing duo. There's the increasingly kick-ass heroine (whom I called "soft" in an interview when BURN FOR ME was released *shakes head at self*): “You’re wasting my time,” I said. “Just say everyone I know and love is dead. It’s more efficient.” He laughed quietly. “You’re mouthy.” “And you’re a psychopath.” “You say it like it’s a bad thing. It’s practically a requirement for people in our position.” “Yes, well, David Howling did it better.” “Rogan won’t always be there to do your dirty work.” “Rogan didn’t kill David. I did. He fought me for his life and lost. The next time we meet I’ll pull every dirty secret out of your mind and lay them out in the open. When I’m done, you’ll curl into a ball and weep, just like all the others. That’s how you threaten, Vincent.” The secondary characters that are as wonderfully crafted as the MCs: “Could you get me some coffee?” “No,” Bug said. She blinked. “I’m a surveillance specialist, not a waiter,” Bug said, his diction perfect, his voice flat. “The coffee is on the kitchen counter over there. Help yourself.” She opened her mouth and closed it. “Nevada?” Bug said. Don’t do it, don’t do it . . . “Would you like some coffee?” “No, thanks.” Ass. “Because I’ll totally get it for you.” The plot is still compelling and action-driven, the enemies, nefarious, the world is fantastic . . . So I repeat, WHY have you yet to read it for yourself? Hmm?? HIDDEN LEGACY has everything a fan of paranormal romance and/or urban fantasy could possibly want. It's truly one of the few idiot-proof decisions a lover of either or both genres can make. Bottom line: In this modern world of too-many choices, pick a guaranteed win for once. #yourewelcomeMy other reviews for this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1) White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2)
    more
  • Anne
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsOk, so I caught a lot of (good natured) shit for not falling in love second book, and that made me a teeny bit nervous to read this one.Three stars is a RESPECTABLE rating, you maniacs!But then I realized that I am a strong, confident woman who is capable of standing up to a bunch of book geeks and voicing my opinion...because y'all don't scare me. Or that's what I told myself. The reality looked a bit more like this:So yeah. I was kinda nervous what with all the IA Addicts out there. I 4.5 starsOk, so I caught a lot of (good natured) shit for not falling in love second book, and that made me a teeny bit nervous to read this one.Three stars is a RESPECTABLE rating, you maniacs!But then I realized that I am a strong, confident woman who is capable of standing up to a bunch of book geeks and voicing my opinion...because y'all don't scare me. Or that's what I told myself. The reality looked a bit more like this:So yeah. I was kinda nervous what with all the IA Addicts out there. If you've met any of them you can't blame me! There's no reasoning with those people! Piss 'em off and there's nowhere to hide...Kidding! Kidding! I love you, nutters guys!And you can all put down your pitchforks because I also loved this book.This (for whatever reason) grabbed ahold of me in a way that the previous one did not. I didn't want to put it down! White Hot took me weeks to finish, but Wildfire kept me up past my bedtime. Huge difference! What a page turner!Nevada and Rogan are undeniably a great couple, but the best thing (for me) was Nevada's willingness to step back and trust that Rogan loved her and not his whiny, scheming ex.It reminded me of how much I love the level of maturity Team Andrews writes into their romantic characters. There was (I thought) the appropriate amount of insecurity but, at the same time, she wasn't willing to let it overtake the way she acted. She called Rogan out about the way he was coddling his old fiancee and then moved on with her life. She wasn't a doormat or a screeching green-eyed monster. Well done! And it's not just Rogan and Nevada that were carefully crafted. Every one of the characters in this story felt two dimensional, no matter how small a role they played. That sort of reality in the writing is just one of the reasons so many of us worship the Kate Daniels series.(view spoiler)[I LOVE YOU, CURRAN! (hide spoiler)]I don't want to spoil anything plot-wise, but I think I can safely say that this was an action-packed roller coaster ride. And while not every question gets answered, the ending should make fans of these characters extremely happy. This. Was. Awesome!Huge thank you to my lovely friend, Trish, for gifting me this book!
    more
  • Tadiana ✩Night Owl☽
    January 1, 1970
    A strong 4+ stars. Review first posted on Fantasy Literature. Note: some spoilers for the previous books in this series, Burn for Me and White Hot. You do need to read the first two books in this urban fantasy series before jumping into this third and, at least for now, last one.The smoking hot adventures of Nevada Baylor and Connor “Mad” Rogan continue in Ilona Andrews’ Wildfire (2017), the third book of the HIDDEN LEGACY series, set in an alternate version of our world in which a serum has unl A strong 4+ stars. Review first posted on Fantasy Literature. Note: some spoilers for the previous books in this series, Burn for Me and White Hot. You do need to read the first two books in this urban fantasy series before jumping into this third and, at least for now, last one.The smoking hot adventures of Nevada Baylor and Connor “Mad” Rogan continue in Ilona Andrews’ Wildfire (2017), the third book of the HIDDEN LEGACY series, set in an alternate version of our world in which a serum has unleashed magical powers in a minority of people. The magical families are organized into Houses, and typically marry to preserve and intensify the right combination of genetics so that their children will have the strongest possible magic and their Houses will stay powerful. Nevada is the head of her family private investigator business and a powerful truthseeker (a human lie detector who can also force others to speak the truth to her); Rogan, the head of House Rogan and the most powerful Prime telekinetic in Houston, Texas.Nevada and Rogan are still fighting the ongoing secret conspiracy of certain magical Houses to destabilize Houston so a magical dictator called Caesar can take over, but at least they have their new romantic relationship to give them support. Nevada and Rogan are a couple now, trying to figure out where their relationship will go from here. But two new major problems have cropped up.First, Nevada’s ruthless grandmother, Victoria Tremaine, has come to town, trying to take control of Nevada and the Baylor clan by whatever means necessary. Victoria, one of the most powerful truthseekers in the country, is the only member of her House Tremaine, and it will die with her unless she’s able to convince Nevada and her sisters to join her, by fair means or foul. Nevada’s family agrees that joining House Tremaine is a repugnant prospect, and fighting Victoria will be gravely dangerous given her vast resources. The third option, which they elect to pursue: try to become an independent magical House, the new House Baylor. If two of them pass the official tests for a Prime-level magic practitioner, they’ll have three years’ immunity against attack from Victoria and any other Houses.Second, to make their lives even more difficult (and thicken the plot nicely), Rogan’s ex-fiancée Rynda, a lovely and clingy redhead, turns up, begging Nevada for help finding her missing husband Brian, a plant mage. But it certainly looks to Nevada like she’s trying to get Rogan as a backup plan, in case her husband can’t be found. And Rogan soon gets sucked into Rynda’s orbit, because he’s a protective kind of guy and wants to help an old friend who’s begging for his time and assistance. As Nevada begins to investigate, the clues begin to link Brian’s likely kidnapping to both the Caesar conspiracy and Victoria Tremaine.Like the prior books in the HIDDEN LEGACY series, Wildfire has an imaginative, fast-paced plot with a large side of steamy romance. For those who enjoy this type of urban fantasy, Wildfire is an intense and highly satisfying page-turner, marked by witty dialogue, intelligent and kickass women, and tough, handsome men who are nevertheless respectful, in a distinctly alpha kind of way. It may be formulaic, and I found the mystery that unfolds in Wildfire not quite as compelling and coherent as those in the prior books, but still, the excitement rarely lets up. And I was impressed that Rogan and Nevada, when they have issues and misunderstandings, talk about it like adults and work things out… though it’s usually after Rogan hurls a few large items around using his telekinetic powers.One of the big pluses in this series is the interpersonal relationships of the characters, particularly the delightful family dynamics of the Baylor clan. There’s a great love between all of the members of the family, even though sometimes it’s expressed through teasing and overprotectiveness. Nevada isn’t the only person in her family with Prime-level powers, but her younger sisters’ powers, though very different from hers, could put them in danger of losing their freedom if the Baylors aren’t able to become a House and control their own destinies. Fans of the series will be excited to find out more about fifteen year old Arabella’s and sixteen year old cousin Leon’s unusual superpowers, and will be charmed by a couple of new animal characters who join the cast: Sergeant Teddy, an enormous, intelligent Kodiak bear who’s an avowed pacifist, and Zeus, an arcane catlike creature from another dimension.Bonus points for a truly funny math joke in the final pages and, well, for the whole final scene with the Baylor sisters, which ends this book in the series on a high note. The Andrews have mentioned in online posts that they originally intended Wildfire to wrap up the series with a nice happily ever after, but at their editor’s request left the ending more open-ended. There are definitely some plot elements that still need resolution, so here’s hoping for another Nevada and Rogan adventure in the near future!Initial comments: YES!!! Finally, finally, got the ARC! *does happy dance*
