Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!, Volume 1
Patsy Walker has managed to escape her past, her enemies and Hell itself (literally) - but nothing compares to job hunting in New York City! Between trying to make rent and dodging bullets, Patsy barely has time to deal with her mother's exploitative romance comics about Patsy's past resurfacing, much less how they start to interfere with her work and dating life. As she goes from living a double life to a triple, what the hell is Patsy Walker supposed to do? There'll be friendship and burgers, monsters and rent checks and a ghost from the past with questionable motives! Comics' most flexible heroine has been a provisional Avenger, a Defender, Satan's daughter-in-law and a dead woman–but she's never been anything like this!Collecting: Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! 1-6

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!, Volume 1 Details

TitlePatsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 5th, 2016
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302900358
ISBN-139781302900359
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Graphic Novels Comics, Marvel, Fiction

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!, Volume 1 Review

  • Paul
    November 4, 2016
    Oof. I've always been a HUGE fan of Hellcat, so I was totally stoked when I heard she was getting her own book again. Then I read it. Ugh.While I can totally appreciate what Kate Leth is doing here, combining the original Patsy Walker books with Patsy's more recent (relatively speaking) adventures as Hellcat, it's just not for me.It's just too darned cutesy. Sickeningly saccharine. I wouldn't mind so much if this was aimed at kids; I'm a firm believer that there aren't enough comicbooks specific Oof. I've always been a HUGE fan of Hellcat, so I was totally stoked when I heard she was getting her own book again. Then I read it. Ugh.While I can totally appreciate what Kate Leth is doing here, combining the original Patsy Walker books with Patsy's more recent (relatively speaking) adventures as Hellcat, it's just not for me.It's just too darned cutesy. Sickeningly saccharine. I wouldn't mind so much if this was aimed at kids; I'm a firm believer that there aren't enough comicbooks specifically for kids; but it's not. It's aimed at hipster millennials who are too 'hip' to read superhero books unironically. Just typing that made this old school comicbook fan feel a little bit sick.Anyway, this book does what it does well, I'm just sad to say that a book about one of my favourite characters isn't for me. Buggeration.
    more
  • Sesana
    June 4, 2016
    Like Squirrel Girl? You'll probably like Patsy Walker, too. It has a similar, silly sense of humor, though I just didn't love it quite as much as I love Squirrel Girl.
  • Nicole
    December 28, 2015
    almost too cutesy for me, reads like an even more saccharine version of squirrel girl (which i enjoy don't get me wrong!), so I was going to drop it but then they intro jessica jones on the last page so they got me. they got me.
  • Heatherblakely
    July 2, 2016
    Compilation of my reviews of the individual issues, with the newest on top: 6. (Technically done with this volume now) What happened to Williams? This art is cute but a little too cute--when I started reading I assumed I was looking at childhood Patsy playing, not adult Patsy working. I liked the story in this one, but again, I felt like I was reading about kids. (Also Jen called Patsy "babe" and my gaydar pinged.)5. So many strong women! I love Jen, and I love all the female friendships in this Compilation of my reviews of the individual issues, with the newest on top: 6. (Technically done with this volume now) What happened to Williams? This art is cute but a little too cute--when I started reading I assumed I was looking at childhood Patsy playing, not adult Patsy working. I liked the story in this one, but again, I felt like I was reading about kids. (Also Jen called Patsy "babe" and my gaydar pinged.)5. So many strong women! I love Jen, and I love all the female friendships in this. (Dumb question--is this Valkyrie the same Valkyrie that Tessa Thompson is playing in Thor?)4. THE TATTOO ARTIST IS SO CUTE. I like that we're getting a stronger plot, but I also would love to read about the gang just hanging around. 