Sex Criminals, Vol. 3
As seen on Late Night With Seth Meyers! The Eisner- and Harvey Award winning raucous sex comedy that Time magazine called the Comic of the Year and Apple called "inappropriate for sale on iOS devices" returns in Sex Criminals, Volume Three: Three the Hard Way. So it turns out Jon and Suzie aren't alone ― other people around the world, like them, freeze time when they climax. A self-appointed group wants to regulate and control them through fear and intimidation. Jon and Suzie are falling in love and want their freak flags to fly, but if they're going to fight back they can't do it alone. And really, isn't that a metaphor for the whole series? That we might all be alone but we're all alone together? I think so. If you read only one comic with a semen-demon in it this year, please make it Sex Criminals, Volume Three: Three the Hard Way.“I wouldn’t trust most comic creators to turn a sexual awakening into compelling pulp fiction, but Fraction and Zdarsky pull it off masterfully.” –Paste MagazineCollecting: Sex Criminals 11-15

Sex Criminals, Vol. 3 Details

TitleSex Criminals, Vol. 3
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 15th, 2016
PublisherImage Comics
Number of pages160 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Fiction, Fantasy, Graphic Novels Comics

Sex Criminals, Vol. 3 Review

  • Raeleen Lemay
    February 17, 2016
    This was definitely the most meta of all the volumes so far! Not a whole lot happened, but it was still enjoyable enough.
  • HFK
    July 11, 2016
    My journey of catching up with the graphic series I have devoted myself to is going strong, even when I have still miles to go. I do like these busy seasons when I can only dedicate myself to little reading that doesn't require hours of sitting and concentration from me, something I am absolutely unable to give and deliver, because these are the times I can fully savor books with pictures. As they say.Third volume of Sex Criminals did not live up to its previous installments, all of them worth a My journey of catching up with the graphic series I have devoted myself to is going strong, even when I have still miles to go. I do like these busy seasons when I can only dedicate myself to little reading that doesn't require hours of sitting and concentration from me, something I am absolutely unable to give and deliver, because these are the times I can fully savor books with pictures. As they say.Third volume of Sex Criminals did not live up to its previous installments, all of them worth a solid 5 stars. As you can see, I have knocked down 2 shiny stars, which would usually mean a rabid downhill from now on, but I am hesitant to agree with because this volume had lots of good, lots of excellent, and lots of funny.I understand that Mr. Fraction had a personal mourning during the time he was creating successor to the second volume, and I also understand all the delays and problems that Three the Hard Way had before it finally got published. Considering all that, I think what Fraction accomplished here is astonishing, but also explains why this volume is such a high experience of meta (which is not a bad thing at all), and why it loses its grip and makes it read disjointed and often very difficult to comprehend.This is very much character driven episode, there is not much development within the story, but there is a lot of new characters and tricks to introduce. I was not personally a fan of all the new tricks but I am not completely turned off by them either. There is a lot of sexual criticism from a point of view of the society, and it does hit on the nail with many of them. It gives food for a thought when comes to sexuality and our ways of dealing with something we find to be out of the box even when it is not, on the contrary.That still keeps being the strongest part of these comics, the ability to explore and explain sexuality in a higher levels, which is something this world seems to lack despite of all the fancy education that is available for us, the ordinary folks.I do enjoy Fraction's way of including himself to the process in the pages of this volume even when it makes it feel like an easy way out, but it brings him closer to us readers, makes readers to be a part of his creative working methods. The art keeps being wonderful, and so suitable to the subject matter, and it is one of the elements that strongly keeps this volume together even in those times when it is falling apart with words. I am still eagerly awaiting the next volume, and am hoping for the team to get back on track, back in the mood.
