Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)
In a kingdom by the sea…In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare.

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) Details

TitleLady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 8th, 2016
PublisherMargaret K. McElderry Books
ISBN1442468351
ISBN-139781442468351
Number of pages698 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1) Review

  • Lily Poo
    March 15, 2012
    THIS FIRST PART WAS ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN 2012.Jesus the book isn't even out yet and you guys are trashing it already. Seriously, wait at least until it comes out, read it and THEN give your opinion. Right now it's just useless and pissing all of us fans off. She's not milking this. If she really just wanted more money, she wouldn't work so hard on all of this beautiful material she's creating for US. FOR US. She doesn't have to do this, she could be working as a doctor or a lawyer and making mo THIS FIRST PART WAS ORIGINALLY WRITTEN IN 2012.Jesus the book isn't even out yet and you guys are trashing it already. Seriously, wait at least until it comes out, read it and THEN give your opinion. Right now it's just useless and pissing all of us fans off. She's not milking this. If she really just wanted more money, she wouldn't work so hard on all of this beautiful material she's creating for US. FOR US. She doesn't have to do this, she could be working as a doctor or a lawyer and making money. And if you think those two jobs are harder and that writing is easier, you're 100% wrong. It's not easy, it's hard as hell but she does it. AND SHE DOES IT BEAUTIFULLY. It's even harder to get published and get enough books sold. Do your research before you go around calling people cash cows. We've all got to make a living. Some people do it by working at jobs that they absolutely hate and some, like Ms. Clare, do it by sticking with what they're passionate about. So what if she makes money? Her books are amazing and if you don't like them, that's fine. But it's rude to trash talk a series that isn't even written yet. In fact, it's rude to trash talk anything but the least you could do is hold off until you have something TO trash talk.----OH MY GOD. I knew this book would be amazing and it WAS. SO. FREAKING. AMAZING.Cassandra Clare, you have done it yet again. You've managed to make me care so much about characters I just met and made me feel their happiness, pain, sadness as if it were my own. I was so sad when I saw the last page. And then The Last Conversation... really? REALLY?! Gah!I really hope that the people who were trash talking have read it and been stunned. She created yet another beautiful masterpiece and I was more than happy to spend money on it.
    more
  • Zoë
    February 1, 2016
    My favorite Cassandra Clare book so far, including Clockwork Princess. I KNOW.It wasn't just a war between the good guys vs. the evil villain, but was an action-packed mystery filled with family, friends, magic, murder, and forbidden love. WOWZA!I loved how different every character felt. Especially how Ty, Mark, and Arthur had complex and different ways of thinking and dealing with issues. I'm so happy that Cassandra Clare wrote about mental illnesses in the Shadowhunter community and why we ha My favorite Cassandra Clare book so far, including Clockwork Princess. I KNOW.It wasn't just a war between the good guys vs. the evil villain, but was an action-packed mystery filled with family, friends, magic, murder, and forbidden love. WOWZA!I loved how different every character felt. Especially how Ty, Mark, and Arthur had complex and different ways of thinking and dealing with issues. I'm so happy that Cassandra Clare wrote about mental illnesses in the Shadowhunter community and why we haven't really seen it so far in any of her other books. I also am happy that Julian, the love interest, wasn't like all of the other love interests that we've seen so far in her books: jokey and sarcastic. Julian was much more mature than the others because of circumstances beyond his control and seemed much more grounded. The way he took care of the kids *SWOON*. He's definitely my second favorite of the Cassandra Clare men so far (Will Herondale will never be usurped let's be honest.)There's so much left that I want to talk about, but I'm going to leave those things for my video review, which will come soon to my channel!
    more
  • Shobana
    March 15, 2012
    Good God, I don't understand why people are complaining so much about the fact that Cassandra Clare is writing a new series. That's what authors do: write. And so what if she bases a new series in the same world as a past one? Honestly, I liked The Infernal Devices better than TMI. TDA is going to be in a new setting. The MC won't be Clary, who I have never liked that much anyway. Give Cassandra Clare a chance. I don't feel like she's "killing" the Shadowhunter world or something. She's only mak Good God, I don't understand why people are complaining so much about the fact that Cassandra Clare is writing a new series. That's what authors do: write. And so what if she bases a new series in the same world as a past one? Honestly, I liked The Infernal Devices better than TMI. TDA is going to be in a new setting. The MC won't be Clary, who I have never liked that much anyway. Give Cassandra Clare a chance. I don't feel like she's "killing" the Shadowhunter world or something. She's only making it better.If you don't want to read the book, why are you even here? No one cares if you think she's a cash cow. As a writer myself, I admire Cassandra Clare's dedication to her series and characters, not to mention the world she has created. People don't understand how hard it is to build an ENTIRE FREAKING WORLD from scratch. Ms. Clare has some serious talent, and honestly, I don't think she cares what the haters think. Otherwise, she wouldn't have gotten this far. She's sold millions of copies of her novels, and that's more than most people have. Give her some credit for what she's done please. Thank you.
    more
  • Regan
    March 10, 2016
    By far the most rich story Cassie has put out to date.
  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)
    March 27, 2016
    OH MAN. STILL PROCESSING EVERYTHING. BUT OH MAN THIS WAS GREAT. FULL VIDEO REVIEW TO COME!
  • Sasha Alsberg
    August 17, 2012
    LADY MIDNIGHT tore me apart then pieced me back together....then tore me apart again.LOVED this book!A very detailed review will be up on my channel later this week! :)
  • Emma Giordano
    January 3, 2015
    OH MY GOODNESS. I don't think I'll ever be able to say it's better than The Mortal Instruments . . . but WOWWWW WAS THIS BOOK ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!This book was absolutely phenomenal. I think it is some of Cassandra Clare's best work to date. To the people who say all of Cassie's books are the same, I hope Lady Midnight finally shuts you up. No more stories about "orphaned girls who aren't aware of their supernatural powers." (P.S. Clary was never an orphan so I don't know why I keep seeing that a OH MY GOODNESS. I don't think I'll ever be able to say it's better than The Mortal Instruments . . . but WOWWWW WAS THIS BOOK ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!This book was absolutely phenomenal. I think it is some of Cassandra Clare's best work to date. To the people who say all of Cassie's books are the same, I hope Lady Midnight finally shuts you up. No more stories about "orphaned girls who aren't aware of their supernatural powers." (P.S. Clary was never an orphan so I don't know why I keep seeing that associated with TMI?) It was so wonderful to jump into the Shadow world from a perspective we've never seen before. Here's a girl who's been a Shadowhunter all her life, who grew up with all of the customs we're so used to learning about throughout the past books, who's already lived through a war and survived. Even though it's the same world, it is so unbelievably different from anything I've read from Cassie before. Given, some of that may have to do with the fact that this is the first totally new and full novel I've read from Cassie Clare in 2014, but I do believe most of it is attributed to the fact that she's grown as a writer and story teller.From page one of this book, I can already sense a level of sophistication and improvement in her writing. There's an unfamiliar level of seriousness I haven't seen in the Shadow World before. It's intense, it's insane, and it's REAL. The characters in this book seem way more grounded than our beloved TMI/TID cast. I think some of that may have to do with the fact that there aren't jokes 24/7 (thought the comedy in this book is A+!) but each character is extremely individual and realistic in my opinion. I love absolutely all of them. It was so strange to start a book knowing quite a bit about this group of characters before starting; That's a TOTALLY new experience for me.I will say, this story was a bit slow to start. The first 100-200 pages were kind of slow, but I think it was more just getting used to a new world with new characters and a new story. As soon as the book picked up, I couldn't put it down! From there on, this book is a non stop thriller with everything you could possibly want from a new installment of the Shadowhunter Chronicles.Lady Midnight has taken the Shadow World further than I've ever imagined. I can't remember ever having so many theories for a series, and I am just EXPLODING with all of the new information that's revealed to us. I'm halfway through the book, thinking to myself, "I need Queen of Air and Darkness NOW because I cannot wait until 2018 to know the truth!" This story went in so many directions I wasn't expecting at the start, and I'm dying to see how things play out in the rest of the trilogy.That being said you DEFINITELY need to read all of Cassandra Clare's works prior to this because we get ALL THE TMI AND TID FEELS. If there's one thing I love about Cassie's books, it's the way she's able to throw in references of our favorite characters so subtly and endlessly give us the satisfaction we desire from her previous books. But that means for those of you who aren't totally caught up yet, STAY AWAY BECAUSE THE SPOILERS ARE EVERYWHERE.All in all, this book was absolutely fantastic. I never realized how much I wanted from this book, and Cassie managed to fulfill all of those unconscious desires I had for the future of this world. I can't remember the last time I loved a first book in a series this much. If that review hasn't sold you, I hit page 668 and turned DIRECTLY to page one to start all over again. Lady Midnight was absolutely phenomenal. I'm so proud of Cassie for never failing to disappoint me, always being an insanely talented writer, and continuing on with a world I know is so dear to her heart. I hope you all absolutely adore Lady Midnight as I did, and I cannot wait to post the spoiler-filled discussion I have prepared for my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/emmmabooks. Happy reading my fellow Shadowhunters <3*Disclaimer- I was sent an advanced copy of this book by Simon & Schuster in exchange for an honest review. All opinions included in this review as well as my future video are entirely my own.*
    more
  • Clau R.
