Royal Bastards
Being a bastard blows. Tilla would know. Her father, Lord Kent of the Western Province, loved her as a child, but cast her aside as soon as he had trueborn children.At sixteen, Tilla spends her days exploring long-forgotten tunnels beneath the castle with her stablehand half brother, Jax, and her nights drinking with the servants, passing out on Jax’s floor while her castle bedroom collects dust. Tilla secretly longs to sit by her father’s side, resplendent in a sparkling gown, enjoying feasts with the rest of the family. Instead, she sits with the other bastards, like Miles of House Hampstedt, an awkward scholar who’s been in love with Tilla since they were children.Then, at a feast honoring the visiting princess Lyriana, the royal shocks everyone by choosing to sit at the Bastards’ Table. Before she knows it, Tilla is leading the sheltered princess on a late-night escapade. Along with Jax, Miles, and fellow bastard Zell, a Zitochi warrior from the north, they stumble upon a crime they were never meant to witness.Rebellion is brewing in the west, and a brutal coup leaves Lyriana’s uncle, the Royal Archmagus, dead—with Lyriana next on the list. The group flees for their lives, relentlessly pursued by murderous mercenaries; their own parents have put a price on their heads to prevent the king and his powerful Royal Mages from discovering their treachery.The bastards band together, realizing they alone have the power to prevent a civil war that will tear their kingdom apart—if they can warn the king in time. And if they can survive the journey . . .

Royal Bastards Details

TitleRoyal Bastards
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN1484767659
ISBN-139781484767658
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Royal Bastards Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 2, 2017
    Original review:Might even come back to round this up to 5 after careful consideration (or if they update that boring cover). This book was an adventure and I can't remember the last time I've had this much fun coming along for the ride. The style of writing was interesting; i started out wondering if this was actually a Middle Grade book, and as the story progressed pulled a huge "NOPE- definitely YA". The only comparison I can think of is how the Harry Potter books progressed; they start out v Original review:Might even come back to round this up to 5 after careful consideration (or if they update that boring cover). This book was an adventure and I can't remember the last time I've had this much fun coming along for the ride. The style of writing was interesting; i started out wondering if this was actually a Middle Grade book, and as the story progressed pulled a huge "NOPE- definitely YA". The only comparison I can think of is how the Harry Potter books progressed; they start out very light and youthful in feel but gradually grow darker and heavier? That was totally this book. The author did an excellent job of connecting me to the characters and keeping my attention with equal parts action and background/fantasy world development. My only complaint was I wish the book had been slightly longer! I felt with an extra 50-75 pages it would have given the same quality of character development as some of the other hugely hyped YA fantasy books popular today. Overall, this was a classic Disney story and was 100% entertaining with somewhat mythical creatures and loads of magic. Definitely put this on your radar.*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my copy via NetGalley.
    more
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    October 12, 2016
    To whoever wrote this book's "synopsis":syn·op·sis/səˈnäpsəs/noun→ a brief summary or general survey of something.Do take note.
  • Candace Robinson
    January 5, 2017
    This book is fun and has a lot of great action scenes. I just could not get past some of the modern speaking. It was like the movie Romeo and Juliet (The Leonardo Dicaprio one) only reversed, with the speaking being modernish in a historical setting. Full review on my blog https://literarydust.wordpress.com/20...
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    February 10, 2016
    Another improved/redesigned cover! So happy =D Now if only I had more time for readings ---Reading the synopsis for the first time and I'm just like, "Wait, the protagonist is a girl? Why did I think it a guy?" To be honest, I do wish the main protagonist was a male. I feel like there aren't many YA books that I read with male protagonists. It'd be a nice change. Or well, guess this way is tried and true. ---Not sure how I feel about this cover, but I will wait until it's finalized to make any j Another improved/redesigned cover! So happy =D Now if only I had more time for readings ---Reading the synopsis for the first time and I'm just like, "Wait, the protagonist is a girl? Why did I think it a guy?" To be honest, I do wish the main protagonist was a male. I feel like there aren't many YA books that I read with male protagonists. It'd be a nice change. Or well, guess this way is tried and true. ---Not sure how I feel about this cover, but I will wait until it's finalized to make any judgments, that being said I need this book to come out faster! ---When the books on my TBR list keep changing titles I keep forgetting why I added them to my list, and thus must read the synopsis again. Then, I get all eager and anxious all over again. It is torture I tell you, torture.