    more
  • Sh3lly (GrumpyBookGrrrl.com)
    January 1, 1970
    Fangirl explosion to commence in 4...3...2...1...This book picks up immediately after book 2 (Wild Hot). These books definitely need to be read in order, but I can't recommend this series enough. Ilona Andrews has an amazing imagination. They just top themselves with each book. Their writing gets better and better. The pacing is off the charts in this and it's very plot-driven, although the Andrews have a magical way of making even their supporting characters come to life with only a few scenes/ Fangirl explosion to commence in 4...3...2...1...This book picks up immediately after book 2 (Wild Hot). These books definitely need to be read in order, but I can't recommend this series enough. Ilona Andrews has an amazing imagination. They just top themselves with each book. Their writing gets better and better. The pacing is off the charts in this and it's very plot-driven, although the Andrews have a magical way of making even their supporting characters come to life with only a few scenes/lines. I don't know how they do it. I love EVERY single character in this, even the "bad guys."Highlights:- The Baylor family (all of them)- Victoria Tremaine - Sergeant Teddy and ZeusOh, who am I kidding? If the Baylors had a house plant that showed up, I'd love it too!This "arcane realm" fascinates me and I really think a whole series could be written about it. The creatures that come from there and the Summoners... I want to know more!I just love every single thing about this series. Every thing. All the things.My review for Burn for Me - Five Stars!My review for White Hot - Five Stars!Buddy read with the Ilona Andrews Addicts group.
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    "Things around you have a way of turning interesting. I do hate to be bored.” Oh yeah, no boredom to worry about when Ilona Andrews is on the scene. I loved this book so much that I want to marry it. Or, at least let me marry the authors. Yes, they are already married, and so am I, but I need them. We can work something out.What would make good bait for my marriage trap that I am building for the Andrews'?If you have been reading this series, you will LOVE this book, and if you haven't, get you "Things around you have a way of turning interesting. I do hate to be bored.” Oh yeah, no boredom to worry about when Ilona Andrews is on the scene. I loved this book so much that I want to marry it. Or, at least let me marry the authors. Yes, they are already married, and so am I, but I need them. We can work something out.What would make good bait for my marriage trap that I am building for the Andrews'?If you have been reading this series, you will LOVE this book, and if you haven't, get your ass over to the kindle store, library, Barnes & Noble, whatever.... Cuz, you need the awesomeness that is Nevada Baylor and her family. They are, literally, magic.I meant non-lame magic.Nevada is our heroine and is a total badass girl. You will like her almost as much as Kate Daniels. I say almost because I'm not sure it is scientifically possible to like anyone as much as many of us love Kate. I mean, we're not crazy or anything. Really. It's just that our rabid love for her burns within us like a thousand suns, that's all. But, Nevada can easily burn suns in the hundreds. She's that cool. Here is Nevada's reaction when her boyfriend's ex comes in and is all over him like white on rice, and one of her friends warns her to shut that shit down: “If Rynda’s crying will make Rogan break up with me, then our relationship wouldn’t last anyway.” I love the attitude. You go girl! A man cheats because of a flaw in HIS character, not a flaw in you!How dare you take the thimble! The thimble is mine and you know it!Nevada is also a kick-ass magic user. She can not only tell if someone lies, but can drag the truth from their brain. This would be helpful in life. I'm not saying everyone lies all the time, but most people are creative in their truthing.It's takes investigation, but the truthers ARE out there.Rogan is Nevada's boyfriend and he is in one word: awesomesexylicious. Also, there is a magical, pacifist, super-intelligent bear in the book. That should be enough to sell you on it right there.Oh crap. This isn't going to end well. This book was fun, exciting, hilarious, and original. I'm extremely happy that there will be another one in the series because I am not ready for it to end. Plus, the last line???? You can't leave us hanging there!
    more
  • Choko
    January 1, 1970
    *** 5 +++ ***A buddy read with the Ilona Andrews Fan Club, because they are amazing!!! I don't even think I should write a review, because what is there to say? You guys have to read this series! Forget about the cheesy covers, even ignore the fan-girling all of us hard-core Ilona fans do, just approach it as a regular Urban Fantasy with some Romance in it. The magic system is unique and interesting, the way the Magic genes are transferred and the way society has become constructed around the Fa *** 5 +++ ***A buddy read with the Ilona Andrews Fan Club, because they are amazing!!! I don't even think I should write a review, because what is there to say? You guys have to read this series! Forget about the cheesy covers, even ignore the fan-girling all of us hard-core Ilona fans do, just approach it as a regular Urban Fantasy with some Romance in it. The magic system is unique and interesting, the way the Magic genes are transferred and the way society has become constructed around the Families with strongest Magic is wonderfully thought-out, and the execution of any book by this husband and wife team is always flawless! I do sometimes wonder if they ever crack under the pressure of their own established standard of excellency... It cannot be easy to come out with book after book of imaginative content and never feel old or stale or repetitious... I am just grateful that they are out there somewhere, in their magical island of perfection, sending their enchanting works our way for us to enjoy:) So, we have our lovely couple, Nevada and Rogan, powerful, attractive, witty and in love:) "..."“Rogan, put the car back.”“Come to dinner with me tonight and I’ll consider it.”Yes! “No. I don’t negotiate with terrorists.”“If you don’t go to dinner with me, I’ll have to do something drastic like stand by your window with a boom box blasting some idiotically sappy song.”“Where would you even find a boom box?”“I’m sure I can scrounge one up.”..." Ahhh, the cheesy eighties movies, is there anything more romantic than the boy with the boom box standing in the rain? My teenage self swooned at that reference:):):) I love those two together! They are an example of how paranormal romance should be written. They are influenced by their Magic and experiences, but they always find a way to be true to themselves and strive to be better. Their relationship is the focal point of a world full of magical beings and creatures summoned from other dimensions. It seems almost everything is possible as long as you have magical power, money and influence. However, Rogan comes from a powerful and influential House, while Nevada and her family are only just applying to be recognized as an Emerging House in order to be protected by the laws which govern the government within the government of the nation - that of the Powerful Magic Houses. However, Nevada and her house will never see the light of day if it is up to her paternal grandmother-dearest Victoria Tremaine from House Tremaine. She believes the family should be hers to do with as she pleases and is willing to go to extremes in order to achieve that submission. "..."“She left a message,” he said.I waited but he didn’t elaborate. “What did she say?”“That if I helped her bring you into House Tremaine, she would give you to me.”“Nice. And was I just supposed to go along with that plan?”“You would if she had your sisters. Or your mother.” His voice was casual. “Holding a knife to your mother’s throat would make you very agreeable.”Connor was gone, and I got Mad Rogan instead: cold, calculating, cruel when he had to be."..." Meanwhile, Rogan's ex-fiance has hired Nevada to find her kidnapped husband, while simultaneously trying to persuade him that she and her kids need his "protection". The case seems to be connected with the overall arc that started in book one and danger for the two of them and all those who surround them peeks from every corner. There is a lot going on, but you don't feel overwhelmed, because it is so easily told and accessible to the reader, that we don't need to be reminded of the gravity of the goings on. We are thrown into the action and make all the decisions with the characters, while not always agreeing with them. There were several times I wanted to tell Nevada and Rogan to stop it with the silly petty jealousy, since it is obvious to all that the little romantic bate for either of them on the side is not going anywhere. The two of them are perfect for each-other and we all know it:) They just sizzle together. We also have the wonderful side characters, starting with all of the members of her family and ending with the new wonderful and intelligent animals!!!! Zeus and Sargent Teddy are the best! I want them both in my life, and if I can't have Zeus, Teddy will do - we will watch TV shows and eat serial together:) And we will cuddle all the time!!! Because we love hugs:):):) "..."I had been hugged by a giant super-intelligent pacifist bear. I could do this. I could do anything."..." Overall, I loved every second of this book! And I would not change a thing about it, including the parts that bugged me a little. Most of all, I hope and pray that we keep on getting more books in this world, because it is awesome and we all need more!!! I wish you all Happy Reading and many more Wonderful Books to come!!!
