Words on Bathroom Walls
Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can't.Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Words on Bathroom Walls Details

TitleWords on Bathroom Walls
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherRandom House Books for Young Readers
ISBN0399550887
ISBN-139780399550881
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Mental Health, Mental Illness, Health

Words on Bathroom Walls Review

  • Abby
    April 17, 2017
    "You can't possibly know what it means to doubt everything."Adam is starting a new experimental drug, ToZaPrex, to help him control his schizophrenia. He's also starting a new school, where his illness won't be known to his peers, and he has a new therapist who lets him write letters instead of talking during sessions. All in all, not so bad, considering. But no matter how high the dosage, his delusions never fade. There's still Rebecca, the constant presence in his life who seems to silently mi "You can't possibly know what it means to doubt everything."Adam is starting a new experimental drug, ToZaPrex, to help him control his schizophrenia. He's also starting a new school, where his illness won't be known to his peers, and he has a new therapist who lets him write letters instead of talking during sessions. All in all, not so bad, considering. But no matter how high the dosage, his delusions never fade. There's still Rebecca, the constant presence in his life who seems to silently mirror how he's feeling. He occasionally gets visits from the mob bosses who shoot up public places, forever naked Jason, and the British comedy duo. Then there are the voices telling him that everyone would be better off if he killed himself. What Adam fears is not the hallucinations or the voices but believing they are real.The new drug works until it doesn't. At first, it helps him separate reality from the tricks his mind plays on him. He makes a new friend who won't stop talking and starts dating a girl named Maya. But he keeps his illness a secret because he doesn't want them to fear him and abandon him. This gets more and more difficult as he's tapered off the drugs."It's significantly more difficult to make friends when people know you see things you shouldn't be able to see."The cynic in me thinks authors like writing about schizophrenia because there can be a "twist" where none of the characters are real (view spoiler)[reading Made You Up soured me a bit (hide spoiler)]. Adam is a good narrator and easy to connect with. I loved his bitterness over Harry Potter (the mysterious things he saw and heard turned out to be real). I enjoyed the healthy relationship he had with his mother and especially his stepfather.Is this book a great representation of schizophrenia or mental illness? I honestly don't know. I'm not close enough to the issue to have an opinion on that. But I do think this is a solid book, and better than similar YA novels I've read.I received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Tijana
    May 18, 2017
    ARC provided via NetGalley.Yet, my weaping in this review has nothing to do with it. Because this book! Oh boy.I'm crying.And laughing.Hugging my blanket with a disturbed smile on my face.This book is about Adam.Adam is a "schizo".And Adam wishes he were Harry Potter, because when Harry heard voices, they turned out to be real.But he isn't. And that's why whenever he thinks someone is watching him, he says to himself he must be hallucinating, because he's not interesting - why would anyone want ARC provided via NetGalley.Yet, my weaping in this review has nothing to do with it. Because this book! Oh boy.I'm crying.And laughing.Hugging my blanket with a disturbed smile on my face.This book is about Adam.Adam is a "schizo".And Adam wishes he were Harry Potter, because when Harry heard voices, they turned out to be real.But he isn't. And that's why whenever he thinks someone is watching him, he says to himself he must be hallucinating, because he's not interesting - why would anyone want to watch him?And he hears train whistle all the time. But that's okay because he likes trains.I dare you not to love Adam.You guys, you gotta read this novel.It's perfect.