    more
  • Dahlia
    January 7, 2017
    Good LORD did I love this. I'm totally a fan of Chosen Girl Fantasy and all, but this was a really nice break, more in the "friend group" vein of Finnikin, which I adore. The at-times anachronistic language totally worked to crack me up, and I really loved the gender balance of roles here - in the heroes, villains, and bastards. Adventure, romance, high stakes, a great premise, and a delightful and varied cast all combine to ensure this is gonna be one of my favorite Fantasy YAs of the year.
    more
  • Taylor Knight
    January 10, 2017
    Royal Bastards was one of my most anticipated books of 2017. I was super excited to start it but it took me forever and a half to finish it. This book is such a roller coaster. I liked it and then I didn't think I could finish it, it was such a back and forth battle. But even though I have my problems with this book, it got me emotionally invested in the plot and the characters. My biggest problem with this book is the characters. Two of the main characters, Tilla and Miles, annoyed me so much. Royal Bastards was one of my most anticipated books of 2017. I was super excited to start it but it took me forever and a half to finish it. This book is such a roller coaster. I liked it and then I didn't think I could finish it, it was such a back and forth battle. But even though I have my problems with this book, it got me emotionally invested in the plot and the characters. My biggest problem with this book is the characters. Two of the main characters, Tilla and Miles, annoyed me so much. Miles was such a boring character to me and Tilla was just really mean at times. She was so unsympathetic a few times toward Lyriana and it really bothered me. I'm not going to go into detail because I won't give out spoilers but she was kind of mean with her thoughts. She caught herself and changed her thinking, which I appreciated, but I still thought it was really mean of her.I did like Lyriana, Jax, and Zell though. I also really appreciated how Lyriana was so explicitly described of being a POC. There's not a lot of POC in YA fantasy and Lyriana is much needed. (I don't remember for sure if any of the other characters are described as POC but it's likely that they're described and I just don't remember because I already pictured everyone as POC and skipped over their description)I did like the writing style but the dialogue was oddly modern at times and it threw me off. Maybe I'm just being overly critical but it was just the little things in this book that bothered me. I loved the concept and plot so much. If I didn't find Tilla and Miles to be so annoying, I would have had a blast reading this book. One thing that really surprised me was how unexpectedly violent this book was. I don't really have a problem with it but if you're sensitive bloody fight scenes, you might want to pass on this book or just skip through those parts.Overall, even though I'm not head over heels for this book like I thought I was going to be, I loved the concept, plot, and three of the characters. This book did keep me engaged and I was emotionally invested. If you're a critical reader like me, this book might not be for you, especially if you expect a lot from fantasy books. I do think it's worth the chance though. Just don't have super high expectations like I did.
    more
  • Bree Barton
    October 5, 2016
    Oh my good lord, this book is SO MUCH FUN. I can't remember the last time I've had so much fun reading a book! ROYAL BASTARDS reminded me of everything I loved about adventure stories growing up—the swashbuckling romance, the acts of daring, the bad guys closing in, and the bonds of friendship forged amidst acts of astounding magic and astonishing villainy. I knew the moment I read the flap copy that I was going to love this book. I hadn't intended to read ROYAL BASTARDS in a day, but once the s Oh my good lord, this book is SO MUCH FUN. I can't remember the last time I've had so much fun reading a book! ROYAL BASTARDS reminded me of everything I loved about adventure stories growing up—the swashbuckling romance, the acts of daring, the bad guys closing in, and the bonds of friendship forged amidst acts of astounding magic and astonishing villainy. I knew the moment I read the flap copy that I was going to love this book. I hadn't intended to read ROYAL BASTARDS in a day, but once the story sucked me in, there was no escaping. The tension! The suspense! Titans' breath—I was flipping pages faster than a Whisper can deliver a message. Andrew is so damn good at writing suspense; he's also a total wiz at writing characters. I found myself cheering for this rather unconventional friend group, time and again. The way the band of bastards unfurls more and more layers the more they get to know each other…and the princess, frozen hells, what an arc…and then Tilla, our hero, WOW. Tilla's journey into total badassery made me jump up and cheer. Literally. I got out of bed and fist bumped the air. My boyfriend was like, "Waaahh?"The world building is amazing. The richness of the history is truly spellbinding (and I do mean spellbinding). But lest you think Andrew Shvarts is a benevolent god: NO. He makes you fall in love more than once, but he is also not afraid to break your heart. And—well, no spoilers, but suffice to say there's one twist that had me writhing in agony. Whyyyyyyyyy. Nooooooo! (In all the best "whyyyyyy" and "noooooo" kind of ways.) Read this book. It will make you wish you were a bastard, royal or otherwise. And that's saying something.
