Hello, Sunshine
From Laura Dave—the author of the “addictive” (Us Weekly), “winning” (Publishers Weekly) and critically acclaimed bestseller Eight Hundred Grapes—comes a new novel about the secrets we keep…even from ourselves.Sunshine Mackenzie has it all…until her secrets come to light.Sunshine Mackenzie is living the dream—she’s a culinary star with millions of fans, a line of #1 bestselling cookbooks, and a devoted husband happy to support her every endeavor.And then she gets hacked.When Sunshine’s secrets are revealed, her fall from grace is catastrophic. She loses the husband, her show, the fans, and her apartment. She’s forced to return to the childhood home—and the estranged sister—she’s tried hard to forget. But what Sunshine does amid the ashes of her own destruction may well save her life.In a world where celebrity is a careful construct, Hello, Sunshine is a compelling, funny, and evocative novel about what it means to live an authentic life in an inauthentic age.

Hello, Sunshine Details

TitleHello, Sunshine
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSimon Schuster
ISBN1476789347
ISBN-139781476789347
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Adult Fiction, Adult, Mystery, Drama, Novels

Hello, Sunshine Review

  • Stacey
    May 8, 2017
    I was immediately attracted to this novel because of the title and the cover art. Right away I have high expectations and then I start reading. YouTube, food, and drama? I’m in.Sunshine Mackenzie has it all. Her own cooking show, numerous cookbooks, a successful architect for a husband, and adoring fans. When she becomes a public figure, she became a target like any celebrity and all those secrets she was tucking away were exposed with a stroke of a key. When faced with dire circumstances we see I was immediately attracted to this novel because of the title and the cover art. Right away I have high expectations and then I start reading. YouTube, food, and drama? I’m in.Sunshine Mackenzie has it all. Her own cooking show, numerous cookbooks, a successful architect for a husband, and adoring fans. When she becomes a public figure, she became a target like any celebrity and all those secrets she was tucking away were exposed with a stroke of a key. When faced with dire circumstances we see Sunshine rise to the occasion, but it’s an uphill battle. As she searches for a game plan to move forward she must go backward and make amends with the past. That means going back home, the place she vowed to never return. I like strong, independent women as main characters and Sunshine is just that. Her transformation through the novel is sensitive, forgiving, and triumphant. Take this on vacation, take it to the beach, take it on the bus, but wherever you take it, enjoy the sunshine.Laura Dave is a new author to me. I thank NetGalley and Simon Schuster for the opportunity to read this novel.
    more
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    June 18, 2017
    FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON JULY 12.An excerpt from my review is below:"HELLO SUNSHINE was an easy, breezy read for me. I loved the cooking theme, and I loved the glimpse into the life in the Hamptons even though it was on the wrong side of town.If you enjoy people watching, family situations, and food, HELLO SUNSHINE fits the bill.I enjoyed HELLO SUNSHINE and the wisdom of life decisions which was a major theme. 5/5This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in FULL REVIEW WILL BE ON JULY 12.An excerpt from my review is below:"HELLO SUNSHINE was an easy, breezy read for me. I loved the cooking theme, and I loved the glimpse into the life in the Hamptons even though it was on the wrong side of town.If you enjoy people watching, family situations, and food, HELLO SUNSHINE fits the bill.I enjoyed HELLO SUNSHINE and the wisdom of life decisions which was a major theme. 5/5This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher in return for an honest review."
