Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5
She's your new favorite. She's everyone's new favorite. And now she's joining the big leagues. Look out world, Kamala Khan is officially an Avenger! But will being one of Earth's Mightiest Heroes be everything she imagined? Or is life as a celebrity harder than she thought? But while saving the world is important, Jersey City still needs its protector too. A development company that co-opted Ms. Marvel's face for its project might well have more in mind for gentrification than just real estate. Can Kamala take down the evil suits destroying her home without ruining her personal life? Speaking of which, who exactly is that with Bruno? Get back on board and cling on, Kamala Korps, the ride is about to get wilder than ever!COLLECTING: MS. MARVEL #1-6

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5 Details

TitleMs. Marvel, Vol. 5
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 12th, 2016
PublisherMarvel
ISBN0785196110
ISBN-139780785196112
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Young Adult, Superheroes, Marvel, Fiction

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 5 Review

  • Sam Quixote
    July 11, 2016
    8 months after the last volume…The end of the world came and went with Secret Wars leaving Earth more-or-less the same as it was before. Also intact is G. Willow Wilson’s Ms Marvel series which thankfully remains awesome! Except some things have changed. Love is in the air as Kamala’s best friend Bruno has moved on after she turned him down and begun dating a girl called Mike, much to Kamala’s dismay, while her brother Aamir decides to get married. Oh yeah, and Kamala’s gone from writing Avenger 8 months after the last volume…The end of the world came and went with Secret Wars leaving Earth more-or-less the same as it was before. Also intact is G. Willow Wilson’s Ms Marvel series which thankfully remains awesome! Except some things have changed. Love is in the air as Kamala’s best friend Bruno has moved on after she turned him down and begun dating a girl called Mike, much to Kamala’s dismay, while her brother Aamir decides to get married. Oh yeah, and Kamala’s gone from writing Avengers fanfic in the first book to now being an Avenger herself! But can she handle the added responsibility? The relaunched Ms Marvel effortlessly picks up after the last book, despite the intrusive Secret Wars interlude, showing its resilience in being event-proof - yay! Super Famous is divided into two story arcs, the first of which has a real estate company, Hope Yards Development & Relocation Association (take the first letter of each word to see who it really is), gentrify large areas of Jersey City, jacking up most residents’ rents to unaffordable levels all while unofficially using Ms Marvel as their mascot. Takeshi Miyazawa, who drew Volume 3, returns to draw most of this arc and his art is once again beautiful. I also liked that original series artist Adrian Alphona returned briefly to draw Bruno and Mike’s meet-cute flashback and that Loki’s adorable lightning golems are still hanging around Kamala’s school too. The main story itself though… ehh, Wilson’s done better. The second arc sees Kamala overwhelmed with her responsibilities at school, home, and as a superhero, so she uses a 3D printer and Bruno’s knowledge (he’s suddenly a super-genius!) to make clones of herself to handle things… because there’s no way that scheme could go belly-up, right?! It’s a fun storyline that feels like early Spider-Man when Peter was juggling school, a part-time job and being Spidey all at once. It also has a Civil War II tease with the tension between Iron Man and Captain Marvel, and Aamir’s wedding is really sweet. Nico Leon’s art is great and reminded me a bit of Alphona’s style too. Super Famous sees Kamala emerge unscathed from the madness of Battleworld, retaining the charm, inventiveness and top quality writing and art that’s made Ms Marvel one of Marvel’s best titles these past couple years. Fans won’t be disappointed with this embiggening addition to the series!
    more
  • Sesana
    March 22, 2016
    Another fantastic volume. There are two separate stories here, but they both revolve around Kamala struggling to balance friendships, family, schoolwork, and superheroing, particularly now that Ms. Marvel is now famous and an Avenger. It is not going well. This book probably does the best job I've seen so far of rushing past the artificially imposed "eight months later..." thing all post-Secret Wars books have to deal with: she's just been really busy and everything's a blur, ok? At any rate, th Another fantastic volume. There are two separate stories here, but they both revolve around Kamala struggling to balance friendships, family, schoolwork, and superheroing, particularly now that Ms. Marvel is now famous and an Avenger. It is not going well. This book probably does the best job I've seen so far of rushing past the artificially imposed "eight months later..." thing all post-Secret Wars books have to deal with: she's just been really busy and everything's a blur, ok? At any rate, the first story is fine, but not particularly memorable. The second story, on the other hand, is basically everything that's great about this book. Kamala is adorable, the action is fun, the guest stars are used perfectly (and sparingly), there's great dialog, and a few tiny, cute romance subplots: Kamala's brother is getting married, and it's adorable, and Bruno now has a super cute girlfriend and they're super cute together. If you've been happily reading Ms. Marvel all along (and if not, you should) then this volume will be anything but a disappointment.
