Spirit Hunters
We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh returns with Spirit Hunters, a high-stakes middle grade mystery series about Harper Raine, the new seventh grader in town who must face down the dangerous ghosts haunting her younger brother. A riveting ghost story and captivating adventure, this tale will have you guessing at every turn!Harper doesn’t trust her new home from the moment she steps inside, and the rumors are that the Raine family’s new house is haunted. Harper isn’t sure she believes those rumors, until her younger brother, Michael, starts acting strangely. The whole atmosphere gives Harper a sense of déjà vu, but she can’t remember why. She knows that the memories she’s blocking will help make sense of her brother’s behavior and the strange and threatening sensations she feels in this house, but will she be able to put the pieces together in time?

Spirit Hunters Details

TitleSpirit Hunters
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherHarperCollins
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Horror, Paranormal, Ghosts, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary

Spirit Hunters Review

  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    April 22, 2017
    Wayyyy too scary for me!
  • Book Riot Community
    July 26, 2017
    Harper Raine has a bad feeling about her family’s new home the moment she steps inside. Then she hears the rumors about the house. And to top things off, her little brother begins acting strangely. Now Harper is spending seventh grade seeking answers to the spirits she senses and trying to figure out a way to save her brother before it’s too late. This is a fun debut to a new middle grade series!Backlist bump: The Children of Green Knowe by L.M. BostonTune in to our weekly podcast dedicated to a Harper Raine has a bad feeling about her family’s new home the moment she steps inside. Then she hears the rumors about the house. And to top things off, her little brother begins acting strangely. Now Harper is spending seventh grade seeking answers to the spirits she senses and trying to figure out a way to save her brother before it’s too late. This is a fun debut to a new middle grade series!Backlist bump: The Children of Green Knowe by L.M. BostonTune in to our weekly podcast dedicated to all things new books, All The Books: http://bookriot.com/listen/shows/allt...
    more
  • Adriyanna Zimmermann
    April 22, 2017
    Not sure why there's all these "too childish" 2/3 star reviews. This is middle grade which means the target audience is 9-12 (in most cases). It is meant for children. When reviewing MG you need to be thinking from the perspective of the target audience, not yourself (assuming reviewer =/= target audience).I know Oh's first series was YA so some of her YA readers may be picking up this new book (being a fan of the author), but please remember this is middle-grade, not YA or adult. If the writing Not sure why there's all these "too childish" 2/3 star reviews. This is middle grade which means the target audience is 9-12 (in most cases). It is meant for children. When reviewing MG you need to be thinking from the perspective of the target audience, not yourself (assuming reviewer =/= target audience).I know Oh's first series was YA so some of her YA readers may be picking up this new book (being a fan of the author), but please remember this is middle-grade, not YA or adult. If the writing is "too childish" you probably shouldn't be reading it.Also, I know a 3 star rating/review is usually good but it brings down the average rating which may deter MG readers. Goodreads almost always gets more reviews than book retailer sites.
    more
  • Elise (thebookishactress on wordpress)
    January 28, 2017
    2.5 stars. Yet another written-for-kids arc, but this one isn't just childish: it's fairly low quality. Mainly, the writing style of this totally annoyed me. It's not just childish, it's actively annoying. It's the “she felt angry” kind of style, which I think we can all agree is kind of terrible. Also, what a tropey, annoying plot. I know this is kids literature, but that doesn't mean it can't be good. Here, the plot is something that's been read a thousand times. The only new or original thing 2.5 stars. Yet another written-for-kids arc, but this one isn't just childish: it's fairly low quality. Mainly, the writing style of this totally annoyed me. It's not just childish, it's actively annoying. It's the “she felt angry” kind of style, which I think we can all agree is kind of terrible. Also, what a tropey, annoying plot. I know this is kids literature, but that doesn't mean it can't be good. Here, the plot is something that's been read a thousand times. The only new or original thing offered here is diverse main characters. Which is great, but unfortunately the book isn't creative enough to be a new kids' classic.