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    April 28, 2016
    The third volume of Sex Crimz sees Matt Fraction have some kind of breakdown in the middle of the book – literally, as he writes himself into it having a convo with Chip Zdarsky - as he basically gets bored writing the series. What else happens? Jon and Suzie are being pursued by Kegelface and her cronies - still - with zero progression, and a lot of tiny, totally boring developments occur: Ana and Suzie don’t get along! Robert Rainbow’s intimidated by Rachelle’s sexual experiences! Kegelface is The third volume of Sex Crimz sees Matt Fraction have some kind of breakdown in the middle of the book – literally, as he writes himself into it having a convo with Chip Zdarsky - as he basically gets bored writing the series. What else happens? Jon and Suzie are being pursued by Kegelface and her cronies - still - with zero progression, and a lot of tiny, totally boring developments occur: Ana and Suzie don’t get along! Robert Rainbow’s intimidated by Rachelle’s sexual experiences! Kegelface is banging Jon’s shrink to get info on Jon! Yikes, that’s the best Fraction can muster? Looks like Sex Crimz is going the route of Chew. Chew once had an actual storyline and then as it went on each book became about new weird foodie powers only; in Sex Crimz, it’s now all about the new sex powers. Meet an orderly whose sperm takes the form of a sentient anime character and an asexual businesswoman who can jump off tall buildings and produces some kind of force field that keeps her from going splat...? I suppose they’re kinda interesting, the guys introducing more colours of the sexual rainbow but their intros do slow down an already glacial-paced narrative even further. There’s an overly long dreary lecture from Ana Kincaid on what’s “normal” that’ll put you to sleep; Suzie’s set up small stands - “mini libraries” - around the city filled with the books from her former library, a twee concept that feels like it would only work in a city like Portland, where Fraction happens to live; and Jon says “I love you” to Suzie - cue dramatic nonsense! Really? Since when did Sex Crimz get Friends-level sitcom bad? Oh, since now. Dear me. The meta stuff was novel at first but now it feels like Fraction irritably getting out of boring corners he keeps writing himself into. A scene where a character goes to a grocery store is just white text on black background explaining how tedious and unnecessary the scene is and let’s just move on - so why even have that scene in the first place? He uses this device again to get out of all the exposition needed to get Jon’s shrink up to speed on what’s happening in a scene. I get the convenience of it but it still makes the book feel lazy and tossed off. What annoyed me was the scene where Ana and Suzie confronted each other on their mutual dislike. I understand going all meta to get out of writing redundant dialogue, especially when this contrived antagonism is such a snoozefest, but why even have Ana dislike Suzie at all if you can’t be bothered to write the conflict in the first place? The theme of the book is supposedly about morality and who’s in the wrong but this key scene exploring this theme is blanked out with Fraction appearing in the comic going full-neurotic to Zdarsky on the phone instead. It comes across as pointless and self-sabotaging. Breaking the fourth wall was fun for the Queen sequence in the first book but this time around it feels like Fraction’s becoming more frustrated with the series rather than having fun with it. The frustration shows when Suzie decides she doesn’t want to be a sex criminal anymore… which is kinda the whole point of the series!Three the Hard Way sees Sex Criminals take an unfortunate turn for the dull. I still like the characters, the concept and the art, I just wish there’d been a story in this one rather than a load of directionless nothing. Kurtis Wiebe announced the weekend before last that Rat Queens was going on hiatus for the foreseeable future - maybe Sex Crimz should do the same until Fraction’s figured out what he wants from the series?
    more
  • Ivan
    September 25, 2015
    2.5 stars.Sex criminals started as cool ultra liberal graphic novel with strange premise but it's slowly losing it's charm.This volume had some seriously weird moments and not in a good way and story makes practically no progression.It's still ok-ish but overall volume 3 felt like filler between two more interesting volumes.
