How to Make a Wish
All seventeen year-old Grace Glasser wants is her own life. A normal life in which she sleeps in the same bed for longer than three months and doesn't have to scrounge for spare change to make sure the electric bill is paid. Emotionally trapped by her unreliable mother, Maggie, and the tiny cape on which she lives, she focuses on her best friend, her upcoming audition for a top music school in New York, and surviving Maggie’s latest boyfriend—who happens to be Grace’s own ex-boyfriend’s father.Her attempts to lay low until she graduates are disrupted when she meets Eva, a girl with her own share of ghosts she’s trying to outrun. Grief-stricken and lonely, Eva pulls Grace into midnight adventures and feelings Grace never planned on. When Eva tells Grace she likes girls, both of their worlds open up. But, united by loss, Eva also shares a connection with Maggie. As Grace's mother spirals downward, both girls must figure out how to love and how to move on.

How to Make a Wish Details

TitleHow to Make a Wish
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Glbt

How to Make a Wish Review

  • Lola Reviewer
    December 24, 2016
    3.5 stars.It’s very early for me to post my review of this book, seeing that it comes out in May next year, but I couldn’t help but read it the moment I received it. And when I finish a book, I immediately write my review of it.So, this book. I enjoyed it a little more than the author’s SUFFER LOVE, which was her debut novel. This new book from her is completely different – one of the differences being it being much more diverse.It’s the story of two girls who fall in love with each other at the 3.5 stars.It’s very early for me to post my review of this book, seeing that it comes out in May next year, but I couldn’t help but read it the moment I received it. And when I finish a book, I immediately write my review of it.So, this book. I enjoyed it a little more than the author’s SUFFER LOVE, which was her debut novel. This new book from her is completely different – one of the differences being it being much more diverse.It’s the story of two girls who fall in love with each other at the right moment. Eva’s mother died, so she needs someone to be there for her. Grace’s mother is unpredictable and very hard at keeping her relationships. Her new conquest? The father of Grace’s ex-boyfriend who humiliated her after she broke up with him.I found Grace and Eva’s romance sweet. Unlike it appears to be, HOW TO MAKE A WISH, is not mainly a love story. There is a huge focus on the relationship between Grace and her mother also. Eva is a lovely character. I liked her right away. Grace is a strong girl who was forced to grow up too soon, thanks to her mother’s shameful behaviour and her lack of a good mother figure. She’s angry a lot. At her mother, mostly, but also at herself. She feels helpless, because she wants to help her mother but doesn’t know how. If I had to choose, I must say I preferred Eva’s character, because of her sweet nature, but I admired Grace’s strength.Strangely, I remember liking this author’s writing a little more in her previous novel. I remember it being more lyrical. Her writing here is good, too, and there truly are some beautiful quotes worth highlighting, but the constant cursing cast a shadow on the writing, or so it seemed.I absolutely think this is a book you should read, if you enjoy realistic LGBT books. There are some very adorable scenes. A lot of sadness too. Some characters are surprising – Jay! – and although Grace’s mom is anything but responsible, you can’t help but do your best to understand where she’s coming from, why she is the way she is. It’s clear she loves her daughter, even though her love is imperfect. I kept feeling like Grace had trouble seeing that her mother loves her, which irked me, because I thought Grace was more observant than that. She said, towards the END, ‘‘I stare at my phone, flipping between the names of the only people in the world who love me.’’ Was her mom included? I had the impression that no, she wasn’t one of those names. I remember her saying something similar earlier in the story, too. It annoyed me, because she literally said that 20 pages before the end. But maybe I'm wrong and her mother's name is one of those names. Let me know what you think if you've read the book.Not a perfect book, but an important one nonetheless.Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • The Bookavid
    January 5, 2017
    More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn HOW TO MAKE A WISH, Grace's mom makes her move in with her ex-boyfriend's dad and meets Eva, who is struggling with her mother's death. What intrigued me: Biracial and bisexual characters?! YES Snarky Teen and Sad Vibes HOW TO MAKE A WISH is one of those very quiet reads that you definitely have to have a thing for and have to be in the right mood for. Blake tells Grace's story with the authentic snark that I would've adored reading about as a teen. T More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn HOW TO MAKE A WISH, Grace's mom makes her move in with her ex-boyfriend's dad and meets Eva, who is struggling with her mother's death. What intrigued me: Biracial and bisexual characters?! YES Snarky Teen and Sad Vibes HOW TO MAKE A WISH is one of those very quiet reads that you definitely have to have a thing for and have to be in the right mood for. Blake tells Grace's story with the authentic snark that I would've adored reading about as a teen. The thing Is - HOW TO MAKE A WISH is so character-driven and so quiet that I just didn't feel as enthusiastic about it as I would've liked. This is a me thing. This has nothing to do with the book. It's skillfully written with a killer voice and with heart. Also #ownvoices by a bisexual author, which clearly, obviously shows in the nuanced way Blake writes her characters. It reads somewhere inbetween books like those by Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. If you enjoy works by these authors, you'll surely adore this one. HOW TO MAKE A WISH will surely hit close to home for many people out there, not only because of the fabulous narration but because it features a bisexual protagonist and a biracial love interest. Representation goddamn matters. I've got a confession to make here. This is first time that I've read about a biracial character portrayed so accurately that it freaks me out. I'm biracial and usually the representation we get hardly ever is stated on the page, and if it is there are probably a lot of other things wrong with the book. HOW TO MAKE A WISH presents biracial love interest Eva in a way that hit so close to home to me that I'm