Chasing Eveline
Sixteen-year-old Ivy Higgins is the only student at Carmel Heights High School who listens to cassettes. And her binder is the only one decorated with album artwork by 80s band Chasing Eveline. Despite being broken-up since 1989, this rock band out of Ireland means everything to Ivy. They’re a reminder of her mom, who abandoned Ivy and her dad two years ago. Now the music of her mom’s favorite band is the only connection she has left.Even though Ivy wavers between anger and a yearning to reconnect, she’s one-hundred percent certain she’s not ready to lose her mom forever. But the only surefire way to locate her would be at a Chasing Eveline concert. So with help from her lone friend Matt—an equally abandoned soul and indie music enthusiast—Ivy hatches a plan to reunite the band.The road to Ireland won’t be easy, though. And not just because there is no road. Along the way they’ll have to win over their Lady Gaga-loving peers, tangle with some frisky meerkats, and oh yeah, somehow find and persuade the four members to play a reunion gig. It’s a near-impossible task, but Ivy has to try. If she can’t let go of the past, she’ll never be able to find joy in the present.

Chasing Eveline Details

TitleChasing Eveline
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

Chasing Eveline Review

  • Mandy
    July 12, 2017
    *I'm part of the blog tour for this book, so an e-ARC was provided for me in exchange for an honest review - totally didn't influence me in anyway!*So, I was sold on this novel by its summary: journey to Ireland, frisky meerkats, some major feely feels, and super non-mainstream band love. And goodness, does this book provide! Every new development was so intriguing and made me feel even more for Ivy.And let's get one of my favorite things out of the way first: this is one of the most realistic c *I'm part of the blog tour for this book, so an e-ARC was provided for me in exchange for an honest review - totally didn't influence me in anyway!*So, I was sold on this novel by its summary: journey to Ireland, frisky meerkats, some major feely feels, and super non-mainstream band love. And goodness, does this book provide! Every new development was so intriguing and made me feel even more for Ivy.And let's get one of my favorite things out of the way first: this is one of the most realistic contemporary books I've ever read. Okay, there was one thing that I thought was like, oh, kind of convenient, but I'm dead serious: this book is SO. REALISTIC. Nothing went perfectly for our two heroes of this story. They encountered obstacle after obstacle, and it was dealt with in such realistic manners. The road to get to Ireland in the States is NOT an easy one when concerned with money, and Hauser portrayed it in the realest of ways. In so many contemporary novels, when an obstacle comes along, things are usually tied up with a nice little bow, but Hauser shows the true struggles, and I don't think she even knows where that nice bow is - WHICH WAS SO BRILLIANT.And no spoilers from me, but I have to say: this has the most realistic ending that I have seen in a contemporary book, I think ever. I literally sat there after the fact and was like, um, time for a round of applause. SO. RELATABLE. OMG. Now, that I'm done fangirling about the realisticness, onto the glorious music references. Hauser showcases her brilliant writing abilities in all forms in the novel, but where she really shines is in her musical descriptions. When I was putting in the about section for this post, I was shocked to find out that this was her debut novel. She has a voice, and her musical descriptions were the best that I've ever read. While I couldn't imagine the music, I had the same feeling as if I was listening to it with her words. Blown. Away.The characters were great as well. I really connected with the characters as well. I really enjoyed Ivy, and I thought she was a brilliant heroine. I ached for her and I rooted for her - sometimes in the same paragraph. XD Matt and Sean were cool as well, and I did enjoy them as supporting characters. I even really liked Ivy's dad. Everything about these people felt real. The only issue I had with it is sometimes I felt the pacing was a bit slow. I got drawn out of the story, but really, it didn't take away too much from the story. It just got me a bit disconnected occasionally in the beginning.Overall, though, this was a brilliant story. It had so much realism, so much beauty, and so many feels. If you're looking for a story that showcases all of that (and I mean, who isn't?) plus a glorious cover, this is the book for you. I super enjoyed this, and I'll definitely be picking up anything by Hauser again. Four crowns and an Ariel rating! Also, let's end with one of my favorite quotes from the novel:"She said, 'People don't know what they like until they hear it. And that is the magic of music. Every song is a possibility, and all it takes is the right chord or the right beat and the heart is hooked.'"
    more
  • Leslie Hauser
    March 18, 2017
    I wrote this book, so of course I love it! My five stars are more about my excitement for YOU to read it!