    more
  • Octavia
    June 18, 2017
    This book comes out in two weeks and I’m honestly going to be so mad if this doesn’t get a ton of hype.So, this is my first five star book of the year. Yes, it is June and I have read over 60 other books. I’m really picky about my five stars, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. This book wholeheartedly deserves the five stars it is getting.This is a mental health novel (which are honestly my favorite books) following a teenage boy coping with his diagnosis of schizophrenia as he starts a new s This book comes out in two weeks and I’m honestly going to be so mad if this doesn’t get a ton of hype.So, this is my first five star book of the year. Yes, it is June and I have read over 60 other books. I’m really picky about my five stars, and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. This book wholeheartedly deserves the five stars it is getting.This is a mental health novel (which are honestly my favorite books) following a teenage boy coping with his diagnosis of schizophrenia as he starts a new school. He begins to make connections with the new people at school, but fears of them learning of his schizophrenia.This synopsis doesn’t do it justice. I promise it’s amazing! Reasons Why I Adored This Book Adam’s parents are the most amazing thing. Oftentimes stepparents are demonized, but Adam’s stepdad is an important part of his life and not evil. His parents are very involved with Adam’s life. Parents are often caricatures in YA but these ones were developed characters who were flawed yet so supportive of Adam. I loved them so much.Adam is super cynical. Okay, this might just be a plus for me. As a cynical person, I love cynical narrators. Adam’s snarkiness was hilarious and what made me fall in love with this book so quickly.Adam’s love interest, Maya, is Filipino! She also comes from a family who doesn’t have a lot of money in contrast to the middle/upper class characters usually seen in YA contemporary. I was worried at first that she would end up being a manic pixie dream girl but she recieves a lot of development over the course of the novel and is overall amazing.This isn’t a love cure book, despite the fact that as Adam’s relationship begins, he thinks Maya could be the cure. Obviously, she isn’t. This is just a thought Adam has near the beginning of the book. Adam and Maya have a very healthy relationship that in no way cures Adam’s schizophrenia.Adam’s new friend, Dwight, is vegan. This is like one or two lines in the book but, as a vegan, it always excites me when a vegan character pops up!Adam goes to a catholic school. I don’t think I’ve ever read a YA book where the main character attends catholic school? And it’s not like a couple lines, catholic school is a main part of the book that is examined and talked about in depth. I will say that this book doesn’t have a super positive outlook on Christianity (being agnostic this was a plus for me). While the points brought up are completely valid, if you don’t want to hear any criticism of Christianity, this might not be the book for you.So you know how YA main characters always have the same hobbies, like art and reading? It really annoys me because there are so many other cool hobbies we never see in books. In this book? Our main character loves to BAKE. A male protagonist likes to bake desserts when he is upset because he loves to make other people happy with food. I loved this aspect so much!!!I am not schizophrenic, so I can’t comment on how the illness was handled. But mental illness as a whole? I absolutely loved the depiction here. There are these amazing passages from Adam where he talks about what it is like to live with mental illness and it honestly resonated with me so much. Love, love, love. Overall Read this! Highly, highly recommend. Mental health novels are definitely more subjective than other books depending on your experience, but this one really affected me in a good way. I hope this book gets the praise it deserves!
    more
  • Līga Sproģe
    March 18, 2017
    "Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story..."HAHAHAAAAAAA is that combination even survivable??
  • Mic
    October 31, 2016
    What an unexpected delightful read! Adam's voice is addicting--sarcastic and heartfelt all at once. The cast of characters are lovely, most especially Adam's mom and step-dad (can they adopt me?), and his imaginary friends quiet and expressive Rebecca and perpetually naked Jason. [Note: Rebecca is not a manic pixie dream girl, as kinda hinted at in the above blurb]. Much love for this book! I can't wait for everyone to read it and discover its magic for themselves. Also, probably have some cooki What an unexpected delightful read! Adam's voice is addicting--sarcastic and heartfelt all at once. The cast of characters are lovely, most especially Adam's mom and step-dad (can they adopt me?), and his imaginary friends quiet and expressive Rebecca and perpetually naked Jason. [Note: Rebecca is not a manic pixie dream girl, as kinda hinted at in the above blurb]. Much love for this book! I can't wait for everyone to read it and discover its magic for themselves. Also, probably have some cookies on hand. It'll be good when you read the baking scenes and start craving sweetness, and also for when this book gives you too many feels.
    more
  • Julie (*Happily Ever Chapter*)
    June 30, 2017
    Review to come soon!* I received an ARC of this title in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. *
  • Selin Alpdoğan
    May 30, 2017
    Ana karakter Adam, zihninde gerçekte olmayan şeyleri gören ve duyan bir şizofreni hastalığına sahiptir. Bu nedenle arkadaşları tarafından dışlanmış, okul değiştirmek zorunda kalmıştır.Yeni okulunda ise kullanmaya başladığı ve test amaçlı olan bir ilaç ona bazı imkansızlıkları mümkün kılmaya başlıyor; yeni arkadaşlar, hatta aşkı bile.Kitaba çok hızlı bir girişle başlıyor, bunun nedeniyse olayların tam ortasında girmemiz. Daha ilk bölümden sizin kafanızı karıştırırırken, anlatım tarzı bile yardımc Ana karakter Adam, zihninde gerçekte olmayan şeyleri gören ve duyan bir şizofreni hastalığına sahiptir. Bu nedenle arkadaşları tarafından dışlanmış, okul değiştirmek zorunda kalmıştır.Yeni okulunda ise kullanmaya başladığı ve test amaçlı olan bir ilaç ona bazı imkansızlıkları mümkün kılmaya başlıyor; yeni arkadaşlar, hatta aşkı bile.Kitaba çok hızlı bir girişle başlıyor, bunun nedeniyse olayların tam ortasında girmemiz. Daha ilk bölümden sizin kafanızı karıştırırırken, anlatım tarzı bile yardımcı olmuyor. Bu da kitabı yavaşlatıyor-- ki, zaten az sayfalı, güzel olma potansiyeli olan bir kitap. Fakat gizemli olmaya çalıştırılmış ama altındaki sebeplerin bu durumun etkisini sonradan zayıflattığı bir kitap olduğu gerçeğini de değiştirmiyor malesef.Yazım tarzı ve olayların az olması kitabı benden soğutan etkenlerdi. Evet, konu bakımıyla biraz karanlıktı ama bence daha ciddiyeti kavranılabilecek bir şekilde yazılabilirdi.Kitabı en büyük sevme nedenim ise kişisel oldu. Karakterin durumunu kendinle oldukça bağdaştırdım ve bu durumda (pek fazla olmasada) yaptıklarını beğendim. Bu nedenle kitap bana herkesin kendinden bir şeyler bulup sevebileceği izlenimini veriyor. Zaten konu bakımından ve içinde bulundurduğu karamasarlık kitabın seçici bir kitlesi olması için birkaç nedenden biri.Yazarın kendini biraz daha geliştirip, kitabın karakterlerini benimsememiz için biraz daha ön planda tutsa kitap gerçekten farklı olurdu. Fakat bu haliyle malesef benzer konulara sahip, bir sürü sıradan genç yetişkin kurguların arasında kalacağa benziyor.