    more
  • Terence
    August 17, 2016
    Kamala Khan is busy. She has the normal teenager stuff like school, homework, and family obligations to deal with,but then she's also the superhero Ms. Marvel. Did I mention she's an Avenger now too?Ms. Marvel is facing off against an evil entity that is using her likeness to turn people against her while they take over Jersey City.So Kamala and Bruno come up with a great plan to make clones of Kamala. I mean what could go wrong?I like Ms. Marvel. I want to say that before anyone gets the wrong Kamala Khan is busy. She has the normal teenager stuff like school, homework, and family obligations to deal with,but then she's also the superhero Ms. Marvel. Did I mention she's an Avenger now too?Ms. Marvel is facing off against an evil entity that is using her likeness to turn people against her while they take over Jersey City.So Kamala and Bruno come up with a great plan to make clones of Kamala. I mean what could go wrong?I like Ms. Marvel. I want to say that before anyone gets the wrong idea. My issue is I'm 1.) a guy, 2.) Over 30, and 3.) Not a Muslim. I say that because much of what makes Kamala special is lost on me because I don't relate. She's a fun character and her powers are interesting. She's massively powerful and even though she mostly just grows and shrinks, she can actually do far more. In Super Famous Kamala is just plain run down dog tired. School and family all day with superheroing all night will burn anyone out. Kamala is hanging in there, but it's not going that well. To top it all off Bruno has moved on and started dating just as Kamala was accepting his feelings for her. Sometimes it's no fun being a hero, but Kamala wouldn't trade it for anything.
    more
  • Ashley
    December 24, 2015
    How does this series continue to be SO GOOD. It is the only superhero comic I read that doesn't allow the larger events of the Marvel (or whatever) universe to completely mess with the narrative it's trying to tell. Kamala is always Kamala. I never feel discombobulated when I'm reading about her, even if I've missed issues where she's popped in to other superheroes stories, or there's been some sort of crossover event, like Secret Wars/Battleworld. No idea how that mess all got solved, by the wa How does this series continue to be SO GOOD. It is the only superhero comic I read that doesn't allow the larger events of the Marvel (or whatever) universe to completely mess with the narrative it's trying to tell. Kamala is always Kamala. I never feel discombobulated when I'm reading about her, even if I've missed issues where she's popped in to other superheroes stories, or there's been some sort of crossover event, like Secret Wars/Battleworld. No idea how that mess all got solved, by the way. Things seem to be back to normal in Jersey City. Well, relatively. Loki's lightning golems are still hanging around, because they seem to like New Jersey I guess.It's been eight months, as you can see, and Kamala is an Avenger now. She has Iron Man's personal cell phone number, and he helps her with her math homework. Spider-Man is her pal. Captain America (the Sam Wilson variety) intimidates the hell out of her. (Thor is Jane Foster.) Vision is like, 'sup. AVENGERS ¯\_(ツ)_/¯But Kamala is starting to fray at the edges. Her commitments to her family, to being a "super famous" superhero (as opposed to the newcomer nobody she was before), to her schoolwork and to her friends . . . she doesn't have time for it all, and all of it is suffering.Not only that, but she's finding there are other perils to being famous. She's finding that her image is not quite her own. Now that it's out in the world, anyone can do or say anything about her, and there's largely nothing she can do about it. Also, her best friend Bruno, who we last saw confessing his love for her on a roof top, is now dating a girl called Mike, and Kamala is the very last one to find out about it.This trade is broken into two stories. The first involves someone using Ms. Marvel's image to sell a gentrification project that is ruining Kamala's neighborhood and turning her neighbors against Ms. Marvel (of course there is also something villainish going on as well). The second involves Kamala trying to take the easy way out of her time management issues, and Bruno going all scientist, and well . . . things go badly.G. Willow Wilson is just the master of this story. The characters THE CHARACTERS. I love love love Kamala, but all her friends and family are great, too. She introduces two characters in this one--Mike, Bruno's girlfriend, and Tyesha, Aamir's fiancé--who you end up really liking (I especially love Tyesha).The way she navigates the relationship between Kamala, Bruno and Mike is really nice as well. Kamala is more upset that Bruno didn't tell her about Mike than anything else, and she and Mike end up becoming friends. No stupid fake girl drama here. And I just cracked up endlessly at everything involving Aamir and Tyesha's courtship/engagement. Especially their families interacting, and Tyesha being a huge nerd.Long story short, Ms. Marvel is the best, and if G. Willow Wilson ever stops writing her, I will cry.
