Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen
Grace Kendall at Farrar, Straus and Giroux has preempted a chapter book series by Debbi Michiko Florence, about headstrong eight-year-old Jasmine Toguchi and her Japanese-American family. The first book, Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen, is about yearning to be part of a fun family tradition, even if it's not something girls typically do. Publication begins in spring 2017.

Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen Details

TitleJasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherFarrar, Straus and Giroux
Number of pages160 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Chapter Books, Food and Drink, Food

Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen Review

  • Alia
    March 17, 2017
    Cute series about a determined Japanese American girl who won't let anyone stand in the way of her doing mochi-tsuki! It has the standard beg. chapter book plot lines of a pesky cousin & an annoying older sister but what shines about this book is that it's #ownvoices/fills a much needed multicultural void in beg. chapter books. There aren't many beginning chapter series about Japanese American kids. Nice illustrations too. I love the addition of a mochi recipe at the end of the book (kids ca Cute series about a determined Japanese American girl who won't let anyone stand in the way of her doing mochi-tsuki! It has the standard beg. chapter book plot lines of a pesky cousin & an annoying older sister but what shines about this book is that it's #ownvoices/fills a much needed multicultural void in beg. chapter books. There aren't many beginning chapter series about Japanese American kids. Nice illustrations too. I love the addition of a mochi recipe at the end of the book (kids can make mochi just like Jasmine's family). Looking forward to more from this series. Strong start. :)
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 23, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineJasmine is looking forward to her family's New Year celebration. Her grandmother is coming from Japan to spend a month, and her cousins and aunts and uncles will be spending two days making mochi, a Japanese treat made by pounding sticky rice and molding it into shapes. They will then have their New Year's celebration. Jasmine is angry that her older sister, Sophie, is allowed to help in the kitchen because she is over ten. Jasmine is not, so she gets stuck E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineJasmine is looking forward to her family's New Year celebration. Her grandmother is coming from Japan to spend a month, and her cousins and aunts and uncles will be spending two days making mochi, a Japanese treat made by pounding sticky rice and molding it into shapes. They will then have their New Year's celebration. Jasmine is angry that her older sister, Sophie, is allowed to help in the kitchen because she is over ten. Jasmine is not, so she gets stuck babysitting younger cousins. She decides that she wants to help anyway, and wants to break with tradition even further to help pound the rice instead of mold the balls. Her cousin Eddie makes fun of her, her grandmother is shocked and dismayed, but Jasmine's parents give Jasmine a chance to prove herself. Strengths: The strong family support network was good to see, and I liked that Jasmine also had an older neighbor lady who let her climb the trees in her year and hang out when being at home got to be too much. Sophie is a realistic older sister who does everything first. It was also interesting that even though the family clearly had a very strong Japanese cultural background, they had pizza for their mochi making day dinner. The spot illustrations and engaging story make this a great choice for elementary school libraries. Weaknesses: Jasmine is a bit bratty, and a little unrealistic about her competencies. The target demographic will be more sympathetic to this. I also could have used more description of mochi earlier in the story, although there is a nice explanation of it in the end. What I really think: This seemed too young for middle school, but I love the books that are coming out that are aimed at third graders (the best year ever for reading, in my opinion!) like Cilla Lee Jenkins, that are fairly simple to read and have some pictures. This makes them great choices for first graders who are stong readers but who still enjoy some pictures. I would have loved this when I was about six!
    more
  • Alyssa
    April 23, 2017
    What an admirable (and adorable) effort from eight-year-old Jasmine to prove to her family that she is strong enough to pound mochi with the boys. Points for incorporating Japanese American identity and cultural traditions, well-developed characters, and some sibling rivalry/love.
