The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 3
New series, New Avenger! With her unique combination of wit, empathy and squirrel powers, computer science student Doreen Green - aka the unbeatable Squirrel Girl - is all that stands between the Earth and total destruction. Well, Doreen plus her friends Tippy-Toe (a squirrel) and Nancy (a regular human with no powers). So, mainly Squirrel Girl. Then what hope does the Earth have if she gets hurled back in time to the 1960s and erased from history? At least Nancy will never forget her friend, but what invincible armored Avenger can she call on to help, through the magic of social media? Decades apart, can they avert doom, or will everything go wrong forever? Howard the Duck hopes not...he has an appointment for a crossover!Collecting: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl 1-6, Howard the Duck 6

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 3 Details

TitleThe Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 3
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 7th, 2016
PublisherMarvel - US
ISBN0785196269
ISBN-139780785196266
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes, Humor, Fiction, Marvel, Young Adult

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Volume 3 Review

  • Anne
    February 18, 2017
    In theory I like Squirrel Girl. She's cute, spunky, unbeatable, etc..The reality? I just don't think I'll ever be a huge fan of this title.I felt like maybe I was starting to really like this volume till I started hitting the halfway mark, and then something inside me snapped. One minute it seemed all quirky and fun, and the next it was just too much!Too much mind-numbing dialogue crammed everywhere. EVERYWHERE! Like, there is literally no where else to put any more words, because all of the bla In theory I like Squirrel Girl. She's cute, spunky, unbeatable, etc..The reality? I just don't think I'll ever be a huge fan of this title.I felt like maybe I was starting to really like this volume till I started hitting the halfway mark, and then something inside me snapped. One minute it seemed all quirky and fun, and the next it was just too much!Too much mind-numbing dialogue crammed everywhere. EVERYWHERE! Like, there is literally no where else to put any more words, because all of the blank spots are taken! Then, because evidently there needs to be more words, there's little inside jokes, puns, extra added sass, whatever...at the bottom of the page. It was felt (to me) almost like the writer was trying to be too clever?And, yes, 50% of it is soooo cute/funny/quirky/adorable/spunky. But sifting through all the nonsense wore me out. And the story was mainly nonsense. There's quite literally nothing about any of these stories that need to told.BUT.I fully understand that that's part of the reason this title has so many fans. It's just one of those things that you either enjoy...or don't.By the last few issues I was basically forcing my eyes across the page, and just skimming in earnest. I wanted it to be over with, but I'd come too far - sifted through too much shit, read too many goofy puns - just to give up. And goddamnit, I reached that finish line!The reward?The last issue in this volume was a crossover with Howard the Duck, which meant I didn't have to look at that fugly art anymore. Because even though the word-diarrhea hurt my brain, the art made me want to claw my eyes out.I wanted to like this. EVERYONE likes this!I don't know?Squirrel Girl, it's not you, it's me...
    more
  • Cheese
    July 21, 2016
    Fucking awful.
  • Sesana
    May 2, 2016
    I love this book. It's been consistently fun, silly, and good from issue one. This volume is a bit different, as North tries out a slightly longer story than he's used before. The end result is a multi-part time travel story guest starring Doctor Doom. There is nothing that isn't fun about this. The last two issues in the book are a Howard the Duck crossover, which I ended up enjoying far more than I had thought I would. The two books melded really nicely. I'm not sure if it was enough to make m I love this book. It's been consistently fun, silly, and good from issue one. This volume is a bit different, as North tries out a slightly longer story than he's used before. The end result is a multi-part time travel story guest starring Doctor Doom. There is nothing that isn't fun about this. The last two issues in the book are a Howard the Duck crossover, which I ended up enjoying far more than I had thought I would. The two books melded really nicely. I'm not sure if it was enough to make me consider reading the actual Howard the Duck series, but I'm at least thinking about it, something I wasn't doing before. Bottom line, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl is still a great, fun book, in my mind one of Marvel's highlights.