    more
  • Kirsti (Melbourne on my mind)
    August 20, 2016
    4.5 stars. Okay, first of all? I had no idea there was going to be a fifth volume of Ms. Marvel. I thought volume 4 was the end of the line, and all signs pointed to that with the way volume 4 ended. So colour me excited when volume 5 arrived at work the other day. Obviously, I processed it and covered it immediately so that I could STEAL IT ALL FOR MEEEEEEEEE. Ahem. This volume is basically "Kamala Khan Struggles To Find Work/Life Balance". She's torn between being the good Muslim daughter, the 4.5 stars. Okay, first of all? I had no idea there was going to be a fifth volume of Ms. Marvel. I thought volume 4 was the end of the line, and all signs pointed to that with the way volume 4 ended. So colour me excited when volume 5 arrived at work the other day. Obviously, I processed it and covered it immediately so that I could STEAL IT ALL FOR MEEEEEEEEE. Ahem. This volume is basically "Kamala Khan Struggles To Find Work/Life Balance". She's torn between being the good Muslim daughter, the straight A student, a superhero AND an Avenger. Obviously, she ends up falling short on all of them due to a lack of hours in the day. Further thoughts:- I LOVE MIKE. When she first showed up, I was all "nooooooooooooooo, whyyyyyy". But the more we saw of her, the more adorable and delightful she became. - Tony Stark cameos FTW.- I loved the evil gentrification plot. - DINOSAURS! - I loved Kamala realising that not all her actions will be seen as heroic.- The whole subplot with her brother getting married and the family dealing with their own racism was fabulous.- The inclusion of Sam Wilson/Captain America seemed slightly pointless and he had literally the exact same facial expression in every panel he was in. - The art was generally delightful, though I wasn't a big fan of the fact that it jumped between three different artists in the course of one volume. So on the whole, it was pretty damned great.
    more
  • Rory Wilding
    July 16, 2016
    As we learned from the last volume of Marvel’s best new creation in years Ms. Marvel, the world was coming to an end due to the events of Secret Wars and for Kamala Khan, all she ever needed was not the super-heroics, but the friends and family around her. However, superhero comics are never-ending second acts as the world did not end but things have changed, such as Kamala becoming a member of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.Eight months have passed since the Incursion and Kamala is once again jugglin As we learned from the last volume of Marvel’s best new creation in years Ms. Marvel, the world was coming to an end due to the events of Secret Wars and for Kamala Khan, all she ever needed was not the super-heroics, but the friends and family around her. However, superhero comics are never-ending second acts as the world did not end but things have changed, such as Kamala becoming a member of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.Eight months have passed since the Incursion and Kamala is once again juggling her already chaotic life from not only her family, but also as Jersey City’s protector as well as her new position as an Avenger. As if it couldn’t get for more complicated for Kamala, her best friend Bruno is seeing a girl named Mike.Continuing on with G. Willow Wilson’s initial run, Ms. Marvel still very much evokes the soap opera antics which were originally conceived within Stan Lee and Steve Ditko’s The Amazing Spider-Man, whilst retaining the charm of the previous volumes. With the eight-month time jump and despite the subtle changes, the characters are still as wittily written, even if they are a little older and moved on.Split into two story arcs, this volume is centrally about Kamala wrestling with her superhero persona becoming a more prolific figure, not least from a company known as Hope Yards Development and Relocation Association has co-opt Ms. Marvel’s face to advertise its “renovation” project on Jersey City. Although the main plot is based on a typically convoluted supervillain plan, the joy of Wilson’s writing is both the wit and drama towards Kamala’s struggles, such as her coming in terms with Bruno’s new romance, as well as Ms. Marvel being seen as a public menace. As the primary artist of Volume 3, Takeshi Miyazawa returns to draw this arc and his beautiful manga-ish artwork are a delight, not least from Kamala being the Incredible Shrinking Girl. During the second arc, things get goofier. Inspired by Bruno’s experiments of Loki’s lighting golems with the 3-D printer, Kamala takes advantage and creates two replicas of herself (one for schoolwork and the other for supporting her brother’s wedding) whilst the real Kamala can continue her status as an Avenger. However to quote Bruno himself, “this is a spectacularly bad idea.” The idea of an army of clones running amok has been used so many times that even The Simpsons used it in one of its Halloween specials. No matter how outlandish things get with the final issue seems to throw everything at the kitchen sink – with artist Nico Leon evoking Adrian Alphona’s art – the resolution happens too quickly but the story ends on a touching intimate note as Kamala learns that a hero isn’t just about being super.Although Kamala Khan has indeed become “Super Famous”, G. Willow Wilson never feels like she’s selling out this wonderful youthful creation as her adventures continue to shine.
