Star Wars, Vol. 2
Injustice reigns on Tatooine as villainous scum run rampant. Will Ben Kenobi risk revealing himself to do what's right? Then, Luke continues his quest to learn about the Jedi by heading for the Jedi Temple on Coruscant. Plus: Han & Leia are confronted by an unexpected foe from Han's past!COLLECTING: STAR WARS 7-12

Star Wars, Vol. 2 Details

TitleStar Wars, Vol. 2
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 26th, 2016
PublisherMarvel Comics
ISBN078519214X
ISBN-139780785192145
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Marvel, Fiction

Star Wars, Vol. 2 Review

  • Alejandro
    February 1, 2016
    The new Canonic Star Wars comics keep truly great! I got this storyarc on its single comic book issues but I chose to make the review using this TPB edition to make a better overall review. The story is set after the events of “Star Wars IV: A New Hope” but before the events of “Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back”. This TPB edition contains the issues #7-12 from the title of “Star Wars” in its new Marvel Canonic run.Creative Team:Writer: Jason AaronIllustrators: Simone Bianchi & Stuart Im The new Canonic Star Wars comics keep truly great! I got this storyarc on its single comic book issues but I chose to make the review using this TPB edition to make a better overall review. The story is set after the events of “Star Wars IV: A New Hope” but before the events of “Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back”. This TPB edition contains the issues #7-12 from the title of “Star Wars” in its new Marvel Canonic run.Creative Team:Writer: Jason AaronIllustrators: Simone Bianchi & Stuart Immonen THE DIARY OF AN OLD JEDI While the main storyarc is Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon, developed from the issue #8 to issue #12; however the issue #7, it’s a stand-alone tale about the days of Ben Kenobi at Tatooine, keeping watch from afar of a very young Luke Skywalker.Luke is able to know about this, thanks to the finding of a diary written by Kenobi with the intention of that Luke would receive it (if so, well, it could be a good idea giving it to him, back when both were at Kenobi’s house, before leaving to Alderaan, since it was plain luck (not matter if Kenobi didn’t believe in such things as luck) that Luke would decide to return there looking for anything useful in his Jedi training).The tale is really good since it explains some things, like why the lack of training Luke since he was a kid (it’s a weak explanation but at least it’s logic). Also, you can appreciate how hard is for Kenobi, his radical change in his status quo. He isn’t a military general anymore, but more important, he can’t be a Jedi neither. He is forced to keep low profile to avoid Imperial detection, but worse, he needs to allow injustices to happen around him. Obi-Wan is “dead” and now there is just “Ben”, but being Jedi wasn’t a job for him, it was his way of life, his faith. How to find a reason to stay alive when you can’t be yourself anymore? INTRODUCING MRS. SOLO Han Solo and Princess Leia are looking for options of planets, for a new base, for the Rebel Alliance. They are travelling in a stolen Lambda-class Imperial shuttle, but hasty call put them in troubles and they need a place to hide.Han has just the right place, but they won’t be alone for much time.Imperial forces are right behind them, but the really awkward is that a female bounty hunter appears,…Sana… …Solo.And she is claiming to be Han’s wife, and ready to collect the bulged bounty that exists over Leia’s head.Leia’s wrath easily could destroy entire planets. Yep. Things aren’t never easy for Han. JEDI GARAGE SALE Luke hoped to find something else than just a diary, sure, he values it a lot, but hardly it will helping him to make any progress in his broken Jedi training.So, Luke has an idea……a very bad idea.Luke takes his X-Wing (along with R2-D2) to Nar Shaddaa, known also as “The Smuggler’s Moon” (due ALL its inhabitants are criminal elements), asking for a discreet transport to make a travel to Coruscant, the Galactic Empire’s capital world, to look for the old Jedi Temple.There are two problems with, the already very bad, Luke’s plan…One: There isn’t a Jedi Temple per se anymore, the building is the Imperial Palace now, home of our beloved Emperor Palpatine.Two: Luke won’t be anywhere near of there, in fact, he won’t leave “The Smuggler’s Moon” at all, since his Lightsaber and himself will become the newest additions in the largest private collection of Jedi-related artifacts, property of Grakkus, the Hutt!But Luke’s captivity won’t be long, since he will be kinda trained by the mysterious Gamemaster (a trusted servant of Grakkus, the Hutt) to fight to the death in Grakkus’ arena to the amusement of the entire criminal community of Nar Shaddaa.Good that Chewbacca and C-3PO are flying to the rescue, in the Millennium Falcon,……Bad that they will find first, Dengar, notorious and dangerous bounty hunter!So, the things are going for our heroes as always……yep, that bad!Excellent storyarc, strong in the Force!!!
    more
  • Kemper
    February 2, 2016
    Remember this exchange from the original Star Wars?Han: Let him have it. It’s not wise to upset a Wookiee.C-3PO: But sir. Nobody worries about upsetting a droid.Han: That’s ‘cause a droid don’t pull people’s arms out of their sockets when they lose. Wookiees are known to do that.C-3PO: I see your point, sir. I suggest a new strategy, R2. Let the Wookiee win.It turns out that Han was absolutely right because there’s several scenes in this collection that make it very clear that Chewbacca is one b Remember this exchange from the original Star Wars?Han: Let him have it. It’s not wise to upset a Wookiee.C-3PO: But sir. Nobody worries about upsetting a droid.Han: That’s ‘cause a droid don’t pull people’s arms out of their sockets when they lose. Wookiees are known to do that.C-3PO: I see your point, sir. I suggest a new strategy, R2. Let the Wookiee win.It turns out that Han was absolutely right because there’s several scenes in this collection that make it very clear that Chewbacca is one baaaaaaaaaaad Wookie when he gets angry. Seriously, Han wasn’t kidding about this. You really don’t want to piss of a Wookie.Once again we’re between the events of A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. Luke has left the rebellion seeking a way to become a real Jedi, but the path takes him to a wretched hive of scum and villainy in the form of a moon populated by some of the galaxy’s nastiest characters. Meanwhile, Han and Leia have been trying to find a new planet the rebels can use as a base, but they get sidetracked by a female bounty hunter claiming a surprising connection to Han. When they all get in the soup it’s up to Chewbacca to save their necks by unleashing some Wookie carnage, and he does it while dragging around 3PO. There’s also a flashback story to what old Ben Kenobi was up to while waiting for Luke to grow up on Tatooine. This was almost as good as the first collection with a lot of great action and fun dialogue. Jason Aaron is obviously a Star Wars fan who knows what makes for a solid tale set in a galaxy far, far away. He also has a knack for coming up with moments that the nerds will love like letting other characters besides Luke handle a lightsaber, and having Chewbacca be a total bad ass.While this is some of the best tie-in stuff I’ve read it still has the inherent problem of being set in between two big stories we already know. That creates drama problems because we know none of the key characters are going to die, or that a new character can’t be all that important since they aren’t even mentioned in the other movies. Plus, it makes it tough to spin out logical stories. It makes complete sense that Luke would be frustrated about not knowing how to become a Jedi and would seek out ways to make it happen. But we know he didn’t get there by the start of Empire so he obviously won’t achieve that goal which robs this story of some suspense.Despite those minor qualms this would still be fun reading for most Star Wars fans.