3. I don't have it??2. I LOVED this because it was good but also because my two favorite girls are in it and also I cried at seeing how everyone was in Patsy's phone with emoticons but I also was not completely sober (read in January 2016)1. First of all, I'd just like to say that I went into an actual comic store to buy this, and I didn't burst into flames or get quizzed or anything (yes, I was worried about both of those things, and what actually happened is no one bothered me and the girl at the register complimented my piercings, which is one of the easiest ways to get me in your corner). So ten points to Ravenclaw for me supporting local businesses, hooray. This issue is really fun. It's not too serious, there's no brooding, there's not really even a villain. It's mainly background info, which I needed, and an introduction to the characters, which I also needed. There are references to Wicked and Harry Potter and some other things, and there are great little details everywhere--Patsy's in a gay bookstore and reading a book called Butts: Volume IX, there's a queer female couple in a bar, stuff like that. I'm slightly biased because cats are my shtick, but I loved this. I laughed out loud multiple times. It's great. Plus, the writer, artist, and color artist are all female. Hooray! ALSO YOU CAN SEND IN PICTURES OF YOUR CATS AND THEY MIGHT PRINT THEM, SO I MAY DO THAT. ^..^ meowEDIT: Also, look, she's hanging out with my homegirls, America Chavez and Kate Bishop. (read in January 2016)
    more
  • Larakaa
    June 4, 2016
    ah, this was really something special. I really like how the depiction of patsy/Hellcat changes with her mood. From classic heroine to cute chibi and more. It has a kind of light and positive feeling but isn't too ridiculous. The supporting cast is great and very likeable. Also: great bisexual representation! woohoo!
    more
  • Dan
    January 11, 2017
    so sick of cutesy comics. I get it Disney owns Marvel now but I am not a 12 yr old girl and really do not find drama laden books fun.
  • Cheese
    July 17, 2016
    Decent but not great, I'd like to know more about her origin, but I think all these new marvel now girl hero books are aimed at a younger female crowd, not really as good as I thought it would be.
  • Peter Derk
    January 11, 2017
    Look through the reviews, you'll see the word "cutesy" pop up a lot. And they're not wrong. If you've got a reader who's into Moongirl or maybe those Batgirl comics that were aimed at a younger audience, they'll probably like this one. But if those are on the younger side, you might take a pass.Which is too bad because I like the setup. I like where it's going, I like the whole thing where Patsy Walker's mom based some romance books on her. I liked how the moment was handled when a superpowered Look through the reviews, you'll see the word "cutesy" pop up a lot. And they're not wrong. If you've got a reader who's into Moongirl or maybe those Batgirl comics that were aimed at a younger audience, they'll probably like this one. But if those are on the younger side, you might take a pass.Which is too bad because I like the setup. I like where it's going, I like the whole thing where Patsy Walker's mom based some romance books on her. I liked how the moment was handled when a superpowered newbie is being "tempted" into joining a villain, and I like how that resolves itself. Just because someone hasn't fought superpower battles doesn't make them a moron. But it's three stars for me. Fun, but not Squirrel Girl fun. Okay, and let's get into the one stupid fanboy thing that I found confusing in this book. I normally don't like to argue about the in-comic logic, but screw it: Why would you, Patsy Walker, get a tattoo of Hellcat, your secret superhero identity? On your shoulder? Winking as if to say, "Yep, I'm her! Don't tell, kay?"That seems like a really terrible idea. It's like Clark Kent wearing red and blue around the office all the time, or Bruce Wayne wearing those warm winter hats that look like animal heads with the pointed ears. Why invite the speculation? Patsy Walker and Hellcat are both conspicuously in the same place at the same time, and they both have flowing red hair. They're both famous-ish (Patsy Walker perhaps more so than Hellcat). I'm starting to think Patsy Walker WANTS to get caught. Also, it just occurred to me that Luke Cage probably can't get a tattoo, right? Because he has impenetrable skin? I haven't been sleeping well. Coincidence? Coincidence that I haven't been sleeping well and have been thinking about whether fictional characters should get tattoos? Doubtful.
    more
  • Skip
    January 17, 2017
    I thought this was awful. Let's chalk it up to I'm not the intended audience. The issues in the book and the dialogue were juvenile. And, the employment service for super heroes is hardly a novel concept. In fact, the only thing I liked was the author's choice to feature openly gay characters, which is refreshing for this genre.