genuinely wondering if this was written about me. Is this me? Is this what representation feels like? Despite HOW TO MAKE A WISH missing the mark for me personally because of totally arbitrary and highly subjective reasons that stand in no relation to the quality of this book, this is an extraordinary book that I wish a lot of success. I refuse to give this any less than five stars and I urge you to be lenient with this book when rating and reviewing it as well. There is virtually no representation for people like me and we need to cheer those authors on that bother to do it right.I would've needed this book at 14,15,16 - hell, I still need it now. I really don't know how to handle this. It's weird being represented, but it's also nice. Do me a favor and shove this book into the hands of any black biracials you know, okay? It'll mean the world to them.Rating:★★★★★ Overall: Do I Recommend? So, HOW TO MAKE A WISH apparently is the first book written for people like me. And it feels damn good, you guys. Representation matters. Gift this to your biracial friends.live on the blog 03/15/17
    more
  • Andrea
    December 29, 2016
    Give it up for biracial and bisexual representation. How to Make a Wish is about two girls. Grace is dealing with her upcoming audition to a music school in New York and the fact that she now lives with her ex-boyfriend. And then there’s Eva, a girl who is struggling with her grief over losing her mom. I am so glad this book exists. F/f romance is so rare in YA, and to have a book that portrays it so beautifully is such a gift. Also it was extremely refreshing to read an LGBT+ YA book that doesn Give it up for biracial and bisexual representation. How to Make a Wish is about two girls. Grace is dealing with her upcoming audition to a music school in New York and the fact that she now lives with her ex-boyfriend. And then there’s Eva, a girl who is struggling with her grief over losing her mom. I am so glad this book exists. F/f romance is so rare in YA, and to have a book that portrays it so beautifully is such a gift. Also it was extremely refreshing to read an LGBT+ YA book that doesn’t deal with “coming-out.” There was never any worry of anyone finding out about their relationship or if they wouldn’t be accepted by their friends and loved ones. (Honestly though this is so much more than a romance story.) And there’s also a biracial love interest, so..!!!!!I loved everything about this book, the characters, the setting, the story. All the characters were so three-dimensional, the MC’s and the supporting ones. This is an extremely character-driven novel, each one complex and well-rounded. So don’t really expect a lot to happen plot wise, as it’s the relationships between all the characters that makes this book so amazing. Not only Grace and Eva (though they were too cute), but also Grace and Luca, Grace and her mom, and much more. This book captured my attention from the first chapter. Grace’s story with her mom felt so real. Her anger, sadness, and feelings of helplessness, the way she described how she realized she was bisexual, felt so authentic, honestly it hit a little too close to home. It’s actually kind of creepy how much I related to this. And I know there will be a lot of people out there who will be able to relate to Eva as well. I feel like this review is kind of a mess. The only thing that matters is: read this!!!! It’s skillfully written, raw, and amazing. **Thank you very much to Netgalley for sending me an e-ARC.**
    more
  • Nita
    September 17, 2015
    I was lucky enough to read an early copy of this, and let me tell you: it's one you're going to want on your 2017 radar ASAP, particularly if you're a fan of contemp F/F (or even if you aren't.) Ashley does an absolutely extraordinary job with Grace and Eva and the nuances of their relationship, which she writes with honesty and respect and heart. I honestly believe this is one of the best F/F contemp books I've read in a long time, and I'm so glad it exists.
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    December 28, 2016
    Excuse me but How to Make a Wish was freaking beautiful. I fell in love with Grace and Eva very quickly. But Grace's story with her mom is raw and it's complicated and it's so real it hurts. Because you feel it inside, in your bones and in your blood. // I also really loved Luca and his mom so much. *Also I love that there is a masturbation scene BECAUSE THERE AREN'T A LOT OF THEM IN YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE AND THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE. Because maybe sometimes this topic is sort-of "taboo-ish" in the Excuse me but How to Make a Wish was freaking beautiful. I fell in love with Grace and Eva very quickly. But Grace's story with her mom is raw and it's complicated and it's so real it hurts. Because you feel it inside, in your bones and in your blood. // I also really loved Luca and his mom so much. *Also I love that there is a masturbation scene BECAUSE THERE AREN'T A LOT OF THEM IN YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE AND THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE. Because maybe sometimes this topic is sort-of "taboo-ish" in the community and maybe teens think it's embarrasing or not normal (I guess?) to do it? Which it's not. It's the most natural thing in the world. And I love seeing this in a book because it's so very important to include it more!!Full review soon.
    more
  • Shannon Parker
    June 4, 2016
    This book stole my Saturday and I’m not sorry. I adored every inch of Blake’s sophomore novel, from its unique characters to its gorgeous seaside setting. How to Make a Wish is a beautiful and powerful love story—one that explores the power and depth of first love, self-love, and familial love. I fell hard for the main character and didn’t want to let her go (fair warning: You will too!). But I so loved her journey of self-discovery and the fiercely loyal friends who stood by her side. This book This book stole my Saturday and I’m not sorry. I adored every inch of Blake’s sophomore novel, from its unique characters to its gorgeous seaside setting. How to Make a Wish is a beautiful and powerful love story—one that explores the power and depth of first love, self-love, and familial love. I fell hard for the main character and didn’t want to let her go (fair warning: You will too!). But I so loved her journey of self-discovery and the fiercely loyal friends who stood by her side. This book has a lot to say about self-acceptance and kindness and I hope it gets into the hands of many readers in 2017 when it debuts. I’m already eager to read what Blake writes next!!