    more
  • Elly Swartz
    February 2, 2017
    Jasmine Toguchi – Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence is a wonderful story about a strong third grader named Jasmine. I fell in love with Jasmine on page one when she said, “I, Jasmine Toguchi, do not like to clean! But I do like to climb trees, eat dessert, and make messes.” She’s spunky, brave, and determined to break tradition. This eight-year-old girl can do anything she sets her mind to. In the end, she learns that strength is more than the muscles on your skinny arms. As her sister Sophi Jasmine Toguchi – Mochi Queen by Debbi Michiko Florence is a wonderful story about a strong third grader named Jasmine. I fell in love with Jasmine on page one when she said, “I, Jasmine Toguchi, do not like to clean! But I do like to climb trees, eat dessert, and make messes.” She’s spunky, brave, and determined to break tradition. This eight-year-old girl can do anything she sets her mind to. In the end, she learns that strength is more than the muscles on your skinny arms. As her sister Sophie says, “You’re strong….And I’m not talking about muscles. You believe in something and you don’t let anyone change your mind.” Love Jasmine! Highly recommend this heart-warming read!I received an arc for an honest review.
    more
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    December 5, 2016
    So fantastic. I loved Jasmine's determination, and the details about mochi and the family's traditions were so well-described and explained.
  • Bridgett Brown
    July 4, 2017
    I won this book in a Goodreads Giveaway.Eight-year-old Jasmine Toguchi is sick of being a babysitter. She wants to help make the Mochi. Mochi is a sticky rice treat that is made into shapes. The adults tell her you can help when your over 10. Jasmine don't like that. Not only does she want to help, she wants to do the "man" job of pounding rice, instead of making them into rice balls. A very cute story. My daughter really liked it.
    more
  • Olivia Hinebaugh
    April 18, 2017
    This book was so sweet. Put me squarely back into feeling invisible as a middle child, but in a fun way? My kids were delighted by reading this aloud. I loved that there is a girl character who strives to be strong and important. Also, my kids and I can't wait to try the mochi recipe. :P
    more
  • Shenwei
    July 16, 2017
    a really cute story about a Japanese American girl wanting to join the family tradition of making mochi but bumping up against rules of age and gender that say she can't help. of course, the rules are nothing to a girl with a will 😊
  • Katie Slivensky
    February 13, 2017
    This is a fantastic story for any young go-getter! Jasmine wants to help her family with a special tradition, but keeps being told she can't. She's not old enough. She's a girl. But Jasmine won't take no for an answer, and goes after her ambition anyway. I was cheering so much for her throughout, and I am sure there are many young readers who will do the same. A great read teaching kids that they can break boundaries if they have enough determination. (As a side effect, I also really want some m This is a fantastic story for any young go-getter! Jasmine wants to help her family with a special tradition, but keeps being told she can't. She's not old enough. She's a girl. But Jasmine won't take no for an answer, and goes after her ambition anyway. I was cheering so much for her throughout, and I am sure there are many young readers who will do the same. A great read teaching kids that they can break boundaries if they have enough determination. (As a side effect, I also really want some mochi right now! Thank goodness a recipe is provided!)
    more
  • Jason Gallaher
    February 11, 2017
    Jasmine has such a fun personality! She is so determined to make a mark in her family's mochi making traditions, you can't help but root for her!
  • Andrea Wang
    January 30, 2017
    I loved this story about Jasmine Toguchi, a Japanese American girl who is eager to take part in her family's mochi-making tradition for the Japanese New Year holiday. The only problem? She's too young. Jasmine's spirit and determination in the face of obstacles like her bossy older sister and her mean cousin are wonderful to see. The book is a great introduction to Japanese culture and gently touches upon the cultural gap between Jasmine and her grandmother, making it a good read for anytime of I loved this story about Jasmine Toguchi, a Japanese American girl who is eager to take part in her family's mochi-making tradition for the Japanese New Year holiday. The only problem? She's too young. Jasmine's spirit and determination in the face of obstacles like her bossy older sister and her mean cousin are wonderful to see. The book is a great introduction to Japanese culture and gently touches upon the cultural gap between Jasmine and her grandmother, making it a good read for anytime of year (not just for the new year). Fans of Ramona Quimby and Clementine will enjoy this book.