    more
  • Tina
    January 3, 2017
    I randomly saw this comic while checking out the comic book section at my local bookstore and I was immediately intrigued - first by the art an then also by the title (the title of this volume is first of the many puns you will come across while reading this comic because there are puns everywhere and I love it). I wasn't familiar at all with the older Patsy Walker comics, but I shall definitely give them a go after discovering this gem. Of course, you don't actually need any previous knowledge I randomly saw this comic while checking out the comic book section at my local bookstore and I was immediately intrigued - first by the art an then also by the title (the title of this volume is first of the many puns you will come across while reading this comic because there are puns everywhere and I love it). I wasn't familiar at all with the older Patsy Walker comics, but I shall definitely give them a go after discovering this gem. Of course, you don't actually need any previous knowledge to get through this comic since it's probably geared more towards new readers, although I'm sure there are some sneaky references that only older fans will get (I may be wrong though).So, Patsy Walker is just your average - nope, not average at all, she fights crime as Hellcat, which is her superhero alias, and all the while she also struggles to pay rent in Brooklyn (I'm still not sure how exactly she manges to pay rent, but ok I'll let that slide). She sort of gets laid-off at her current job, which means she has to face the cruel reality of trying to make a living in NYC. However, she doesn't have to worry about that for long since she's extremely likeable and has a really amazing group of friends (I mean, She-Hulk is like her BFF!). So she then somehow manages to get a job in retail (obviously not for long as she gets fired literally on the first day), which she probably could've kept for longer, but her superhero senses and an old 'friend' from her childhood sort of get in the way. I did already mention that she's extremely likeable and makes friends with everyone (she ends up being roomies with a guy who robbed a truck lol), which is not really a bad thing and all in all it's a very cute comic with full of girl power and horrible yet amazing puns. Exactly what one needs in life.I'd recommend this to everyone so pls GO READ IT RIGH NAO lol.P.S. At times you could definitely see that the art was very manga-inspired (especially in the extra short story at the end), which went well with the overall style and the characters, but I still think they could've toned that down a little. Because sometimes I really had the feeline (hah, see what I did there?) that I was reading a manga and not a Marvel comic. Anyway, just wanted to add that.
    more
  • Elisa The-Bookie-Monster
    January 21, 2017
    So much fun! Very similar humor to The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl so if you like that you'll probably like this too. I especially loved chapter 6 because the art was done by Natasha Allegri who is the creator of Bee and Puppycat
  • Jason
    January 25, 2017
    In the beginning, it felt like Leth was trying too hard to be Squirrel Girl, but eventually the story found its unique voice and was a lot of fun as well as very inclusive. Williams' art did a good job capturing the tone of the whole thing. Looking forward to checking out volume 2!
    more
  • Nadja A.
    July 10, 2016
    Fun quick read. Loved the artwork and all the characters. All that sass! ^_^
  • Kenny
    June 14, 2016
    Love it.
  • Bambi Hyde
    August 13, 2016
    This was so fun and fast paced. I'm totally switching over to putting this title on my pull list. Although it sucks what Marvel did to She-Hulk. We'll see if the story keeps its fun side.
  • Ryan
    March 7, 2017
    I enjoyed this one. Patsy is fun and I actually give a shit about She-Hulk now! I love when Hellcat goes what I'm calling "full kitten" (like when she's looking in the storm drain). There was less superhero-ing than I would have liked but that didn't kill the story for me. Definitely picking up the next volume.Bonus points for including a bi character. I feel like when people want to be inclusive they just throw in a gay guy and a lesbian and call it a day. Leth and Williams get it though.
    more
  • Nic
    February 8, 2017
    SO MUCH FUN! This is my first encounter with the character of Hellcat, and she's great. Plus, I love all the cameos and references in this volume. The art is super-cute, too - retro, yet vibrant. Fans of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl have GOT to try this series.