    more
  • Barbara
    June 30, 2017
    Sixteen-year-old Adam Petrazelli has recently been diagnosed with schizophrenia and has recently transferred to a parochial school after an embarrassing incident at his previous school. He is in therapy and is part of an experimental drug trial to help him deal with the voices and images that both plague and support him. He refuses to speak to his therapist, instead choosing to write weekly installments describing his state of mind and what's been happening. Readers will be sure that Ian Stone w Sixteen-year-old Adam Petrazelli has recently been diagnosed with schizophrenia and has recently transferred to a parochial school after an embarrassing incident at his previous school. He is in therapy and is part of an experimental drug trial to help him deal with the voices and images that both plague and support him. He refuses to speak to his therapist, instead choosing to write weekly installments describing his state of mind and what's been happening. Readers will be sure that Ian Stone who was supposed to squire him around on his first day in the new school will turn out to be a jerk, and he does, of course, and throughout the entire book there is this constant worry about what will happen when others learn the truth about Adam. When he becomes close to Maya and they fall in love, his fears escalate since he is sure that she will want nothing to do with him once she realizes that he has trouble sorting fantasy from reality. Even as their romance heats up and Adam experiences some of his happiest moments, including the birth of his little sister Sabrina, he realizes that the drugs aren't helping, and he will be removed from the experiment. He behaves recklessly on prom night, and the truth spills out. But wonder of wonders, despite how messy his life is, he still has the love and support of his mother, his stepfather Paul, his schoolmate Dwight, and Maya. Perhaps this is a romanticized depiction of living with schizophrenia, but it offers hope and provides insight into what life is like for someone like Adam. The book contains many passages that made me laugh but others that broke my heart as I thought about how suspicious many individuals are of anyone who's faced some sort of mental health crisis while also noting that Adam's parents did have to take the precaution of hiding sharp objects at certain points. As I read this book, I couldn't help thinking of A Beautiful Mind, the film depicting mathematician John Nash's life with schizophrenia. Even while rooting for everything to work out for Adam, readers can see from his letters to his therapist that they are steadily heading downhill over time. This book will surely generate much discussion among readers who will wonder about their own actions had they been in Adam's or Maya's shoes, even while shuddering at the way others such as Paul's mother treated him once they knew the truth. This was a thoughtful, insightful, and important debut.
    more
  • Erin
    March 15, 2017
    4.5 Stars - A super important book that opens up a candid conversation about schizophrenia and mental health. Adam is an AMAZING protagonist, one that feels so completely real that teens will easily be able to relate to him as he not only navigates his illness but the highs and lows of adolescence as well (and there are many!). Seriously, I cannot recommend this book enough. It's not only a great example of compelling storytelling and character development, but it will educate and help alleviate 4.5 Stars - A super important book that opens up a candid conversation about schizophrenia and mental health. Adam is an AMAZING protagonist, one that feels so completely real that teens will easily be able to relate to him as he not only navigates his illness but the highs and lows of adolescence as well (and there are many!). Seriously, I cannot recommend this book enough. It's not only a great example of compelling storytelling and character development, but it will educate and help alleviate the negative stigma we are quick to attach to an illness very few truly understand.
    more
  • Lisa
    April 5, 2017
    I read this book in roughly a day, and I was incredibly moved by this insightful and often hilarious look at what's its like to be a typical teenage boy...who happens to be able to see things that aren't really there. I was so moved by Adam's journey understanding himself and others. A great read.