    more
  • Jenn *The Crimson Dark Lord Scribe, House of Slytheread*
    March 21, 2017
    Alright. I did not see that coming. I did not see myself liking this for the first like 40% of it. Then it just went to shit and I was like OH YES!.I'll review more once my computer charges up some more.
  • Emilie
    January 2, 2017
    I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley.This book sounded very interesting and I was looking forward to reading it. I almost put it down about three times in the first two chapters, however, and had to force myself to keep going. The problem was not with the story itself, the plot, the action, or most of the characters. The problem was with the main character Tilla. The book is narrated in the first person from her point of view, and in the first several pages she comes across as i I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley.This book sounded very interesting and I was looking forward to reading it. I almost put it down about three times in the first two chapters, however, and had to force myself to keep going. The problem was not with the story itself, the plot, the action, or most of the characters. The problem was with the main character Tilla. The book is narrated in the first person from her point of view, and in the first several pages she comes across as immature, slightly petulant, shallow, and coarse. I felt as though I were watching a bad CW program instead of reading a medieval-type fantasy novel. And this is mainly due to the words the author chooses to use. Insert "belly" for "abs," "carousing" instead of "partying," or "awe-inspiring" for "awesome," and the story would have flowed so much better. As it was, the author's word choice and syntax made Tilla seem unintelligent, uninteresting, foolish, and immature. I was not impressed by her at all and did not want to read a whole book told from her perspective. I did press on, though, and despite the fact that Tilla never did get much better, the story and plot was good, and that kept me interested.If the author had written a book with characters who fit into the medieval type of world that he created, this would have been a great book. It seemed however, that he took modern teenagers and stuck them right into the story where they did not fit, along with their verbiage, interests, and attitudes. Words and phrases like "hooking up," "screw braiding my hair," "old fogeys, and "He was hot," were extremely jarring and just took me out of action every time. Take away the modern use of words and this would have been a much better book.
    more
  • Damaris (GoodChoiceReading)
    November 30, 2016
    Betrayal, Romance, Action, Magic, Friendship, Laughter, Kick-ass females, Hot boys, Twist & turns... What more can a reader ask for?!? Huge 5
  • Empress of Books
    November 16, 2016
    Not sure how I feel about this cover...
  • Tova
    September 17, 2016
    This is one of my most anticipated books of next year because 1. That premise just sounds awesome 2. I'm getting some serious Jon Snow/ Game of Thrones vibes 3. It's Fantasy. Hopefully, I'll like it. I can't wait to see the final cover too.
  • Jamie Coudeville
    March 22, 2017
    This book caught me a bit by surprised. When you read the synopsis it doesn't seem that different from other High Fantasy YA novels. But the most important thing in this book were the relationships, the platonic ones. The writer could've easily put all of the focus on the romance and neglected the friendships (which was my biggest concern when I started) but didn't. The friendships are without a doubt my favorite part of this book. Now as for the romance, the initial signs towards a love triangl This book caught me a bit by surprised. When you read the synopsis it doesn't seem that different from other High Fantasy YA novels. But the most important thing in this book were the relationships, the platonic ones. The writer could've easily put all of the focus on the romance and neglected the friendships (which was my biggest concern when I started) but didn't. The friendships are without a doubt my favorite part of this book. Now as for the romance, the initial signs towards a love triangle had me worried but I like how it was handled. To explain I'd have to get spoilery and I'd like to avoid that for the time being. I read that this book is the first of a trilogy. At this point, a duology would seem more logical, given how this book ended but I'm very curious to see what the writer has planned. I gave this book 4,5 stars. The only thing I was missing was for a certain character to get what's coming to him/her. But I guess that's for the sequels. If you like High Fantasy YA novels, I totally recommend this one.I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions in this review are my own.
