The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut.When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol of the wood, it falls to her to patrol the time portals and protect the travelers who slip through them. Winter can't help but think there's more to her dad's disappearance than she's being told.She soon finds a young man traveling in the wood named Henry who knows more than he should. He believes if they can work together to find his missing parents, they could discover the truth about Winter’s dad. The wood is poisoned, changing into something sinister—torturing travelers lost in it. Winter must put her trust in Henry in order to find the truth and those they’ve lost. Bobulski’s eerie debut is filled with friendship, family, and the responsibilities we choose and those we do not.

The Wood Details

TitleThe Wood
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherFeiwel & Friends
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Time Travel

The Wood Review

  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 13, 2017
    This book definitely surprised me! No one is talking about it, and the cover isn't amazing, so I had low expectations going into it. But the story was so different than I was expecting! It was the perfect blend of modern life, a fantastical forest, time travel, conspiracies and a hint of romance. The main character, Winter, was capable and interesting, with just the right amount of snark. Get this book on your radar - not enough people are talking about it!
    more
  • Destiny ➳ Howling Libraries
    July 9, 2017
    "Dad tells me the wood is not a place to play. It is a place for business, and it is more powerful than I could ever imagine. He tells me I cannot forget the rules of the wood. There are three.Do not travel from the paths.Do not linger after dark.Do not ignore the calling."PLOT ➳➳Winter's family has long been tasked with guarding The Wood, a magical piece of forestry behind her house that appears normal to non-Guardians... but for Guardians, it is a dangerous, living, breathing place, full of th "Dad tells me the wood is not a place to play. It is a place for business, and it is more powerful than I could ever imagine. He tells me I cannot forget the rules of the wood. There are three.Do not travel from the paths.Do not linger after dark.Do not ignore the calling."PLOT ➳➳Winter's family has long been tasked with guarding The Wood, a magical piece of forestry behind her house that appears normal to non-Guardians... but for Guardians, it is a dangerous, living, breathing place, full of thresholds and doorways to other times and places. The Guardians are given the responsibility of monitoring the wood and ensuring that no wanderers get trapped in it after accidental threshold crossings. After all, the wood after dark is a wicked and hungry place.When Winter's father disappears mysteriously, the job falls to her, but nothing he told her could have prepared her for the day when a boy showed up intentionally, and refused to go home. She knows she should force him to leave, but he might be connected to her father... Wouldn't you give anything to save the one you loved if you could?WHAT I LIKED ➳➳This book is beautiful. It somehow manages to perfectly balance being dark, yet whimsical, and Chelsea's writing is light and enjoyable. I found myself wishing the wood was a real place that I could visit (during the daytime, of course), because it sounded so incredible. When dark falls, it turns into a vicious and terrifying place full of creatures that would strike fear into anyone's heart.Winter is a really enjoyable and authentic MC, and Henry is such a fun friend and love interest. I loved their banter and his complete state of confusion over most of the modern world, as well as the very "real" feeling of Winter's constant dilemma between getting close to him and keeping things on the surface. The only other characters we get to spend much time with are Winter's mother - who is not very fleshed out, admittedly - and her "Uncle" Joe, who I found to be an enjoyable, albeit sketchy character from the first time we met him.The entire plot is just really captivating and the setting is so beautiful that I found it pretty easy to lose myself in the story, and I was definitely rooting for Winter and Henry the whole way!WHAT I DISLIKED ➳➳Here's the tough part. This book was actually a 5-star read for me, hands down, until about the 90% mark. I wish I was exaggerating. Rarely, I find a book that I adore until the ending, but the ending just ruins the whole thing for me. While the ending doesn't ruin the whole story in this scenario, I would have been ecstatic for this story to have ended entirely differently. I won't spoil anything, but the last few chapters felt so rushed; at one point, I actually felt like either Chelsea may have gotten tired of writing and was hurrying to finish, or was facing down a deadline? I'm no writer, so I never try to judge an author's process, but I was just so... disappointed by the end of this book.Please, though, don't let this stop you from reading The Wood. The story was honestly so enjoyable that it was worth it.FINAL VERDICT ➳➳If you like dark, magical stories that mix a little fantasy, a little magical realism, and a bit of romance together, pick this one up. Chelsea really shone as a debut author, and I can't wait to read more from her. If this book was a series starter, I would be first in line to pre-order the next title - sadly, however, Goodreads says it's a stand-alone. If anyone has heard otherwise, LET ME KNOW! If that doesn't tell you how much I wanted more of this story, I don't know what will. Seriously, just ignore the fact that the ending might bum you out and go grab a copy when it comes out on August 1st!Thank you so much to NetGalley and the lovely folks at Feiwel & Friends for granting me an ARC of this book! All of my opinions are entirely my own.