    more
  • Savannah Aleksic
    April 26, 2017
    This is being released on my birthdayIt's fate
  • Celine
    May 1, 2017
    Ladies and gentlemen I want to present you all my new favourite book.Words on bathroom walls tells the story of Adam who has schizophrenia and is taking the experimental medication ToZaPrex to help him control his mental illness. On top of this he’s starting a new school where he tries to hide his illness as much as he can. He’s also seeing a therapist but Adam refuses to talk so instead he writes letters.I must say I had my doubts before starting this book. I am diagnosed with schizophrenia and Ladies and gentlemen I want to present you all my new favourite book.Words on bathroom walls tells the story of Adam who has schizophrenia and is taking the experimental medication ToZaPrex to help him control his mental illness. On top of this he’s starting a new school where he tries to hide his illness as much as he can. He’s also seeing a therapist but Adam refuses to talk so instead he writes letters.I must say I had my doubts before starting this book. I am diagnosed with schizophrenia and I have tried to read so many books about it or that handles the mental illness yet they’re never any good, or they’re just very disrespectful.But this book is just perfect. It gives you a proper look on how living with schizophrenia is like and what people with it have to go through everyday. I related to a lot of stuff, hallucinations of Adam that were similar to mine and how he felt when something was about to happen.If you want to know more about what it is like to live with schizophrenia then I totally recommend you to read this wonderful book. If I had the money I would buy a million copies and give them away, this is a very important book.As someone living with schizophrenia I’d like to thank the author,thank you for writing a book that handles schizophrenia in a respectful way.
    more
  • Barb
    February 5, 2017
    Adam Petrazelli, junior at St. Agatha's Catholic School has recently qualified for a clinical trial for ToZaPrex, an experimental treatment for schizophrenia. While reluctant to participate in talk therapy he is willing to keep a journal and write to his therapist, sharing his feelings about his illness and the effects of the experimental medication.Adam first realized he was seeing things that weren't there when he was twelve years old. Through this journal he chronicles his experiences with hi Adam Petrazelli, junior at St. Agatha's Catholic School has recently qualified for a clinical trial for ToZaPrex, an experimental treatment for schizophrenia. While reluctant to participate in talk therapy he is willing to keep a journal and write to his therapist, sharing his feelings about his illness and the effects of the experimental medication.Adam first realized he was seeing things that weren't there when he was twelve years old. Through this journal he chronicles his experiences with his illness and introduces us to his friends and companions, both real and imagined. Real; Adam's loving mother, step-dad Paul, love interest Maya, wing man Dwight and irritatingly arrogant classmate Ian. Imagined; the mobsters, the henchmen, the beautiful, silent, amazonian Rebecca and the ever naked Jason.The author portrayed Adam's parents as integrated into the protagonist's life, he has a caring and sometimes complicated relationship with them. The teenagers Maya, Dwight and Adam are all a little quirky and unique. The rivalries and fears of inadequacy, the uncertainty of figuring out how to navigate a new social environment are all very realistically portrayed. Overlaid on the typical strains of trying to figure out who you are as a person are Adam's struggles with his mental health. Clever boy that he is, he looks for clues in his environment to help him figure out if the person who just walked into the room is real or imagined. He uses his strength to battle back against the voices in his head and tune them out. He doesn't always make the best choices and unfortunately all choices have consequences. I liked this story. I enjoyed the style of narration and thought the protagonist was charming and sweet. Adam has a good sense of humor and doesn't feel sorry for himself because of his illness. I think this is a great book for anyone who is curious about what it's like to live with a mental illness. I think this would be a good discussion starter for older teens but be advised there is sexual content. I will be looking for Julia Walton's next novel.
    more
  • Evelyn Okray
    October 24, 2016
    *This review comes curtesy for the author who lent me her ARC copy*Though I'm not much of a contemporary YA reader, I LOVED this book. Adam is so witty and hilarious, and Julia did such a great job with his character – I feel like I already know him from the first chapter. And his friends are great. Even the imaginary ones ;)I love how the chapter heads give us some context of what his therapist is thinking, and how his medication is developing as the story progresses. I will say that the beginn *This review comes curtesy for the author who lent me her ARC copy*Though I'm not much of a contemporary YA reader, I LOVED this book. Adam is so witty and hilarious, and Julia did such a great job with his character – I feel like I already know him from the first chapter. And his friends are great. Even the imaginary ones ;)I love how the chapter heads give us some context of what his therapist is thinking, and how his medication is developing as the story progresses. I will say that the beginning is a bit slow, but Adam's narrative voice is to interesting and easy to follow, I blew past it no problem. And when I began to find out what Adam's life was like before his new drug, my heart broke for him. This is such great read for teens or anyone who doesn't understand mental illness or are looking for some insight. I didn't know much about schizophrenia going into this, and to see what trials Adam and his family had/have to go through to make their situation work is so encouraging. Shout out to Julia for not making horrible parent figures who neglect their kids or become antagonists to further isolate the MC. Chapter 17 though, made my heart stop.So please, give this a read. Not only for story, but to gain some understanding of what it's like to live with mental illness and what those who are suffering are really going through.