  • Ms. Foor
    April 4, 2017
    I was lucky enough to get my hands on an early copy of this book and it is awesome. It combines a lot of what I love about YA literature: music, romance, and hilariously awkward situations. Leslie Hauser does an amazing job at telling a story that really captures the reader. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves YA!
    more
  • Michelle
    July 28, 2017
    **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Chasing Eveline is a young adult contemporary by Leslie Hauser. This book felt so different than the books I normally read. It was like a breath of fresh air for me. Overall, I relaly enjoyed this book. It started out as a bit of a surprise for me because it was much more somber and melancholy in its' tone than I was expecting, but I quickly fell into the groove of the story and I really came to like to characters an **You can see this full review and more at Book Briefs: https://bookbriefs.net**Chasing Eveline is a young adult contemporary by Leslie Hauser. This book felt so different than the books I normally read. It was like a breath of fresh air for me. Overall, I relaly enjoyed this book. It started out as a bit of a surprise for me because it was much more somber and melancholy in its' tone than I was expecting, but I quickly fell into the groove of the story and I really came to like to characters and their journey.Ivy is the main character of the story. She is going through a tough time after her mom left her and the only thing that makes her feel close to her mother is the band Chasing Eveline. Her mom used to love the band and Ivy has become obsessed with it. I loved that it was a non-mainstream indie rock band that was the focus of the story. Now, I will be the first to admit that I know little to nothing about indie rock, but I really enjoyed how authentic all of the music elements in the story felt. It was very 80s throwback and Ivy and Matt seemed to know what they were talking about, so it was really easy for me to default to them as the authorities. I loved that they embarked on this journey to reunite the band.They each had their own reasons for doing so but I loved watching them and their journey. It was at times funny, at times kooky and at times sad. Matt and Ivy are both very realistic portrayals of teenagers. In fact, that was what I loved the most about the story. Everything felt so authentic to me. My only issue with the story was that it did feel a little slow in parts. But the story line itself more than made up for that fact.Bottom line: Chasing Eveline was a read that I really enjoyed. If you are a fan of inide rock, you will love all the references in this book. But even if you are not I would try Chasing Eveline out. I wouldn't necessarily call it a fun read, even though it did have fun parts, but it was a read that I related to and I very much enjoyed. If you are looking for something a little different, something utterly realistic and something with great characters with their own inner strength, I would recommend checking out Chasing Eveline. This review was originally posted on Book Briefs
    more
  • Amanda Hanson
    July 9, 2017
    This book is so cute! Ivy is so awkward and relatable, her platonic friendship with Matt was perfect, and her relationship with her dad captured a lot of what I remember about high school. Plus, the music elements and Sean were both so lovely and so well-written. I got completely lost in this book. A must read - highly recommend!