    more
  • Chelsea
    March 25, 2017
    review also posted on Wordpress! spoiler-free review!I received an e-ARC from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!I feel horrible for not absolutely loving How to Make a Wish. This book is everything I needed: a bisexual main character (written by a bisexual author!) and a not-so conventional mother-daughter relationship. Unfortunately, I didn't connect with it as much as I should've. I blame my busy schedule: it almost took me three review also posted on Wordpress! spoiler-free review!I received an e-ARC from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Children's Book Group through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!I feel horrible for not absolutely loving How to Make a Wish. This book is everything I needed: a bisexual main character (written by a bisexual author!) and a not-so conventional mother-daughter relationship. Unfortunately, I didn't connect with it as much as I should've. I blame my busy schedule: it almost took me three weeks to finish this, whereas this is probably a book you should read in one sitting. Trust me though: this is definitely a case of it's me, not you. To be clear: this is not at all going to be a negative review. There's nothing I didn't like about How to Make a Wish. Grace, the main character is bisexual and so is the author, so this is an #OwnVoices novel. I absolutely loved that the word 'bisexual' is used, because a lot of authors seem to be afraid to use that term. Eva, the love interested, is biracial (her skin is described as “warm brown”) and gay. She even explains why she hates being called exotic. On top of that, this book is very sex-positive. Jay, Grace's ex, posted their sexts online for the entire school to see. Grace isn't ashamed she did that, but she's rightfully pissed that he broke her trust. Furthermore, female masturbation isn't a taboo. Ever since Grace's father died, her mother Maggie has been unreliable. Though I wouldn't call my mom as bad as Maggie, I very much related to their relationship. Since my parents' divorce, my mother has become a completely different person. She loves going out, posts a lot of pictures online you never want to see of your mother, generally doesn't know much about what is going on in our lives... Even though Maggie was so god-damn relatable, it was hard to read at the same time. I was afraid she was either going to be vilified or be forgiven for everything she did. Thankfully, the book dealt with this subject in a very good way. While you are reading the book, however, you naturally cannot predict it's going to end that way. So that definitely got in the way of my enjoyment as well. Like I said, I loved the final chapter and especially how things ended between Maggie and Grace. The thing is though: it's sad those scenes always occur at the very end of a book. I want more books that focus on healing instead of the process and heartbreak leading up to it. Considering my mental health situation at the moment, those books are too emotionally draining for me.Okay, enough about me and back to the book: I would definitely recommend this book! I plan on reading a finished copy of How to Make a Wish once I have some more time. conclusion: Due to personal reasons, I didn't love How to Make a Wish as much as I would've liked. However, I would absolutely recommend it, especially if you are biracial and/or bisexual! The bisexuality was #OwnVoices and as someone who identifies as bisexual, I loved the representation! I will certainly keep my eye on Ashley Herring Blake.✿ You can also find me on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest and Wordpress! ✿
    more
  • Sue (Hollywood News Source)
    September 17, 2015
    I like How to Make a Wish enough to cry and get emotional over certain scenes, but not enough to warrant a four star.What stood out for me is the barb portrayal of unreliable parent. I'm a sucker for that. It's imperfect but it's spot on. However, I'm also a prolific romance reader. That's one of the defining factors for me. I'm not a fan of pairings where they hit off immediately. I don't like the instant let's-have-a-heart-to-heart conversation. I believe that it takes time to build relationsh I like How to Make a Wish enough to cry and get emotional over certain scenes, but not enough to warrant a four star.What stood out for me is the barb portrayal of unreliable parent. I'm a sucker for that. It's imperfect but it's spot on. However, I'm also a prolific romance reader. That's one of the defining factors for me. I'm not a fan of pairings where they hit off immediately. I don't like the instant let's-have-a-heart-to-heart conversation. I believe that it takes time to build relationship. It takes time for people to let other people see their deepest scars. The pairing seems superficial to me, I couldn't get into it. This is just a personal preference. Since, I tend to favor slow burn romance with a long (preferably years) of build up. Overall, this novel is pretty alright. It moved me but I'm not in love with it. The biggest census is everyone love it if you're curious you should give it a try. Though, if you want my recommendation for stellar YA f/f: go try Tell Me Again How A Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan and Dirty London by Kelly Yorke.
    more
  • Vee S
    January 22, 2017
    Not to be rude but this book was incredible
  • Miranda
    December 15, 2016
    I received a copy via the publisher through netgalley.Wishes.They're such a simple thing that we do and yet this little book held a thousand of them. A girl struggling to accept the death of her mother and another stuggling to accept that hers just didn't fit into the proper mother role. It's about that first love and growing as an individual. Learning to let go and move on from things that we shouldn't let hold us back. The characters were these two remarkably strong young women who grew togeth I received a copy via the publisher through netgalley.Wishes.They're such a simple thing that we do and yet this little book held a thousand of them. A girl struggling to accept the death of her mother and another stuggling to accept that hers just didn't fit into the proper mother role. It's about that first love and growing as an individual. Learning to let go and move on from things that we shouldn't let hold us back. The characters were these two remarkably strong young women who grew together and held onto the wishes that helped them through it all.The concept was great a full things left little to be imagined and I had some super problems with not understanding why Eva would even want Maggie around her or use her as the advice giver when she was clearly off her rocker. But I guess when you just need someone who doesn't know everything and gives that unbiased opinion it makes sense, not too much of it but I can still sorta accept it.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    February 1, 2017
    I am super excited for this new book by Ashley Herring Blake! I loved Suffer Love and have high hopes for How to Make a Wish. I am interested in the musical aspects of this book, as I always seem to enjoy these types of stories. This book also sounds very diverse, which I am glad to see. This novel just sounds so inspiring and full of hope!
    more
  • Ava
    November 28, 2016
    At least 4.5. Possibly the full 5. I can't think of ANYTHING I disliked in this book.