    more
  • Joana @ Bookneeders
    June 19, 2017
    * Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*I love reading books featuring different types of mental illnesses and this is the first one I read featuring schizophrenia. I didn't have any expectations for it, and I read the synopsis quite long ago and I didn't remember what it was even about. But I was hooked from the first page!As you may know, schizophr * Received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you very much! This doesn’t affect the review in any way. My opinions are, as always, my own.*I love reading books featuring different types of mental illnesses and this is the first one I read featuring schizophrenia. I didn't have any expectations for it, and I read the synopsis quite long ago and I didn't remember what it was even about. But I was hooked from the first page!As you may know, schizophrenia is quite a difficult illness. It's basically a mental disorder where the person can't distinguish real from unreal. It's never the same with anyone, but the symptoms can vary from hearing voices no one can hear, seeing things no one can see, delusion, confused thinking, lack of motivation, reduced social/ emotional expression... which can lead to other mental illnesses like depression and anxiety; and even addiction.It's an illness that requires a lot of help. There's is no cure, although there's a lot of medication that can be used, and the trick is to try to find the one that fits better with each person. Without that, it can lead to harm to self or others and even suicide.It affects mostly male's in their late 20s, but our main character is 16 years old. Adam is a very strong, intelligent and (dark) humoristic person, and although I couldn't connect with what was going on, I sympathized with him with all my heart. Adam is lucky enough to have a family that really worries and protects him, but that's not enough to make others see what a good person he is. People are often afraid and prefer to just step aside than to try. But when he moves to a new Catholic school, the kids don't know anything about him, and he has the opportunity to be "normal" in their eyes, while he is in a drug trial. He gains two friends and they are really great and different characters. Maya was a character I was very fond of. She is the type of person that says everything in her mind as it is. She is rational, decided and incredibly intelligent. And although less humoristic then Adam, I had a great time reading about her.But the key part about this book has to be Adam's illness. Both in a good and a bad way. It's quite emotional to read about but at the same time incredibly funny and interesting! I absolutely love dark humor and Adam is the king of it! He is the type of person that doesn't want pity from others neither does he pity himself. And although the humor may also be a protection for Adam, I think it's the best attitude anyone could have!The book reads like a diary, and each entry is a made to give to his psychologist about his week. It makes it feel incredibly personal and gripping. We see everything through his eyes and it's impossible not to get emotional. This book made me cry my heart out a couple of times and I would definitely recommend it, especially if you like reading books featuring mental illnesses!
    more
  • Irene
    May 8, 2017
    3.5/5(I'm not sure if I found any similarity to More Happy Than Not, but I did found it with The Perks of Being a Wallflower and with It's Kind of a Funny Story, just like a curious fact.)Adam has schizophrenia and he's on an experimental treatment for a new drug that helps him to differentiate his hallucinations from the real world. Also he is new student in a Catholic school and he has to pretend that he's a “normal boy” to avoid everyone from being afraid of him or treat him like a menace. Hi 3.5/5(I'm not sure if I found any similarity to More Happy Than Not, but I did found it with The Perks of Being a Wallflower and with It's Kind of a Funny Story, just like a curious fact.)Adam has schizophrenia and he's on an experimental treatment for a new drug that helps him to differentiate his hallucinations from the real world. Also he is new student in a Catholic school and he has to pretend that he's a “normal boy” to avoid everyone from being afraid of him or treat him like a menace. His life is narrated through entries in a diary, suggested by his therapist (since Adam prefers writing than speaking to him). He explain how is living with hallucinations and the typical problems that teenagers have in the world: attraction, bullying, friendship, love. My problem is that I'm not so sure I liked it at 100%. I loved Adam and how he tells his story, but I think his illness was a bit "romanticized" or softened. Not long ago I read Challenger Deep and it was brutal. I think that is what made Words on Bathrooms Walls kinda low; I mean, I tried not to compare them but it was impossible.And that doesn't mean I did not enjoy the book, it was just the opposite. I was fascinated by Adam's style of expressing himself, he's quite sarcastic, cynical and realistic about what is happening to