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    1st read - April 20172nd read - May 20173rd read - July 20174th read - November 20175th read - June 20186th read - August 20187th read - November 20188th read - March 2019Full Review:If I'm honest I find it a little intimidating trying to write reviews for this series, mainly because it is the best series I've discovered since I started blogging in 2010 (no joke I've read well over 2,000 books in that time but this is the series I've reread the most - I read my proof copy of Wildfire 3 times bef 1st read - April 20172nd read - May 20173rd read - July 20174th read - November 20175th read - June 20186th read - August 20187th read - November 20188th read - March 2019Full Review:If I'm honest I find it a little intimidating trying to write reviews for this series, mainly because it is the best series I've discovered since I started blogging in 2010 (no joke I've read well over 2,000 books in that time but this is the series I've reread the most - I read my proof copy of Wildfire 3 times before it was even published!) so I want to do it justice. I rave about Ilona & Gordon Andrew's books a lot, everything they write is golden and they have so many creative worlds that I would love to be able to just move in with them and have them tell me stories all day every day. No matter how much I love their Kate Daniels series and the Innkeeper Chronicles the Hidden Legacy has overtaken them to become my all time favourite. There is just something about this world, Nevada and particularly Rogan that I'm head over heels in love with.I didn't want to start this review sounding like a crazy fan girl but I guess it's a little too late for that so I'm just going to go with it. There was absolutely nothing I didn't love about this book. The relationship development between Nevada and Rogan has been utterly perfect from the very beginning, I love the banter between them and their chemistry is off the charts (tactile anyone!). I love that Rogan is a little bit scary and powerful enough that just his name is enough to terrify people but that Nevada never lets him intimidate her, she more than holds her own and she's actually pretty scary in her own right. The two of them together are a complete power couple and their enemies had better watch out. Then you have Nevada's family and they're all totally wonderful (well apart from evil grandmother anyway!), Grandma Frieda is hilarious and never fails to make me laugh while her teenage sisters and cousins are always up to something. The conversations between them all feel so incredibly realistic and I love the way they'll all bicker amongst themselves but to anyone outside the family they are a completely united front. Nevada's mother doesn't even think twice about threatening Rogan to make sure he won't hurt her daughter even though she knows how powerful he is.The story in Wildfire continues on from where we left things in White Hot which means we finally get to meet evil grandmother and she was everything I expected and then some. We already know that badass women run in the family but Victoria has tipped over the edge into both psychotic and homicidal so Nevada is going to have to watch all of their backs while she's in the picture. Victoria wants to claim Nevada and her sisters as part of her House and she'll do anything to have them under their control so Nevada has to take drastic measures to ensure they are safe from her. Things are certainly getting interesting and the whole family are going to face some tough challenges in the months and years ahead.Nevada doesn't just have her grandmother to deal with though and her latest case comes from an unlikely source - Rogan's ex-fiancé. Rynda's husband has disappeared and she has asked Nevada to help her find him, Nevada doesn't really want to work with Rynda but she could never turn down someone so desperately in need so she agrees to take the case. Normally I'd worry about the potential drama caused by having an ex on the scene but in this case I think Nevada handled things beautifully. She had a few natural moments of jealousy and uncertainty but because she's an adult she deals with them and moves on, she knows that her relationship with Rogan is strong and she doesn't let Rynda get under her skin. I think it helps that Rogan hardly even notices Rynda is in the room when Nevada is there too, he only has eyes for one woman and there's no doubt in anyone's mind who he wants.Wildfire is full of action and we learn a lot more about Nevada's family background and the abilities her sisters and cousins have. They have such a diverse range of magical abilities and I love seeing what they're capable of. This whole world is just incredibly creative magically and once again Ilona Andrews excels with writing three dimensional side characters like Cornelius and his daughter, Bug, Teddy and all the other members of Rogan's team. The magical and arcane creatures they come across in this instalment are spectacular and I wish Zeus was real!I refuse to believe that we've seen the last of the world. Even though the blurb states that this is the conclusion to the series Ilona Andrews has already mentioned on her website that they are planning to write at least one more story in this world, it just remains to be seen whether it'll be picked up by Avon or self-published. Personally I'm hoping we'll get a lot more than one extra book, this world has so much potential and it feels like there are endless ways the series could continue. The magical system they've created, the different Houses, the war brewing because of the Primes who are trying to start a rebellion, Nevada and her family trying to become a House in their own right and all the tribulations that will bring, there is just so much more to explore. Not to mention the fact that I'd read whole books just about Rogan's tactile abilities!Whatever happens this is a series I'll always treasure and it's one I'm sure I'll reread at least a couple of times a year.Source: Received from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review1st read ramblingIt's far too early to post a full review of Wildfire but it was absolutely amazing! I adore Nevada and her family, Rogan is my favourite book boyfriend (yes he's even edged out Curran!) and this world is brilliant. I devoured this the minute it landed on my kindle and I can't wait to reread the whole series again from the beginning ASAP.________________10th April:OMG you guys Wildfire is up on Edelweiss!!! It's on Edelweiss and on my kindle!!! Drop everything, nothing else matters until I've finished reading this book!!