  • charlotte
    December 29, 2016
    Galley provided by publisherActual rating 3.5This book is a good example of how to write a book about LGBT+ characters that isn't about coming out. The fact that the main character is bisexual and falls in love with a girl is incidental to the story (that is, there are no Oh my God I'm in love with a girl moments, no "gay panic" and no coming out).It took a little while for me to get into this book, but then I met Eva, the love interest, and suddenly I couldn't stop reading. Eva, although this m Galley provided by publisherActual rating 3.5This book is a good example of how to write a book about LGBT+ characters that isn't about coming out. The fact that the main character is bisexual and falls in love with a girl is incidental to the story (that is, there are no Oh my God I'm in love with a girl moments, no "gay panic" and no coming out).It took a little while for me to get into this book, but then I met Eva, the love interest, and suddenly I couldn't stop reading. Eva, although this may be a bit of a harsh assessment, carried the book along for me. Before she showed up, I was getting a little bored by it all. So I guess it's good that she turned up early.The one, kind of big, problem I had was with the dickhead ex-boyfriend. Who the main character is having to live with, on account of her mother getting together with his father. When Grace, the main character, broke up with Jay, the dickhead ex, (view spoiler)[he posted all of her sexts online - which, besides, was it really a necessary plot point? (hide spoiler)]. Because he's an arsehole. So, understandably, Grace isn't too happy with this arrangement.And then there's the fact that he genuinely doesn't see what's the problem with his actions. And sure, it's there in the narrative, because we get everything from Grace's point of view, but she never tells him (though she shouldn't have to, but as I said before, he's an arsehole).He also has this scene where he tries to force himself on Grace, pulling her towards him by the belt. In the bathroom of the house. Which makes what happened next all the more annoying for me, and is the reason I'm reluctant to round up for this rating.About halfway through the book, he changes and becomes a not-a-dickhead ex, after Grace becomes nicer to him. Bearing in mind, he is still the arsehole who did what he did to her. They get friendlier with each other, but he never apologises for what he did. He's not sorry for it, we still don't even know if he recognises what's wrong with that. And that's what's frustrating to me. I wouldn't mind this whole "redemption" kind of thing, if he genuinely recognised what a dick he'd been and was sorry for it, but none of that happens. Granted, I don't think Grace forgives him, per se, but she's definitely less angry with him for it by the end.So overall, it's a cute book. And I liked that Grace described herself as bisexual. There aren't enough books that do that. But the whole plotline with the ex-boyfriend made me like it a little less.
    more
  • Laura
    December 23, 2016
    (Review originally posted on bbliophile.wordpress.com)I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book through Netgalley, but this will in no way affect my review.How to Make a Wish is about a girl named Grace. Grace is a pianist who wants to audition for a top-music school, but her unreliable mother Maggie, who is unable to stay in one place for more than a few months and drinks too much, makes life very difficult for her. It gets even more difficult when Maggie picks Grace up from summer camp (Review originally posted on bbliophile.wordpress.com)I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this book through Netgalley, but this will in no way affect my review.How to Make a Wish is about a girl named Grace. Grace is a pianist who wants to audition for a top-music school, but her unreliable mother Maggie, who is unable to stay in one place for more than a few months and drinks too much, makes life very difficult for her. It gets even more difficult when Maggie picks Grace up from summer camp, and tells her that they’ll be living with Maggie’s new boyfriend from now on. A boyfriend Grace had never heard of before, and who turns out to be her ex-boyfriend’s dad.But then Eva appears. She has just moved to town because her mother died, and she soon becomes all Eva can think about.How to Make a Wish is hauntingly beautiful. The way the author describes the relationship between Grace and her mother is very hard hitting, honest and real. And just like the relationship, the characters feel extremely real too. Every single character has such a distinct voice, and they felt very three-dimensional. Like they were real people, in a real town, dealing with real problems.The romance between Grace and Eva was easily my favorite thing about the book. I loved them from the moment they first met, and I loved reading about their cute midnight adventures and late night talks. It made me unable to put the book down, which is why I stayed up until 2AM to finish it.Besides all this, I also loved the bi representation in this book. It was spot-on (at least, to me) and it made me fall in love with the book even more. It also tackles some other topics that aren’t spoken about enough in YA books like female masturbation and the racism in the ballet-world, and I really appreciated that.But, honestly? Nothing I write will do this book justice. I just really hope you will pick up this book for yourself so you can fall in love with it, like I did.
    more
  • Fadwa (Word Wonders)
    March 20, 2017
    I received this book from the publishers through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review Actual rating: 4.5 starsI'm... wow... I'm speechless. This book is so beautiful and raw and pure, I love it with every part of my heart. Just wow. I went in for a romance but what I got was so much more. I got a story of love, family, grief, emotional abuse, and a hip of other themes and issues.Add this to your TBRs, it's a book you can't miss out on.Full review coming soon!
