It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk
Jack is not fond of the bossy narrator of his fairy tale! When Jack is told to trade his beloved cow Bessie for some magic beans, throw the beans out the window, climb the ENORMOUS beanstalk that sprouts overnight, and steal from a GIANT, he decides this fairy tale is getting out of control. In fact, he doesn’t want to follow the story line at all. Who says Jack needs to enter a life of daring, thievery, and giant trickery? He takes his story into his own hands—and you’ll never guess what happens next!With laugh-out-loud dialogue and bold, playful art (including hidden fairy tale creatures for kids to find), this Jack and the Beanstalk retelling will have children rolling with laughter till Bessie the cow comes home.

It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk Details

TitleIt's Not Jack and the Beanstalk
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 19th, 2017
PublisherTwo Lions
ISBN-139781542045650
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Humor, Fairy Tales, Fractured Fairy Tales

It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk Review

  • Niki (Daydream Reader)
    January 1, 1970
    Hilarious and a MUST have for the library and any fairy tale unit!!
  • Kate Olson
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy - all opinions are my own. This remix of the classic Jack and the Beanstalk story will be a perfect addition to my fractured fairy tale collection in my library and is a guaranteed read aloud for my 4th graders during their fairy tale unit. I love that the format is more complex than most storybooks and requires understanding/discussion of the role of the narrator versus that of the participants in the story. I will definitely preface Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy - all opinions are my own. This remix of the classic Jack and the Beanstalk story will be a perfect addition to my fractured fairy tale collection in my library and is a guaranteed read aloud for my 4th graders during their fairy tale unit. I love that the format is more complex than most storybooks and requires understanding/discussion of the role of the narrator versus that of the participants in the story. I will definitely preface my read alouds with a discussion of the structure of the book and use a pointer as I am reading to highlight the speech bubbles, etc. Another hit picture book from Josh Funk - can't wait to add it to my library!
    more
  • M
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Josh Funk & Amazon Publishing for sharing this ARC w/ #kidlitexchange! All opinions are my own. Fantastic and fun! I can already hear my students giggling as Jack argues his way through the story. The style mirrors techniques used in the ever-popular Mo Willems stories, guaranteeing success amongst its readers. An absolute purchase for all libraries and a MUST read aloud this fall!
    more
  • Jillian Heise
    January 1, 1970
    Added July 9, 2017: Having now gotten to see the final version of this book, I think I love it even more. It's creative, unexpected, and hilarious. It left me laughing, and I'm sure kids will be cracking up also at the snarkiness of Jack as he responds to the narrator and questions how the story is going. A fantastic addition to a fractured fairy tales collection or unit, or as a mentor text for looking at dialogue and narration. LOVE!July 8, 2015: Got to hear the author read the manuscript of t Added July 9, 2017: Having now gotten to see the final version of this book, I think I love it even more. It's creative, unexpected, and hilarious. It left me laughing, and I'm sure kids will be cracking up also at the snarkiness of Jack as he responds to the narrator and questions how the story is going. A fantastic addition to a fractured fairy tales collection or unit, or as a mentor text for looking at dialogue and narration. LOVE!July 8, 2015: Got to hear the author read the manuscript of the text. Even without the illustrations, I was chuckling to myself and highly entertained by the metacognitive narrative elements and Jack's attitude in this fractured tale. Can not wait to see a finished copy and share with students!!
    more
  • Michelle Simpson
    January 1, 1970
    This book is so funny! Our kids loved it! It is the perfect book to use for reader's theater.
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Josh Funk writes a narrative (wait, is it Josh? Or Jack?) about Jack and the Beanstalk...no, wait! It's not about that Jack-in-the-Beanstalk version that you remember from long ago. Jack, the giant, and other fairy tale characters talk to the reader in this hilarious new picture book. A MUST read for kids, lovers of fractured fairy tales, or anyone who would like to go to a party.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    I love how Jack gets sassy with the narrator. This is destined to be a classic fractured fairy tale.