    more
  • Brea
    January 10, 2017
    I am consistently disapointed with The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl graphic novels. I feel like they have so much potential, but the execution is just poor. This volume was so confusing with all the time travel and alternate timelines. I just wanted nothing more than for it to be over. However, with that said, it still took me like 5 days to read this because I could only manage about an issue at a time before I got frustrated and would have to just walk away from it. I think the best part about thi I am consistently disapointed with The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl graphic novels. I feel like they have so much potential, but the execution is just poor. This volume was so confusing with all the time travel and alternate timelines. I just wanted nothing more than for it to be over. However, with that said, it still took me like 5 days to read this because I could only manage about an issue at a time before I got frustrated and would have to just walk away from it. I think the best part about this volume was the Howard the Duck tie in. Maybe its because I have a huge literary crush on Chip Zdarsky, but those issues really were the best part of the volume. With all this said, I do have to give USG some props for one thing! The commentary that happens in the footer of the graphic novel is just genius! The humor and writing in those little quips at the bottom of the page are the reasons I keep trying to like Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. I am trying here guys, but I am starting to think I may never be a true Unbeatable Squirrel Girl fan...
    more
  • Paul
    May 1, 2016
    This book does my head in.It's kind of growing on me... but it's still pretty much equal parts cute and nerve endings on a cheese grater annoying!Nuts to it.
  • Edward Davies
    May 19, 2016
    This third collection, beginning the volume 2 run, is just as good as the first two, if not better. There's crazy robots, time travel, and a cross-over with Howard The Duck. You can't go wrong!
  • Loretta
    March 20, 2017
    This volume was awesome! Time travel! Crossed timelines! Doctor Doom! Howard the Duck! A kitty cyborg that can say things like "Purr purr, please keep petting!"I really loved the adventure and real suspense in this volume. Solid plotting and even funnier than usual. I was smiling the whole time. 5 stars.
    more
  • Nancy
    July 24, 2016
    The happiest thing I read is this series.
  • Jessica
    March 13, 2017
    As usual, Squirrel Girl is freaking amazing. I loved how she took down Doctor Doom in this collection. Very clever. The Howard the Duck two part crossover was fun as well. Overall, Squirrel Girl rocks!
  • Chris Lemmerman
    June 12, 2016
    As if Doreen Green would ever let something as silly as the end of the Marvel Universe stop her from coming back stronger than ever after Secret Wars. Collecting the first six issues of her second ongoing series, as well as the crossover issue with Howard The Duck, this is another superb collection of hilarious comics that remind us that not everything has to be serious to be enjoyable. This is the first time writer Ryan North has tried a longer-form story, with the most being a two-parter in a As if Doreen Green would ever let something as silly as the end of the Marvel Universe stop her from coming back stronger than ever after Secret Wars. Collecting the first six issues of her second ongoing series, as well as the crossover issue with Howard The Duck, this is another superb collection of hilarious comics that remind us that not everything has to be serious to be enjoyable. This is the first time writer Ryan North has tried a longer-form story, with the most being a two-parter in a previous volume. This time, almost all of the first 5 issues deal with a time travel plot as Doreen finds herself trapped in the 60s and only through some super-comic-science and some help from Nancy in the present can she save herself, and all of time, from Doctor Doom.The two part Animal House crossover in the back of the book is also excellent, and it's amazing how well Doreen and Howard's worlds mesh together when they're such different characters. The writing styles of North and Howard scribe Chip Zdarsky blend together too, with Zdarsky guest-writing some of the ticker-tape sentences at the bottom of each page too.Squirrel, You Really Got Me Now is right. I'm onboard with Squirrel Girl for as long as the series is going to go, which is hopefully a hell of a long time.
    more
  • K.
    October 20, 2016
    What I adore most about Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (other than Doreen and her unrelenting cheer and her vaguely one-sided friendship with Tony Stark) is her roomie, Nancy.But Mary, Mary, my love.MARY AND NANCY TOGETHER.Be still my heart. The supporting characters for this series are so excellent. The writer clearly has just a ton of fun mixing the absurdity of classic comic shenanigans with modern humor and sensibilities.