    more
  • Alex Baugh
    July 21, 2017
    It’s early summer and Harper Raine, 12, isn’t very happy about the family’s move to Washington, DC. Older sister Kelly thinks the move is all Harper’s fault because of starting a fire at school and then having a terrible accident at Briarly, a psychiatric hospital, that left her with both arms broken and two broken ribs. Harper, however, has absolutely no memory of either eventThe new house is unbearably hot because of broken air conditioning, except for 4 year-old MIchael’s room, which is unnat It’s early summer and Harper Raine, 12, isn’t very happy about the family’s move to Washington, DC. Older sister Kelly thinks the move is all Harper’s fault because of starting a fire at school and then having a terrible accident at Briarly, a psychiatric hospital, that left her with both arms broken and two broken ribs. Harper, however, has absolutely no memory of either eventThe new house is unbearably hot because of broken air conditioning, except for 4 year-old MIchael’s room, which is unnaturally cold. And Michael claims to have made a new friend in his room named Billy that no one else can see. Slowly, Harper begins to see her brother change from a sweet, loving little boy to a mean, violent child who only wants to stay in his room with Billy. When Harper mets Dayo, a Jamaican girl who lives a few blocks away, they become instant friends. Days knows some of the odd history of Harper’s new house, and tells her it has always been considered to be haunted.As something evil and malicious takes over Michael more and more, Harper and Dayo research on the house’s history and discover some really frightening information. And it helps when Harper reconnects with her old friend Rose, a ghost who lives in a family mirror, and who can help figure things out. At the same time, Harper begins to remember more details about the fire and her accident at Briarly. And she is beginning to see glimpses of Billy, the boy possessing her brother. But what can two 12 year-old girls and a sweet ghost do in the face of such evil?Luckily, Harper’s estranged grandmother lives nearby and shows up suddenly. Grandma Lee is a Korean mudang or shaman, and her belief and work in the spiritual world is what has alienated Mrs. Raine from her mother. She immediately accesses the situation with the house and especially with Michael, who by now is almost totally possessed by Billy. And she informs Harper that she too is a mudang, and it is up to her to exorcise the house and her brother. But does Harper’s understand her newly uncovered ability as a spirit hunter enough to go up against such a strong malevolence.Spirit Hunters is a fast read simply because you can’t put it down, the need to know what happens next is just too great. Even though the story covers only 10 days, Oh manages to build the tension slowly, beginning with a playful insinuation of creepiness and working up to almost full scale horror. Some of the tropes she used are a bit cliché, like oozing, bleeding walls, or floating ghosts, but these by no means diminish the delicious pleasure of the story for fans of scary tales.Oh's writing is friendly and pretty straight forward, but I liked that in-between the third person narrative are Harper’s first person journal entries. These allow the reader to directly know and understand what she is feeling and thinking, and which also slowly reveal the blocked events surrounding the fire at school and the accident at the psychiatric hospital as they resurface in Harper's memory.And I liked the way Oh introduced Harper’s Korean identity on her mother’s side of the family (her father is clearly not Korean). In Spirit Hunters, Harper begins to explore more fully this part of who she is and, I hope, it will expand subsequent books in this new series. Spirit Hunters takes place in Washington DC and you couldn’t ask for a better ghost story location (except maybe New Orleans). There’s just something about those old homes, the sidewalks inlaid with bricks, and the heat and dense humidity of summer that can be cut with a knife that all just lends itself to a well-done scary story.If you want a good hair-raising scare this summer, do pick up a copy of Spirit Hunters and enjoy.This book is recommended for readers age 9+This book was an EARC received from Edelweiss Plus
    more
  • Dayla
    July 23, 2017
    I can't get over the fact that this is a middle grade book. This was so creepy!! I loved the Korean spiritual references and how the haunting was described. I do wish the parents were more aware of the haunting so that the protagonist could have a moment of "I told you so", but other than that, this was a fun and creepy read!Happy reading!
    more
  • Cat (cat-thecatlady)
    April 22, 2017
    this was a fun read.I like the scary aspect, although it was a bit predictable and too scary. but the writing was a bit off for me, reading as too childish or too adult at times. still need to gather my thoughts better on this one.full review here: https://catshelf.wordpress.com/2017/0...