    more
  • Brian Poole
    June 24, 2016
    Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! returns the long-running character to the spotlight.Hellcat finds Patsy Walker at a crossroads. She’s trying to move on from a complicated past, just as she loses her job as the in-house investigator for She-Hulk’s law practice. An encounter with telekinetic NuHuman Ian gives Patsy the idea to start an employment agency for people with powers who want to use them productively but aren’t into jumping into the “hero vs. villain” fray. Patsy and Ian become roommates an Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! returns the long-running character to the spotlight.Hellcat finds Patsy Walker at a crossroads. She’s trying to move on from a complicated past, just as she loses her job as the in-house investigator for She-Hulk’s law practice. An encounter with telekinetic NuHuman Ian gives Patsy the idea to start an employment agency for people with powers who want to use them productively but aren’t into jumping into the “hero vs. villain” fray. Patsy and Ian become roommates and she reunites with childhood pal Tom (now running a Brooklyn bookstore), as she takes on odd jobs to help fund her start-up. Casiolena, a long-lost Defenders foe, tries to recruit young people with powers to form an army. Meanwhile, one-time best friend/rival Hedy Wolfe has obtained the rights to the romance comics that Patsy’s late mother wrote about her teen years and put them back in print against Patsy’s wishes, making her a retro-celebrity. A tangle with Arcade at Coney Island is almost a relief.After “Trish” Walker made an impression on the breakout Netflix series Jessica Jones, it made sense for Patsy to return to the spotlight. Writer Kate Leth embraces all the divergent strands of the character for Hellcat, no matter how loopy. She presents Patsy as a survivor trying to chart her latest re-invention, with help from her pals. Patsy is a fun, breezy character, all the angst of her “married to the devil’s son” years long in the past (though not forgotten). Leth cannily mixes elements from all the stages of Patsy’s long history into an engaging, very modern action comedy, with interesting things to say about celebrity, technology, dating and figuring out your life.Characterization is key. Not only does Leth make Patsy an engaging lead, she quickly and vividly establishes the supporting cast and guest characters, giving Patsy’s world a lived-in feel. Numerous familiar faces flit through Hellcat. She-Hulk and Valkyrie are big presences, and other friends like Howard the Duck, Jessica Jones and Doctor Strange, among others, make memorable appearances. But they never overshadow the lead. Leth keeps the focus on Patsy, showing her off to strong effect. It’s a very character-based approach that’s in step with Marvel’s recent approach to slice-of-life solo series.Brittney L. Williams is the primary artist for Hellcat. She deploys a cartoonish style, deliberately exaggerated and influenced by anime. She adds lots of interesting, entertaining details to her panels and doesn’t get fussy with layouts, using a straight-forward approach that moves the action along quite nicely. Williams does some nice design work in bringing Patsy’s environment to life and nails a lot of the visual jokes with verve. Colorist Megan Wilson is an ideal match, using a bright, warm palette that perfectly captures the tone of Patsy’s adventures. Natasha Allegri steps in for the Arcade issue and takes the series full-on Anime as an interesting detour.If there’s one issue to the art, it’s Williams’ apparently deliberate choice to constantly play with Patsy’s stature. In years of prior appearances, Patsy always appeared as an average-sized woman. Under Williams, Patsy’s size seems to morph almost constantly. She’ll appear of normal stature in one panel, then seem oddly diminutive in another. At points, she’s practically child-sized. It’s a curious artistic choice that’s likely to be divisive and not necessarily something you’ll get used to.Overall, Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! is a fun, enjoyable spotlight for the long-time character that fits perfectly into Marvel’s line of contemporary, personality-driven series.
    more
  • kels
    March 1, 2017
    It's super cute. Yep. Adorable, bright, fun, sweet. I really like the art style - very animated and poppy. Things I loved about this: diverse cast, awesome female friendships, queer representation that isn't ooohed and aahhed over. Even the background felt super vibrant and natural, instead of that typical flat-white we often see in comics. So why only the three stars? Well, the thing is this: I feel like Marvel is churning out interchangeable female headliners, all sassy and quirky and silly an It's super cute. Yep. Adorable, bright, fun, sweet. I really like the art style - very animated and poppy. Things I loved about this: diverse cast, awesome female friendships, queer representation that isn't ooohed and aahhed over. Even the background felt super vibrant and natural, instead of that typical flat-white we often see in comics. So why only the three stars? Well, the thing is this: I feel like Marvel is churning out interchangeable female headliners, all sassy and quirky and silly and adorable. You could replace Hellcat with Gwenpool or Squirrel Girl, and have the exact same story. And they're all so damned cute and friendly. It's like they've decided that *this* is what women want to see from comics - super cutesy Manic Pixie Dream Girl superheroes who save the world by making friends. And I don't - I want realistic, three-dimensional characters who are interesting, flawed, ugly, raw, exciting, vulnerable, powerful. I'm not twelve anymore; I want superheroes with depth. And Hellcat just doesn't deliver for me.