    more
  • Adriana Martinez Figueroa
    August 11, 2016
    I received an Advanced Reading Copy today and I really wasn't expecting it but I'm incredibly thankful to Houghton Mifflin Hartcourt Publishing and Ashley Herring Blake for sending a signed copy of a book that doesn't come out in months! It's my first time receiving an ARC, and I loved it. I loved the book, the characters, the writing, the easy prose that just kept me hooked from beginning to end. Bear with me as I talk (gush) more about the book. Queer YA has recently become one of my favorite I received an Advanced Reading Copy today and I really wasn't expecting it but I'm incredibly thankful to Houghton Mifflin Hartcourt Publishing and Ashley Herring Blake for sending a signed copy of a book that doesn't come out in months! It's my first time receiving an ARC, and I loved it. I loved the book, the characters, the writing, the easy prose that just kept me hooked from beginning to end. Bear with me as I talk (gush) more about the book. Queer YA has recently become one of my favorite genres to read, and this beautifully cements my love for it. Yes, these are teens, but they're complicated, just as the rest of us are. There's not a big deal about coming out, which is so great. It's just normal. A girl likes another girl. *hayley kiyoko voice* Nothing new! Diversity in the media is so important as well as representation, and having a Queer Interracial Couple be the main focus of a book just makes me ecstatic. Loved the book and I can't wait for everyone to read this and cry along with me and feel light and in love. I can talk about it more on tumblr and twitter @thearcherballet if you want more info on it!
    more
  • leenahreads
    January 30, 2017
    3.5 stars! I'll write a full review closer to the release date but until then I highly recommend you add this to your tbr.While I LOVED the writing and the nostalgic feel of the book, the lighthouse and the beachy-feel, the romance itself sort of fell short for me (but this is probably due to personal preference on tropes). The story itself is amazing! Every ending for ever chapter made my heart stop for a second, it was written so well. And the platonic m/f friendship was so cute and so well do 3.5 stars! I'll write a full review closer to the release date but until then I highly recommend you add this to your tbr.While I LOVED the writing and the nostalgic feel of the book, the lighthouse and the beachy-feel, the romance itself sort of fell short for me (but this is probably due to personal preference on tropes). The story itself is amazing! Every ending for ever chapter made my heart stop for a second, it was written so well. And the platonic m/f friendship was so cute and so well done and I appreciated it a lot. Another aspect the author gave full attention to is the relationship between Grace and her mother and the way it brought out the sympathy from me. The book dives into emotional abuse, neglectful parenthood, and grief on a deeper level. Overall, I enjoyed this so much, I really did. I just wish there was more development to Eva and Grace's relationship.
    more
  • Bookish♥Sarah
    February 2, 2017
    Review coming soon ♥
  • Amber
    January 6, 2017
    Overall, this book was heartbreaking and magical.Spoiler-Free Review: https://amberinoface.wordpress.com/20...
  • Mishma
    January 14, 2017
    I am really picky when it comes to my contemporary reads. Nevertheless, I was really excited to read How to Make A Wish, because I love books that tackle relationships, and I was looking forward to read my first book with a bisexual MC and I absolutely adore Ashley. And the book didn't disappoint by any means, and has actually become one of the rare contemporary gems in my fav shelf!Grace's relationship with her mother is what you'll call complicated. Her mum is unreliable, unpredictable and a p I am really picky when it comes to my contemporary reads. Nevertheless, I was really excited to read How to Make A Wish, because I love books that tackle relationships, and I was looking forward to read my first book with a bisexual MC and I absolutely adore Ashley. And the book didn't disappoint by any means, and has actually become one of the rare contemporary gems in my fav shelf!Grace's relationship with her mother is what you'll call complicated. Her mum is unreliable, unpredictable and a piece of work who's gone to new limits this time, by moving in with her new boyfriend, who just happens to be Grace's ex's father. The only people keeping her life sane is her best friend, his mum and Eva - the new girl in town who starts the butterflies in Grace. How to Make a Wish is the story of Grace and her relationships - whether it be her mother, best friend or Eva.I adored this book. It reminded me of the Sarah Dessen books I binged when I was 14, especially my favourite Dessen novel - Lock and Key. There are only a few contemporary authors I trust with handling platonic relationships as the central theme of a book, and Ashley has certainly joined that list. The book is beautiful, but not in a perfect, delicate way, but rather beautiful in its honesty, in its realistic portrayal and how it doesn't shy away from the ugly bits of everyday life and relationships.Grace is hands down one of the most realistic contemporary narrators I've read in recent times. Her feelings, anger, passion, sadness, jealousy - everything rang so true, and I loved it. She didn't make the perfect decisions, hurt people she loved while making excuses for those who didn't deserve it, and she was so real that at times I forgot that she's a fictional character. Her sexuality was explained so well, that even a straight girl like me could feel what she felt when I read those lines - of course, How to Make A Wish is #ownvoices, so it makes sense.Even though it contains a love story - an extremely cute one in that, but let's talk about that later - the predominant focus of the book is Grace and her mother. Both love each other - a lot, of course - but her mum's lifestyle, impulsiveness and straight up impossibility at times give Grace a hard time. There are certain times when I straight up despised her mother, and was repeatedly wondering why Grace even put up with her, but there are also instances where she clearly loved Grace and made it hard to give up on her. Their bond was dynamic, at times messed up, complicated - but it was also heartwarming and bittersweet and that's the most beautiful thing about this book.Grace and her best friend Luca were adorable. The friendship was wonderful, and I also loved how realistic their rough patches were, especially at times when Grace refused to give up on her mother as Luca wants her to, and when he gets a girlfriend and Grace feels awkward. And the romance. It was just incredible. I loved Eva. She was sweet and the perfect juxtaposition to Grace in every way, and I loved it. Her voice as a biracial and lesbian girl was distinct and her grief made me want to hug her tight. Eva and Grace had one of the cutest romances ever, with enough tension and feels to make me swoon.Overall How to Make A Wish is a character driven story that focuses on relationships. If these type of stories are your thing, then you should definitely give this book a shot. I'd also recommend the book to fans of Sarah Dessen and Elizabeth Scott, or any contemporary fan tbh! Also, if you're looking for an authentic F/F love story with a bisexual MC, this book is a must read!