    more
  • Cindy Burnett
    June 14, 2017
    Hello, Sunshine is a highly relevant and thought-provoking book for our digital age. Sunshine MacKenzie has it all – a wonderful husband, a YouTube cooking show with millions of followers, and a line of cookbooks. There is one catch: her entire life is built on lies, and when her Twitter account is hacked her entire life crumbles. Left alone and with no money, she is forced to return home and rely on her estranged sister while she tries to recover from her fall from grace. For a while, Sunshine Hello, Sunshine is a highly relevant and thought-provoking book for our digital age. Sunshine MacKenzie has it all – a wonderful husband, a YouTube cooking show with millions of followers, and a line of cookbooks. There is one catch: her entire life is built on lies, and when her Twitter account is hacked her entire life crumbles. Left alone and with no money, she is forced to return home and rely on her estranged sister while she tries to recover from her fall from grace. For a while, Sunshine is very focused on the identity of the hacker and trying to get her old life back. As the book progresses and Sunshine spends time with her sister, her niece and some new friends, she begins to see that there is more to life than maintaining her carefully scripted online life. While the novel is a quick, light read, Dave does raise some thought-provoking ideas about the lives people attempt to portray on social media versus the lives they are actually living. Hello, Sunshine has a powerful rmessage that will remain with me for weeks to come. Thanks to Simon & Schuster for the chance to read this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 5, 2017
    After enjoying Eight Hundred Grapes two summers ago, I was excited to see this new release from author Laura Dave. While both books could be categorized as "chick-lit", I felt that "Grapes" was a notch above others in the genre -- offering more character and plot development than is typically found in this category of books. Unfortunately I can't say the same for "Hello, Sunshine."In Dave's latest book, YouTube star Sunshine MacKenzie has sold tens of thousands of fans on the notion that that sh After enjoying Eight Hundred Grapes two summers ago, I was excited to see this new release from author Laura Dave. While both books could be categorized as "chick-lit", I felt that "Grapes" was a notch above others in the genre -- offering more character and plot development than is typically found in this category of books. Unfortunately I can't say the same for "Hello, Sunshine."In Dave's latest book, YouTube star Sunshine MacKenzie has sold tens of thousands of fans on the notion that that she's a fish-out-of-water farmer's daughter now living in NYC. Her ruse has landed her a cookbook deal and a contract for a show on the Food Network. All is well and good until someone who knows the truth hacks her Twitter account and spills the beans -- and then some. Aside from the thin plot, my biggest issue with the book is that none of the adult characters in this novel are particularly likeable (there's a young niece who is charming). Sunshine's modus operandi throughout the whole book is to continue to lie to get herself out of the lie that got her in trouble in the first place. The side characters are vapid, shallow, and rude. The "redemption" just doesn't seem that redeeming.This book would be fine for a beach read, but there are others that would probably be more satisfying. Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for a galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brandie
    April 20, 2017
    3.5 stars. Not my favorite of her books, but I still love her writing style and will keep reading anything she writes.
  • Theresa Alan
    May 28, 2017
    I was excited to read HELLO, SUNSHINE after reading author Laura Dave’s book, EIGHT HUNDRED GRAPES, and I was not disappointed.The protagonist of HELLO, SUNSHINE, Sunny Mackenzie, tells the reader right away that she’s not a good person, but I liked her from the start because of the intimate way she told her story about how she lost her husband, home, and job in the same day—her thirty-fifth birthday.Her job is the CEO of the number cooking show on YouTube—with a staff of 250 people, multiple co I was excited to read HELLO, SUNSHINE after reading author Laura Dave’s book, EIGHT HUNDRED GRAPES, and I was not disappointed.The protagonist of HELLO, SUNSHINE, Sunny Mackenzie, tells the reader right away that she’s not a good person, but I liked her from the start because of the intimate way she told her story about how she lost her husband, home, and job in the same day—her thirty-fifth birthday.Her job is the CEO of the number cooking show on YouTube—with a staff of 250 people, multiple cookbooks, and a soon-to-be show on the Food Network. Then, the social media that helped her become who she is abruptly conspires to destroy her burgeoning empire. What follows is a story about Sunshine discovering herself by coming to terms with a family past she ran away from. Though the story is about Sunshine in particular, it’s also about how all of us can get swept up in the versions of ourselves we present by only showing certain aspects of our lives on social media. For most of us, it’s just a few hundred/thousand “friends,” but for even minor celebrities, the reach can be much greater.I really enjoyed this book. Dave really knows her stuff when it comes to food and wine—and people—marriage, family, and our relationship to ourselves. Highly recommend. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book. For more of my reviews, please visit: http://theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • L.P. Logan
    April 13, 2017
    True rating is somewhere at like 4.4. I inhaled this book. The pacing, the plot, the writing style, the setting. It sucked me in and wouldn't let me go. For sure I thought this was going to be a 5 star read. I just couldn't put it down. But then the ending happened. And there is no way to say this but it just kind of ended. I know, endings are supposed to be that way, but not so that they just fizzle out and there is the last word on the page and as the reader I'm left scratching my head and fee True rating is somewhere at like 4.4. I inhaled this book. The pacing, the plot, the writing style, the setting. It sucked me in and wouldn't let me go. For sure I thought this was going to be a 5 star read. I just couldn't put it down. But then the ending happened. And there is no way to say this but it just kind of ended. I know, endings are supposed to be that way, but not so that they just fizzle out and there is the last word on the page and as the reader I'm left scratching my head and feeling very unfulfilled. I wanted MORE! I wanted to see what happened and if the MC was happy. Come on, after all that drama, you can't do this to me! Which is why I'm taking it down to a 4ish star review. It was awesome. But that ending . . . sucks. Thats it. There is no other word for it.