    more
  • Joshua Gabriel (Forever Bookish Josh)
    July 5, 2017
    My written interview with the author can be found here.Thank you, Macmillan, for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Do not travel from the paths. Do not linger after dark. Do not ignore the calling.Despite its lackluster title, The Wood is one of the most unique books I've read this year. I really didn't expect that it would be a mystery set in a simultaneously fantastical and contemporary setting where time travel is possible. Winter Parish, the heroine, is a guardi My written interview with the author can be found here.Thank you, Macmillan, for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.Do not travel from the paths. Do not linger after dark. Do not ignore the calling.Despite its lackluster title, The Wood is one of the most unique books I've read this year. I really didn't expect that it would be a mystery set in a simultaneously fantastical and contemporary setting where time travel is possible. Winter Parish, the heroine, is a guardian of the Wood, a whimsical place that contains thresholds or gates to different time periods. Ordinary people often wander into the Wood, so Winter and the other guardians are tasked to prevent these travelers from messing up the space-time continuum. The plot might sound complex at first, but I assure you that everything will click if you have a little patience.I myself was mildly confused, but comprehension immediately came when I remembered C.S. Lewis's The Magician's Nephew, which features a forest called the Wood between the Worlds. Instead of thresholds, this place has ponds that function as portals to different dimensions. If I hadn't read The Chronicles of Narnia, I probably wouldn't have understood the mechanics of time travel in The Wood so easily. I'm not sure if the similarity was intended by the author. Still, I appreciate it because Narnia is one of my all-time favorite series.Winter was a very likable character. As an only child who was very close to her parents, she was mature beyond her years. After her father mysteriously disappeared, Winter shouldered the hard and lonely job of protecting the Wood. Furthermore, since she was in and out of school, her only constant companion was her beloved mother. It was touching to read about Winter's love for her family. Her childlike faith was also inspiring. She was brave enough to hope that her father was still alive even though her elders said otherwise. I only disliked Winter whenever she lied to her loved ones in order to protect them and herself. I didn't condemn or judge her for doing so, but I thought that she could've done better. After all, the end doesn't justify the means.Henry, aka Brightonshire, made me so nostalgic. He was like a combination of Pride and Prejudice's Mr. Darcy and Outlander's Jamie Fraser. (Please note that this comparison is very subjective. Hahaha.) Henry came from 18th century England, so he had this charming and formal way of speaking. It was so fun to read about his reactions to modern technology. In fact, he was surprisingly good at solving the Rubik's Cube. Finally, like the men of his own time, Henry had this quiet confidence and chivalry. Despite their different timelines, Winter and Henry were united in their devotion to their family. They made a good team because they made up for each other's weaknesses. For example, Winter was the flame to Henry's dying candle of hope. On the other hand, Henry was the water to Winter's fiery emotions. When sparks started to fly between them, I couldn't stop myself from smiling. After everything that happened to them, I believed that they deserved to have a chance at a happily ever after.The last reason why I decided to give The Wood four stars is that the ending was realistic. Nothing was forced nor contrived. The resolution was written in such a way that I didn't have to suspend my disbelief. If you want to know exactly what I mean, please read the book ASAP. :DOverall, this book filled me with nostalgia, happiness, and longing. I hope that everyone will enjoy it, too. I sincerely congratulate the debut author for a job well done. :)
    more
  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    May 25, 2017
    About: The Wood is a young adult fantasy written by Chelsea Bobulski. It will be published on 8/1/2017 by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Publisher, paperback, 320 pages. The genres are young adult, fantasy, and fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 13 to 18. This is the author’s debut novel.My Experience: I started reading The Wood on 5/10/17 and finished it on 5/25/17. This book is an enjoyable read. I like the main character’s determination and self control. I like tha About: The Wood is a young adult fantasy written by Chelsea Bobulski. It will be published on 8/1/2017 by Feiwel & Friends, an imprint of Macmillan Publisher, paperback, 320 pages. The genres are young adult, fantasy, and fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 13 to 18. This is the author’s debut novel.My Experience: I started reading The Wood on 5/10/17 and finished it on 5/25/17. This book is an enjoyable read. I like the main character’s determination and self control. I like that she doesn’t settles but continue to seek to find an answer to unanswered questions. I enjoy the fantasy and the main character’s dedication to her family. I like how the story has a mix between normal people and people with higher power.In this book, readers will follow the point of view of Winter Parish, a high school student trying to control some normal in her life by juggling school in the classrooms and performing the duties that was passed down to her from generations before. The wood behind her house is not normal. At night, it has a mind of its own where it attacks whoever travel in its path. During the day, specifically, morning and evening is when Winter does her job by helping travelers find their way back home. These travelers can come from the past or the future and they can come from all over the world. Winter’s father was the guardian of the woods before her, but one day, he didn’t come home. Winter is determine to find her dad and what happened to him. One day, a traveler came into the wood, instead of by accident like the others, he came with a purpose. He needs her help and that by helping him she may be able to find out what happened to her dad. However, harboring a traveler from a different time into her time is against the rules even if her need to find her father is greater.I enjoy reading this book very much! I like how the author build the world little by little, shredding just enough information for readers to flip the page. I like the concept of the wood, path, changing colors of the leaves, fireflies, and the magic. It reminds me of my road trip to North Carolina to see fall foliage last year. This book has both family values and mystery. I feel the suspense and the eager to solve the mystery behind the leaves that are turning black. I love how the ending wrap up all of the loose ends nicely. I love that this is a standalone fantasy! I highly recommend everyone to read this book!Pro: family, determination, standalone fantasy, fast paced, page turner, mystery, suspense, foliage, coverCon: noneI rate it 5 stars!***Disclaimer: I won this book in a Twitter giveaway and my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for a detailed review.
    more
  • Alyssa
    July 9, 2017
    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***The Wood by Chelsea BobulskiPublisher: Feiwel & FriendsPublication Date: August 1, 2017Rating: 4 starsSource: ARC sent by the publisherSummary (from Goodreads):After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut.When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***The Wood by Chelsea BobulskiPublisher: Feiwel & FriendsPublication Date: August 1, 2017Rating: 4 starsSource: ARC sent by the publisherSummary (from Goodreads):After her father goes missing in the woods that they protect, Winter tries to seek the truth in what happened, why the wood is changing, and what it all has to do with the arrival of a mysterious stranger in this thrilling YA debut.When Winter’s dad goes missing during his nightly patrol of the wood, it falls to her to patrol the time portals and protect the travelers who slip through them. Winter can't help but think there's more to her dad's disappearance than she's being told.She soon finds a young man traveling in the wood named Henry who knows more than he should. He believes if they can work together to find his missing parents, they could discover the truth about Winter’s dad. The wood is poisoned, changing into something sinister—torturing travelers lost in it. Winter must put her trust in Henry in order to find the truth and those they’ve lost. Bobulski’s eerie debut is filled with friendship, family, and the responsibilities we choose and those we do not.What I Liked:I'm not sure what interested me in this book in the first place, but by the time I picked up the galley, I'd forgotten what the book was about or why it appealed to me months ago when I requested it. Nevertheless, it was an intriguing and curious read, and I didn't stop reading until I was finished. I will be looking out for more books by Bobulski in the future.When Winter's father disappeared mysteriously 20 months ago, Winter became the new guardian of the wood. As guardian, like her father and grandfather and so many generations of the Parish family, Winter must protect the wood, and direct travelers who have lost their way. The wood is full of thresholds from different times and places, and travelers sometimes wander into the wood and need to be shown their way back to their threshold. Winter is forever tied to the wood, now that she is the new guardian. But something strange has been happening in the wood. Darkness has been creeping in, and two council members have disappeared. What's more, the son of the council members wants Winter's help to find them. Henry is no guardian or council member, but he knows about the wood, and he has more knowledge and power than Winter thought. It is up to Winter and Henry to find out where Henry's parents went, what is happening to the