    September 21, 2014
    It took me three weeks to finish this book. THREE! But that doesn't mean I didn't like it (on the contrary), it was just because this was a really eventful month and it messed up my reading schedule badly, for two weeks I read only one chapter per day, so now you see why it took me so long to finish it. BUT I FINALLY DID. AND NOW I WANT/NEED MORE.I mean... my interest wasn't really picked until page 350 or so... but after that page everything was full of gasps and squeals and cries of rage and/o It took me three weeks to finish this book. THREE! But that doesn't mean I didn't like it (on the contrary), it was just because this was a really eventful month and it messed up my reading schedule badly, for two weeks I read only one chapter per day, so now you see why it took me so long to finish it. BUT I FINALLY DID. AND NOW I WANT/NEED MORE.I mean... my interest wasn't really picked until page 350 or so... but after that page everything was full of gasps and squeals and cries of rage and/or happiness. I'm not going to do a full review here, maybe I'll make a full discussion in my channel, but here I'll just say a few important points:- I LOVE THE BLACKTHORN KIDS. EVERYONE. They are so precious, and not only that, they are a really interesting mix of characters! Definitely Mark, Ty, Livvy, Dru, Tavvy and Julian (SPECIALLY JULIAN) now have a spot in my heart.- So, Julian, I love him, but not in the "book boyfriend" way, is more like he's my son and I have to protect him from the evils of this world. The thing is... he doesn't really need protection! He really surprised me throughout the book! He is REALLY ruthless, and I wasn't expecting it! The fact that he's capable to do ANYTHING to make things go his way and to protect his family is admirable, but also a little unsettling. I love that about him. And I love that he's passionate and caring and... just a really interesting and well-built character! - I also like Emma, and Cristina, and Perfect Diego. I also like Kieran. Cassandra Clare really knows how to create great characters!- I obviously ship Emma and Julian (and I'm rooting for them), but OMG, the whole thing that happened at the end left me RAGING. I think the reason why parabatai love is forbidden is believable, but I didn't like the way Emma handled the situation. I was like: REALLY, REALLY??? THAT HAPPENS IN EVERY BOOK EVER. I mean, I understand why she did what she did, but we already know the mess that that will cause. - I shouted out loud when (view spoiler)[THEY REVEALED THAT KIT WAS A HERONDALE OMG. I WAS FREAKING OUT! (hide spoiler)] Honeslty, that was my biggest shock in the book.- TESSA. JEM. CLARY. JACE. MAGNUS. ALEC. - I really like how the story is building, and I'm eager to read the next book! I love the Shadowhunter universe, and I really like that Cassie keeps adding things we didn't know! The Scholomance really draws my attention, and also the whole world of Faerie! I have a feeling the next books will be even better than this one! Also, I think this is the best first installment of a series Cassie has ever written.. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .¿CÓMO QUE HASTA EL 2016? AGHHHHHHH.¡Era para el 2015! NOOOOO, CASSIE, NO ME HAGAS ESTO.
    more
  • Katerina
    December 4, 2014
    “Entreat me not to leave thee,Or return from following after thee-For whither thou goest, I will go” The parabatai oath always makes me weep.By the Angel, my hands are shaking as I'm trying to compose a decent review. I feel broken beyond repair, Cassandra Clare's words ravaged my sanity, shattered my soul and now I'm on my knees searching for tiny fragments, trying to put together what's left of me. “I was a child and she was a child,In this kingdom by the sea,But we loved with a love that “Entreat me not to leave thee,Or return from following after thee-For whither thou goest, I will go” The parabatai oath always makes me weep.By the Angel, my hands are shaking as I'm trying to compose a decent review. I feel broken beyond repair, Cassandra Clare's words ravaged my sanity, shattered my soul and now I'm on my knees searching for tiny fragments, trying to put together what's left of me. “I was a child and she was a child,In this kingdom by the sea,But we loved with a love that was more than love” Parabatai. Two warriors bound for life, one soul in two bodies. Your shelter, your friend, your better half. Emma and Julian have always looked out for each other, fought together, chased away the bad dreams, bandaged the physical and the mental wounds. But what happens when this unconditional love turns into something else? Severe punishment, a life apart, a life devoid of meaning. While Emma and the Blackthorns investigate a murderous cult associated with necromantic powers, the stakes are high. Emma can finally find out what happened to her parents and Julian can get his brother back. But when forbidden feelings come to surface, they may endanger everything they hold dear. Their family, their honor, their bond. “We are bound together, Emma, bound together- I breathe when you breathe, I bleed when you bleed, I'm yours and you're mine, you've always been mine, and I have always, always belonged to you!” After the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices I thought I was ready for anything Cassandra Clare would put me through. After all, I survived Clockwork Princess' epilogue. Barely. And then came Lady Midnight and I realized that no power, earthy or heavenly, could have prepared me for this, no iratze could heal my broken heart, no amount of words could possibly describe how much I love this woman, even though she is such a sadist. A terrible, cruel sadist. She can inflict every feeling that crosses your mind, from sorrow and anger and bitterness to elation, hope, happiness and love. Tears of joy, tears of laughter, tears of pain, tears of longing, tears of relief, my eyes were constantly wet.She delivered a story full of action, ass-kicking, suspense and mystery entwined with romance, heartache and the struggles of a broken family to stay together against all odds. An all-entrancing plotline with jaw-dropping moments and hold-your-breath moments and by-the-Angel-I-actually-feel-pity-for-the-villain moments. Ruthless fairies, secrets, bloody lotteries, lies, dark magic and gross demons in a kingdom by the sea, a lost love and a promise for revenge, all of them combined resulted into a mesmerizing tale you never wanted to end. And there's more. “Why all these paintings of you? Because I am an artist, Emma. These pictures are my heart. And if my heart was a canvas, every square inch of it would be painted over with you.” My poor, poor Julian.A hero worthy of his Herondale blood. Julian was deprived of his childhood, he became a father and a mother to his youngest siblings, he was forced to grow up, be responsible, put aside his wants and needs and bear the weight of the world in his shoulders. He was the glue that kept his family together. He was a gentle soul but ruthless and cunning at the same time, he had to make terrible choices and hide everything he felt. His only refugee was Emma. Stubborn, disobedient, arrogant and wild Emma, who at times was blinded by her need for revenge but cared about Julian so much that made you warm inside. The tension, the longing, the understanding between them gave us a love story that can inspire poems because of its beauty and its tragedy. But every character in this book had a different kind of tragedy to deal with. I was angry at Mark and his ignorance and wrong choices for a long time, but the way he rose to the circumstances won me over. The rest of the Blackthorns were without exceptions amazing characters, and I fought the urge to reach and hug Ty and tell him everything was going to be alright. They deserve alright.Of course there was also humour and sassiness that made me burst into loud laughter, and dear Lord the Clace and Malec and Sizzy feels made me squeal! Let me tell you this, Jace became a seriously fine adult. I am and always will be a die-hard Wessa fan but I liked the glimpses at Jem and Tessa, even though my heart was crying for Will. I just miss him so much. “Parabatai.The one who understands your music.” As for the ending, I have to say only one thing: Emma Cordelia Carstairs, if you proceed with your appalling plan, no power from Heaven or Hell will be able to save you from my wrath.
