16 Ways to Break A Heart
Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy, page-turning new novel is the ultimate he said/she said breakdown of a relationship gone wrong.Natalie and Dan were electric from the moment they met. Witty banter and sizzling chemistry made falling in love easy—even inevitable. He was in awe of her subversive art and contagious zest for life; she was drawn to his good-guy charm and drive to succeed as a documentary filmmaker.But that was before. Before hot tempers turned to blowout fights. Before a few little lies turned to broken trust. Before a hundred tiny slights broke them open and exposed the ugly truth of their relationship.And now Natalie wants Dan to know just how much he broke her.Over the course of one fateful day, Dan reads sixteen letters that Natalie has secretly, brilliantly hidden in places only he will find. And as he pieces together her version of their love story, he realizes that she has one final message for him. One that might just send his carefully constructed life tumbling down.

16 Ways to Break A Heart Details

Title16 Ways to Break A Heart
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0062418726
ISBN-139780062418722
Number of pages208 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

16 Ways to Break A Heart Review

  • Sarah
    May 10, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “Just don’t come crying to me when she boils your bunny.” This was a YA contemporary story about a relationship that ended with a bad break up.The characters in this both seemed a little self-destructive. Dan and Natalie didn’t seem like a good fit right from the start, and they both messed up within the relationship. Dan should have known better than to flirt with other girls over text, and Nat could ha (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “Just don’t come crying to me when she boils your bunny.” This was a YA contemporary story about a relationship that ended with a bad break up.The characters in this both seemed a little self-destructive. Dan and Natalie didn’t seem like a good fit right from the start, and they both messed up within the relationship. Dan should have known better than to flirt with other girls over text, and Nat could have handled her jealousy a bit better than she did.The storyline in this was about Nat writing letters to Dan chronicling the ups and downs of their relationship, with Dan then telling us his side of the story after each letter. There was a bit of mystery over what had caused them to break up, and we slowly got to know more as the book went along, but the characters also seemed to get worse as the story went along, and it was easy to see why they were better off apart. The ending to this was a little unexpected, with Nat getting revenge on Dan, and there was no happy ending for this pair. 6.25 out of 10
    more
  • Hazel (Stay Bookish)
    June 8, 2017
    THIS BOOK IS BATSHIT CRAZY AND I LIKE IT. The narratives are so fucking strong and so compelling. I read this book in one sitting and barely even took a breath, except for the times I just had to gasp aloud because of the insanity. The letter and notes format was quickly devourable and I love that aside from getting the he said/she said perspective, we get tiny POVs from minor characters too. I know not everyone will like this but I seriously admired what the author was trying to do with this st THIS BOOK IS BATSHIT CRAZY AND I LIKE IT. The narratives are so fucking strong and so compelling. I read this book in one sitting and barely even took a breath, except for the times I just had to gasp aloud because of the insanity. The letter and notes format was quickly devourable and I love that aside from getting the he said/she said perspective, we get tiny POVs from minor characters too. I know not everyone will like this but I seriously admired what the author was trying to do with this story and enjoyed getting seriously caught up in the drama and madness of a relationship gone wrong.All that said... I really hope most people aren't this toxic and shitty in real life tho.