    more
  • Brad
    December 17, 2015
    I'm impressed! That wasn't just a bit of pandering to the nostalgia. There was an actual creative story in there! Wow! It makes me believe there's still someone alive out there who's making good Star Wars stuff! Yay!(Yes, I am going to go watch the new Star Wars movie this weekend. Am I preparing to adjust my expectations after watching Eps 1-6 recently? Yeah. Am I still a geekboy enraptured in his geekdom? Yeah. Yeah, I am.)Seriously. This story was pretty damn cool and I want to continue readi I'm impressed! That wasn't just a bit of pandering to the nostalgia. There was an actual creative story in there! Wow! It makes me believe there's still someone alive out there who's making good Star Wars stuff! Yay!(Yes, I am going to go watch the new Star Wars movie this weekend. Am I preparing to adjust my expectations after watching Eps 1-6 recently? Yeah. Am I still a geekboy enraptured in his geekdom? Yeah. Yeah, I am.)Seriously. This story was pretty damn cool and I want to continue reading this series. I think I'd even like it even if I didn't already know the characters so damn well. :)
    more
  • Dimitris
    December 8, 2015
    Like the first volume, Star Wars :Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon is also an action-packed, epic space adventure propelled by energy and enthusiasm. That’s fine with me!There is also a tale from Obi-Wan's past.Hell yeah!
  • Sam Quixote
    February 8, 2016
    Set between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, the second volume of Jason Aaron’s Star Wars run sees the core group fractured. Luke has picked up Obi-Wan’s journal from Tatooine and is trying to reach the Jedi Temple on Coruscant at the heart of the Empire - a journey that only the most daring smugglers of Nar Shaddaa can help him with. Meanwhile, Han and Leia bump into a bounty hunter intent on turning them over to the Empire. Oh and she claims to be Han’s wife too! I liked the first Marve Set between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, the second volume of Jason Aaron’s Star Wars run sees the core group fractured. Luke has picked up Obi-Wan’s journal from Tatooine and is trying to reach the Jedi Temple on Coruscant at the heart of the Empire - a journey that only the most daring smugglers of Nar Shaddaa can help him with. Meanwhile, Han and Leia bump into a bounty hunter intent on turning them over to the Empire. Oh and she claims to be Han’s wife too! I liked the first Marvel Star Wars book so I was disappointed the second, though not bad, wasn’t as great. Part of it is that the Han/Leia/Sana storyline was very static for the most part. They’re in a Mexican stand-off for most of the book which isn’t that interesting to read. The Obi-Wan flashback issue was a bit crap too. What was Obi-Wan doing from the end of Revenge of the Sith to A New Hope? Watching over Luke without him knowing. Le sigh. I never understood that - Obi-Wan just did nothing but watch from afar for decades? So pointless. He could’ve tried to do something positive to change things on Tatooine - anything! It just feels like such a dreary fate for a great character. Luke’s story is by far the most interesting. From the smuggler’s bar to chasing an assassin, to meeting Grakkus the Hutt (one of Jabba’s relatives with weirdly defined upper-body strength AND he speaks English!), fighting the Rancor-type creature and the lightsaber-packed finale - it’s all good. There are other cool moments too like Chewie fighting a bounty hunter and I loved Sana’s ship, the Volt Cobra, as it dodged the Empire’s fleet. There’s something about a squadron of TIE fighters swooping down too that’s utterly amazing - Stuart Immonen kills it with the art. And while I almost puked when I saw the Gungan pirate cameo, I’m pretty sure Aaron threw that in there just to fuck with the fans - laugh it up, fuzzball! Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon wasn’t as exciting as the first volume but it’s a decent enough follow-up with Luke making up for the others’ lacklustre storylines. I’m a little perturbed though to see that the series seems to be headed deep into prequel territory - I can only hope they’re in and out of Coruscant in less than 12 parsecs!
    more
  • Anthony
    October 8, 2015
    This Star Wars book is so fun and Immonen is so under appreciated as an artist. He gets the character faces and body language perfectly and his big wide shots like space scenes and planet establishing shots look great. I saw a tweet saying this is going to be the thing that will make Luke Skywalker cool - I'm leaning towards agreeing with that opinion.