    more
  • Janeli
    February 24, 2017
    Royal Bastards is set in a world where magic is real and Kings and Queens rule the land. This story follows Tillandra Kent, a bastard to High Lord Kent of the Western Province. Tilla lives her life roaming caves, drinking wine skins, and avoiding her Headmaiden with her fellow bastard and half brother, Jax. One day, the crowned princess visits the West, specifically House Kent, and a huge banquet is thrown in her honor. Stuck stringing along Miles, bastard of House Hampestead (I'm 110% positive Royal Bastards is set in a world where magic is real and Kings and Queens rule the land. This story follows Tillandra Kent, a bastard to High Lord Kent of the Western Province. Tilla lives her life roaming caves, drinking wine skins, and avoiding her Headmaiden with her fellow bastard and half brother, Jax. One day, the crowned princess visits the West, specifically House Kent, and a huge banquet is thrown in her honor. Stuck stringing along Miles, bastard of House Hampestead (I'm 110% positive I spelled that wrong), Zell, the Zitochi, and the princess Lyriana, Tilla takes them with her to Whitesand Beach with her brother. However, they witness a plan to start another Great War. Forced to run for their lives, this little group of bastards try to survive long enough to warn the King of these treacherous plans. (I suck at writing a synopsis)I have to say I loved this book a lot more than I thought I would. It was fun, bloody, sad, suspenseful, you name it. I loved the characters, it was fun to see how they bonded over time and really became a family. It was nice to see some of them grow closer than family. The plot was amazing, I still have some questions but I think (hope) they will be answered in the second book. There were still some things that I didn't like that much. One of them is the language used in the book, its pretty modern. However, the writing was simple, it flowed pretty well and not difficult to read, so I don't see it as a BIG thing. Another would be the "twist". I kinda saw it coming a mile away. It's pretty overused in YA, but again I don't feel that bad about it.Lastly, would be the pacing. Sometimes, for me, it would switch from fast to slow. It didn't bother me that much because the writing is pretty easy, so it wasn't REALLY slow. Other than those small things, this book was really good. It surprised me so much on how much I enjoyed this book. I think this book really got me with the characters. I loved the dynamic of them. Don't get me wrong though, the plot is so good! I need to know what happens next! Not going to lie, I kinda wish Tilla would learn some magic and becomes a bad-ass mage.
    more
  • Ashley
    March 22, 2017
    Sooooo excellent!4.5 stars
  • Tricia Levenseller
    November 6, 2016
    ROYAL BASTARDS pulled me in with its exciting plot and the dire stakes for each of the characters. I loved how distinct and vital each character was. The inner struggles they experienced were so real and relatable--I couldn't help but love them all and root for them. The action was of the intense, edge-of-your-seat variety. The ending was amazingly satisfying and left me dying to read the next book!
    more
  • C.M. McCoy
    March 13, 2017
    Reviewed for North of Normal Book Reviews Dark, edgy, thrilling!ROYAL BASTARDS by Andrew Shvarts is a stand-alone teen epic fantasy, suitable for readers aged 16 and over due to graphic violence, alcohol consumption, and one sexual situation.What in the frozen Hell did I just read?I requested this title from NetGalley because I loved the cover. Didn't even bother reading the blurb, and honestly, if I had known I'd have an epic fantasy on my hands, I'd have steered clear, because high fantasy ALW Reviewed for North of Normal Book Reviews Dark, edgy, thrilling!ROYAL BASTARDS by Andrew Shvarts is a stand-alone teen epic fantasy, suitable for readers aged 16 and over due to graphic violence, alcohol consumption, and one sexual situation.What in the frozen Hell did I just read?I requested this title from NetGalley because I loved the cover. Didn't even bother reading the blurb, and honestly, if I had known I'd have an epic fantasy on my hands, I'd have steered clear, because high fantasy ALWAYS puts my brain to sleep, and I'd long ago given up my hunt for the unicorn of high fantasy--that one book that can immediately suck me in and send my heart racing.Well, turns out I found it! I'm glad I didn't skip this one--this is THE EPIC FANTASY written for impatient readers like me who love the movies but fall asleep reading LOTR. Dripping with adrenaline, ROYAL BASTARDS is just what the title and cover promise: an edgy, so-wrong-it's-right read.Except for that first line "Being a bastard blows," the back cover blurb (now that I've read it) doesn't do this book justice. Tilla's the 16-year-old bastard daughter of a regional Lord, who pretty much ignores her now that he has a proper wife and three "legitimate" daughters. Why he hasn't disowned her and tossed her out on the street is the question that fixes hope in her heart--that her father will one day decide to legitimize her (give her his last name, let her eat