    more
  • Dayla
    July 8, 2017
    I received a copy via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewThis book is a disaster. That's probably the best way to describe WTF I just read (okay, speed read because I couldn't, for my sanity, take my time to read the ridiculousness of this book). I even made notes because I was just so confused while reading this that I needed to keep my thoughts straight. Everything in this book was toxic. I literally asked myself multiple times why I was still reading this book because all of the charac I received a copy via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewThis book is a disaster. That's probably the best way to describe WTF I just read (okay, speed read because I couldn't, for my sanity, take my time to read the ridiculousness of this book). I even made notes because I was just so confused while reading this that I needed to keep my thoughts straight. Everything in this book was toxic. I literally asked myself multiple times why I was still reading this book because all of the characters were just so unnecessary and (view spoiler)[Ruby, poor fucking Ruby (hide spoiler)]. I get that not all characters are made to be likable, but this isn't even about that. These were just characters who were just given so much leniency and they were just horrible characters. They weren't even the kind of characters you love to hate. I just can't with these characters. I will include snippets of the synopsis because I don't think anyone will ever really be ready for the disaster they will encounter when they read this book. Here's the first paragraph of the synopsis: Natalie and Dan were electric from the moment they met. Witty banter and sizzling chemistry made falling in love easy—even inevitable. He was in awe of her subversive art and contagious zest for life; she was drawn to his good-guy charm and drive to succeed as a documentary filmmaker.Yes, the start of the book is a letter from Natalie detailing their encounter and how there was immediate chemistry--but there's also an attempt in the first letter at alluding how Dan, the male protagonist, is a manipulative asshole that completely hid his true self when they first met. I will touch on that later in this review. What this paragraph doesn't allude to is how Dan's jealousy becomes a big issue with Natalie's "success", and how she basically thinks he's wasting his time with his documentary because he's spending so much time working on something that's important to him, instead of spending time with her. Because you know, someone else future dream? Fuck that, right? Second paragraph: But that was before. Before hot tempers turned to blowout fights. Before a few little lies turned to broken trust. Before a hundred tiny slights broke them open and exposed the ugly truth of their relationship.OKAY. Hot tempers. HA. Whoever created this synopsis failed to mention the mild physical and verbal abuse, the slut shaming, the manipulation, the triggering comments of wanting to "commit suicide" introduced as jokes. Shit is not funny. I find it really freaking troubling that this is such a huge part of the novel and its alluded to as "hot tempers" and "blowout fights". Also, "Tiny Slights" is like putting a kid's superhero bandaid on a bleeding gash. These two people were HORRIBLE together and look, if the synopsis explained it as more than just a little troubled relationship, then maybe I'd be writing a different review, but honestly, WTF.Rest of synopsis: And now Natalie wants Dan to know just how much he broke her.Over the course of one fateful day, Dan reads sixteen letters that Natalie has secretly, brilliantly hidden in places only he will find. And as he pieces together her version of their love story, he realizes that she has one final message for him. One that might just send his carefully constructed life tumbling down.Okay, for starters, this was not a "LOVE STORY". This was a nightmare that was attempting to pass as a romance. This synopsis makes it seem like this book had a female character who was SO clever about her delivery of her revenge, which by the way was (view spoiler)[FREAKING TWISTED because of course it has to be maximum drama and just another form of emotional manipulation (hide spoiler)], but really it was her literally dropping off letters throughout his school and life. Honestly, I thought Natalie was fucking nuts and I'm sorry, I don't mean to be offensive or anything, but seriously fuck these characters. The last sentence of that synopsis says that she has a message that "might just send his carefully constructed life tumbling down." SURPRISE: She spent the whole fucking book ruining his life. She destroyed a guy that actually did sound legitimately good.Look, Dan wasn't a saint by the end of everything. But one of the things that really, really screwed with my mind was how this girl was a legit nightmare. She was controlling, manipulative, and abusive and basically got Dan to put her as number one in his life despite of who and what he was giving up, yet when he starts to do other less than boyfriend-ly things on the side, suddenly he's the villain of the story. I might be wrong here, but it dangerously felt like the character of Natalie going through what she was describing as a horrible relationship because he wasn't who she thought he was was being validated for her actions because Dan almost (view spoiler)[cheated on her. Suddenly, everyone hates Dan and he's the reason why his little sister won't date anymore. It's like just because he's the guy in the romantic storyline, everything is his fault (hide spoiler)]. Dan had his shit, too. His jealousy about Natalie's life wasn't fair, and he also said and did questionable things, I just don't want Natalie's actions to be pushed aside because suddenly he's not a saint in our eyes anymore. Abuse and manipulation CAN NOT be justified just because the victim decides to do other shady stuff. One is not a lesser issue than the other. At the same time, I'm not defending Dan because he was also a massive asshole. One of my final points is going to be about the layout of this book. I get what was being done with the letters and the messages and such, but like it felt like it was trying too hard to be either Thirteen Reasons Why or Why We Broke Up. I haven't read the former (but watched the TV Show) and hated the latter. I just wanted to throw the similarities in there because it felt like Natalie's letters were just so over the top dramatic and just really really annoying. I'll leave this rant on the note that the ending is 10/10 dramatic and 10/10 unnecessary and just as messed up as this relationship. Also, wtf was up with that one final reveal? Like, not only was it cliche but we had absolutely NO LEAD UP TO IT. I wish I had a physical copy of this book so I could pull a Bradley Cooper. I don't recommend this book for anyone, sorry. I don't normally say this, but I legitimately did not enjoy this at all and I was just so shocked that this was even a thing. Happy reading!
