I See London, I See France (I See London, I See France, #1)
I see London, I see FranceI see Sydney’s underpants. Nineteen-year-old Sydney has the perfect summer mapped out. She’s spending the next four and half weeks traveling through Europe with her childhood best friend, Leela. Their plans include Eiffel-Tower selfies, eating cocco gelato, and making out with très hot strangers. Her plans do not include Leela’s cheating ex-boyfriend showing up on the flight to London, falling for the cheating ex-boyfriend’s très hot friend, monitoring her mother’s spiraling mental health via texts, or feeling like the rope in a friendship tug-of-war. In this hilarious and unforgettable adventure, New York Times bestselling author Sarah Mlynowski tells the story of a girl learning to navigate secret romances, thorny relationships, and the London Tube. As Sydney zigzags through Amsterdam, Switzerland, Italy, and France, she must learn when to hold on, when to keep moving, and when to jump into the Riviera… wearing only her polka dot underpants.

I See London, I See France (I See London, I See France, #1) Details

TitleI See London, I See France (I See London, I See France, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062397079
ISBN-139780062397072
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

I See London, I See France (I See London, I See France, #1) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    June 3, 2017
    Oh wow I loved that. Absolutely loved it. This book was straight up fun. The characters were so hilariously real and the writing was strong enough that the whole story just breezed by. I seriously felt like I just traveled through Europe with some really good friends! I'll admit the cover and description made me a bit hesitant to pick this up. I was expecting something on the younger side of YA, but this was such a fun surprise. It's lighthearted, yet deals with some serious issues and never fee Oh wow I loved that. Absolutely loved it. This book was straight up fun. The characters were so hilariously real and the writing was strong enough that the whole story just breezed by. I seriously felt like I just traveled through Europe with some really good friends! I'll admit the cover and description made me a bit hesitant to pick this up. I was expecting something on the younger side of YA, but this was such a fun surprise. It's lighthearted, yet deals with some serious issues and never feels like it's talking down to the reader at all. And nothing felt like a plot device or forced or anything I usually get annoyed with... I cannot recommend this book enough. Basic plot: Sydney's a bit hesitant to go backpacking around Europe for the summer because she needs to care for her agoraphobic mother. (The book did a great job depicting what it's like to be a kid caring for a parent. I wanted to give it 5 stars for that alone). But Sydney's friend Leela broke up with her boyfriend and needs someone to travel with, so pretty soon they're on a plane to London. Aaaaand so is Leela's ex-boyfriend and his super hot friend who goes to the same college. They all keep running into each other and the story mostly turns into a lot of hilarious and gorgeous adventures.I saw another review that said this wasn't for high schoolers because the main characters swear, have sex, drink (legally, I might add), and smoke pot and go to a sex show in Amsterdam, but it sounds WAY more risque than it actually is when put together like that. Everything's done in such a realistic and/or comic way that it just sounded like the crazy travel stories of a lot of my friends. None of those activities were ever the main point... it was always character-driven. And everything had less detail than most YA books. Like the characters would kiss and then the scene ends (and even the kiss is barely described). This was definitely written for high schoolers and is nothing they aren't used to.This whole thing was completely charming and had such an optimistic sense of possibility to it. And I loved the characters so much! Leela was a little annoying in the middle, but I liked her in the end. Yeah, she might not have been the greatest friend at times, but all of the drama of chasing a guy across a continent and then breaking up with him again totally felt like something several of my friends would do. Sometimes I get irritated when stories focus purely on guy drama, but I guess the way this all played out worked for me. I just LOVED Sydney's narration and her reactions to everything. She spent the first day in London making little comments on how adorable everything was and it's basically like Elle Woods sees Europe for the first time. Her dialogue with Leela was so realistic that I totally felt like I was with two of my friends in Europe. Travel stories are usually hit or miss with me & this is definitely a new favorite!Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 26, 2017
    3.5/5 starsI See London, I See France is the first book in a new series. I believe that the next book will have different narrators, but be set in the same world (there was a small sneak peek at the end of this story which leads me to believe this).The book is being touted as Young Adult. But I'm not completely sure what I think about that. The main characters are all 19 and have completed one year of university. There are sex and drugs in this story. However, these scenes are not graphic (which 3.5/5 starsI See London, I See France is the first book in a new series. I believe that the next book will have different narrators, but be set in the same world (there was a small sneak peek at the end of this story which leads me to believe this).The book is being touted as Young Adult. But I'm not completely sure what I think about that. The main characters are all 19 and have completed one year of university. There are sex and drugs in this story. However, these scenes are not graphic (which they usually are in New Adult books).This book is a contemporary romance (IMO somewhere in between upper YA and NA). The narrator is 19 year old Sydney.The book is basically Sydney and her best friend Leela travelling around Europe for a month.One of the most