at the family table, etc) and thereby save her from a life as a servant. But when Tilla and her beloved half-brother (also a bastard) witness her father kill a visiting Mage from the king's court (an act of war), it's game on. Tilla along with a band of other misfit bastards embark on a mission to deliver the visiting teenage princess safely back to her kingdom before her bloodthirsty father kills her (and Tilla, too).Shvarts does so much so well. The opening pages immediately sucked me in, and while there were bits of backstory I skimmed, I felt pretty much glued to these characters and this plot. As far as world-building goes, Shvarts nails it. Nothing is over done, and everything weaves together beautifully, subtly, and--oh yeah--THRILLINGLY. There's a thread of subtle humor that offsets the sometimes over-the-top graphic violence (though the main character is a chick, it's clear a dude wrote this). Though I didn't actually laugh out loud, I did get a bit misty-eyed at the end, and I was a little angry with Shvarts for killing my favorite character. I think I might've actually blurted, "You bastard!" But that's the beauty of this book, it totally screws the rules of fair play. So, reader be warned: this is a fast-paced, violent book that skirts the edge of inappropriate in the best and most thrilling way!Though it's marketed as YA, this book may be a little too edgy for readers under 16, as it depicts the 16-year-old main character drinking loads of alcohol, engaged in sex, and bashing in skulls in all the gory detail. ROYAL BASTARDS will appeal to fans of dark fairy tales, those who loved the LOTR movies, and anyone with a chip on their shoulder. I loved this book so much, I want to share it with a hardcover giveaway (on the North of Normal Blog).ROYAL BASTARDS earns 4 North of Normal stars!4.5 Goodreads and Amazon stars!
    more
  • Stephanie
    February 17, 2017
    Okay, so I received an ARC for this book from NetGalley.com and I could not have been more excited! I found this book in September and I have been waiting to get a chance to read it ever since then. I wasn’t disappointed. It had a great cast of characters, an interesting conflict, and a setting that is easy to visualize. It comes with love, heartache, betrayal and fun. What more could you have asked for in a teen fantasy book? A solid start to a promising series Mr. Shvarts, real solid. I’m read Okay, so I received an ARC for this book from NetGalley.com and I could not have been more excited! I found this book in September and I have been waiting to get a chance to read it ever since then. I wasn’t disappointed. It had a great cast of characters, an interesting conflict, and a setting that is easy to visualize. It comes with love, heartache, betrayal and fun. What more could you have asked for in a teen fantasy book? A solid start to a promising series Mr. Shvarts, real solid. I’m ready for the next book.Top three things I loved about this book:1. Tilla. She’s one cool chick. I usually struggle with male authors writing for a female character (and vice versa), not this time. Tilla is a typical sixteen year old with typical thoughts and problems...and a few that aren’t so typical. She’s not obnoxious or whiny, she is definitely someone you would want to hang out with. This is the most important thing for me in a book and I usually always have something pertaining to characters in my reviews. If you can’t like whose eyes you’re reading through then why read that book?2. The heart wrenching amount of death that takes place in the book. The story starts off with murder and really, it ends that way too. Shvarts is not shy about giving you the bloody details nor is he going to spare your feelings about certain people that he makes you love and then kills...ahem...it’s great. No really, the book is packed with action and it draws you in. 3. The book is packed with characters of different skin colors and cultures. It makes for a more interesting cast of characters and adds to the story. I really enjoyed it and I didn’t feel like the racism and prejudices that are addressed in the story was overpowering. Top three things I did not care for in the book:1. Any time you have a book where you travel a lot in, it’s going to be rough for me. This is barely worth mentioning because you get to know the characters and there is a lot of things that happen, action wise, as they travel. It slows me down reading wise, but definitely not something you should not read the book over. 2. Miles. Man, I hate that whine bag. 3. This isn’t really a “dislike” for me but I feel like I should mention that the language is pretty modern. It throws some people off, but I thought it went well with the story and the characters.Overall, there isn’t much that I just didn’t like about this book. It is an easy going book with sections that are intense and hard to put down. I like that the characters are down to Earth, except Miles (seriously, he is a boob), and learning that all that they can really control is themselves and what choices they make. I would recommend this book to anyone 12 and older.Now, all that is left to do is wait for the second book to come out...
