Demigods & Magicians
Magic, monsters, and mayhem abound when Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase meet Carter and Sadie Kane for the first time. Weird creatures are appearing in unexpected places, and the demigods and magicians have to team up to take them down. As they battle with Celestial Bronze and glowing hieroglyphs, the four heroes find that they have a lot in common--and more power than they ever thought possible. But will their combined forces be enough to foil an ancient enemy who is mixing Greek and Egyptian incantations for an evil purpose? Rick Riordan wields his usual storytelling magic in this adrenaline-fueled adventure.

Demigods & Magicians Details

TitleDemigods & Magicians
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 5th, 2016
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN1484732782
ISBN-139781484732786
Number of pages212 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Mythology, Young Adult, Fiction

Demigods & Magicians Review

  • Connor
    September 25, 2016
    Don't read this until after you've read The Kane Chronicles and both Percy Jackson and the Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series because these take place after all of those books. I really enjoyed the stories though, and seeing the Kanes in action again was awesome! It makes me want to reread all of the Riordan's mythology books.
    more
  • Naruto4Hokage(Jessica)
    October 7, 2015
    This. Is. Going. To. Be. AWESOME.There's this thing that Rick Riordan does that just makes your insides go squishy and you can't help but be excited for months for...his book releases!There aren't many authors that are on my auto-buy list, but lets just say...HELLS YEAH RICK RIORDAN IS ON THAT LIST! Something would have to be MAJORLY wrong with me, to not IMMEDIATELY buy his book!THIS IS EVEN BETTER THAN A SIMPSONS/FUTURAMA CROSSOVER!!!!Uncle Rick has done it again!
    more
  • Emi Miranda
    December 17, 2016
    Percy and Annabeth forever and always will be my OTP. That's all I really want to say.
  • Darren Hagan
    April 25, 2016
    **No spoilers** A really great collection of 3 short stories and I thoroughly enjoyed each one. Seeing 4 loveable characters from 2 awesome series come together and combine their powers to save the world...incredible and funny. It left is kind of open ended like maybe they'll team up again in the future, which I would definitely love!!
    more
  • Lenas Welt der Bücher
    March 30, 2017
    Meine Meinung:Ich bin ein riesen Fan der Geschichte von Rick Riordan und habe mich daher unglaublich auf dieses Buch gefreut.Das Buch verbindet die Welten von Percy und Annabeth mit der Welt von Sadie und Carter. Das Buch beinhaltet 3 Geschichten, in denen es zwar um unterschiedliche Abenteuer geht, aber alle 3 Geschichten hängen zusammen. In der ersten Geschichte treffen Annabeth und Sadie aufeinander, in der zweiten dann Percy und Carter und in der dritten Geschichte sind alle vier zusammen.Ic Meine Meinung:Ich bin ein riesen Fan der Geschichte von Rick Riordan und habe mich daher unglaublich auf dieses Buch gefreut.Das Buch verbindet die Welten von Percy und Annabeth mit der Welt von Sadie und Carter. Das Buch beinhaltet 3 Geschichten, in denen es zwar um unterschiedliche Abenteuer geht, aber alle 3 Geschichten hängen zusammen. In der ersten Geschichte treffen Annabeth und Sadie aufeinander, in der zweiten dann Percy und Carter und in der dritten Geschichte sind alle vier zusammen.Ich mochte das Aufeinandertreffen der Charaktere unglaublich gerne. Jeder Charakter ist sich dabei treu geblieben und ich musste über die Eigenschaften der Charaktere wirklich grinsen. Ich mochte insbesondere das Treffen von Percy und Carter sehr gerne. Hier hat Rick Riordan eine super Portion Humor mit einfließen lassen und dafür gesorgt, dass man sich fühlt, als würde man nach Hause kommen.Man kann die Geschichten auch lesen, wenn man die anderen Bücher des Autors noch nicht kennt, nur mehr Spaß macht es auf jeden Fall, wenn man sie kennt.Der Schreibstil von Rick Riordan ist wieder klasse. Zwei Geschichte sind aus der Perspektive von Percy erzählt und eine von Annabeth. Er schreibt wieder mit unglaublich viel Humor, der mir super gefallen hat. Er schafft es jedes Mal mich mit zu reißen und sorgt dafür, dass ich ab der ersten Seite in der Geschichte drin bin.Die Spannung der Geschichte ist sehr gut. Sie sind sehr kurz, aber dafür voller Inhalt. Es sind die typischen Abenteuer, die die Charaktere überstehen müssen, aber deswegen macht es nicht weniger Spaß.Fazit:“Percy Jackson auf Monsterjagd mit den Geschwistern Kane” konnte mich auf ganzer Linie überzeugen. Das Zusammentreffen von Percy und Annabeth und Carter und Sadie hat super viel Spaß gemacht und ist ein MUSS für Fans von Rick Riordan.