wood, and how the events are related.One of the strongest and best aspects of this book was the setting. The wood is no ordinary forest. After first glance, it is, but after walking further into the wood, it becomes something else. The wood is eerie and magical, haunting and beautiful. It is its own being, alive and with a mind of its own. And with a dark force moving with the wood, the wood has become sinister.I liked Winter almost immediately. She has a difficult life, being tied to the wood at all times, unable to tell her best friend why she can't go to college or stay over for dinner. Winter has accepted her fate but she never stops trying to find out what really happened to her father - because she and her mother both now that he didn't simply disappear. Winter is an extremely smart girl, in academics and in general. She is clever and quick-thinking. She also has a good heart and a trusting nature, though she is also protective of her guardian duties.Henry is such a sweetheart. He comes from eighteenth-century England, and he is desperate to find his parents (the missing council members). He isn't a guardian so he shouldn't know anything about the wood, but his parents taught him everything. Henry has impeccable manners and practically lives by chivalry. He isn't without his faults but he also isn't a bad guy. He's the upstanding sort of old-fashioned British boy that we American gals like to swoon over. He is definitely a swoony lad.The story is a little on the predictable side - in which Winter and Henry try to find out what is happening to the wood, and where his parents went. They discover a lot of bad history in the council and the wood, and they discover some truths about Winter's father. This book doesn't just focus on the conflict in the wood. Part of the story is rooted in Winter's relationship with her mother. Since Winter's father died, she and her mother have gone through the motions. When Winter starts sneaking around, hiding Henry and going into the wood more, her relationship with her mother begins to become a little strained. I love that the author made Winter's relationship with her mother an important part of the plot, because it was significant to see how they became even closer.The same can be said about Winter's friendship with her best friend Meredith. Meredith knows nothing about the wood, which makes their friendship a strange and difficult one. Meredith knows something is wrong but Winter won't ever tell her the truth. This was another important relationship for the author to hone in on, and I'm glad she did.And of course, the subtle, slow-burn romance. From the minute Winter lays eyes on Henry, she has a crush, though it's not totally obvious to her at first. I liked the romance - it's slow-burn, and sort of hate-to-love. Well, more like they got off to a rough start. But Henry is a protective sweetheart and Winter is a nurturing intellect and they mesh together really well. They have great chemistry and they get along well. I adore these two. I wanted more kissing and a little more something in terms of their ending but I was satisfied overall, with the romance.I was satisfied with this book in general! It's an intriguing and eerie story, with a tough heroine, a nice hero, and a high-stakes climax (though it won't appear that way, at first). I'm glad I gave this book a chance!What I Did Not Like:There is this aspect of the ending that, well, let me leave it at that. The ending in general is good and fits the story. But there is one thing that I personally wanted to see, and it didn't happen. That's okay though! It would be cool if the author wrote some sort of epilogue. But only if that epilogue featured That Thing that I wanted (and others readers will probably want too). Would I Recommend It:YA paranormal readers might like this one. Fantasy readers too. It is set in modern times, but it deals a little with time-travel, and a creepy forest. And a hot British boy from the eighteenth century who is a sweetie but also excellent with a sword. Not to forget our smart heroine who is selfless and kind. I recommend this book if you're looking for an intriguing and somewhat quick read!Rating:4 stars. I believe this is a standalone but I wouldn't mind seeing another book follow this one! Or maybe an epilogue. In any case, I will definitely look for more books by Bobulski in the future (related to this one or not).
    more
  • Aneta Bak
    July 9, 2017
    The Wood is a very creative story about woods that contain time travelling portals and the guardians that guard the wood and the travellers that enter it.After Winter's Dad suddenly disappears and the council blames it on him losing his mind in the Wood, Winter takes it upon herself to solve the mystery of her father's disappearance. When a mysterious traveller keeps appearing in Winter's part of the Wood, Winter knows that something is wrong, no one should be able to access the Wood so easily. The Wood is a very creative story about woods that contain time travelling portals and the guardians that guard the wood and the travellers that enter it.After Winter's Dad suddenly disappears and the council blames it on him losing his mind in the Wood, Winter takes it upon herself to solve the mystery of her father's disappearance. When a mysterious traveller keeps appearing in Winter's part of the Wood, Winter knows that something is wrong, no one should be able to access the Wood so easily. When Henry reveals the reason why he's seeking passage through the Wood, he and Winter decide to work together to solve the mystery of the Wood and the occurring disappearances. Honestly, I've never been a fan of time travelling stories. Like never. I don't know what it is about them, but I just don't enjoy them as much as other fantasies. You'd think I would stop reading them, but for some reason I keep trying to find a time travelling book I like.Although this book contained very minimal time travelling, as in only one character time travelled and we didn't change settings... I still found myself not liking this book very much.Winter was a good main character. She wasn't great, but she also didn't make me mad, she was just average. Winter's main problem in the story was trying to balance school and work at the same time as dealing with the death of her father. She's skipping classes, ignoring her best friend and intentionally not looking for a romance because her job in the wood comes first, and with that comes the thoughts of her father and her believing that he might not be dead. I really connected with Winter in this part of the story, and I really liked her up to this point. Once Winter meets Henry things start to change a little.I like Winter, and I like Henry. They're both good characters, but I don't see them being more than friends. The whole romance between them that was added seemed really forced, and I didn't not enjoy it at all. I feel like the story would have been so much better if the two had remained friends. The world building in this story was truly fantastic. I loved the idea of the Wood, the history of the guardians and how they protect it and all the creatures in the Wood. It was all so creative. This was one of the most important aspects of why I liked this book. The other would have to be the family element. This book was very family related, with Winter dealing with her father's death and trying to stay close to her mother. I absolutely loved every scene with Winter and either/both of her parents.The ending of this book was really intriguing. While there was no plot twists (maybe there was one, but I was expecting it from the beginning) the ending was still fairly emotional and very engaging, I definitely couldn't put the book down around the last third of the book. But while the ending was good, I was left with a lot of questions that were never answered, which kind of left me in the "Wait that's it?" state of mind, where I'm constantly questioning things.Overall, this wasn't my favourite book, but I still enjoyed it. If you like time travelling stories then check this one out for sure.Happy Reading,Aneta
    more
  • Kira
    April 29, 2017
    The cover is misleading. Nothing about this was bloody or gory. It wasn't even dark. It wasn’t a happy story, but I was expecting something slightly more sinister. It was easy to get into the story though. The world was original. A magical forest was part of the fae realm. Portals from various times and places around the world connected to the forest, but it was dangerous for people to pass through them because it could mess up the natural timeline. A select few humans were guardians of the port The cover is misleading. Nothing about this was bloody or gory. It wasn't even dark. It wasn’t a happy story, but I was expecting something slightly more sinister. It was easy to get into the story though. The world was original. A magical forest was part of the fae realm. Portals from various times and places around the world connected to the forest, but it was dangerous for people to pass through them because it could mess up the natural timeline. A select few humans were guardians of the portals who had to send travelers back.Part of what irked me about this was the age of the characters. Winter and Henry were mature which was awesome. They acted more like they were in their twenties than teens. The responsibility laid upon them wasn’t believable. This was once again another YA novel where it’s up to teenagers to save the world. At the beginning the rules of the guardians were laid out. It didn’t take long before Winter was breaking those rules. Sometimes I agreed with her choices because it was the right thing to do, but it annoys the hell out of me when all of the rules are quickly broken. Why the hell have them in the first place, you know?I would have liked this better if it were the first in a series rather than a standalone. The plot was wrapped up without any loose ends, but there is so much more that could be explored with the world. I can’t say what without giving anything away but things ended too abruptly with the characters for my liking. I hoped there would have been more to that part of the story.
    more
  • Erin Arkin
    July 8, 2017
    I really enjoyed this one. Review to come!