    more
  • Michael Miller
    December 28, 2016
    This is a story about assumptions, and how wrong they can be. Every character, every plotline, and every worldbuilding fact is subverted in delicious ways. This would be easy to do flagrantly; it's very difficult to do in such a way that you, the reader, have your assumptions subverted as much as that of the characters. Now that is a feat. At first glance, one might think that this book is simply a fun swashbuckling adventure story. It is an adventure, it is swashbuckling, and it is fun. But eve This is a story about assumptions, and how wrong they can be. Every character, every plotline, and every worldbuilding fact is subverted in delicious ways. This would be easy to do flagrantly; it's very difficult to do in such a way that you, the reader, have your assumptions subverted as much as that of the characters. Now that is a feat. At first glance, one might think that this book is simply a fun swashbuckling adventure story. It is an adventure, it is swashbuckling, and it is fun. But even that assumption is twisted early on, when you realize that the author has put his characters into a world with very real dangers. If the humor is laught out loud genuine, if the bright moments are so bright, that carries the same price it does in the real world - horrors are horrible, the sadness is unsettling, sticking with you. This is a good thing, grounding the story in reality, acting as a touchstone so the emotions ring true. Shvarts doesn't spend his time hammering you with realizations or grand messages; he lets events and characters do the talking, and the protagonist, Tilla, is one of a band of characters that you will be so very invested in. Her grandest triumphs are internal, personal, ones we can all learn from. Presuming, of course, you are interested in lessons in badassery. This badassery does not come easily to her, but when she does come into her own, the payoff was enough to make me swear to myself out loud at 2am. Come for the fantasy setting and against-all-odds thriller. Stay for the misfits you want to be friends with, the romance, the action, and the knowledge you're reading a book that will stay with you long after you pick it up.
    more
  • Rebecca
    November 23, 2016
    This book was AWESOME. It's a thrilling ride full of well-realized characters. Tilla, Lyriana, Jax, Zell (!!!)... I loved them all. If you love GAME OF THRONES, you'll like ROYAL BASTARDS!
  • Claire
    October 9, 2016
    Can't wait to get my grubby paws on this book! Sounds so good!
  • Breeana Shields
    October 27, 2016
    What a fun, fantastic adventure! ROYAL BASTARDS is full of suspense, romance, and humor. I loved it and can't wait to follow Tilla right into book two!
  • Alexandra Ott
    October 18, 2016
    This book is so much fun! It's a fast-paced adventure full of humor, romance, magic, friendship, and stunning twists. There's so much tension and suspense that kept me glued to the pages. The main cast of characters is an unconventional group of kids thrown together by circumstance, and I couldn't help but root for them. Without going into spoilers, several of the characters have amazing arcs, and more than one twist left me stunned. Highly recommend for fantasy fans looking for high-stakes adve This book is so much fun! It's a fast-paced adventure full of humor, romance, magic, friendship, and stunning twists. There's so much tension and suspense that kept me glued to the pages. The main cast of characters is an unconventional group of kids thrown together by circumstance, and I couldn't help but root for them. Without going into spoilers, several of the characters have amazing arcs, and more than one twist left me stunned. Highly recommend for fantasy fans looking for high-stakes adventure!