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 9, 2016
    I have never, ever loved a comic with the kind of helpless adoration I feel for The Unbeatable Squirrel. So funny! So smart! So awesome! And so kind! In a word: UNBEATABLE. :)I dragged out my reading of this volume as long as possible...but now I have to admit it: I'm really done. It's over. No more until the next volume. Wahhhh!There wasn't a single issue in this volume that didn't make me laugh out loud multiple times, and I always, always felt better after reading it. I love Squirrel Girl SO I have never, ever loved a comic with the kind of helpless adoration I feel for The Unbeatable Squirrel. So funny! So smart! So awesome! And so kind! In a word: UNBEATABLE. :)I dragged out my reading of this volume as long as possible...but now I have to admit it: I'm really done. It's over. No more until the next volume. Wahhhh!There wasn't a single issue in this volume that didn't make me laugh out loud multiple times, and I always, always felt better after reading it. I love Squirrel Girl SO MUCH! Call me, Squirrel Girl! Or at least deliver Volume 4 implausibly early... ;)
    more
  • Sue
    February 5, 2017
    Another fun volume! The footnotes did start to get distracting so I need to read through first and then read the footnotes. I found that if I tried to read the footnotes as I went along, I would lose my momentum. Other than that, it was such a fun romp! I love Doreen and Nancy and I want to read more!
    more
  • Cyndi
    November 9, 2016
    Howard the Duck! Lol
  • Renay
    March 27, 2017
    Even though it was about time travel, Doreen is still by fave.
  • Anna
    January 11, 2017
    Reading this instead of the news was 100% the right decision, as it was extremely funny and generally adorable. Doreen Green AKA Squirrel Girl deals with robots, Doctor Doom, time travel, and Howard the Duck with charm and panache. She has a squirrel for a sidekick, an awesome flatmate, and a set of cards listing supervillains that Deadpool apparently gave her. Even better, each page has meta commentary at the bottom, including the following: 'That guy's The Punisher! Like all men who take thems Reading this instead of the news was 100% the right decision, as it was extremely funny and generally adorable. Doreen Green AKA Squirrel Girl deals with robots, Doctor Doom, time travel, and Howard the Duck with charm and panache. She has a squirrel for a sidekick, an awesome flatmate, and a set of cards listing supervillains that Deadpool apparently gave her. Even better, each page has meta commentary at the bottom, including the following: 'That guy's The Punisher! Like all men who take themselves extremely seriously, he likes to spend his downtime sewing cartoon skeleton heads onto every shirt he owns, so that way everyone can tell right away how extremely serious he is.' Rocket Raccoon has a brief cameo, during which he comments, 'Look, the universe is a big, dangerous place but Earth is still the easiest place to buy guns.' Also, the art is lovely, everyone is excited about dinosaurs, and at one point Squirrel Girl high-fives her future self. This comic is a ray of light in dark times. Now I really want Squirrel Girl to fight Batman.
    more
  • Grace
    February 12, 2017
    I guess you would know this without me even writing a review on it, but I loved this!Squirrel Girl is my current favourite Women of Power in the Marvel Universe <3I do have to say that this was my least favourite volume in the series for far. It was a little inconsistent compared to the last volumes, but it was still overall enjoyable and played with time travel a bit.Overall this was fun! Can't wait for more!
    more
  • Peter Derk
    September 1, 2016
    I didn't like it as much as the previous volumes for one reason that can be expressed in two words in all caps with an exclamation point at the end and then a smiley added for fun: TIME TRAVEL! :)I've complained so much about time travel that I'M bored by it now, and I love hearing myself talk. So I'll spare everyone and just say, damn it with the time travel already.Anyway, time travel aside, still pretty fun.No, wait. I can't just let it go! The time travel parts were kind of boring and seemed I didn't like it as much as the previous volumes for one reason that can be expressed in two words in all caps with an exclamation point at the end and then a smiley added for fun: TIME TRAVEL! :)I've complained so much about time travel that I'M bored by it now, and I love hearing myself talk. So I'll spare everyone and just say, damn it with the time travel already.Anyway, time travel aside, still pretty fun.No, wait. I can't just let it go! The time travel parts were kind of boring and seemed twice as long as the parts where the only traveling was laughter from my brain to my belly. Or maybe it goes the other way around. I don't know how my own body works.Okay, okay. Doom was a hilarious shithead, and I really like the footnotes or whatever we're calling them at the bottom, and I'm nominating the notes provided by Ryan North and Chip Zdarsky in the Howard the Duck crossover issues as Literary Bromance Of the Year. I don't like the word Bromance very much, but I don't know which word to use other than Bromance. If you know a better, more appropriate word, I encourage you to be extremely angry about it and tweet/email me at the height of your anger with accusations of what a horrible person I am and wishes about me dying. Yes, I recognize that most people DON'T prefer this form of communication, but I do. Sue me.