    more
  • Meaghan Wijnmaalen
    February 1, 2017
    First off, I would like to thank the publisher and author for providing me this ARC to review. Please note that the version I read was an advanced copy, and certain events/language may be changed in the published edition.“Who would’ve thunk it could’ve ended like this? Explosively, devastatingly, calamitously.”Stars (Out of 10): 3/10Overall Thoughts: I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book. I often like someone to cheer for, or at least some semblance of goodness in the characters, but in this cas First off, I would like to thank the publisher and author for providing me this ARC to review. Please note that the version I read was an advanced copy, and certain events/language may be changed in the published edition.“Who would’ve thunk it could’ve ended like this? Explosively, devastatingly, calamitously.”Stars (Out of 10): 3/10Overall Thoughts: I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book. I often like someone to cheer for, or at least some semblance of goodness in the characters, but in this case, there seemed to be none. The relationship got terrible fast, and all the book showed was the bad side of it. It was interesting though, and unique from other love stories, and I thought the overall writing style fit the characters and their personalities perfectly. I just find it hard to like/connect with a book where there is no positivity, and each new chapter just makes the characters worse and worse people.The Good: It was a rollercoaster, although this could be both good and bad. However, it was unique in that none of the characters had any redeeming qualities at all.What I can pride this book on is it’s use of two POV’s to tell the break up, so we actually get both sides of the story, not just one biased explanation of why everything was so messed up. The Bad: Every character seemed to be a bad person, so there was no one to really like. In addition, relationship seemed overly bad, and I felt no real closure from the ending, no real answer to the questions the book slowly created throughout the chapters.SPOILERS BEGIN HEREThe Characters: There is absolutely nothing to like about either of the characters. They were abusive and manipulative in their relationships, dropped their friends as soon as they got together with their significant other, even though they seemed to resent pretty quickly. It wasn’t always easy to understand the actions of the characters either (if Dan was so happy with Natalie, why was he flirting with Arielle even before the fighting started? When did Natalie suddenly become a jealous bitch, was it sudden or a gradual change?) However, these characters were far from the ones in any normal romance story, and that’ll make them, and their story, stick in my head for quite a while. The Plot: I was definitely shocked by the ending, even if I was a tad horrified by the reaction of Natalie in destroying Dan’s life work to get back at him. It was an emotionally violent and abusive book from start to finish, and unlike anything I have ever read before. However, I do wish we heard a bit more of the before, so we can understand why these two ever got so far. The Favorite Character: None? All the characters that were developed seemed to be really terrible people. (Alexa had potential, but she was also partially painted as another snobby rich person.)Buy it, Borrow it, or Bin it: Bin itThis review can also be found on my blog: https://paragraphsandpages.wordpress....
    more
  • Dazz Ross
    May 6, 2017
    When I read the premise for 16 Ways to Break A Heart, it immediately appealed to me. Though I had never head of Strasnick prior to this (though my high school's library has her first book), it caught my eyes scrolling through Harper's teen releases for the summer. Though there was no cover for it (that would come later), I was instantly curious to see what would happen in a complete breakdown of a relationship that started off so well.So when I was able to receive an ARC, I definitely wanted to When I read the premise for 16 Ways to Break A Heart, it immediately appealed to me. Though I had never head of Strasnick prior to this (though my high school's library has her first book), it caught my eyes scrolling through Harper's teen releases for the summer. Though there was no cover for it (that would come later), I was instantly curious to see what would happen in a complete breakdown of a relationship that started off so well.So when I was able to receive an ARC, I definitely wanted to get this read before it came out since the cover was also pretty cool and I was still interested in what would commence. After all, this had to be juicy.Well, what I got was exactly what I expected. Is this a good book? Yes. Is it an amazing one? No. While I was utterly fascinated in what what wrong between Natalie and Dan and with the novel's fast pace and snappy writing, I feel like there was something missing overall that would have made me like this book more. Not the length, since I thought it was appropriate (compared to two other short contemporaries I've read in the past), but added substance to the characters that would have made them more engaging and not as flat. There was also the ending, which felt really odd and kind of mean. But we'll burn that bridge when we get there.First up, following this relationship was just as interesting as I thought it was going to be. Both Natalie and Dan were responsible for the fallout, even if they wish to blame the other for the main cause. With the former's manipulative attitude and the latter's unfaithfulness as they spent a longer time together, it was clear that just sticking the blame on the other person wasn't the way to go. And as we go further down the rabbit hole, the more Dan's role comes into this whole mess, it's utterly inescapable and it pulled me in from the start.To help with this book's pace is the writing. For a pretty short book (there's a total of 192 pages), the writing was really good and