    more
  • Sarah Ahiers
    November 25, 2015
    I read this arc in return for a fair revivew.This book! I read it in, like, a day. I had such a hard time putting it down. To the point that I was staying up way too late to read it at night (and then only sort of regretting it in the morning when I was sleepy)Gracie has a lot of problems in her life, but almost all of them can be traced back to Maggie, her mother. When Grace returns home from a trip to work on her piano skills before her big new York audition later in the summer, she finds that I read this arc in return for a fair revivew.This book! I read it in, like, a day. I had such a hard time putting it down. To the point that I was staying up way too late to read it at night (and then only sort of regretting it in the morning when I was sleepy)Gracie has a lot of problems in her life, but almost all of them can be traced back to Maggie, her mother. When Grace returns home from a trip to work on her piano skills before her big new York audition later in the summer, she finds that her mother has shacked up with another man, moved them in without telling her and sold her piano. On top of that, it turns out Maggie's new BF is the father of Grace's sleezy ex BF who uploaded all of their sexts to tumblr after she broke up with him.But Grace is used to her mother's trainwrecks. Used to bailing her out of drunken, dangerous situations. Used to her life being one big disappointement.Until Eva arrives. Eva's mother died and she's moved to town to live with Grace's best fried. And Eva is lovely, and funny, and sad and the only thing Grace can think about even as her life with her mother tumbles down around her.And Grace is all Eva wants, too. Until Maggie gets involved. Until Maggie drags Eva into her tornado of a life, threatening Eva's tenuous safety.Now Grace has to decide where she stands, by her mother's side, or by Eva's.I just wanted to scoop Grace and Eva up and hug them so much. There's so much grief in this book, and I wanted to comfort both Eva and Grace for the things they go through in their lives, in this book.All the characters are so well-rounded. Even the minor ones. And I liked all of them, even the ones I maybe wasn't supposed to like so much. They were complicated, three dimensional people and no one was straight up bad or good. Which just made the read even more spectacular.A great follow-up the Blake's first book. Highly recommend.
    more
  • Sonya Mukherjee
    October 19, 2016
    This book really swept me away! It is, first and foremost, I think, a very sweet, emotionally charged romance between two girls, each of them a complex and convincing character who won my sympathies from the start. Their budding relationship is portrayed with both affection and intensity, and it just pulls you right in. At the same time, each of them is struggling with other issues in their lives; Eva is grieving for her mother and trying to sort out a new life without her, while Grace, the prot This book really swept me away! It is, first and foremost, I think, a very sweet, emotionally charged romance between two girls, each of them a complex and convincing character who won my sympathies from the start. Their budding relationship is portrayed with both affection and intensity, and it just pulls you right in. At the same time, each of them is struggling with other issues in their lives; Eva is grieving for her mother and trying to sort out a new life without her, while Grace, the protagonist, contends with a fragile and unreliable mother. The relationship between Grace and her mother is emotionally fraught and heartbreaking. All around, this is a deep story with a fantastic cast of characters who come to life on the page.
    more
  • K.E.
    September 20, 2015
    I stayed up reading this story most the night, like my life depended on it. You want richly painted lives for your protagonists? You want a setting so evocative you can taste the sea salt in the air? You want a beautifully rendered f/f romance? You want gut-punchingly real family dynamics? Then you need HOW TO MAKE A WISH in your life. It is heart-smashing in all the best ways. Prepare yourselves, people. Grace + Eva + Ashley Herring Blake's brilliant writing are going to knock you clean off you I stayed up reading this story most the night, like my life depended on it. You want richly painted lives for your protagonists? You want a setting so evocative you can taste the sea salt in the air? You want a beautifully rendered f/f romance? You want gut-punchingly real family dynamics? Then you need HOW TO MAKE A WISH in your life. It is heart-smashing in all the best ways. Prepare yourselves, people. Grace + Eva + Ashley Herring Blake's brilliant writing are going to knock you clean off your feet.
    more
  • Sofia (Bookish Wanderess)
    February 20, 2017
    *4,5 stars* This review was first posted on Bookish WanderessHow to Make a Wish is a character driven book with a really quiet story, it takes turns being heartbreaking, honest, complicated, adorable and heartwarming. Something that makes this book incredibly special is the fact that it's #ownvoices in terms of sexuality, both the author and the main character are bisexual. The way in which Grace's bisexuality is describe in the book feels real and honest and the way her bisexuality is treated a *4,5 stars* This review was first posted on Bookish WanderessHow to Make a Wish is a character driven book with a really quiet story, it takes turns being heartbreaking, honest, complicated, adorable and heartwarming. Something that makes this book incredibly special is the fact that it's #ownvoices in terms of sexuality, both the author and the main character are bisexual. The way in which Grace's bisexuality is describe in the book feels real and honest and the way her bisexuality is treated and viewed by other characters as something normal is so meaningful. The representation in this book is accurate and thoughtful and it's not limited to bisexuality, there's also amazing representation with the love interest, Eva, which is a biracial lesbian girl and I think this is especially important because there's so little accurate representation of biracial people that having such a positive and relevant representation means a lot.One of the best things about this book is the romance, Grace and Eva are really cute together and their interactions are really smart and entertaining. There are some steamy moments in this book; there are make out scenes and a sex scene and I think there is so much sex positivity and also it's amazing to see how Grace and Eva always make sure the other is comfortable with what they are doing, they always ask for verbal consent and I think the fact that that is portrait makes this a really valuable book. Also, there's female masturbation in this book and again the sex positivity is off the charts, it's shown like something natural and normal and that's incredible. Furthermore, it's delightful to see an amazing platonic relationship between a girl and a boy being present in this story. Grace and Luca are best friends, there are no secondary motivations, neither is in love with the other, they are just friends and that is refreshing.Now, for the heartbreaking part of this book, one of the main parts of the story revolves around this raw, painful and honest depiction of the relationship between Grace and her mother. Maggie, Grace's mother, is an unreliable parent, she's reckless, unpredictable and clueless, she puts her child in impossible situations and this part is so well-written that it's easy to feel and connect with Grace's anger, sadness and her feelings of helplessness. There's so many moments between Grace and Maggie that are so profundly heartbreaking that they make reading this book really hard. On the other hand, there's Eva, who's mother just passed away and this book explores grief in a devastating way. There's this scene in the beach when Grace and Eva first meet that it's so heartbreaking and raw, that it's hard to imagine how someone is able to write a scene that can make the reader feel so much. Another thing that it's magnificent in this book is the fact that as much as Grace makes Eva feel better, Eva's grief doesn't go away, it's always there and that so incredibly honest and sad.Overall, this was a fantastic book with a diverse cast of characters and a story that at times makes you feel devastated and at other times can be heartwarming.