    more
  • Shreya
    May 9, 2012
    **UPDATE** 6/23/13: WAIT.I'M PROBABLY REALLY LATE ON THIS BUT, DAT IS NOT THE COVER FOR THE BOOK....IS IT?!...IT BETTER NOT BE. IS IT?!?!?!?! Cause it doesn't look very put together O_O IT'S NOT. HAHA. I'M KIDDING MYSELF...haha...*nerve-wracked*UPDATE (2013): HONESTLY PEOPLE. STOP. IT. STOP HATING BEFORE THE BOOK IS EVEN OUT. REALLY. JUST STOP. It's one thing to hate AFTER the release and after you've given it a try, and it's another to hate it before =_= And SO FRIGGIN' WHAT? SHE LIKES WRITING **UPDATE** 6/23/13: WAIT.I'M PROBABLY REALLY LATE ON THIS BUT, DAT IS NOT THE COVER FOR THE BOOK....IS IT?!...IT BETTER NOT BE. IS IT?!?!?!?! Cause it doesn't look very put together O_O IT'S NOT. HAHA. I'M KIDDING MYSELF...haha...*nerve-wracked*UPDATE (2013): HONESTLY PEOPLE. STOP. IT. STOP HATING BEFORE THE BOOK IS EVEN OUT. REALLY. JUST STOP. It's one thing to hate AFTER the release and after you've given it a try, and it's another to hate it before =_= And SO FRIGGIN' WHAT? SHE LIKES WRITING THEM. How are you guys so sure she's only doing it for the money? IF she is, again, SO WHAT. THIS IS HER OCCUPATION. Why do most people do the jobs they do...? TO MAKE A LIVING. AND ALSO. Of course us fans are happily gonna buy them and make her some money because WE WANT TO READ THEM. BECAUSE WE ENJOY IT. It's not like she's forcibly coming into our homes and forcing us to buy or read her books.SO SERIOUSLY. And if you guys think it's rude or lame that I'm "targeting" you then it's rude and lame that you're targeting the author, and some of you, even the fandom. If you really feel like "killing yourself" over how much you're tired of this series. Then go do it somewhere else. I've had enough of this BS. GO ahead and unfriend me block me whatever I don't give a shit. After all, I'm just EXPRESSING MY OPINIONS as you all sweetly put it. I rest my case.Sincerely~Seriously Pissed***(2012): At first, I'm like, What's gonna happen to us when all the shadowhunter themed books are over? And katniss answered that for me...AND THEN I SAW CASSIE WAS MAKING ANOTHER SERIES...And i was likeOMG, YOU'RE KIDDING RIGHT?AND THEN...WAIT...YOU'RE NOT KIDDING????well then....I'm sorry but...I'M DEAD ANYWAY
    more
  • alexandra
    May 18, 2015
    FULL REVIEW + DISCUSSION ON twirlingpages.com!2/2/2016 : well, i feel like my soul shattered into a billion pieces and blew into the ocean. how will i ever recover from this novel???? or this ending?????? i won't. good bye world. i drowned in my own tears and my entire being fell into shambles thanks to this FANTASTIC novel. i need the next one NOW, even though this one hasn't even released yet... oops.*clears throat* okay, saying LADY MIDNGHT is an emotional rollercoaster ride is an understatem FULL REVIEW + DISCUSSION ON twirlingpages.com!2/2/2016 : well, i feel like my soul shattered into a billion pieces and blew into the ocean. how will i ever recover from this novel???? or this ending?????? i won't. good bye world. i drowned in my own tears and my entire being fell into shambles thanks to this FANTASTIC novel. i need the next one NOW, even though this one hasn't even released yet... oops.*clears throat* okay, saying LADY MIDNGHT is an emotional rollercoaster ride is an understatement. i'm shell-shocked by cassandra clare's improvement in writing, world building, character development, EVERYTHING. especially since i just finished rereading her first two novels, it's so obviously clear as to how much she's grown as an author. she keeps getting better and better.my favorite part of LADY MIDNIGHT is not the intricately thought out plot – which is very intricate and very fantastic – but the depth of our cast. i remember reading THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS and finding everyone a bit flat or "too perfect." clary and jace (from TMI) were both born to be legends and, to me, they were cutouts of The Chosen One. our main characters in LM, emma and julian, aren't naturally "special" but work to where they're at. i could easily connect with them because they're just regular people, erm, shadowhunters, who are trying to make the most out of what's come out of the war. and it's not only our two leads who i adore; EVERYONE is incredibly fleshed out and unique. clare made it so easy for me to connect with all of them, which led me to feel ALL THE FEELZ. i also love how there are many diverse characters and aspects, but they weren't the main focus; it's there and it's important but it's not flung in your face.cassandra clare's ability to create more depth in the shadow world never fazes to amaze me. i personally don't find the writing to be very special, but THE WORLD is so incredible. we see characters we know from TMI and TID (which made me SO GIDDY), but also see the back story to minor characters in the other series. more secrets about their government unravel, more family relationships explained, and MORE ANGST. it's also nice because it's written in a way that doesn't require you to read the companion series. the plot has such a nice balance between action, romance, suspense, and magic. although the book is the size of a monster, there weren't many parts that felt dragged or unnecessary (a few, but not many). one of the conflicts of the story follows family relationships and the like, which i LOVE because i feel like there's more to YA drama than romance and monsters; LADY MIDNIGHT has all three! *sly grin* but yes, this book has a perfect mix of everything.if you couldn't tell from my paragraphs of gushing, I LOVE THIS NOVEL. i usually try to be very picky and critical with my books, but i honestly couldn't find anything i truly disliked. it made me fall in love with the world and characters and everything about everything. (it also made me feel like i was being stabbed in the heart a few million times, but i suppose i'm a bit masochistic.) and now, i'm going to reread all of cassie clare's other novels and allow this world to consume my soul <3333
    more
  • Vi Vi
    March 14, 2012
    Alternative Titles:The Shadow Hunter Saga: Separation Anxiety. Makes $$$ Mortal Instruments: I Swear I Have Other Ideas I Swear (but no really I don't lol $$$$)Cassandra Clare: Is Gonna Milk This $$$$$ Cow til Blood Comes Out and then throw in White Dye and Sell Each Bag at an Exorbitant PriceMortal Instruments Fans: Will Read the Same Characters and Conflicts Again and Again and Again and Again and Again and $$$$$$The Jace Wayland/Herondale/Morgenstern/Malfoy/Jeeves: How Many Times Can Hair Dye Alternative Titles:The Shadow Hunter Saga: Separation Anxiety. Makes $$$ Mortal Instruments: I Swear I Have Other Ideas I Swear (but no really I don't lol $$$$)Cassandra Clare: Is Gonna Milk This $$$$$ Cow til Blood Comes Out and then throw in White Dye and Sell Each Bag at an Exorbitant PriceMortal Instruments Fans: Will Read the Same Characters and Conflicts Again and Again and Again and Again and Again and $$$$$$The Jace Wayland/Herondale/Morgenstern/Malfoy/Jeeves: How Many Times Can Hair Dye Make Me a Different Character? Oh yeah, and $$$$$$$Takers?Reading this book will be fun cuz then I get to play 'take a shot whenever this reminds you of something' as far as my alcohol tolerance level will allow.
    more
  • Maureen
    March 14, 2016
    I. CANNOT. DEAL.This book was incredible and this series may topple TID as my favorite in the Shadowhunter world if it continues this way. Definitely the strongest first book in any of the series for sure.There were so many things that were RIGHT about this book, but especially the characters. They were fantastic and wonderful and their journey was HEARTBREAKING but still amazing and I just can't deal guys I can't.This book broke me into a million pieces so I honesty don't know how I'm going to I. CANNOT. DEAL.This book was incredible and this series may topple TID as my favorite in the Shadowhunter world if it continues this way. Definitely the strongest first book in any of the series for sure.There were so many things that were RIGHT about this book, but especially the characters. They were fantastic and wonderful and their journey was HEARTBREAKING but still amazing and I just can't deal guys I can't.This book broke me into a million pieces so I honesty don't know how I'm going to survive the rest of the books.I may reread this immediately because I do want to video review it but also I just need it in my life again..
    more
  • Mikee Andrea (ReadWithMikee)
    November 9, 2015
    “The stars wheeled crazily overhead as she spun, sucking in her breath as her body slowed its rolling. She came to a stop on her back, her hair and clothes full of sand and her ears full of the sound of the wildly crashing ocean…” To the people who say that Cassandra Clare is dragging this on, milking the cow, etc: PLEASE STOP. There's people all over the world who are grateful for these books and series. Don't ruin it for everyone else. You don't have to like Cassie. You don't have to read h “The stars wheeled crazily overhead as she spun, sucking in her breath as her body slowed its rolling. She came to a stop on her back, her hair and clothes full of sand and her ears full of the sound of the wildly crashing ocean…” To the people who say that Cassandra Clare is dragging this on, milking the cow, etc: PLEASE STOP. There's people all over the world who are grateful for these books and series. Don't ruin it for everyone else. You don't have to like Cassie. You don't have to read her books. But at least have some respect for the author and her loyal readers. Prior to reading The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices, I too criticized the fact that Cassie only wrote books within her Shadowhunter world. Once I got a taste of a world full of Nephilim, runes, parabatai, and seraph blades, I quickly (and proudly) ate those words up without hesitation. We all have books we love, books we hate. No one should be shamed for the books they choose to read. Just as authors shouldn't be shamed for the world that the create. People complain about underdeveloped world-building and now people are complaining about "overdevelopment". Let it be. Don't read the books. Don't spend your money. But don't drag the author, their hard work, their imagination, and the readers who love to support their creation. End of rant.Anyways...Words can't even describe how much hype surrounded this book. But you know what... Lady Midnight was so much better than I ever would have comprehended. Lady Midnight was not just great. It was not just amazing. It was not just fantastic. There were absolutely NO WORDS to describe the masterpiece that this book was. Every word, every sentence, every punctuation had me hooked to the very core to the point where putting this book down was torture.The Infernal Devices will probably always be my favorite Shadowhunter series but after putting this book down, I'm left doubting if that statement even proves to be true anymore. I even predicted that The Dark Artfices would put The Mortal Instruments to shame. Boy, I was wrong. Lady Midnight completely obliterated The Mortal Instruments. Clary who? Jace who? Because after being reintroduced to these characters, I forgot all about The Mortal Instruments and the characters that preceded Emma and Julian five years earlier.Emma Carstairs was fierce. Determined. Every bit as BADASS as a heroine should be. I was never annoyed with her like I was with Clary because unlike Clary, Emma actually knew how to listen. She knew her limits and when to stop. It was actually refreshing after putting up with bratty Clary for six books.As for Julian Blackthorn -- he made this book for me. I absolutely adored him. Julian Blackthorn could do no wrong in my eyes. I felt so much for him and how he had to grow up at such a young age to be the father to Livvy, Tiberius, Dru, and Tavvy. My heart broke for him so many times. He is not quite like Will or Jace Herondale. If anything, Julian Blackthorn has the outward appearance of Will and Jace, but the heart and personality of Jem and Alec. I very much enjoyed how this book finally decided to explore the law behind why parabatai should never fall in love. It was a detail that I've been wondering from the moment the term parabatai was introduced to us. The romance in Lady Midnight was steamy, complicated, and all the while... heartbreaking. Especially after that ending. I loved the friendship between Emma and Julian ever since they were introduced in City of Heavenly Fire. I had a feeling that their hasty decision of becoming parabatai would prove to be problematic in the future and boy did it get messy in Lady Midnight. The tension between Emma and Julian throughout this whole book was just so thick it drove me CRAZY. (view spoiler)[However, as much as I ship Emma and Julian I guiltily ship Emma and Mark as well. There I said it! But can you blame me? This book literally has a love pentagon.(hide spoiler)]Lady Midnight was just perfect from beginning to end. From its beautiful cover, to the plot, the romance, everything! It all weaves together seamlessly. I can't wait to see how everything unfolds in this new chapter of the Shadowhunter world.P.S. I love you Cassie but after that ending, I just want to jump off a cliff and drag you along with me. WHY OH WHY DO YOU LOVE TO DO THIS TO US? I'd take a million of your lengthy epilogues over this one page epilogue that left me reeling!