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    January 1, 1970
    29/11/17 Rogan POV from Wildfire Part 1!!!!! http://www.ilona-andrews.com/rogan-po... Re-read 8/9/17 If I could, I'd give this even more stars. Now, I really, really want a book about Catalina and Alessandro Sagredo! And Michael. And I want Grandma Frida to meet Linus Duncan. (view spoiler)[unless he's Caesar. If he is I'll be kinda disappointed as I really like him. (hide spoiler)] Do not open the spoiler unless you have read all 3 books!Posted 31/7/17+5 starsI want more! Please Ilona Andrews! 29/11/17 Rogan POV from Wildfire Part 1!!!!! http://www.ilona-andrews.com/rogan-po... Re-read 8/9/17 If I could, I'd give this even more stars. Now, I really, really want a book about Catalina and Alessandro Sagredo! And Michael. And I want Grandma Frida to meet Linus Duncan. (view spoiler)[unless he's Caesar. If he is I'll be kinda disappointed as I really like him. (hide spoiler)] Do not open the spoiler unless you have read all 3 books!Posted 31/7/17+5 starsI want more! Please Ilona Andrews! I'm begging you give us more Nevada and Rogan! Put me out of my misery and say we'll get more!As you probably got from the shameless begging, I absolutely loved this series and I'm praying hard this wont be the end. There's definitely a hint at the end of the book that it can continue but according to their newsletter and I quote : "We don’t know yet" . So I'm crossing my fingers that my favourite authors continue this epic series. I need to know more about everything that happens after. Even the mundane details, I don't care I'll read it!Another fantastic book by this amazing duo with a perfect conclusion to the trilogy, if they decide to keep it as such. Once again I wont divulge any details regarding the plot as I truly and sincerely believe that with this series and indeed all of their series, you should read it and uncover it all without any hints and spoilers.I will tell you I was actually doing this at the end of it:Quite literally, no joke, even startled hubby sitting next to me. So please, read the series!I can't guarantee that you wont regret it, as tastes are subjective ultimately but I'm pretty sure if you love UF/PNR this will be a stupendous addition to your collection. After all, what other series do you know that has a magic, super-intelligent, pacifist bear, a Truthseeker and a delicious Mad Rogan that can literally move the earth beneath your feet?P.S. Do not open this spoiler unless you have read the book please.(view spoiler)[Is it me or does it look like Duncan is Caesar? (hide spoiler)]P.P.S If Avon wont publish anymore Hidden Legacy, Ilona Andrews plan to self publish at least one more! YAY!!! I do so hope they self publish! Then they can get covers like their Innkeeper Chronicles ones. Jun 2017 DO NOT READ,UNLESS YOU HAVE READ WHITE HOT! Chapter 2 Part 1http://www.ilona-andrews.com/wildfire...Chapter 2 Part 2http://www.ilona-andrews.com/chapter-...Chapter 2 Part 3http://www.ilona-andrews.com/chapter-...Chapter 2 Part 4http://www.ilona-andrews.com/chapter-... Jan 2017 Snippet direct from Ilona Andrews facebook:I made myself look in the direction of the sound. An ex-soldier was coming my way, in his forties, with a scarred face, leading an enormous Kodiak bear on a very thin leash. The bear wore a harness that said Sgt. Teddy.The ex-soldier stretched his left arm and twisted, as if trying to slide the bones back in place. Another dry crunch, sending a fresh jolt of alarm through me. Probably an old injury.The bear stopped and looked at me.“Be polite,” the soldier told him. “Don’t worry. He just wants to say hi.”“I don’t mind.” I stepped closer to the bear. The massive beast leaned over to me and smelled my hair.“Can I pet him?”The soldier looked at Sgt. Teddy. The bear made a low short noise.“He says you can.”I reached over and carefully petted the big shaggy neck.“What’s his story?”“Someone thought it would be a good idea to make very smart magic bears and use them in combat,” the ex-soldier said. “Problem is, once you make someone smart, they become self-aware and call you on your bullshit. Sgt. Teddy is a pacifist. The leash is just for show so people don’t freak out. Major is of the opinion that fighting in a war shouldn’t be forced on those who are morally opposed to it, human or bear.”“But you’re still here,” I told the bear.He snorted and looked at me with chocolate-brown eyes.“We offered him a very nice private property up in Alaska,” the ex-soldier said. “But he doesn’t like it. He says he gets bored. He mostly hangs out with us, eats cereal that’s bad for him, and watches cartoons on Saturdays. And movies. He loves the Jungle Book.”I waited for the familiar buzz of my magic that told me he was pulling my leg, but none came.Sgt. Teddy rose on his hind legs, blocking out the sun, and put his shaggy front paws around me. My face pressed into the fur. I hugged him back. We stood for a moment, then the Kodiak dropped down and went back on his walk.I looked at the ex-soldier.“He must’ve felt you needed a hug,” he said. “He stays in the HQ most of the time, so you can come and visit him.”“I will,” I told him.The ex-soldier nodded and followed the bear.I punched my code into the lock. I had been hugged by a giant super-intelligent pacifist bear. I could do this. I could do anything. P.S. Why are the covers for this series soooo atrocious? Sep 2016 I think the estimated date (Aug 2017 atm) for this, is wishful thinking as book 2 is coming out March 2017(hopefully).
    more
  • Helen 2.0
    January 1, 1970
    Bestest day ever... look who I met!!![image error]There are three kinds of people in this world: 1. Those who have read the Hidden Legacy series, given each book 20,000 stars, and would wrestle a fulgurkinetic Prime in a thunderstorm for the chance to read the next installment;2. Those who, upon learning of the series' existence, immediately wanted to read it but were unavoidably hindered from doing so by some massive personal catastrophe that needed to be dealt with first, and thus have not rea Bestest day ever... look who I met!!![image error]There are three kinds of people in this world: 1. Those who have read the Hidden Legacy series, given each book 20,000 stars, and would wrestle a fulgurkinetic Prime in a thunderstorm for the chance to read the next installment;2. Those who, upon learning of the series' existence, immediately wanted to read it but were unavoidably hindered from doing so by some massive personal catastrophe that needed to be dealt with first, and thus have not read the series;3. Those who have never heard the name Ilona Andrews before. this is firmly believe
    more
  • Heather K (dentist in my spare time)
    January 1, 1970
    *Only $1.99 right now at Amazon US! 11/7/17*This can't be the end of the Hidden Legacy world!?! I just won't allow it!I did a very rare thing with this book: I preordered it. In a world where I'm inundated with stories, I infrequently take the time out to preorder something that I'm looking forward to. Rarely do books stand out enough for that, for me, but this one... I couldn't wait to get my greedy little hands on it! I adored this book. Adored. I know, I know, it's probably not perfect, but I *Only $1.99 right now at Amazon US! 11/7/17*This can't be the end of the Hidden Legacy world!?! I just won't allow it!I did a very rare thing with this book: I preordered it. In a world where I'm inundated with stories, I infrequently take the time out to preorder something that I'm looking forward to. Rarely do books stand out enough for that, for me, but this one... I couldn't wait to get my greedy little hands on it! I adored this book. Adored. I know, I know, it's probably not perfect, but I just couldn't put it down! Ilona Andrews made magic with this book and this series and I just treasured every well-written second of it!I'm not giving up hope that there will be many, many more books in this series. The world is just too rich with possibility for their not to be. I'll be preordering each and every one of them.
    more
  • Adina
    January 1, 1970
    Wildfire was almost just as good as the other two in the series. I believe I enjoyed this Hidden Legacy as much as Kate Daniels, which is something. The Andrews can do not wrong, it seems. I hope they decide to continue with the series and I will get to enjoy more of Nevada's and Rogan's adventures. If you like Urban Fantasy you should try this series.
    more
  • Em Lost In Books
    January 1, 1970
    I read this whole trilogy like in seven days and absolutely loved it. This one rightly deserves a review but because am a very lazy person, hence I am writing down what l loved about these three books here.Let me first grumble about those awful covers. I have seen these books on numerous occasions on my home feed but those covers always made me resist the books. These covers don’t simply do justice to the story that you get behind them. I expect better from these authors. I just love their Kate I read this whole trilogy like in seven days and absolutely loved it. This one rightly deserves a review but because am a very lazy person, hence I am writing down what l loved about these three books here.Let me first grumble about those awful covers. I have seen these books on numerous occasions on my home feed but those covers always made me resist the books. These covers don’t simply do justice to the story that you get behind them. I expect better from these authors. I just love their Kate Daniels novels but still I couldn’t make me read these until I saw the rating of this trilogy of a friend, Jaya. She loves reading romance and if she says read this then I take her very seriously. I have been reading non-stop romance this year and thought of giving it a go. How happy I am that I trusted her ratings for this trilogy instead of resentment of covers.The story reveals around Nevada Baylor and Connor Rogan (Mad Rogan). While Nevada is a small time Private Investigator, Connor is the heir to one of the most powerful houses in Houston, Texas. One of her assignment brought them together, and we see these two fighting demons, mages, illusionist, and pyrokinetics. Amidst all this Nevada get to know about her hidden legacy and we get a piece of her mind when she struggles accept her powers. I was dreading the love triangle part after reading the blurb but all my fears were worthless, Nevada and Connor were head over heels in love with each other. There was no space for anyone else.It was a well written story. Tons of action, cat and mouse chase, and lots of secrets. Secondary characters were awesome. I loved the concept of people with superpowers and the struggle to survive and outshine among different magical houses. I must say Ilona Andrews writes drool-worthy lead pairs, be it Kate-Curran or Nevada-Connor. I don’t think I can get over these two, ever. Highly recommended.