interesting things about this book is that Sydney's mom has severe agoraphobia. I really enjoyed everything to do with this aspect of the storyline. And actually wished that it played an even bigger part of the story.The book started off okay for me. Leela has just broken up with her boyfriend Matt. Unfortunately both of these characters were not that appealing to me.While I didn't love Leela and Matt I did love two other characters (Sydney's friend Kat and Matt's friend Jackson). Also there were some Aussies in the book that I thought really added to the story.At the beginning of each new city is a basic description of what that city is known for. I found this really cute.The story wasn't bad. I just wanted more to happen. It was basically just two girls travelling. There was some romance. And I really did enjoy Sydney's romance. But the story ended too abruptly. It was just getting interesting. Perhaps some of these characters will appear in the next book. Although from the brief description it seems like there will be different narrators. Overall, I wish that the author had not rushed through the end. Thanks to edelweiss and HarperTeen for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    March 8, 2017
    This sounds like the perfect summer in the perfect summer book! I am looking forward to reading some summer-themed contemporaries this year and this one just screams, “pick me!” I have often enjoyed Mlynoswki’s YA novels and this series seems like a fun, upbeat type of read. Definitely one that I will have in my beach bag.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 4, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineWARNING! THIS IS NOT A BOOK FOR HIGH SCHOOL!!!NONONONONONONO!I love this author, I love books about traveling around Europe, but Sydney and her friend Leela travel around, smoke pot and see a sex show in Amsterdam, get drunk, and have sex. It made ME wildly uncomfortable. This isn't even for high school students, in my opinion. Definitely that New Adult category. Although not as much cursing. While I wish my own travels around Europe had included hot guy, t E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineWARNING! THIS IS NOT A BOOK FOR HIGH SCHOOL!!!NONONONONONONO!I love this author, I love books about traveling around Europe, but Sydney and her friend Leela travel around, smoke pot and see a sex show in Amsterdam, get drunk, and have sex. It made ME wildly uncomfortable. This isn't even for high school students, in my opinion. Definitely that New Adult category. Although not as much cursing. While I wish my own travels around Europe had included hot guy, this was WAY WAY WAY TOO MUCH INFORMATION! I think I need to go read some Anne of Green Gables now. Or Little Women. I'm done with Montgomery.
    more
  • Cocktails and Books
    June 8, 2017
    Cute story. Characters were just a little too immature for me (Leela...holy smokes!!). I would have liked to have know what happened with Jackson and Sydney, but overall you get what you get out of it (College student on the loose in Europe).
  • Anatea Oroz
    April 11, 2017
    If you're like me and all you want to do is travel the world and you have this epic dose of Wanderlust, this book will be a perfect read for you! Backpacking Europe is on a to-do list of - I'm pretty sure - 99% of the people. I mean who doesn't want to spend a summer in Europe?! I am lucky enough to live in Europe so I travel all around, all the time (See my Instagram), but Sydney and Leela only have one summer to do it. To spend a month traveling around Europe, where they visit some of the most If you're like me and all you want to do is travel the world and you have this epic dose of Wanderlust, this book will be a perfect read for you! Backpacking Europe is on a to-do list of - I'm pretty sure - 99% of the people. I mean who doesn't want to spend a summer in Europe?! I am lucky enough to live in Europe so I travel all around, all the time (See my Instagram), but Sydney and Leela only have one summer to do it. To spend a month traveling around Europe, where they visit some of the most amazing cities, meet amazing people and have lots of fun.This book describes backpacking so well. I really enjoyed following Sydney's adventures. Maybe this way of traveling won't be appealing for some, but this is how it really is. You will meet the most random people from all around the world. You will meet the hot guys you'll want to hook up with. You will make the most spontaneous plans and will probably go with the flow. You will be disappointed in some places and you'll be in love with other.I definitely recommend this book for all the travel-loving people!Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest
    more
  • Jen
    December 22, 2016
    If Anna and the French Kiss and Just One Day had a baby, it would look a lot like this book. But with less angst and more laughs. Sydney is nineteen, has just finished her first year of college, and is traveling through Europe on a last-minute trip with her childhood BFF Leela. She struggles to balance her need for a break from life and worrying about her mother and sister back home. Leela is no walk in the park either. Seriously, girlfriend is a Drama Queen with a capital D. Even fictional me w If Anna and the French Kiss and Just One Day had a baby, it would look a lot like this book. But with less angst and more laughs. Sydney is nineteen, has just finished her first year of college, and is traveling through Europe on a last-minute trip with her childhood BFF Leela. She struggles to balance her need for a break from life and worrying about her mother and sister back home. Leela is no walk in the park either. Seriously, girlfriend is a Drama Queen with a capital D. Even fictional me wanted to lose her (accidentally on purpose) several times along the way. I enjoyed seeing Sydney's growth from beginning to end, and even if I didn't agree with some of the choices she made, I understood why she was making them. I do wish we'd gotten a glimpse about what happens after the summer is over though. (For Jackson reasons.)Sarah's books never disappoint me and I'm looking forward to what comes next!