    more
  • Mehsi
    July 26, 2017
    A creepy, haunting middle-grade book, the first in a series, and I definitely want more books.This one lays the perfect foundation for a whole lot of creepy, spooky stories. I am always on the lookout for new horror/ghost stories, especially in the middle-grade/childrens range. Often those books avoid the scariness or weaken it as the story goes on. But not this one.Oh no, I was definitely creeped out many times, and even NOPE NOPE NOPEd quite a few times (dang that spider/ghost thing on the wal A creepy, haunting middle-grade book, the first in a series, and I definitely want more books.This one lays the perfect foundation for a whole lot of creepy, spooky stories. I am always on the lookout for new horror/ghost stories, especially in the middle-grade/childrens range. Often those books avoid the scariness or weaken it as the story goes on. But not this one.Oh no, I was definitely creeped out many times, and even NOPE NOPE NOPEd quite a few times (dang that spider/ghost thing on the walls and ceiling or that stuff in the attic). Yep, that is fuel for nightmares, especially with how well the author writes the scenes.Not only do we have the sense of dread, the spooky house, and a brother (almost) possessed, but we also have a bit of memory loss and what those memories contain. I am really thankful that the author wrote them so well, didn’t hurry with the revelation, I would have been disappointed otherwise considering how big of a deal it is and how much it matters to the story.Harper is a wonderful character, strong, brave, and I was worried about her, and also felt sorry for what happened to her, to her lost memories.The house was positively spooky, and I was amazed that no one else seemed to notice. I know, I know, they don’t have any powers, but I would think anyone would feel the dread seeping from the walls. Not the least with how the little brother is acting totally out of character.There were a few moments that were quite obvious (the ghost in the house, but also who the great spirit hunter was), but eh, it is still a childrens book. It wouldn’t be the first time that things like that are obvious.Extra love go to Dayo, she was the best, and I hope we will see more of her (and hopefully she can help Harper out) in the next books.Yuna, the mom, I am still not sure what to think of her. On the one hand I can understand why she did what she did, but on the other hand… I just can’t and I was pissy at her for a few parts in the book.I loved it when those characters appeared in various parts of the story. Haha, yeah, I won’t tell you who, or what, as that would spoil something, and I don’t want that to happen.The last chapters were a rollercoaster and I was on the edge of whatever place I was sitting. It was spooky, creepy, and I was afraid for Harper. Would she be able to do it? What would happen afterwards?Highly recommended if you are looking for a spooky, creepy, twisty book with great characters.Review first posted at https://twirlingbookprincess.com/
    more
  • Shenwei
    July 29, 2017
    I got the creeps reading this 😱😱😱. but on top of the ghost story there's also a story of family, friendship, and a girl coming into herself and her potential.