    more
  • Artemis
    January 28, 2017
    A cute superhero comic. I'm finding that Marvel is good at meta jokes and making fun of itself and other properties.As is common with recent comic book reboots that I decide to pick up, I'd never heard of the titular hero beforehand. I only thought, "Hey, it's another female-led superhero comic, might as well see what the fuss is about." 'Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!' does contain references to the backstory and history of Patsy, but reading up everything about them isn't essential. This new ad A cute superhero comic. I'm finding that Marvel is good at meta jokes and making fun of itself and other properties.As is common with recent comic book reboots that I decide to pick up, I'd never heard of the titular hero beforehand. I only thought, "Hey, it's another female-led superhero comic, might as well see what the fuss is about." 'Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!' does contain references to the backstory and history of Patsy, but reading up everything about them isn't essential. This new adventure of hers is fresh and funny, with OTT moments similar to Marvel's other superheroine solo series, 'The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl' (Squirrel Girl makes a cameo appearance here as well as other heroines, who don't do any crime fighting, sadly, but are Hellcat's friends). Bonus points for the 'Wicked' reference in the first issue.Patsy Walker is a fun, lovely redheaded young woman with a hard past (putting it extremely lightly) she wants to leave behind. She will fight crime as Hellcat, and help society in others ways by working to start a temp agency for meta-humans who don't want to become superheroes or villains - just use their gifts for normal office work and such. Young people are counting on her - to believe in them, for a villain from Hellcat's rogues gallery is also recruiting meta-humans, for her own nefarious purposes. This comic holds a nostalgia value similar to the classic 'Archie' comics, with butt-kicking supers in the mix. The vibrant colours - the cartoony art style- is its biggest highlight. If you like art, action, humour and character dynamics reminiscent of shows like 'Kim Possible', 'Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!' is a must-read.There are queer characters, who are not in relationships yet, and their sexuality isn't their entire reason for existing. Jennifer Walters, aka She-Hulk, is here as Patsy's best friend, ex-boss and lawyer. Valkyrie is another really cool heroine in the comic (another cameo is Howard the Duck, unsurprisingly). The main villainess, an Asgardian sorceress named Casiolena, is so over-the-top and silly she's hilarious. She'd fit perfectly in a parody cartoon.Flaws include the lack of conclusions to side plots, such as the relationship between Tom Hale and Ian Soo leading nowhere (Patsy's own love life is rendered unimportant, thankfully). And did Doctor Strange need to be in this, too? What lasting effect did he have? None, overall. I think he was just included because of the release of his blockbuster movie, like how years ago the Guardians of the Galaxy popped up everywhere in the wake of their movie's release and success. It was for promotional material. Where are the Guardians now, anyway? I wouldn't know since I'm not an avid Marvel reader, but I hope you get my point.The last issue is super cute and fun. The manga-style artwork pays homage to Rumiko Takahashi, and the characters are chibis. It manages to continue the story somewhat, another plus.So for something light and energetic, with barely any cat-related puns for an action-packed comedy about a cat-themed superhero, 'Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!, Volume 1: Hooked On A Feline' (okay, that pun is bad) is for you. Abundant with genuinely strong women, including Hellcat herself who believes in the good in people and their capability to change things for the better, this comic is a colourful, highbrow show of friendship.Final Score: 3.5/5
    more
  • Matej Kondas
    August 10, 2016