    more
  • Trina (Between Chapters)
    August 13, 2016
    3.5 starsWhat I loved:-Meta narration.-Amazing characters.-Diversity. An asexual character was introduced in this volume and her introduction was perfect. I love how even though this story is about a 'sex power,' there is still a role for an ace character that isn't tied to sex.-Expanding world.-Continued sex positivity, body positivity, feminism, discussions on mental health.-Particularly great discussion on the recent history of female sexuality.What I didn't like:-What's so frustrating to me 3.5 starsWhat I loved:-Meta narration.-Amazing characters.-Diversity. An asexual character was introduced in this volume and her introduction was perfect. I love how even though this story is about a 'sex power,' there is still a role for an ace character that isn't tied to sex.-Expanding world.-Continued sex positivity, body positivity, feminism, discussions on mental health.-Particularly great discussion on the recent history of female sexuality.What I didn't like:-What's so frustrating to me about this series is that it has some GREAT moments. Truly great messages. But then you turn the page to find the most childish adult humor. I feel like it undermines itself, and at 3 volumes in I'm getting kind of bored of that. I think this is too serious for people who just want an adult sex comedy, but too graphic for people who want the more serious side. It's a hard mix. I think I'm too much of a prude for it to be honest. I find myself living for the social commentary of this series, but cringing at how many penis drawings I have to wade through to get it.
    more
  • Michelle Morrell
    October 29, 2016
    Now that they know they're not unique in the world, they're off to find others of their kind. Man, you really don't want to know some of the manifestations of others's secret sex world. Nope, no you don't. Still funny and irreverent and clever. I will have to own these eventually.
    more
  • Artemiy Nizovtsev
    December 14, 2015
    Sex Criminals has been through a rough patch in the past year and a half. Most importantly, Matt Fraction's father passed away during that time, which obviously affected his work. The guy was smitten.Also, the comic itself had some problems — all of the issues in this arc came out with alternative, very NSFW covers by superstar guest artists, like Brian Lee O'Malley, Kate Leth, Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez. Each NSFW issue had to be polybagged, and their polybagging machine broke like fifty thous Sex Criminals has been through a rough patch in the past year and a half. Most importantly, Matt Fraction's father passed away during that time, which obviously affected his work. The guy was smitten.Also, the comic itself had some problems — all of the issues in this arc came out with alternative, very NSFW covers by superstar guest artists, like Brian Lee O'Malley, Kate Leth, Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez. Each NSFW issue had to be polybagged, and their polybagging machine broke like fifty thousand times, which also resulted in huge delays. A lot of other stuff happened, but what I am trying to say is, the book has been on a long hiatus after a long hiatus with huge pauses in between, and all of these things inevitably affect the story. There is even a scene in this book where the fourth wall completely breaks, and we see a dialogue between Fraction and Zdarsky, where Matt is being miserable about himself and about the book, and Chip is being a dick that he is, haha (sorry, chum). The whole scene is pretty funny, but it's also kind of worrying and depressing.No, don't get me wrong, the comic is still brilliant, clever and funny as hell. The plot doesn't move a ton in this volume, focusing more on characters. And those are some great characters, they always feel like real people. And real people go through shitty stuff, sometimes. This is kind of the main theme of the arc.Anyway, I still love this series to bits. It's one of the books that got me properly into comics a couple of years ago, and I am eternally grateful. It still has some of my favourite characters ever. And there is still nothing like it. I thought I would criticise this volume a bit in this review, but damn, I love Sex Criminals too much. Yes, this volume is nowhere near as good as the first two. But I will stick with it to the end. And I really hope Fraction's life gets better. The dude deserves it.
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    October 2, 2016
    This series has continued to go from strength to strength in both plot and the density of topics covered. I stated in my review of the last installment that I liked the depth of the subjects covered, and this third volume has completely upped the ante in that department! This still has scenes that vary from the hilarious to the sexually promiscuous, but these are offset with more atmospheric and text-dense scenes, that focus on more hard-hitting topics. I loved everything about this, from the me This series has continued to go from strength to strength in both plot and the density of topics covered. I stated in my review of the last installment that I liked the depth of the subjects covered, and this third volume has completely upped the ante in that department! This still has scenes that vary from the hilarious to the sexually promiscuous, but these are offset with more atmospheric and text-dense scenes, that focus on more hard-hitting topics. I loved everything about this, from the meta narrative and the complex character construction to the ingenuity of plot and the positivity it dedicated to sex and sexuality. My only grievance is that this created more questions than it answered. I have so many things I need to know! *eagerly awaits volume four*
    more
  • Ashley
    December 28, 2016
    Definitely not my favorite of the series. There seemed to be a lot of filler in this one and the story didn't really progress all that much. However, this is easily still one of the most entertaining and bizarre comics I've read.