    more
  • Katie
    June 9, 2016
    This series continues to be hilarious and great. I had to speed through this one cause it had to go back, which was disappointing, because I could only take pictures of like, HALF the hilarious panels.I still don't like the weird issues at the end, though? This time it was a Howard the Duck focused series which I was all NOT about.
    more
  • Marie the Librarian
    October 31, 2016
    4,5 stars! Better than volume 2, not as awesome as the first one but still hillarious and funny!
  • Jennifer
    April 2, 2016
    Squirl, you really got me now. You got me so I don't know what I'm dooiiiiiing.If you aren't reading Unbeatable Squirrel Girl WHY NOT and CHANGE THIS NOW.
  • Kim Dyer
    March 28, 2017
    I'd forgotten how much I love this concept. Squirrel Girl is - simply - fun, and the time travel arc is probably her most entertaining arc yet. Why don't Nancy and Doctor Doom have a spin-off series yet? Come on, Marvel! Get on that! For a series with such a ridiculous concept, it holds together pretty well. I think it's mainly because of Ryan North's writing. Doreen is that perfect mix of lovable and capable, and the humour is non-stop and superb (some of the best jokes are in the running comme I'd forgotten how much I love this concept. Squirrel Girl is - simply - fun, and the time travel arc is probably her most entertaining arc yet. Why don't Nancy and Doctor Doom have a spin-off series yet? Come on, Marvel! Get on that! For a series with such a ridiculous concept, it holds together pretty well. I think it's mainly because of Ryan North's writing. Doreen is that perfect mix of lovable and capable, and the humour is non-stop and superb (some of the best jokes are in the running commentary, including how the Punisher spends his downtime).The art is still bright and colourful, simple but capturing the characters well, and the comic is really suitable for everyone from middle grade up. It's a really great series and I couldn't recommend it more. I can't wait to read the next issue!
    more
  • Marcela
    March 8, 2017
    If I ever stop finding North/Henderson's Squirrel Girl delightful and charming, I'll know that I've officially gotten too cynical for my own good.
  • Anna Chappell
    January 30, 2017
    Still absolutely adore USG!
  • Get X Serious
    July 12, 2016
    More of the same. Comics that poke fun at comics, not just limited to the Marvel Universe.For some reason the cat from WE3 is in this Squirrel Girl/Howard the Duck crossover?Dr. Doom has some pretty solid lifestyle advice, actually.Reading this comic is really time consuming, like infinitely more time consuming than any other Marvel comic. Why? All the extra shit. The questions from the fans, and the "alternative" text at the bottom of each page, and the "tweets" between Squirrel Girl and Tony S More of the same. Comics that poke fun at comics, not just limited to the Marvel Universe.For some reason the cat from WE3 is in this Squirrel Girl/Howard the Duck crossover?Dr. Doom has some pretty solid lifestyle advice, actually.Reading this comic is really time consuming, like infinitely more time consuming than any other Marvel comic. Why? All the extra shit. The questions from the fans, and the "alternative" text at the bottom of each page, and the "tweets" between Squirrel Girl and Tony Stark (hashtags included) and the crazy amount of dialogue... okay so maybe there isn't a crazy amount of dialogue, but it definitely feels like it for some reason. What I'm trying to say is that although entertaining, this comic is starting to feel like a chore... I hope the trend does not continue. Who knows, maybe I'm just getting sick of all the computer science related humor.
