Truth or Dare
A powerful and moving novel about bravery from the Guardian's "writer to watch" Non Pratt, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Holly Bourne. How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you're willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

Truth or Dare Details

TitleTruth or Dare
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherWalker Books
ISBN1406366935
ISBN-139781406366938
Number of pages383 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

Truth or Dare Review

  • Alessandra Crivelli
    June 12, 2017
    That moment when you grab a random book from an author that you really wanted to read without even read the plot and LOVED IT. LOVED IT. LOVED IT!I wanted to read a Non Pratt book since months now and when I have heard 'Truth or Dare' will be released in few weeks I had to pre-order it. I didn't even bother to read the plot and the story left me without words. WOW! Truth or Dare is about Sef and Claire, two teenagers, who decide to open a youtube channel where they will accept every kind of 'tru That moment when you grab a random book from an author that you really wanted to read without even read the plot and LOVED IT. LOVED IT. LOVED IT!I wanted to read a Non Pratt book since months now and when I have heard 'Truth or Dare' will be released in few weeks I had to pre-order it. I didn't even bother to read the plot and the story left me without words. WOW! Truth or Dare is about Sef and Claire, two teenagers, who decide to open a youtube channel where they will accept every kind of 'truth or dare' in order to raised money for Sef's brother who has a brain accident and he needs a huge amount of money to proceeding with the therapy that he needs. This book is so realistic and it is also written with two point of views: Claire's POW domains the first part of the book and you need to turn the book to keep going with the story and read Sef's POW! I loved it so much. It is so overwhelming. It is also about grief and trust. Truth or Dare can easily categorized as a diverse book: - disability: Kam is one of the most loved kid in the school until an injury to his brain: he can't move or talk as before. - asexuality: Claire's BFF is asexual and there is also awareness in trying to respect her asexuality. I loved this aspect because I think ToD is my first book with an asexual character and thinking that I wasn't even aware of asexuality before started reading the Riverdale's conversation.- POC: the male MC is not white. I don't think the author ever specified his origin but there are lines where has been specified that Sef is definitely not white. If you are looking for a fast and heartbreaking reading, TRUTH OR DARE is the right book for you! About daring.. Non Pratt is daring you to help her raise 2k for charity. If she will be able to reach her goal she will shave her head at YALC! click here
    more
  • Kamalia
    June 24, 2017
    I picked up Truth or Dare by Non Pratt because I was falling into a slump reading Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. I definitely made the right choice because i could easily get into the mood to read again with this book and managed to finish it within days. Despite some problems that I had with the book, overall i enjoyed the story and i'm rating it 4 out of 5 stars!I liked that the first half of the book was in Claire Casey's point of view, and that you're supposed to flip the book a I picked up Truth or Dare by Non Pratt because I was falling into a slump reading Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman. I definitely made the right choice because i could easily get into the mood to read again with this book and managed to finish it within days. Despite some problems that I had with the book, overall i enjoyed the story and i'm rating it 4 out of 5 stars!I liked that the first half of the book was in Claire Casey's point of view, and that you're supposed to flip the book around and read it from the back for Sef Malik's point of view. This is the first book that i've read that recaps events but from another character's perspective, and i thought it was a really clever way to reveal more about what a character is going through, rather than immediately presenting the two perspectives one after the other. It makes you realise that there's more to a person's life then what we see from only one point of view. I enjoyed seeing Sef from Claire's perspective first and then actually reading out his own perspective from the beginning, which turned out to be a lot darker and depressing. The book turned a lot more serious once we read it from Sef's point of view, and when we find out the real reason why Sef behaved the way he did.So in this book, Claire and Sef create a YouTube channel to make truth or dare videos so that they can raise money to pay for Sef's big brother, who suffered from a terrible accident, so that he can continue to get proper care. I really enjoyed reading about the painful process of producing a successful channel, because I myself am very familiar with YouTube and the vlogging community. Seeing the characters go through the same steps of filming, editing, and struggling to attract enough viewers was quite fun and definitely relatable. The idea of making videos of confessions and dares is a little bit cringe-y because I personally wouldn't watch those kinds of videos, but i guess it works for the story and it sounds realistic enough.My main issue for this book is its poor attempt at diversity. Even though this book is technically a POC book because Sef Malik is, if i'm not mistaken, a British-Pakistani, but him and his family seem so Westernized that I could hardly learn anything that seemed exclusive to their culture. It was implied that Sef didn't drink alcohol and he was used to getting racist and discriminating comments, so a part of me started to believe that maybe he was Muslim. But then later he and his family celebrated Christmas and I just got hella confused. Adding to the fact that his entire family had Arabic names (Yousef, Amir, Farah), I think the author had a great opportunity to take the diversity to a whole new level. Even if she wanted to portray the Malik family as liberals or just non-traditional, I wish there had been more religious or cultural discussion. It could even have worked if another character had just asked them about it. Non Pratt also attempted to introduce us to an asexual and aromantic character, which I thought was a pretty great insight to the topic but i wish we got to know more about that character's story.Other than that, I quite enjoyed the book. I felt like the characters were realistic and relatable. Surprisingly, i could relate to Sef more than I could relate to Claire. Sef is the type of person who avoids something that is painful or hard for him. It does sound cowardly and weak, but honestly it's something very human that a lot of people probably go through. It's great to see this in a character, and to see it portrayed quite honestly. No he's not the ideal perfect character, and i definitely didn't fall in love with him, but i liked seeing how vulnerable he can get. I also really liked his relationship with his brothers. I wasn't a huge fan of the romance though, to be honest.Overall, I would recommend this book for contemporary lovers, but not to those who expect to discover in depth about POC characters because they won't be impressed by the attempt in this one.