him. One of the things that terrifies me the most in the world is to fear my own mind and lose the sense of reality. And in that thing, the book fulfilled all my expectations. Adam's hallucinations are realistic and hard to read for what it means to him to live day after day with them. It was the most painful/dark part of the book and it's the reason I recommend it.But I got exasperated with the way the book is writeen: through journal entries with the date at the begginning. Sometimes I had to go back to find out how much time had passed between the entries and it was SO stressful.So, even though there were some things that I didn't like at hundred porcent, I enjoyed the story and how it shows what it's to life with a illness as stigmatized and feared as schizophrenia. Adam is a character I felt connected with since the first page, I enjoyed reading his thoughts, his fears, his problems. I didn't feel the time went by and when I realized, I was almost finishing the book. It was completely addictive and highly recommended. You'll hear one thing that gives you hope and another thing that takes it away.Be who you are. But not that. Anything but that. (Other YA books I recommend to know more about the schizophrenia are: Challenger Deep & Made You Up).*Note: I received an arc via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.///Adam está en un tratamiento experimental para tratar su esquizofrenia, al mismo tiempo que inicia un nuevo curso en una escuela católica en donde tiene que pretender que es un "chico normal" para evitar que le teman o lo traten como una amenaza. Su vida la narra a través de unas entradas de diario explicando cómo es vivir con sus alucinaciones y añadiendo típicos problemas adolescentes: atracción, bullying, amistad, amor.Me fascinó la manera en que Adam se expresa. Es sarcástico, cínico y realista sobre lo que le está pasando. Ya he dicho un millar de veces que uno de mis mayores miedos es temer a mi propia mente y en ese aspecto, el libro cumplió con mis expectativas al 100. Las alucionaciones de Adam son muy duras/oscuras/tristes de leer.Mi problema es que creo que el libro "romantizó" o suavizó un poco el tema de la esquizofrenia. Al estilo de los otros libros juveniles sobre el tema EXCEPTUANDO Challenger Deep (que ese libro fue completamente brutal y el único que se ha ganado 5/5 este año).Pero sí recomiendo este libro porque muestra cómo es vivir con una enfermedad tan temida y estigmatizada como lo es la esquizofrenia. Disfruté leyendo los pensamientos, temores y problemas de Adam. Fue un libro completamente adictivo.
    more
  • Katie
    May 15, 2017
    I received a copy from netgalley.Adam has schizophrenia and is currently undergoing treatment using an experimental drug. He shows signs of improvements, but then they start to dwindle. Through a narrative of a diary, Adam relays his feelings and life to his therapist who he refuses to speak to. He feels writing is a way of communicating that is more honest and allows him to share as much, or as little, as he likes. I loved this book - it was fascinating. Adam is a great narrator who is very hon I received a copy from netgalley.Adam has schizophrenia and is currently undergoing treatment using an experimental drug. He shows signs of improvements, but then they start to dwindle. Through a narrative of a diary, Adam relays his feelings and life to his therapist who he refuses to speak to. He feels writing is a way of communicating that is more honest and allows him to share as much, or as little, as he likes. I loved this book - it was fascinating. Adam is a great narrator who is very honest about his life and his feelings. His growing relationship with Maya and his friendship with Dwight were so good to read about you could almost forget this was a work of fiction at times. Adam faces the usual struggles at school - bullies and the untouchable pupils who have parents in high places - but the way he deals with a lot of them is entertaining to read and at times very funny. Walton has given him an endearing style and you really feel for him at times. The difficulties he faces are clearly relayed to us, and I really warmed to him. He deals with his problems by baking - which he loves and is good at. His growing relationship with Maya was great to see - she is as blunt as a spoon yet clearly cares for Adam. She provides some normality for him and understands and sticks by him; good to see. We still have them sneaking into bedrooms during the night by climbing in through the window - seriously how do parents never notice - but you're rooting for them at the same times. There are highs and lows for Adam, and one particularly episode he has while at school was difficult to read due to the stresses and strains he is going through, but you want him to make it through. I am happy when an author makes me care, and she has.I devoured this book in one day - I really enjoyed it. The narrative style was captivating and the character created here by Walton was one I wanted to learn more about and follow. Adam is a sympathetic and well put together character whose story I very much enjoyed reading. Would highly recommend.