    more
  • Maha Haggouch
    March 20, 2017
    i was sent a digital review copy of this book by the Publisher through netgalley. this doesn't affect my thoughts in any way.4.5 stars.to be honest, i did expect to love this book, but it went beyond my expections. it was amazing and i was close to crying (i didn't though, because i'm an stone-hearted little kid. i don't know why but i just don't usually cry in books/movies/tv shows. so being close to crying is really a ~THING~ for me). HOW TO MAKE A WISH delivers a deep message about the meanin i was sent a digital review copy of this book by the Publisher through netgalley. this doesn't affect my thoughts in any way.4.5 stars.to be honest, i did expect to love this book, but it went beyond my expections. it was amazing and i was close to crying (i didn't though, because i'm an stone-hearted little kid. i don't know why but i just don't usually cry in books/movies/tv shows. so being close to crying is really a ~THING~ for me). HOW TO MAKE A WISH delivers a deep message about the meaning of love and art, with a cute romance and a difficult mother/daughter relationship. what i liked + the diverse set of characters: HOW TO MAKE A WISH has a bisexual main character, a lesbian biracial black love interest, a moc as a side character, and many more diverse aspects i don't seem to think of right now. it was just melting my heart how most characters were part marginalized categories, and i just i just i just...(again, i didn't really cry, i'm just exaggerating because that's what most of you will do while reading it.)+ the explicity of it all: what i loved the most about HOW TO MAKE A WISH is that the author speaks to Teens as grown-ups. she didn't hide any thing, wrote every scene that needed to be there, including sexual content, swearing, etc., in a very explicit way. this is a thing that should me included more often in YA books, because teens need to understand and learn more about things that other authors usually censor/include only in NA and Adult books, which is, in my opinion, really sad.+ the writing style: i still haven't read the author's previous novel(s), so this writing style is kinda new to me, but i loved it. we get into the main character's mind easily, and reading it was like hearing someone standing next to me and sharing her story. it was amazing. what i didn't like: + the beginning: the only TINY LITTLE thing that i didn't like in this book is that i felt like the beginning of the book felt a little bit...rushed? i still fully understood everything in the story and easily got into it, but something about the way the main characters met...i don't know. maybe it's just me. i'm a maniac little kid when it comes to analysing (thanks to my last two french teachers).overall, HOW TO MAKE A WISH is definitely one of my faves of the year. EVERYONE should read it.HOW TO MAKE A WISH comes out on may 2nd, 2017.
    more
  • emma
    February 18, 2017
    ARC provided by netgalleyActual rating: 4 starsI absolutely loved this book. I've heard a lot about this, and it has been one of my most anticipated books of 2017. It did not let me down. Grace and Eva's stories were so well written - I felt a lot of pain while they were suffering and was hoping that everything would get better. I did not like at all that Grace let her mother away with so much, the entire time I was hoping that she would finally make a stand. I understand that (view spoiler)[ Gr ARC provided by netgalleyActual rating: 4 starsI absolutely loved this book. I've heard a lot about this, and it has been one of my most anticipated books of 2017. It did not let me down. Grace and Eva's stories were so well written - I felt a lot of pain while they were suffering and was hoping that everything would get better. I did not like at all that Grace let her mother away with so much, the entire time I was hoping that she would finally make a stand. I understand that (view spoiler)[ Grace did not want Eva to know what her relationship with her mother was like, but I hated the dishonesty and did not think it was fair of Grace to not warn Eva, especially when Eva had lost her own mother so recently. (hide spoiler)] I loved the relationship between Grace and Luca, and Emmy is honestly the best. The romantic plot was absolutely adorable, and I liked how Grace and Eva were together. What I also really enjoyed was Grace's bisexuality, how it was treated, and viewed as normal by the rest of the characters. This was a fun, light read and I will definitely reread in the future.