    more
  • Kirsty (overflowing library)
    March 20, 2017
    As I expected and hoped I adored this and found myself unable to put it down staying up long past my bedtime.There are many reasons why I loved this book.Firstly Non just gets teens and captures that teen voice perfectly. Her characters feel real and it is very easy to root for them from page one. I liked how it tackled ideas round the use of social media and role in has in modern society both positive and negative especially when the characters start up their youtube channel of truth and dares. As I expected and hoped I adored this and found myself unable to put it down staying up long past my bedtime.There are many reasons why I loved this book.Firstly Non just gets teens and captures that teen voice perfectly. Her characters feel real and it is very easy to root for them from page one. I liked how it tackled ideas round the use of social media and role in has in modern society both positive and negative especially when the characters start up their youtube channel of truth and dares. I loved the relationship between the two main characters Sef and Claire and seeing how and why it developed as it did. I loved how it was funny, poignant, romantic and thoughtful all at the same time. It is also one of those books which tackles a lot of issues around things like racism, feminism and body image superbly without it ever feeling like a "issues" book.In short it's an unputdownable read which is clever, poignant and unpredictable. I loved it.
    more
  • Lauren James
    May 23, 2015
    Being friends with authors you admire is honestly one of the biggest joys of being a writer. Ahhhh.
  • ireadnovels.wordpress.com
    May 24, 2017
    This story isn't just for the young teenagers its for all ages. We can all learn from this fantastic tale.Truth or Dare .What truth must she face? One story two sides.Part one Claire Casey All I ever wanted was to be noticed. Now all I want is to disappear. It's September. It's freezing in the school hall. Mr Chung stands up, clears his throat. Some of you will already know what happened over the summer when Kamran Malik fell into the Lay river. He went straight to hospital with suspected brain This story isn't just for the young teenagers its for all ages. We can all learn from this fantastic tale.Truth or Dare .What truth must she face? One story two sides.Part one Claire Casey All I ever wanted was to be noticed. Now all I want is to disappear. It's September. It's freezing in the school hall. Mr Chung stands up, clears his throat. Some of you will already know what happened over the summer when Kamran Malik fell into the Lay river. He went straight to hospital with suspected brain injury. Kam as they call him was in a coma for two weeks. He regained consciousness. The injuries he sustained as a result he will have to relearn a lot of skills that everyone takes for granted. The school has a card for Kam and an envelope for donations to the Recreare Hospital for Neurodisability. But Sef has ideas of his own If any pupil wants advice about starting a channel, Claire's an expert on all things YouTube. Sef wants to raise sixty thousand pounds for Kam by setting up a channel where people donate to watch him do dares and he needs Claire's help. Truth or Dare How far will he dare go? One story two sides.Part two Sef Malik When death stares you in the face, you confess. You're not going to like any of it. I don't.As Sef says in one part of the book. Isn't the point of having money to make life better, even if that life isn't yours. I won't say what happens in Sef Malik side of the story. The characters in this book are fictional, but the problems that they face are not. I would like to thank Walker books for sending me a copy of Truth Or Dare, it's been a pleasure to read this fantastic story. A new author that I will be keeping a lookout for in the future.