    What's new, Pussycat?V dnešní době je u Marvelu obzvláště moderní dávat starým, zaprášeným postavám nový facelift. Někdy se autoři snaží trošku tlačit na pilu agitkou (Ms.Marvel) a někdy to pro změnu prostě a jednoduše vezmou přes humor. Krásným příkladem je Unbeatable Squirell Girl, Superior Foes nebo nový Kačer Howard. Tam se autoři prostě na rovinu přestali brát vážně a rozhodli se jít cestou humoru, místo přehnané epičnosti a rádoby angažovanosti jak je to na jiných místech Marvelu zvykem. N What's new, Pussycat?V dnešní době je u Marvelu obzvláště moderní dávat starým, zaprášeným postavám nový facelift. Někdy se autoři snaží trošku tlačit na pilu agitkou (Ms.Marvel) a někdy to pro změnu prostě a jednoduše vezmou přes humor. Krásným příkladem je Unbeatable Squirell Girl, Superior Foes nebo nový Kačer Howard. Tam se autoři prostě na rovinu přestali brát vážně a rozhodli se jít cestou humoru, místo přehnané epičnosti a rádoby angažovanosti jak je to na jiných místech Marvelu zvykem. Nová Hellcat je vtipný a humorný comics, který nám posté nenabízí temnou hrdinku, dokonce ani Thanose v teplákách. Jenom bývalou slavnou superhrdinku, která se aktuálně rozhodla otevřít si... pracovní agenturu. Protože si to představte... umíte metat plameny a nevezmou vás ani do mekáče, protože se bojí že jim to tam celé zapálíte. Nebo čtete myšlenky, jenže to se dneska snad nehodí ani do marketingové agentury. A tak se Patsy Walker rozhodne takovouhle agenturu založit. Taky ji při tom několikrát vyhodí z práce, stihne vytvořit několik vážných incidentů, podrbat s kamarádkami v hamburgrárně, pořídit si spolubydlícího s nejhorším supezáporáckým jménem na světě...... a hlavně zjistit že staré romantické novely, které psala její matka o ní, čeká reprint. A jsou trapné. Jako všechno co by na vás mohli prdnout vaše matky. Patsy to sice nemá jednoduché. Ale její skečové trampoty se ve světě přehypovaných superhrdinů Marvelu čtou tak nějak s lehkostí. Nemluvě o tom že na tom má lví podíl kresba Brittney Williams, která se nebojí v jednom panelu nejdříve z Patsy udělat krásnou štabajznu a následně roztomilého chibbíka. (Na začátku to možná trochu ruší, ale jakmile si zvyknete, máte pocit že jedete na jahodovém shakeu, který šňupete nosem)Autorkou tohohle comicsu je také žena, a to pro mě dosud neznámá Kate Leth z Kanady, jejíž parketou byl do nedávna především Tumblr. A přestože jsem tu nedával na angažovanost, tak mi to nedá a řeknu si - víc takových žen do comicsů! :)http://kateordiecomics.com/Pokud nehledáte za každou cenu v comicsovém booku dobrodružství, které skončí cliffhangerem, odhalením náckovské minulosti důležitého superhrdiny, či pangalaktickou bitvou epických rozměrů, je takhle oddechovka asi přesně pro Vás.
    more
  • Tsana Dolichva
    July 17, 2016
    Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! Vol 1: Hooked on a Feline written by Kate Leth and illustrated by Brittney L Williams is the first collected volume of a brand new ongoing series featuring (obviously) the titular character. You might remember me mentioning Patsy/Hellcat in my She-Hulk reviews. This new series follows on from the same situation, with some overlapping character and also some new characters. And, of course, a focus on Patsy rather than She-Hulk/Jen.This comic was excellent and even better Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! Vol 1: Hooked on a Feline written by Kate Leth and illustrated by Brittney L Williams is the first collected volume of a brand new ongoing series featuring (obviously) the titular character. You might remember me mentioning Patsy/Hellcat in my She-Hulk reviews. This new series follows on from the same situation, with some overlapping character and also some new characters. And, of course, a focus on Patsy rather than She-Hulk/Jen.This comic was excellent and even better than I expected. I was expecting to enjoy it because I like the character (and She-Hulk!). What I didn't see coming, however, was the lightheartedness and sheer fun of the comic. On that front, I'd say it was probably most like Squirrel Girl, with a similar — but not identical — style of puns, quips and jokes. There were several laugh-out-loud moments for me.The story is basically: Patsy gets fired from being Jen's investigator because Jen is broke and then Patsy has bad-guy-thwarting adventures while trying to set up a new business. There's also the matter of romance stories that Patsy's mum wrote about teenaged Patsy and friends resurfacing, which Patsy is not impressed by.I also really liked the art. It was bright and cheerful and Hellcat was often drawn in a chibi style, which was just adorable. Also, She-Hulk got to have pants as part of her hero costume! Win!This was an excellent and entertaining read. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys fun comics and doesn't hate female characters. I will definitely be reading the next volume in this series and hope that it runs for MANY issues. <35 / 5 starsYou can read more of my reviews on my blog.