    more
  • Carmen
    March 14, 2012
    WHY THE HELL IS everyone complaining that they think Cassie's writing more books to make cash?! True, I have my own complaints about never ending series, but when you have someone as talented as Cassie, IT KIND OF MAKES SENSE FOR HER TO WRITE MORE. Especially when many fans are ASKING FOR MORE. (ex. When everybody asked for more books in TMI series.) Honestly, I'm sure Cassie has other writing projects that she does that don't involve Shadowhunters, but I'm getting sick of biased people of judgi WHY THE HELL IS everyone complaining that they think Cassie's writing more books to make cash?! True, I have my own complaints about never ending series, but when you have someone as talented as Cassie, IT KIND OF MAKES SENSE FOR HER TO WRITE MORE. Especially when many fans are ASKING FOR MORE. (ex. When everybody asked for more books in TMI series.) Honestly, I'm sure Cassie has other writing projects that she does that don't involve Shadowhunters, but I'm getting sick of biased people of judging simply because this would be the third series of Shadowhunters that Cassie will be writing. (I don't see fans of Vampire Academy complaining that a spinoff series, Bloodlines is coming out. Or fans of Evermore, when Alyson Noel decided to write a series on Ever's sister.)Why judge so harshly, read the book first. Who knows? It could end up being even better than TID AND TMI.***************Update: IT HAS A TITLE!!!! Lady Midnight!! YES.OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMGYES!!!!!! I am highly anticipating for this book!!!! Cassandra Clare is one of my fav authors and I'm sure she will not disappoint! I can't wait to dive into a new Shadowhunter tale!*runs off screaming with joy, happiness, and frustration at why the book can't come out earlier*
    more
  • Emma Giordano
    March 24, 2017
    SUCH A GREAT NOVEL THE SECOND TIME AROUND. I'm so happy I decided to reread Lady Midnight. I feel it really helped me get a better grasp on the plot and the characters. I feel so much more in love with this story (as if I was not the first time). I definitely cried so much AGAIN because of all the feels, and I think I have a new found appreciation for certain parts of the story! For example, the inclusion of neurodiverse people in such a conservative society really resonated with me. I was so ha SUCH A GREAT NOVEL THE SECOND TIME AROUND. I'm so happy I decided to reread Lady Midnight. I feel it really helped me get a better grasp on the plot and the characters. I feel so much more in love with this story (as if I was not the first time). I definitely cried so much AGAIN because of all the feels, and I think I have a new found appreciation for certain parts of the story! For example, the inclusion of neurodiverse people in such a conservative society really resonated with me. I was so happy to see these individuals standing tall against the stigma enforced by their superiors. I also believe my "ships" are more set in stone this time, as I was not totally committed to a lot of potential romances before. The story was just as powerful, the characters just as loveable, and I'm just gushing at this point because I love Lady Midnight so much. I'm so happy to see Cassie Clare growing so successfully, in her writing and creativity most of all. Now to wallow in sadness for the next SIXTY days while preparing for Lord of Shadows!
    more
  • Laura Marcela ✎・:*:・ |spoilers af|
    November 6, 2012
    "Lex malla, lex nulla. A bad law is no law." This could be one of the hardest reviews I’ve ever written and that’s just because my feelings and thoughts are all over the place and I know, no matter how many days pass, I won’t be able to have a clear response so bear with me. This is going to be a mess.As usual, there were things I liked and things I didn’t. In this particular case, I don’t know if everything I loved can outweigh what I disliked. This is the first time I had to call two of my fr "Lex malla, lex nulla. A bad law is no law." This could be one of the hardest reviews I’ve ever written and that’s just because my feelings and thoughts are all over the place and I know, no matter how many days pass, I won’t be able to have a clear response so bear with me. This is going to be a mess.As usual, there were things I liked and things I didn’t. In this particular case, I don’t know if everything I loved can outweigh what I disliked. This is the first time I had to call two of my friends to ask them if I was being neutral enough and this is the result.If at this point y’all don’t know this is not a spoiler free blog and therefore my reviews contain untagged spoilers, then I don’t know what you guys are up to. Read at your own risk.Lady Midnight is the first book in what is going to be a trilogy named The Dark Artifices and in this first installment, we deal with the aftermath of the Dark War that, after 5 years, it still has a huge impact in the Shadowhunter world. We follow Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn as they work together to discover who’s behind the murders of mundanes and faeries happening in Los Angeles.Now, I’m going to begin with what I actually liked about this book because I feel like I need to start with positive things.•I absolutely adored the Blackthorn dynamic. I really like this family a lot! I loved how close they are and how they manage all the situations they get themselves involved. I think they could’ve been written really poorly but I’m so happy with all of them. I love Julian and his strong sense of responsibility, I love Ty and his way of seeing things(I don’t know exactly his condition; it can be a grade of autism, though I don’t know if people can have just a bit of it or it can also be Asperger syndrome but I was glad to read about a character like that and that person being an actual active member of everything) and Livvy with her fierceness, Dru with her love for morbid topics and how protective she was of Tavvy and Tavvy being so young and cute and I just really loved them all. And Mark, who I actually got to know a bit in Bitter of Tongue, I grew to like him a lot in this book.•Dude, I fucking loved Cristina Mendoza Rosales. She was such a mature character and she gave me and a lot of people new perspectives and while she was a rule follower, she was ready for everything and understood there were things higher than law and I just fell for her so hard. I’m just happy she exists.•I loved reading about all characters and their cameos and it was a big fangirl moment for me. Jace actually seemed to have grown up a lot and reading about Izzy and Simon’s engagement party and Tessa and Jem, holy shit, I was so so happy and *sighs*so good.•Cristina and Mark are my new ship and I will sink with them. I’m so here for more of those two. You have no idea how much I ship them omg.And that was about it. If I end up reading the second book, when it comes out, it’ll be only for what I wrote above. Now comes the part where I rant about everything I actually hated so if you loved the book, you may want to stop reading this now.Boy, I was not pleased with A LOT of things and it made so sad. For 4 years since it was announced this trilogy was coming out and after we all met the characters when they were children, I was sold. I’m telling you, after City of Heavenly Fire, I was ready to take a break. Since 2010 I was reading CC’s books nonstop and I was exhausted. You all know these books got centuries worth of baggage and I was going to wait until The Dark Artifices had at least 2 books out, you know? And then these kids came into the picture and I couldn’t help it. I had to know what was going to be for them in the future.Enter Lady Midnight and just nah.Probably one of things I hated the most was how in-your-face was the whole romance between Emma and Julian because for years we were sold the idea of how unthinkable was a romance between parabatai and I expected so much and more from this book and I didn’t get it at all.I don’t know if I was misguided or maybe it was just me but I thought that, at least in this first book, Julian’s feelings were going to be unrequired. So color me surprise when it was not Julian who I first read having doubts about it but Emma. In the first fucking chapter. I was like whaaaat??? And from there the romance went downhill for me. It’s not the fact that Emma loved him too, no. It is just that there was not mystery. There was not seduction. CC did not play with the possibilities when we all were expecting being heartbroken and this impossible love for so many reasons and I did not get it. I’m not even talking about Emma and Julian having sex at the first opportunity but rather the notion of them thinking it was not going to affect their parabatai bond. It was how poorly it was handled. It was because the level of ridiculousness shocked the fuck out of me. I’d like to think I’m not the only one who feels that their romance was not only was rushed but also bad written and I just got this incredible feeling of being tricked and robbed. And while I wasn’t crazy for all the angst I knew it gotta exist because, hello parabatai in love, I was not expecting them got their feelings somewhat sorted out that quick. Sue me, I like to be seduced but nooo.Which leads me to the thing I hated the most…Are. You. Freaking. Kidding. Me? I knew, as soon as Julian was hurt and Emma put that iratze on him and shit worked amazingly, something was up. And what was it? Well, apparently when the pair of parabatai fall in love, their runes become even more powerful because…. yeah, I guess romantic love is the most powerful thing in the world. Bullshit.If you ask me, two parabatai who are siblings, have more chances of being all powerful because a) they share blood b) they grew up together c) parabatai bond. To me, that’s a killer combination if you’re following the CC’s logic. But nope, romantic love y’all.And the reason why parabatai can’t be romantically together? They become all magic powerful and go Hercules on everyone around them. Like, killing everyone and going power crazy. How convenient that was never mentioned. A friend of mine told me she read something about a Lightwood being in love with their parabatai and the result