    more
  • Sammee (I Want to Read That)
    March 19, 2017
    Loved it :-)
  • Ben Babcock
    June 21, 2017
    Non Pratt wrote another novel!!!It has a gimmick that throws me back to the ’90s, but it’s fully a novel of the 2010s, fuelled as it is by the spectator society of YouTube eyeballs and the intricate liminal spaces teenagers negotiate between their online and offline identities.It also has an aromantic and asexual character. I’m probably going to talk more about this than about the main plot of the novel, because hey, you can go ahead and read reviews from allo people about that.Truth or Dare fol Non Pratt wrote another novel!!!It has a gimmick that throws me back to the ’90s, but it’s fully a novel of the 2010s, fuelled as it is by the spectator society of YouTube eyeballs and the intricate liminal spaces teenagers negotiate between their online and offline identities.It also has an aromantic and asexual character. I’m probably going to talk more about this than about the main plot of the novel, because hey, you can go ahead and read reviews from allo people about that.Truth or Dare follows Claire Casey and Sef Malik, two UK teenagers who don’t know each other very well or have much in common until authorial intent throws them in one another’s path. Claire kind of volunteers to help Sef raise money for his older brother, who needs care after a traumatic brain injury, and together they become “Truth Girl and Dare Boy”. But launching a YouTube channel is easy—turning views into donations, they discover, is very hard. With time running out, Sef pushes Claire towards more and more outrageous dares. She is falling for him, but she has to consider where she draws the line.The first half of Truth or Dare is from Claire’s perspective. She’s a very interesting, sympathetic protagonist, in my opinion. There are so many Claires in this book, and her constant struggle to understand how she defines herself is emblematic of adolescence in general. There’s the Claire who is best friends with Seren and Rich, and who is totally blindsided by the latter’s awkward and inappropriate advances to the former, who is ace and aro (!!!). There’s the Claire who is kind and caring, as seen in her scenes with Kam. There’s “Milk Tits”—the victim of bullying after a nip-slip video goes viral within the school community. And then there’s “Truth Girl”, who if anything seems to be an attempt by Claire to create an online persona that opposes what Milk Tits stands for.This is what I love about Pratt’s work. It’s not so much the storytelling—when you get down to it, Truth or Dare is actually kind of trite in its plot—as it is the way Pratt executes characterization like it’s going out of style. Pratt doesn’t just write teenagers: she shows us all the turning cogs of their minds, and reminds us of what it’s like to think and feel at that age, the priorities and weight of all the relationships and hormones and expectations.Speaking of hormones, the sexytimes definitely happen here, but they are rather low-key. I like how Pratt acknowledges that it is a thing but doesn’t foreground it. There’s so much else that’s going on, and it’s nice to see a take on teenage sexuality that isn’t “ZOMG AND THEN THEY SEXED.”Claire’s relationships with her friends are dynamic and fascinating. This is where I’m going to fanboy squee a lot about Pratt’s portrayal of Seren, Claire’s best friend:Girls, boys, whatever, Seren just isn’t interested. She’s asexual and pretty political about it—Seren’s campaigning is a reason West Bridge has such comprehensive LGBTQ+ lessons in PSHE.That’s from page 32 of the book. I did a doubletake and re-read that paragraph, because it came out of the blue. It’s not a good thing, of course, that we are so starved for asexual representation that we are incredulous when it actually shows up. But there it is: on the page, acknowledging asexuality as part of the LGBTQIAP+. Moreover, the phrasing here makes it clear that Seren, at 16 or 17 years old, is aware of and confident in her asexuality: it isn’t just “a phase” and she isn’t just discovering it. She is out and proud to her friends and community.Of course, it remained to be seen whether or not Pratt would differentiate between being asexual and aromantic (plenty of asexual people develop romantic feelings and enter into romantic relationships!).And she does not let me down:“He knows—you both do. It’s not like that for me. I’m ace and I’m aro and … I don’t … ugh!”That’s Seren, venting her frustration and “nauseated” feelings after Rich confesses his feelings for her. So Seren is definitely aro in addition to being ace, totally uninterested in Rich, and seems to be sex-repulsed too. Pratt goes on to hang a lampshade on the fact that asexuality and aromanticism are invisible in our society while educating the reader on these terms:Until Seren told us she was asexual, I didn’t know you could come out as anything other than gay or bi and I’m not always up on the terms she uses. I spend a lot less time on Tumblr than Seren does.“What does aro mean again?”“Aromantic. No interest in romance. As in, zero interest in having a relationship beyond the platonic variety and certainly not wanting to be accosted on my own doorstep.”Not only is this accurate and educational, but it’s also done entirely in Seren’s voice, with that little bit of acerbic humour we come to recognize in her conversations with Rich and Claire.So instead of your run-of-the-mill awkward-unrequited-love subplot between Claire’s two best friends, Pratt chooses to put in some aro/ace representation and create a much more interesting story as a result. While the main plot of Truth or Dare continues, we also see a gulf open up among these three. It develops very naturally and interestingly, and I enjoyed it all the way until its resolution.I don’t want to fall all over myself with gratitude here, because this should just be normal and unremarkable. Asexual and arospec people deserve representation on page as much as any other group. But since it is remarkable, I needed to remark on it. I had no idea one of my favourite authors had this in store for me when I started Truth or Dare; reader, I swooned. One thousand and one platonic hearts. (The digital kind; there’s no