    more
  • Lianna
    May 21, 2017
    ** A copy of Hello, Sunshine was provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review ** Sunshine Mackenzie has it all. Or at least, what's what it's made to look like from the outside. Beautiful, happily married with her career as a chef and YouTube sensation on the rise. The problem...the ONLY problem is that it's all a lie. Everything in Sunshine's life; from her carefully constructed backstory, to her perfect happy marriage, to the fact that she can cook at all - even her ** A copy of Hello, Sunshine was provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review ** Sunshine Mackenzie has it all. Or at least, what's what it's made to look like from the outside. Beautiful, happily married with her career as a chef and YouTube sensation on the rise. The problem...the ONLY problem is that it's all a lie. Everything in Sunshine's life; from her carefully constructed backstory, to her perfect happy marriage, to the fact that she can cook at all - even her last name is all there to market a brand. To create the perfect image of herself to appeal to others. But when her Twitter gets hacked and her secrets are revealed - Sunshine is left looking like a fraud and her life comes tumbling down she has no choice but to escape to her childhood home to lick her wounds, and confront the reasons how everything went so terribly wrong in the first place.I love Laura Dave. She's one of my favorite women's lit authors for so many reasons - the largest of all is the fact that she never gives me a story that stays too much on the predictable path. I've read all of her books and in each one she's made her characters so real and so normal that you can't help but love and hate them at the same time. Even the romantic aspects of her books leave you pulled in multiple directions - it's never just 'boy meets girl' with Dave and I appreciate that immensely. The thing that struck me the most about Hello, Sunshine was the narrative on social media and the personas we create, how easy it is to get wrapped up in the world of the carefully constructed 'best life' and lose track of who we really are. Dave has tackled this topic with humor but has brought to light an all too real problem at the same time.I'll be honest - Hello, Sunshine is definitely not my favorite of Dave's books. The plot seemed to have a little too much going on; with each path there but not completely fleshed out. At the end, I feel like so much was left unexplored and unresolved. I was left with too many questions at the end and too much of Sunshine's life and relationships I wanted to continue to explore. That being said though, I am such a huge fan of Dave's writing style that I could ever drive me away.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 20, 2017
    This is a super cute fun breezy read! I really want to read Laura Dave's first, 800 Grapes now. She has a very smooth way of writing where it almost doesn't even feel like you're reading-- you're just sort of absorbing the story through osmosis or something.Some things....It's told in a very omniscient narrator sort of perspective, however, it's completely from Sunshine's POV so you get her commentary on herself, which I thought was done in a way that adds to the story rather than detracts. One This is a super cute fun breezy read! I really want to read Laura Dave's first, 800 Grapes now. She has a very smooth way of writing where it almost doesn't even feel like you're reading-- you're just sort of absorbing the story through osmosis or something.Some things....It's told in a very omniscient narrator sort of perspective, however, it's completely from Sunshine's POV so you get her commentary on herself, which I thought was done in a way that adds to the story rather than detracts. One of the hooks comes from Sunshine's self-commentary on how she admitted that she was in the wrong and how much of a horrible person she was. As a result, the story ended up being a reflection, loosely analyzing where things went wrong and who was at fault, and the reader is put in that position to reflect right along with the narrator if they choose.The characters were a lot of fun, and Sunshine's relationship with her sister had a lot to unpack to it. There were a lot of humorous moments (toast! Chef "Z"!) and some cute moments too (I don't remember the name but fisherman guy.... awww. I liked him a lot). Hello, Sunshine is a super gobbable book!