    more
  • Liz Janet
    March 3, 2016
    Ms. Marvel Review: https://booksandstuff1357.wordpress.c...So, Kamala is an Avenger, and knowing her, we all know she loves it. But it is not all it is cracked up to be, especially since she is only a teenager, and in between hero-ing, homework, and school projects, she barely has any time for friends and family. Wish is why she does not know all that is going on around her, including Bruno’s girlfriend and why there is a company using her image to buy-out Jersey City. Poor Kamala, she just want Ms. Marvel Review: https://booksandstuff1357.wordpress.c...So, Kamala is an Avenger, and knowing her, we all know she loves it. But it is not all it is cracked up to be, especially since she is only a teenager, and in between hero-ing, homework, and school projects, she barely has any time for friends and family. Wish is why she does not know all that is going on around her, including Bruno’s girlfriend and why there is a company using her image to buy-out Jersey City. Poor Kamala, she just wants to fight a giant amphibian and go to sleep.
    more
  • David Schaafsma
    July 18, 2016
    In volume 5:*Kamala Khan is now an actual Avenger fighting some villain instead of a fan writing fan-fiction about the Avengers. Oh, and that villain? The Hope Yards Development and Relocation Association (HYDRA!) that on the surface seems to be a resented tool of gentrification that has also co-opted her image for bulletin boards. Has the new Ms. Marvel sold her community out? When she finds out who/what is behind all this, how can she and the Avengers defeat the villain? *And, after having rej In volume 5:*Kamala Khan is now an actual Avenger fighting some villain instead of a fan writing fan-fiction about the Avengers. Oh, and that villain? The Hope Yards Development and Relocation Association (HYDRA!) that on the surface seems to be a resented tool of gentrification that has also co-opted her image for bulletin boards. Has the new Ms. Marvel sold her community out? When she finds out who/what is behind all this, how can she and the Avengers defeat the villain? *And, after having rejected Bruno, Kamala is now jealous of his new girlfriend Mike (for Michaela). *And her brother Aamir is getting married. One of the questions from the beginning is how can a normally busy girl who is Muslim and respectful of her parents handle being a superhero alongside of the already “heroic” challenges of growing up? And don’t forget homework! In this volume the answer is cloning herself with the help of a 3D printer. Okay, the clones have smiley faces. Hmm, but okay.The writing remains strong, the energy high. It’s always an adjustment for me when they switch artists on me, but Takeshi Miyazawa returns from his work in volume 3 to draw Kamala as tiny Shrinking Girl instead of Elongated Girl. There’s lots of fun and funny ideas lurking in this one.
    more
  • Lauren Stoolfire
    January 7, 2016
    Kamala Khan has joined the big leagues with her heroes, the Avengers. Being famous is great and all, but it's a little more difficult than she thought, balancing saving the world and Jersey City and her family and friends. She'll have to take on the suits using her face to gentrify her city without ruining her personal life, and figure out exactly what's been going on with Bruno.Super Famous is another excellent volume of Ms. Marvel starring Kamala Khan that I couldn't put down! It takes up seve Kamala Khan has joined the big leagues with her heroes, the Avengers. Being famous is great and all, but it's a little more difficult than she thought, balancing saving the world and Jersey City and her family and friends. She'll have to take on the suits using her face to gentrify her city without ruining her personal life, and figure out exactly what's been going on with Bruno.Super Famous is another excellent volume of Ms. Marvel starring Kamala Khan that I couldn't put down! It takes up several months after the end of the previous volume after the Secret Wars which are referred to in passing, and it does a good job of getting us back into the swing of things. I loved both halves of the story, but I preferred the second half where we get to see a little more of Bruno and just how smart he is. That section has quite the young Spider-Man vibe, and it works well for it. Plus, I really like Mike Miller!Overall, Ms. Marvel is one of my favorite comic series. If you haven't been introduced Kamala Khan, you are sorely missing out. Volume 6, Civil War II can't come out soon enough!