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    March 8, 2017
    Why aren't people talking about this book?? This was such an exciting whirlwind of a story. Fantasy. Slight romance. Betrayal. Mystery. So much is packed into this story that I want everyone to read it!------------I won an ARC copy of this book from Twitter earlier this year and could not wait to get my grubby hands on this! Time travels, mystical beings, haunted woods... what doesn't sound awesome about that?!Short recap: Winter's father has 'strayed from the path' and is now missing. Nobody st Why aren't people talking about this book?? This was such an exciting whirlwind of a story. Fantasy. Slight romance. Betrayal. Mystery. So much is packed into this story that I want everyone to read it!------------I won an ARC copy of this book from Twitter earlier this year and could not wait to get my grubby hands on this! Time travels, mystical beings, haunted woods... what doesn't sound awesome about that?!Short recap: Winter's father has 'strayed from the path' and is now missing. Nobody strays from the path. Winter knows something is wrong so as the protector of the woods, she will solve the mystery behind his disappearance.Do not travel from the paths. Do not linger after dark. Do not ignore the calling.This was an amazingly unique stories! One of the most unique and catching stories I've read this year. That's saying something because fantasy is not my usual go-to or something I gush about freely. I was hooked from page one and quickly could not get enough. I couldn't stop thinking about this one when I wasn't reading. I just had to know what happened. Bobulski created such a whimsical place full of gateways to other times and places, time travel is very much real, and nothing is what it may seem. It all works so well together that I cannot believe more people aren't talking about this. It was brilliantly done. It may seem a little confusing and strange at first but I promise that if you have some patience, it will all click together effortlessly. The characters in this story were very well developed. Winter is such a strong protagonist that I couldn't help but feel everything for her. I wanted her to prove her worth with The Council and her mother, and also solve the mystery behind what happened to her father. Winter knew the importance of taking her father's place and she did it with everything that she had. Along the way she met Henry, aka Brightonshire. (Winter tends to nickname people after the portal from which they came...) Henry also has a mystery to solve and he is such a delight! He came from 18th century England so he is not custom to ways of modern day. It was very charming to read he and Winter stumbling their way through modern technology.  These two written together brought a smile to my face. They really were adorable to read and witness their admiration for each other grow. The overall plot was very well done. It was not overly complicated while other magical realism stories usually go over the top. This story did not. It was just enough to be realistic and a damn good read. It made me wish more magical realism stories were done this way. I loved every minute and was sad when it was over.I do believe this is a stand alone, which makes me very sad. I wanted more of Winter and Henry! I wanted more of these woods, the Council, and this world. I did not want it to end. The ending was just right and again, it made me sad when it was over. I cannot wait to see what Bobulski writes next. This was a brilliant debut for this author. Please, add this to your TBR and give it a chance. 
    more
  • Sarah Glenn Marsh
    February 13, 2017
    If this darkly gorgeous book isn't yet on your radar, IT SHOULD BE.It's rare that an author can turn a phrase as masterfully as Chelsea Bobulski does in her debut contemporary fantasy. I can only imagine how long it took her to write a novel where every sentence is a carefully crafted thing of beauty.If you dig:Time TravelMysterious woodsA snarky, independent protagonistRomance (Oh, the romance!)Beautiful, dreamlike prose...then this is the book for you!Don't miss it!
    more
  • Anya
    February 12, 2017
    Got to page 109 in the ARC before deciding this isn't for me. I had been hoping for a creepy forest story but most pages have been lacking on that, the Fae are the main supernatural thing. The romance is classic time travel guy from the past hiding in our time and it's just not exciting anymore.
    more
  • joey (thoughts and afterthoughts)
    July 14, 2017
    The best way I can describe the feel of the "Wood" world is STRANGER THINGS (re: the dark and creepy The Upside Down setting) with time travel portals. I describe this in mood only. That being said, The Wood tiptoes through every single possible genre.In any event, I am going to pretend the last 10% of this book did not exist because not only was it a cheese fest, the legitimacy of the decent villain (though was easily known by foreshadowed clues etc.) was led askew by sudden poor decision makin The best way I can describe the feel of the "Wood" world is STRANGER THINGS (re: the dark and creepy The Upside Down setting) with time travel portals. I describe this in mood only. That being said, The Wood tiptoes through every single possible genre.In any event, I am going to pretend the last 10% of this book did not exist because not only was it a cheese fest, the legitimacy of the decent villain (though was easily known by foreshadowed clues etc.) was led askew by sudden poor decision making on their part. Horrendous, really.Other related thoughts:There are also some unanswered plot holes or just general questions I had that I think was left unexplored. Basically, the SparksNote version is "you gotta get out of the wood before it turns dark (night time) and/or when the sun sets and it goes poof" else everything in the Wood will kill you. Basically. And it more-often-than-not gave off an always sunny daylight...as if there was never a rainy/overcast day.Magic system is a quite willy nilly for my tastes. There's a lot of unexplained intuition that compels the MC to 'know' things. Like how her "gut feeling" is that she can sense someone in the Woods. I mean, okay, my gut feeling tells me when I'm hungry and need to navigate to the fridge but it's not like MC is linked to these wanderers, eh?The mom flip-flops between helicopter mama bear mode (which is fine) in vocal presence but also lacks any intrinsic motivation to act out on it. Literally takes 200 pages for her to walk into her room and discover there's been a boy residing there for the past few days.Fight-or-flight moments of suspense is met with sudden realizations of romantic interests and/or feels that HAVE TO BE MENTIONED/EXPOUNDED AT THAT PARTICULAR MOMENT BECAUSE IT IS NECESSARY EVEN THOUGH DIRE SITUATION IS DIRE. Romance subplots tho.MCs best friend makes this book fail the Bechdel test.That's all I got for now :/-- full review to come.
    more
  • Sabby Fox
    April 1, 2017
    I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book from the publisher.Winter's father doesn't come back from his morning patrol one day and is presumed to have been swallowed up by the woods he has been tasked to protect. Now that he has gone, Winter has had to step up and be the caretaker of the dangerous wood.One day, a traveler named Henry whilst trying to get into a different time period than his own is stopped and redirected by Winter, but not before his promise that he would keep coming bac I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book from the publisher.Winter's father doesn't come back from his morning patrol one day and is presumed to have been swallowed up by the woods he has been tasked to protect. Now that he has gone, Winter has had to step up and be the caretaker of the dangerous wood.One day, a traveler named Henry whilst trying to get into a different time period than his own is stopped and redirected by Winter, but not before his promise that he would keep coming back until his task is finished. Finally, she asks what he is attempting to do, and sees that he could be a little bit more handy than as hassle as she initially thought. It doesn't help he's a gentleman and a hunk either. Hello, book boyfriend. ;)They end up solving mysteries and questions that bring up harsh revelations from the people Winter thought she was the closest to.This book has it all. Death, betrayal, a little bit of a fluffy love angle, an understanding best friend, an extremely worried but supportive mother, and most of all, a bomb-ass plot that is to die for. WHO doesn't like the sound of a magical forest that has the ability to conjure up monsters out of our most horrendous nightmares...right?