    more
  • Book Walk
    February 26, 2017
    Ich bin echt unentschlossen. Unterhaltsam aber irgendwie auch zu oberflächlich
  • Eric Boot
    September 19, 2015
    Elke Rick Riordan is een pareltje! Ook al waren dit 3 relatief korte verhalen en had ik het zo uit, was het zeker een pre-order waard!
  • Jewel(the bookish nerd)
    April 25, 2017
    I loved the crossovers!!!!!! :) Amazing,Rick Riodan is AMAZING!!!!:D
  • Clara
    September 23, 2015
    This was a nice addition to both the Percy Jackson series and the Kane Chronicles series, but I'd definitely recommend finishing the main books in BOTH series before moving onto this. Spoilers! They're vague enough that you might not realize all of them, but they're definitely there.The plots of these three stories weren't the most interesting, but it was nice to see the main characters of the two series again and to see how they'd interact.
    more
  • Debora
    September 21, 2015
    wowwww I love Percy
  • Evan Quade
    March 5, 2017
    Three crossover short stories where Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase meet Carter and Sadie Kane. Two demigods and two magicians working together to fight enemies and other dangers lurking. As I have read all the books for Percy Jackson and the Olympians/The Heroes of Olympus and The Kane Chronicles, having this collection was a hell of a treat to have more adventures with these beloved characters, especially Percy. I missed having Percy for a main character, even though he has been through a lot Three crossover short stories where Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase meet Carter and Sadie Kane. Two demigods and two magicians working together to fight enemies and other dangers lurking. As I have read all the books for Percy Jackson and the Olympians/The Heroes of Olympus and The Kane Chronicles, having this collection was a hell of a treat to have more adventures with these beloved characters, especially Percy. I missed having Percy for a main character, even though he has been through a lot. And definitely Annabeth to be around and call Percy Seaweed Brain which always cracks me up. And with The Kane Chronicles having only been a trilogy and who knows if Rick Riordan will ever plan a sequel series to bring Carter and Sadie back again, having the three short stories would have to do to be back with the two magicians for a short period. Personally, I think Rick should do this more often while writing his books, to have more side short stories with our most favorite characters so we can always connect with these demigods or magicians for always. (I choose being a demigod.) In conclusion, I had fun with this book.