    more
  • Obsidian
    March 11, 2017
    Awww. Seriously. This volume brings back all the things I love about this comic series. We have Kamala interacting with her family more and we get the explanation of Arabic words and meanings. The volume ends on a good note which I won't complain about. And heck it even had me like Tony Stark (yeah still mad about Civil War).It's been eight months since the last volume. I'll eventually go find the issues that had Kamala off with the Avengers but not right now. I'm trying to finish all my library Awww. Seriously. This volume brings back all the things I love about this comic series. We have Kamala interacting with her family more and we get the explanation of Arabic words and meanings. The volume ends on a good note which I won't complain about. And heck it even had me like Tony Stark (yeah still mad about Civil War).It's been eight months since the last volume. I'll eventually go find the issues that had Kamala off with the Avengers but not right now. I'm trying to finish all my library borrows since they are all due this week. Kamala is part of the Avengers but feels overwhelmed by superheroing in Jersey City and elsewhere as well as keeping up with school and family events.This volume has Kamala coming to a realization about Bruno and they both finally (thank goodness) let each other go as love interests I think. Bruno rightfully decides to not wait for Kamala to not be too busy for him. Though Kamala responds jealously to Bruno moving on. Thank on the volume gets better when we move to Aamir deciding he is to marry an African American Muslim named Tyesha. Tyesha won me over with the Dune references. I love that Wilson also includes details on how some Pakistani Muslim would have certain prejudices against darker skin Muslims. I had no idea.When the two families meet hilarity ensues but all parties agree to let the two marry. Due to this and Avengers missions Kamala is feeling run down and then after a mission multiple Kamala's start to appear.Honestly this volume is about Kamala trusting herself and also asking for help. I would have thought she got that out of her system before, but now since she is part of a team she is trying to prove herself all over again.We get appearances from the Avengers and I cracked up at Tony Stark and Carol Danvers showing their mutual disdain for each other. What comes through though is that Tony cares for and loves Kamala though so I went awww a few times.
    more
  • Crystal Starr Light
    October 21, 2016
    Bullet Review:Whatever happened between the last volume and this - well, must not have been too big of a deal because this book requires no knowledge of "Secret Wars"! It hops back into Kamala's crazy life and adventures of being a teenaged Muslim superhero Avenger.The first set of stories were a bit silly - it didn't help the inclusion of the "romantic foil" (though kudos for the resolution!). Hell, the second set was equally cheesy - but dayum if it didn't charm the socks off of me!Kamala Khan Bullet Review:Whatever happened between the last volume and this - well, must not have been too big of a deal because this book requires no knowledge of "Secret Wars"! It hops back into Kamala's crazy life and adventures of being a teenaged Muslim superhero Avenger.The first set of stories were a bit silly - it didn't help the inclusion of the "romantic foil" (though kudos for the resolution!). Hell, the second set was equally cheesy - but dayum if it didn't charm the socks off of me!Kamala Khan's Ms. Marvel isn't the most gritty, most innovative, most exquisite you will find - but she's FUN. Can you ask for better?
    more
  • Rob
    June 4, 2016
    Story The story continues to delight me. I just really love Kamala's determination and geekiness. This is the only super hero comic I read these days, and for good reason. Ms. Wilson does such a good job to make her interesting, even though I've never been an Avenger (Or a teen-aged girl for that matter).I still continue to believe that if I found myself suddenly with super powers I'd totally fanboy out upon meeting the others, or the idea of joining the avengers. It's an interesting developmen Story The story continues to delight me. I just really love Kamala's determination and geekiness. This is the only super hero comic I read these days, and for good reason. Ms. Wilson does such a good job to make her interesting, even though I've never been an Avenger (Or a teen-aged girl for that matter).I still continue to believe that if I found myself suddenly with super powers I'd totally fanboy out upon meeting the others, or the idea of joining the avengers. It's an interesting development that plays an important part of the story, but this is still Ms. Marvel's story. Some of the Avengers are there on the periphery, but what makes this story so enjoyable is just trying to see Kamala balance school, family, friends, and being a super hero. Super powers don't make life easier. If anything they probably make it way harder. Learning how to manage your time is something everyone has to learn. I'm still not the always the best at it, and I don't have to fit in saving New Jersey into my schedule.We also get to meet two great new characters, Mike & sadly I'm blanking on the name of the other. She's a love interest for Kamala's brother. Both look to be great additions, and I'm hoping we see more of them in the next volume. I'm definitely looking forward to it. Another great volume. Artwork I really enjoy the artwork. I'm glad things have settled down and we're back to Adrian Alphona on a regular basis (at least I believe so). I'm always bad at this part of my reviews, maybe I should drop it except when I find the art bad or something. Needless to say, I think it adds something to Ms. Wilson's narrative to have it be in graphic form.