    more
  • Jenn
    October 16, 2016
    What's it about? Squirrel Girl? And her friends? And awesome time-travel adventures. Oh, also Doctor Doom.Why did I read it? I didn't realize it was Vol. 3!Favourite idea/part? The notes at the bottom of each page. They are hilarious. (Also surprisingly educational?)Overall This comic was a lot of fun. It's my first time reading Squirrel Girl, but I like Doreen and am definitely interested in reading more. Maybe Vol 1? I didn't realize SG has been around for over a decade now (before she got her What's it about? Squirrel Girl? And her friends? And awesome time-travel adventures. Oh, also Doctor Doom.Why did I read it? I didn't realize it was Vol. 3!Favourite idea/part? The notes at the bottom of each page. They are hilarious. (Also surprisingly educational?)Overall This comic was a lot of fun. It's my first time reading Squirrel Girl, but I like Doreen and am definitely interested in reading more. Maybe Vol 1? I didn't realize SG has been around for over a decade now (before she got her own series) and that she'd fought Major League baddies like ... Thanos. Really? I'll have to find that one. It was 100% a lot of fun to read and perfect for a quiet afternoon.
    more
  • Andrea Scherer
    January 15, 2017
    (Okay, I don't understand the number of superhero comics. That is all.) Squirrel Girl is up to some new shenanigans! Time travel, crazy cosplay, and much much more. Come for the nuts, stay for kicking butts. I just can't get enough of Squirrel Girl. I like that her first instinct is to always use friendship and logic and problem solving to deal with whatever is vexing her BEFORE she decides to kick butts. I love Ryan's running commentary and the endless pun-tastic jokes. I want to give this to e (Okay, I don't understand the number of superhero comics. That is all.) Squirrel Girl is up to some new shenanigans! Time travel, crazy cosplay, and much much more. Come for the nuts, stay for kicking butts. I just can't get enough of Squirrel Girl. I like that her first instinct is to always use friendship and logic and problem solving to deal with whatever is vexing her BEFORE she decides to kick butts. I love Ryan's running commentary and the endless pun-tastic jokes. I want to give this to every girl who has ever felt like superhero comics aren't for her. *happy sigh* Never stop making these Ryan and Erica.
    more
  • Robert Hudder
    July 19, 2016
    Lots of fun. Includes a lot of geeky comics stuff and a Howard the Duck crossover. Whole bunch of hosers working on this one, eh? I think I see a Toronto reference to the TTC, as well. This is a really fun comic where the superheroes are both goofier and more real than most. It is good to see a superhero try to talk it out and get to root problems. You may think I'm being facetious or something but I am not. A lot of readers find that it is a good female role model with the STEM and the kick ass Lots of fun. Includes a lot of geeky comics stuff and a Howard the Duck crossover. Whole bunch of hosers working on this one, eh? I think I see a Toronto reference to the TTC, as well. This is a really fun comic where the superheroes are both goofier and more real than most. It is good to see a superhero try to talk it out and get to root problems. You may think I'm being facetious or something but I am not. A lot of readers find that it is a good female role model with the STEM and the kick assing, etc but I view it more as a PG version of Deadpool.
    more
  • Miss
    December 29, 2016
    so there was a squirrel girl/howard the duck crossover this volume (worked surprisingly well considering i know nothing about howard the duck) and it got me thinking about other possible crossovers and i came up with the PERFECT onesquirrel girl/avatar the last airbenderaang and doreen would get along so well! they could sit around laughing at gravity together! PETITION FOR A SQUIRREL GIRL AVATAR CROSSOVER IN 20174 stars
    more
  • Jeff Raymond
    October 12, 2016
    I get why everyone's in love with Squirrel Girl, but I think I'm done. It's cute and all, but I find the artwork to be more and more difficult to deal with, the stories are just kind of ridiculous because Squirrel Girl has to be a little ridiculous, and yeah.I dunno. There's a fine line between something being witty and great and just kind of grating, and I think this has officially crossed the line for me.
    more
Write a review