  • Anna (Curiosity comes before Kay)
    January 7, 2017
    I'm going to say more like 3.5 stars on this one. I really enjoyed it, but I don't see myself re-reading it in the future. Also, being middle grade it reads young and I could see all the twists coming a mile away. Still very engaging, something I read in one sitting. I'd mostly recommend for ages 9 to 14. I think that'd be the perfect age group for this one.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    April 11, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineHarper's family moves from New York City to Washington, D.C. and end up in a decrepit old house. Harper has had problems at school-- she was accused of setting fire to the art room, and was hospitalized for some time, but she doesn't remember any of it. She notices that her four-year-old brother Michael's room feels oddly clammy, and he claims to have a "new friend" named Billy who tells him things that cause him to have headaches. Harper does manage to mee E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineHarper's family moves from New York City to Washington, D.C. and end up in a decrepit old house. Harper has had problems at school-- she was accused of setting fire to the art room, and was hospitalized for some time, but she doesn't remember any of it. She notices that her four-year-old brother Michael's room feels oddly clammy, and he claims to have a "new friend" named Billy who tells him things that cause him to have headaches. Harper does manage to meet a neighbor girl, Dayo, so she has someone to help her investigate when things get odd. Harper has two bad accidents in one week; she is pushed down the stairs, and also cuts herself on an old metal fire truck. Dayo does some online investigating and finds out some very creepy things about the house, and Harper reconnects with her own "imaginary" friend Rose who inhabits an antique mirror. Things escalate with Michael, and Harper's estranged grandmother finally visits the family and not only helps Harper but gives her the surprising news that she is a spirit hunter who can communicate with ghosts. Grandma Lee is a mudang, a shaman who has worked with the spirit world for a long time, which is the source of the rift between her and Harper's mother. Can Harper save her brother, make the house safe, and come to terms with her inherited skills?Strengths: No wonder middle school students don't want to move! All of the houses people move into are haunted! Bonus points to Oh for managing to add some new twists to this trope with a benevolent ghost friend, an unexplained hospitalization, and a Korean grandmother with interesting skills. Add to this standard family dynamics (busy older sister, young brother who requires babysitting), supportive and involved parents and a new best friend whose mother is a chef, and this was a fantastic story about ghosts, family, and figuring out personal identity. Really enjoyed this one.Weaknesses: It was a little hard to believe that Harper's mother was so averse to the idea of ghosts, since Harper's and Michael's behaviors were so erratic, but I suppose if you grew up with a mother who was a shaman, it might warp you a little. What I really think: Clearly, I need to stock up on salt. Just in case!
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    March 18, 2017
    50% scary. 100% amazing. Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh is a fabulous story about a Korean-American girl who moves to a new house with her family. Suddenly weird stuff start happening and she finds out the house is known as a haunted and scary house. This is a book about family but also about friendships. I love every single member of the Raine family, especially Harpe, our protagonist. She knows stuff are happening in the house. She doesn't know that happened in her past; she lost her memory a whil 50% scary. 100% amazing. Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh is a fabulous story about a Korean-American girl who moves to a new house with her family. Suddenly weird stuff start happening and she finds out the house is known as a haunted and scary house. This is a book about family but also about friendships. I love every single member of the Raine family, especially Harpe, our protagonist. She knows stuff are happening in the house. She doesn't know that happened in her past; she lost her memory a while ago about some events in her life and she can't seem to recall them. If you like ghosts, haunted houses, delicious food, great family dynamics and friendships, this book is right for you.
    more
  • Tessa
    July 30, 2017
    Good read. I love the characters Harper, Dayo and Rose. And the mention of the Korean and Jamaican food made me want to eat some!
  • The Reading Countess
    July 26, 2017
    Thanks to Edelweiss Above the Treeline for the sneak peek. Spirit Hunters hit the bookshelves yesterday. The first of what looks to be a series of middle grade books about a highly attuned 12 year old girl named Harper, I thought Spirit Hunters was "okay." Do I think my students will disagree with me and not be able to put it down? Yes. I wrestled with the rating on this one. The truth is, I didn't find the writing to be sharp. Yes, the book is geared for a younger reader. No, the writing should Thanks to Edelweiss Above the Treeline for the sneak peek. Spirit Hunters hit the bookshelves yesterday. The first of what looks to be a series of middle grade books about a highly attuned 12 year old girl named Harper, I thought Spirit Hunters was "okay." Do I think my students will disagree with me and not be able to put it down? Yes. I wrestled with the rating on this one. The truth is, I didn't find the writing to be sharp. Yes, the