Finding Mighty
Along the train lines north of New York City, twelve-year-old neighbors Myla and Peter search for the link between Myla’s necklace and the disappearance of Peter’s brother, Randall. Thrown into a world of parkour, graffiti, and diamond-smuggling, Myla and Peter encounter a band of thugs who are after the same thing as Randall. Can Myla and Peter find Randall before it’s too late, and their shared family secrets threaten to destroy them all? Drawing on urban art forms and local history, Finding Mighty is a mystery that explores the nature of art and the unbreakable bonds of family.

Finding Mighty Details

TitleFinding Mighty
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherAmulet Books
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Mystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Crime, New York

Finding Mighty Review

  • Stephanie
    April 15, 2017
    This book is SO SO SO good! I absolutely loved Sheela Chari's first MG mystery, Vanished, but this is even a step up from that in complexity and depth: an utterly thrilling MG suspense novel that kept me on the edge of my seat throughout (there was one point when I had to set it down for a moment and take a breath because I was feeling REALLY tense with nerves for the characters!) that also has utterly wonderful, deep characterization and vivid, compelling voices for both of the alternating PoV This book is SO SO SO good! I absolutely loved Sheela Chari's first MG mystery, Vanished, but this is even a step up from that in complexity and depth: an utterly thrilling MG suspense novel that kept me on the edge of my seat throughout (there was one point when I had to set it down for a moment and take a breath because I was feeling REALLY tense with nerves for the characters!) that also has utterly wonderful, deep characterization and vivid, compelling voices for both of the alternating PoV characters, Myla and Peter. There's so much deep, lovely stuff in here about family and friendship - and it's also just incredibly exciting and full of Parkour and danger and awesomeness!I read an e-ARC of this but will definitely be buying a copy for my kids to read when they're old enough. DEFINITELY worth pre-ordering this one, guys - and if you haven't read Vanished yet, now would be a great moment! :)
    more
  • Tim
    December 24, 2016
    New York sixth grader and Indian American Myla (no one can pronounce her actual name) dreams of being noticed…she’s short, and doesn’t see anything remarkable in herself. Mixed-race Peter just wants to hang out with his older brother Randall since their mother is busy (when she’s not nervous about something) and their father has been dead for years. Myla buys a necklace with an Om (Sanskrit letter) on it hoping it will draw attention, and a creepy guy tries to get it back from her. Peter’s broth New York sixth grader and Indian American Myla (no one can pronounce her actual name) dreams of being noticed…she’s short, and doesn’t see anything remarkable in herself. Mixed-race Peter just wants to hang out with his older brother Randall since their mother is busy (when she’s not nervous about something) and their father has been dead for years. Myla buys a necklace with an Om (Sanskrit letter) on it hoping it will draw attention, and a creepy guy tries to get it back from her. Peter’s brother vanishes…and then their mother insists they move AGAIN. Parallel mysteries narrated by the two main characters intersect as the two meet and (slowly) learn to trust each other. What does the Om necklace have to do with the graffiti Om tags appearing around New York & suburbs? How does that tie in to Randall’s disappearance? And does any of this have anything to do with Peter’s father’s death or the diamonds his grandmother is reported to have helped to steal? Sheela Chari’s second mystery is as intriguing as her Edgar-award nominated first mystery Vanished. Very realistic, intelligent, urban middle-classed tween characters people (and solve) this page-turning mystery. Well worth every young mystery reader’s time.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 13, 2017
    Missing diamonds, graffiti, parkour & middle schoolers caught in the middle of it all. What more could you want?
  • Lessa
    March 19, 2017
    A great mystery for middle grade readers featuring interesting, flawed, and lovable diverse characters!
  • Gina
    January 7, 2017
    I REALLY loved this book!! I'm so excited for it to be released and urge readers of every age to fall in love with these characters and story.
  • Michelle Kidwell
    February 27, 2017
    Finding Mightyby Sheela ChariABRAMS KidsAmulet BooksMiddle Grade, Children's FictionPub Date 30 May 2017Archive Date 30 Apr 2017I am voluntarily reviewing a copy of Finding Mighty through the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for my honest review which is as follows:The story revolves around Twelve year old's Myla and Peter and Peter's brother Randall.  The beginning of that Summer Peter and Randall's Mom bought them a pair of Air Jordan's.One day Myra's necklace goes missing, is there a conn Finding Mightyby Sheela ChariABRAMS KidsAmulet BooksMiddle Grade, Children's FictionPub Date 30 May 2017Archive Date 30 Apr 2017I am voluntarily reviewing a copy of Finding Mighty through the publisher and Netgalley in exchange for my honest review which is as follows:The story revolves around Twelve year old's Myla and Peter and Peter's brother Randall.  The beginning of that Summer Peter and Randall's Mom bought them a pair of Air Jordan's.One day Myra's necklace goes missing, is there a connection to the missing necklace and Peter's missing brother.Randall leaves clues for his brothers but those clues lead into a world of Grafitti, tags and even gangs.Will Peter find out what happened to Randall?  Find out in Finding Mighty.Five out of five stars.Happy Reading
    more
  • Barbara
    April 18, 2017
    Two lives intersect in surprising ways as a mystery concerning missing diamonds is solved. Sixth grader Myla enjoys her life in Dobbs Ferry, New York, as far as it goes. But she often feels overlooked by others or trapped by her own fears. When she purchases an unusual necklace at a flea market, she thinks that things are going to be better, and the necklace provides her with some self-confidence. But as it turns out, the necklace is linked to another one just like it that is in the possession o Two lives intersect in surprising ways as a mystery concerning missing diamonds is solved. Sixth grader Myla enjoys her life in Dobbs Ferry, New York, as far as it goes. But she often feels overlooked by others or trapped by her own fears. When she purchases an unusual necklace at a flea market, she thinks that things are going to be better, and the necklace provides her with some self-confidence. But as it turns out, the necklace is linked to another one just like it that is in the possession of her new neighbor, Peter. After his older brother, Mighty, leaves home, Peter and his mother have fled to Dobbs Ferry, trying to avoid the criminals who are looking for them and think they hold the key to those missing diamonds. Peter's deceased father left behind notes in a black book that just might help the two youngsters solve this mystery. Although the mystery and the connection to old buildings and bridges is interesting enough, I also liked having the chance to watch all of the young characters change, even while dealing with the usual pressures of identity, peer pressure, and middle grade weirdness. There are plenty of twists and turns, risk taking, and even a discussion of the strangely compelling practice of parkour, which I have not seen mentioned in a book for young readers before this one. While I enjoyed this enough to finish it, there were a lot of coincidences or moments of convenience that seemed a bit improbable.
    more
  • Jenn
    April 23, 2017
    I won a copy of this book.Two middle school kids meet and their lives intertwine in this book. Good story, well written, and I could see it easily keeping a tween's attention. It's quite the exciting world that Chari has created.
Write a review