The Hearts We Sold
When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a demon—her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life—she finds the trade may have been more than she bargained for. And becoming “heartless” is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she could have ever imagined.With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something grows between them amid an otherworldy ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give someone her heart when it’s no longer hers to give?

The Hearts We Sold Details

TitleThe Hearts We Sold
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 8th, 2017
PublisherLittle, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN0316314595
ISBN-139780316314596
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy

The Hearts We Sold Review

  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 18, 2017
    This book was a huge surprise! Reading it reminded me of all the things I love about YA literature. Gah! I can't even form proper thoughts. I just adored it so very much.
  • Emily Lloyd-Jones
    March 22, 2017
    So. This book is a thing I wrote. And of everything I’ve written so far, it’s probably the hardest to describe. There are Faustian deals and Lovecraftian horrors, but mostly this book is about people. It’s about how the scariest monsters are often human and to escape those monsters we must leave parts of ourselves behind.I’m quite proud of this book, and I hope my readers will love it. (view spoiler)[ This book also contains hands-down the snarkiest, funniest character I’ve ever written and I ad So. This book is a thing I wrote. And of everything I’ve written so far, it’s probably the hardest to describe. There are Faustian deals and Lovecraftian horrors, but mostly this book is about people. It’s about how the scariest monsters are often human and to escape those monsters we must leave parts of ourselves behind.I’m quite proud of this book, and I hope my readers will love it. (view spoiler)[ This book also contains hands-down the snarkiest, funniest character I’ve ever written and I adore her so much. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    March 25, 2017
    I wonder what made them decide to completely change the cover model...I can only hope it was to show a more accurate representation of the main character.
  • Lily
    April 10, 2016
    Just finished it and it was soo good! I loved the characters, concept, and the plot line. It reminded me of Brimestone from the daughter of smoke and bone. It was impossible to put down, I even read it at work (good thing I work at a bookstore). This is a book worth selling your heart over. 100% recommend it to any YA readers and even people who don't like ya
    more
  • Sara Grochowski
    October 8, 2016
    Just binged this whole book on a rainy Saturday and oh my goodness - you all need this novel in your life. Experiencing a bit of a book hangover at the moment.
  • Mekiah Johnson
    March 22, 2017
    Not too into this sell-your-soul shit that is becoming rampant in everything nowadays. No thank you. I like a good story, but I don't need to hear about somebody selling their soul to the devil, and then go feed that to the young adult audience. I haven't read this book, but the synopsis makes me want to stay away from it as far as I can. Wow. Whoever came up with this should be extremely ashamed of themselves.
    more
  • Allie Akins
    December 17, 2016
    I didn't know if I would enjoy this book simply because the supernatural isn't something I'm typically interested in when it comes to books but I just love this. Its such a great story that was so well thought out. I, personally, think this would make an awesome movie as well. Overall, I just completely love this book and I feel like its a book that my students would like as well. It has everything that a good book needs! I will definitely recommend this to others.
    more
  • Tom Rogan
    February 2, 2017
    Goodreads giveaway winner...Thank you!
  • Courtney Haas
    March 24, 2017
    Make a deal with a Daemon and your heart's desires will come true at the cost of your most valuable organ. As promised, this is the story of the human condition and how getting what we want, isn't always what we need. I loved reading the intense trips into the void, the Daemon's wittily philosophical prose and learning of indestructible friendships.Who is this supernatural being who grants wishes and has a soft spot for humanity? When you lose a heart can you still fall in love? Emily Lloyd-Jone Make a deal with a Daemon and your heart's desires will come true at the cost of your most valuable organ. As promised, this is the story of the human condition and how getting what we want, isn't always what we need. I loved reading the intense trips into the void, the Daemon's wittily philosophical prose and learning of indestructible friendships.Who is this supernatural being who grants wishes and has a soft spot for humanity? When you lose a heart can you still fall in love? Emily Lloyd-Jones made my pulse jump along with the twists and turns of this heartwarming story.
    more
Write a review