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    June 22, 2017
    If you a looking of a cheap way to visit Europe, look no further than I See London, I See France. This light and breezy read follows besties, Leela and Sydney, as they embark on a backpacking trip across Europe, and I found myself quite entertained. I really enjoyed Mlynowski's peek at each country. Some I had visited and some I had not, but I thought she did a great job highlighting some of features of each city the girls visited. I must say, my favorite part of each visit, were the food descri If you a looking of a cheap way to visit Europe, look no further than I See London, I See France. This light and breezy read follows besties, Leela and Sydney, as they embark on a backpacking trip across Europe, and I found myself quite entertained. I really enjoyed Mlynowski's peek at each country. Some I had visited and some I had not, but I thought she did a great job highlighting some of features of each city the girls visited. I must say, my favorite part of each visit, were the food descriptions. I found myself lusting for these edibles and actually quite hungry. This book has a pretty fun cast of characters. As the girls travel, they meet up with friends, old and new, and they let loose in that way that 19-year olds on their own do. One of my favorite chapters was when the gang was all together in France. It was fun seeing all the characters come interacting together. And seriously, I was totally won over by Jackson. He surprised me in a good way, and I hope that he will pop up on the second book. There are more substantial things in the book as well. Throughout the book, Sydney is dealing with her guilt from leaving her little sister to care for her agoraphobic mother. For the most part, I was really happy with what Mlyonwski did with this plot point. Another thing explored was how a friendship changes. Leela and Sydney went to different colleges, in different countries, and this trip marks the first time in a year that they had spent an appreciable time together. They have those growing pains that you would expect, and it is explored to some extent. But these are two examples of things I wished Mlynowski would have explored more. Speaking of the second book, I am really intrigued on where this is going. At the very end of this book, there is a little blurb, which implies that it will involve characters that were mentioned in this book, but not in this book. I do want to read their story, but I sort of hope to catch up with these characters too. Either way, I am pretty sure I will check out book 2, because this was overall a fun read, and I liked I said, I am interested to see what happens next. Overall: A fun NA romp through Europe infused with a little bit of drama and a lot of laughs. BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Deniz
    June 16, 2017
    3.5 StarsI see London, I see France was extremely well written and it has aspects I totally adored and then there are things I found not so great. Let me first warn you this is a more mature young adult. They do drink, they do make out and behave like a lot of 19year old do. In fact, I probably would rather call this New Adult. Not that I minded it, it's just that I somehow expected this to be for a younger audience, which is why I mention it.My biggest issue is a kind of odd on actually. I want 3.5 StarsI see London, I see France was extremely well written and it has aspects I totally adored and then there are things I found not so great. Let me first warn you this is a more mature young adult. They do drink, they do make out and behave like a lot of 19year old do. In fact, I probably would rather call this New Adult. Not that I minded it, it's just that I somehow expected this to be for a younger audience, which is why I mention it.My biggest issue is a kind of odd on actually. I wanted this to be more cute & fluffy. It was at times way more realistic than I bargained for. It hurt my heart to see Syd in her dilemmas and I was at times rather annoyed with the cast. Yet, on the other hand, I do like Mlynowski added some heavier themes to what would have been possibly something way to fluffy. The plot is a string of locations, lots of drinking, lots of boy talk, lots of planning and traveling...it's quite quirky and fast paced on first glance. Under it all lies the theme of Syd and her family problems. Traveling does change things somewhat for them, it is interesting to see how it does and how they all react to it. One aspect that Mlynoski did masterfully in my opinion. The end is a bit abrupt. It is open, not in a bad way. But I would have liked more closure for all the character. It seems there will be a second book, though I am not sure about whom it will and if it is about Syd at all. I guess we will have