way I’m actually cutting out 1001 hearts, even tiny ones, from paper. And harvesting real hearts would be … messy. And probably unwelcome. But I digress.)There’s also a great deal of good stuff about consent in Truth or Dare. Obviously in the above side-plot there’s discussion of consent around asexuality, and the fact that Rich’s advances aren’t just awkward but inappropriate given his awareness of Seren’s orientation. Pratt also addresses the lack of consent involved in the Milk Tits video and the subsequent actions of its perpetrator. Finally, there’s a moment where Claire wants to hug the neuro-disabled Kam, but before she does, she asks him for consent. It’s easy to forget to ask for consent when hugging people, but it’s important, particularly when interacting with people who have cognitive or motor disabilities and may not be able to express their discomfort with such actions.Jump cut to a quick review of the second half of the book!I wish you could flip over this review like you must Truth or Dare’s hard copy version in order to continue reading … that brought back such nostalgia for some of the kids’ books I read in the 1990s.The story continues, after quite the cliffhanger, with Sef’s perspective. We play catch-up at first, seeing some of the events Claire was not witness to leading up to the start of the main story, with flashbacks interspersed as the plot continues. To be honest, I don’t quite identify as much with Sef as I ended up identifying with Claire. I don’t think this is a problem with his characterization so much as the choice to put him as second narrator: by the time we hear his voice, the adrenaline and pacing are so high, so fast, that we don’t have the time or luxury to get to know him quite as well. Nevertheless, I appreciate that Pratt gives us this opportunity. Particularly interesting are some of the scenes we already saw from Claire’s point of view that she then retells from Sef’s. Remix is probably still my favourite of Pratt’s novels so far. But that’s another thing I like about Non Pratt: each of her books keeps proving to be something new and unique and wonderful in a different way. Her voice and passion remain consistent and authentic; her motifs and themes are often similar; but each work has different tones and tenors that make it special. There’s a lot to love about Truth or Dare, and I can’t recommend enough all of Pratt’s books.Full disclosure: One time I knit a scarf and hat for Non Pratt because she complained on Twitter she didn’t own any Gryffindor clothing. She does now.
    more
  • Readers Rule
    June 6, 2017
    Hey Readers, I am in my car right now, coming back from a family trip, reviewing this book because I couldn't stop reading it. And now that I have read it, all I want is to talk about it.*Spoiler free*First of all, hats off to the author for bringing out such amazing characters through this book. And, for once, those characters from a fictional world seemed real.The first part is from the POV of Claire aka Truth Girl. She is simple and introvert. Someone, who is real easy to relate with. Has lif Hey Readers, I am in my car right now, coming back from a family trip, reviewing this book because I couldn't stop reading it. And now that I have read it, all I want is to talk about it.*Spoiler free*First of all, hats off to the author for bringing out such amazing characters through this book. And, for once, those characters from a fictional world seemed real.The first part is from the POV of Claire aka Truth Girl. She is simple and introvert. Someone, who is real easy to relate with. Has life problems, crushes, dreams, et cetra.The second part is from Yousef's POV aka Dare Boy. He is smart, good-looking and am I missing something..? Oh yes, daring.This book is about two teenagers, who together start a YouTube channel doing Truths and Dares to collect funds. They want money for Yousef's brother whose brain got damaged.Some facts about this book:1. If you think contemporary is boring, there are 75% less chances of you getting bored after reading this book.2. Unlike a normal contemporary book where an introvert girl falls in love with a super popular guy, this book brings out what teenagers are really like (stupid, unmindful, crazy and adorable).3. There was 0% instant love in the book.4. The book had the most perfect pace. There was no single point in which I got bored while reading. The story kept moving forward.5. I didn't really anticipate much from the two sides of the story. I only expected a little repetition of the book with slightly different emotions, but the actual plot builds when you start reading the second POV.6. What you thought about the characters during the first part of the book completely changes when you read part 2.7. Each and every character in the book has been portrayed exceedingly well.8. The end is something you didn't really expect it to be like.9. The book might not have the best ending but it is a beautiful one. Something not to expect much from, but which gives hope for future.10. I am rating this book: 5/5. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐Yours Sincerely,Reader.xxx
    more
  • Harriet Springbett
    June 27, 2017
    Easy to read, well written story with excellent use of two voices to reveal parts of the character that we wouldn't otherwise have seen. The suspense was handled well, particularly the end of Claire's part, though I did find Sef's part a little too repetitive when there wasn't a major difference in the way he lived the same event as Claire. I found both characters realistic, particularly Sef with his hang-ups, and the way his feelings towards Claire changed over time (God, I hated him at the beg Easy to read, well written story with excellent use of two voices to reveal parts of the character that we wouldn't otherwise have seen. The suspense was handled well, particularly the end of Claire's part, though I did find Sef's part a little too repetitive when there wasn't a major difference in the way he lived the same event as Claire. I found both characters realistic, particularly Sef with his hang-ups, and the way his feelings towards Claire changed over time (God, I hated him at the beginning of part 2!). The whole story felt very credible.