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    Spoilers ahead if you haven’t read the first two books, and if you haven’t, what are you waiting for?! Go. Read. NOW!I’ve been dying to get my hands on a copy of Wildfire, the possible conclusion to The Hidden Legacy series, ever since I finished White Hot. Let me tell you, it did not disappoint! Ilona Andrews is one brilliant writing team, and they never fail to wow me! I always try to set aside a day to gobble up one of their books, because once I get started I don’t want to set it aside. Than Spoilers ahead if you haven’t read the first two books, and if you haven’t, what are you waiting for?! Go. Read. NOW!I’ve been dying to get my hands on a copy of Wildfire, the possible conclusion to The Hidden Legacy series, ever since I finished White Hot. Let me tell you, it did not disappoint! Ilona Andrews is one brilliant writing team, and they never fail to wow me! I always try to set aside a day to gobble up one of their books, because once I get started I don’t want to set it aside. Thankfully, I was able to tune out the world and dig in this last Saturday. Nevada and her family are in danger now that her evil grandma knows of their existence. Victoria Tremaine is a powerful Truthseeker, like Nevada, and widely feared. She’s determined to get control of her granddaughters, and fortify House Tremaine. Other than fleeing, and dropping off the grid the Baylors only have one option available. Stay, fight, and establish their own House so that evil grandma can’t touch them for at least three years. Trouble is they must declare and demonstrate their powers which opens up a whole other box of problems including exposing them to dangers from other Houses. The Baylors are faced with this important decision while keeping Baylor Investigations running, and they’ve just landed a new dangerous case. Rynda Charles, Rogan’s ex-fiancée, turns up distraught, requesting help, because her husband has gone missing, and she fears for his life. Most believe he just run away for some alone time since the events of the previous book has jeopardized his company’s reputation and connections.To be honest, I was worried about the ex-fiancée being in the picture. Especially since Rynda’s described as stunning, and was a prime genetic match for Rogan. However, I shouldn’t have worried, because there was never a time I thought that Nevada wasn’t first place in Rogan’s heart. One of the things I absolutely love about Ilona Andrews is they don’t rely on relationship angst and drama (for the most part--I’m looking at you Magic Rises!) to provide interest, and conflict in their stories. There’s plenty of mysteries, dilemmas, life and death situations to keep me entertained, and on the edge of my seat without relationship frustrations. Nevada and Rogan’s relationship is, as always, intense, passionate, all-consuming and oh-so-very HOT! They present as a strong, united couple; in awe of each other’s strengths, and accepting of the whole package, flaws and all. Wildfire was exciting, with a world that feels realistic enough that you think it just might be possible. Nevada and Rogan were characters I’ve grown to love, but the secondary cast, from Nevada’s family, to Rogan’s team, is multi-layered and interesting, as well. Loved the witty, fun banter between all the characters, providing comedic relief just when you think the story is getting serious and heavy. Even though Wildfire wraps up in a really good place, I seriously hope this isn’t the end of the The Hidden Legacy series! There is so much potential for future stories, not only with Nevada and Rogan, but with Nevada’s family. I want to see them tackling whatever the future holds for them: cases, danger, love and fun! A copy was kindly provided by Avon via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.This review is also posted at The Readers Den.
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    ALL THE STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this book! This series is MIND-BLOWING and FANTASTIC and now one of my favorites FOREVER. I can’t recommend it enough! POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD With Nevada’s powerful paternal grandmother, Victoria Tremaine, knowing about their existence, the only way to keep the Baylor family safe is to petition to become a House of their own, and with three potential Prime’s in their family it might just be possible and their only hope. But Victoria, who might just ALL THE STARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this book! This series is MIND-BLOWING and FANTASTIC and now one of my favorites FOREVER. I can’t recommend it enough! POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD With Nevada’s powerful paternal grandmother, Victoria Tremaine, knowing about their existence, the only way to keep the Baylor family safe is to petition to become a House of their own, and with three potential Prime’s in their family it might just be possible and their only hope. But Victoria, who might just be evil, isn’t willing to make things so easy for them. Then there’s Rogan’s ex-fiancé, Rynda Sherwood, who needs Nevada’s help in finding her missing husband. But the more Nevada and Rogan finds out about his kidnapping the more it seems to be part of a more sinister plot. He was mine. My Connor. I love how this author continues to build on the storyline and seeing Nevada grow in her powers was so great. Nevada is definitely my kind of heroine. I love how smart, tough, loyal and feisty she is. She might be a bit vulnerable when it comes to Rogan, but that was just perfect because he was the same with her. “If someone threatens you, I’ll kill them. If you’re not there to stop me, I’ll torture them first.” And Rogan…. *sigh* He’s so sexy. I love that he isn’t the perfect ‘hero’. He has darkness in him, violence that could destroy the world, but he’s accepted who he is, a man who would torture and kill those who threaten the safety of the people he loves. And that just makes me love him even more. “You’re mine,” he said, his voice rough. “I’m not letting you go.”“I’m glad we cleared that up.”“Do you understand me, Nevada? I’m not walking away. I thought I could, but I can’t and I don’t want to.”I brushed his cheek with my fingertips. “What makes you think I would let you go?” Rogan and Nevada’s relationship really shined in this book. I love how much he loves her, how scared he was of losing her, thinking once she realises just how powerful she is, what kind of future she could have, she might just choose one without him. Luckily Nevada is smart and she knows that love is all that matters. I love how much she loves Rogan, how she fights for him, accepts him just like he is and how she keeps his darkness at bay. Their romance is so beautiful and passionate and I adored it! The main focus of this book was Nevada and her family and the choices they were about to make. We finally find out what magic her sisters and her cousin Leon has and it was AWESOME!!! I also loved that Cornelius joined their family agency and I would really like my own Zeus too ;-) As always there were many humorous moments because of Nevada’s family, who I love and who were so kick-ass in this book, and it was excellent that the men and women who works for Rogan played such a big part in this book. I loved how they meddled in their relationship, worried that Rynda was causing problems for them. It was so cute :-D And Sergeant Teddy was so wonderful!! Even though there were less explosions, gunfights and magic fights, the plot was still so captivating. The threat from Victoria and the kidnapping of Rynda’s husband added much suspense and I couldn’t read fast enough to find out what would happen. Rynda was definitely a piece of work, so weak and clingy and had me rolling my eyes so many times. Of course she tried to cause trouble for Nevada and Rogan and I just laughed at her stupidity thinking she could ever succeed. The last half of the book was very action-packed and the final fight so freaking awesome. I just love Nevada’s grandmother and her tank Romeo. “You’re like spring, Nevada. My spring.” I loved everything about this book and this series. IT’S SO AMAZING! And I can’t wait to re-read it again. With that ending I’m not sure if there will be more books to this series (view spoiler)[ seeing as we still don’t know who Caesar is, although I have my suspicions after that ending. (hide spoiler)] I hope there will be because I’m definitely not ready to say goodbye to this FANTASTIC world and its characters. Ilona Andrews is one of the best authors out there. You can’t go wrong with their amazing world-building, fantastically written characters and plot, and wonderful romance. If you haven’t read them yet, you need to get out from under that rock you live and READ THEIR BOOKS. Highly recommended to EVERYONE.