    more
  • Dori Dupré
    May 9, 2017
    Chasing Eveline tells a story of a 16 year old girl named Ivy, abandoned by her mother, now being raised by her father - himself, dealing with his own loss and abandonment. But when you're the parent, you don't get to quit just because life sucks. She maintains a connection to the love she holds for her mother through her mother's favorite band from the 80s, Chasing Eveline. All of the songs take her to a place with her mother, one where the memories are fresh and happy and in a place of peace. Chasing Eveline tells a story of a 16 year old girl named Ivy, abandoned by her mother, now being raised by her father - himself, dealing with his own loss and abandonment. But when you're the parent, you don't get to quit just because life sucks. She maintains a connection to the love she holds for her mother through her mother's favorite band from the 80s, Chasing Eveline. All of the songs take her to a place with her mother, one where the memories are fresh and happy and in a place of peace. Along with her friend Matt and another friend named Sean who they pick up along the way, Ivy tries and tries to get the band to reunite for a concert. Peppered with 80s references to beloved John Hughes movies and popular music, Chasing Eveline was written for young people in 2017 but it was also written for their mothers. We came of age in a time when Bono was simply the hot lead singer of that passionate band from Ireland and Jon Cryer wasn't the hapless dork with Charlie Sheen or Ashton Kutcher but instead was known for his most excellent shoes and lipsinc-ing the best version of Otis Redding's Tenderness...ever. And honestly, the best part of this entire book to me was that it was a realistic story told about a teen girl dealing with profound pain and grief - and it didn't involve sex, drugs, mutilation, and suicide. She was strong in her brokenness. She was resilient. Actually, a wonderful example of how young people can rise above their unfortunate circumstances by finding something other than harmful substances and destructive tendencies to help them through. This is one of those "Young Adult" novels that anyone can read and relate to, no matter their age. I realize genre exists for a reason, but good stories that touch your heart and feed your soul are beyond all of that. And I would hate to think that women my age wouldn't think to read Chasing Eveline because it is about high school kids navigating their challenges in life through old music. After all, isn't that what we do - even way beyond our teenaged years? I can't imagine traveling through my current state of grief without it being accompanied by music. Music of my lifetime, new music, old music, shared music. Beautiful first novel by Leslie Hauser!
    more
  • Jess Houser (JJ Burry)
    June 7, 2017
    (I received a free copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review. I do not know her, nor have I ever met her personally.)Book Review: Chasing Eveline by Leslie HauserSingle parent. New best friend. Lost identity. Ivy Higgins has a lot to learn in Leslie Hauser's new YA novel Chasing Eveline.Ivy, a 16-year-old who still doesn't know where she wants to go for college, is lost after her mother walks out of her life. She seeks answers in the lyrics of her mom's favorite band, " (I received a free copy of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review. I do not know her, nor have I ever met her personally.)Book Review: Chasing Eveline by Leslie HauserSingle parent. New best friend. Lost identity. Ivy Higgins has a lot to learn in Leslie Hauser's new YA novel Chasing Eveline.Ivy, a 16-year-old who still doesn't know where she wants to go for college, is lost after her mother walks out of her life. She seeks answers in the lyrics of her mom's favorite band, "Chasing Eveline," a (fictional) 1980s Irish rock band.After seeing her dad slowly become a new person these last two years, Ivy decides that she must reunite the band if she wants to find her mom, which she hopes will also reunite her family and help her father.Ivy draws you in with her determination to put her family back together, a determination that drives her spontaneous decision-making. Some choices she makes are only half-heartedly supported by her new best friend Matt, who is still obsessing over his former girlfriend Charlotte.One of Ivy's wild ideas leads the duo on a dangerous path through the Internet, a place that isn't as safe as she thought. Their adventure takes you on a spontaneous ride, complete with 1980s music and movies, tears you don't see coming, and laughter, specifically at a hilarious - albeit slightly disturbing - zoo fundraiser.Hauser hooks you from the first moment Ivy speaks of finding her mother, and she keeps you reading throughout Ivy's journey of self-identity and discovery.I recommend Chasing Eveline to readers who love to be surprised, who love music and movies, who are making new friends, and especially to readers who are trying to find a piece of themselves when a piece is missing.