    more
  • Bam
    June 12, 2017
    *My rating would be somewhere between 3 and 3.5 stars. This is a light read, perfect for summer/beach time for those who enjoy foodie/chick-lit. Sunshine Mackenzie's internet cooking show is a youtube sensation until the day she turns 35 and a vindictive hacker reveals to the entire world through a series of well-timed, explosive tweets that her whole persona is fake. Sunshine loses her husband, her home, her career, and her chance at a Food Network show as a result. Her only option is to return *My rating would be somewhere between 3 and 3.5 stars. This is a light read, perfect for summer/beach time for those who enjoy foodie/chick-lit. Sunshine Mackenzie's internet cooking show is a youtube sensation until the day she turns 35 and a vindictive hacker reveals to the entire world through a series of well-timed, explosive tweets that her whole persona is fake. Sunshine loses her husband, her home, her career, and her chance at a Food Network show as a result. Her only option is to return to her hometown of Montauk, NY, and throw herself on her estranged sister's mercy for a place to stay while she decides what to do next--like maybe doing some much-needed soul searching to figure out who she really is. Thanks to NetGalley, the publisher and author for the opportunity to read an arc of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bonnie
    May 21, 2017
    Cute, foodie novel about re-discovering the real you amidst all the fakery in this day and age.
  • Jennifer
    May 26, 2017
    4.5/5 starsThis is my first book by this author. I would describe the genre as Women's fiction or Chick Lit.The narrator is 35 year old Sunshine. The book starts with her telling the reader that she is not a good person. And that she is a liar.Sunny is an internet star with a YouTube cooking show called A Little Sunshine. She also has bestselling cookbooks and a deal with The Food Network. She is married to Danny who is an architect.But Sunshine has a secret and on the night of her 35th birthday 4.5/5 starsThis is my first book by this author. I would describe the genre as Women's fiction or Chick Lit.The narrator is 35 year old Sunshine. The book starts with her telling the reader that she is not a good person. And that she is a liar.Sunny is an internet star with a YouTube cooking show called A Little Sunshine. She also has bestselling cookbooks and a deal with The Food Network. She is married to Danny who is an architect.But Sunshine has a secret and on the night of her 35th birthday her life completely unravels.I really enjoyed this book. I found the premise to be really interesting. I like that Sunny had a cooking show. And I really enjoyed almost everything about this fascinating story.I really liked where Sunny went and what she did after her life got messed up. There is a bit of a mystery and I thought that added a lot to the story.The only thing I wish is that there had been a bit more romance in the story. But the book is not a contemporary romance. The focus is about Sunshine's journey and the lies people tell on their social media.Overall the story was strong. I could not put the book down. However, I can't decide if there is enough of an ending for me. I think that I would have preferred another chapter or an epilogue to tie everything together. But still it is a very good book. I really liked it.Thanks to netgalley and Simon & Schuster for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Debbie
    June 28, 2017
    Meet Sunshine Mackenzie. It's her birthday, she wakes to her favorite song. She is married to the love of her life and has an amazing job - a YouTube cooking show that is watched by millions. She has just inked a cookbook deal. The public and social media loves her.Until an email arrives threatening to expose her for who she is. What secrets is Sunshine hiding?Her Twitter is hacked and things start to come out. Then a picture she wanted no one to see.In the blink of an eye she loses it all - the Meet Sunshine Mackenzie. It's her birthday, she wakes to her favorite song. She is married to the love of her life and has an amazing job - a YouTube cooking show that is watched by millions. She has just inked a cookbook deal. The public and social media loves her.Until an email arrives threatening to expose her for who she is. What secrets is Sunshine hiding?Her Twitter is hacked and things start to come out. Then a picture she wanted no one to see.In the blink of an eye she loses it all - the job, the cookbook deal, even the husband.Then we watch Sunshine come back from the lowest point. She heads "home" to her sister, Rain (yes, Sunshine & Rain!) and her niece, Sammy. The sisters don't get along. Something else unexpected arises, and we watch her cope with that as well.This was a quick read, but well written. Definitely made you stop and think about the little "lies" we all tell from day to day.Thanks to Netgalley & Simon & Shuster for allowing me to read this wonderful book!
    more
  • Anbolyn
    May 11, 2017
    This is a perfect summer book - funny, fast, short, full of ridiculous yet entertaining people and set in the Hamptons. A great book to read by the pool, on the beach or while traveling. It also has a quite thoughtful message about the downside of sharing so much of our lives on social media.