    more
  • Rachel
    June 1, 2017
    I was so excited to get my hands on Truth or Dare, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. This is a truly moving and cleverly told story of love in all its forms, and captured my heart from page one. Non’s ability to capture the teenage voice is second to none, and it was a delight to see the same story seen from different perspectives. It really helped to understand where the characters were coming from, and why they made the choices they did. Thought provoking and emotional, Truth Or Dare I was so excited to get my hands on Truth or Dare, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. This is a truly moving and cleverly told story of love in all its forms, and captured my heart from page one. Non’s ability to capture the teenage voice is second to none, and it was a delight to see the same story seen from different perspectives. It really helped to understand where the characters were coming from, and why they made the choices they did. Thought provoking and emotional, Truth Or Dare is a must read for everyone.
    more
  • Steph
    March 20, 2017
    Moving. Important. Thrilling. Dangerous. Tense. Emotive. So many incredibly important quotes in this.
  • Rebecca
    June 7, 2017
    When Sef Malik's brother is involved in an accident which leaves him with a brain injury, Sef will do whatever it takes to raise money for his care. An important point to remember for this book of Truth or Dare (and one or two lies). Claire Casey will do anything she can to help him, even if that means being in the spotlight which she hates, because she adores Sef from a distance usually and this puts her right in his eye line. The perfect opportunity for him to HOPEFULLY fall for her. Sef and C When Sef Malik's brother is involved in an accident which leaves him with a brain injury, Sef will do whatever it takes to raise money for his care. An important point to remember for this book of Truth or Dare (and one or two lies). Claire Casey will do anything she can to help him, even if that means being in the spotlight which she hates, because she adores Sef from a distance usually and this puts her right in his eye line. The perfect opportunity for him to HOPEFULLY fall for her. Sef and Claire go on to develop a YouTube channel to raise the money, in which they do silly dares and tell embarrassing truths to a watching audience. I liked that this story is a honest representation of what it can be like to know someone with a brain injury. Non Pratt captures really well the horrible balance between wanting to spend every moment with them, entirely wrapped up with them in your thoughts, whilst still wanting to be out there doing something to help. Pratt also captures how it feels to be entirely helpless against what is happening to someone you love, but handles it with a convincing teenage voice to keep the story less emotional and more forward thinking; it's very easy to become saddened by a book of this nature but the balance is just right here. Pratt does not shy away from some of the outbursts, expressions, aesthetics or behaviours someone with brain damage might have, nor do they shy away from showing the struggles people have in knowing how to react when faced with seeing this in those they love. It is brutal and honest, but is also reality for many people; an eye opening, important read.The secondary part of the story in which Claire and Sef figure out how to up the ante for each of their videos was exciting - the dares get bigger and better and some truths come out! I think the way in which this book has been split in two, literally requiring you to flip the book upside down to read Sef's story which is really cool, is an original way of letting you see a much wider arc to the story. Sef isn't a likeable character to me because of his behavior towards others, but his desperation to help his brother is enough to make me understand why and I hope that readers will see how clever Pratt has been here by bravely creating such a character. Claire however was perhaps a bit of a disappointing character for me. She is entirely captivated by Sef. And this made it hard for me to like her. I can absolutely understand the foolish things infatuation makes us do, but I much prefer to see a character fight for their own opinions, thoughts and decisions rather than being heavily influenced by wanting to impress someone else. Despite this, she was never irritating or boring, just a hard character to connect with sometimes.This is an interesting, original story which really is unputdownable. I love the teenage voice, the clever ideas and the way in which Pratt just gets it with this subject. It's the kind of book which contains enough brutal truths to educate but also to empower. I definitely recommend it.ARC provided free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Emily
    June 2, 2017