  • Lorraine Brontë Magee
    January 1, 1970
    Full review online at http://missmageesreads.com/.What would happen if fairytale characters didn’t listen to the narrator? That’s the question Josh Funk explores in his new book, It’s Not Jack and the Beanstalk. This hilarious, inventive new take on a classic will keep kids laughing out loud. When the narrator starts the story, Jack doesn’t exactly cooperate. He doesn’t want to get up in the morning, doesn’t want to throw the beans out the window, and especially doesn’t want to start climbing. I Full review online at http://missmageesreads.com/.What would happen if fairytale characters didn’t listen to the narrator? That’s the question Josh Funk explores in his new book, It’s Not Jack and the Beanstalk. This hilarious, inventive new take on a classic will keep kids laughing out loud. When the narrator starts the story, Jack doesn’t exactly cooperate. He doesn’t want to get up in the morning, doesn’t want to throw the beans out the window, and especially doesn’t want to start climbing. If Jack doesn’t do what the narrator says, will it change the end of the story?My students are big fans of fractured fairy tales. They love rooting for characters who may not have been heroes the first time around. I know they’ll love this book, where the giant is a little different than they might remember. They’ll also enjoy the playful illustrations by Edwardian Taylor, which just add comedy to an already hilarious tale.It’s Not Jack and the Beanstalk will be released on September 19th, 2017 by Two Lions.Huge thanks to Josh Funk for sharing a copy of It’s Not Jack and the Beanstalk with our #bookexcursion group! #bookexcursion is a group of nine educators who read and share new children’s and middle grade titles.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Jack is not pleased with the narrator of this story who tells him to do things he would prefer not to like sell his cow, throw away the magic beans he got for the cow, and climb the beanstalk that will lead him to a giant's castle.
  • Amber Webb
    January 1, 1970
    It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk was a fun twist on the classic fairy tale told from the perspective of the narrator with input from all the characters. The narrator isn't thrilled with the input which makes for a hilarious retelling of the story. Josh breaks away from his rhyming schemes to make this engaging and entertaining tale come to life. Edwardian Taylor does an amazing job with illustrations and brining out the details of the story. You won't want to miss this one from Funk!
    more
  • Matthew Winner
    January 1, 1970
    "Woah! It's a good thing I didn't eat those beans!" This book is HILARIOUS and gives voice to an entirely different perspective of the story: Jack's! Can't wait to share with readers this school year!
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely loved this story! It will work great for K-2nd grade. Super funny, great rhythm, nice illustrations. Can't wait to read this aloud.
  • Jennifer Druffel
    January 1, 1970
    *I received an advanced reader's edition from the @kidlitexchange for review purposes. All opinions are my own.Jack dislikes his life being directed by the narrator of his story. Should he be able to live life on his own terms? As Jack navigates his destined life, a fun, entertaining twist on the traditional Jack and the Beanstalk story unfolds. I absolutely LOVED this twist on Jack and the Beanstalk by author Josh Funk. I have fond memories as a child listening to the traditional fairy tale ove *I received an advanced reader's edition from the @kidlitexchange for review purposes. All opinions are my own.Jack dislikes his life being directed by the narrator of his story. Should he be able to live life on his own terms? As Jack navigates his destined life, a fun, entertaining twist on the traditional Jack and the Beanstalk story unfolds. I absolutely LOVED this twist on Jack and the Beanstalk by author Josh Funk. I have fond memories as a child listening to the traditional fairy tale over and over again. Josh did not disappoint. The witty banter between the narrator and Jack is fun and lively. The illustrations by Edwardian Taylor are bright and animated. Children will read this story over and over again noticing new detail every time. It would be a great addition to schools where a fairy tale unit or fairy tales are used in their curriculum as mentor texts. I am definitely adding this to our retold fairy tale writing unit. If you do not purchase this book, you are missing out.