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I loved this book! I have actually already read this book twice since I was able to get my hands on a copy. I couldn't wait to get started the first time through the book and barely came up for air until I finished the story. I knew that I would need to slow down and read it a second time before being able to write a review. So I read this book for a second time less than three months after my first read through and I liked it just a This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I loved this book! I have actually already read this book twice since I was able to get my hands on a copy. I couldn't wait to get started the first time through the book and barely came up for air until I finished the story. I knew that I would need to slow down and read it a second time before being able to write a review. So I read this book for a second time less than three months after my first read through and I liked it just as much the second time. There really aren't many books that I would able to do that with. I had such a good experience reading this book.This is the third book in the Hidden Legacy series which really does need to be read in order. The whole series is amazing so you won't want to miss the earlier books anyway. Nevada and Rogan have been through a lot together by the time this book starts and things have changed drastically for Nevada and her family. Nevada and her family can no longer stay hidden so they must decide how to safely move forward. Their agency has taken on a case for Rogan's ex, Rynda. Rynda's husband is missing and nobody seems to want to look for him. As we have come to expect, Nevada and Rogan will work together through some pretty tense situations in this novel. The action gets pretty intense and is really quite exciting to read. This book is so much more than a romance story but the romance is really well done. Nevada and Rogan belong with each other. I love every time they are on the page with each other. Their chemistry is off the charts and their banter is a lot of fun. Add a few magical elements into the mix and you have a story you can't quit thinking about.The secondary characters are so well done. I think that every character in this series has something to add to the story. Nevada's family are so much fun and their feelings for each other are really genuine. Rogan's people are loyal and a force on their own. Cornelius and Matilda have almost become an extended part of the Baylor family and I really like the perspective that Cornelius brings to the agency. There is even a pacifist Kodiak bear and a blue tiger that is literally out of this world. I highly recommend this series to everyone. I love the world that the writing pair of Ilona Andrews has crafted in this series and am in awe at the characters that live in that world. I will keep my fingers crossed that there might eventually be a few more novels in this wonderful series.I received an advanced reader edition of this book from Avon Books via Edelweiss.2nd ReadYep...still as good as I remembered. Maybe even better.Initial ThoughtsI loved this book! Seriously, this book is amazingly good. I couldn't put it down and didn't want it to end. I love Nevada, Rogan, Nevada's family, and everyone else. Lots of action, some tender moments, and a few laughs - all done perfectly. Prior to ReadingI was able to get an ARC of this book. All is right in the world :) Now to lose myself with Rogan and Nevada.
    more
  • Bradley
    January 1, 1970
    It's official. I like this series better than Kate Daniels by the same authors. Maybe it's the fact that the two MC's are damn solid and there's never any doubt about where they stand and maybe it's because I love all the side characters, too, but one thing is for certain: The action and the non-action bits are equally cool and always grip my attention.Who knew that being a Prime or becoming one could be so wrought with danger?Well, I guess I already knew that from the previous books, but seeing It's official. I like this series better than Kate Daniels by the same authors. Maybe it's the fact that the two MC's are damn solid and there's never any doubt about where they stand and maybe it's because I love all the side characters, too, but one thing is for certain: The action and the non-action bits are equally cool and always grip my attention.Who knew that being a Prime or becoming one could be so wrought with danger?Well, I guess I already knew that from the previous books, but seeing Nevada cross these troubled waters with an evil grandmother on her ass and suitors begging for her hand is a real treat.If I don't get a lot more of these books I'm gonna scream. :) You know, like a naughty fanboy who isn't getting his way? I think that's a good plan. After all, I think I've just crossed the line into evil fanboy territory.Who knew that Romance could be so fun! Action, magic, and lots of hot other action. It should hit a lot of people's right spots if you know what I mean.
    more
  • Melindam
    January 1, 1970
    PURE, UNADULTERATED, UTTER, ABSOLUTE, UNMITIGATED, UNALLOYED, TOTAL AWESOMENESS BOOKIFIED! Love the book, the plotlines, the characters: goodies and meanies included, the setting, the magic, the intrigue, but above all love Ilona & Gordon for creating another amazing book in the series. There is so much potential in this world and it feels we hardly scratched the surface even though every book adds more substance, more layers, more depth - but it is not enough. I WANT MORE of everyone and e PURE, UNADULTERATED, UTTER, ABSOLUTE, UNMITIGATED, UNALLOYED, TOTAL AWESOMENESS BOOKIFIED! Love the book, the plotlines, the characters: goodies and meanies included, the setting, the magic, the intrigue, but above all love Ilona & Gordon for creating another amazing book in the series. There is so much potential in this world and it feels we hardly scratched the surface even though every book adds more substance, more layers, more depth - but it is not enough. I WANT MORE of everyone and everything. And honest to God, I don't mind about the cover.With this review I also officially adopt the Baylors as my literary family. They are brilliant and I hope Ilona & Gordon will be gracious and merciful and write more books about them. This is still the space where I am supposed to be cooling down and write a "detached" & "impartial"review. HAHAHAHAHAOK, so after finishing this I promptly re-read all the books and cooling down is just not on the agenda yet.
    more
  • Nenia ☠️ Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Protector of Out of Print Gems, Mother of Smut, and Actual Garbage Can ☠️ Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestWILDFIRE was so good that I actually didn't want to review it right away or even read anything else. I just curled up in bed and watched mindless YouTube videos, thinking about how good this whole trilogy was (so far), and wondering why the hell it isn't a TV show when so much other bullshit is making it to prime time.(Seriously, if nobody's bought the film/TV rights to this series yet, they better get cracking.) The book gets off to a roug Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestWILDFIRE was so good that I actually didn't want to review it right away or even read anything else. I just curled up in bed and watched mindless YouTube videos, thinking about how good this whole trilogy was (so far), and wondering why the hell it isn't a TV show when so much other bullshit is making it to prime time.(Seriously, if nobody's bought the film/TV rights to this series yet, they better get cracking.) The book gets off to a rough start, which made me wonder in the beginning if this was where the series finally jumps the shark. But no, everything evens out, and Nevada immediately sets out to establishing House Baylor, even though it means that she and her family and her relationship with Rogan are all going to become uncomfortably public.Even worse, Rynda, Rogan's ex-fiance, has her husband kidnapped and being a helpless rag, gloms on to Rogan while they make an effort to figure out what happened to Brian Sherwood (an equally helpless rag). This being the world of Primes and whatnot, his disappearance is almost certainly rooted in yet another conspiracy filled with people who want Nevada dead...or alive, but totally under their control.Nobody writes power struggles like Ilona Andrews. If you like court intrigue, the Hidden Legacy world features a whole lot of that, modernized. Magic is power in the HL universe, and those who have it are constantly using it to throw their weight around, create new alliances, and topple enemies. Nevada, who is a new player to this game, comes to this world as an outsider, and has to navigate a playing board where virtually everyone except perhaps Mad Rogan is an enemy.The magic system in this book is also really great. It reminds me a lot of that Brandon Sanderson novel, STEELHEART, because it's all about superpowers...and while some of the classic abilities are there, she and her husband put a fresh spin on everything and make it all new and interesting. The end result is a universe that I felt utterly enchanted by in a way that I haven't really been by a book since reading Harry Potter or the Dark Materials trilogy. This is classic fantasy with a romance cover.Also, goddamn - all the people in this book are pretty. I'd complain, but they're also extremely well fleshed-out characters with interesting flaws and idiosyncrasies, too. Bug was hilarious with how he shipped Rogan and Nevada, and Cornelius is scary AF but manages to be adorable, too. I could say more about why you should read this book but you'd just end up with a 10,000-word long essay about how sexy Mad Rogan is and I don't think that would be particularly edifying for any of you to read....Or maybe it would. ;O4.5 stars