    more
  • Sagarika
    July 27, 2017
    A feel-good book that is emotional without being overtly sentimental, with a main character that shows personal growth, and plenty of 1980s movie (and music) references. And while there is some level of improbability (view spoiler)[ Um, Sean pops in with a private jet - although it does take place quite practically and I can't really complain. I mean, it's a company jet, so there's that... (hide spoiler)], it maintains a realistic line of events and actions. The aspect of this band, Chasing Evel A feel-good book that is emotional without being overtly sentimental, with a main character that shows personal growth, and plenty of 1980s movie (and music) references. And while there is some level of improbability (view spoiler)[ Um, Sean pops in with a private jet - although it does take place quite practically and I can't really complain. I mean, it's a company jet, so there's that... (hide spoiler)], it maintains a realistic line of events and actions. The aspect of this band, Chasing Eveline, with such heartfelt lyrics to their name that drives Ivy is reminiscent of my own relationship with music, and offers more perspective to the book. Plus, Ivy's got great friends and wild ideas that she is unwilling to give up on, which gives the book a funny, heartwarming, motivating pace, even as she stubbornly clings to her past.Overall a lighthearted, enjoyable read that is relatable and practical. (3.5 stars)(I was offered a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review)
    more
  • Chelsea DeVries
    July 10, 2017
    This book is much like an earworm that gets stuck in your head and sticks with you long after you are no longer reading it. Every song has a possibility, and this book is by far, one of THE BEST, I've read in a while. It keeps you hooked and invested from the first line until the last and I will now list it as one of my favorite books of all time.https://youtu.be/wegSsCrX7L8
    more
  • P.S. Malcolm
    July 23, 2017
    Chasing Eveline Book ReviewNote: I received a free eBook copy of Chasing Eveline by Pen Name Publish, in exchange for a review. However, the content of the review is 100% my own personal opinion.***Music fans— this one's for you!Have you ever found an amazing band that you just adore, and you know other people would like it too if they just gave it a chance? Yep. That was me with K-pop back in high school. No matter what I did, or how many times I tried to get my friends to listen, they just wou Chasing Eveline Book ReviewNote: I received a free eBook copy of Chasing Eveline by Pen Name Publish, in exchange for a review. However, the content of the review is 100% my own personal opinion.***Music fans— this one's for you!Have you ever found an amazing band that you just adore, and you know other people would like it too if they just gave it a chance? Yep. That was me with K-pop back in high school. No matter what I did, or how many times I tried to get my friends to listen, they just wouldn’t accept it. I felt like they were missing out on something magical, and that’s kind of how 16 year old Ivy feels, from Leslie Hauser's debut novel Chasing Eveline.For Ivy, Chasing Eveline is more than just a band. It’s a lifeline— connecting her to her mom, who walked out on her. Their music helps her to sort through her kaleidoscope of emotions. She's a tad bit obsessed, and she can't understand why no one else feels it too. It's not easy being that weird music geek— or any kind of geek, for that matter. Especially not when you're already dealing with issues at home.But then, when she's given the opportunity to go see Chasing Eveline play again after years of being broken up, she simply can't resist. Except Ivy has to overcome a few obstacles on her journey getting there…What I LikedI loved how well done the characters were. It felt like I'd been teleported back into high school, and I could remember thinking and feeling the way that Ivy did throughout the book. Characterisation? Leslie Hauser nailed it!I also loved the way music was discussed in the book. It's very hard to accurately describe music— especially made up music— without your readers being able to hear it. But the descriptions were so vivid and well done, that I could picture exactly the kind of music it was, in a way that was more engaging than reading straight song lyrics.My favourite part was the very end, but I don't want to spoil anything!What I DislikedI've been out of high school for a few years now, so my reading tastes are changing as I grow. I would have enjoyed this book a whole lot more if I were still in school, and though I still found it very relatable and engaging, it's probably not the kind of book I'd have picked up on my own accord. But you know what? It's good to try new things, and I'm glad I read it!The CharactersThe characters were all so individual and loveable. Though Ivy's dad was giving me anxiety the entire time— take your meds, damn it! I really loved Matt, personally.Final ThoughtsAfter reading it, I 100% believe this book would really appeal to people between the ages of 13 – 17. I also think it would really thrive in school libraries, because I really think we need more books that have good, platonic friendships in YA Literature. It's a great book for anyone who loves relatable stories that touch on a lot of real life issues and emotions.