was mortal to them back before The Infernal Devices and that’s it. And now Lady Midnight. I just hate how everything was left out, how there was no information about this until now. How. Fucking. Convenient. It’s feels like when someone tells you “oops, you should have read the fine print” because I don’t remember reading anything in the Codex about such thing. And one would think something so important would’ve been included in the Codex no matter how "in the shadows" that shit had to stay. Actually, the parabatai part in the Codex was absurdly short and most of it was the vow. Something so important and sacred for this world has so little information. How convenient. Next thing we’ll know it’s a way to break the parabatai bond without any of them being dead because the power of true love.I’m frustrated and mad. How dare CC to take such an already established concept, a concept we all already know about and it’s so important and twist it to her better convenience? Just no. How disrespectful of her.And some of you may say “but they’re her books and she can do what she wants…” yes but that’s not how shit goes and we all know it. It’s really not fair to change the rules at this point just because it’s easier that way.And the way Emma broke things with Julian? Fuck.Why does she have to involve Mark? Doesn’t she realize Julian is going to end up hating Mark and therefore the brothers are going to be divided and that’s going to divide the siblings and it’s going to hurt everyone but mostly Julian? Doesn’t she realize how selfish that decision was? Couldn’t she just break things with Julian and try to “date” someone else? Why create unnecessary drama?Emma spent the whole book saying and proving she cares a great deal about Julian, duh she loves him, but she just doesn’t think about the consequences. She doesn’t think about Mark having to deal with Julian’s feelings, too. She doesn’t think about Mark having small feeling for Cristina. She doesn’t think about her friend liking Mark, too. She doesn’t stop to think about anything and yes, you may tell me “but Laura, she didn’t force him" and you’re right! But as soon as she said it was to help Julian, we all know Mark was game and that isn’t fair.Now, let’s leave Emma and Julian aside for a while and let’s talk about the main villain in this book.So, Malcom Fade, High Warlock of Los Angeles. Someone so in love with someone, so hurt by betrayal and so powerful he managed to kill a lot of people and form a cult for years in order to bring back to life his old love. I just didn’t feel it. I don’t know if it was because we didn’t know Malcom that much so the fact that he turned out being the bad guy, while surprising, didn’t evoke a lot of things to me. I mean, yeah, he turned out hating the kids he saw grow and poor kids, you know? But that was it.Everything about this plot was weak and I get that Emma’s parents ended up being just meaningless deaths and that’s something she will have to deal with but I just was not impressed by Malcom trying to rise Anabel from the dead. I feel like it was such a hollow thing. Maybe because I’m used to bad guys trying to destroy everything and conquer the world that here came this guy and he only wanted to be with his beloved one again and some of the Fair Folk helping him, it still didn’t work out in my opinion. It was something so bizarre like this kid Christopher Herondale.Fuck me sideways, I thought Tessa and Jem were looking for powerful artifice but this kid? While I’m in love with William Herondale and the mere mention of him can bring me to my knees, this plot twist was uncalled for and stupid. Is CC trying to win people over? Someone please give me a valid reason why this kid is needed? And I know we don’t have Herondale representation, I know. Jace may be called Herondale but he was raised Lightwood. So if the only reason why this kid was brought was to be a plot device, then I’m out.Guys, I’m confused and mad and disappointed. I just don’t see a way out.What can let Emma and Julian be together? Well, one of them could become a supernatural creature. That way the parabatai bond would break and they could be together.Or they can be exiled and stripped from their Marks and if they survive that, then yeah, cool.Or they could die in the process.BUT if later in the books a way for them to be together is discovered while still being both Shadowhunters and alive, after everything we’ve been told, then what’s the fucking point?I’m not happy with this book, as you can see and I just don’t know what to make out of it.I'm not happy with how childish it was. One would think CC has grown as a writer (I just laughed so hard omg) so much in the past years that she's now capable of delivering mature content but no. High school drama going on here.I know I left a lot of things out in this review but it’d take me forever to tell you about every single thing I hated.
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    December 27, 2015
    I was so iffy on this book when I first heard about it, but all of my friends' reviews have changed my mind....So yeah. Picking this up tomorrow.
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    November 15, 2016
    WHY DID I NOT READ THIS SOONER?!?!?I know I haven't been Cassandra Clare's biggest fan in the past... I don't dislike her other books by any means, but I'm just not quite at the same level of wonderful enthusiasm I see in the rest of the book community. I finally got around to reading The Mortal Instruments this spring and was rather neutral about the whole thing. The story's idea was fun, but Jace and Clary kind of irritated me. I wasn't super into most of The Bane Chronicles or Tales From the WHY DID I NOT READ THIS SOONER?!?!?I know I haven't been Cassandra Clare's biggest fan in the past... I don't dislike her other books by any means, but I'm just not quite at the same level of wonderful enthusiasm I see in the rest of the book community. I finally got around to reading The Mortal Instruments this spring and was rather neutral about the whole thing. The story's idea was fun, but Jace and Clary kind of irritated me. I wasn't super into most of The Bane Chronicles or Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy, either. I totally got into The Infernal Devices by the third book, though! But no matter how much I loved Will, Jem, and Tessa, I thought that the writing still had a lot of filler and I wished I had skimmed a large portion of most books.But oh my goodness the writing, characters, and EVERYTHING improved so much in this book that it's making me love those other series by association. The huge hype around Lady Midnight earlier this year made me finally pick up Cassandra Clare's books, but I really wish I had just read this first (or maybe started with TID). This book is the start of a new series with different main characters in a new location, but it still brings in some familiar faces to connect all of the stories. (And this story was so solid that I actually didn't mind a few pages of characters who previously irritated me. It was even kind of... fun to see them). But I honestly don't think you need to read TMI or TID first. Everyone told me that I wouldn't appreciate the old characters who popped in if I didn't read the other books first, but the appearances were done in a way that really didn't matter much to the story... like they're mostly thrown in so fans can see that everything is still happy with their favorites and see them all together. BUT NOW FOR THIS BOOK:This was definitely one of the best YA books of 2016 and I just cannot believe how much I loved it. The story was long, but actually wasn't full of filler and I never once got bored. I wasn't terribly into that whole Lady Midnight plot and most of the threat, but it was still interesting! The setting of Los Angeles and this new Institute was fun to see, too. But the amazing characters were by far the best part!! Especially EMMA AND JULIAN. I CANNOT GET ENOUGH CAPS LOCK FOR THESE TWO. All of the forbidden love stuff that shows up in every single Shadowhunter book finally worked for me here. Call me crazy, but I got way more invested in the idea of a forbidden romance between parabati than I did with a forbidden romance between siblings...Emma and Julian were just so wonderful and totally broke my heart. And they were actual strong, well-rounded characters with complete personalities!! I am still shocked over this whole book... like they seriously might be two of my favorite YA characters now. But the romance was a bit anticlimactic for me. Like I actually had to go back to figure out (view spoiler)[did they just sleep together on that beach or what? Could the writing be any more vague (hide spoiler)]. And whaaaat is with Cassandra Clare's obsession with beaches & caves haha. But this was by far the best out of any of her books so far! If TID only got better as it went, I'm super excited to see what the next book does.And I absolutely loved all of the adorable siblings Julian was raising (and that whole side of his character’s struggles), but can we take a moment to appreciate Ty?! He’s on the spectrum, but it’s never once labeled or viewed as something “wrong,” it's not his whole identity, and he gets to play a complete role as a strong character. This was wonderful to see and I appreciated the huge steps this story took towards diversity in SO many aspects!Basically this was an awesome read and I completely recommend it even if you'll never read the other Shadowhunter books. The slow-burn romance, the characters who are actual PEOPLE with some depth, the action-packed plot, the variety of obstacles everyone faces... it all works. I know I said nothing about the story, but I went into this without knowing anything and really appreciated that. So I'll just say give this a shot even if you couldn’t get into the other Shadowhunter books!And to everyone else who hyped this thing up like mad: THANK YOU. Totally worth it.
    more
  • Haleema
    March 15, 2012
    Lady MidnightReally?Another Shadowhunter book?Seriously?This can't be happening again. I mean does, she really think she can present a fresh plot with this new series? Aww.But who knows. Maybe Clare will surprise me. Just maybe.