    more
  • Nancy
    March 10, 2017
    I like Laura Dave's writing. This novel explores how we exploit ourselves on social media and how we often lose our authentic selves. It's also the story of how it can backfire. Well written with nice symbolism. I didn't particularly like any of the characters except Sammy. I also felt like the perpetrator was the biggest hypocrite of all. That cost a star. Perhaps I'm too harsh but I certainly didn't buy the reasoning. Although it added to the story.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 27, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. "The only thing America loves more than adoring someone is hating her."What a delightful little read! Make no mistake, this is chick lit - but it's a perfect escapist read for summer (or anytime really) with just the right tidbits of introspection and social commentary that didn't induce eye-rolling. I was not familiar with this author previously but I'm quite sure I will enjoy her Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. "The only thing America loves more than adoring someone is hating her."What a delightful little read! Make no mistake, this is chick lit - but it's a perfect escapist read for summer (or anytime really) with just the right tidbits of introspection and social commentary that didn't induce eye-rolling. I was not familiar with this author previously but I'm quite sure I will enjoy her other offerings. The writing is approachable, the insights are sprinkled throughout with a deft touch and the characters are fascinating, yet flawed. "Everyone else cared about something more primal - that they'd decided they knew me, and then decided they were deceived." I thoroughly enjoyed the character's journey, adored the ambiguous ending and remain piqued by the possibility of future stories of this character. "I'm saying it's the way of the world now to display yourself. And there is no putting that genie back in the bottle ...." A lovely little gem.
    more
  • Christina (Confessions of a Book Addict)
    June 19, 2017
    A fun beach read, especially for foodies. I also thought the whole concept of real life vs. social media and how the novel explores that as well as living a more authentic life to be really interesting. While I didn't always enjoy the main character, I did enjoy her journey. I also liked the author's writing style and pacing of the novel...definitely want to read more of Dave's work in the future. Full review to come.
    more
  • Milli (MiracleMilliReads)
    April 25, 2017
    This review will be short and quick, just like this story. I love the writing style and symbolisms used in this book, but the characters is what made me dislike this book. The characters were not complex and I felt as if I was in high school drama central. The relations to social media were a little quirky because yes it helps in the fame, but sooner or later the truth comes out. either by itself or by someone who knows the person themselves. I would loved to like this book, but the characters n This review will be short and quick, just like this story. I love the writing style and symbolisms used in this book, but the characters is what made me dislike this book. The characters were not complex and I felt as if I was in high school drama central. The relations to social media were a little quirky because yes it helps in the fame, but sooner or later the truth comes out. either by itself or by someone who knows the person themselves. I would loved to like this book, but the characters needed some more dimension.https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCADH...
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    March 11, 2017
    Quite unlikeable characters, yet still a quick, compelling read. But man, I did not like the decision she made at the end.
  • Jenny
    April 8, 2017
    A timely, compelling, and emotionally honest portrait of what it means to lead an authentic life in the digital age. With a master storyteller's easy eloquence, Dave shines a searing spotlight on family, forgiveness, and the bonds that ultimately unite us. Funny and poignant by turns, this novel resonates long after finishing.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 12, 2017
    After I write this review, I will immediately go to Instagram to post a #bookstagram picture that I took to link with this review. Then, I'll go to Twitter and also link to this spot. I'll do this so quickly, so instinctively, that it will require very little thought to accomplish it. That's how integrated social media is into my life. And that, "Hello Sunshine" argues, may not always be a good thing.I didn't expect this novel to make me think. I had it pegged as an easy beach read (which, to be After I write this review, I will immediately go to Instagram to post a #bookstagram picture that I took to link with this review. Then, I'll go to Twitter and also link to this spot. I'll do this so quickly, so instinctively, that it will require very little thought to accomplish it. That's how integrated social media is into my life. And that, "Hello Sunshine" argues, may not always be a good thing.I didn't expect this novel to make me think. I had it pegged as an easy beach read (which, to be clear, it still is), which would deliver a good story but not necessarily anything to take away. That was the pleasant surprise here. "Hello