    more
  • Always Reading
    February 21, 2017
    Es ist ziemlich genau sieben Jahre her seit ich "Percy Jackson" das erste Mal gelesen habe. Und ich muss tatsächlich gestehen; es gibt nichts aus dieser Welt was mir nicht gefällt.So ist es auch mit diesem Buch, welches drei Kurzgeschichten beinhaltet. Diese Geschichten sind ein Crossover von "Percy Jackson" und den "Kane Chroniken" und ich hab mich weggeschmissen.Ich liebe Rick Riordans Humor, bin nur am Kichern wie eine Verrückte, genieße jede einzelne Seite. Mir gefällt einfach die Art und We Es ist ziemlich genau sieben Jahre her seit ich "Percy Jackson" das erste Mal gelesen habe. Und ich muss tatsächlich gestehen; es gibt nichts aus dieser Welt was mir nicht gefällt.So ist es auch mit diesem Buch, welches drei Kurzgeschichten beinhaltet. Diese Geschichten sind ein Crossover von "Percy Jackson" und den "Kane Chroniken" und ich hab mich weggeschmissen.Ich liebe Rick Riordans Humor, bin nur am Kichern wie eine Verrückte, genieße jede einzelne Seite. Mir gefällt einfach die Art und Weise wie der Autor seine Geschichten aufbaut: es ist vielleicht nicht das Neuste vom Neusten, aber altbekannt muss nicht automatisch schlecht heißen. Er verbindet Action, Kreativität, Mythologie und Humor mit absoluten Sympathiebomben an Charakteren. Selbst wenn mal etwas nicht so gut gelingt, hat man dennoch seinen Spaß am Lesen. Die Kurzgeschichten sind eine nette Ergänzung zu den Buchreihen und ein Muss für jeden Fan. Ach ja, ich würde sogar eine ganze Buchreihe mit dieser Art von Problematik lesen. Und der Humor … ich weiß, ich wiederhole mich. Aber das ist nicht einfach nur ein Grinsen oder leises kichern. Nene, ich lache lauthals los; Kopf in den Nacken und es wird gegackert ohne Ende. Sarkasmus ist schon was Tolles und genau mein Ding. Percy Jackson (und Begleitbücher) sind einfach meine Wohlfühlbücher und da kann und will ich auch gar nichts gegen unternehmen.5/5 Sternen
    more
  • Danielle
    October 7, 2015
    Read this review and more on my blog.Demigods And Magicians collects the three crossover novella between the Percy Jackson series and the Kane Chronicles.Since these three novellas are so different I shall review them individually and then give my overall thoughts on this bind-up.The Son Of SobekCarter Kane and Percy Jackson meet up in this first crossover novella. Being only 40 pages long, not as much detail goes into this as it probably should have but it had enough that it was worth while rea Read this review and more on my blog.Demigods And Magicians collects the three crossover novella between the Percy Jackson series and the Kane Chronicles.Since these three novellas are so different I shall review them individually and then give my overall thoughts on this bind-up.The Son Of SobekCarter Kane and Percy Jackson meet up in this first crossover novella. Being only 40 pages long, not as much detail goes into this as it probably should have but it had enough that it was worth while reading. The Son Of Sobek was written in the perspective of Cater Kane, and boy was it interesting to see how he described Percy for the first time.All that The Son Of Sobek has really done, for me at least, is that it has opened up the world to more of these mythology crossovers and I cannot wait to see how Riordan is going to explain the different sets of gods and goddesses coexisting.4/5The Staff Of SerapisTold from Annabeth's perspective, The Staff Of Serapis is the second of the Egyptian Gods and Greek Gods novella crossovers. I must say that it was quite funny having Anabeth describe Sadie Kane. The main purpose of The Staff Of Serapis was to set up the the final novella in this bind-up, The Crown Of Ptolemy.5/5The Crown Of PtolemyThe Crown Of Ptolemy is the third (and I assume final) Percy Jackson and Kane Chronicles crossover novella. Both The Son Of Sobek and The Staff Of Serapis set up this novella perfectly. It was very interesting to see the combination of Greek and Egyptian and how they flow fro the same source. I do feel like The Crown Of Ptolemy was almost rushed. Since it is only meant to be a novella, Riordan was unable to expand like he normally does and give both the character and the atmosphere some depth. Apart from feeling like it could have benefited from 20 - 30 more pages, The Crown Of Ptolemy leaves with the possibility of future crossovers which I cannot wait to see if they end up happening.4/5OverallThis novella bind-up was an interesting one. I love how the Greek and Egyptian gods and goddesses are able to co-exist and what this may mean for future books that Riordan is going to write. I do feel like they could, and should, have been longer to allow the situations that they were facing to sink in better and just generally give him some more workability with the storyline.4/5