    more
  • Cassie
    July 17, 2017
    WOW, you all, my 1980s loving-heart is fully in love with this book. Chasing Eveline may take place in our world of skyping and cellphones, but this book definitely has all the best elements of a 1980s movie: teen melodrama, an underdog theme, great music, and a feel-good ending. This coming-of-age story will definitely fill your soul with nostalgia, warm fuzzies, and the appreciation of great music. As the main character, Ivy, is highly focused on her mother abandoning her family. And instead o WOW, you all, my 1980s loving-heart is fully in love with this book. Chasing Eveline may take place in our world of skyping and cellphones, but this book definitely has all the best elements of a 1980s movie: teen melodrama, an underdog theme, great music, and a feel-good ending. This coming-of-age story will definitely fill your soul with nostalgia, warm fuzzies, and the appreciation of great music. As the main character, Ivy, is highly focused on her mother abandoning her family. And instead of accepting that her mom is truly gone, Ivy sulks, which then dominoes into other people in her life fading away. Luckily, Ivy finds a way to keep the memory of her mom anchored to her, which is rediscovering the 80s bands and music that her mom once shared with her. One of these beloved bands is Chasing Eveline. As a band with strong and heartfelt lyrics, Chasing Eveline becomes the catalyst and glue to Ivy’s story. They influence Ivy in the most positive ways–leading to new friendships, crazy ways to raise money, and adventurous traveling plans. I love that this band fills Ivy’s grief-filled heart with hope, peace, and willingness to try new things. In Chasing Eveline, Ivy sometimes comes off as stubborn and naive. But even though she hates letting go of the past, I appreciated that Ivy also has the most heartwarming and hilarious ways of approaching life and moving forward.Chasing Eveline is littered with 1980s movie references, which made me love Ivy and her story even more. When Ivy thinks she’s being innovative and creative, her love for Chasing Eveline often leads to the most awkward and funny scenes. I love that Ivy is passionate about music, but more importantly that she appreciates lyrics as the blood that keeps the song pumping. If you love a little teenage angst, 1980’s pop culture, and a beautifully executed ending, I highly recommend that you read Chasing Eveline ASAP!
    more
  • Charlotte
    June 27, 2017
    I LOVED this book! The mix of music and 80's movie references and high school today gave this book a really unique perspective that is relatable to almost everyone. I found my self laughing out loud at the thoughts that go through Ivy's head and reminiscing about growing up in Indiana myself. It was a touching book without being overly sentimental, which is a pitfall of many of the YA novels I've read. I was just so happy to read a good story, fall in love with the characters, and be sad to see I LOVED this book! The mix of music and 80's movie references and high school today gave this book a really unique perspective that is relatable to almost everyone. I found my self laughing out loud at the thoughts that go through Ivy's head and reminiscing about growing up in Indiana myself. It was a touching book without being overly sentimental, which is a pitfall of many of the YA novels I've read. I was just so happy to read a good story, fall in love with the characters, and be sad to see them go when the book was finished. To me, missing the characters after a book is complete is the best measure of greatness. And this one was great!
    more
  • Alice
    May 5, 2017
    The author offered me a free copy of her YA novel 'Chasing Eveline'. I finished it earlier today & these are my thoughts.I loved it! I loved how the power of music was so deeply woven into the story. But mainly I loved the three teenage main characters. Ivy (the main character) shows a lot of personal growth by the end of the novel and I really liked this about her. A great story about friendship, family ties and growing up. If you're a fan of YA, you should give this a read. I read it in 2 The author offered me a free copy of her YA novel 'Chasing Eveline'. I finished it earlier today & these are my thoughts.I loved it! I loved how the power of music was so deeply woven into the story. But mainly I loved the three teenage main characters. Ivy (the main character) shows a lot of personal growth by the end of the novel and I really liked this about her. A great story about friendship, family ties and growing up. If you're a fan of YA, you should give this a read. I read it in 2 sittings!