book is geared for a younger reader. No, the writing shouldn't talk down to them. I found it to be simplistic and lacking the beauty of words that so many books in this age range possess. For this reason alone, I cannot rate it higher. We have to aim high with kids. Period.That doesn't mean that Spirit Hunters doesn't have its merits. There are the multicultural characters peppered throughout the book. Ellen Oh is, after all, the champion of diverse characters in kids' books. While I didn't find the writing to have rich language, imagery and complex characters, I know that the creep factor for a 9 or 10 year old reader will mean that he/she will read this one way past bedtime. That's a good thing. I also liked how the chapters went back and forth between journal entries (Harper's viewpoint) and the events in the story (3rd person). This allowed the reader to take in more of what was going on, and might allow a teacher or another adult to jump into a conversation about reliable narrators.I did have a few grievances about Spirit Hunters, too. First, why must the character mention that her family sued the hospital and that the money was put into a trust (enough for her to live on for the rest of her life?) Perhaps this is a personal pet peeve, but I believe that our society has run rampant with the act of suing and to mention it so glibly in a children's book only serves to normalize the overuse of our court systems. I also did not like the plugs for Starbucks, KFC, and Popeye's. Again, I admit that this might be a personal pet peeve but our country simply does not sit around a home cooked meal in the way that I was raised to do night after night. The mention of these fast food restaurants in a kids' book felt not only planned but also a bit predatory. We know that our families are pushed for time. Between the need for both parents to work, the high divorce rate, and the over scheduling of children's "free time," our kids find themselves sitting with a kids' meal and a toy all too frequently. The obesity rate in our country echoes this. I don't believe giving it the cursory thumbs up in a children's book will help the growing epidemic. Thirdly, when Madison's sister breaks her nose it is mentioned by her parents that she wants a nose job. Really? In a children's book we are going to normalize the epidemic in our country of plastic surgery being the magic elixir? Perhaps in the next planned book (my final grievance) her sister will want breast surgery...Finally, why must our kids' books turn into yet another series? Can't we learn from the "Cars" and "Toy Story" movies and just enjoy the good old fashioned stand alone book? Okay. That's enough preaching. I'm hopping off of my soap box. Will my kids love this book? Yes. Will I book talk it after purchasing it for my classroom library? No.I'm not in the habit of disliking books. I hate giving this low of a rating. I love books. I love authors. I love rating books a 4 or a 5, just check out my reviews and you will see...Unfortunately, this one was not for me.
    more
  • Stormi (Books, Movies, Reviews. Oh my!)
    July 16, 2017
    This was my first book by this author but it won't be the last. I really enjoyed this creepy ghost story for young readers. Harper is not happy about moving from New York to Washington DC but she really starts to hate things when her brother tries to introduce her to his new friend Billy who lives in the house too and she can't see anyone. One of the reasons they have moved was for a fresh start after Harper endured a tramatic experience in a hospital, the thing is she doesn't remember what happ This was my first book by this author but it won't be the last. I really enjoyed this creepy ghost story for young readers. Harper is not happy about moving from New York to Washington DC but she really starts to hate things when her brother tries to introduce her to his new friend Billy who lives in the house too and she can't see anyone. One of the reasons they have moved was for a fresh start after Harper endured a tramatic experience in a hospital, the thing is she doesn't remember what happened and nobody can explain it. There was a fire at her school, she was sent to Briarly and while there she had several bones broken. Strange things are happening in their new house and her new friend Dayo tell her that everyone always thought her house was haunted. She just can't believe it but how else can she explain the strange things happening to her little brother. The longer they live there the stranger he gets and she starts to think there is someone in the house and he wants her brother. Harper starts to remember things from that patch at Briarly and it's making her a believer in ghost and she is also having visions of that evil boy in the house who she believes is trying to possess her brother. She also learns some things about her heritage and about battling ghost and she will do what ever she has to to save her little brother. I really liked Harper, she just wants things to be normal but not being able to remember what happened to her really bugs her. Her older sister isn't as close to her as she use to be and gets mad at her a lot. Her little brother who loves her starts becoming this really mean scary four year old. She has a lot on her plate for only being twelve but she handles things well. Okay so for a middle grade book I thought this was rather creepy so be careful about who you let read it. Maybe those on the older side of the middle grade spectrum or if you have some who really love creepy books and are ready for something scarier than goosebumps. I thought it was very well done and I felt like I was in a scary house while reading it.  There is no mention of it being a series but I could see it as one if the author decides to do it. :)