    more
  • Mandy Peterson
    June 8, 2017
    Where do I even start with this book? I finished it last night after an emotional roller coaster that left me exhausted. I'd casually read the first 80% of the book over the previous nights. It was intriguing and obviously captivating since I read it each night. However, the last 20% is where the payoff is. It's where I was sniffling and silent tears streamed down my cheeks while my husband snored away on the pillow next to mine. It's not traditionally sad so to speak. No character deaths occur. Where do I even start with this book? I finished it last night after an emotional roller coaster that left me exhausted. I'd casually read the first 80% of the book over the previous nights. It was intriguing and obviously captivating since I read it each night. However, the last 20% is where the payoff is. It's where I was sniffling and silent tears streamed down my cheeks while my husband snored away on the pillow next to mine. It's not traditionally sad so to speak. No character deaths occur. After spending so much time inside of a character's head, you cannot help but be invested in Adam's recovery.To avoid any spoilers, I'm not going to comment further on the plot with the exception of saying this felt like a very realistic portrayal of schizophrenia. Every case is different, of course. The author includes a special note about mental illness and seeking help with resources at the end of the narrative. To round up a few stray thoughts:This book would translate very well to the screen. (Hey, Netflix, wanna get on this one?)The inevitable comparisons to Challenger Deep will come along. Don't bother. Every instance of mental illness is different. BOTH of these books are valid and worthy representations on their own merit. I didn't care for Maya until the very end of the book. She was hard for me to connect to, but perhaps that is because she was hard for Adam to connect with on a real level?The writing was very accessible. It's my first Julia Walton book, but it won't be my last. She's got something to say with her work.
    more
  • Jule
    June 27, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review."Real is subjective."This is an amazing novel about what it means to be a teenager with schizophrenia. It does not patronize or romanticise, simply explains. And Julia Walton finds some of the best descriptions ever to convey the feeling of schizophrenia to others. I loved that our protagonist Adam also goes through other stuff and that his illness is not the only plot point of the book - while still being constan I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review."Real is subjective."This is an amazing novel about what it means to be a teenager with schizophrenia. It does not patronize or romanticise, simply explains. And Julia Walton finds some of the best descriptions ever to convey the feeling of schizophrenia to others. I loved that our protagonist Adam also goes through other stuff and that his illness is not the only plot point of the book - while still being constantly present. There was a variety of reactions from other characters, which was very believable. Even though the side characters were portrayed in broad strokes, they remained interesting and deep. I loved all of the Harry Potter references and little details, such as the love interest being Filipino. Overall, it was very well done, also sending a message of hope to other non-typical people. I had just two issues, which contribute to the 4/5 stars rating. Firstly, why the age recommendation of 12+? That seems too low. There is some sexual content, discussion of suicidal thoughts and the descriptions of schizophrenia are meant for a more mature audience. The characters are Juniors in high school, so I would recommend at least a 14+. Secondly, I did not buy the frame narrative of the book being diary entries written in lieu of verbal communication with the therapist. They were way to literary and polished for that. But those are minor and personal details - this is still a very imporant novel!
    more
  • Eve
    May 5, 2017
    Adam is young and suffering from schizophrenia. Taking part in a drug trial, he is writing diary entries to record his thoughts and feelings throughout the process of his dosage being altered around to his needs as the voices and characters he sees and hears become stronger again.As we see his life in diary form and his medication doses up and down, we follow him make friends with Dwight and get a girlfriend, Maya at his new catholic school his stepdad pays for him to attend. We also see his mum Adam is young and suffering from schizophrenia. Taking part in a drug trial, he is writing diary entries to record his thoughts and feelings throughout the process of his dosage being altered around to his needs as the voices and characters he sees and hears become stronger again.As we see his life in diary form and his medication doses up and down, we follow him make friends with Dwight and get a girlfriend, Maya at his new catholic school his stepdad pays for him to attend. We also see his mum and step dad face a new challenge and not just with Adam as he manages his schizophrenia.It was a very good book and especially as we see him fall in love despite hiding his illness from everyone around him, he finds strength and support when he needs it most. It shows truly how people suffer with the condition day to day and proves they can still lead normal lives just in a different way to a lot of us.Thank you to the publishers for allowing me a copy to review!
    more
  • Lauren
    June 28, 2017
    This was a fabulous book. It was sad. Adam was just such a wonderfully likable but broken character, and his Schizophrenia is this terrible, scary shadow that hangs over his life. You can't help but ache for him and his fear of his mental disorder taking control and people fearing him. The story is told through Adam's journal entires to his therapist. As he takes and ups the dosage of an experimental new drug to help his hallucinations, we follow Adam as he starts a new school, finds out his mot This was a fabulous book. It was sad. Adam was just such a wonderfully likable but broken character, and his Schizophrenia is this terrible, scary shadow that hangs over his life. You can't help but ache for him and his fear of his mental disorder taking control and people fearing him. The story is told through Adam's journal entires to his therapist. As he takes and ups the dosage of an experimental new drug to help his hallucinations, we follow Adam as he starts a new school, finds out his mother is pregnant, and falls in love. But, of course, you can see the inevitable coming: Adam becomes resilient to the drug. As it's effects wane, Adam must finally confront his fears and shortcomings. But it's okay! Like the best YA book, Adam may have fallen but that doesn't mean he won't get back up, better than before.