to wait and see. I do want more closure for Jack though.As someone who has been in all the locations Syd and Leela visit, I found it was clear Mlynowski has done her fair share of backpacking and she has been in Europe. It's funny how certain situations do happen to all of us. LOL. This is not a description of travelers, who go and discover places with fresh eyes... it is a story about backpacking teens and tweens. And in that Mlynowski gets it right. They go in search of adventure, love and with a list of rather cliche things, on a shoestring budget. I can say that because we all did it to some degree in our teens. It's an odd kind of traveling, I think you learn less about where you are and more about who you are. Though traveling does always essentially teach you about yourself. This reminded me why I have no interest in backpacking ever again and why I did so little of it. But I also think everyone should do one trip like it. I am not speaking about the fling or drinking aspect, I mean going out with a friend into the unknown and just discover a completely new place. A note to the tips at the beginning of the locations. It was a bit oddly formatted in my copy. I am aware that it can still change, I actually do hope it does, because as it is, I found it a bit unclear and very confusing at first. The tips themselves are quite hilarious, they are so firs time tourist. I kinda love it!I would say this is completely character driven. Mlynowski shines in character building usually. I see London, I see France is no exception.Did I like the characters? Not really, or not always. Most of them seemed shallow, self-involved and so immature. Then again we talking 19year olds. And if I think back, well I was a bit like that.. a lot immature, a little shallow at times and sadly a bit self-involved as well. ( I hope I am a bit better on all those fronts)While I liked Syd, her martyr act, annoyed me a lot! And I am aware, that she couldn't help it. I just wanted to smack her. Syd, in my opinion, is the best-written character in the novel, she felt the most real and I honestly feel like I know her, it's like I went traveling with her. Jack is my favorite character. Though he is still a bit of an enigma. He was always straight with Syd and I am still not happy with the ending he got. I wanted more for him, especially since he did put himself out there on several occasions. Leela, on the other hand, was my least favorite character. She is beyond self-involved and selfish, though she does redeem herself a bit in the end. Her behavior throughout the book was irritating, more so because I know women like her and I traveled with someone like her. So I guess Mlynowski did a great job at this character. I liked Kat but I feel like I don't really know her, other than she is nice and she is wealthy. The same can be said about Matt. He is a bit of an asshat, I kinda don't know anything about him. I feel similar about the rest of the traveling support cast. I think this is in part because Syd actually has no other relationship with them. They have fun together and that's that. Retrospectively I found it a bit odd that we know so little about Kat to be honest. I did enjoy the dynamic between Syd and her family. It was heavier than I bargained for somehow, but I also think that it is incredibly well done. Mlynowski put it out there, without any judgment, which left me pondering about the situation. I also understand Syd and where she is coming from. While I was reading the book it was not my favorite aspect, yet at the end it definitely is. It added depth and realism and it shed light on a situation, that many of us are unaware of. But mostly I love how Syd has to somehow let go. The romance was a bit insta, yet very cute. As I said in the beginning, not quite enough of it for me. An interesting novel, that was more thought provoking that expected. It is well written with a great sense of humor and I am looking forward to the next installment!
    more
  • Sara (sarabara081)
    June 24, 2017
    3.5 stars I believe. Not sure if I want to round up or down just yet. A cute travel story that made me insanely jealous of all the places I'll never get to personally experience but were lovely to travel to with these characters through the pages. I love Sydney's journey and I loved her little summer romance. Her traveling BFF was a bit much to handle and some travel moments felt a little slow but I thought this was a fun read in the end.
    more
  • Sandra
    November 6, 2015
    London? France? Falling in love with a guy you can't have?This is my book. Why is 2017 soooooo far away!?
  • Book
    December 31, 2016
    This was a little hit-and-miss for me. Being in the main character's head was kind of exhausting, but the story was fun enough to keep reading. So, I don't know.