actually quite engaging. It suits the book's incredibly fast pace and can be unexpectedly descriptive at various parts, at times sensual and coy, and others dramatic and dark. I honestly didn't know what to expect before I started this book to what I was going to get in terms of the writing, but I'm happy with what I received. But on to the pace in general, this is a very quick read that I could see some readers having no problem finishing in a day. It's unputdownable at parts and the curiosity as to what went wrong lingers and never lets go. Even if you end up hating everyone's guts, there's still that hidden mystery that you may end up missing if you decide to put this down and move on to something else. Since I believe that shorter books like this one are relatively quick reads, I think they deserve a good chance to be finished.Now on the problems. For starters, while I did get a general understanding of who Dan and Natalie where, along with the people around them, I honestly feel like they weren't developed enough. The former is an aspiring filmmaker who is currently working on a documentary, the latter is an aspiring artist who makes portraits out of various body part cutouts and seems to be too Manic Pixie Dream Girl. There's also their relationship (and Dan's friendship with Ruby), but that's honestly about it. There isn't much to define them other than their occupations and bond. It's kind of a shame, since due to that, I didn't feel as attached to them as individual people. And it's important for me to feel more than just a singular emotion for a character.Then there's the ending, which was pretty abrupt. After the last letter, there's only a few pages left, and the book just awkwardly ends after that. It doesn't feel like a fully conclusive ending, and Dan kind of gets some unfair treatment. Granted, he did do some things that he shouldn't have done, but how Natalie went about getting her revenge just didn't really work for me. It felt somewhat cruel.Regardless, I still liked this book with its problems, and I do think that fans of he said/she said stories and some fans of YA contemporaries will enjoy this. As for Strasnick's other novels, I'm not exactly sure if I want to explore them, but I guess we'll have to see.
    more
  • Sabby Fox
    June 5, 2017
    Quick read. I love Natalie because she reminds me of myself as crazy as she is. Dan was a super-douche, glad he got what he deserved. Would have finished sooner had people left me alone to read in peace. I need MORE from Strasnick.
  • ranne
    February 4, 2017
    Nat and Dan are super flawed characters and their relationship is toxic but their story had me soooo absorbed! I really liked this book a lot. ❤ The only thing I didn't like about it is how the problem in the 16th letter got somehow downplayed which led the story to an abrupt ending. I wouldn't be surprised if there's gonna be a sequel, but a spin-off, maybe? I'll post a longer review on my blog close to the release date.Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an Nat and Dan are super flawed characters and their relationship is toxic but their story had me soooo absorbed! I really liked this book a lot. ❤ The only thing I didn't like about it is how the problem in the 16th letter got somehow downplayed which led the story to an abrupt ending. I wouldn't be surprised if there's gonna be a sequel, but a spin-off, maybe? I'll post a longer review on my blog close to the release date.Disclaimer: I received a review copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    May 14, 2017
    This is not a love story. It's an unlove story. What started out with so much passion, quickly turned toxic, and now one is left broken, and takes the opportunity to tell the other how he broke her. I never let anyone buy me anything but our eyes locked and the angels sang and I instantly knew I could love you.It's a well known fact, that I like light, fluffy romances with an HEA. This was the opposite of that. This was sad, and showed that dark side of love. That unhealthy side. These two were This is not a love story. It's an unlove story. What started out with so much passion, quickly turned toxic, and now one is left broken, and takes the opportunity to tell the other how he broke her. I never let anyone buy me anything but our eyes locked and the angels sang and I instantly knew I could love you.It's a well known fact, that I like light, fluffy romances with an HEA. This was the opposite of that. This was sad, and showed that dark side of love. That unhealthy side. These two were so insecure, that it destroyed them. Dan never felt that he was "enough" for Natalie. He was jealous of her success, and was driven to be successful himself in order to prove himself worthy. Natalie was always expecting Dan to leave her for someone else. She was suspicious of Dan, always worrying about him cheating on her, that she would compromise her own ideals and needs just to make him happy.Our relationship was like that merry-go-round -- fast and thrilling but completely dizzying.I found this all so sad. This was legit and real, and we have seen this sort of thing in real life, but it was still really sad. I thought Strasnick did a great job conveying all those complicated emotions that accompany this type of situation. I felt the desperation, fear, and longing. That combination of conflicting emotions, that make it difficult to stay and leave. "I do," I said, but the love I felt -- it was tight and constricting like a straightjacket.I also liked the way the story was told. Natalie's side it told through letters to Dan. Dan's side is told through traditional narration, and other perspectives are sprinkled throughout using emails and text messages. Some of those extra POVs were utilized quite well. I especially thought Dan's sister's POV was very telling and important, because it allowed me to understand that it wasn't all in Natalie's head. We destroyed each other.Overall: Sad story chronicling the rise and fall of a teen love.