    more
  • Stephanie shallcross
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy - all opinions are my own!This is the story of Jack and the Beanstalk...or is it? At the start of the book, we find the addition of a narrator that coaxes a very reluctant Jack along in this hilarious fractured fairy tale. First, Jack must relinquish his best friend, Bessie Cowpoke McPinwheel, in order to be able to eat. Then he gets the beans and throws them out the window as he is told. But, as the story progresses, Jack becomes incr Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy - all opinions are my own!This is the story of Jack and the Beanstalk...or is it? At the start of the book, we find the addition of a narrator that coaxes a very reluctant Jack along in this hilarious fractured fairy tale. First, Jack must relinquish his best friend, Bessie Cowpoke McPinwheel, in order to be able to eat. Then he gets the beans and throws them out the window as he is told. But, as the story progresses, Jack becomes increasingly resistant to being told what to do and that is when hilarity ensues. There are some real laugh out loud moments here, especially when Jack and the Giant collaborate against the increasingly frustrated narrator to take control of their own story. This story definitely lends itself to a read aloud with kids participating in the dialogue. The illustrations, by Edwardian Taylor, are also a strong point. They support the text beautifully. Highly Recommend!
    more
  • Kassandra
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book - All opinions are my own. . . .Let me start off by saying that Jack was very mischievous. Jack didn't like the way the narrator was telling his story, so he decided to take the story into his own hands. . But thankfully they were both able to agree on an ending!The illustrations were brightly colored and beautiful! This picture book will attract the attention of any child walking by. My favorite part was being able to spot cl Thanks to the kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book - All opinions are my own. . . .Let me start off by saying that Jack was very mischievous. Jack didn't like the way the narrator was telling his story, so he decided to take the story into his own hands. . But thankfully they were both able to agree on an ending!The illustrations were brightly colored and beautiful! This picture book will attract the attention of any child walking by. My favorite part was being able to spot classic fairy tale characters throughout the story.
    more
  • Angie Hull
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Amazon Publishing for sending an Advanced Reading Copy. Josh Funk's picture book has humor, has thoughtfulness, and has ideas of the importance of friendship. The dialogue with the narrator has you laughing out loud and wanting more and more.
    more
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    Another in the canon of fractured fairy tales that are taken over from the narrator by the characters themselves. Lots of jokes about farting and talking back to the narrator make the book enjoyable for older readers.
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    What a fun story! I love how spunky Jack is. I can't wait to share with my 7th graders. I think it will lead to some fun creative writing projects and some laughs. I also know my nieces (2,5, & 6) will love Jack. #bookblazers
  • Mary Jo
    January 1, 1970
    It's interesting to read a Josh Funk book that is not in rhyme. I'm looking forward to reading this book aloud with the many different voices found in the book. I think this book will have kids giggling and noticing all the fun details in the illustrations.
    more
  • Caitlin Zonder
    January 1, 1970
    LOVE this book! Another fantastic story from Josh. I love the back and forth between Jack and the narrator. It is definitely a must read!
  • Michele Knott
    January 1, 1970
    Told with his trademark wit and humor, readers will love this next Josh Funk book! I can see this book being used for many mentor text purposes!
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    Original, funny, and clever! Kids and adults will giggle! I especially liked the truly gentle giant.
  • Kim
    January 1, 1970
    Jack is not pleased with the narrator and the direction of the story. Hilarious read aloud. Josh Funk knocks another on out of the park! 💚
  • Erika
    January 1, 1970
    Voice, spunk, and a new twist- love it!
  • Jennifer Effinger-Damron
    January 1, 1970
    I had Josh Funk read it to my library! SUCH A GREAT BOOK! It's great to be able to interact with the characters and have a different take on the story.