  • Ashley
    December 11, 2015
    Vol. 3, or the one where Sex Criminals goes even more meta than usual.This series is probably the weirdest ongoing thing I read by quite a large margin, but it's so kindhearted and earnest and willing to take chances, I just very much want everyone to give it a go. I'm trying right now to get my book club to read the first volume, so we'll see about that (I think some of them might read it with their hands over their mouths in a state of perma-shock, and the thought makes me giggle). (I'm sorry, Vol. 3, or the one where Sex Criminals goes even more meta than usual.This series is probably the weirdest ongoing thing I read by quite a large margin, but it's so kindhearted and earnest and willing to take chances, I just very much want everyone to give it a go. I'm trying right now to get my book club to read the first volume, so we'll see about that (I think some of them might read it with their hands over their mouths in a state of perma-shock, and the thought makes me giggle). (I'm sorry, now I'm just picturing my one very proper friend getting to the panel with the Dildo Throne.)This trade is basically the living embodiment of identity crisis.* I mean, it's just an extended meditation on how finding out who you are isn't enough, if enough people are constantly trying to tell you that who you are is wrong or monstrous, or abnormal. The first two volumes of this series were a celebration of sex as something that shouldn't be hidden behind closed doors, as something natural and magical. This one goes further, and if doesn't quite get to celebratory, it's only because it's not possible to do so and remain true to its subject. This comic's thing (and it's a thing I agree with) is that there is no "normal." Normality is a myth, and a prevalent one, and when someone deviates at all from the perceived norm, a lot of harm can come from trying to squash the monstrous deviation and fit in.*After writing this review, I read that Matt Fraction's father died while he was writing this, and that's partially the reason this one turned out the way it did. YMMV. And that's just the plot. Fraction and Zdarsky go all meta, as noted before, questioning their own premise. What to do about a series called "Sex Criminals" when your two main characters no longer wish to commit crimes?This one has gotten mixed reviews, but I really enjoyed it. I liked the way they used their art to work through some stuff, instead of attempting to do the norm and possibly fail miserably, they did something new that felt right, and I think it worked. And now once again, I wait.
    more
  • Kayla (BOOKadoodles)
    July 10, 2016
    I've been looking forward to reading this volume for over a year, but honestly nothing really happened in this installment. The series has always been a bit self-aware, but this volume was meta to the point of crappy writing. I did appreciate the concepts of sexual judgment presented in this arc, but not much else. It's unfortunate, I was really loving this series. I will still be continuing with volume four for sure, I need to know what happens to the characters at this point.
    more
  • Julie Ehlers
    December 1, 2016
    That was weird. I wonder where all this is going?
  • Maria (Big City Bookworm)
    August 21, 2015
    Warning: May contain spoilers if you have not read Sex Criminals Volume 1 & 2.—Okay. This was fucking hilarious…excuse my french. I don’t think I’ve giggled that hard while reading anything in recent memory.The story basically picks up where we left of at the end of the second volume. Suzie and Jon have discovered that they are not the only two people who can freeze time when they climax. Yeah, you read that right, Sex Criminals is a comic about people that can literally stop time when they Warning: May contain spoilers if you have not read Sex Criminals Volume 1 & 2.—Okay. This was fucking hilarious…excuse my french. I don’t think I’ve giggled that hard while reading anything in recent memory.The story basically picks up where we left of at the end of the second volume. Suzie and Jon have discovered that they are not the only two people who can freeze time when they climax. Yeah, you read that right, Sex Criminals is a comic about people that can literally stop time when they orgasm. The premise alone was quirky enough to get me to pick up the first volume almost 3 years ago now, but I can assure you that there is so much more to this story than a great premise.It’s hilarious and honestly one of the funniest comics I have ever read. On top of that, there are also a few more serious moments in which Jon and Suzie deal with relationship issues and moral dilemmas.In typical Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky fashion, we get a little bit of fourth wall breaking hilarity. In one amazing scene Chip Zdarsky actually illustrates a conversation between himself and Matt Fraction in which they are discussing how a scene is going to play out and it is literally comedic gold. I’ve never seen that done within a comic before.While this volume felt a bit like a filler, to connect a few story lines and introduce new characters, it made up for it in honest to goodness comical genius. This volume introduces a new mysterious character. The only thing that we know about her is that she’s asexual and that she has a bit of a chip on her shoulder. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything with asexual representation before, so that should be exciting in upcoming issues/volumes.Also, am I the only one that felt as though this volume was a lot more rated R than previous issues? I mean…maybe it was just me but, there was a lot more full frontal this time around right?!This comic series is definitely one to read if you’re looking for a few laughs mixed in with some serious drama. Sex Criminals, Volume 1 was the first ever comic bind-up I had ever purchased and read and it definitely paved the way for my current comic and graphic novel obsession. I can’t wait to continue with this series!--Initial post reading thoughts:This was hilarious. There were so many moments that actually had me giggling out loud. I love the fourth wall breaking hilarity within this volume! The only minor issue I had was the introduction of new characters without any real explanation as to who they were leaving us with a cliffhanger. I felt like this volume was more of a filler, but it made up for it in comedic hilarity.