    more
  • Ken Moten
    June 6, 2016
    This is the new Ms. Marvel story I have been waiting for! The previous series of Kamala Khan served to introduce her and her world to us. Now, post-Secret Wars, we finally see her deal with the ramifications of her existence on every level of her life. Like Miles Morales in Spider-Man: Miles Morales, Vol. 1, people can see her and they do not always like what they see. They judge or perceive to judge her actions...and do not always like what those actions suggest. Throughout this, she still has This is the new Ms. Marvel story I have been waiting for! The previous series of Kamala Khan served to introduce her and her world to us. Now, post-Secret Wars, we finally see her deal with the ramifications of her existence on every level of her life. Like Miles Morales in Spider-Man: Miles Morales, Vol. 1, people can see her and they do not always like what they see. They judge or perceive to judge her actions...and do not always like what those actions suggest. Throughout this, she still has a life to live as a teenager, and a Pakistani-American. In this volume, it all starts crashing down on her in ways which the previous series was hesitant to depict. It is handled very well here and cleanly clears the decks for the next big event she will be involved in, but leaves enough to be dealt with afterwards.
    more
  • Jonathan
    August 9, 2016
    3.5 starsOh, Kamala Khan. What have you gotten yourself into this time?Quick recap. Bruno has a girlfriend named Mike. Kamala tries to juggle being an Avenger, her brother getting married and schoolwork by having Bruno make some clones of her. The only problem is the clones start multiplying and take over the city. Bruno makes a giant T-Rex to eat all the clones?Both plans essentially backfire so Bruno calls backup in the form of Loki while Kamala calls in the big guns. Captain Marvel to the res 3.5 starsOh, Kamala Khan. What have you gotten yourself into this time?Quick recap. Bruno has a girlfriend named Mike. Kamala tries to juggle being an Avenger, her brother getting married and schoolwork by having Bruno make some clones of her. The only problem is the clones start multiplying and take over the city. Bruno makes a giant T-Rex to eat all the clones?Both plans essentially backfire so Bruno calls backup in the form of Loki while Kamala calls in the big guns. Captain Marvel to the rescue! Moral of the story? You most likely can't do everything you ever want to do. Prioritize the important things. I'm a big fan of Kamala Khan.
    more
  • Emily
    July 7, 2016
    I'm consistently impressed by how well this series negotiates the tension between Kamala's life as a teenager and her life as Ms. Marvel, and where those lives intersect. Also, major major thanks to this volume in particular for embracing different kinds of diversity in an inclusive rather than a "tolerance" way.
    more
  • Brierly
    October 4, 2016
    Another excellent installment of Ms. Marvel. The stakes are way higher now that Kamala is an Avenger; the villains are bigger and the chaos, more chaotic. Bruno's girlfriend Mike is introduced (I liked her right away) and Kamala's brother gets married. Between all of that, Kamala juggles her many responsibilities. Good lessons here about not biting off more than you can chew. Four and one half stars. Can't wait until Civil War.
    more
  • Gretchen Alice
    December 26, 2015
    Two equally fantastic stories in one beautiful trade. (Plus, two new equally fantastic characters to love!) The last story essentially boiled down to, "Kamala learns about time management," but it still made me cry. Ms. Marvel forever.
  • Crowinator
    March 4, 2016
    This is my favorite one so far.
  • Michelle
    February 24, 2017
    I thought I grabbed the first one from the library but I've been so curious I read this one anyway. It's absolutely adorable.
  • SkywalkerSyd
    March 28, 2017
    This is one marvel series that never fails to deliver. I seriously love it sooooo much!
