Pashmina
Pashmina tells the story of an Indian-American girl who struggles to fit in at high school, then discovers more about her family's history with the help of her mother's magical pashmina.

Pashmina Details

TitlePashmina
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, Comics, Fantasy

Pashmina Review

  • Tara
    March 19, 2017
    Priyanka is an American teenager who is curious about her Indian ancestry and wants to visit India to find out more about her mother's past and meet some of her family. She finds a magical pashmina in her closet that gives her glimpses of the India she has always imagined. I liked how the illustrations change from grayscale in her real life to vivid colors in the fantasy scenes. The story and the illustrations were wonderfully done! [I received an ARC via NetGalley.]
    more
  • Elisa The-Bookie-Monster
    March 17, 2017
    I was granted an advance e-reader copy thanks to NetGalley, thank you!I really enjoyed reading about Priyanka. So often we have pre-established thoughts about foreign countries, only to one day learn they aren't true.. Priyanka dreams of visiting India, her mother' home country. She finds a beautiful Pashmina which transports her there, but it is much different there than it actually is. She gets her chance to finally go to India and it's not exactly how she thought it would be. I would highly r I was granted an advance e-reader copy thanks to NetGalley, thank you!I really enjoyed reading about Priyanka. So often we have pre-established thoughts about foreign countries, only to one day learn they aren't true.. Priyanka dreams of visiting India, her mother' home country. She finds a beautiful Pashmina which transports her there, but it is much different there than it actually is. She gets her chance to finally go to India and it's not exactly how she thought it would be. I would highly recommend this book, it's a nice glimpse into the Indian Culture, I especially liked the inclusion of Shakti and her backstory. 5/5!!!
    more
  • Rachel
    March 8, 2017
    I read an ARC of this from NetGalley; it's due to be published in Oct 2017. As a whole, the story was clever and poignant, and I'm glad to see strong Indian women as the subject of a YA graphic novel. However, I found myself struggling at times to follow the action from page to page; it felt like it was lacking appropriate transition panels and that was confusing at times.
    more
  • Stephanie Cooke
    March 4, 2017
    Pashmina is such a wonderful, empowering book for young women in the world. The story is about Priyanka, a teenage Indian girl who was born in America and has only ever known that as her home. As she explores her life through her creative projects, she begins to wonder more about her family in India and what happened there to her mother to drive her away from those she loved most and why she would want to start anew without them. She longs to know more about her father and all sorts of other thi Pashmina is such a wonderful, empowering book for young women in the world. The story is about Priyanka, a teenage Indian girl who was born in America and has only ever known that as her home. As she explores her life through her creative projects, she begins to wonder more about her family in India and what happened there to her mother to drive her away from those she loved most and why she would want to start anew without them. She longs to know more about her father and all sorts of other things that a young girl might want to know about.As her mother puts up walls to try to protect Priyanka, she inadvertently makes Pri even more hellbent on finding the truth. One day, she finds a beautiful pashmina in her mother’s things. The pashmina shows Priyanka beautiful visions of India and drives her need to know more about her past and her family.Most of the story is told in simple but lovely black and white. When Priyanka puts on the pashmina, however, the world that she sees while wearing it is in full, beautiful colour. The pages are vibrant and enriched, which shows how India calls to Priyanka and how enticing that world is to her. It’s something outside of her every day life and is full of sights, sounds, smells and people that Priyanka hasn’t experienced before.The story is sweet and teaches women that they can choose their own fate and future. Their happiness is not reliant on someone else and at any point in time, you can adjust your path. The art is fairly simplistic but not in a bad way. It’s along the lines of what you might see in a Raina Telgemeier book, but minus the colour (except with the pashmina sequences).It’s nice to see a character that embraces their heritage and background and wants to actively find out more about their family and history as opposed to seeing teenagers who are rebelling by not wanting anything to do with it. Priyanka loves drawing and creating stories for her and her friends. She finds inspiration in her personal life and experiences, which I found absolutely charming.Verdict:Buy this book! I think it’s an important story that will help young people embrace their backgrounds, especially in a time when politicians and people stuck in the past are making many feel like you can’t be proud of your heritage unless you’re white. Diversity makes us special and Pashmina demonstrates that theme for us over and over again.Pashmina will be out later this year on October 7, 2017.