    more
  • Paul
    January 26, 2016
    While there's still a lot to love about this second volume of Marvel's new Star Wars comic (Dengar's in it; what more could you want?) I have to completely honest and say I didn't enjoy it as much as the first volume.I'm not quite sure why... Maybe it had something to do with the whole newspaper-headline-grabbing 'Han Solo's wife' business coming to such an unsatisfying conclusion... Maybe it just bothers me that some of the story elements are trying to be bigger and better than the story elemen While there's still a lot to love about this second volume of Marvel's new Star Wars comic (Dengar's in it; what more could you want?) I have to completely honest and say I didn't enjoy it as much as the first volume.I'm not quite sure why... Maybe it had something to do with the whole newspaper-headline-grabbing 'Han Solo's wife' business coming to such an unsatisfying conclusion... Maybe it just bothers me that some of the story elements are trying to be bigger and better than the story elements from the movies. I mean, for example, if the 'Star Warriors' (heh, it used to bug the shit out of me when Marvel editorial called the protagonists that back in the days of Marvel's original run of Star Wars comics, but I'm quite enjoying using it now) already had to deal with a worse/better Hutt than Jabba between the first movie and TESB, it just makes Jabba seem weak by comparison...I really don't want the characters from the movies to be overshadowed by Mary-Sue 'vamped up' versions in the comicbooks... The movies are too precious to me. (Well, most of them, anyway...)Still there's a lot of action and adventure in the true Star Wars tradition on offer here so those of you who don't have the same picky hang-ups that I do will probably really enjoy this volume.
    more
  • Sesana
    October 28, 2015
    Jason Aaron knows what he's doing here. I loved the first volume of his Star Wars, and while this one isn't quite as amazing, it's still really, really good. It still has the same sense of adventure that I hope for from anything related to Star Wars. Luke actually gets to be really cool, even if he's also as naive as I'd expect him to be. Sana is a great new character, though I doubt we'll ever see her again. She's fun, and it's great to see somebody consistently get the better of Han, at least Jason Aaron knows what he's doing here. I loved the first volume of his Star Wars, and while this one isn't quite as amazing, it's still really, really good. It still has the same sense of adventure that I hope for from anything related to Star Wars. Luke actually gets to be really cool, even if he's also as naive as I'd expect him to be. Sana is a great new character, though I doubt we'll ever see her again. She's fun, and it's great to see somebody consistently get the better of Han, at least for awhile. The first issue in this volume is actually a bit of a flashback, and it may well be the closest thing we get to a canonical look at Obi-Wan's life in exile on Tatooine. As well it should be, because honestly, it probably wasn't very interesting most of the time. But this one issue is very nicely done, and I think it gives more than enough of the idea of a Jedi turning into a hermit to satisfy most on that point. You know, I was kind of worried about how these new Star Wars comics would turn out, but so far, I've been mostly pleasantly surprised.
    more
  • Scott (GrilledCheeseSamurai)
    December 2, 2015
    It's new Star Wars - and it's awesome.Seriously. I don't know what else to say without spoiling it. We are still between A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back. The characters are spot on - and the art is easy on the eyes.It's freaking Star Wars. Just read it.
    more
  • Roxanne
    November 30, 2015
    This is a lot of fun to read and i just love han shouting 'she's not my wife' like 50 times his character is spot on!The artwork is amazing and everything is just on point, definitely worth picking up if you like star wars!
  • Bhanuj
    January 9, 2016
    There will be “blood and lightsabers“. If you are planning to read this volume, be advised to fasten your seat belts, as this epic adventure in a galaxy far far away will keep you on the edge of your seat through and through.This volume collects issues #7-12.Luke Skywalker struggles as he has no one to guide him through his jedi training. The uncertainties brings him to tatootine where he finds Ben Kenobi’s journal. The journal (issue #7) tells Luke of the vacillations and struggles of a man, pr There will be “blood and lightsabers“. If you are planning to read this volume, be advised to fasten your seat belts, as this epic adventure in a galaxy far far away will keep you on the edge of your seat through and through.This volume collects issues #7-12.Luke Skywalker struggles as he has no one to guide him through his jedi training. The uncertainties brings him to tatootine where he finds Ben Kenobi’s journal. The journal (issue #7) tells Luke of the vacillations and struggles of a man, probably the last of his kind jedi, living in a land rampant with corruption and injustice. Obi-Wan Kenobi was trained to be a jedi, but he was not trained to fade away.The story further takes us to Nar Shada, the smuggler’s moon, as Luke continues to look for some sort of guidance. But things go awry as he gets captured.This volume is one action packed adventure. Every few pages you would find guns blazing (pew-pew), tie-fighters swooping in, Chewbacca roaring and Princess Liea brandishing guns and a lightsaber.The artwork is phenomenal. It was only halfway that I realized the illustrator in this volume is not the same as the previous one. Bianchi (issue #7) and Immonen (#8-12) have done a praiseworthy remarkable job especially in the action scenes. Everything is sketched to detail be it the background or the facial expressions.The continuous banter between Liea and Solo keeps the mood light amid all the fighting and chaos. But the character that steals the show in the end is Chewbacca, that is on wookie I would never want to cross.This volumes introduces a hoard of new characters like Grakkus the hutt, Game Master, Kongo the disemboweler and Bounty Hunter Dengar and also builds on previous characters like Han Solo’s wife.I have nothing but admiration for the work Jason Aaron has been doing in putting the star wars adventure on paper.You can also read the review here: Argumentative Watermelon
    more
  • Allie
    July 22, 2016
    Awwwwwesome. Pure awesomeness. My favorite Star Wars comic so far. I loved seeing Obi-Wan again, and the circumstances surrounding him. I loved meeting Grakkus the Hutt, who is a buffer version of Jabba and walks around on many robotic legs. Yep, it's cool. I loved the art. I loved the story. I cannot wait for more!Ps: Am I the only one who thinks that the cover of Luke looks like Ricky Schroder?#iamsuchasuckerforstarwars
    more
  • Matthew
    November 25, 2015