    more
  • Sumbal Saba
    December 30, 2015
    OMG! ♡♡
  • Rose
    November 25, 2015
    unire questi quattro personaggi è stata una fantastica idea
  • Kevin (booksaremarvellous)
    January 1, 2016
    This book is a companion to the PJO, HOO and Kane Chronicles series and contains 3 novellas and a sneak peak to Trials of Apollo. The novellas are: The Son of Sobek, The Staff of Serapis and The Crown of Ptolemy.The Son of SobekCarter Kane, an Egyptian magician meets Percy, a Greek demigod and together they battle a monster, an oversized crocodile who is a Son of Sobek. The Staff of SerapisAnnabeth, a Greek demigod and girlfriend of Percy, follows a monster at the A train in New York and meets S This book is a companion to the PJO, HOO and Kane Chronicles series and contains 3 novellas and a sneak peak to Trials of Apollo. The novellas are: The Son of Sobek, The Staff of Serapis and The Crown of Ptolemy.The Son of SobekCarter Kane, an Egyptian magician meets Percy, a Greek demigod and together they battle a monster, an oversized crocodile who is a Son of Sobek. The Staff of SerapisAnnabeth, a Greek demigod and girlfriend of Percy, follows a monster at the A train in New York and meets Sadie, an Egyptian magician and sister of Carter, who is also battling a monster. Together the witness the reappearance of Serapis, who tries to kill Annabeth and Sadie. The girls finally overpower him and destroy his staff.The Crown of PtolemyThe evil magician Setne tries to become immortal, to become a Greek and Egyptian god. Percy, Annabeth and the Kane siblings battle him till he finally is imprisoned.The novellas are all really good and fit perfectly in the world created by Rick Riordan. He manages again to amuse his readers. His writing style is the same as in his other books and one discovers repeatedly that the demigods and magicians show a leak of respect towards the gods what makes the stories even funnier.
    more
  • Ricky
    June 2, 2016
    I haven't been able to read these stories with the rest of the world because, as usually happens when an author puts out bonus e-book novellas, I'm forced to wait for a print compilation because I have no e-reader. It's worked out well for me on, say, The Bane Chronicles, or I Am Number Four: The Lost Files.For some reason, I was never as big a fan of The Kane Chronicles as I was of Percy Jackson and the Olympians. But after reading these three crossover stories, I think I might have to reread t I haven't been able to read these stories with the rest of the world because, as usually happens when an author puts out bonus e-book novellas, I'm forced to wait for a print compilation because I have no e-reader. It's worked out well for me on, say, The Bane Chronicles, or I Am Number Four: The Lost Files.For some reason, I was never as big a fan of The Kane Chronicles as I was of Percy Jackson and the Olympians. But after reading these three crossover stories, I think I might have to reread the Kane trilogy at some point, if only because I know better now how well these two sets of heroes work together. Rick Riordan's got himself an excellent mythological multiverse going, and every aspect of it must be appreciated.The best part of this book, however, is the sneak peek to The Hidden Oracle right at the end. I've been pretty pumped for that one for a while (unfortunately, the library's got a LONG waiting list), and now, I'm even more so. Apollo seems like a surprisingly lovable assbite - a side of him I don't think we got enough of in the old Camp Half-Blood books.
    more
  • Francy
    July 13, 2015
    Quanto li amo! E tutti e quattro insieme li amo ancora di più! ❤Annabeth & Sadie insieme sono una forza della natura mentre Percy & Carter fanno morire... xDHo passato metà del tempo a ridere, uno dei motivi per cui adoro Rick! ❤Okay, seriamente, alla fine de L'ombra del Serpente me lo sentivo che Setne avrebbe combinato qualcosa, infatti...Almeno ha avuto quel che si meritava... Rido... xDGrande Rick!
    more
  • Angela
    May 4, 2016
    so. much. FUN. #iheartpercyjackson
  • Bailey
    December 10, 2015
    Awesome short stories.Fun and entertaining to read. :)
  • Oda
    October 18, 2016
    Loved seeing the egyptian and greek worlds collide. Great fun short strories.