    more
  • Amanda Searcy
    March 27, 2017
    This book was so unique. The premise is fantastic - a swath of enchanted woods with portals to different times, and the girl who is in charge of seeing the travels who fall through home safely. I really loved the story, and the main character Winter, who is trying to live a normal life while knowing that she will never be able to live a normal life. THE WOOD reminded me of the TV show Charmed, which I couldn't get enough of. This book is a stand alone, but I would like to read many more books se This book was so unique. The premise is fantastic - a swath of enchanted woods with portals to different times, and the girl who is in charge of seeing the travels who fall through home safely. I really loved the story, and the main character Winter, who is trying to live a normal life while knowing that she will never be able to live a normal life. THE WOOD reminded me of the TV show Charmed, which I couldn't get enough of. This book is a stand alone, but I would like to read many more books set in this world!
    more
  • Gwen Cole
    November 29, 2016
    Loved this book from beginning to end! Winter is a wonderful and strong MC, and I LOVE the romance in this book. Each scene with them is fantastic and had me wanting more. Is was a wonderful, unique YA and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Austine (NovelKnight)
    July 14, 2017
    I feel like I'm in that in-between place with this book where I feel like I should have loved it more than I actually did. The Wood is one of those books that blends reality with fantasy, a bit more than what I'd consider magical realism but not enough to really fit in urban fantasy.We begin with Winter, one of the Guardians of the Wood, a task passed down in her family. She's also a teen trying to do normal teen things like go to school and hang out with her best friend and talk to boys. But th I feel like I'm in that in-between place with this book where I feel like I should have loved it more than I actually did. The Wood is one of those books that blends reality with fantasy, a bit more than what I'd consider magical realism but not enough to really fit in urban fantasy.We begin with Winter, one of the Guardians of the Wood, a task passed down in her family. She's also a teen trying to do normal teen things like go to school and hang out with her best friend and talk to boys. But the Wood is more important than anything. I liked how you could see the way her duty wormed its way into every aspect of her life even though she clearly didn't want it to. As a character, though, I didn't think Winter was anything special. I neither liked nor disliked her which left the world-building and plot to pick up the slack when it came to engaging me as a reader.And the world was beautiful. I loved the idea of the Wood and the Guardians, how the Wood was both alive but not, almost sentient in nature, with all the portals to different points throughout history. I'm not one for time-travel books and there's very little in The Wood regarding the protagonist traveling but she's charged with sending "travelers" (those who wander through one of those portals) back to their own time. I liked that twist since so often it seems like the main character's the one doing all the time-traveling.I can't say the plot held up as well as the world. It took the first quarter of the book before I was interested. Prior to that I put the book down several times to read something else. I think the point where Henry is introduced was when I started to become really invested in the story, and not because of the romance blossoming between him and Winter. They finally started working toward the end goal, and the action (and tension) was ramped up.Honestly, based on the synopsis and the opening pages of this book, I thought it was going to be a lot darker, maybe a bit gory. Those pages reminded me a bit of  And the Trees Crept In and though I'm not one for horror, usually, I got excited. But The Wood isn't dark or creepy. You get your typical bad guy mixed in with a little mystery. Which is a shame.There's also a tie-in to the Fae and when I read that I got excited again only to find that the Fae don't make an appearance in the way I expected (I was hoping for some sort of allusion to folklore but didn't really get much of that).At the end, I had to double check that this wasn't a series because though some of the storylines wrapped up, there were a couple that didn't and I didn't understand why they were introduced in the first place only to be left like that. Granted, I'm not sure where this would go as a series but I wanted more of a definite ending for certain subplots.This book was good but not great. I wanted a dark tale and got a unique take on YA fantasy so brownie points for that but I felt The Wood was just... lacking in some areas.
    more
  • Jen
    July 23, 2017
    **I received this as an egalley from Edelweiss in return for an honest review.**While I thought this book started off pretty well, by the halfway point I kind of realized it wasn't as great as I had originally thought it would be. It's an interesting concept - of a wood outside time where Old Ones live and mortal guardians protect the fabric of time from travelers who accidentally cross into it - but I think it was mainly the predictability of the plot and the characters that had me feeling disa **I received this as an egalley from Edelweiss in return for an honest review.**While I thought this book started off pretty well, by the halfway point I kind of realized it wasn't as great as I had originally thought it would be. It's an interesting concept - of a wood outside time where Old Ones live and mortal guardians protect the fabric of time from travelers who accidentally cross into it - but I think it was mainly the predictability of the plot and the characters that had me feeling disappointed in this read.The plot itself feels original and interesting in terms of the overall concept, but the parts dealing with Winter's father and the sudden evil in the wood felt predictable and uninteresting. I kind of guessed who the "Big Bad" was almost immediately from the start, so there was little shock factor there, and the pacing was quick, with things happening almost too fast and too easily at times. The world building was easy to understand, but oftentimes there would be additional information that someone would share with Winter that would conveniently become super important almost immediately after being revealed. As for the characters, I honestly can't say I saw a lot of growth with them, especially Winter. She kind of remained the same to me throughout the book, and I never really felt much of a connection towards her. Her relationship with her mother was probably the most natural thing in the whole book, while her relationship with Henry, the eighteenth century love interest, moved far too quickly and far too cheesily. I mean, she acknowledges it herself how fast her feelings seem to grow for him, but it still happens and so their relationship just felt like it all happened too fast. Then, of course, there is the evil one, who feels evil for the sake of having a 'shocking plot twist' factor, and everything he says and does to try and get people to "understand why he is doing what he is doing and join him" feels super cheesy and cartoonish. Everything moved just far too quickly in this book, the relationships especially, the characters had little to no growth, and the plot was easily predictable. I will say that the concept was interesting, and that I might still recommend this to tweens who are struggling to find a happy medium between middle grade books and some of the more intense teen books, but to me personally it didn't appeal. 3 stars
    more
  • Ashley
    June 30, 2017