  • Josu
    August 23, 2012
    POR FIN.Esta es la novela que más esperaba de este 2016. Han sido dos años de dura espera, de estar pendiente de cada noticia, de decidir no leer adelantos para disfrutar aún más de su lectura… Dos años en los que se han creado unas expectativas que Cassandra Clare ha sabido suplir.Creo que Lady Midnight simboliza el cambio del mundo literario de Cassandra Clare. Nos tenía acostumbrados a novelas llenas de acción, de giros en la tramas increíbles y sobre todo, de misterios que nos quitaban horas POR FIN.Esta es la novela que más esperaba de este 2016. Han sido dos años de dura espera, de estar pendiente de cada noticia, de decidir no leer adelantos para disfrutar aún más de su lectura… Dos años en los que se han creado unas expectativas que Cassandra Clare ha sabido suplir.Creo que Lady Midnight simboliza el cambio del mundo literario de Cassandra Clare. Nos tenía acostumbrados a novelas llenas de acción, de giros en la tramas increíbles y sobre todo, de misterios que nos quitaban horas de sueño. Pero fallaba algo, y Cassie aprendió. Consiguió que en tres novelas de Los Orígenes conociésemos a Tess, Will y Jem del mismo modo que a Clary, Jace, Alec, Simon e Isabelle en seis libros. Y ahora, en tan solo un libro, ha conseguido que prácticamente conozcamos a Cristina, Julian y Emma del mismo modo.Digo que ha aprendido porque no ha decidido comenzar esta saga de una manera sencilla. Se toma su tiempo para presentar a los personajes, detallarlos, crearlos y hacerlos humanos. Se toma su tiempo para plantear la trama central, para narrar las escenas. Hay muchas subtramas y todas tienen la misma importancia; no escatima en páginas. Eso es un puntazo a tu favor, Cassie.Pero lo voy a decir bien claro: esta es una novela de personajes. Como para mí lo fue Ciudad de las almas perdidas, donde Clary, Jace y Sebastian fueron humanos, llenos de matices e increíblemente bien detallados. Lady Midnight es una novela donde lo importante son los personajes. Y obvio que voy a hablaros de ellos, que esta reseña es larguita. Cristina: Comienzo con uno de los personajes que más me ha sorprendido. Me ha mantenido en vilo con su historia sobre Diego el Perfecto. He entendido sus motivos, sus miedos, su manera de ser. Me ha gustado mucho su personalidad y creo que en Lord of Shadows se le dará mayor protagonismo. Es un soplo de aire fresco.Ty: Posiblemente el que más ternura me da los pequeños de la familia. Es un personaje interesante y que sorprenderá. Lo noto. Me han gustado determinadas escenas donde sus acciones sorprenden, y creo que es justamente su punto a favor. Es el típico personaje al que al principio no prestas del todo atención, pero que se hace indispensable. Además, es especial, y eso va a traer problemas.Dru, Tavvy y Livvy: Los más peques de los Blackthorn. Me han gustado mucho también, especialmente Dru. Están muy bien definidos aunque he echado de menos conocerlos más. Aunque claro, Cassandra sí que nos tiene preparado algo con ellos. (The Wicked Powers)Mark: Oh, Mark… Qué sorpresa tan grande. Además, un gran paso para la representación. Con él he sufrido especialmente, no sabiendo con quién debería terminar. #StopTriángulosAmorososEl trato que Cassie le da es increíble, y sufre una evolución muy bien llevada. La verdad, uno de los mejores personajes de la novela sin duda alguna. Junto a Emma, creo que mi favorito.Julian: El verdadero cuidador de los Blackthorn. Un personaje puro, lleno de bondad, sacrificado… Podría deshacerme en buenas palabras para describirlo. Julian es increíble, fascinante, aunque me hubiera gustado ver su parte más oscura… si es que la tiene. Ser el parabatai de Emma le hace sin duda uno de los personajes más interesantes.Emma: La verdadera protagonista de esta historia, pues digamos que la trama comienza por algo relacionado con ella. El hecho de que sea una Carstairs ya te da esperanza, pero consigue desmarcarse de Tessa y Clary. Hay varias cosas que no quiero spoilear que hacen que sea muy diferente, pero sobre todo el hecho de que sea ya de por sí la mejor cazadora de sombras de la nueva generación. La verdadera sucesora de Jace, la guerrera más fuerte y que aprecia de verdad su entrenamiento. Me ha encantado TODO sobre Emma. Podría leer cientos de páginas sobre ella y sus sentimientos, los cuales, por cierto, son explicados al detalle y con los que consigues conectar con ella de un modo increíble.El resto de personajes como Diana, Kit, Arthur, Malcolm, Kieran… Han sido algo más que secundarios. Repito de nuevo que es una novela de personajes, y que lo digo por algo. No son meros personajes que aparecen porque tienen que hacerlo, o para revelar cierta información, no. Los llegas también a conocer; son profundos.En cuanto a la trama, sí que es verdad que no es nada arriesgada. Al ser una novela más coral en cierto sentido (hay que introducir en la interacción a todos los hermanos + gente ajena al Instituto), me ha parecido más complicada de manejar que la saga original, por ejemplo. Entiendo que la trama en sí sea más sencilla a simple vista. Que no lo es, porque como he comentado más arriba, hay muchas subtramas, y es lo que hace que Lady Midnight tenga un valor añadido.El misterio, que se va descubriendo poco a poco, va tornándose más y más interesante mientras vamos conociendo todo lo que lo rodea. Se introducen temas como la venganza, el ‘racismo’ entre subterráneos, hadas y cazadores de sombras, el amor… Gracias a este misterio, se dan escenas increíbles como la del Midnight Theatre, las escenas de la convergencia o las del Mercado de las Sombras.Eso sí, se presentan unos plot twists para las siguientes entregas que madre mía. MADRE MÍA. Y lo mejor de todo es que no son tramas que afecten solo a los protagonistas de esta nueva saga, sino que afectan a los cazadores de sombras que ya conocemos (o a otros personajes). Porque tenemos apariciones estelares viejos amigos, sobre todo de Magnus, e incluso hay spoilers si no hemos leído los relatos de Simon… (Lo admito, yo no lo he hecho y me he spoileado. ¡Pero es que quiero esperar a la edición en papel!)Vamos, que Lady Midnight, para mí, es muy diferente del resto de libros del mundo de los cazadores de sombras. Según estoy escribiendo esta reseña me doy cuenta de la cantidad de cosas que han pasado en la novela, no solo a los personajes, sino todo el conjunto, el cómo ha evolucionado el mundo de los cazadores de sombras, el cómo es presentada esa nueva realidad, o el cómo ha mejorado Cassandra Clare en plasmar sus historias.Es una novela con más calidad que las anteriores, con menos sorpresas, pero con personajes más definidos. Las tramas son más simples, por decirlo de algún modo, pero presentan conflictos morales complicados y sobre todo, es un compendio de subtramas que hacen que Lady Midnight sea una novela muy profunda. Te engancha, te destroza y hace que adores aún más a Cassandra Clare. Ahora, a esperar poco menos de un año para Lord of Shadows.RESEÑA EN EL CANAL PRÓXIMAMENTE.
    more
  • Celine
    June 8, 2012
    My reaction to Cassandra Clare's new series...Oh yes, I was a pretty happy girl.
  • Laura
    March 24, 2012
    Let me guess: this "Julian" fellow is going to be snarky and sarcastic just like every other love interest CC has written about. I mean, really, where do they get it from? Sure, I LOVE when the main guy in a story is sarcastic and witty, but seriously...try something new. And just by experience, I can already predict things that are going to happen: 1) There is going to be another love triangle in which I can predict the ending FROM the first sentence. 2) CC is going to over-use certain adjectiv Let me guess: this "Julian" fellow is going to be snarky and sarcastic just like every other love interest CC has written about. I mean, really, where do they get it from? Sure, I LOVE when the main guy in a story is sarcastic and witty, but seriously...try something new. And just by experience, I can already predict things that are going to happen: 1) There is going to be another love triangle in which I can predict the ending FROM the first sentence. 2) CC is going to over-use certain adjectives explaining Julian's eyes/hair/body, etc. 3) They'll end up together. But then there's going to be three MORE books after it. And thats not all. I wanted to bang my head on a table when I read the "only shadowhunter she is forbidden to love". Geez. I definitely didn't predict THAT. And then the next thing you know, she's doing a Harry Potter/Sherlock Holmes/Star Wars/Lord of the Rings spin off. Oh wait. That's already happened... Hmm.
    more
  • Simona Bartolotta
    August 8, 2015
    EDIT 11/04/2016: I had rounded up my rating to four stars, but now I don't remember why on earth I did it. The book pretty much left me nothing. Which is sad, I know. So I'm lowering the rating to three stars."It hurt me being away from you. It feels like there’s a hook dug under my ribs, and there’s something pulling at the other end. Like I’m tethered to you, no matter the distance."Beware the Jane Eyre references, people.Let it be clear: I am a sucker for best-friends-falling-in-love stories. EDIT 11/04/2016: I had rounded up my rating to four stars, but now I don't remember why on earth I did it. The book pretty much left me nothing. Which is sad, I know. So I'm lowering the rating to three stars."It hurt me being away from you. It feels like there’s a hook dug under my ribs, and there’s something pulling at the other end. Like I’m tethered to you, no matter the distance."Beware the Jane Eyre references, people.Let it be clear: I am a sucker for best-friends-falling-in-love stories. Even if they are averagely written, paired with an average plot, featuring mediocre characters (please note that I am not saying this is Lady Midnight’s case), I’m very likely to enjoy them. Not to rate them high, probably, simply because that’s not how I rate, but to enjoy, even mildly, yes. Long story short: I enjoyed Lady Midnight. There is a bunch of things about this book that I found rather bothersome, but, all in all, I enjoyed it sounds like a fair and encompassing enough way to put it.•The plot is good, surely more than I expected and more than what I remembered Clare was capable of. It positively surprised me, and that’s definitely a selling point. Fast-paced (though the first part was a little too slow) without losing focus on the characters, action-packed without giving off the impression of being messy or crammed, and in this it is very well-balanced. I still think, though, that the book is too long. It didn’t exactly bore me, but at one point I just wanted it to end. And the ending is clearly drawn-out. It could have been packed up more nicely, in my opinion. •In the first part there are two or three clumsy and awkward infodump. And I understand that the book is supposed to be suitable even for those readers who have no idea of what happened before, but there are elegant explanations and then there are cumbersome infodump. •I really, sincerely like the Blackthorns, which is quite astonishing because Cassie never managed to make me care so deeply for her characters -except for Magnus and Alec, but even there, I don’t care exactly for them, but rather for their relationship. Julian Blackthorn is probably my favorite character among all of those Clare ever created: he has this peculiar blend of tenderness and harshness inside of him (he does a pretty cruel thing at the end of the book that totally won me over, and the way he tends to and cares for his siblings is incredibly heart-warming), and controversial characters always find their way to my heart. In my mind, I picture him as a cute killer panda. Yeah, cute killer panda it is.One thing that Clare could really spare us? His tirade about true love. That was silly, dumb and embarrassing. The only missing thing were a couple of squirrels and rabbits to sing along, Snow White style.•Emma. Emma. Please. I knew Clare pretty clearly sucks at creating likeable female heroines, but this is the third failure out of three. That takes talent.So, people, meet Emma Carstairs: hot-headed, foolhardy, stubborn, in short, everything I don’t associate with an admirable heroine. As if that were not enough, she managed to further destroy the ending by adopting the infamous, ignoble, hateful, unbecoming (no kidding, I really loathe this device) silent strategy.No.No.I hate this thing with my entire being.It never works! Authors, authors, when will you come to the conclusion that it’s a stupid, unnerving and immature thing to make your characters do and that you -at least, some of you- can do better than that? When?!*inhales deeply*Ok. Ok, I am calm now. But we really didn't need all that useless drama nor all the drama that will necessarily follow in the next books.So, as you have gathered, I despised Emma most of the time. But I deeply, profoundly adored what she did (view spoiler)[for Julian when Iarlath was whipping him. (hide spoiler)]. That scene is my favorite in the whole book and probably in all the Shadowhunters series. Marvellous. Just marvellous.•The romance- was it only an impression of mine, or the whole thing felt very anticlimactic? I don’t know, I expected much more tension which at the end of the day wasn’t delivered. But I wouldn’t be surprised if it was just me because, remember, I’m a sucker for this kind of stories and so on. I probably expected the moon. So take this with a grain of salt.•I don’t ship Mark and Cristina -I actually think she’s better off with Diego. That probably didn’t require a paragraph of his own, but I didn’t know where to put it.In a nutshell: it was a full four-star rating until that unnecessary dramatic ending, so I recommend the book, and I think that the fans of the Shadowhunters world will be more than satisfied with it –a lot of references and cameos, speaking about this. I will need some time to shake the irritation off me (that ridiculous ending! Argh!) but, all things considered, I had a good time. (And Julian is so cute you can’t really be angry with this book, so…)PRE-READING: 'kay, Cassie, let's see if you can make me fall in love this time around. Don't they say the third series's the charm?EDIT 9/10/2015: Please tell me I am not the only one already shipping Emma and Jules like crazy when the book is not even out yet. Hello, normality.