Sunshine" follows Sunshine Mackenzie, a YouTube vlogger and soon-to-be Food Network personality. She has it all, including a super cute husband and a home in NYC that has been featured in Architectural Digest. But within the first few pages of the book (no real spoiler here), Sunshine loses it all. I'll leave how it happens and all the rest to your reading, but safe to say it isn't a pretty unraveling she experiences. It is from rock bottom that the rest of the novel moves forward, with Sunshine attempting to rebuild a life she barely recognizes as her own.What is at the center of Sunshine's struggles is authenticity. In a world where social media dominates our lives, her quest to find fame has led her to "curate" a life that is less than an accurate portrayal of her story. And haven't we all done this? How often do we pull out our iPhone and start to take a candid shot, only to realize the light isn't right, or the dishes haven't been washed, or a thousand other things. How often do we spend fifteen minutes staging a picture that we will later hashtag #everydaylife or try to pass off as a true reflection of our day to day life? How do these little social media white lies affect us and the people who view them? All of these questions play out in Sunshine's story.Credit to Laura Dave for not writing a chick lit story that was all fluff and no meat. She did a great job of leaving us with something to think about and potentially improve in our own lives. I know she made me think. On the less sunshiny side, I will briefly mention that I found a lot of the characters to be unlovable. The majority of them were either angry or disillusioned or both. One side character, Ethan, who befriends Sunshine in her time of need, is such a lousy guy (having an affair, three kids with three moms and admittedly a lousy father to at least one of them) that I just couldn't get on board with any part of the story that involved him. Generally, the lack of a supporting character who I could root for took away from my love of the book. Also, all the characters had no problem dropping F-bombs and more. Which just felt unnecessary. Overall, this book is the perfect beach read. It is a well written, quick read that was satisfying because it delivered what I would expect of it and maybe even a little more. An interesting story with just enough twists to keep me turning, plus a little thought-provoking life message. Now let me post this so I can get on over to Instagram ; )Read this if: You've been looking for some good chick lit or if you love novels centered around the food sceneDon't read this if: You don't do profanity or are NOT looking for something easy-breezy
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    June 27, 2017
    I would like to thank Simon & Schuster, NetGalley and Laura Dave for the Advanced Reading Copy (ARC) of "Hello Sunshine" by Laura Dave for my honest review. The genre of "Hello Sunshine" is Women's Fiction. Laura Dave is the author of "Eight Hundred Grapes" which I loved.The authors describes the characters as complex and complicated. Some of the characters seem very shallow and greedy. Sunshine seems to have it all until she doesn't. Sunshine has a famous You Tube Cooking show, is an author I would like to thank Simon & Schuster, NetGalley and Laura Dave for the Advanced Reading Copy (ARC) of "Hello Sunshine" by Laura Dave for my honest review. The genre of "Hello Sunshine" is Women's Fiction. Laura Dave is the author of "Eight Hundred Grapes" which I loved.The authors describes the characters as complex and complicated. Some of the characters seem very shallow and greedy. Sunshine seems to have it all until she doesn't. Sunshine has a famous You Tube Cooking show, is an author of cookbooks, and has a handsome husband that is an architect. Sunshine portrays the honest girl next door, until she gets an E-mail on her birthday that changes her life. It seems that Sunshine's portrayal of a charming life is really not Sunshine's life. Someone hacks into her Twitter account with the intention of destroying her, and proving to the world she is a liar.Sunshine's life seems to collapse and she heads home to her roots. Why would someone want to destroy Sunshine? How do they know so much about her life? Who can Sunshine trust?  Who could betray Sunshine? These are many of the questions I asked myself while reading. Sunshine was in a competitive field, and there were some "friends" who would benefit if she failed. Some of the characters seemed suspect, but before Sunshine could find any answers, she has to find herself. I felt compassion for  Sunshine, who comes from a dysfunctional family, and has to work out many issues. I loved Sammy her 6-year-old niece showing the maturity of an adult. I was totally shocked when I found who the responsible party for causing Sunshine so much anguish is.I appreciate that the author questions social media, and how people portray themselves, and how easy it is to find out about any person you want to. Perhaps too much information is put out there. I also like that the author describes the importance of family and friends.  The author also discusses the cost of secrets, and betrayal in relationships, as well as love, hope, forgiveness and determination.  I would highly recommend this entertaining and intriguing novel. I look forward to  reading more books by this author. Happy Reading!