    more
  • Eri
    June 29, 2017
    This book was actually worth the read. It was a very quick read and it was refreshing to see that a bad breakup resulted from a bad relationship. Sure I got mad and the characters were being stupid and a couple things in here hit home a little but still this isn't the kind of YA book I see a lot out there and I never thought I would like a book like this. I guess because it was in a realistic way because these two toxic characters have this toxic relationship and it just explodes in the worst wa This book was actually worth the read. It was a very quick read and it was refreshing to see that a bad breakup resulted from a bad relationship. Sure I got mad and the characters were being stupid and a couple things in here hit home a little but still this isn't the kind of YA book I see a lot out there and I never thought I would like a book like this. I guess because it was in a realistic way because these two toxic characters have this toxic relationship and it just explodes in the worst way. The writing was great and I do recommend this book for anyone looking to get out of a slump cause that's what this book did. It pulled me out of a slump and gave me reasons to be mad and to react and I like when a book gets me to react in the way that I did. The story did have good potential and a nice idea, the events were so bad they made me just so angry. Still give this book a chance though. I think it's good.
    more
  • Amanda
    May 11, 2017
    This book broke MY heart -- in a good way. It totally reminded me of this one crazy relationship I had. Strasnick has an amazing way of being so specific about details, it's like you're really there with the characters. Something about this book helped me feel resolved about my ex. AND, I loved the structure. So fun to follow the trajectory of the book in letters and texts, like a scavenger hunt! Loved it. Read it. BUY IT!!
    more
  • Kelli Spear
    March 13, 2017
    I just finished and have no idea how to rate this book. On the one hand, I was sucked in by the dramatics of it all. On the other, I hated every character and didn't "get" the point of the story. Dan and Natalie broke up. And now she's writing him letters, pinpointing their issues and how he hurt her. Highlighting the things that destroyed them. But man. They were always a hot mess. From the get-go. Initially, I bought into him being the good guy who is being painted negatively by a scorned ex. I just finished and have no idea how to rate this book. On the one hand, I was sucked in by the dramatics of it all. On the other, I hated every character and didn't "get" the point of the story. Dan and Natalie broke up. And now she's writing him letters, pinpointing their issues and how he hurt her. Highlighting the things that destroyed them. But man. They were always a hot mess. From the get-go. Initially, I bought into him being the good guy who is being painted negatively by a scorned ex. However, as the story progressed, I realized the truth: HE WAS A PRICK. Now, that's not to say Natalie wasn't a shade of crazy, because she was. But, Dan definitely contributed to it. He thrived on her dramatics. He felt needed, loved. This relationship was a disaster. Dysfunctional all the way. I did like how the story was laid out. Piecing things together through her letters. But the entire time I was reading, I knew—like Dan—that there was something bigger coming. Some indiscretion he hadn't figured out yet. Because everything else seemed like typical teen drama. "Do you love me?" "Are we breaking up?" "Are you cheating?" "Do you want to be with her?" And some of those letters were lengthy. Which is why when I finally got to that last Piece De Resistance, I felt shafted. It was almost glossed over. Sort of, "Oh, and by the way..." It was the most important thing that had happened, yet the author just gave quick closure. It was a little disappointing. If you can get past the hatred of these deeply flawed characters, I think this book is enjoyable. It kept me reading if only to see where it was all going.