    To check out all my reviews: http://dancinginth3dark.blogspot.comDisclaimer: I read the individual comics.When I first read the Star Wars comics I was excited because it was the first time that I invested my time towards a particular franchise now that we have the new canon and for the most part it was a great series. I would say awesome but after reading this volume it raised the stakes higher and I believe it was the perfect set up for Vader Down crossover that I couldn't believe this was epic To check out all my reviews: http://dancinginth3dark.blogspot.comDisclaimer: I read the individual comics.When I first read the Star Wars comics I was excited because it was the first time that I invested my time towards a particular franchise now that we have the new canon and for the most part it was a great series. I would say awesome but after reading this volume it raised the stakes higher and I believe it was the perfect set up for Vader Down crossover that I couldn't believe this was epic compare to Vader. Even though my online sources tells me that Issue #7 belongs to Vol. 1 supposedly they put it with Vol. 2 which makes it a wonderful grand introduction.I love Obi-Wan Kenobi both the prequel and original trilogy versions and I believe issue #7 bring the gap between both worlds. Kenobi kept a journal about his life post Revenge of the Sith and left for Luke to read and discover about the Jedi Force and how to connect with it and Luke finally finds it in Ben's abandoned home in Tatooine. Luke has a fight scene with Boba Fett and was able to escape to safety and while he recuperates he reads this journal. We learn that it is very difficult for Kenobi to live in Tatooine because he was a Jedi Knight traveling to different galaxies bringing peace to the world.Now Kenobi is in hiding unable to use the Force to avoid detection and to protect to Luke from being discovered. After all these wonderful missions and the sad ending of his friendship to Anakin how does he survive in the world full of misery with the Empire in control? I love this idea and concept and I hope they bring more Kenobi adventures in the future.Luke Skywalker is trying to find himself because he is not a Jedi and the last Jedi to train him is now dead and while everyone needs him like Princess Leia and the rebels, he needs to take time off for himself and follow his destiny to be a Jedi. He remembers that there was a Jedi Temple in Coruscant and he wants to check out without being detected so he travels to Nar Shaddaa to seek travel to Coruscant.Nar Shaddaa is a planet full of criminals, smuggler's, and everything corrupted in Hutt's space and sure enough Luke gets himself into trouble. He meets Grakkus Hutt who is a huge collector of Jedi antiques. Grakkus makes the connection that Luke is connected to the force and makes him use the force to open Holocrons that contain important Jedi information.Now that Grakkus has Luke in custody, Grakkus makes him into a slave who have duel to the death which would be a huge sellout since he is technically the last Jedi left in this galaxy. While in training, he meets this slave who trains Luke to be a better fighter and we get to see this interesting bond because we haven't anyone in the original trilogy except Kenobi and Luke who can wield a lightsaber. While all that drama is going on, we meet back with Han Solo who apparently his wife Sana is tracking him and Leia is upset because if he has a wife then he must be playing with her feelings and he doesn't love her. They try to escape from an Empire Fleet thanks to Sana and gets information from R2-D2 about Luke and they head off to rescue him. I highly recommend this comic because there is a part in this volume that lives up to my dreams especially dealing with a particular someone holding a particular weapon. I have waited forever to finally witness this scene and I am glad that they finally included it in this comic because I was losing my patience about it.The old canon aka Legends screwed me over when it comes to Lightsabers because I remember they did this whole thing that regular humans couldn't hold a lightsaber because if you are not force sensitive then when the lightsaber turns on it becomes dangerous and can kill you. I remember how George Lucas and countless others tried to make this point. Then I watch Clone Wars animated show and I've seen countless villains and humans who clearly are not force sensitive easily turn on a lightsaber and use it without any problems. Then in this volume there are many individuals that we get to see holding a lightsaber and I feel like that isn't true to the story or rather believable that they can wield a lightsaber.In the end I love every aspect of this story from the illustrations to the plot and I cannot get enough of Star Wars. This volume enabled me to be distracted and forget about Force Awakens and simply enjoy Star Wars. I am enthusiastic and fully prepare to begin the next volume with Vader Down.
    more
  • Stephen
    January 31, 2016
    Luke Skywalker is having a lot of trouble finding guidance in the ways of the Jedi as seen in the first volume. By reading the journal of Obi-Wan Kenobi wrote when he spend his days on tatooine and gets somewhat an idea in order to know more about the Jedi history. He goes to a planet named Nar Shaddaa also nicknamed Smuggler's Moon it's a planet where some of the most dangerous people inhabit. As usual things don't go as planned for Luke as he runs into a ton of problem. Han and Leia have their Luke Skywalker is having a lot of trouble finding guidance in the ways of the Jedi as seen in the first volume. By reading the journal of Obi-Wan Kenobi wrote when he spend his days on tatooine and gets somewhat an idea in order to know more about the Jedi history. He goes to a planet named Nar Shaddaa also nicknamed Smuggler's Moon it's a planet where some of the most dangerous people inhabit. As usual things don't go as planned for Luke as he runs into a ton of problem. Han and Leia have their own problems in the Moddell sector where they encounter the Empire and Hans "wife".The story moved at a slower pace then in the previous volume but it was still enjoyable. And the art is still beautiful.
    more
  • Donovan
    November 24, 2015
    A really great follow up. We (who haven't read any of the novels) finally learn what Obi Wan did on Tatooine. (Seriously, why doesn't he have a standalone title?) R2D2 and Luke meanwhile are going to Nar Shaddaa, the Smuggler's Moon, to learn the whereabouts of the Jedi Temple for knowledge on becoming a Jedi. Han and Leia are hiding out from the Empire when Sana Solo barges in. And Chewbacca and C3P0 have been separated from the rest and work their way back to Han and Leia. A typical but exciti A really great follow up. We (who haven't read any of the novels) finally learn what Obi Wan did on Tatooine. (Seriously, why doesn't he have a standalone title?) R2D2 and Luke meanwhile are going to Nar Shaddaa, the Smuggler's Moon, to learn the whereabouts of the Jedi Temple for knowledge on becoming a Jedi. Han and Leia are hiding out from the Empire when Sana Solo barges in. And Chewbacca and C3P0 have been separated from the rest and work their way back to Han and Leia. A typical but exciting group by group adventure. Although I can't say the plot moved forward all that much.A few contentions. Sana (Starros) Solo is just stupid. The "I'm his wife," "she's not my wife" bit gets old after about 200 times. Worst part is it makes no difference, at least so far. And that drew from the humor ordinarily between Han and Leia. So Luke finds Ben's Journal on Tatooine. But I agree with Luke, there really isn't much information there. If I remember continuity correctly, Return of the Jedi is when he goes to study with Yoda right? I guess I was hoping for more "wow this helped me a lot with my Jedi powers/knowledge" stuff.On the plus side, there was a cool joke/pun in here where Jason Aaron gave literal meaning to the name Skywalker. On Nar Shaddaa Luke is chasing after a thief and he makes this impossible jump. The thief guffaws and asks, "How did you jump so...?" Luke responds, "I'm a Skywalker." Nicely done.