    You know those books where you put them down and you find yourself thinking about them? This is one of those books. I was halfway through and almost got hit in the face by a tennis ball because I was thinking about this book.The book is one story with two sides. Literally. I loved the way that you read Claire's side first then had to flip the book over to read Sef's side. Seeing the story from the two different perspectives really helped to understand where the characters were coming from and th You know those books where you put them down and you find yourself thinking about them? This is one of those books. I was halfway through and almost got hit in the face by a tennis ball because I was thinking about this book.The book is one story with two sides. Literally. I loved the way that you read Claire's side first then had to flip the book over to read Sef's side. Seeing the story from the two different perspectives really helped to understand where the characters were coming from and the choices they made. Non Pratt just has this way with words. This book may be aimed at teenagers but it it's definitely for all ages. Non managed to explore a huge range of different subjects - including social media, racisim and disability - without them becoming the main focus and still somehow making it relatable. Claire and Sef's relationship was just beautifully written. I've read so many books recently where the relationships have been out of the blue or really quick but this wasn't anything like them. The entire relationship just felt so natural and realistic. I found myself smiling at so many points, and doing my foot wiggle that I do when I'm loving a book.I really must insist that you all go and read this book.This review, and others like it, at: https://tumblingintowonderlandbooks.w...
    more
  • Georgiana
    June 10, 2017
    In this novel, Non Pratt tackles some heavy issues, like neuro-disability or public shaming. The story has a dual perspective and a diverse set of characters. And I know that sometimes when authors attempt to put so much into a book, it can backfire. But not Non. (sorry for the stupid pun, I run on coffee and bad jokes)After an accident leaves his brother disabled, Sef would do anything to help. So he decides to start a Youtube channel in order to raise money for his brother`s hospitalisation. B In this novel, Non Pratt tackles some heavy issues, like neuro-disability or public shaming. The story has a dual perspective and a diverse set of characters. And I know that sometimes when authors attempt to put so much into a book, it can backfire. But not Non. (sorry for the stupid pun, I run on coffee and bad jokes)After an accident leaves his brother disabled, Sef would do anything to help. So he decides to start a Youtube channel in order to raise money for his brother`s hospitalisation. But for that, he needs help from media savvy, Claire. Stepping out of their comfort zone, Sef and Claire take the identity of Dare Boy and Truth Girl, an unlikely duo that steals their fans` hearts. But the more they`re in the spotlight, the more they`re faced with some hard challenges.The first part of the story is told from Claire`s perspective. She`s shy and sweet and reminds me a lot of myself in my teenage years. After a nip-slip video goes viral, Claire`s experiencing bullying from some of her classmates. As someone that was bullied in middle school, I could totally relate to her. Your confidence is shaken and you just want people to ignore you. Sef is the second narrator and it was interesting seeing his point of view. The story becomes darker and it also gets to that point where you NEED to know what happens next. What`s interesting is that Sef was a very likeable character from Claire`s POV. Then you get to his side and you`re like: WHAT THE DAMN HELL? But as the story moves forward, he redeems himself. You feel for him and his pain gets real. Because he feels responsible for what happened with Kam, Sef blames himself and can`t face his big brother.Like I said in the beginning, this book deals with some heavy issues. One of those is neurodisability and what that`s like. From Claire`s POV, we see how Kam learns to live with his condition and the progress he makes. Sef`s POV puts the spotlight on the family and how they adapt to this situation. I also loved that this book talked about issues like feminism and body image, without being too preachy. Calling people names and especially touching them without their permission should not be acceptable. Some people pass it up as jokes, but it is in fact harassment. The one reason that I have with this book is that the ending felt too abrupt. I knew that Sef had to see his brother, but I wanted more. He destroyed so many of his relationships, I needed some closure. I was also intrigued by Claire`s best friend, who was asexual. And it was a bit of a letdown that she was such a side character. Other than that, I have no complaints.Review originally posted on:http://www.carmensreadingcorner.co.uk...