    more
  • Lara
    October 25, 2015
    “There was beauty in the idea of freedom, but it was an illusion. Every human heart was chained by love.” Well I don't need my heart anyway Cassie you can have it. This book is phenomenal. Much more better than The Mortal Instruments and as emotional as The Infernal Devices. One of the best book Cassie has written so far. I love the shadow world and I don't think that I'll ever get tired of reading about it! I need the next 2 books so bad, my feels are all around the country. The characters we “There was beauty in the idea of freedom, but it was an illusion. Every human heart was chained by love.” Well I don't need my heart anyway Cassie you can have it. This book is phenomenal. Much more better than The Mortal Instruments and as emotional as The Infernal Devices. One of the best book Cassie has written so far. I love the shadow world and I don't think that I'll ever get tired of reading about it! I need the next 2 books so bad, my feels are all around the country. The characters were perfect in the book. Blackthorns are definitely my favorite in whole books. Each one is adorable in their on way. The love in this family is so solid and heart warming.Emma ahh Emma. She is 1000 times better than Clary. She was easy to relate and she was so cool. Julian is my new and #1 bae. Thanks to these two I now have arrhythmia.I really NEED next 2 books, like right now!? Mark's storyline was very interesting, I feel really sad for him and I really hope he will find happiness in next books. (view spoiler)[(hint hint: Christina) (hide spoiler)] Christina was very nice and easly loveable. I loved her and Emma's friendship.I can easily say that this is Cassie's best work. What am I suppose to do 'till Lord of shadows *sobs*There will be spoilers so if you haven't read the book yet, please don't read this part.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------OMFG GUYS!? I can't even *sobs*(view spoiler)[fucking Malcom!? I swear I had a major heart attack when he kidnapped Tavvy. Thank god he is okay *sighs* I was suspicious about Diana but I'm glad she is not the villain in the story.Kit HERONDALE? Another Herondale!! Yayy! I already ship him with Ty! I didn't see that coming at all!! Maybe I should've read Tales from Shadowhunter Academy but e-books are not my thing. UGHH I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE WHERE THIS WILL GO. I am so happy that previoust characters were in this book aswell. I will always want to read about Jem and Tessa. Alec was adorable even he appeared for few secs. Sızzy is engaged AGHGHHH!? *happy tears*And last but not least Julian and Emma feels. It seems Cassie will torture me and my feels all over again... (hide spoiler)]Sorry for throwing up my feels to your face, I just had to ...
    more
  • Lucía
    March 8, 2016
    UPDATE #2: Ahora que he tenido un poco más de tiempo para reflexionar, he decidido bajarle la calificación a 3 estrellas. La indiferencia que siento hacia este libro es mucha como para darle algo más que 3.***UPDATE: He decidido darle 3.5 estrellas. Tuve varios problemas con el libro, pero a fin de cuentas el libro sí me gustó.***Necesito consultar mi calificación con la almohada.
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    November 13, 2013
    The first thing you should know is that I am a permanent rabid Shadowhunter fangirl. EMPHASIS ON THE "RABID" BECAUSE BASICALLY THIS WORLD IS MY LOVE AND I SHALL ADORE EVERYTHING IN IT. Ergo I was doomed to love Lady Midnight. It sooooooo didn't disappoint.So basically I'm about to fangirl ridiculously. #NOTEVENSORRY But at least I'll do it in list format so it can be deranged but sensibly organised. L O V E S: • How incredibly awesome EVERYTHING IS.*shrieks derrangedly* Okay okay I know that exp The first thing you should know is that I am a permanent rabid Shadowhunter fangirl. EMPHASIS ON THE "RABID" BECAUSE BASICALLY THIS WORLD IS MY LOVE AND I SHALL ADORE EVERYTHING IN IT. Ergo I was doomed to love Lady Midnight. It sooooooo didn't disappoint.So basically I'm about to fangirl ridiculously. #NOTEVENSORRY But at least I'll do it in list format so it can be deranged but sensibly organised. L O V E S: • How incredibly awesome EVERYTHING IS.*shrieks derrangedly* Okay okay I know that explains nothing, but duuuuude. What isn't perfect about this story?!?! It has everything a Shadowhunter book should have, but this time we're solving a very old murder mystery (the murder of Emma's parents). Plus there's cult stuff going down. Plus there's tons of subplots about "forbidden love". Plus Cassandra Clare's writing just keeps getting better and BETTER. (I loved her first book, but omgggg, I adore it even more now.) Plus everything was fresh and different and interesting despite being the...what?? About 12th Shadowhunter book?? THAT IS AMAZING THAT IS FREAKING AMAZING.• Also I loved Emma and Julian a LOT.They're parabanti but, hahhahahahhahaha...they love each other they so totally do. So cue angst and heartbreak. INCOMMMMMING. Emma narrates more than Julian, but I did prefer Julian just because he's really not a black-and-white character. Like he's so GOOD but he's also kind of devious. <3 But subtly so. Whereas Emma is very "let's SMITE THE THING" which is awesome and she was not shallow or boring at all; but she was more open. I did love how Emma was sassy but vulnerable. BUT SASSYYYYYY.• And can we take a moment to love the BIG FAMILY aspect?!?How many books do this? Like....not many at all ever. AND HERE WE HAVE AN EPIC FANTASY WITH A HUGE FOCUS ON BIG FAMILY LIFE. *shrieks again* I have a big family so I was like 99% disposed to adore this. So there are 5 Blackthorn children + 2 half fey children. Julian is only 17 but he has basically raised his 4 younger siblings since he was 12. ALONE. TOTALLY ALONE. (Julian precious darling child.) Also I never got the siblings mixed up. They have such distinct personalities. AND they weren't just dumped out of the story. tHEY WERE INVOLVED. They were ADORABLE. THEY ARE MY HEART.• Which leads me to the amazing representation of Autism.One of Julian's younger siblings (Ty) has Autism and it's like the most accurate representation I've seen in a LONG time. Omg. I'm so so happy. It's not stereotyped or cliche, there is more to Ty than his Autism, and he is loved and helped despite it. No one talks about curing him. No one talks about how his life would be better without the autism. Ty is awesome and capable and intelligent. IT LIKE ACTUALLY LITERALLY MAKES ME CRY HAPPY TEARS. THANK YOU CASSANDRA CLARE FOR WRITING THIS. • Omggg. There is so much to love. SO MUCH.I just...I'm having trouble being SANNNEEEEE. Ahem.• I also loved the secondary characters, of course. Cristina is from Mexico and she's pretty dang awesome. Mark is the estranged Blackthorn brother who's been kidnapped/tortured by fey for the last 5 years and he is completely tragic AND I LOVED HIM AND IS QUIET PSYCHOTIC SIDE. Also Malcolm, the resident warlock, continues to be entertaining. And Uncle Arthur was insane. And Church was there. The cat, I mean. Yay church. • Also there ARE plenty of cameos from the other series! Clary and Jace are mentioned several times and make an appearance at the end. Same with Jem and Tessa. And Magnus and Alec...(who are now (view spoiler)[ parrrrents ermagerd!! I SMILED SO MUCH AT THAT PART. They adopted two little boys! Idek why they're not married though??? I was confused that Julian was wondering why they didn't get married. I mean. C'mon. Please humour the shippers. (hide spoiler)]) and there's a TEENY TINY short story at the end about Isabelle and Simon's engagement party. So basically it ties everything in and is really sweet.• But you COULD read Lady Midnight without having read the rest.Just sayin'. It would be better if you at least read The Mortal Instruments though.• I LAUGHED. I CRIED. I AM IN LOVE.I need the next book asap. D I S L I K E S:(I thought I wouldn't have any, despite it being 5-stars!??!? But I kinda do...)• It is way to freaking long.I'm kind of terrified because if this is book ONE and it's as big as the TMI finale...omg. #halp It didn't need to be this long, okay? It just didn't. And it hurt my hands to hold. And it did feel tedious at times because it was sooooo loooong. • There was a whole villain monologue at the end which was so cliche!I was just surprised! I mean, Emma was keeping The Villain talking so help could arrive but stiiiiill. Not a fan.• I actually thought the stakes would be higher?But it could just be because the last book I read EVERYBODY DIED so it was a little disorientating to have less chance of mortal destruction for all here. I mean, BLOOD WAS STILL SHED. YAY. (ahem.) But I was never worried for anyone particularly? BASICALLY!? I LOVED IT AND IT IS FREAKING BRILLIANT. It stole my heart and just made me laugh OUT LOUD several times and afjdlksad I AM RABID SHADOWHUNTER TRASH, THAT IS ALL. I adore the new characters and the big family and the "mystery solving" angle and the deviousness and the plot twists (OMG THE PLOT TWISTS!!!!) and I cannot wait for mooooooore. *** QUOTES ****He'd never seen a teenage girl this excited about anything -- not famous actors, not boy bands, not jewelry. This girl was practically vibrating to pieces over the idea of a dead body. (pg. 11)"We are well known for our jests, japes, and ballads," the faerie said, clearly offended. "Some of our ballads last for weeks.""I don't have that kind of time," Emma said. "I'm a Shadowhunter. Quip fast, die young."As he tucked a fifty into his jeans, Emma noticed that he was wearing a gray T-shirt that said TMI on the front. "Too much information?" she said. He brightened. "The Mortal Instruments. They're a band. From Brooklyn. You heard of them?"Ty said nothing. His hands were still fluttering in their repetitive movements. There had been a time when Ty's father had tried to train him to immobility, had held his sons' hands tightly at his sides when he was upset and said, "Still, still". It had panicked Ty into