    more
  • Shaeley Santiago
    March 9, 2017
    Like most teenagers, lots of good things happen to Priyanka. Her teacher enters her comic in a contest, she is learning to drive, and she spends time regularly with her favorite Uncle Jatin. However, she also gets teased at school, can't stand to drive with her mother in the car, and isn't going to get to spend as much time with Uncle Jatin once he and his wife have a baby. She also doesn't know much about her father or what her mother's life was like in India before she immigrated to the U.S. W Like most teenagers, lots of good things happen to Priyanka. Her teacher enters her comic in a contest, she is learning to drive, and she spends time regularly with her favorite Uncle Jatin. However, she also gets teased at school, can't stand to drive with her mother in the car, and isn't going to get to spend as much time with Uncle Jatin once he and his wife have a baby. She also doesn't know much about her father or what her mother's life was like in India before she immigrated to the U.S. When Priyanka discovers a special pashmina scarf that her mother brought from India, she discovers another world of colorful fantasies that make her want to know even more about her mother's life in India.
    more
  • Jilly
    February 22, 2017
    Pashmina is the story of Priyanka "Pri" as she tries to uncover her mother's complicated relationship with India and her own relationship with her mother. The story itself is a really great story of identity and family. The artwork of the novel is beautiful. The story switches between black and white and color panels as Pri moves from the real world to the world of the pashmina. It's stunning and effective. Overall, I really enjoyed this graphic novel. It would be a wonderful book for students w Pashmina is the story of Priyanka "Pri" as she tries to uncover her mother's complicated relationship with India and her own relationship with her mother. The story itself is a really great story of identity and family. The artwork of the novel is beautiful. The story switches between black and white and color panels as Pri moves from the real world to the world of the pashmina. It's stunning and effective. Overall, I really enjoyed this graphic novel. It would be a wonderful book for students wanting to learn more about identity or ones that want to explore the world of graphic novels but aren't sure where to start. I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ryan
    March 23, 2017
    This was an interesting story about a pashmina that can show the wearer their options and what can happen. It can help make life changing decisions. Our girl want to know more about her life, her family, and her home country of India. But her mom says these topics are off limits. When the pashmina show her India over, and over again, it helps make the case for going. Overall I like this graphic novel and love what the illustrator has done with the colors, and lack of colors. The story line can b This was an interesting story about a pashmina that can show the wearer their options and what can happen. It can help make life changing decisions. Our girl want to know more about her life, her family, and her home country of India. But her mom says these topics are off limits. When the pashmina show her India over, and over again, it helps make the case for going. Overall I like this graphic novel and love what the illustrator has done with the colors, and lack of colors. The story line can be a little hard to follow, and I am really happy there was a glossary in the back. While I liked this book and story, I can see many being turned off. Not only is it hard to follow, but it can be hard to keep track of the timeline.
    more
  • McKenzie
    March 6, 2017
    Beautiful illustrations weave between color and black and white depending on the realistic storyline of a young Indian-American girl trying to make sense of her heritage amid the bits and pieces of information provided by her mother. A great addition to a diverse graphic novel collection.
    more
  • Leanne
    March 6, 2017
    I absolutely loved this graphic novel! Priyanka has trouble fitting in at school and has questions about her past. She finds a pashmina in her mother's closet which magically transports her to a world more colorful than any she ever imagined. Will the questions about her past finally be answered? The transitions from black and white to color, really made this story come alive.