    I am not exactly the best reviewer out there, but I knows what I likes and often, I will judge a book based on how angry I am when it’s over. If I’m sitting there, looking at a book going “that can’t possibly be the end. Where are the rest of the pages? Why isn’t there more? Where’s book 2 and why isn’t it in my hands right now??” Then I think it’s fair to say I enjoyed that book rather a lot and would like to read more from the author. That said, I don’t necessarily think The Wood is going to b I am not exactly the best reviewer out there, but I knows what I likes and often, I will judge a book based on how angry I am when it’s over. If I’m sitting there, looking at a book going “that can’t possibly be the end. Where are the rest of the pages? Why isn’t there more? Where’s book 2 and why isn’t it in my hands right now??” Then I think it’s fair to say I enjoyed that book rather a lot and would like to read more from the author. That said, I don’t necessarily think The Wood is going to be a series, it works pretty well as a standalone novel, but I just…I want more, damn it. I want to know more about the magic of this world and the wood and…and…and…can I just please have a sequel?Anyway, this book is about a magical wood somewhere in Ohio (they have woods in Ohio? I have no idea, but I bet there not as cool as our Pacific Northwest woods…). Anyway, this wood is not of our world - it’s got all sorts of creepy magical shit going on. Like portals to other times. And sometimes people walk through one of these portals and end up in the wood and they’re all “what the hell just happened?” Enter our protagonist, Winter Parish, who is part of a long line of guardians of the wood, whose role is to assist the “travelers” who end up in the woods. Winter’s dad was a guardian, too, but he disappeared under some veeery mysterious circumstances a couple years back, leaving Winter with a ton of unanswered questions about the wood and now she has to do her patrol alone. Also, there are immortal beings who look after the wood and the mortal guardians. Because…reasons…don’t look at me, read the book.Anyway: something’s up with the wood - the trees have some kind of weird disease, freaky stuff happens in there at night and under no circumstances is Winter supposed to be there after dark, and there’s this really persistent guy from the late 18th Century who keeps coming through a portal and into the wood who will not listen to Winter when she says “don’t do that.” But, as it turns out, he’s looking for his missing parents, and their disappearance might just have something to do with the disappearance of Winter’s dad…In all, The Wood is a highly enjoyable YA fantasy and a good debut novel. I wish I knew if there were going to be a sequel or not…please…?
    more
  • Em Lehrer
    July 6, 2017
    I didn't really know a lot about The Wood before reading it, and while it wasn't quite what I was expecting, I really enjoyed it. Winter's dad is gone, and she is now tasked as the Guardian of her section of The Wood. The Wood is a place with portals to lots of different times and places, and sometimes people stumble through these passages. When that happens, Winter needs to find them and make sure they return from where they came from. I loved Winter. She is strong and smart and definitely know I didn't really know a lot about The Wood before reading it, and while it wasn't quite what I was expecting, I really enjoyed it. Winter's dad is gone, and she is now tasked as the Guardian of her section of The Wood. The Wood is a place with portals to lots of different times and places, and sometimes people stumble through these passages. When that happens, Winter needs to find them and make sure they return from where they came from. I loved Winter. She is strong and smart and definitely knows how to hold her own. She does what she thinks is right, even if it means breaking the rules. The other characters were great, too. Henry was adorable and determined. Winter's Mother was fighting her own inner battle while watching her daughter enter the place that took her husband away from her. Uncle Joe was.... well... no spoilers, right?! All of the characters were dimensional and interesting, and each one added something important to the book. The plot of this book was enticing, and it drew me in immediately. There was deception and mystery. There were relationships formed and relationships broken. Although the story wasn't quite as dark and eerie as expected, it definitely did have some spooky elements in it. The wood is creepy and crawly, and I would not want to be caught in there after dark. I also loved the magical elements in the book, and the idea of the Wood connecting all the different places and times. I felt like this book could have used an epilogue, or another chapter to kind of close everything out. After reading the last line, I felt myself asking "Was that really it?" and turning the page back and forth a few times just to be sure. That being said, the ending I got was still a great one.I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a not-to-spooky book with magic, time travel, and mystery. Wow, that was weirdly specific. Okay, let me try this again: I would recommend this book to anyone who loves slightly-spooky YA, mystery, and/or finding new and exciting worlds to explore.I am going to give The Wood four out of five hearts!*an arc of this book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own
    more
  • Miranda
    January 25, 2017
    I received an ARC from the publisher in return for a fair review.Winter has a very unique job. She is charged with being a guardian to the thresholds between time periods, working to ensure that those who accidentally leave their own time are returned to the time where they belong and not to another. Her family has done this for generations, and she is next in line. He father began teaching her when she was ten, but he mysteriously disappeared almost 2 years ago, and she's had to finish her trai I received an ARC from the publisher in return for a fair review.Winter has a very unique job. She is charged with being a guardian to the thresholds between time periods, working to ensure that those who accidentally leave their own time are returned to the time where they belong and not to another. Her family has done this for generations, and she is next in line. He father began teaching her when she was ten, but he mysteriously disappeared almost 2 years ago, and she's had to finish her training on her own under the guidance of Joe, their family friend.All is status quo as Winter struggles to balance her task with normal teenage life, going to school and having friends. Until the day that Henry appears. He knows more about the wood and how it works than he should, and he's determined to find a way through to another time. Can she stop him before it's too late? Does she want to stop him? Winter is sure that her dad is out there somewhere, and Henry may just be the answer.This is a fun time travel novel with a twist. Rather than have the characters traveling through time, everything happens in the modern world, with discussions of different times throughout. The characters have individual voices, though I think there are a few that could use a little more fleshing out with more interactions. The premise of the world is well written, though I had a harder time with the Council and how they were set up. Overall, a great new read for those who like a more realistic fantasy.
    more
  • Gaby
    July 19, 2017
    So when I first saw this cover I thought The Wood was a horror novel but really it's sci-fi/fantasy. I say fantasy because while there is time travel that is based in some science, the main character, Winter, never actually time travels, plus the role she has as guardian over the wood and the portals other times is dictated by magic and a council of immortals. This dynamic set in a contemporary world means this book reads more like SFF light but the writing is strong, the characters are well dev So when I first saw this cover I thought The Wood was a horror novel but really it's sci-fi/fantasy. I say fantasy because while there is time travel that is based in some science, the main character, Winter, never actually time travels, plus the role she has as guardian over the wood and the portals other times is dictated by magic and a council of immortals. This dynamic set in a contemporary world means this book reads more like SFF light but the writing is strong, the characters are well developed, and the plot is compelling, making for an amazing story that may or may not have made me tear up a little bit (ugh, feelings, why do I have them?). Ultimately, definitely worth reading and pretty memorable - can't wait to see what Chelsea Bobulski writes next.This one's good for fans of creepy tales helmed by stubborn, brave protagonists. So maybe The Archived by Victoria Schwab? (That's a big statement for me and I'm pretty sure I mean it... so probably pick this one up, okay?
    more
  • F.M.