    more
  • Chris
    November 17, 2016
    It sticks out like a sore thumb in the middle of this hilarious and incredibly meta volume, but Three The Hard Way contains one of the best single chapters i've ever read. 'BACE' is a thoughtful introduction of new character Alix and is so well written that I found her almost immediately endearing. Her story still contains humour (view spoiler)[Her attempted blowjob had me in stitches, Chip Zdarsky deserves another Harvey award for the facial expressions during that scene alone. (hide spoiler)] It sticks out like a sore thumb in the middle of this hilarious and incredibly meta volume, but Three The Hard Way contains one of the best single chapters i've ever read. 'BACE' is a thoughtful introduction of new character Alix and is so well written that I found her almost immediately endearing. Her story still contains humour (view spoiler)[Her attempted blowjob had me in stitches, Chip Zdarsky deserves another Harvey award for the facial expressions during that scene alone. (hide spoiler)] but Matt Fraction shows just how well he can write the characters that give the series substance.Unfortunately, humour aside, the rest of the volume seemed a bit 'off'. The absence of a strong narrative arc made it feel like Fraction was jumping between scenes at times. I know the final two issues were heavily delayed for personal reasons, but the book felt unfocused as a whole. As funny as the meta stuff is, there's so much of it that it can detract from what's actually going on in the book.Fortunately, I also found Three The Hard Way the funniest entry in the series yet. There are some truly ridiculous gags in here (I'll just put 'hey' and anyone who's read the book will know what I mean...then hate me for reminding them) and I still laugh when I think back on them now. The interview with the 'real-life models' for Suzie and Jon has it's moments, too.It may be flawed, but crucially the first things that spring to mind when I think of Three The Hard Way are Alix's story and how much I enjoyed the humour. Chip Zdarsky's artwork is as strong as ever and the ending left me wanting more, too. I just hope that when Vol. 4 arrives, some of the meta fat has been trimmed and there's a great story to sink my teeth into instead.
    more
  • Dimitris
    September 2, 2016
    It's sad but this series is getting worse and worse, issue after issue... I like both creators but they lost control of what's happening what was happening.. or they seem that they're pretty bored with the title and don't even try anymore.Let me say that it has lost its premise. It's gone. Anything and everything that was "promised" on volume 1 and anything that was interesting and made volume 1 SO good is.. gone!The artwork stays great. The story is gone. I may be interested to buy the next vol It's sad but this series is getting worse and worse, issue after issue... I like both creators but they lost control of what's happening what was happening.. or they seem that they're pretty bored with the title and don't even try anymore.Let me say that it has lost its premise. It's gone. Anything and everything that was "promised" on volume 1 and anything that was interesting and made volume 1 SO good is.. gone!The artwork stays great. The story is gone. I may be interested to buy the next volume on sale just cuz I'm curious but that's it. Sadly, the main plot is going nowhere for the last 10 issues or so. The couple was getting ready to form a team or some shit and we were getting these stupid flashbacks and stupid filler with new characters for so many issues and now Suze is BORED. She just don't wanna rob banks anymore and shit.Great stuff huh?Anyway, a joke here and there that makes you exhale through your nose.. and that's it. When your letters page is funnier than your book, you have a problem.I'd say I hope it gets better but it's not interesting to me anymore.