    more
  • Shannon Appelcline
    November 5, 2016
    A superb comic, thanks in large part to its writing, which is clever and witty. Part of that comes from the fact that it's aware that it's a comic. Oh, not in a fourth-wall-breaking way; instead, Hellcat actively subverts standard comic tropes through the actions (and dialogues) of its characters.What else is charming about Patsy Walker?Well, the title is very accurate, because it's as much (more) about the normal life of Patsy Walker as it is about her superheroing. And, it's a fun normal life, A superb comic, thanks in large part to its writing, which is clever and witty. Part of that comes from the fact that it's aware that it's a comic. Oh, not in a fourth-wall-breaking way; instead, Hellcat actively subverts standard comic tropes through the actions (and dialogues) of its characters.What else is charming about Patsy Walker?Well, the title is very accurate, because it's as much (more) about the normal life of Patsy Walker as it is about her superheroing. And, it's a fun normal life, including the running gag that Patsy is pretty bad with technology. Which makes a lot of sense for a girl from the '50s (or one who spent some undefined amount of time in hell).Meanwhile, it's very true to continuity, referring to Hellcat's exes, her time in Hell, her Defenders years, and of course her girlhood romance series. All with the tongue firmly in cheek. Finally, there's a great cast too. Some are her new friends, while others are awesome super-women from She-Hulk to Valkyrie. In many ways, the result feels like the comic that A-Force should have been.Patsy Walker aka Hellcat! is this year's She-Hulk by Dan Slott, except even wittier. There are a few plot elements that are repeated from the Hellcat story in Hawkeye & Thunderbolts, Vol. 1 (having to do with her old comics) which feel a little stale, but that's my only complaint in an excellent book.
    more
  • Bill
    October 3, 2016
    Thoroughly enjoyable! This reminds me a lot of "Squirrel Girl", but I feel like this more firmly takes place in the Marvel Universe. Hellcat has always been one of my favorite Marvel characters (no, seriously!) because she started as a fairly normal person who gradually got pulled into the world of costumes and powers. She's been through much worse than most of the A-list heroes, and come out stronger. I appreciate that her new focus is trying to find a way for recently empowered (or de-powered) Thoroughly enjoyable! This reminds me a lot of "Squirrel Girl", but I feel like this more firmly takes place in the Marvel Universe. Hellcat has always been one of my favorite Marvel characters (no, seriously!) because she started as a fairly normal person who gradually got pulled into the world of costumes and powers. She's been through much worse than most of the A-list heroes, and come out stronger. I appreciate that her new focus is trying to find a way for recently empowered (or de-powered) people to find work without getting similarly dragged into the superhero (or villain!) life.The supporting characters are great -- it's wonderful to see a diversity of genders, body types, and orientations, usually lacking in comic books. Plus this volume ties in well with the continuity of other series, past and present, such as She-Hulk and Howard the Duck, further making this feel like a true part of the Marvel world. The art is unique but fitting, and the guest appearances (and artist) in the final issue of this volume were great -- although the special guest villain did seem a bit toned down from his recent comic exploits.
    more
  • Renata
    February 8, 2017
    Hellcat! So charming! So cat puns! A great readalike for fans of Squirrel Girl, which I obviously am. I love that this, like Squirrel Girl, engages with the concept of having superpowers but not exactly being a superhero? Also the pop culture references and LGBTQ-positive content are great for making this super fun and approachable!