    more
  • Dimitris
    January 20, 2016
    **Reviewed this thinking it was Vader's Vol.2, so no 2 stars for this one but for Vader**So here it goes for the ACTUAL Star Wars ongoing title:Great. Great. Great. Fun. Fun. Fun.You should be reading this. If not the best Star Wars title that is running currently, then one of the best for sure. Actually no, it is the best. Because I have no problem with anything that is happening whatsoever. It's just really good.You like Star Wars? Read it.
    more
  • Jordan Lahn
    October 28, 2015
    Marvel's Star Wars comic continues to be a fun romp. Interesting to see stuff pop up that threatens to contradict the newly established canon, only to reinforce it instead (eg. the fate of the Jedi Temple).
  • Matthew Quann
    March 8, 2016
    Now that the smoke has settled on The Force Awakens, I'm pleased to say that Marvel's handling of the Star Wars universe and characters continues to be excellent. Where both Star Wars and Darth Vader's first volumes began and ended together, these second volumes opt to diverge from each other to allow their cast to embark on their own adventures. There's a lot to love here: lightsaber duels, dogfights, and peculiar aliens. While John Cassaday is no longer on art duties, Stuart Immonen's artwor Now that the smoke has settled on The Force Awakens, I'm pleased to say that Marvel's handling of the Star Wars universe and characters continues to be excellent. Where both Star Wars and Darth Vader's first volumes began and ended together, these second volumes opt to diverge from each other to allow their cast to embark on their own adventures. There's a lot to love here: lightsaber duels, dogfights, and peculiar aliens. While John Cassaday is no longer on art duties, Stuart Immonen's artwork is perhaps an even better fit for the main Star Wars series. Jason Aaron, one of the most consistent writers working in comics these days, has a strong grasp on the characters' voices, and the issues are packed to the brim with fan service. My one complaint: Han Solo and Leia's side story in this volume drags on a bit longer than it should. The opening issue also presents what I understand is the first in a long line of Obi Wan Kenobi flashback stories. Kenobi's time spent in exile between the events of Episode III and IV have remained largely untouched in the new canon, and it is great to see those gaps starting to be filled. All in all, Star Wars continues to prove itself a series that is compelling in its own right and not just a stopgap for fans awaiting the next instalment with their favourite characters.
    more
  • Danielle
    May 14, 2016
    Read this review and more on my blog.Volume 2 collects issues #7 - #12 of Star Wars. Click here for my review of the first volume: Skywalker Strikes.Volume 2 keeps a very nice pacing throughout. The first issue may be the only exception, with it being in a form of an Obi-Wan Kenobi flashback (which did feel out of place until the reason as to why it occurred at the end of the issue became apparent).The art style was very similar to that of the first volume, but (in my opinion) it seemed to inclu Read this review and more on my blog.Volume 2 collects issues #7 - #12 of Star Wars. Click here for my review of the first volume: Skywalker Strikes.Volume 2 keeps a very nice pacing throughout. The first issue may be the only exception, with it being in a form of an Obi-Wan Kenobi flashback (which did feel out of place until the reason as to why it occurred at the end of the issue became apparent).The art style was very similar to that of the first volume, but (in my opinion) it seemed to include more bigger panel included which I loved. I absolutely love how Darth Vader is drawn in this! Darth Vader almost, yes almost, seems scarier in this comic series than in the movies. He is the overbearing shadow that is lurking and you have no idea what his plans are since not much is known of the time in-between A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back.The story was easy to follow and continues the plot twist that occurred at the end of the first volume. With Luke and R2 still separated from Han and Leia, I found that I was able to understand how close that the group had become after having to work together in Episode IV. An excellent addition to this ongoing story and I cannot wait for Volume 3.
    more
  • Paul Decker
    January 11, 2016
    This is the second volume in the ongoing Star Wars series from Marvel. The first issue collected in this volume is a tale from Obi-wan's journal. I love seeing what Kenobi was up to on Tatooine between Episode 3 and 4. The characters are written very well in this series. The banter between Han and Leia is on point. I also like seeing the naive Luke from A New Hope. One great thing about the new Marvel comics is how all things canon are referenced. Luke fights Magnaguards! The imagery blending th This is the second volume in the ongoing Star Wars series from Marvel. The first issue collected in this volume is a tale from Obi-wan's journal. I love seeing what Kenobi was up to on Tatooine between Episode 3 and 4. The characters are written very well in this series. The banter between Han and Leia is on point. I also like seeing the naive Luke from A New Hope. One great thing about the new Marvel comics is how all things canon are referenced. Luke fights Magnaguards! The imagery blending the aesthetic of both trilogies is so cool. There are a lot of references in Grakkus the Hutt's collection. Oppo Rancisis, Shaak Ti, and Tera Sinube all cameo. There's even a jedi temple guard mask.There were a lot of great original characters in this volume. My favorite was probably the Gamemaster. Grakkus was a very different type of hutt. There is a badass looking pirate/smuggler Gungan! Sana Solo added an interesting atmosphere to Han and Leia's mission, although Sana's story is a little too Firefly in my opinion.I give this volume a 4/5. I will absolutely be continuing this series. The next volumes are in the Vader Down crossover event.
    more
  • Quentin Wallace
    March 5, 2016
    4.5 starsAnother great Star Wars volume! I didn't like it quite as much as the first, but still enjoyed it. As in the first volume, there were several cool moments. Dengar Vs. Chewbacca and Han, Leia and Chewbacca all using lightsabers were memorable moments. Also a story showing some of Kenobi's early days on Tatooine. The series is still filling in the space between New Hope and Empire Strikes Back, and still very cool.I don't have anything against the expanded universe, but it just can't comp 4.5 starsAnother great Star Wars volume! I didn't like it quite as much as the first, but still enjoyed it. As in the first volume, there were several cool moments. Dengar Vs. Chewbacca and Han, Leia and Chewbacca all using lightsabers were memorable moments. Also a story showing some of Kenobi's early days on Tatooine. The series is still filling in the space between New Hope and Empire Strikes Back, and still very cool.I don't have anything against the expanded universe, but it just can't compare to the original movie universe that most of us are familiar with. I thought Dark Horse did a good job with their Star Wars comics, but so far this Marvel series seems much better to me.If you're a fan of the original Star Wars characters and movies, this is the comic series for you.