    more
  • 29Shift
    February 27, 2017
    Young readers searching for a genuinely scary ghost story need look no further than Ellen Oh's (of We Need Diverse Books fame) Spirit Hunters. In the creepy tale, Harper Raine has just moved into an old house with a storied past. Harper quickly feels that something isn't right, but can't quite place it until her little brother, Michael, makes a new "friend" in the house. As Harper begins to remember flashes of her own, other-wordly encounter from years before, she pieces together the very dark t Young readers searching for a genuinely scary ghost story need look no further than Ellen Oh's (of We Need Diverse Books fame) Spirit Hunters. In the creepy tale, Harper Raine has just moved into an old house with a storied past. Harper quickly feels that something isn't right, but can't quite place it until her little brother, Michael, makes a new "friend" in the house. As Harper begins to remember flashes of her own, other-wordly encounter from years before, she pieces together the very dark truth. Harper isn't alone, however; with the help of one very supportive, new friend and one very unique, old friend Harper will have to dig deep into her past to find the strength and courage to save her brother. Woven into the horror story is a tale of stressed familial love. Harper is Korean-American and there is one particular scene near the beginning of the book which depicts her unique situation in the community. Her mother and grandmother are estranged; this relationship builds on their Korean heritage and old family wounds. Harper is a heroine worth cheering for with a fantastic supporting cast. The scariest scenes – and they are quite scary! – are fantastic for middle grade. They're enough to make you look over your shoulder and pull the blankets up to your nose, but aren't enough to give most readers nightmares. For the stout-hearted seeking a great scare with good characters and morals to boot.
    more
  • Melissa Mcavoy
    July 28, 2017
    3 1/2 stars. The diversity and topic are great. Lots of kids love horror and having 11 year-old Korean-American Harper fighting for possession of her little brother with the help of an African (Jamaican?)-American friend, an African-American ghost, a red haired girl ghost and Harper's Korean grandmother is fun and exciting. The plot is relatively predictable- a mash up of Wait Till Helen Comes and an episode of Scooby Do. (Mean old man Carruthers and his secret lab) The writing is serviceable, i 3 1/2 stars. The diversity and topic are great. Lots of kids love horror and having 11 year-old Korean-American Harper fighting for possession of her little brother with the help of an African (Jamaican?)-American friend, an African-American ghost, a red haired girl ghost and Harper's Korean grandmother is fun and exciting. The plot is relatively predictable- a mash up of Wait Till Helen Comes and an episode of Scooby Do. (Mean old man Carruthers and his secret lab) The writing is serviceable, if occasionally clunky -"A rush of warmth filled Harper’s heart with a sensation she only vaguely remembered feeling before. It was the realization that she had connected with a true friend." & "She began to release the fear and discover a new feeling, one she couldn’t name. It came from deep within and felt ancient and powerful. Something beyond her age and her abilities. It frightened her because she knew she was tapping into something elemental and dangerous. It made her aware of how small and insignificant she really was." There is a lot of over explanation, stilted dialog, and too much telling rather than showing. That said the book is is eminently readable and I do think 5th and 6th graders will enjoy it.
    more
  • Aud
    July 28, 2017
    I just sort of expected more out of this. The "Flying Lessons" anthology was so good, I figured this would be excellent. There were a few creepy bits, but even for the target age range, the denouement just didn't feel very scary. It should have felt scarier, but I just didn't feel enough resonance with the characters. I liked the characters, I would have liked to spend more time under their skin. Maybe there was just a hair too much telling, and just not quite enough showing. It was alllllmost t I just sort of expected more out of this. The "Flying Lessons" anthology was so good, I figured this would be excellent. There were a few creepy bits, but even for the target age range, the denouement just didn't feel very scary. It should have felt scarier, but I just didn't feel enough resonance with the characters. I liked the characters, I would have liked to spend more time under their skin. Maybe there was just a hair too much telling, and just not quite enough showing. It was alllllmost there for me, but just missed the banana.
    more
  • Cambear
    June 28, 2017
    Horror is not my favorite genre so someone looking for a middle grade Exorcist would probably like this more than I did.Yes, this is actually a really scary book so if your MGer is looking for something spooky and occasionally gory, this is a good candidate. Thanks to HarperCollins for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 24, 2017
    Something about this felt a little simplistic, but on the whole, I enjoyed this. It's fast-paced and adventurous and parts of it will definitely keep kids guessing. It's spooky enough for kids who want that kind of read, but not utterly terrifying. Has the potential for sequels.Thanks to the publisher for a digital advance reader's copy, provided via Edelweiss.
    more
  • Michele Knott
    July 9, 2017
    Readers will love this delightfully creepy story! A book I read in daylight!