    more
  • Margo Littell
    May 25, 2017
    Sunshine Mackenzie has it all: a wildly popular YouTube cooking show and cookbooks, a Food Network show in the works, a staggering number of social media followers. She lives with her doting husband, Danny, in a stylish Tribeca apartment, all of Manhattan at her fingertips. The origin story of Sunshine--farm girl turned famous chef--is a legend worth its weight in gold. But the origin story is a lie, and someone knows it. And that someone has launched a Twitter expose that leads to the total col Sunshine Mackenzie has it all: a wildly popular YouTube cooking show and cookbooks, a Food Network show in the works, a staggering number of social media followers. She lives with her doting husband, Danny, in a stylish Tribeca apartment, all of Manhattan at her fingertips. The origin story of Sunshine--farm girl turned famous chef--is a legend worth its weight in gold. But the origin story is a lie, and someone knows it. And that someone has launched a Twitter expose that leads to the total collapse of Sunshine’s marriage, career, and reputation. With nowhere to go after she’s forced to sell the Tribeca apartment, she moves back to her hometown of Montauk--a place she despises. From her estranged sister’s couch, she begins planning her comeback, which begins with employment at the most exclusive restaurant in the Hamptons. As Sunshine barrels through grief and anger toward what she believes will be her redemption, she must confront the uncomfortable possibility that she has only herself to blame for everything. Vibrant, brisk, with all the pep and personality a narrator named Sunshine promises, A Little Sunshine explores timely questions of online authenticity and suggests that the consequences of oversharing and overcurating our online lives are dire.***Review originally written for the City Book Review. I received a free ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.***
    more
  • Michelle
    April 16, 2017
    I was given the chance to read this early from Netgalley. I found this to be a unique story and the characters to be believably dimensional.Sunshine hosts a cooking show and is just about to hit the big time. Then the unthinkable happens, she is hacked and her secrets are leaked.You feel badly for Sunshine first. Then you learn her secrets and like her less.That is a factor I appreciated in this story. Sunshine wasn't just someone who had been wronged, she wasn't 100% innocent herself or totally I was given the chance to read this early from Netgalley. I found this to be a unique story and the characters to be believably dimensional.Sunshine hosts a cooking show and is just about to hit the big time. Then the unthinkable happens, she is hacked and her secrets are leaked.You feel badly for Sunshine first. Then you learn her secrets and like her less.That is a factor I appreciated in this story. Sunshine wasn't just someone who had been wronged, she wasn't 100% innocent herself or totally lovable, but she didn't deserve what happened to her.This made her feel more real and it makes the reader route for her to save herself. We tend to build celebrities up, obsess over their downfall and then route for them to get a fresh start.Sunshine has to take responsibility for her bad choices and it is up to her to fix everything.The portion of the book spent in her hometown was a bit slower but still enjoyable.Also, there are plot lines left to interpretation rather than set in stone.There could easily be a sequel to this book, in my opinion.Thanks for the early read. This will definitely be a hit for summer reading.
    more
  • Penny
    May 28, 2017
    Let me start by saying I have found myself a fan of Laura Dave! I love her writing style and her stories feel very original and relatable. The first book I read was Eight Hundred Grapes and I haven't been disappointed yet by anything she does. I was so excited to see she has a new book releasing and was ecstatic when I was given a free copy of Hello Sunshine by NetGalley for this review. Sunshine Mackenzie finds herself at the top of the world, so to speak and wondering how her life became so pe Let me start by saying I have found myself a fan of Laura Dave! I love her writing style and her stories feel very original and relatable. The first book I read was Eight Hundred Grapes and I haven't been disappointed yet by anything she does. I was so excited to see she has a new book releasing and was ecstatic when I was given a free copy of Hello Sunshine by NetGalley for this review. Sunshine Mackenzie finds herself at the top of the world, so to speak and wondering how her life became so perfect. Then suddenly the tables turn and she loses everything. EVERYTHING. The story was entertaining and engaging. It was easy to read and I found it hard to put it down. I finished it in a day but the story has stayed with me. Towards the end, it raised many questions as I read. "Is the life we want (or think we want) worth the price it sometimes cost us?" "Are some lies bigger than others?" "Are some lies justified?" "Can you go back to who you were?" I couldn't relate to Sunny as the internet sensation food chef but I easily related to her as the girl that thought she was doing the right thing, realized too late she was wrong and had to decide how to move forward. I think this is a fantastic read and should be on everyone's summer reading list!