    more
  • Diep
    January 16, 2017
    This. Being this high, above everything, the world huge around us. Makes it seem like my life is small, you know? Like it's not the only thing. There's a lot more, more to be, more to experience. More to feel.Actual Rating: 4,5 starsGrace, a passionate seventeen year-old pianist, just wants to have a normal life. But having a trainwreck of a mother who drinks too much and who drags her from a new home to another in a short amount of time, a so-called "normal life" may not be possible. In fact, t This. Being this high, above everything, the world huge around us. Makes it seem like my life is small, you know? Like it's not the only thing. There's a lot more, more to be, more to experience. More to feel.Actual Rating: 4,5 starsGrace, a passionate seventeen year-old pianist, just wants to have a normal life. But having a trainwreck of a mother who drinks too much and who drags her from a new home to another in a short amount of time, a so-called "normal life" may not be possible. In fact, the roles are reversed: Her unreliable mother, Maggie, is HER responsibility. Grace has to make sure that the bills are getting paid, often by having several jobs at the same time. How is she supposed to focus on her audition for a music school in New York? On top of that, she meets the new girl who just moved into her best friend's house due to a tragedy. Their chemistry is undeniable. Feelings start to develop, but also new conflicts and complications.How to Make a Wish is definitely a character-driven book. What I appreciated was that none of the characters were two-dimensional. Each and every character, whether major or minor, had their own struggles and developed in their own pace throughout this book. You couldn't truly hate any of the characters, really. What I also found great was that none of the relationships between different characters were "perfect". Misunderstanding or miscommunication happen, but eventually, it got all sorted out. I cannot lie, I was so frustrated with Grace sometimes, but I truly understand her feelings and intentions behind her decisions. I just wanted to shake her and give her big ass hugs at the same time. (Thank you so much Blake for writing such a GOOD masturbation and sex scene. You know, we rarely get these explicit scenes in YA. We appreciate that AND you, Blake.)Of course, I cannot forget to mention the most important fact about this book (in my opinion). BIRACIAL and BISEXUAL representation. Yes folks, you heard me just fine. If your interest isn't peaked at the last sentence, then sorry, but I can't help you. This story was beautiful, raw, heartbreaking, complicated, messy, and so worth your time. You might need tissues for How to Make a Wish. Well, at least I did.**Thank you to Netgalley and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing for sending me an e-arc in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Alisha Klapheke
    September 14, 2016
    I LOVED this book. It was just beautiful. And now I want to live in a lighthouse.
  • Aditi Nichani
    March 20, 2017
    AS SEEN ON: A THOUSAND WORDS A MILLION BOOKS I received a review copy from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. I read Ashley Herring Blake’s debut novel, Suffer Love, last year and I REALLY loved it. It was quick paced, just the right amount of twisted and complicated and, well, a really enjoyable read. As soon as her new book was announced, I knew it was something I SIMPLY had to get my hands on. Biracial AND Bisexual characters? GIVE AS SEEN ON: A THOUSAND WORDS A MILLION BOOKS I received a review copy from the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. I read Ashley Herring Blake’s debut novel, Suffer Love, last year and I REALLY loved it. It was quick paced, just the right amount of twisted and complicated and, well, a really enjoyable read. As soon as her new book was announced, I knew it was something I SIMPLY had to get my hands on. Biracial AND Bisexual characters? GIVE IT TO ME NOW. I’ll be honest, it took me a while to get used to the characters in this book. For starters, I kept comparing How To Make A Wish to Suffer Love and I kept comparing Eva and Grace together to Sam and Hadley. A well done romance is a well done romance, and for some reason, Eva and Grace felt sort of chemistry-less. I thought that they made AMAZING CHARACTERS, filled with pain and insecurities individually, and EVEN AS FRIENDS, but for some reason, I couldn’t shake the feeling that that Chemistry was missing. It felt like they needed each other to survive the stuff going on in their lives but that’s about it. MORE THAN ANYTHING, the reason it took me so long to actually enjoy the book was Maggie, Grace’s mom. Usually, I wouldn’t even BELIEVE that a mother could be the way she did, but over these past few months, I’ve seen a friend go through something SO SIMILAR, that this sort of hit a raw nerve for me and all I was seeing was red. About twenty percent into the book, I got over my anger towards Grace’s mom and enjoyed the book.Ashley Herring Blake managed to capture grief with such clarity, it was heart-breaking. I love that Grace tapped out her pieces out any surface ever, because that is EXACTLY what I do when I’m learning a new piano piece. I love that there was SO MUCH HOPE, LOVE, FAMILY AND DESPAIR IN THIS BOOK. I love the peanut butter jokes, I loved the gnomes in compromising positions and I LOVED LUCA and Emmy. I was SO SO HAPPY that there was finally a boy-girl friendship that didn’t revolve around romance and was ACTUALLY FUN and filled with teasing and slight bodily harm. In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have been comparing both of Ashley Blake’s books, because they were both beautiful in their own way. A wonderful book on what it means to love after you lose the person you loved the most, and how to let go of someone you love. 4 stars.
    more
  • Monique
    December 9, 2016
    I fell in love with Ashley Herring Blake's writing since her debut "Suffer Love". Blake did not disappoint me with her sophomore book "How To Make A Wish". I spent the entire day reading this book. I love how she captures the different relationships Grace has with her mother Maggie and Eva. She has a way with making you feel the character's pain and struggles as you're reading. If you're a crier like me you might need a tissue or two. This book covers diversity well. What I like about this is th I fell in love with Ashley Herring Blake's writing since her debut "Suffer Love". Blake did not disappoint me with her sophomore book "How To Make A Wish". I spent the entire day reading this book. I love how she captures the different relationships Grace has with her mother Maggie and Eva. She has a way with making you feel the character's pain and struggles as you're reading. If you're a crier like me you might need a tissue or two. This book covers diversity well. What I like about this is that the characters already know their sexual preferences and not in the discovery point. Another great read by Ashley Herring Blake. Disclaimer: I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review