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    January 18, 2016
    Compared to Vader Down or the first volume, this is much more like it. No longer treading on the films' toes so much, instead we get a flashback to Obi-Wan in hiding on Tatooine, trying (and failing, obviously) not to get involved; Luke trying to track down the Jedi legacy; Han meeting an unwelcome face from his past. And there's a big galaxy full of Imperials and crooks to menace them all, without having to use the original trilogy's antagonists to exhaustion. One could potentially object that Compared to Vader Down or the first volume, this is much more like it. No longer treading on the films' toes so much, instead we get a flashback to Obi-Wan in hiding on Tatooine, trying (and failing, obviously) not to get involved; Luke trying to track down the Jedi legacy; Han meeting an unwelcome face from his past. And there's a big galaxy full of Imperials and crooks to menace them all, without having to use the original trilogy's antagonists to exhaustion. One could potentially object that aforementioned old associate of Han's is a bit of a Mary-Sue, but for the most part even that is handled well enough not to grate. More like this, please. (TRIGGER WARNING: Contains one scene of a Gungan nature)
    more
  • Travis Duke
    March 9, 2016
    Jason Aaron is living up to his credentials. He is balancing nostalgia, action, and humor very well. In this volume Luke is tracking down the old Jedi temple on Nar Shaddaa after he reads Obi-Wan's journal. Luke gets more than he bargains for by meeting Grakuss in his pursuit. Han is caught in a love triangle with Leia and Sana which is really amusing. Meanwhile we get to see Chewy kick some major ass while he is looking for Luke. I really like Stuart Immonen's Art, been a fan since seeing him i Jason Aaron is living up to his credentials. He is balancing nostalgia, action, and humor very well. In this volume Luke is tracking down the old Jedi temple on Nar Shaddaa after he reads Obi-Wan's journal. Luke gets more than he bargains for by meeting Grakuss in his pursuit. Han is caught in a love triangle with Leia and Sana which is really amusing. Meanwhile we get to see Chewy kick some major ass while he is looking for Luke. I really like Stuart Immonen's Art, been a fan since seeing him in x-men. Overall a fun ride in the star wars universe.
    more
  • Brandon Forsyth
    February 2, 2016
    A very near-disaster. The first volume of this series built up such a delightful premise (what if we got back to sassy heroes fighting desperate odds), and then this collection repeats nearly all of the mistakes of the first volume (hey kids, it's Dengar!!! *crickets*) while separating all the heroes and keeping the quips to a minimum. I want my Star Wars comics breezy and fun, not tired retreads of the arena scene from Episode II! Also I loathed the art in the Obi-Wan prelude.
    more
  • DramaQueen
    April 4, 2016
    Again a great story, with nice illustrations (yet I loved the illustration in volume I a little bit more). Really loving this Star Wars comic series! Only a 3-star rating because I enjoyed volume I more, but this one was definitely very entertaining as well
    more
  • R. Morris
    August 30, 2016
    Better than Volume 1 (which was still pretty good!), but mostly for Stuart Immonen's work. The guy's a genius! Just realized I'll need to pick up a different volume before reading Vol.3, but I'ma gonna hafta git my SW fix!
  • Lance Shadow
    May 15, 2016
    Even though I had some problems with the first volume, Skywalker Strikes, I knew there was potential for awesomeness. The constant referencing of the battle of Yavin and rehashing of quotes from A New Hope really bothered me, but it seemed like Jason Aaron found his stride by the end of the first volume after haphazardly referencing the first film to make sure readers knew that this was indeed Star Wars. He has continued to stay on that stride in the next book, Showdown on the Smuggler's Moon.T Even though I had some problems with the first volume, Skywalker Strikes, I knew there was potential for awesomeness. The constant referencing of the battle of Yavin and rehashing of quotes from A New Hope really bothered me, but it seemed like Jason Aaron found his stride by the end of the first volume after haphazardly referencing the first film to make sure readers knew that this was indeed Star Wars. He has continued to stay on that stride in the next book, Showdown on the Smuggler's Moon.THE STORY: Luke Skywalker continues the personal quest that started on Tatooine in hopes of learning more about the force and lightsaber combat. He found a journal written by Ben Kenobi, but is frustrated to find that it has nothing he sees as useful in it. He decides to go to Nar Shadaa, the smuggler's moon, in order to get passage to Coruscant where he can seek out the former jedi temple. However, things go wrong as he gets captured by a Hutt and he must use his nascent jedi skills to survive.When the rebels receive a distress call from R2D2, Chewbacca and C-3PO make their way to Nar Shadaa to rescue him. Meanwhile, Han and Leia team up with who appears to be Han's ex-wife to escape the imperials.The same stuff you enjoyed from Skywalker Strikes are present as well: lightsabers, dogfighting, cool cameos, and your classic characters being their awesome classic selves. THE BAD: I was a bit disappointed by the art in this one. It was not bad by any means of the word, but after the incredible art in the first volume, this one felt like a downgrade. I also wasn't so sure about the last battle scene right before they rescued Luke, it was kind of goofy. (view spoiler)[Han, Leia, and Chewbacca all start swinging around lightsabers and... yeah it was a little too silly for me (hide spoiler)]. THE GOOD: Other than the downgraded art and the climactic battle, this was a great continuation of the Marvel's 2015 Star Wars comic. The story progressed in an exciting manner for all the characters, especially for Luke. This is the kind of story that Heir to the Jedi should have been. We get some great character development from our main characters that fits perfectly in the gaps between A New Hope and the Empire Strikes Back. Luke is progressing, but Aaron rightfully, and skillfully