  • Dayla
    June 23, 2017
    I received an egalley via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.This book had my emotions going in all different directions and not always in a good way. While the first quarter of the book was hilarious and fun, the middle of the book was riddled with an annoying negative friend, subtle manipulation, and way too many reminders of my own personal negative friendships. I was, however, amazed by what Sydney (the protagonist) and her sister had to do to help their mother. I love seeing more me I received an egalley via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.This book had my emotions going in all different directions and not always in a good way. While the first quarter of the book was hilarious and fun, the middle of the book was riddled with an annoying negative friend, subtle manipulation, and way too many reminders of my own personal negative friendships. I was, however, amazed by what Sydney (the protagonist) and her sister had to do to help their mother. I love seeing more mental illness explored in YALit. One other thing that really bugged me was the casual treatment of cheating. The topic would get thrown around way too easily and there's even a moment where suddenly it's okay to sort of cheat? Idgi.Also, the reader will never forget that the girls leave via Rome because of how many times we're reminded of the fact.I did like that despite this being part of a "series", I See London, I See France had a good sense of closure at the end with the main character. That being said, that hint for the next book feels like the casual use of cheating as a plot device will be a continued trope in this series. I don't know if I'm down for that. Despite all this and how horrible of a friend Leena is, I did like the main character (even though she was a bit of a pushover). She didn't have an easy life and I can kind of see how she felt near the end about everything. I'm just glad that there was some character development there. Honestly? I thought this book had a lot of hilarious moments, even though I hated a character. Every time Leena whined I wanted to reach in and slap her. Other than that, I loved the adventure and humour. I DO wish there would have been more details about the places they visited rather than just a "then this happened and this happened" recounting of their adventures. It felt kind of like I was reading a travel book without the personal touches.Would I recommend this? Sure. My issues with this book were probably more personal than a lot of other readers. I love YALit about travel and this was at times a fun read.Happy reading!
    more
  • Katelyn
    June 19, 2017
    This book hit the spot for me. College students Sydney and Leela spend their summer vacation backpacking around Europe. Leela was supposed to go with her boyfriend Matt, until Matt kissed someone else. Matt hasn't cancelled his plans though; he's traveling with his friend Jackson. Mlynowski's words ring true; every time Sydney and Leela go anywhere they have to stop to take selfies (take 3 more just in case) and post them on social media. This doesn't make Syd less loveable though, it just makes This book hit the spot for me. College students Sydney and Leela spend their summer vacation backpacking around Europe. Leela was supposed to go with her boyfriend Matt, until Matt kissed someone else. Matt hasn't cancelled his plans though; he's traveling with his friend Jackson. Mlynowski's words ring true; every time Sydney and Leela go anywhere they have to stop to take selfies (take 3 more just in case) and post them on social media. This doesn't make Syd less loveable though, it just makes her feel like a real person. This is a wonderful new book from one of my favorite chick lit authors. Light, enjoyable and realistic. This is a perfect summer read.
    more
  • Kate
    July 1, 2017
    So much fun! Reminded me a bit of 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson, with the fun and adventure, but Mlynowski also writes really well about female friendships. I love the growth of both Sydney and Leela (and Kat!) and I'm thrilled that this is a series (I have theories about what's going on in that camp!). I've previously only read Mlynowski's adult fiction (back in the early 2000s) so this is her first, but not the last, YA book I've tried. This could definitely fit into the New Adul So much fun! Reminded me a bit of 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson, with the fun and adventure, but Mlynowski also writes really well about female friendships. I love the growth of both Sydney and Leela (and Kat!) and I'm thrilled that this is a series (I have theories about what's going on in that camp!). I've previously only read Mlynowski's adult fiction (back in the early 2000s) so this is her first, but not the last, YA book I've tried. This could definitely fit into the New Adult (NA) category. Can't wait to meet the author (who's coming to our bookstore later this month)!
    more
  • lola
    May 3, 2017
    The language is pretty tame, but the sex show in Amsterdam, the pot smoking and drinking, and the general level of sexual content makes this for college students and up! I WON'T ACCEPT MY COUNTRY BEING GENERALIZED LIKE THIS. I'M GOING TO RIOT. (although it's pretty accurate and........I still want to read this book)
    more
  • Sumaya Musse
    May 31, 2017
    Overall, I enjoyed reading this book! For a full review, follow the link: https://suereadingcorner.wordpress.co...