    June 6, 2017
    Eerie, delightful, frightening, and compelling. The main character is a guardian of the wood, tasked with protecting travelers who accidentally slip through portals... from different time periods. But there's something wrong... the wood is poisoned, and nothing is working the way it should. EXCEPT THIS STORY!!! I'm not just being cheeky, I really loved this difficult-to-categorize debut (is it fantasy? time travel/sci-fi? horror?!) and loved the developing relationship between Winter and Henry, Eerie, delightful, frightening, and compelling. The main character is a guardian of the wood, tasked with protecting travelers who accidentally slip through portals... from different time periods. But there's something wrong... the wood is poisoned, and nothing is working the way it should. EXCEPT THIS STORY!!! I'm not just being cheeky, I really loved this difficult-to-categorize debut (is it fantasy? time travel/sci-fi? horror?!) and loved the developing relationship between Winter and Henry, a traveler from eighteenth-century England. I don't want to risk spoilers, so... that's all I'll say. But if the thought of "creepy woods" and "time travelers" makes you salivate, put this one on your wish list.
    more
  • Teresa
    January 13, 2017
    I picked this book up for the cover, then after reading the blurb I thought it was right up my alley. While reading this book, I just kept wanting more. backstory, more romance, more Winter...don't get me wrong this book was fun and entertaining but it didn't answer all my questions. Winter is a great character; strong, independent, lonely and scared...she is desperate to find answers about her father's disappearance. Henry is great...it was really fun to see him get used to the 21st cent I picked this book up for the cover, then after reading the blurb I thought it was right up my alley. While reading this book, I just kept wanting more. backstory, more romance, more Winter...don't get me wrong this book was fun and entertaining but it didn't answer all my questions. Winter is a great character; strong, independent, lonely and scared...she is desperate to find answers about her father's disappearance. Henry is great...it was really fun to see him get used to the 21st century! Maybe my expectations were too much, I don't know...either way I did enjoy the story. Thanks to MacMillan for the ARC!
    more
  • Erin
    January 17, 2017
    Read as an ARCA guardian of the wood story with tragedy and sacrifice set in the present, making it much like a modern fairy tale. Winter was a courageous main character and I love her style, but Henry captured my heart. If there's a sequel, he'd better be back!
    more
  • Fallon
    July 25, 2017
    I finished last night and it was so good! I was glued. Elements of magic, suspense and action. This was thrilling and dark and you will not want to put it down till you discover the mystery of The Wood. I would love more on the characters and this world.
    more
  • Beneath The Covers Blog
    July 18, 2017
    Full review can be found HERE --> http://buttermybooks.com/tagged/review~Summer
  • Lisa
    May 7, 2017
    A solid speculative fiction story. There was something off about the world-building and characterization that kept this story from being truly great.
  • Rachel
    August 1, 2017
    THE WOOD is a unique and alluring and beautifully written tale that grabs hold from its very first page and won’t let go until its last. It invites readers into a world that is enchanting and magical, yet hints of darkness and danger. It is thrilling. It is haunting. It is completely captivating. It is an extraordinary read that promises to leave readers clamoring for a sequel.When Winter Parish finally learned the secret of the wood and her responsibility for it and for the people who would som THE WOOD is a unique and alluring and beautifully written tale that grabs hold from its very first page and won’t let go until its last. It invites readers into a world that is enchanting and magical, yet hints of darkness and danger. It is thrilling. It is haunting. It is completely captivating. It is an extraordinary read that promises to leave readers clamoring for a sequel.When Winter Parish finally learned the secret of the wood and her responsibility for it and for the people who would sometimes find their way in and get lost, she was ecstatic. She’d always been curious about the wood behind her home and she was fascinated by these accidental travelers who needed protection. She felt a connection to the wood and she loved its beauty and its magic and was happy to serve as its guardian someday.But when her father supposedly strayed from the path - breaking one of the wood’s most important rules - and vanished from her life, she wasn’t sure how she felt about having to step into his shoes. Not that she had any choice, but she hadn’t yet learned all she needed to, she didn’t have any answers about her father’s disappearance, and she didn’t feel quite as safe as in the wood as she once did.Desperate for answers, she might have to break one of the rules herself and allow a traveler into her world. A decision that could put not only herself, her mother and the wood in danger, but the past, the present, the future, the world as she knows it. Especially if it turns out that this traveler can’t be trusted.Chelsea Bobulski delivers a refreshingly different and incredibly suspenseful read. From the mysterious disappearance of Jack Parish, to the darkness that is infecting the wood, to the strange traveler from Brightonshire that knows more than he should, the author spins a stunning tale that is absolutely riveting.And with a quick pace, a touch of romance, an immensely likable heroine, a sinister foe, and an ending that leaves open the possibility for more, THE WOOD is a must, must, must read that is guaranteed to be unputdownable.
    more
  • K.L. Hallam
    January 10, 2016
    Do not travel on the paths.Do not linger after dark.Do not ignore the calling. Sixteen-year-old, Winter, is a guardian of the wood, the same wood that took her father. She protects the travelers who pass through, making sure they return to their time period. Otherwise, the world could implode. It’s a dangerous job. Winter works all day to ensure the travelers are guided back to their threshold. But, if she’s caught in the wood after sundown, the shadows, called Sentinels, rise; the icy cold foll Do not travel on the paths.Do not linger after dark.Do not ignore the calling. Sixteen-year-old, Winter, is a guardian of the wood, the same wood that took her father. She protects the travelers who pass through, making sure they return to their time period. Otherwise, the world could implode. It’s a dangerous job. Winter works all day to ensure the travelers are guided back to their threshold. But, if she’s caught in the wood after sundown, the shadows, called Sentinels, rise; the icy cold follows their razor sharp teeth. The wood is ill, black tar drips from the leaves, and it’s spreading. Travelers are found in bad shape, stricken to their core by the darkness of the wood and the poison and the shadows. Winter isn’t alone. She worries about her mother, while her mother worries if she’ll return home each day, or if the wood has taken her. There’s Uncle Joe, who’s worked closely with her father, and more like brothers through the years as guardians of the wood. Uncle Joe watches over Winter. He wants to protect her where her father left off. So when a boy passes through the wood from the 18th Century, a mortal, begging for help, who might know where her father is, she listens. Reluctant, at first, helping him goes against the most important rule of the guardians: No traveler can pass through a threshold into a time that is not their own.Together, they set out to save the wood, and find his parents, Old Ones who disappeared that may know what’s happening to the wood and how to stop it. But the ancient one, Varo has returned, an outcast 500 years ago. Could he be darkening the wood, and using Dragon’s Bain, the one thing that could kill an immortal guardian? A fun fantasy with a time-travel twist, a forest that comes alive with dark forces, magical benevolent fireflies, friendship, sacrifice, and a satisfying conclusion, make for an absorbing read. The action writing and the pace were effortless. Recommended for readers 13 and up. Release date: August 1, 2017 by Feiwel & FriendsThis review posts on the Kidliterati blog tomorrow - April 10th.