    more
  • Allison
    March 3, 2017
    Wow, what a beautiful book. It was a beautiful story and the illustrations were gorgeous. I enjoyed that it was a different take on an Indian girl growing up in the United States with the cultural differences between herself and her family. That piece of the story reminded me specifically of "Born Confused" by Tanuja Desai Hidier. But incorporating Hinduism with prayers to Shakti was a special touch that was important to the story and to Priyanka. And the pashmina being a beautiful symbol of the Wow, what a beautiful book. It was a beautiful story and the illustrations were gorgeous. I enjoyed that it was a different take on an Indian girl growing up in the United States with the cultural differences between herself and her family. That piece of the story reminded me specifically of "Born Confused" by Tanuja Desai Hidier. But incorporating Hinduism with prayers to Shakti was a special touch that was important to the story and to Priyanka. And the pashmina being a beautiful symbol of the power of feminism, moving women towards bettering themselves, via the divine feminine was quite lovely. All around, just a touching and beautiful story.
    more
  • Heidi Schutt
    March 1, 2017
    A young Indian-American woman has lived years without answers to questions about the family and life her mother left behind in India, but when she finds a pashmina in an old suitcase, answers begin finding her and she's not sure she's ready to know it all. The different uses of bright colors and muted colors in the illustrations were fantastic. I also appreciated the glossary in the back of the book. I received this advanced copy from NetGalley.
    more
  • Marisa
    March 4, 2017
    I had high hopes for this book because of the amazing illustrations. I was hoping it would be something I could give kids who love realistic fiction graphic novels. The illustrations drew me in, but the storyline and story development could have been better.
    more
  • Mary Luzader
    February 21, 2017
    Priyanka, a young Indian-American being raised by a single mother, is an aspiring graphic novelist who yearns to learn about her father and her mother's family in India. After winning a comic contest, and a little magic, Priyanka gets to meet her aunt in India and learn about everything she'd been wanting to know. But Priyanka didn't expect the news she would learn.I love the bright colors used when the Pashmina is working its magic. It allows readers to better experience what the person wearing Priyanka, a young Indian-American being raised by a single mother, is an aspiring graphic novelist who yearns to learn about her father and her mother's family in India. After winning a comic contest, and a little magic, Priyanka gets to meet her aunt in India and learn about everything she'd been wanting to know. But Priyanka didn't expect the news she would learn.I love the bright colors used when the Pashmina is working its magic. It allows readers to better experience what the person wearing the pashmina is experiencing. I also like the glossary at the end, to help readers like me who might not have quite figured out the meaning even with the context clues. I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy Nicole
    February 17, 2017
    Pashmina is a story about Priyanka, an American-Indian teen who wants to know more about her Indian heritage, but when she asks her mother, her mother skirts around the topic and won’t divulge anything about Indian or the family she left behind, including Priyanka’s father. Priyanka finds a magical Pashmina that transports her to a fantasy version of India. This sparks a new desire to visit India and see firsthand the country, heritage, and family she was never able to grow up with. This story i Pashmina is a story about Priyanka, an American-Indian teen who wants to know more about her Indian heritage, but when she asks her mother, her mother skirts around the topic and won’t divulge anything about Indian or the family she left behind, including Priyanka’s father. Priyanka finds a magical Pashmina that transports her to a fantasy version of India. This sparks a new desire to visit India and see firsthand the country, heritage, and family she was never able to grow up with. This story is a great look at family, heritage, and first generation immigrants. The fantasy realism aspects feel whimsical and fun. I actually felt like this book could have been longer and gone more in depth in the relationships among the adults and secondary characters. I felt like I didn’t get to “know” many of the characters in three dimensions. I received a copy of this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Natalie
    February 22, 2017
    I received an ARC courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.The illustrations were beautiful, but I would have liked more development in the story. Some story lines - the bullying, the baby's recovery - were dropped or rushed.
  • Tedi
    April 22, 2017
    Beautiful artwork and culture infused. I wish that I got to spend more time with the story after Priyanka learned what the purpose of the pashmina was, and less time with the story before that when the true meaning of it wasn't available to us. But I truly loved the concept of the pashmina and loved how the Indian culture was effortlessly woven into the story of a girl who has only known America.
    more
  • Nadine
    March 27, 2017
    Very much enjoyed this multi-cultural book about identity and sense of place. Breaks the stereotypes about Indian girls and provides a good story to boot.
Write a review