    more
  • Samantha Sim
    June 13, 2017
    basically a dramatic story of a couple's fucked up relationship told in the form of a 16-part letter from the girl & narration from the guy. waste of time, imo. why would i read a book about 2 kids messing up each other when drama like that is around social media all the damn time? plus dan's an asshole.
    more
  • Julie
    March 19, 2017
    wow this book I thought was going to be breakup and getting over someone .So not the book I read. This book was like a train wreck and I wanted to finish this book to see what happened. Wow dan was dating 2 girls and they didn't like each other. He also is working on a big project for school. Wow I felt that that the girl was crazy at times or stalker like . I didn't like the ending either.
    more
  • HNGC Library
    February 20, 2017
    This book tells the story of Natalie and Dan's relationship after they have broken up. Natalie writes furious letters to Dan blaming him for everything and then Dan tells his side of the story. The relationship seems dysfunctional from the start as Dan seems to be dating Natalie while stringing along two other girls. But all of the fault does not lie with Dan as Natalie as her own part to destroy the relationship with her rage filled tantrums. The lack of finesse in the sexual situations, adult This book tells the story of Natalie and Dan's relationship after they have broken up. Natalie writes furious letters to Dan blaming him for everything and then Dan tells his side of the story. The relationship seems dysfunctional from the start as Dan seems to be dating Natalie while stringing along two other girls. But all of the fault does not lie with Dan as Natalie as her own part to destroy the relationship with her rage filled tantrums. The lack of finesse in the sexual situations, adult language and unresolved ending make this book hard to recommend.
    more
  • Adena
    February 6, 2017
    I really hate to give low ratings to a book. But what did I like about this book? I guess only the fact that it was a quick read. The characters are shallow, selfish and immature. Also, a little crazy, and not in a good way. I know this is about teens and I am a MOTHER of teens, not a teen myself but....I think there was too much profanity and not enough depth to the characters. It was a little distracting that the dates of the messages were all over the place, going back and forth over a few ye I really hate to give low ratings to a book. But what did I like about this book? I guess only the fact that it was a quick read. The characters are shallow, selfish and immature. Also, a little crazy, and not in a good way. I know this is about teens and I am a MOTHER of teens, not a teen myself but....I think there was too much profanity and not enough depth to the characters. It was a little distracting that the dates of the messages were all over the place, going back and forth over a few years.If I had to find a positive element of this book it would be that I could have my teens read this and say, "And this is why you shouldn't date until you are much, much older." I personally think every character should be in therapy and writing a young adult fiction where you glamorize that crazy behavior is just reckless.
    more
  • Rachel WritesThings
    January 12, 2017
    So good. So gooood.
  • Brandy
    March 25, 2017
    She's exciting, he's charming: Natalie and Dan fell in love almost instantly. But that was some time ago, and now Natalie is sending Dan packets of letters detailing moments of their relationship. The letters start out sweet, but as we shift to Dan's perspective, he's waiting for the other shoe to drop: he knows there's a big reveal coming. Natalie wants Dan to know how much she loved him and how much he hurt her. Dan wants Natalie to understand how her jealous rages destroyed them both. Their h She's exciting, he's charming: Natalie and Dan fell in love almost instantly. But that was some time ago, and now Natalie is sending Dan packets of letters detailing moments of their relationship. The letters start out sweet, but as we shift to Dan's perspective, he's waiting for the other shoe to drop: he knows there's a big reveal coming. Natalie wants Dan to know how much she loved him and how much he hurt her. Dan wants Natalie to understand how her jealous rages destroyed them both. Their he-said, she-said narrative brings the reader along through their toxic slow-motion train wreck of a relationship.Seeing the story largely through Dan's eyes--through conversations with his friends and his reactions to Natalie's letters--means that readers get a biased analysis of what went wrong, highlighting in particular Natalie's temper and instability while downplaying Dan's flirty behaviors with his other friends. This is a decent choice for teens who enjoyed Daniel Handler's 2011 Why We Broke Up but wish it had had more drama.
    more
Write a review