  • Leah
    January 1, 2017
    I wanted to love this, and in some ways I did. The mental health aspect with Sydney's mom was probably my favourite part, and it seemed very well written, but everything else? UGH. It's not that this was a bad book, I just couldn't get on with the fact that Leela was a pretty awful friend to Sydney. If you make your best friend come with you on a European adventure, because your boyfriend dumped you, perhaps DON'T go running as soon as he comes calling? Because he's on the same trip? It was all I wanted to love this, and in some ways I did. The mental health aspect with Sydney's mom was probably my favourite part, and it seemed very well written, but everything else? UGH. It's not that this was a bad book, I just couldn't get on with the fact that Leela was a pretty awful friend to Sydney. If you make your best friend come with you on a European adventure, because your boyfriend dumped you, perhaps DON'T go running as soon as he comes calling? Because he's on the same trip? It was all Leela, Leela, Leela, and Sydney didn't get a look in and it irritated me big time. With friends like Leela who needs enemies, eh? Not to mention the bizarro spat between Leela and Kat (instigated by Leela) because Sydney made a friend at college. HOW BLOODY WELL DARE SHE, EH? Selfish mare. She should have just sat & pined for Leela, who goes to college in Montreal.Otherwise, the book was okay. I liked all the different destinations (although, next time please be aware that the word snog in England means french kissing, not just regular kissing) and not everyone in England eats fish & chips. And the French don't all smoke. It was kinda cliche, how every country literally had every cliche spouted whilst they were in it. I wanted a girl's backpacking trip through Europe, not a bloody drama with boys unworthy of either girl. Well, Matt didn't deserve Leela, but I loved Jackson. You can write a book without romance, though! Sydney did not have to kiss a boy in every city, for God's sake. This would have been so much fun if it was just Sydney, Leela & Kat discovering Europe's hidden gems. But it was ruined by boys, as per usual. And the ending. It appears there will be a sequel (actually it seems like it'll be a companion, set at camp?) but I mean TELL ME WHAT HAPPENED. Did Sydney's mom cope while her daughter was away? Were there any after-effects? What about Sydney's own anxiety that came and went at will and was just left.... with no answers? The ending was just so open, I just came up on this page that said "the end" and I'm like "The hell?" I actually didn't like this book as much as I thought I did. WHO KNEW.
    more
  • Kira Simion
    December 19, 2016
    That drama in the blurb tho.*hesitant, but intrigued*
  • Rachel Lightwood
    October 28, 2016
    ..I'm not sure how I feel about this cover yet, but I'm excited for a new Mlynowski book!
  • Jackie
    June 18, 2017
    This review was originally posted on http://fictionistmag.com/If you're yearning for a trip across Europe, but can't go -- or, even if you can -- I urge you to live vicariously through Syd and Leela in I See London, I See France. Best friends Syd and Leela end up going on a last-minute trip to Europe, thanks to Leela's boyfriend cheating on her. Syd rakes together enough cash to take his place on the trip, and everything is going smoothly... until Syd sees Leela's ex-boyfriend on the plane. With This review was originally posted on http://fictionistmag.com/If you're yearning for a trip across Europe, but can't go -- or, even if you can -- I urge you to live vicariously through Syd and Leela in I See London, I See France. Best friends Syd and Leela end up going on a last-minute trip to Europe, thanks to Leela's boyfriend cheating on her. Syd rakes together enough cash to take his place on the trip, and everything is going smoothly... until Syd sees Leela's ex-boyfriend on the plane. With his "man-whore" friend. That's all I'll give away, cross my heart! You need to read the book yourself to get any more plot details from me. Mlynowski's writing seems effortless, almost like you're along for the trip. There's so much detail, but Mlynowski includes it all without over-writing the settings or characters. And, speaking of the characters: If Leela and Matt are real enough that I was thoroughly annoyed with them, then they're well-written. I was rolling my eyes and getting frustrated right alongside Syd. Oh, and also, Jackson. Can I have one? Or five? I think I have a new book boyfriend, and damn, is he different from my usual fae fantasy ones.Speaking of which, I feel like it's a little important to note that I'm a fantasy lover. I pretty much exclusively read YA fantasy books, and haven't ever really loved contemporary in general. But I loved this book. Every adjective I could use to describe I See London, I See France doesn't seem to do it justice. It's lighthearted, but substantial. It's cute, but it isn't unrealistic or too cutesy. It's romantic, but at its core it's a story about friendship and travel.It's a book that made my summer better for its existence. Mlynowski did her research -- I felt like I was on that vacation. I felt like I would always have Amsterdam, too. I felt better about my boring summer after reading about Syd's. The characters are as vivid as the setting -- these 19-year-olds and 20-somethings grow throughout the book, and made me wish for a crazy group of Aussies to pull me out of my comfort zone. As much as Leela annoyed me throughout the book, she does grow and learn from her mistakes. Kat made me wish I could pluck her out of the book, fully formed, to be my best friend. Syd is remarkably similar to me, so I identified with her quite a bit -- which made my reading experience all the better, though I think even readers who don't completely identify with her would enjoy I See London, I See France. Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone. Go forth and read.