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    4.75 starsWhat can I say except this series has been marvelous from beginning to finish.Ilona Andrews has a way of writing stories that get better with each book. I just recently talked to a friend about the interesting fact that their series seem to get better with each book when low and behold Ilona Andrews wrote a blog article about just that. You can find the article here.I think if you've never read any book by this author duo you MISSED OUT!!!There is just no comparison between their books 4.75 starsWhat can I say except this series has been marvelous from beginning to finish.Ilona Andrews has a way of writing stories that get better with each book. I just recently talked to a friend about the interesting fact that their series seem to get better with each book when low and behold Ilona Andrews wrote a blog article about just that. You can find the article here.I think if you've never read any book by this author duo you MISSED OUT!!!There is just no comparison between their books and any other UF authors, maybe with exception to Anne Bishop.I love the banter in Ilona Andrew books.I really dig the fighting scenes.I'm fascinated by the detailed descriptions, it allows for a much more vibrant scenery.I'm always entertained by the characters.I adore their imagination.I'm devoted to their special brand of uniqueness.And I LOVE their prose.For me Ilona Andrews is a one-click author and always will be. I've read all of their books/series, all of their novellas, outtakes, snippets, and POVs. There is NOTHING I would not read by them. I dig their writing style and storytelling. It truly works for me.Wildfire (Hidden Legacy #3) the last book in the Hidden Legacy series was a very satisfying finale.Nevada and Connor finally were at a point when she accepted her feelings for him and they were tentatively planning a future together. Even so the more Nevada found out about her magic the more complicated and dangerous it all became, she wasn't alone in this rapidly changing existence of hers. Not only did her own life change drastically her family's did too. There were lots of choices to be made and futures to decide on.Nevada's life would change forever.She carried her family's well-being on her shoulders. The decisions she would make would consequently decide her family's future as well as her own future with Connor. Enemies came out of the woodwork and new allies were found. New skills were tested and used for the greater good. Secrets were unearthed and lines drawn.Wildfire took all the different story arcs that were woven into book 1 and 2 and brought it to an amazing climax. Every plot and twist was revealed and I was left in awe by the author's talent.That's what makes these books so great - the way they leave me utterly satisfied.I always want more books by Ilona Andrews but with finishing Wildfire I had the feeling that the series came to a very satisfying conclusion. I would love to read more in this series, but I'm also good at where it ended.ARC generously provided in exchange for an honest review.For more of my reviews:My Blog: Happily Ever AfterFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Maya
    January 1, 1970
    4,5 STARSWhat can I say, I really enjoy this series. I think this book is on the same lever of like, for me, as the first book. The reason it's not the best of this series is Connor's annoying ex. At some point, all the empathy for her kidnapped husband and her whole situation just wasn't enough for me to like her. I am definitely team Nevada all the way and thankfully Rynda admited defeat. Had there been more calls, hugs or kissing Connor I was going to scratch her eyes out! But in the end she 4,5 STARSWhat can I say, I really enjoy this series. I think this book is on the same lever of like, for me, as the first book. The reason it's not the best of this series is Connor's annoying ex. At some point, all the empathy for her kidnapped husband and her whole situation just wasn't enough for me to like her. I am definitely team Nevada all the way and thankfully Rynda admited defeat. Had there been more calls, hugs or kissing Connor I was going to scratch her eyes out! But in the end she did find her own happiness, so that's good. As for Nevada and Connor, I loved them together. Nevada's such a strong character and she's also not afraid to speak her mind, especially towards Connor. He's still the strong alpha male that we got to know in the previous books but this time he's even more protective and in love with Nevada and I loved that. He didn't let anyone come between them but at the same time let her know all of her options for her future. All the action was great and had my attention but what I enjoyed the most is the growth of Nevada's family and her siblings. I would love for them to get their own books. That would be awesome. Also, most of the long awaited questions were answered, except for Caesar's identity. In the epilogue we get a glimpse of someone that could potentially be him but I'm not completely sold. I hope we get more book in this series, it would really be a shame for it to end so soon.
    more
  • Navessa
    January 1, 1970
    Well, I am the super minority with this series. I mean, for the most part, I found it wildly entertaining, despite the world building holes I come to expect from IA. Also, did NO ONE ELSE notice all the women-on-women hate? If the women mentioned weren't this MC, related to this MC, or working with this MC, they were all painted as assholes and "promiscuous". And by promiscuous, I mean there's a lot of slut shaming in here. More women were "the enemy" than on this MC's side. In the way that this Well, I am the super minority with this series. I mean, for the most part, I found it wildly entertaining, despite the world building holes I come to expect from IA. Also, did NO ONE ELSE notice all the women-on-women hate? If the women mentioned weren't this MC, related to this MC, or working with this MC, they were all painted as assholes and "promiscuous". And by promiscuous, I mean there's a lot of slut shaming in here. More women were "the enemy" than on this MC's side. In the way that this began to remind me of Anita Blake. Never a good thing. Also, I think the male lead is a dangerous, obnoxious, bossy, borderline mentally abusive PoS that - regardless of the allure of his magical schmex power - I would run away from screaming IRL. Or drive over with very heavy tank. Forward and backward. Several times. Just to be sure. WTB big, muscular male leads that show a lot of emotional vulnerability. WTB chubby male leads that can melt panties better than these steroid-induced alpha douches. WTB rail-thin male leads with wicked senses of humor that don't emotionally manipulate their female leads.
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Dearest Ilona and Gordon,As one of your devoted worshipers, I beg and pray of you to please continue this series. I love it. The world... the characters... the magic... the houses... the heat... the naughty bits...I NEED MORE! *offers human sacrifices to the writing-gods*What? You think I'd sacrifice animals? I like animals better than people. I also like books better than people. So, "Ilona Andrews"... GIMME!
    more
  • Haïfa
    January 1, 1970
    Re-read in record time :D*********************I truly hope this series isn't over yet.There is still so much to explore and to develop in this world where wealth, power, influence and prestige belong to the strongest magic wielders. Ilona Andrews originally signed for 3 books and though this trilogy could possibly stand on its own, the couple obviously left the door open to more stories. A girl can hope! Edit: Yep, there will be a 2nd trilogy, that will focus on Nevada's sister, Catalina. And a Re-read in record time :D*********************I truly hope this series isn't over yet.There is still so much to explore and to develop in this world where wealth, power, influence and prestige belong to the strongest magic wielders. Ilona Andrews originally signed for 3 books and though this trilogy could possibly stand on its own, the couple obviously left the door open to more stories. A girl can hope! Edit: Yep, there will be a 2nd trilogy, that will focus on Nevada's sister, Catalina. And a novella, Diamond Fire, to be released on November 6th, 2018. I won't be writing a very long review, otherwise it would end up being redundant. Just know that if you enjoyed the first two installments, you won't be disappointed with this one. It had all what made the series so engrossing in the first place: magic demonstrations and clashes, breathtaking action, nail-biting battles and duels, hilarious dialogues, extremely well-developed characters and incandescent romance (Ilona Andrews, you awoke the romantic in me and melted my little heart). But there is also an important element that I didn't bring up in my previous reviews but that was central to the plot and to the worldbuilding : the hideous social norms that condition the Houses' system and help sustain their magic (and therefore, their wealth). Since magic is genetically transmitted, the Houses make sure to match their heirs (usually Primes, which is the highest level in the magic scale) with the right spouses : pre-selected Primes with potent and compatible genes that would breed the "right" children. Dreadful, isn't it ? What future does a society hope to build when it pre-condition its offspring before they're even conceived? When loving and caring for one's children is conditioned by them having the right set of genes and the right amount and type of skill? When teaching to one's children that their only worth is in perpetuating the family's legacy ? "You have to decide who you want to be. In the end, it’s all about family.” In this maelstrom of magics, rivalry, shady morals and feuding dynasties, Nevada would have to survive, protect her family and secure her place in a dangerous world while working on a missing husband case. Faced with life-changing choices, Nevada underwent an amazing and satisfying character development in this book and I was awfully happy that she kept a cool head in some particularly frustrating situations where I apprehensively expected angst and drama. I take half a star for a little underwhelming last chapter though (despite a progressively and superbly built tension that hinted at a more epic apex). The epilogue was awesome though. I high-fived myself for guessing the last bit right ... I think ? 😀ConclusionI just had a lot of fun diving once again in a world imagined by Ilona Andrews. It was intense and gripping and totally immersive for me! Every time I opened the book, I was instantly transported to Houston where I felt and lived Nevada's struggles and ventures. I once again recommend the series to Urban Fantasy lovers. I should warn you though : the romance aspect (with some explicit content) is pretty substantial here.