  • Emily
    July 26, 2017
    YOOOOOO this book is scarier than any horror movie I've ever seen! I loved it!
  • Jen Naughton
    February 14, 2017
    Meh. Not so good. Bailed halfway through.
  • Creatyvebooks
    January 30, 2017
    What a deliciously creepy and scary read Spirit Hunters is. I read this within one day and what a fun and while ride. Author Ellen Oh hits all the spots. Not only is Spirit Hunters intense and hauntingly terrifying is also have a well-rounded diverse cast. I love that we get a little Korean culture via Harper Raine the main character but we are also introduce to the Caribbean via Dayo the smart and funny neighbor that Harper quickly becomes friends with.I look forward to more Spirit Hunter books What a deliciously creepy and scary read Spirit Hunters is. I read this within one day and what a fun and while ride. Author Ellen Oh hits all the spots. Not only is Spirit Hunters intense and hauntingly terrifying is also have a well-rounded diverse cast. I love that we get a little Korean culture via Harper Raine the main character but we are also introduce to the Caribbean via Dayo the smart and funny neighbor that Harper quickly becomes friends with.I look forward to more Spirit Hunter books. I ready for more Harper, Rose and Dayo and the many adventures I'm sure they are going to have. Also more spooky stories about evil little boys and grumpy old man trying to live forever.Not much more to say but I love this book and I will be promoting the hell out of it to anyone that will listen.Thorough review to come closer to release date on my blog creatyvebooks.com
    more
  • Maureen
    January 22, 2017
    Ellen Oh's Spirit Hunters is a fabulous middle grade novel for those readers who like a scary story. Harper Raine and her family move from NYC to Washington, DC, and their new house feels eerie to Harper almost immediately. But when Harper's four year old brother begins acting act violently, Harper and her new friend Dayo realize there might be something to the rumors that Harper's house is haunted. Oh is the founder of We Need Diverse Books, and Harper is Korean. Her friend Dayo is Jamaican, an Ellen Oh's Spirit Hunters is a fabulous middle grade novel for those readers who like a scary story. Harper Raine and her family move from NYC to Washington, DC, and their new house feels eerie to Harper almost immediately. But when Harper's four year old brother begins acting act violently, Harper and her new friend Dayo realize there might be something to the rumors that Harper's house is haunted. Oh is the founder of We Need Diverse Books, and Harper is Korean. Her friend Dayo is Jamaican, and bits of their cultures are sprinkled throughout the novel. This is my first Oh novel, but it won't be my last. I hope we see Harper, Dayo, and Harper's grandmother in subsequent novels. I was given a digital copy of this novel from Edelweiss in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Cara
    January 22, 2017
    This book is SCARY. I couldn't finish it, I got too creeped out halfway through. Creepy, violent ghosts who posses little kids?? I wouldn't recommend this to anyone under 12, and even over 12, it would have to be someone who likes scary things! If you do like scary ghost stories (which I don't) this is a good one, although a bit cliche. I was pretty into it until I decided I valued my sleep and sanity over a gripping read. Definitely not my taste but I can see it being enjoyable if it is your ta This book is SCARY. I couldn't finish it, I got too creeped out halfway through. Creepy, violent ghosts who posses little kids?? I wouldn't recommend this to anyone under 12, and even over 12, it would have to be someone who likes scary things! If you do like scary ghost stories (which I don't) this is a good one, although a bit cliche. I was pretty into it until I decided I valued my sleep and sanity over a gripping read. Definitely not my taste but I can see it being enjoyable if it is your taste!Reviewed from the ARC.
    more
Write a review