keeps his powers highly restrained so it still fits in pre-Empire. I like how Luke is able to have a little bit of skill with a lightsaber but he still gets beaten almost every time. I also really enjoy how minimal the use of the force has been. Luke's force usage is kept to a minimum but it happens right when it counts. I am very impressed with the perfect balance that Jason Aaron has achieved with Luke's character.Han and Leia also are developed well. Aaron is able to make sure that they don't fall in love too early but through their dialogue it shows a chance of chemistry. Again, their story arc fits in pretty well in the gaps between the first two movies of the original trilogy. I also find the new characters to be pretty good. Sana makes for a fascinating dynamic between her, Han, and Leia. The Gamemaster was quite the cool person, and I hope he sticks around. Grakkus the Hutt was interesting as well and I am curious to see if he will pop up in future stories.There are references made to episode 4 in this volume but I was able to deal with them. As much as I hate it when star wars authors try to force a familiar quote, it can work. And here, I think it does. The quote references in the first collection were incredibly forced, pun intended, but I like how in this collection they didn't spout the quotes exactly like they were said. (view spoiler)[ the best example I can provide is when Sana was bragging about her ship. She said that Han probably bragged about the Millenium Falcon being the fastest ship in the galaxy and how he tries to elevate his ship from the hunk of garbage that it actually is, but then she just says he's full of crap and her ship is the best. I thought that was pretty funny (hide spoiler)]. And finally, I art. I may have criticized this volume's artwork for feeling like a downgrade from the first, but just on its own it was well done. Aside from the first issue, it feels cinematic in the same way that the first volume did. They had a different artist for the first issue than they did with the ones after, and its much more blurry and less detailed. Normally I would dislike blurry comic art but stylistically it was an excellent choice. The contrast between the first issue and the rest works excellently because it is what Luke is envisioning while he reads the journal. It isn't very defined because the characters are not experiencing Obi Wan's story directly- it takes place in the past and Luke has to use his imagination. This is quite clever and I commend the writers/artists for using an art style I generally really dislike and making me get behind it. THE VERDICT: Nar Shadaa is canon now!!! AAWWW YEAH!!!!!!!! I always appreciate it when the stuff I love from the Old Republic era is incorporated into the new canon. But on a more serious note, overall, this comic is great. I originally rated this one 4 stars because I was dissapointed by the art and the climax was goofy but thinking back on it the art still works well. my expectation in that regard shouldn't be enough to bring my star rating down from 5 to 4. Also the climax may be goofy, but it's not deal breaking. In terms of writing and characters, I think Showdown on the Smuggler's Moon solved every problem that Skywalker Strikes had. Overall, it improves upon the previous installment like a good sequel should. Get to reading the first volume and step right into the action, and then you can experience the burgeoning power of the force in the second.
    more
  • Dr. Strangelet
    September 20, 2016
    The second arc of Aaron's Star Wars is still kinda flawed but has much more interesting fun bits. Partially that's due to Stewart Immonen taking over the art with venerable inker Wade Von Grawbadger, who sounds like he belongs in Star Wars himself. His art's more fluid than Cassady's and his facial expressions and "acting" are much better; also his Luke's very pretty.In this volume, Han and Leia run into a snag while on the run from the Empire: a woman called Sana who insists she's married to Ha The second arc of Aaron's Star Wars is still kinda flawed but has much more interesting fun bits. Partially that's due to Stewart Immonen taking over the art with venerable inker Wade Von Grawbadger, who sounds like he belongs in Star Wars himself. His art's more fluid than Cassady's and his facial expressions and "acting" are much better; also his Luke's very pretty.In this volume, Han and Leia run into a snag while on the run from the Empire: a woman called Sana who insists she's married to Han Solo, and that he's trying to con Leia. There's a lot of entertaining back-and-forth between the three of them. Throwing in Sana freshens up the early adversarial-stage Han/Leia dynamic, the bits where they're alone in space arguing it out are worth the arc.Once again, there's a b-plot with Luke and once again, it's the weaker part of the story. Luke gets put through the venerable old "forced to fight in an arena" trope. There's some fun double-crossing and plot twists but Aaron still doesn't really get Luke, he's not awkward or kind enough. (Though there's some good dialogue between Luke and Han in the final battle which also reads a bit like Luke trying to awkwardly flirt with Han.) I don't think he should be slicing people in half this much, especially this early in his career.Aaron continues to have problems shoving in Cool Stuff even when it doesn't really fit the tone. There are a bunch of callbacks and call-forwards that don't really mean a lot in story terms. For example: Dengar shows up and hten gets immediately dispatched. Then there's the sinister Hutt antiquarian's cache of lightsabers... At the end (view spoiler)[Leia gets to use a lightsaber--which we could always use more of--but so do Han and Chewie (hide spoiler)]. Huh? I often think of Star Wars stories as being in-universe historical accounts, and this reads like something Sana was bullshitting at the bar after it was all over.Speaking of Sana... Her interactions with Leia wound up coming across as pretty gay. This isn't quite Princess Leia miniseries levels of gay, but it continues the trend of Leia interacting with women in pretty much the same way she does with Han. This is a good trend. Leia is the bi space princess icon we deserve, awkwardly hate-flirting with guys and girls alike.