    more
  • Marta Boksenbaum
    January 28, 2017
    A story about a young Japanese-American girl who wants to help her family make mochi for the new year, but she is too young, and she wants to pound the rice which is a job for men, not little girls. Jasmine is a stubborn girl who knows her mind, and readers will root for her to get a chance to help in the way she wants.
    more
  • Linnea
    July 25, 2017
    if we are comparing series I think Alvin Ho had more heart and humor but this is still a good effort, easy to read, challenges/conflicts younger children will relate to. A good series for those slightly above Early Level Readers. in this adventure, Jasmine wants to help with Mochi-tsuki (her families mochi making festivities at the start of the new year). Unfortunately she is too young but sets out to help anyway hoping to help the men with their part of the job (pounding the rice) instead of wh if we are comparing series I think Alvin Ho had more heart and humor but this is still a good effort, easy to read, challenges/conflicts younger children will relate to. A good series for those slightly above Early Level Readers. in this adventure, Jasmine wants to help with Mochi-tsuki (her families mochi making festivities at the start of the new year). Unfortunately she is too young but sets out to help anyway hoping to help the men with their part of the job (pounding the rice) instead of what the women do (rolling the balls)
    more
  • Miss Amanda
    July 19, 2017
    gr 2-4 98 pgs8 year old Jasmine wishes she could do all the things her older sister Sophie allowed to do, or better yet--do something even before Sophie does. Jasmine is unsuccessful in convincing her family to allow her to help roll the mochi balls, but wonders if she might convince her father to let her help be the youngest & first girl in the family to help pound the sticky rice for the mochi balls!Great story. Readers who enjoy Ruby Lu or Judy Moody would also like this new series
    more
  • Christina
    July 19, 2017
    Your young middle-grade readers are guaranteed to get a kick out of Jasmine and her family. This series reminds me and my kids of Beverly Cleary's Ramona - same spunky attitude and interesting kid-level challenges (like older sisters!) to navigate. Great illustrations. Definitely recommend - if you read this first one, you'll be excited for the next ones in the series, I'm sure.
    more
  • Michele Knott
    June 18, 2017
    So thrilled with this new series - can't wait to read more Jasmine adventures!I love Jasmine's spunk, her attitude, and her thinking! She is going to delight young readers.
  • Darcey
    May 29, 2017
    wonderful characters, wonderful story!
  • Holly
    July 13, 2017
    Gave to my 10 yr old granddaughter & she loved it & cant wait to get the next one
  • Joanne Roberts
    August 1, 2017
    This is a great addition to any school library. The main character is spunky, cute, and flawed. The references to her Japanese-American heritage are charming and will be educational for some readers. I was a bit disappointed by the voice, which lacked smooth flow in many places, but the characters, the theme, the plot, the series potential, the illustrations, and the bonus pages at the end, make this a must-read. While the story centers around third graders, the language and sentence structure a This is a great addition to any school library. The main character is spunky, cute, and flawed. The references to her Japanese-American heritage are charming and will be educational for some readers. I was a bit disappointed by the voice, which lacked smooth flow in many places, but the characters, the theme, the plot, the series potential, the illustrations, and the bonus pages at the end, make this a must-read. While the story centers around third graders, the language and sentence structure are much lower. I would recommend these books for a much younger audience.
    more
  • Erica
    June 26, 2017
    A great new early chapter book series. Jasmine Toguchi, whose family is Japanese, is a determined girl who wants to be part of her family's tradition of making mochi (mo-chee) for the New Year's celebration. She's done being babysitter to the younger kids, she wants to help. Jasmine is funny in ways that she doesn't realize she's funny. Kids who are determined to do what their older siblings or grownups do in the family will identify with Jasmine.
    more
  • Louise Scholl
    August 1, 2017
    I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. I am going to be giving as a gift. It looks like a great book for young children.
Write a review