    more
  • Connie
    June 29, 2017
    Best friends Sydney & Leela went their separate ways for college, but reunite their summer after freshman year for an epic backpacking Europe trip. For Sydney, this is her first time away leaving her agoraphobic mother in the hands of her younger sister. Soon, their trip is interrupted by Leela's cheating ex and his hot friend. Mlynowski's book is a fun romp throughout Europe and a great armchair travel read. It brought so many memories of my own backpacking trip in Europe. The interactions Best friends Sydney & Leela went their separate ways for college, but reunite their summer after freshman year for an epic backpacking Europe trip. For Sydney, this is her first time away leaving her agoraphobic mother in the hands of her younger sister. Soon, their trip is interrupted by Leela's cheating ex and his hot friend. Mlynowski's book is a fun romp throughout Europe and a great armchair travel read. It brought so many memories of my own backpacking trip in Europe. The interactions between Sydney & Jackson were hot and loved their initial dialogue with each other. Also the cast of characters were pretty hilarious, especially the Aussies. Mlynowski definitely captured the backpacking culture well - you will meet random strangers from all over the world, some you want to make out with. Plans will be made and sometimes they fail. Also, you fall in love with new places and others don't measure up. Each chapter introduced the locations and intersperse in the story were tips about the location or country great for fueling the wanderlust. A fun bonus, Mlynowski alludes to various awesome books in the novel: One Day, My Brilliant Friend, and most specifically Daughter of Smoke of Bone (one of my favorites and why I wanted to go to Prague). Interwoven in the story is parts about Sydney's guilt of leaving her younger behind to take care of their agoraphobic mother. Additionally, this trip marks the first time Sydney & Leela have hung out together since Leela left for college. Mlynowski touches on those themes throughout the story, but I do wish that she explored Sydney & Leela's friendship a bit deeper. Also, the ending felt pretty rushed though it does drop hints on where she will be taking the next book. However, if you are looking for a fun, escapist read - this can be it. I will note that there are mentions of sex, drugs (pretty much pot only) & alcohol. In one part of the story, the teens end up seeing a sex show in Amsterdam. Their commentary of it is hilarious, by the way. In fact, the way this book handles those topics are either comic and/or realistic. The descriptions are pretty basic and never detailed.
    more
  • Lynne
    May 21, 2017
    Taking readers through various sites in Europe that Sydney and Leela visit, I See London, I See France is definitely geared towards a young adult/"teenaged" audience. Still I found the depiction of friends going on a backpacking trip to be quite relatable since Leela definitely isn't the perfect friend, but neither is Sydney and this imperfection makes the friendship all the more real in my opinion. Additionally, as a fellow Canadian I loved all the nods to Canada in the novel as they aren't alw Taking readers through various sites in Europe that Sydney and Leela visit, I See London, I See France is definitely geared towards a young adult/"teenaged" audience. Still I found the depiction of friends going on a backpacking trip to be quite relatable since Leela definitely isn't the perfect friend, but neither is Sydney and this imperfection makes the friendship all the more real in my opinion. Additionally, as a fellow Canadian I loved all the nods to Canada in the novel as they aren't always common in YA novels. However, since Matthew (Leela's ex-boyfriend) and his friend, Jackson are both from Canada and Leela attends McGill University (in Montreal) with them there were several references made to the Great North.I See London, I See France made me even more excited to travel as I enjoyed living vicariously through Leela, Sydney and eventually Kat as they went around exploring all that Europe has to offer. If you're about to embark on a Europe trip and are looking for an amusing read to get you in the mood or even if you love YA novels featuring travel but don't want any of the typical angst, then I See London, I See France is the perfect vacation read for you!