    more
  • chelsea
    February 18, 2017
    i liked royal bastards more than i thought i would. i didn't have many expectations before going into this, and i found the beginning a bit slow. royal bastards picks up pace rather quickly and it's hard to not like it.one thing i absolutely hated about this book was the romance. it was so annoying and didn't add anything to the story. the romance impacts the twist towards the end of the book but it was somewhat unbelieveable (as a certain character acts very over the top about it). it would've i liked royal bastards more than i thought i would. i didn't have many expectations before going into this, and i found the beginning a bit slow. royal bastards picks up pace rather quickly and it's hard to not like it.one thing i absolutely hated about this book was the romance. it was so annoying and didn't add anything to the story. the romance impacts the twist towards the end of the book but it was somewhat unbelieveable (as a certain character acts very over the top about it). it would've made more sense if the romance was erased and the twist was something planned from the beginning rather than a last minute, emotional decision.i really loved lyriana. i found her interesting and well developed. i'd love to know more about her story and what happens next for her. i enjoyed tilla, but not as much as i'd've liked for a protagonist. she wasn't as developed as lyriana and i hope this is something that changes with the next book. (i'm assuming there'll be a sequel). i found zell really interesting! his backstory needed more elaboration. he comes off as one of those "mysterious background" types, and i hate those. but he's very cool and worthwhile. miles, on the other hand, was extremely boring. i couldn't stand him one bit.i found the plot somewhat lacking, but i still really enjoyed learning about the characters. i liked the journey and the exploration of the world. nothing gives a better opportunity for world building than going on a journey/quest of some sort. the place felt very much like medieval england (mostly because of the name "kent").i'm very glad to have been given the opportunity to review this book, especially since it exceeded my expectations. it was a fun, light read and i can't wait to see where the next book takes us.
    more
  • Leah
    February 8, 2017
    Did I love it? No, but I did enjoy most of it, and I'd read the sequel (if there is one?). I liked the characters and the general storyline. The execution was where the book failed. There weren't any big surprises or twists that you couldn't predict. Each of the main characters represent a cliche and turn out to be exactly what you expect they will be-- a bastard daughter who spends her life in the servants versus in the castle learning to be a lady, the bastard stableboy with a big heart full o Did I love it? No, but I did enjoy most of it, and I'd read the sequel (if there is one?). I liked the characters and the general storyline. The execution was where the book failed. There weren't any big surprises or twists that you couldn't predict. Each of the main characters represent a cliche and turn out to be exactly what you expect they will be-- a bastard daughter who spends her life in the servants versus in the castle learning to be a lady, the bastard stableboy with a big heart full of courage, the whiny bastard son who wants nothing more than to prove his worth to his mother, the sheltered princess who feels her calling is to save the little people, and the savage native who turns out to be more than a one note killing machine. There was no imagination or surprise for any of the characters. No one developed at all. Also, the setting is in a fantasy world but the characters use our modern English words and profanities, so it felt more like an urban fantasy at times. It just felt disjointed.
    more
  • Olivia
    February 12, 2017
    YES. This is my ideal teen fantasy. Easy to get into and easy to read but still a really good plot and fun cast of characters.
  • Caroline
    January 1, 2017
    Have you ever burst out with delighted laughter because one of the characters in the book you are reading is doing something SO awesome . . . only to have that laughter choke you only one second after you turn the page because of what happens next? Nope? Well, you will with ROYAL BASTARDS, and not just once. This fantastic fantasy adventure keeps spinning you round and round, clutching at your heart, your head and your gut in close succession, over and over. Thrilling and exciting, but warm and Have you ever burst out with delighted laughter because one of the characters in the book you are reading is doing something SO awesome . . . only to have that laughter choke you only one second after you turn the page because of what happens next? Nope? Well, you will with ROYAL BASTARDS, and not just once. This fantastic fantasy adventure keeps spinning you round and round, clutching at your heart, your head and your gut in close succession, over and over. Thrilling and exciting, but warm and tender at times too. Out from Disney-Hyperion on June 6th, and worth the wait.
    more
  • Jen
    February 4, 2017
    3.5 Stars. I would classify this as High Fantasy Lite.It has the action, adventure, betrayal, humor, magic, and romance I've come to expect in a HF story, but something was missing for me. It was almost as if this was intended to be more than one book but someone decided it to fit it all into one. I really enjoyed the relationships though, whether they be sibling, friends, or romantic. If you're looking for a fast, fun, and entertaining read, definitely give this one a shot.
    more
  • Lissa
    December 21, 2016
    Fantasy-adventure and fast-paced story of a small group of teenagers with nothing and everything in common. Well done, a bit violent for my lighthearted tastes but nothing over the top and war violence against women was carefully not described, only alluded to.
    more
  • Keyan
    January 3, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book! The plot is fast-paced and engaging, the characters all unique and likable, and there are some particularly lovely descriptive passages. I'd recommend this to all fans of YA, fantasy, and good storytelling in general.
Write a review