  • Rowena
    May 7, 2016
    The cutest book with loads of action. God, I've missed these guys. When will Rick Riordan stop writing these books though I've had it with them...
  • Kiasia Saunders
    June 6, 2016
    Just bought the book and I plowed through it love at first site hope he makes side stories to go with this side story because it was amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Jennifer
    October 17, 2015
    Already read all three, but you know, I need the physical copy to read it again since it's coming out :3
  • Tabi Card
    October 17, 2015
    Finally!!!! I've been waiting for these stories to come to paper!
  • Tanja
    April 18, 2017
    4,5 Sterne
  • Vinz Agdipa
    April 23, 2017
    This book made me laugh-out-loud a dozen times, as I expected. All of the three short stories here are hilariously wonderful but my personal favorite is the Crown of Ptolemy, which is like the conclusion to the Kane Chronicles series. So it's highly recommended. And this book reminded me why Percy is my favorite narrator.I just wish that there are more crossovers like this one.
    more
  • Liliana
    September 22, 2016
    Reviewed on Lili Lost in a BookFirst of all, yes, I do own each individual e-book plus this physical copy of the book that bundles together all three stories :)The Son of SobekPercy AND Carter? YAY!! Rick basically answered our prayers of a cross over and the result was pure freakin' awesomeness! I absolutely loved everything about it! And if you've got no idea what I am talking about, Percy Jackson from "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" and "Heroes of Olympus" AND Carter Kane from "The Kane Chr Reviewed on Lili Lost in a BookFirst of all, yes, I do own each individual e-book plus this physical copy of the book that bundles together all three stories :)The Son of SobekPercy AND Carter? YAY!! Rick basically answered our prayers of a cross over and the result was pure freakin' awesomeness! I absolutely loved everything about it! And if you've got no idea what I am talking about, Percy Jackson from "Percy Jackson and the Olympians" and "Heroes of Olympus" AND Carter Kane from "The Kane Chronicles" meet in this clash of mythologies! This short story was told in Carter's POV, and was extremely funny! I love both Percy and Carter and them meeting each other... you just gotta read it!For it being a short story, The Son of Sobek was pretty action-y, which I always love about Rick's novels. They're never slow going! The ending leaves us with a sort of cliffhanger... Is there a chance that Carter and Percy might meet again? Absolutely! Will Rick make it happen? Hopefully! But one never knows...Rick, as always, has created a master piece for us to devour. It was fantastic! It is especially a MUST-read for those who are fans of Percy and/or Carter!The Staff of SerapisIn The Staff of Serapis, we have Annabeth who is just minding her business in downtown NY, when all of a sudden she see a monster... that ignores her? And to top it off she has never seen anything like it! So she follows said monster and runs into a feisty British girl (Sadie!) who is also hunting a devious little creature. Without giving too much away, Annabeth and Sadie team up to fight this monster and something much bigger that they did not expect... they need to stop it before it destroys the world. But then again, these seems to be their normal ;)I LOVED the novella, of course! It was a brilliant mix of Greek/Egyptian mythology and the Percy Jackson series/Kane Chronicles into one story! Some Big Big Things went down in this short story, so I was surprised that it was just a novella. But Sadie and Annabeth handled things amazingly!Speaking of the Dream Team, Annabeth is so good at distracting enemies just by talking to them and throwing them off... she is such a clever girl! She is the daughter of Athena for a reason ;) And Sadie was sassy, as always. I really missed her! I mean, the Kane Chronicles has been over for a while now, so it was great to see her again :)I loved that there were so many references to past books, making me go, "Ah, yes. I remember that." The Big Mother thing from The Mark of Athena , for example, that was so funny! And Rachel Dare, the oracle, throwing a blue brush at the Titan Kronos's eye... Oh, good times :) And Sadie and Annabeth telling each other about their lives... I was giddy with excitement to see their reaction! I mean, two of my favorite series together in one story? How freakin' great is that?!This novella was made of pure awesomeness! It was a lot of fun, with so much humor, and mythology that was actually new to me. I mean, Serapis? I have never heard of him! But