  • Cathy
    June 1, 2016
    I loved this volume, it got back to capturing what enchanted me about this series in the first place, that balance of adventure and heart, superhero and real girl, action and family life. Poor Kamala was on such a roller coaster, trying to be everything to everyone: an Avenger, a student, a friend, and a family member. And everything was suffering, her sanity most of all. Well, most of all until her solution to the problem got totally out of hand and she needed some of the Avengers and Loki's he I loved this volume, it got back to capturing what enchanted me about this series in the first place, that balance of adventure and heart, superhero and real girl, action and family life. Poor Kamala was on such a roller coaster, trying to be everything to everyone: an Avenger, a student, a friend, and a family member. And everything was suffering, her sanity most of all. Well, most of all until her solution to the problem got totally out of hand and she needed some of the Avengers and Loki's help to clean it up. I loved the way this book was so grounded in reality. Her friendship with Bruno was intact but suffering from neglect, both because of her lack of time due to spending so much time with the Avengers, and from lingering awkwardness on her part due to their talk on the roof before the almost-end-of the world. (I did find the jump from the last volume to this volume disorienting, it would have been nice to have a tiny bit of recap for those of us who don't read all of the other books to know what the heck happened, though I'm not surprised the world survived.) Kamala didn't even know that Bruno had had a new girlfriend for quite a while, and boy was she jealous when she found out. And the girlfriend, Mike for Michaela, was great! Smart as a whip, great taste in everything, adorable, and she kind of looked like me to boot. Thank you G. Willow Wilson, Takeshi Miyazawa and Adrian Alphona for putting an awesome character in a superhero series who looks like me, what a treat! Cool, sexy girls can be curvy girls too. This series breaks so many boundaries. Like Kamala's brother's new girlfriend, a lovely young Muslim girl from a Christian African American family that isn't so sure about her choices but is trying to support her as best they can. Until the kids decide they want to get married. Both families have some issues with that! The book didn't skip over the awkwardness, it confronted the lingering prejudices both families had, including Tyesha's younger brother's distain for religion of any sort. There were so many layers to the story this time, so different from my complaints of the last few volumes that seemed to fly by too fast and felt too shallow. There was so much going on with her family, her friends, the Avengers and trying to juggle it all. And the evil Hydra agents' activities too, of course. This book felt satisfying in a way that the last two didn't. Though not stuffing the volume with only vaguely related crossover issues helped make it feel more substantial too. It's amazing how much more story you can tell with six issues instead of four. Miyazawa's are was OK, he didn't get the great expressions that Alphona does for Kamala that are so endearing and a central facet of her character, she isn't an elegant girl. But he did a good job otherwise. Other than a slight downgrade in the art, it was a welcome return to everything that made me fall in love with the character and her corner of the world.
    more
  • Ran
    July 25, 2016
    Hold up, wait ... I thought I read a Hawkeye with this plot before. Or was it Gwenpool? I believe I've complained about "save the building" plots before ... it really is becoming a thing. Kamala Khan's Jersey City is being gentrified, i.e. "Bougie Foods Market" just moved in and sushi's next door now. And Ms. Marvel's face is being used to clean up the city - not be wiping the floor with her, but by inviting everyone to clean up. It's displacing the established community in Jersey city. Surprise Hold up, wait ... I thought I read a Hawkeye with this plot before. Or was it Gwenpool? I believe I've complained about "save the building" plots before ... it really is becoming a thing. Kamala Khan's Jersey City is being gentrified, i.e. "Bougie Foods Market" just moved in and sushi's next door now. And Ms. Marvel's face is being used to clean up the city - not be wiping the floor with her, but by inviting everyone to clean up. It's displacing the established community in Jersey city. Surprise, hipster HYDRA's buying up the neighborhood. "Bougie Foods Market" gag. I'd like to thank Bruno for legitimizing my Hamilton claim that everything is legal in New Jersey by stating: "Dude, these days? Legal is what you can get away with, not what's in the law." Also, his new girlfriend Mike is pretty cool. So, sorry Kamala. I do love that a huge chuck of this series is in anglicized Arabic. I'm learning all sorts of new words over here. <3 What's with giant weaponized frogs in Jersey City? Legit question. Marvel Math+1 Aamir's wife Tyesha +1 Kamala Khan Dittos ... yes, like the pokemon ... +1 Batman reference +1 Science gals! +1 hipsterviking!Loki
    more
  • Trin
    August 17, 2016
    Amazing:*Kamala*KAMALA (she needs two mentions I love her so much)*Both of the storylines in this volume were really fun and really smart -- not just superhero shenanigans, actual meaningful superhero shenanigans*Bruno's new girlfriend is really cute!*New besties Nakia and Zoe*Aamir and his adorable new wife!*Tony getting to be a good mentor and a good (if complicated) person; I MISSED this!*Dr. Faustus is SUCH A CREEPY VILLAIN; this was a good use of himeh:*I'm not sure Wilson can really write Amazing:*Kamala*KAMALA (she needs two mentions I love her so much)*Both of the storylines in this volume were really fun and really smart -- not just superhero shenanigans, actual meaningful superhero shenanigans*Bruno's new girlfriend is really cute!*New besties Nakia and Zoe*Aamir and his adorable new wife!*Tony getting to be a good mentor and a good (if complicated) person; I MISSED this!*Dr. Faustus is SUCH A CREEPY VILLAIN; this was a good use of himeh:*I'm not sure Wilson can really write Loki all that well, or maybe I am just still bitter about A-Force, Vol. 0: Warzones!*Carol ex machina*Whateverthefuck is up with Sam right now -- which I know has nothing to do with Wilson, but sheeshBut in conclusion:*KAMALAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA(I was gonna go for the full joke and say "Khaaaaaaaaaaaan!" but it just sounds too angry. I AM NEVER ANGRY AT KAMALA.)