    more
  • Jordan
    November 23, 2015
    THE LAST OF HIS BREED: FROM THE JOURNALS OF OLD BEN KENOBIBack to the Marvel ongoings! This is a one-off flashback story featuring Obi-Wan Kenobi as he tries to adjust to his “Old Ben” persona about eleven years before the events of A New Hope. It’s issue #7 of Marvel’s current Star Wars ongoing, and will be collected in Star Wars Vol. II: Showdown On The Smuggler’s Moon.It’s been seven years since the rise of the Empire, seven years since the death of the Jedi and the Republic. Formerly one of THE LAST OF HIS BREED: FROM THE JOURNALS OF OLD BEN KENOBIBack to the Marvel ongoings! This is a one-off flashback story featuring Obi-Wan Kenobi as he tries to adjust to his “Old Ben” persona about eleven years before the events of A New Hope. It’s issue #7 of Marvel’s current Star Wars ongoing, and will be collected in Star Wars Vol. II: Showdown On The Smuggler’s Moon.It’s been seven years since the rise of the Empire, seven years since the death of the Jedi and the Republic. Formerly one of the greatest Jedi of his generation, now Obi-Wan Kenobi lives a life of obscurity on the desert planet of Tatooine. Where once he protected the innocent of the galaxy, now “Old Ben” forces himself to look the other way lest he draw the Empire’s notice as Jabba’s thugs extort water from the locals. All that matters is protecting the boy, Luke Skywalker, on whose unknowing shoulders rest the fate of the galaxy. But there are limits to the patience of even the greatest of Jedi….This was a good one. The story was solid, and it’s always interesting to see Obi-Wan’s state of mind during his exile. Was this done better in John Jackson Miller’s Kenobi? Yes. That goes without saying, if only because he had more than twenty-four pages to tell his story. At any rate, Kenobi isn’t canon anymore, so we’ll not dwell on it. Simone Bianchi’s art here was stellar, I must say, and his Kenobi managed to blend Ewan McGregor and Alec Guinness superbly. I would very much like to see more of these one-off excerpts from Obi-Wan’s journal appear in future issues of the comic.CONTENT: Mild profanity. Mild violence. No sexual content.SHOWDOWN ON THE SMUGGLER'S MOONI very much enjoyed the first volume of Marvel’s ongoing Star Wars series, but many other reviewers took issue with it for playing things safe and giving us a story like many we’d seen before. These criticisms are not completely unfounded, I’ll admit, but neither are they completely fair. Either way, this is not a problem the series has going forward…Luke Skywalker has successfully escaped the clutches of the bounty hunter Boba Fett, but all he got for his troubles was the journal of Obi-Wan Kenobi–no small prize, but probably not all that helpful in furthering his Jedi training. So what’s the next logical step in learning about the Jedi? Try and sneak onto Coruscant to infiltrate the old Jedi Temple, of course! But when his attempt to find a discreet ship and pilot in a seedy bar on Nar Shaddaa goes horribly awry, Luke finds himself the prisoner of Grakkus the Hutt. In addition to the traditional crime and vice, Grakkus has made a name for himself as one of the foremost collectors of Jedi artifacts. Now Luke faces the battle of his life in Grakkus’ arena, billed as “the last Jedi” and pitted against a fearsome creature for the amusement of Grakkus’ fellow crime lords….Meanwhile, Han and Leia are out scouting potential locations for a new Rebel base when they run across a figure from Han’s past. Her name is Sana, and she claims to be his wife….As with the previous volume, this was some stellar work. Jason Aaron nails the banter between Han & Leia, to the point where you can almost hear Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford delivering the lines, and Luke’s mix of cockiness and self-doubt is spot-on for his character and situation. Also of note is Stuart Immonen’s spectacular artwork. From the character closeups to the panoramic vistas, this was pure Star Wars. Also amusing was watching our entire cast wade into battle wielding lightsabers. Did Luke manage to salvage anything of value from Grakkus’ stash on his way out? I guess we’ll have to wait and see….CONTENT: Moderate violence, not too gruesome most of the time. Mild profanity. Mild sexual innuendo and flirting.
    more
  • Brandt
    February 8, 2016
    I know I keep gushing about Marvel's ongoing Star Wars related series, but it's only because they are really good. This collection picks up where the previous collection leaves off with Luke having retrieved Ben Kenobi's diary from Tatooine after an encounter with Boba Fett and Han and Leia meeting Han's supposed wife, Sana. While there are two plot lines unfolding here, the real story is Luke's quest to find anything that can help him learn the Force now that his only connection to it, Kenobi, I know I keep gushing about Marvel's ongoing Star Wars related series, but it's only because they are really good. This collection picks up where the previous collection leaves off with Luke having retrieved Ben Kenobi's diary from Tatooine after an encounter with Boba Fett and Han and Leia meeting Han's supposed wife, Sana. While there are two plot lines unfolding here, the real story is Luke's quest to find anything that can help him learn the Force now that his only connection to it, Kenobi, is dead. As such he resolves to get some very shady characters to get him passage to Coruscant and the Jedi Temple in a move that reminds readers that even though Luke destroyed the Death Star, he's still for the most part a back woods yokel who has no idea how the universe really works. (Un)fortunately for Luke he finds someone with answers, and that only leads to more trouble.Showdown on the Smuggler's Moon is really successful because it follows a formula that worked so well in The Empire Strikes Back--since we are intimately familiar with our heroes, let's chuck them in the shit and see how it works out for them. Luke's desperation to learn the ways of the Jedi has been not only a theme in the Star Wars comic but in the novels as well (as seen in Jason Fry's The Weapon of a Jedi and possibly in Heir to the Jedi, I haven't read it yet) and it's kind of awesome that Luke is completely clueless as to exactly how dangerous his quest is and yet he keeps plugging along. In fact his quest for Jedi artifacts and knowledge mirrors the facts behind his disappearance in The Force Awakens where he's gone off in search of the first Jedi Temple, which is a really nice touch, even if it's unintentional. And much like when the gang gets back together at the end of The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars fans are treated to a moment that likely every fan has dreamed of.If there is a weakness to this collection, it's the "Sana Solo" story line. Given that this collection happens almost exactly after the destruction of the Death Star, I think the plot line relies too much on what fans know is coming in Empire and is basically a MacGuffin to keep Han and Leia out of the main plot until they are needed. Other than that, this collection is great, including the "Diary of Ben Kenobi" issue that I am sure is going to be a regular feature of the book and the art of Stuart Immonen, who I have been a fan of since his work on Legion of Superheroes back in the 90s. This is a must read for even casual Star Wars fans.
    more
Write a review