throwing up. Julian never did that. He just said everyone got butterflies when they were nervous; some people got them in their stomaches, and Ty showed them in his hands. (pg. 142)"Mark. Mark!" She waved the wallet over her head. "This is a clue. An actual clue. I think I love you."Mark's eyebrows went up. "In faerie, if you said that, we would have to pledge our troth, and you might put a geas upon me that I would not stray from you or I would die."Emma shoved the wallet in her pocket. "Well, here it's just an expression that means 'I like you very much' or even 'Thanks for the bloodstained wallet.'" (pg. 212) "This is my domain." You've got your own hopeless humans in New York.""One of those hopeless humans is the father of my child," Magnus pointed out. It's not his fault if he doesn't understand everything. Or if things are too much for him. It's not his fault. Julian had looked at his own inexact, messy work and Ty's methodical rows, and thought: We both see the same world, but in a different way. Ty feels the same joy I do, the joy of creation. We feel all the same things, only the shape of our feelings are different. Emma giggled. "You told him Shadowhunters are DIY about their killing?""We're DIY about everything." (pg. 251) "Why did you pull the arrow out?" she demanded...Jule's breath was coming in harsh pants. "Because when someone -- shoots you with an arrow --" he gasps, "your immediate response is not -- 'thanks for the arrow, I think I'll keep it for a while'.""Good to know your sense of humour is still intact.""You're too skinny," she said as brightly as she could. "Too much coffee, not enough pancakes.""I hope they put that on my tombstone.""And why is Tavvy in a bag of sugar?"Mark shrugged. "He wanted to be in a bag of sugar.""That doesn't mean you should put him in a bag of sugar." Julian's voice rose."Why are all these paintings of you? Because I'm an artist, Emma. These pictures are my heart. And if my heart was a canvas, every square inch of it would be painted over with you.""Well, either you've been out fighting the forces of evil or you've come from a much wilder party than we have," Jace said.
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    October 10, 2013
    I read the majority of this in a day because I was SO hooked. So what made me dock half a star you may ask? The last couple of chapters contain one of my most HATED tropes ever and it frustrated me to no end. Around The Year in 52 Books Challenge Notes:52. A book that was published in 2016
    more
  • grace
    March 8, 2016
    I AM UNABLE TO WRITE ANYTHING COHERENT, BUT I LOVED IT. BYE
  • Anastasia
    April 6, 2014
    5/5 stars Lady Midnight is the first installment of The Dark Artifices a spin off trilogy of The Mortal Instruments written by Cassandra Clare. It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as 5/5 stars Lady Midnight is the first installment of The Dark Artifices a spin off trilogy of The Mortal Instruments written by Cassandra Clare. It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions… I am a very big fan of Cassandra Clare’s other books in the shadowhunter world such as The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, and Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy. SO naturally when I heard Cassandra Clare was going to write another spin-off about the Los Angeles Institute I marked the release date on my calendar, put reminders on my phone, and waited until midnight for it to be released. And, I was not disappointed. “The Law is hard, but it is the Law.” “I thought it was ‘the Law is annoying, but it is also flexible.” I was never a big fan of Clary Fray or Tessa Gray as main female characters. They never communicated, jumped to conclusions, and made stupid rash decisions. So, I wasn’t very excited about meeting our new main female character; Emma Carstairs. I thought she would be just like all of the rest. Oh, was I wrong. Emma Carstairs is hilarious, makes sure her feelings are known, doesn’t jump to conclusions, communicates with others, and did I say she was hilarious! There were moments where I had to literally set down the book because I was laughing so hard. She has a nerdy kind of humor that has a snarky edge to it. She has definitely become my favorite leading lady in Cassandra Clare’s books. “When you love someone, they becomes a part of who you are. They're in everything you do. They're in the air you breathe and the water you drink and the blood in your veins. Their touch stays on your skin and their voice stays in your ears and their thoughts stay in your mind. You know their dreams because their nightmares pierce your heart and their good dreams are your dreams too. And you don't think they're perfect, but you know their flaws, the deep-down truth of them, and the shadows of all their secrets, and they don't frighten you away; in fact you love them more for it, because you don’t want perfect. You want them.” Julian Blackthorn. Julian fricking Blackthorn. Ladies and gentlemen you are about to meet the character that encompasses all of my favorite Cassandra Clare characters; Jace, Simon, Alec, Will and Jem. Take the best attributes from each character, stitch them all together, and you get Julian Blackthorn. Everything was thrown onto his shoulders when he was 12 and his father was turned and killed during the Dark War. He takes care of his family alongside his parabatai Emma Carstairs. He cares for his brothers and sisters like they were his children because to him they are. He watched them all grow up to be the young and capable shadowhunters that they are today. And not only is he strong, emotionally, physically, and mentally, he also has a soft side to him. He paints in his studio, cooks meals for his family, helps them all with their daily lives, and makes sure everyone is happy before he even thinks about himself. Lex malla, lex nulla. A bad law, is no law. The Blackthorns are a beautiful family that were given to us from Raziel himself. The Blackthorns in order of age go; Helen, Mark, Julian, Tiberius & Livia (twins), Drusilla, and Octavian. Helen and Mark are both part fairie so they are step siblings , but not in our eyes. Tiberius, Ty, is insanely smart and is the one that does most of the research during the investigations. Livia, Livvy, is Ty’s twin and one of the most important thing in her life is her family. Which is why all she really wants is for Ty to become her parabatai after watching Emma and Julian’s relationship as parabatai not only strengthen them during battle but also strengthen their love for eachother. Then there is Drusilla. She is the kind of character that encompasses every thought a thirteen year-old growing up can have. She is insecure and is always trying to find a place to fit in. Last but certainly not least, Octavian, Tavvy. Tavvy is the baby of the family, everyone fawns over him and to be honest I can see why. He is super cute and definitely has the Blackthorn blood running through his veins, because even as a toddler he is strong and extremely loyal. “Laws are meaningless, child,” Malcolm said in a low voice that somehow still carried. “There is nothing more important than love. And no law higher.” The bond that Julian and Emma have is beautiful. They each know exactly when the other is hurting, emotionally or physically, and they know how to comfort the other in a way that is not oppressing. From the very beginning of the book you can tell there was an underlying sexual tension between these two. Of course I knew it was coming because the summary of the book and everything else that promoted the book had the parabatai begin to fall in love plastered all over them. But, to me I see Julian and Emma as a perfect pair whether they are best friends or a couple. Of course there is a law about parabatai being together which is why there was so many locked up feelings between these two. And the great thing about their relationship? The communicate! Oh my goodness it is such a small aspect that makes the world of a difference. They also have such a cute way of silently communicating with each other, by writing words on each others wrists, arms, or back. “Women are fiercer by far than men.” As for the other relationships in this book? I only have one phrase to describe them all; perfect disasters. I would like to add a quick comment on how wonderful it was to have different sexualities represented in this book. It wasn’t a big deal or made people gasp or shun them. It was just a fact. The fact that one of those sexualities was bisexual made me jump for joy. Usually in young-adult books, characters who date the same sex are assumed to be homosexual but there are lots of other sexualities they may identify as. “The world is terrible," said Mark tonelessly. "And some are drawn down into it and drown there, and some rise above and carry others with them.” The book was written beautifully, and the plot was well thought out and carefully planned. The action scenes were easy to follow but still held the frenzy that they should. Every character had their own voice that were easily distinguished. I usually don’t like the multiple point of views but Cassandra Clare writes them without a hitch. They each flow seamlessly into the next, keeping us fully engrossed in the story. “As long as there is love and memory, there is no true death.” The ending of this book was everything that we needed and more. All of the loose ends were tied up and all of the ends that we thought were staying tied were ripped apart, set on fire, and used in a demonic spell. All in all this book ripped out my heart and soul, and shredded them. This is a must read for fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices. If you have not yet read The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, or The Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, there will be spoilers in Lady Midnight. You must read TMI and TID to follow the plot but you should read TftSA so you get the inside jokes and small references made.
    more
Write a review