  • Christina Carter
    January 1, 1970
    * Note: Review of Advance Reader Copy | Book Release Date: 9/19/17You may think you know how everything went down with Jack that fateful day the beanstalk grew in his yard; well that is if you believe what the narrator has been telling you. But guess what? Jack doesn't need any mean old narrator to be the boss of him! That's right. This is Not Jack and the Beanstalk. Jack has his own ideas about how he believes the story should go and he's going to do something about it!It's not really the fairy * Note: Review of Advance Reader Copy | Book Release Date: 9/19/17You may think you know how everything went down with Jack that fateful day the beanstalk grew in his yard; well that is if you believe what the narrator has been telling you. But guess what? Jack doesn't need any mean old narrator to be the boss of him! That's right. This is Not Jack and the Beanstalk. Jack has his own ideas about how he believes the story should go and he's going to do something about it!It's not really the fairy tales that my students like so much anymore as it is the fractured retellings of these beloved stories. It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk is exactly what our kids love to read because it is hilarious and it is filled with illustrations (by Edwardian Taylor) that help bring the story to life with robust colors and delightful characters. It is my firm belief that no child (or adult for that matter) is too old to enjoy an awesome picture book like this one. Happy reading! It's Not Jack and the Beanstalk Josh Funk
    more
  • Kirsti Call
    January 1, 1970
    This story had me and my kids laughing and wondering what could possibly happen next. I'm a huge fan of fractured fairy tales, and a huge fan of Josh Funk, so this book is a winner!
  • Kellee
    January 1, 1970
    Full review with teaching tools: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=1...Trent loves the story of Jack and the Beanstalk. They must read it at his school because he knew the whole story, and I think it is hilarious that he argues with me about what is happening in the book. We’ve talked about how this is a different Jack story but he, like the narrator, just really wants Jack to do what he is supposed to. I love the way that Josh Funk has broken the 4th wall and has the narrator talk to the char Full review with teaching tools: http://www.unleashingreaders.com/?p=1...Trent loves the story of Jack and the Beanstalk. They must read it at his school because he knew the whole story, and I think it is hilarious that he argues with me about what is happening in the book. We’ve talked about how this is a different Jack story but he, like the narrator, just really wants Jack to do what he is supposed to. I love the way that Josh Funk has broken the 4th wall and has the narrator talk to the characters; it is such a unique way to twist the fairy tale and makes it so hilarious. I look forward to reading this to Trent and students for many years.
    more
  • Carrie Charley Brown
    January 1, 1970
    Jack is a boy who is not afraid to speak what's on his mind. When the narrator's directions begin to lead him in directions he does not want to go, he stands strong and offers his honest advice (and ear for rhyme) to a giant in need. As it turns out, Jack is not the only one who doesn't like to be pushed in undesirable directions. And as all fairy tales seem to go, happy endings make the best of all.In a traditional story, a narrator usually doesn't interact with other characters. But author Jos Jack is a boy who is not afraid to speak what's on his mind. When the narrator's directions begin to lead him in directions he does not want to go, he stands strong and offers his honest advice (and ear for rhyme) to a giant in need. As it turns out, Jack is not the only one who doesn't like to be pushed in undesirable directions. And as all fairy tales seem to go, happy endings make the best of all.In a traditional story, a narrator usually doesn't interact with other characters. But author Josh Funk adds a unique metafiction spin when he plays with the story's structure. Jack and the narrator don't just communicate, they even disagree. It gets downright bossy at times and Jack is fully aware that he is in a story. I must disagree with Jack when he says, "This story keeps getting worse and worse." For readers, it just keeps getting better and better. Reader code for worse and worse is of course, tension, drama, and conflict. Yes! We crave it! We must have it! Without it, the story would be boring. There will be none of that in this story which begs to be read a loud. Step into character and be ready to perform. It's your chance to use two distinct main character voices... (Personally, I use an British announcer-ish voice (think Robin Leach) for the narrator and a pronounced nasal-ish tone for Jack. Oh, and a low moo voice for Bessy the Cow, a dreamy voice for Cinderella, and a booming voice for the Giant.)Paired with Edwardian Taylor's animated illustration style and lots of dialogue between characters, It's NOT Jack and the Beanstalk appeals to the reader just as a humorous video or television program would. And in this age of electronics and technology, it ought to earn high points with kids. Reaching the child reader's interest level is the key to transforming them into lifelong readers.
    more
Write a review