    more
  • Salla (booksonal)
    June 10, 2017
    *ARC kindly provided by the publisher, Harper Collins, in exchange for an honest review!*Full review at: http://booksonal.blogspot.fi/2017/06/...><><Stars: ✦✦✦✧✧So as usual, I'll tell 3 things I liked about the book and 2 things I didn't like.So what did I think?+1 | The idea and premise is fun, simple, light, quick and quirky - so an entertaining summer read+1 | Like many summery contemporary books it focuses on traveling, but I liked how it also talked about the annoying things in *ARC kindly provided by the publisher, Harper Collins, in exchange for an honest review!*Full review at: http://booksonal.blogspot.fi/2017/06/...><><Stars: ✦✦✦✧✧So as usual, I'll tell 3 things I liked about the book and 2 things I didn't like.So what did I think?+1 | The idea and premise is fun, simple, light, quick and quirky - so an entertaining summer read+1 | Like many summery contemporary books it focuses on traveling, but I liked how it also talked about the annoying things in traveling and all the mundane things as well - like getting your tube pass and it costing money when you exchange money...+/-0.5 | I liked the characters as people well enough but definitely wasn't agreeing with some of the things they did+/-0.5 | The writing style took getting used to with it's shorter sentences, but I loved how the author used a lot of intertextuality!-1 | In my opinion it focused too much on all the relationshipsRead on lovelies,S
    more
  • Sarah
    June 12, 2017
    I got this as an eARC through Edelweiss. Sydney and her best friend Leela go on a backpacking trip through Europe, but they find that Leela's cheater ex-boyfriend is going on the same trip. The two keep bumping into Matt, the ex, and his travel buddy, Jackson. Sparks are flying between Sydney and Jackson, but how will that all work out with Leela and Matt. This steamy romance novel travels all throughout Europe with perfect backdrops. Sydney is consistently brought back to reality when her agora I got this as an eARC through Edelweiss. Sydney and her best friend Leela go on a backpacking trip through Europe, but they find that Leela's cheater ex-boyfriend is going on the same trip. The two keep bumping into Matt, the ex, and his travel buddy, Jackson. Sparks are flying between Sydney and Jackson, but how will that all work out with Leela and Matt. This steamy romance novel travels all throughout Europe with perfect backdrops. Sydney is consistently brought back to reality when her agoraphobic mother and younger sister are having trouble coping without her. Can Sydney finally take care of herself?This book is sufficiently new adult and reads different than many of the other Mlynowski books that I have read. However, I loved the characters of this book and the plot. I am a sucker for a Euro-trip, summer romance, and bookish references. I can't wait for the next in the series and have a new TBR list from this book.
    more
  • Cambear
    June 20, 2017
    Travel, romance, Belgian waffles...it's a fun jaunt through Europe with lots of cute guys. It's a breezy read that picks up once the travel begins. There's lots of fun details about all the different destinations and this really captures the thrill of traveling through Europe with an open agenda. There's also a lot of swoons as Sydney meets a bunch of cute boys who definitely perk up the trip. Lots of fun.Sydney's friend Leela is hung up on her ex who happens to keep showing up on their travels. Travel, romance, Belgian waffles...it's a fun jaunt through Europe with lots of cute guys. It's a breezy read that picks up once the travel begins. There's lots of fun details about all the different destinations and this really captures the thrill of traveling through Europe with an open agenda. There's also a lot of swoons as Sydney meets a bunch of cute boys who definitely perk up the trip. Lots of fun.Sydney's friend Leela is hung up on her ex who happens to keep showing up on their travels. Leela is needy, immature and a horrible travel companion. Not fun, but good for adding drama.Note: Sydney is in college so her story is a bit mature for YA.A great, fluffy summer read!Thanks to the publisher for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Becky
    June 15, 2017
    I received an eARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. Sydney just finished her freshman year at the University of Maryland and to celebrate she and her best friend Leela are going to take the ultimate back backing trip to Europe. Everything is going to be perfect. Except Sydney has to worry about her younger sister being able to take care of their agoraphobic mother, Leela's cheating ex-boyfriend, Matt, crashes their first locations, and Sydney may be falling for Matt's player best fr I received an eARC of this book in exchange of an honest review. Sydney just finished her freshman year at the University of Maryland and to celebrate she and her best friend Leela are going to take the ultimate back backing trip to Europe. Everything is going to be perfect. Except Sydney has to worry about her younger sister being able to take care of their agoraphobic mother, Leela's cheating ex-boyfriend, Matt, crashes their first locations, and Sydney may be falling for Matt's player best friend Jackson. This was a super cute book that was a really fast read. Sydney's misadventures in Europe and in love are at times hilarious and realistic. I enjoyed the story and look forward to the sequel.
    more
  • Ms. Kahn
    June 25, 2017
    This was an easy to read fun romp through Europe with two 19 year old girls traveling together. Yes, there are mature themes, but nothing is described too graphically. It seemed like what would happen on a European trip. I would not recommend this to my middle school students, but I would to the high schoolers.
    more
  • Christianna Marks
    June 29, 2017
    Review coming soon!
  • Sandy
    June 19, 2017
    Fun read but plot was predictable.
Write a review