using him in this novella was SO clever! I really loved learning about this deity and the mythology of his creation. So cool! And I hear there's going to be another novella with Pery, Annabeth, Carter, and Sadie! So exciting! I really cant wait! And if you have not read the Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus, or the Kane Chronicles series, well I highly recommend them!!The Crown of PtolemyThis whole crossover was so epic that it felt like it could’ve been a whole series on it’s own, it was certainly complex enough. But at the same time, it was SO perfect just as short stories. It makes no sense, I know, but it was just great!The plot was very interesting--I have never heard this Greek/Egyptian god before nor the magic, so that was very cool to read about. I mean, a god that is both Greek AND Egyptian? Mind = blown! I love mythology of any kind, so this was absolutely perfect for me! I learned something new!And as always, I loved the characters. It’s been awhile since we last saw Sadie and Carter in The Kane Chronicles, so it was nice to see them again in this. And, of course, Annabeth and Percy! Yay! The interaction between these four was my favorite thing EVER! This last short story was told in the POV of Percy, YAY! While we got to see his POV in the Heroes of Olympus, that is in 3rd person POV while this was in 1st. And I much prefer 1st person POV.This was so much fun, as always. Crossovers are just great! So if you love any/all of Rick Riordan’s series, I highly recommend you read these short stories! They are amazing!
    more
  • I'mogén
    July 6, 2016
    I was so excited to see a bind-up of the three Percy Jackson - Kane Chronicles crossover series, because after reading the first two, I new this would be something I'd love to have in my collection!I even saw a cool edition that matches my Demigod files too! ^^I almost forgot how funny these characters can be and loved the first two stories as much as I did the first time.Because my thoughts haven't changed from when I first read The Son of Sobek and The Staff of Serapis I won't go into depth fo I was so excited to see a bind-up of the three Percy Jackson - Kane Chronicles crossover series, because after reading the first two, I new this would be something I'd love to have in my collection!I even saw a cool edition that matches my Demigod files too! ^^I almost forgot how funny these characters can be and loved the first two stories as much as I did the first time.Because my thoughts haven't changed from when I first read The Son of Sobek and The Staff of Serapis I won't go into depth for them and will just leave my rating and a link to the review. 5 stars (https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...) 4 stars (https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...)As for I really enjoyed it! I loved how we had a continuous plot line for this trio of books, as originally, I wasn't sure there would be much connection in terms of a big story line. Although I really enjoyed this, I had to knock a star off (thus rounding the whole collection up to an overall 4 stars) because this last book read a little drier than the others, but it was generally great fun to see the four together facing a common enemy!It was super cute how Percy described Sadie, envisioning future children that he may one day have with Annabeth, but I did feel like the way Sadie was described by Percy and Annabeth (particularly in Percy's little future day dream) made her seem soooo young! I know, I know, she is... Like, what? 13? But still... She just came across more mature in the Kane Chronicles (from what I can recall) and in the Staff of Serapis.I also love the extra bit of effort Riordan put into making these stories coexist well with the already existing timelines, specifically in the Percy Jackson books. It made it easier to cross reference and just makes sense in general.These short stories really merged the Greek and Egyptian gods well and made it make sense in that world! I was really shocked with how well it was all pulled off! I hope this isn't the last instalment, but I'm gonna assume it is! This saddens me, but it's definitely a lovely collection that I would happily re-read!(P.S. Can you tell I got excited adding picture links?? My first time doing this and I don't know why I couldn't figure it out myself! xD)(P.P.S I had to share these Percy inspired reviews, reviewed on Yelp! It's great fun! xD http://www.yelp.com/list/living-percy...)Pick it up, give it a go and enjoy! >(^_^)<Gén
    more
  • Sana
    March 4, 2017
    Percy and Annabeth will forever be my OTP no one has and no one probably will ever replace them.
Write a review