    more
  • Cath Deacon
    May 13, 2017
    A really great YA read with a love of music and lyrics woven into the story. Really likeable characters and really loved the main character,Ivy who finds her way to a happier place through the book. Her obsession with the band Chasing Eveline reminded me so much of how I used to play Depeche Mode songs on repeat and I adored her friendship with Matt. I won't give away any spoilers but I don't think I will ever look at Meerkats in the same way again!!! Lots of funny little moments in this book. M A really great YA read with a love of music and lyrics woven into the story. Really likeable characters and really loved the main character,Ivy who finds her way to a happier place through the book. Her obsession with the band Chasing Eveline reminded me so much of how I used to play Depeche Mode songs on repeat and I adored her friendship with Matt. I won't give away any spoilers but I don't think I will ever look at Meerkats in the same way again!!! Lots of funny little moments in this book. Many thanks to Leslie for giving me a pre- release copy to review....highly recommend it 😃
    more
  • Wendy
    July 23, 2017
    Chasing Eveline by Leslie HauserLeslie's debut novel was amazing! With young adult themes of Ivy and her love for the band Chasing Eveline. She goes on a mission to convince 80's band Chasing Eveline to play one last time in the hope of meeting her Mum. With her Dads illness threatening to cancel the plans Ivy has to make the decision whether to go or not. I loved Leslie's book, bringing me back to my love of 80s music.
    more
  • Rosemary Gear
    May 7, 2017
    Excellent book. Loved the characters. Best friends Ivy and Matt go through struggles, worries, and decision making situations. It has a little sadness in it - just as life does. The struggles the kids go through are normal and lead to a good ending. A good, clean, well thought-out story.
    more
  • Beth
    May 16, 2017
    A fun contemporary fiction novel that teaches you to let go of the past and to live in the moment.
  • Laurie
    May 13, 2017
    I’ve been lucky enough to see this book evolve from first draft to final draft. I got to watch Ivy grow and evolve into something wonderful and magical. This book is so awesome and witty and full of everything I love most about YA. This book has so many cool and fun things, from cassette tapes to John Hughes references. It has so much heart and character. It’s a book for everyone. And if you’re a music lover, a believer in life, love, and friendship, it’s especially for you. Ivy is a beautifully I’ve been lucky enough to see this book evolve from first draft to final draft. I got to watch Ivy grow and evolve into something wonderful and magical. This book is so awesome and witty and full of everything I love most about YA. This book has so many cool and fun things, from cassette tapes to John Hughes references. It has so much heart and character. It’s a book for everyone. And if you’re a music lover, a believer in life, love, and friendship, it’s especially for you. Ivy is a beautifully written character. She’s realistic, true and refreshing. The relationships between characters are authentic and perfectly balanced. It’s so nice to read a book that is heartfelt and real. When I finished, I missed Ivy and wanted more, more, more. Chasing Eveline is a must read. It has something for everyone and is a story that you won’t forget.
    more
  • Lisa Dohren
    April 6, 2017
    Outstanding celebration of music and life's adventures. This book is imaginative and leads the reader on a fantastic journey. Must read.
  • Sarah Patton
    May 2, 2017
    This story, this journey is not your typical YA romance where girl meets boy and they fall into teenage love, which is quite refreshing. This book is about hanging onto memories of loved ones who have left us and passion, oh so much passion. The characters love of music shines through the pages like a beacon and had me wondering when I could book a trip to Ireland. Overall an enjoyable read that breaks up the monotony of other YA books. If you love music and you love emotional undertones rather This story, this journey is not your typical YA romance where girl meets boy and they fall into teenage love, which is quite refreshing. This book is about hanging onto memories of loved ones who have left us and passion, oh so much passion. The characters love of music shines through the pages like a beacon and had me wondering when I could book a trip to Ireland. Overall an enjoyable read that breaks up the monotony of other YA books. If you love music and you love emotional undertones rather than outward declarations, this book is a must read.
    more
  • Lorna Hollifield
    April 24, 2017
    Isn't music such a part of all of our coming-of-age moments? Leslie Hauser perfectly captures those wonder years set to the perfect soundtracks in her YA novel, Chasing Eveline! Experience the romance , and the rhythm with the perfect summer read for young adults or the young adult still inside you!
    more
Write a review