    more
  • Chelsey
    May 24, 2017
    Adam is schizophrenic, a fact that isolates him from members of his family, his former best friends, and his classmates. But he's taking part in a trial for a new drug which seems to be helping him sort out the real from the not-real. Couple this with him starting junior year at Catholic school, and you've got a recipe for something interesting. Adam takes us on his journey through schizophrenia treatment with first-person journal entries to his therapist. But when he gets taken out of the drug Adam is schizophrenic, a fact that isolates him from members of his family, his former best friends, and his classmates. But he's taking part in a trial for a new drug which seems to be helping him sort out the real from the not-real. Couple this with him starting junior year at Catholic school, and you've got a recipe for something interesting. Adam takes us on his journey through schizophrenia treatment with first-person journal entries to his therapist. But when he gets taken out of the drug trial, will his world come crashing down?This was an intense read that worked so well because of the honesty of its main character. Adam's journey is funny and awkward and horribly difficult, but he gets great support from his mother and, especially, his step-father. This twists the typical story of a kid trying to make it through high school into something with more depth.
    more
  • Brian
    May 10, 2017
    In this novel, we meet a teen named Adam who struggles with schizophrenia. He gets sent to a private school and wants to start new. But he can't help but hear the voices in his head, as well as see things that don't exist such as a girl named Rebecca. Adam struggles to make friends but he meets a nerdy guy named Dwight and a Filipino girl named Maya. Adam quickly develops feelings for Maya...but will she learn his secret mental illness? This book was a good glimpse into what it was like to have In this novel, we meet a teen named Adam who struggles with schizophrenia. He gets sent to a private school and wants to start new. But he can't help but hear the voices in his head, as well as see things that don't exist such as a girl named Rebecca. Adam struggles to make friends but he meets a nerdy guy named Dwight and a Filipino girl named Maya. Adam quickly develops feelings for Maya...but will she learn his secret mental illness? This book was a good glimpse into what it was like to have mental illness. My complaint was that there wasn't a huge amount of action or excitement that occurred. I thought that the character development was pretty excellent, especially concerning some of the minor characters but I wish there was a bit more pizzazz.
    more
  • Gmr
    June 22, 2017
    No reading updates with this one, simply a start and a finish. Curious story letting inside the life of Adam... and Rebecca... and the mobsters... and several others that pop in and out of existence at will. That's right... Adam is different in some ways but that doesn't make him any less worthy of life, love, and the chance to simply be. Seeing his struggle from the inside out was eye opening, and I simply couldn't get enough of the other character connections made throughout the Novel. Maya wa No reading updates with this one, simply a start and a finish. Curious story letting inside the life of Adam... and Rebecca... and the mobsters... and several others that pop in and out of existence at will. That's right... Adam is different in some ways but that doesn't make him any less worthy of life, love, and the chance to simply be. Seeing his struggle from the inside out was eye opening, and I simply couldn't get enough of the other character connections made throughout the Novel. Maya was a green, as was Dwight, Adam's mom, Paul, and the faceless/nameless therapist he's writing and discussing life with. My heart broke for him several times over, but perked right back up when all seemed right again with his world... or at least as right as it could be.
    more
  • Amber ~ The Reading Addict
    May 25, 2017
    *I received an advanced copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review Basically, I just didn't enjoy this one. Between dealing with an overly cynical (and sometimes downright selfish) main character and the mockery of Christianity/Catholicism, I just couldn't deal. Not the worst book I've ever read, but definitely not one I'll be recommending. In-depth review to come closer to release date!
    more
  • Nancy
    May 27, 2017
    The story is told through Adam, a 16 year old Schizophrenic's, journal entries to his therapist. Adam entries are honest, sarcastic & make him relatable. They help you see him as more than just a mentally-ill teen (or "crazy" which Adam prefers ). This book makes you really think about Schizophrenia & how it affects the person, family & friends.
    more
  • Jelke Lenaerts
    June 27, 2017
    I recieved a galley of this trough Netgalley but my opinions are 100% honest. full review: http://jelkelenaerts.blogspot.be/2017...diversity bingo 2017: main character with an invisible disability
  • Julie
    May 27, 2017
    I enjoyed reading this book that dealt with serious issues and finding love. I loved that this these entries were all journal thoughts. He went in different directions at times but it was enough to follow the story. Great book
  • Hope Cook
    May 19, 2017
    Gorgeous, thoughtful book with wonderful characters!
  • Lauren (Shooting Stars Mag) Becker
    June 30, 2017
    *book for review -all opinions are my own*I put this at 4 stars here, but it's really more of 4.5 stars! I read this in one day. It was so readable - I loved Adam's voice. More to come on my blog!
Write a review