    more
  • Liz Janet
    April 27, 2016
    His therapist is just as bad as he is.I did a thing: SEX CRIMINALS AND SEX EDUCATION IN AMERICA | DISCUSSION
  • Kim Dyer
    June 25, 2016
    I didn't think that this trade was as good as the previous ones. The plot just kind of stalled, not really developing or revealing anything beyond what has already been established. This one was also a lot more meta, more so that usual. Several scenes are "missing", their contents just described in little black boxes and at one point the comic abruptly stops as instead of the action, we are show a lengthy conversation between Fraction and Zdarsky.I did like the addition of the asexual character I didn't think that this trade was as good as the previous ones. The plot just kind of stalled, not really developing or revealing anything beyond what has already been established. This one was also a lot more meta, more so that usual. Several scenes are "missing", their contents just described in little black boxes and at one point the comic abruptly stops as instead of the action, we are show a lengthy conversation between Fraction and Zdarsky.I did like the addition of the asexual character to the cast though. Although they don't really feature much in this novel, it's an interesting idea and it's always nice to see representation of this group in fiction.
    more
  • Shadowdenizen
    June 24, 2016
    I love both Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarksy. (In a platonic way, of course, never having met either of them.)And I love Sex Criminals (the comic.)But, this arc kinda left me feeling underwhelmed. The first 2 arcs laid out the basic premise, and escalated that premise. This arc didn’t really especially add anything to the saga (IMO), and it feels like we’re losing momentum as the stated premise begins to wear a bit thin.And I totally didn’t get the “Creator-Conversation” bit in the middle. I’m n I love both Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarksy. (In a platonic way, of course, never having met either of them.)And I love Sex Criminals (the comic.)But, this arc kinda left me feeling underwhelmed. The first 2 arcs laid out the basic premise, and escalated that premise. This arc didn’t really especially add anything to the saga (IMO), and it feels like we’re losing momentum as the stated premise begins to wear a bit thin.And I totally didn’t get the “Creator-Conversation” bit in the middle. I’m not a fan of breaking the 4th wall, and this just seemed too “High-Art” for me? [And this, from someone who struggled through all 16 volumes of [book:Cerebus|198462]!]I’m sticking with the title for now, however, in the hopes that we get a creative resurgence in Volume 4. (And it anyone can do that, it’s Fraction & Zdarsky!)
    more
  • Reg Mars
    January 6, 2017
    These comics are ridiculous and I enjoy that but this one just fell flat for me. I just didn't enjoy it as much as the other 2 volumes. There was one point in this where the authors were talking to each other and it really took me out of the element of the actual story. I found myself skipping through it cause I just didn't care. Overall it was okay. I'll be waiting for the next volume to come out.
    more
  • Jedi JC Daquis
    July 27, 2016
    Matt and Chip are definitely having a crazy fun time with Sex Criminals volume three. But sadly, the charm and uniqueness of the material does not really connect with me. Is it just me or Sex Criminals has lost it? Muddled with metas, 4th wall breaks, and disjointed back stories, reading the book just became a lazy routine foreplay that doesn't reach the climax rather than an orgasmic one-of-a-kind experience.
    more
  • Pam (The Girl Who Cried Books)
    September 3, 2016
    This comics. This. It explores the many facets of sex and sexuality with humor and just the right amount of slaps of truth in between pages. It is a hilarious series, I'm telling you. But it's more than that. Need Chapter 16 ASAP.
  • Anna
    January 2, 2016
    Me while reading this volume- "This is so weird!".
  • Annye
    March 14, 2017
    Way meta - which is occasionally funny, but usually not - the artwork is nice, but the plot is almost nonexistent. The premise for this series is so different, I really wish I liked the actual implementation more.