    more
  • Zarina
    June 15, 2017
    For all its hardships in the first part of this novel I absolutely loved it and the two main characters, Claire and Sef, as they embark on creating a Truth or Dare YouTube channel to raise funds for the care of Sef's severally disabled brother Kam. And then part two happened. [Insert mind blowing graphic here.] Those first few pages turned a lot of my believes upside down and I wasn't sure whether I liked what I'd discovered. And yet I couldn't stop reading. As the pages went on, the two parts o For all its hardships in the first part of this novel I absolutely loved it and the two main characters, Claire and Sef, as they embark on creating a Truth or Dare YouTube channel to raise funds for the care of Sef's severally disabled brother Kam. And then part two happened. [Insert mind blowing graphic here.] Those first few pages turned a lot of my believes upside down and I wasn't sure whether I liked what I'd discovered. And yet I couldn't stop reading. As the pages went on, the two parts of the novel were drawn closer together and I started to understand the characters in a different way. The journey was difficult, thought provoking, moving and enlightening all at one. This is an important book in so many ways, from the way it deals with race and sexuality right down to disability. But most of all this is the story of how two very different people come together to make a difference, and the life lessons they learn along the way.
    more
  • Robin Stevens
    March 29, 2017
    I'm so proud of my partner in crime! This is another great novel from Non, about friendship, romance, family, truth - and of course plenty of dares, all wrapped up in a story about two kids who start their own YouTube channel and realise that it's changing their lives. 14+*Please note: this review is meant as a recommendation only. Please do not use it in any marketing material, online or in print, without asking permission from me first. Thank you!*
    more
  • James
    June 12, 2017
    Damnnnnnnnnnn.
  • Ginag
    June 6, 2017
    Absolutely brilliant, read in one sitting, definitely the best book I have read in a long time, and the best book I've read so far in 2017. I would love a sequel if possible :)
  • Aoife
    April 23, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5
  • Fiona M
    June 14, 2017
    Actual Rating: 2.5I really wanted to like this but I just couldn't get on with the characters. Claire was probably the better of the 2 main voices but I couldn't always get on board with what was happening.I have a love/hate relationship with Non's books but at least I finished this one. (DNF Trouble but LOVED remix)The ending helped a but as I actually felt a bit more emotion but otherwise it was just a bit too slow and all over the place for me.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 15, 2017
    Not that great to be honest. Thought the concept of flipping over the book was pretty cool but it doesn't really make a lot of sense to me in relation to the story.
  • Zoe
    February 26, 2017
    When issues of diversity and inclusion and question about who can write what (rightly) form so much of the current narrative around books for young people, this is a risky book. At its heart a novel about two young people falling in love and finding out who they are and who they want to be, against a backdrop of many of the complexities of being a teen in the modern world including the use of social media to bully and the use of social media to feel connected. Exploring prejudices around disabil When issues of diversity and inclusion and question about who can write what (rightly) form so much of the current narrative around books for young people, this is a risky book. At its heart a novel about two young people falling in love and finding out who they are and who they want to be, against a backdrop of many of the complexities of being a teen in the modern world including the use of social media to bully and the use of social media to feel connected. Exploring prejudices around disability. race and sexual orientation this book is full on with "issues" but to me it almost never felt let they were the drivers of the story; Pratt writes both enormously sensitively and also with a sharpness that is fresh and distinctive. The use of a dual narrative has created characters and situations which felt frighteningly real, with the space to think and reflect; this authenticity is an amazing achievement. (Not that I though Non wasn't capable of it - but just that with all the facets of this story there was a real risk that the plot and characters might have felt two dimensional, which they never do).Adrenalin filled, but packed with love and kindness, it's a brilliantly enjoyable read.
    more
  • George Lester
    December 30, 2016
    Utterly cracking! It's clever. It's smart. If you think you know Non Pratt's writing, think again! It's surprising and I love it!