    more
  • Yodamom
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a screamtastic edge of my seat, tingle my toes, oh so freaking good, stars in my eyes, chocolate mouse on my mind read. I lovingly fondled the pages day and night, never wanted to let them go.Mad Rogan AKA Connor and Nevada Baylor are in my top of perfectly matched couples list. The banter, tension, and respect is a thing of beauty. This is a never easy, always worth it kind of coupling, tipped with many near death moments, and I love it. How can I not love a "bring it" attitude ? This book was a screamtastic edge of my seat, tingle my toes, oh so freaking good, stars in my eyes, chocolate mouse on my mind read. I lovingly fondled the pages day and night, never wanted to let them go.Mad Rogan AKA Connor and Nevada Baylor are in my top of perfectly matched couples list. The banter, tension, and respect is a thing of beauty. This is a never easy, always worth it kind of coupling, tipped with many near death moments, and I love it. How can I not love a "bring it" attitude ? I love them both, total fan nut here.The villains turned out to not be my most hated character. That was a client. A back stabbing I'm going to steal your man while using you type of woman. Her picture is on my imaginary dart board and I hit a bullseye- bam. I adore the new creatures, people and powers, each fits so well into the world and builds up the story for future books. Oh Andrews can you hear my chanting "write, write, write, write..." So, there is a new creature that won my heart, it is amazing and rides well in the back of a truck. See where I'm going with this ? I drive a truck !I already make apple pies regularly thanks to the Andrews now I'll be making chocolate mouse too. Rumors are that the publisher may not pick up more in this series, are they stupid ? Best seller top of the charts and extreme fan base ? hello wake up
    more
  • Nafeeza
    January 1, 1970
    What does one do with one's self after this.
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    If you are familiar with my reviews, then it doesn’t need to be said if the team of Ilona Andrews writes it I’m going to be reading it! Once again, this dynamic duo, less the capes, as woven a nail biting, jaw clenching, spirited adventures that I needed to devour.Nevada and Connor “Mad” Rogan are off to find Rogan’s ex- fiancé, Rynda, husband. He’s disappeared leaving some nefarious repercussions for Rynda, Nevada and Rogan to face. Nevada is still reeling from her newly acquired news worthy pr If you are familiar with my reviews, then it doesn’t need to be said if the team of Ilona Andrews writes it I’m going to be reading it! Once again, this dynamic duo, less the capes, as woven a nail biting, jaw clenching, spirited adventures that I needed to devour.Nevada and Connor “Mad” Rogan are off to find Rogan’s ex- fiancé, Rynda, husband. He’s disappeared leaving some nefarious repercussions for Rynda, Nevada and Rogan to face. Nevada is still reeling from her newly acquired news worthy presence. This new attention brings the attention of a ruthless family member, their grandmother. This is the grandmother that Nevada parents have been on hiding from for years. The character developments are amazing. Each of Nevada’s family members are cultivated, making your connection to this storytelling just that much more intense.Magically penned into every urban fantasy reader's dream novel, WILDFIRE is a must read!I received this ARC copy of Wildfire from Avon. This is my honest and voluntary review. This book is set for publication July 25, 2017.My Rating: 5 starsWritten by: Ilona AndrewsSeries: Hidden Legacy (Book 3)Mass Market Paperback: 400 pagesPublisher: Avon Publication Date: July 25, 2017ISBN-10: 0062289276ISBN-13: 978-0062289278Genre: Urban FantasyItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/wild...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Wildfire-Hidde...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/wild...Reviewed for:
    more
  • Cathy (cathepsut)
    January 1, 1970
    When life hits you in the gut, it’s always a sucker punch. You never see it coming.I have some small grievances, that I will happily ignore in my final rating, because the rest was just so much fun:Too many repetitions of previously explained points. The elaborate descriptions of absolutely everybody's hairstyle, hair colour, shape of their chin, skin tone, bla... got a bit tiresome.Oh, yes, and please ignore the cover. It is hideous and has absolutely no relevance for the contents of the book. When life hits you in the gut, it’s always a sucker punch. You never see it coming.I have some small grievances, that I will happily ignore in my final rating, because the rest was just so much fun:Too many repetitions of previously explained points. The elaborate descriptions of absolutely everybody's hairstyle, hair colour, shape of their chin, skin tone, bla... got a bit tiresome.Oh, yes, and please ignore the cover. It is hideous and has absolutely no relevance for the contents of the book. I don't know what the cover artist was smoking. This is Urban Fantasy with some romance thrown in, some sleuthing and some great magic.I am also 99.999% sure of the identity of Cesar, because his last sentence in the book is something he said exactly like that in an earlier scene. And because I have been suspecting him since White Hot. Bummer, because I like him. One could hope for a false trail?Victoria turned out to be a likeable character. Surprise! Arabella was fun and her alter ego is great. I am picturing her as the monster on the cover of Where The Wild Things Are, with bigger horns and a bone plate on top of her head. And strangely, I picture her fur to be a dark purple. No idea.Leon evolved very nicely.Cornelius is becoming one of my favourite characters, especially now with the addition of Zeus.Seargent Teddy riding in the car with them was a hoot. The whole book was a hoot. The final battle was over way too quickly. Could have gone on for another 30 or so pages. But nobody asked me.Fingers crossed that there will be a fourth book. And in the acknowledgment a new book in The Edge series is mentioned. Really? I thought that series was done? Instabuy!Would I buy the next book? Silly question. 5 stars, with a cherry on top.*~*~*~*All things Nevada Baylor: http://www.ilona-andrews.com/category...
    more
  • Svetlana
    January 1, 1970
    4 starsA good third instalment to the series, though I didn't enjoy it as much as the first two. The story ended in a way which suggests that there will be more books in the series. And I hope so because I love coming back this world. I often used to wonder what Hidden Legacy meant and I finally got to understand that in this one woohoo! I'm certainly going to read more by Ilona Andrews. I enjoy their work and they really know how to write fun, quick, easy reads that grip you from start to finis 4 starsA good third instalment to the series, though I didn't enjoy it as much as the first two. The story ended in a way which suggests that there will be more books in the series. And I hope so because I love coming back this world. I often used to wonder what Hidden Legacy meant and I finally got to understand that in this one woohoo! I'm certainly going to read more by Ilona Andrews. I enjoy their work and they really know how to write fun, quick, easy reads that grip you from start to finish. The world and magic system is also easy to understand and follow, so if you're not big on fantasy, you should be okay. I definitely recommend this series!!
    more
Write a review