    more
  • Amber
    April 11, 2017
    Let me start off with the good: this is a compelling page-turner. It was fun, and I was pulled in quickly. Most of the characters were painted as multi-dimensional, which was refreshing.Or it would have been, if more of them were likeable. They're definitely complex characters, but it seemed that we were told they were complex rather than shown most of the time. Honestly, most of the reason the book gets such a middling rating is because it felt rather heavy-handed, both in characterization and Let me start off with the good: this is a compelling page-turner. It was fun, and I was pulled in quickly. Most of the characters were painted as multi-dimensional, which was refreshing.Or it would have been, if more of them were likeable. They're definitely complex characters, but it seemed that we were told they were complex rather than shown most of the time. Honestly, most of the reason the book gets such a middling rating is because it felt rather heavy-handed, both in characterization and in its message. I want to grow to experience a character's joys and sadnesses, not have them shoved at me. Nor do I want the "But technology! Inauthenticity! Curation is evil!" message pushed that heavily. The book was fairly short, and more time could have been spent fleshing out the characters. Then the ambiguous ending would have felt more satisfying. (But seriously, props to the author for making me want more.)
    more
  • Kari Sweeney
    May 20, 2017
    A special thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.After falling in love with Dave's novel 'Eight Hundred Grapes' last summer, I was anxious to read her latest. 'Hello, Sunshine" did not disappoint and is quite possibly the quintessential summer read. It even takes place at the beach- the Hamptons. The writing is smart and the story is fast paced. It was a quick read that I devoured in record time. I'm not going to lie- there were a few moments A special thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.After falling in love with Dave's novel 'Eight Hundred Grapes' last summer, I was anxious to read her latest. 'Hello, Sunshine" did not disappoint and is quite possibly the quintessential summer read. It even takes place at the beach- the Hamptons. The writing is smart and the story is fast paced. It was a quick read that I devoured in record time. I'm not going to lie- there were a few moments when I wanted to shake some of the characters. But those were also the moments that made me keep reading. Not everyone is likable right? If you are looking for a fresh, current and witty beach read- pick it up!
    more
  • Ann
    May 23, 2017
    I love this book. It takes a woman living her dream and has it all come tumbling down because she's living a lie. Sunshine Mackenzie loses her career, her husband and her home on her birthday when her on line accounts are hacked and someone exposes her secrets. When she goes home to her sister's couch she starts evaluating her past and her future. This is a story of family and second chances. You can't put this book down. The interaction between Sunny and Rain is real and dramatic. A good rainy I love this book. It takes a woman living her dream and has it all come tumbling down because she's living a lie. Sunshine Mackenzie loses her career, her husband and her home on her birthday when her on line accounts are hacked and someone exposes her secrets. When she goes home to her sister's couch she starts evaluating her past and her future. This is a story of family and second chances. You can't put this book down. The interaction between Sunny and Rain is real and dramatic. A good rainy day read.
    more
  • Christine Moore
    May 30, 2017
    On Sunshine's 35th birthday she loses everything! She is the host of a youtube cooking show but she can not cook! She uses someone else's recipes and her entire show is a lie! On her 35th birthday someone exposes her for the liar she is. She loses her job, her husband, and her apartment! Sunshine returns home to the Hampton's and her sister's home. Can Sunshine rebuild her life after living such a lie? It is a really good book about family, forgiveness, and redemption. Thank you to NetGalley and On Sunshine's 35th birthday she loses everything! She is the host of a youtube cooking show but she can not cook! She uses someone else's recipes and her entire show is a lie! On her 35th birthday someone exposes her for the liar she is. She loses her job, her husband, and her apartment! Sunshine returns home to the Hampton's and her sister's home. Can Sunshine rebuild her life after living such a lie? It is a really good book about family, forgiveness, and redemption. Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Gigi
    April 17, 2017
    Another thoroughly entertaining novel from Laura Dave. Very contemporary and full of surprises, although I wished some plot lines were wrapped up or altogether removed. Read in one sitting on a beach vacation and I'm sure other readers will delight in doing the same when the novel is released this summer.***Thank you, NetGalley and Simon & Schuster, for the advance digital proof in exchange for an honest review***
    more
Write a review