  • lizzy
    October 23, 2015
    I will read absolutely anything by non pratt this sounds amazing
  • Rebecca Stobart
    June 14, 2017
    For anyone who is thinking of reading Truth or Dare but isn't quite sure what they're getting into, think of the book Nerve by Jeanne Ryan, or the film adaptation if you like. Two young and hopeful YouTube noobs, Sef and Claire, begin a journey to raise money for Sef's brother who was unfortunately irreversibly injured in an accident.It's a really touching story about brotherly love, new relationships and then the harsh realities of hopeless situations and internet fame. A lot of things are cove For anyone who is thinking of reading Truth or Dare but isn't quite sure what they're getting into, think of the book Nerve by Jeanne Ryan, or the film adaptation if you like. Two young and hopeful YouTube noobs, Sef and Claire, begin a journey to raise money for Sef's brother who was unfortunately irreversibly injured in an accident.It's a really touching story about brotherly love, new relationships and then the harsh realities of hopeless situations and internet fame. A lot of things are covered in this book that I almost don't know where to begin. Yousef 'Sef' Malik is a drama student and wannabe daredevil who will risk anything to save his big brother Kam, in spite of there being no way to actually save him. Sef is living in a fantasy world for a large portion of the book, believing his dares and the money raised will be able to turn back the clock on the tragic events. The reality being that the money will merely help sustain this new world.Claire Casey is recovering from her stint of internet fame when a viral video of her boobs is shared online, she doesn't really want to be back in front of the camera but she'll do it for Kam. And for Sef. There's a great amount of diversity in this book. Yousef Malik, as you may deduce, is one of the few main characters who isn't of white heritage that I've read about this year, which is really terrible to think about. The subject of racism is discussed, we're even forced to accept that our beloved Sef has long since come to terms with how he's treated.Next up on the 'why this book is so amazing' list is another character, Seren, Claire's best friend who is Asexual and Aromantic. I'll admit I didn't know what Aromantic was, it's not being interested in any kind of romantic relationship -not just uninterested in sex, and we also get a really important insight into why respecting what people identify as, is necessary -again something I have never really experienced.When I was reading the book there was only one thing I didn't like so much, which was having to go back to the start of the story right at the climax of the book. I've read a lot of books with alternating characters between chapters but I appreciate that doing each chapter perfectly from one POV and then another wouldn't have worked either. We do get some more pieces to the puzzle when reading Sef's half of the story but I was much more engaged when we caught up to where Claire's half of the book left off.Truth or Dare still gets a perfect because of how much I enjoyed the story and the characters. I'd recommend to any YA fans because this book just covers so many things I'm sure you'll find your niche within it, and also to anyone as obsessed with YouTube culture as I am -you might not look at your favourite YouTubers the same way again.
    more
  • Shelly
    June 17, 2017
    All I hoped for.When I think Non Pratt I think, whitty dialogue and stories that tug on my heart strings. Truth or Dare doesn't let you down.From the start you are fully immersed in Claire's life. As she connects with Sef and goes on YouTube adventure. Sef's brother has recently become Disabled after an accident, and the two of them set up a YouTube Dare challenge, to raise money for his care. Life, chaos and a lot of banter follow.Non is that rear thing in a YA writer, she doesn't make her cha All I hoped for.When I think Non Pratt I think, whitty dialogue and stories that tug on my heart strings. Truth or Dare doesn't let you down.From the start you are fully immersed in Claire's life. As she connects with Sef and goes on YouTube adventure. Sef's brother has recently become Disabled after an accident, and the two of them set up a YouTube Dare challenge, to raise money for his care. Life, chaos and a lot of banter follow.Non is that rear thing in a YA writer, she doesn't make her characters to lofty and wise beyond there years. Nor are they completely immature and cliché. They are true to teenage form, confused, reckless at times and extremely reliant on each others approval to make it through Reading her characters brings back all those teenage memories and the realism is a joy to read.I commend her on her diversity, from disabled, to race and sexuality. Put in thought out the book like they should be, without a second thought, just existing like they should.As a YouTuber I enjoyed the links and truth of it. The only criticism I have of the book is the Ending, was a bit fast and wrapped up quick. But leaves me wanting much more from Non in the future.
    more
  • Moon
    June 14, 2017
    So this is a nice lovely story that touches on very serious topics like brain injuries and truth and dares. I preferred Claire's story over the Part Two and Three and the end felt a bit predictable and not with enough punch (no I wasn't expecting miracles or impossible things but it just felt a tiny bit flat). I liked reading it but I wouldn't read it again and as much as it tries to touch on important topics it failed to make me want to know more or want to do more about it. Still, I really lik So this is a nice lovely story that touches on very serious topics like brain injuries and truth and dares. I preferred Claire's story over the Part Two and Three and the end felt a bit predictable and not with enough punch (no I wasn't expecting miracles or impossible things but it just felt a tiny bit flat). I liked reading it but I wouldn't read it again and as much as it tries to touch on important topics it failed to make me want to know more or want to do more about it. Still, I really liked the idea of Truth Girl and Dare Boy. It was a bit fun cute.
    more
  • Isabelle
    June 23, 2017
    ahhh, loved it!!!
  • Ross
    June 28, 2017
    A real tear-jerking, heart-stopping, jaw-dropping read if ever there was one. My favourite of Pratt's works.
  • Anthony Andrews
    May 14, 2017
    A brilliant book, I loved it! The book actually comes out on June 1st, but I was very lucky to get an early copy!
Write a review