  • Rob
    December 21, 2016
    When I was skimming reviews before purchasing this, I saw that they were generally less enthusiastic than the last two volumes, but I seem to be having the opposite experience as everyone else. I was lukewarm on the first volume, really enjoyed the second volume, and I thought this latest one was just as strong. At this rate, the comic will be cancelled as soon as it becomes my favourite series of all time.Sex Criminals is a filthy, juvenile, and hilarious comic about people who have powers that When I was skimming reviews before purchasing this, I saw that they were generally less enthusiastic than the last two volumes, but I seem to be having the opposite experience as everyone else. I was lukewarm on the first volume, really enjoyed the second volume, and I thought this latest one was just as strong. At this rate, the comic will be cancelled as soon as it becomes my favourite series of all time.Sex Criminals is a filthy, juvenile, and hilarious comic about people who have powers that activate when they orgasm, all of which seem to relate in one way or another around stopping time. In the first volume, the two main characters used this power to break into a bank, hence the name Sex Criminals, and the story has now progressed to include an ever-increasing number of characters. The plot is becoming somewhat unfocused, but I'm hoping this was just setting up some story elements in the next volume, because right now it's in danger of just being a showcase of weird sex powers with no real goal, which would be a real shame. The writing is hilarious, and I'm just hoping the plot can catch up.One of the newly introduced characters was an asexual woman, and I found her chapter really interesting. I thought Fraction did a brilliant job of introducing the topic of asexuality in an understandable and respectful way while still being funny. Another character was a man who creates semen demons, so a slightly different tone there.A fun comic. It's very funny, Chip Zdarsky's art is fantastic, but that won't be enough to hold it up if the plot doesn't tighten up a bit. I still have high hopes for the next volume, thoughBook Blog | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Brea
    February 9, 2016
    HOLY SHIT THIS WAS AMAZING ♥I won't go as far as to say this was the best one in the series (so far), but damn was it good. AND FUNNY. It was so funny. So fellow sex criminals, here is what you need to know:PlotNot the best plot line; I'll say that. But it still is quality and fun. Matt and Chip play with the ways in which they tell the story in a way that you wouldn't think would work, but it does! I don't want to spoil anything, but I will just say it's very meta and very funny.ArtWere the ill HOLY SHIT THIS WAS AMAZING ♥I won't go as far as to say this was the best one in the series (so far), but damn was it good. AND FUNNY. It was so funny. So fellow sex criminals, here is what you need to know:PlotNot the best plot line; I'll say that. But it still is quality and fun. Matt and Chip play with the ways in which they tell the story in a way that you wouldn't think would work, but it does! I don't want to spoil anything, but I will just say it's very meta and very funny.ArtWere the illustrations different in this volume? It seemed different to me? If someone knows, please fill me in !!The artwork was still great though. Such a weird thing to say, but color the scheme that Chip uses whenever one of his characters enters Cumland is just beautiful! Illustration wise, probably one of my favorite graphic novel series!Feministy ThingsSo one of may favorite things about this graphic novel series is how sex positive and feminist it is. This volume was filled with even more feminist positivity than the rest and it is just glorious! In one of Matt's meta moments, he really digs deep into what it means to sex shame and kink shame people (primarily women) and it is such a glorious and important moment in the book.Representation was even fantastic in this volume. We are introduced to a romantic asexual character and we see how she finds "orgasmic" release (and can stop time!) in a nonsexual way! (view spoiler)[however, I'm not sure if she's a good guy or a bad guy yet! (hide spoiler)]I can not say enough positive things about this graphic novel.People who are already fans of Sex Criminals will be thrilled at this addition to the series, and those who are not familiar, YOU NEED TO BE! Go out there a snag a copy of Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick.** I received a copy of this graphic novel from Image Comics Publishing in exchange for an honest review**Thanks Image! ♥
    more
  • Ryan Werner
    December 12, 2016
    This was still really fun, but I think it coasted by on good faith from the previous two trades. Fraction hits the metafiction really hard in this, weaseling his way out of writing everything from a pointless grocery store visit to a full-blown argument scene that would have done a whole lot to advance the themes of the series. It previously felt like a very measured, clever way to move through the story, but it's too much, too often in this trade. The characters and art are still great, and I l This was still really fun, but I think it coasted by on good faith from the previous two trades. Fraction hits the metafiction really hard in this, weaseling his way out of writing everything from a pointless grocery store visit to a full-blown argument scene that would have done a whole lot to advance the themes of the series. It previously felt like a very measured, clever way to move through the story, but it's too much, too often in this trade. The characters and art are still great, and I loved how the world is expanding as we read through this book. Sex Criminals has always been a book about moments and scenes, and this book has a few classic ones, mostly the cum fairy and suicide orgasmer. I would have liked to see more plot, but I was pretty happy just going along for the weird ride. I'm looking forward to see what the events of this book translate into as the next arc comes to fruition, whether this was a building/resetting section or just a stop gap between a great idea and the fizzling-out of it.