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    May 2, 2016
    Fun superheroics, very much in the cheerily can-do mold of Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, though maybe skewing a little older given the nods to twentysomething (and up) concerns like paying the bills and finding somewhere to live. Problems Patsy addresses by starting a temp agency for people with powers who neither fancy causing nor fighting crime. Inevitably, though, there is a modicum of butt-kicking along the way, albeit outweighed by the more quirky, social stuff. The book also serves as a correc Fun superheroics, very much in the cheerily can-do mold of Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, though maybe skewing a little older given the nods to twentysomething (and up) concerns like paying the bills and finding somewhere to live. Problems Patsy addresses by starting a temp agency for people with powers who neither fancy causing nor fighting crime. Inevitably, though, there is a modicum of butt-kicking along the way, albeit outweighed by the more quirky, social stuff. The book also serves as a corrective to any idea that Marvel are all that fussed about comic/screen synergy, because the skint, chirpy Patsy here is as different as can be to the successful yet brittle version we saw in Netflix's Jessica Jones.
    more
  • Caitlin
    August 5, 2016
    When I first noticed this title, I thought it might be fun. I liked Jessica Jones (the show) a lot, and Trish is pretty cool. I really loved this book! Patsy/Hellcat is awesome and funny and spunky! My immediate thought was that she would get along great with my beloved Squirrel Girl...and later in the book, Squirrel Girl is a member of Hellcat's squad. Don't hate me for saying this, but it was definite squad goals. And, a very special character comes into play at the end. I'm a little bummed th When I first noticed this title, I thought it might be fun. I liked Jessica Jones (the show) a lot, and Trish is pretty cool. I really loved this book! Patsy/Hellcat is awesome and funny and spunky! My immediate thought was that she would get along great with my beloved Squirrel Girl...and later in the book, Squirrel Girl is a member of Hellcat's squad. Don't hate me for saying this, but it was definite squad goals. And, a very special character comes into play at the end. I'm a little bummed that the second volume isn't available until 2017, but I am very excited to read more Patsy Walker AKA Hellcat.
    more
  • Laurielle Laurielle
    July 14, 2016
    Una superheroína de la nueva hornada, pero una en la que su vida de persona normal está más presente que la media: es famosa y tiene graves problemas con una examiga. Aparte, como superheroína quiere ayudar a la gente con poderes a encajar en sociedad, no simplemente derrotar a los malos. E incluye escenas de personajes siendo amables unos con otros y amigas siendo amigas, así que por mí genial. Un concepto muy interesante que tengo muchas ganas de ver cómo sigue, creo que es de lo que más me ha Una superheroína de la nueva hornada, pero una en la que su vida de persona normal está más presente que la media: es famosa y tiene graves problemas con una examiga. Aparte, como superheroína quiere ayudar a la gente con poderes a encajar en sociedad, no simplemente derrotar a los malos. E incluye escenas de personajes siendo amables unos con otros y amigas siendo amigas, así que por mí genial. Un concepto muy interesante que tengo muchas ganas de ver cómo sigue, creo que es de lo que más me ha gustado de los cómics nuevos de Marvel que he leído.
    more
  • Diz
    July 12, 2016
    I really enjoyed this for its bright and cheerful art and for its breezy and fun writing. Hellcat comes across as a very likeable character. The main plot for the first few issues focuses on Hellcat coming across minor villains who she eventually recruits for a superhero temp agency that she is putting together. This volume is pretty solid except for the last issue which has a change in artist and which loses its writing focus.
    more
  • Bonnie
    December 30, 2016
    THIS was fun. Lighthearted, adventurous, female-oriented, quirky fun. I have not read the previous Patsy Walker comics, but this volume was set up to help me get the general idea of her backstory without needing too many details. I believe this is what I was looking for when I read and was disappointed in Lumberjanes. Patsy is a protagonist to root for, and she's got a cadre of friends and associates who round out her circle. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this series goes next!
    more
Write a review