    more
  • Maria Kramer
    August 14, 2016
    In this volume, Kamala deals with the classic superhero problem of trying to balance personal, academic and heroic commitments - by making clones of herself. This goes predictably and hilariously awry. meanwhile, her brother gets married and her friend/crush Bruno has moved on and gotten an adorable blue-haired GF. I love the combo of superheroics and personal drama. To her credit, Wilson makes both equally riveting. Very fun!
    more
  • JumbleofJargon
    December 3, 2016
    Dear writers of Kamala Khan's escapades,Why are these so short?! Please release a new volume as soon as possible.Sincerely,JI beseech everyone to read this comic book series. It's diverse, it has SO much depth, and it cloaks an insightful look on aspects of our society in a fun, hilarious narrative. In summary, PLEASE READ THIS!
    more
  • R.J.
    February 29, 2016
    Coming off of a universe-changing event without missing a beat, this arch is solid. The villain is another perfect analogy for a real-world issue and the way the conflict plays out gives Kamala new tensions to navigate instead of being a flat, easily resolved baddie-of-the-week. I feel like this arch matures a series that is already so consistently so good daaaang.
    more
  • Ellen
    July 14, 2016
    This series cracks me up. It's probably my favorite current graphic novel series.
  • Trike
    February 2, 2017
    Even when this book is by-the-numbers and has deus ex machina moments, it's still better than 95% of the comics out there.Kamala is doing too many things at once -- solo superheroing, family matters, Avengersing, schoolwork -- which is a song we've heard before, and eventually her solution is the same one Mickey Mouse comes up with in The Sorcerer's Apprentice, but it's just so damn charming I can't help but like it.Kamala's BFF and would-be boyfriend Bruno has a new girlfriend, Mike, who is chu Even when this book is by-the-numbers and has deus ex machina moments, it's still better than 95% of the comics out there.Kamala is doing too many things at once -- solo superheroing, family matters, Avengersing, schoolwork -- which is a song we've heard before, and eventually her solution is the same one Mickey Mouse comes up with in The Sorcerer's Apprentice, but it's just so damn charming I can't help but like it.Kamala's BFF and would-be boyfriend Bruno has a new girlfriend, Mike, who is chubby and nerdy and a genius, which is a bit of overcompensation, but she's a fun addition nonetheless. I especially liked it when Kamala and Mike get over themselves and team up to save Bruno and other neighbors from the mind-control beverage created by evil neighborhood developers by 3D printing a chemical antidote. No, it doesn't make any sense, but these are superhero comics; nothing makes sense here.But when they come up with that solution (ha, pun), Kamala says, "Look out, evildoers," and Mike responds, "Time to science." It's cute.There's more in this vein, but it all comes across as charming. The art is a bit inconsistent due to multiple pencillers, but overall it's not too distracting. I like the sheer variety of characters in this book. All races, genders, religions. Maybe a gay kid will move into the neighborhood, you never know.
    more
  • Katie
    January 19, 2017
    4.5 starsI was feeling a bit meh about this but the end won me over.
  • Rob McMonigal
    February 19, 2017
    On the other side of the Secret Wars, Kamala is an Avenger and a local protector and a student and a kid sister and a friend...and something has to give. As she tries to balance all the aspects of her life, it becomes clear that trying to do so much can stretch thin even a person who can literally stretch herself.Wilson's writing on this is absolutely amazing. She does a great job of integrating Ms. Marvel's larger role in the Marvel U without sacrificing the things we've come to love about the On the other side of the Secret Wars, Kamala is an Avenger and a local protector and a student and a kid sister and a friend...and something has to give. As she tries to balance all the aspects of her life, it becomes clear that trying to do so much can stretch thin even a person who can literally stretch herself.Wilson's writing on this is absolutely amazing. She does a great job of integrating Ms. Marvel's larger role in the Marvel U without sacrificing the things we've come to love about the character--namely her desire to remain her own person. I love the fact that we still hear almost as much about her culture as we do about her smashing criminals. The use of an old Marvel baddie is well done, and Wilson's ear for humor is great. There's a lot here that modernizes the concept of the teen hero, yet at the same time, some of the old struggles still exist.There's three line artists this time, Takeshi Miyazawa, a cameo from the original artist Adrian Alphona, and Nico Leon gets to show off comedic chops when Kamala goes all Mad Scientist in an attempt to be all things to all people. Overall, the art is still loose and flowing, not trying to be traditional superhero style. But it works very well with the content.I'm happy to see this one didn't lose out after the transition, and I'm excited to be almost caught up with the character in trades.
    more
Write a review