    more
  • Chris Lemmerman
    June 24, 2016
    Sex Criminals is an intriguing book. From the title itself to the characters and premise, it's constantly throwing up new things to think about and consider about yourself and society as a whole. Along the way, it's hilariously funny, and extremely poignant.Of course, that's all kind of off-set by the anime semen demon with Cthulhu tentacles for a vagina.Yeah, seriously.This volume stalls the storyline in favour of introducing new characters, such as said semen demon owner, an asexual skydiver ( Sex Criminals is an intriguing book. From the title itself to the characters and premise, it's constantly throwing up new things to think about and consider about yourself and society as a whole. Along the way, it's hilariously funny, and extremely poignant.Of course, that's all kind of off-set by the anime semen demon with Cthulhu tentacles for a vagina.Yeah, seriously.This volume stalls the storyline in favour of introducing new characters, such as said semen demon owner, an asexual skydiver (my new favourite character because her introductory issue nails asexuality (or at least my version of it) pretty perfectly), and Kegelface's doctor. Jon, Suzie, and Ana get to hash out their relationships in the craziest way possible, and there's a weird meta aside mid-issue that has Chip Zdarsky and Matt Fraction talking to themselves on the comic page. Kooky stuff. Still amusing, still clever, if a little slow this time around.
    more
  • Jacquelyn
    March 7, 2016
    Weird, sexy, inclusive as usual. I think Zdarsky just likes drawing penises. I think his dream job is just drawing penises for money on a regular basis, which is basically Sex Criminals so, good for him! Highlights of this arc include exploring what it means to be ace for real, addressing Suzie's not-cool judgment of Ana's sex worker past, and Chip and Matt's meta meltdown about how even people who are sensitive to different lifestyles still have to overcome ingrained sexual biases. This volume Weird, sexy, inclusive as usual. I think Zdarsky just likes drawing penises. I think his dream job is just drawing penises for money on a regular basis, which is basically Sex Criminals so, good for him! Highlights of this arc include exploring what it means to be ace for real, addressing Suzie's not-cool judgment of Ana's sex worker past, and Chip and Matt's meta meltdown about how even people who are sensitive to different lifestyles still have to overcome ingrained sexual biases. This volume certainly has more *ahem*...meat...in it than the first two, in terms of honest representation and dialogue as well as Zdarsky's abundant use of male anatomy.
    more
  • Manni
    May 17, 2016
    There's no doubt I'm going to get the next volume, but this was the weakest effort so far.As everyone else already pointed out multiple times the story doesn't develop too much this time and instead we get to meet some new characters that are fairly interesting, but are not yet tied into the overall story all that much.Volume 3 is not the end of the (cum-)world and I'm sure it will get more exciting again in the next couple of issues.
    more
  • Brendan Nicholls
    December 28, 2015
    The series has hit a few snags but a shift in tone is okay with me. The universe is growing and I also made the mistake of mentioning this book while meeting some new people. Explaining sex crinimals isn't some kinky erotic pervert chat group was pretty interesting. The series is still unpredictable but the overall story is lagging, I just hope it gets in line. Fingers crossed this returns to greatness.
    more
Write a review