    more
  • Danielle
    March 27, 2017
    (I received an ARC of this book on NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.)What happened if the Wood Between the Worlds had a guardian? Travelers in all of our favorite fantasy novels would be rerouted back to their home time & place and the adventure would stop, right? Winter is that guardian. After her dad’s disappearance, she’s the only one who can monitor the Wood and make sure that no travelers get through to another portal. She tracks them down and takes (I received an ARC of this book on NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.)What happened if the Wood Between the Worlds had a guardian? Travelers in all of our favorite fantasy novels would be rerouted back to their home time & place and the adventure would stop, right? Winter is that guardian. After her dad’s disappearance, she’s the only one who can monitor the Wood and make sure that no travelers get through to another portal. She tracks them down and takes them back to their home time and place, and she gets no thanks for a job well done. But one day, a traveler makes it through who knows more than he should about guardians, and is it normal for the trees to have black slime on their trunks? Suddenly, Winter is pulled into an age-old war that threatens the human realm as she knows it…This book was fine, just fine. I give it three stars for being completely recommendable to high school students or adult friends. It was predictable at times and it wrapped up too neatly for my taste, but I loved the atmospheric work. Also, I LOVED Winter’s mom and her straightforward communication style. I have an affinity for books where lying to your parents doesn’t work in the long run, so yay hooray for this one.
    more
  • Jennifer
    March 29, 2017
    An excellent debut from a new author, Chelsea Bobulski. "The Wood" is a bit of a surprise. I picked the book based on cover and description because I was ready to read a new mystery, and what the book delivered was half mystery, half fantasy. Not at all what I was expecting!Winter is a strong character, a teenage girl grappling with the sudden disappearance of her father, and the adult task of patrolling the wood and keeping it safe. The wood conceals portals to other time periods. Winter's task An excellent debut from a new author, Chelsea Bobulski. "The Wood" is a bit of a surprise. I picked the book based on cover and description because I was ready to read a new mystery, and what the book delivered was half mystery, half fantasy. Not at all what I was expecting!Winter is a strong character, a teenage girl grappling with the sudden disappearance of her father, and the adult task of patrolling the wood and keeping it safe. The wood conceals portals to other time periods. Winter's task is to keep any stragglers wandering through the wood from finding their way out into the wrong time period. However, all is not well with the wood. At night it comes alive, attacking those who might have the misfortune to wander through a portal, or be caught inside after dark. Meanwhile, the council in charge of keeping the wood safe has had problems with disappearances. What is causing the disappearances? Does the council have anything to do with it? Is Winter's father still alive? And how does the traveler, Henry, fit into the mystery?All-in-all, this was a surprising read, mainly because it was way better than I expected: engaging, fast-paced, and containing a well-crafted plot and ending. My main complaints relate to the world-building: I wanted to know more about the wood, why it was created, and why some members on the council are immortal while those in charge of guarding the wood are not.This book is sure to appeal to teens who are looking for a strong female protagonist, and lovers of mystery and fantasy who lean towards fast teen reads. Someone who enjoys epic world-building in their fantasy may enjoy the story, but will come away feeling like there is something lacking in the world.Thanks to Macmillan for providing this arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Teresa Bateman
    May 1, 2017
    The Wood is a dangerous place. Winter has known this since her father introduced her to what would have to be her life's work, as it was his. Now he is gone and as a teenager she is responsible to return errant travelers to the gateways they stumbled through. It's a hard and dangerous job, and something is wrong with the Wood. She senses it. When a handsome teen stumbles out of another time and place she breaks the rules. His parents have gone missing. Could solving his mystery help her find out The Wood is a dangerous place. Winter has known this since her father introduced her to what would have to be her life's work, as it was his. Now he is gone and as a teenager she is responsible to return errant travelers to the gateways they stumbled through. It's a hard and dangerous job, and something is wrong with the Wood. She senses it. When a handsome teen stumbles out of another time and place she breaks the rules. His parents have gone missing. Could solving his mystery help her find out what happened to her father? It's risky, and only gets more so when things go south and changes come that threaten not on the Wood, but the real world as well. This is a fast-paced book with enough teen angst to keep romantics happy and enough fantasy danger to draw in those who like a good light vs. dark story. There is resolution here, but one hopes it is the first of a series.
    more
  • Liz Overberg
    April 26, 2017
    Very unique premise, but the lighthearted tone didn't work for me. The main character is supposed to be an expert on other times and languages, but she constantly speaks to someone from the past in modern vernacular, idioms, and expressions. I think what really took away from this story for me was the inclusion of the main character's modern life, including homework, parties, and a boy-crazy best friend. I know the author purposely included the conflict between a "normal" teen existence and Wint Very unique premise, but the lighthearted tone didn't work for me. The main character is supposed to be an expert on other times and languages, but she constantly speaks to someone from the past in modern vernacular, idioms, and expressions. I think what really took away from this story for me was the inclusion of the main character's modern life, including homework, parties, and a boy-crazy best friend. I know the author purposely included the conflict between a "normal" teen existence and Winter's guardianship duties, but I would have preferred a more serious fantasy novel. That's really just a personal preference. Others may enjoy this novel as-is.
    more
  • Melissa Rothman
    July 9, 2017
    i recieved this book in a good reads giveaway and. loved this book now is not what I thought it would be which was a dark horror book seeing as that it looks and sounds like that's how the book would be but it's not! I still loved the plot line I loved how unique and interesting the woods and her job as winter calls it is describe. the fantasy feel of the book was great I'm not much for liking time travel books but this one won me over! I definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Forever Young Adult
    August 1, 2017
    Graded By: JennieCover Story: Dripping With DepravityBFF Charm: YaySwoonworthy Scale: 8Talky Talk: Straight Up With An Eerie TwistBonus Factors: Sentient Forest, Mysterious Loner Time Traveling DudeRelationship Status: Are There More Just Like You?Read the full book report here.
    more
  • Amanda (Good Choice Reading)
    March 24, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Jennifer
    June 29, 2017
    I never knew 2 little words could completely destroy me... "Yeah, munchkin?" fuck
  • Sara
    February 16, 2017
    This started out strong and I had high hopes for it. Then the story fell apart about 80% through and never recovered. *sigh* Big disappointment.
  • TJ Burns
    March 30, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from McMillan Children's Books via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • N.K. Traver
    October 22, 2015
    Review to come!
Write a review