Bitch Planet, Vol. 1
Eisner Award-nominated writer Kelly Sue DeConnick (Pretty Deadly, Captain Marvel) and Valentine De Landro (X-Factor) team up to bring you the premiere volume of Bitch Planet, a deliciously vicious riff on women-in-prison sci-fi exploitation.In a future just a few years down the road in the wrong direction, a woman's failure to comply with her patriarchal overlords will result in exile to the meanest penal planet in the galaxy. When the newest crop of fresh femmes arrive, can they work together to stay alive or will hidden agendas, crooked guards, and the deadliest sport on (or off!) Earth take them to their maker?Collects BITCH PLANET #1-5.

Bitch Planet, Vol. 1 Details

TitleBitch Planet, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 7th, 2015
PublisherImage Comics
ISBN1632153661
ISBN-139781632153661
Number of pages156 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Feminism, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics, Dystopia

Bitch Planet, Vol. 1 Review

  • Anne
    October 2, 2015
    So, I loved the feminist slant, and I loved the in-your-face attitude of the comic. Especially the stuff about body image. LOVED IT!But as far as the actual plot went, I was a little disappointed.Maybe because I'd read so much hype about this one? I'm just not sure.In dystopian future women are arrested and imprisoned for being non-compliant. Just about anything from being overweight to outspoken can result in incarceration on (what is commonly called) Bitch Planet.There's lots of nudity in this So, I loved the feminist slant, and I loved the in-your-face attitude of the comic. Especially the stuff about body image. LOVED IT!But as far as the actual plot went, I was a little disappointed.Maybe because I'd read so much hype about this one? I'm just not sure.In dystopian future women are arrested and imprisoned for being non-compliant. Just about anything from being overweight to outspoken can result in incarceration on (what is commonly called) Bitch Planet.There's lots of nudity in this, but it's not the kind that pays service to drooling fanboys. It takes all the Women in Prison movies, embraces them, and then turns them on their ear.Even the obligatory sexy shower scene, gets a brand new twist.Although, the best part (to me) was reading all of the hilarious advertisements in the back of each issue. Make sure you don't pass these up!Spicy Cinnamon Taco douche...for the girl adventurer!And that's where this volume shines. It was all the small things that it called BULLSHIT on, that made such a huge impact on the story. These are the things that women are told to worry about every day! Does your vag really need to smell like some sort of a chemical flower? I'm gonna step out on a limb, and say...no.It deals with different body types, weight, color, and the general diversity in women, but it also deals with the attitudes towards women with...um, attitude. If you're outspoken and opinionated does that make you a bitch? Yeah, maybe. shrugs But is that a bad thing? Again, going out on that limb to say...no.Alrighty, as far as the story?A group of these Bitch Planet prisoners are going to compete in some sort of game, as the Female team. It's apparently being done to add spice to this Olympic Gamesish competition (<--still a bit unclear). Of course, the deck is stacked against them, there's a conspiracy with the higher ups in government, and public opinion is not in their favor. But the ladies may be able to make a statement (and/or kill a bunch of people in charge) if they make it to the final round of the games.I THINK.Hopefully, I'll get the opportunity to keep reading this one, and maybe by the next volume the main plot will be a little more defined.Overall, though, I thought the message in this was very cool. Recommended for boys and girls of all ages over 18. I received a digital copy from NetGalley and the publishers.Get this review and more at:
    more
  • Brad
    October 25, 2015
    This series is SO DAMN REFRESHING. It is an absolute indictment against all kinds of double-standards, it reads like a play-by-play scrapbook of everything that's wrong with PEOPLE. It's not just men versus women. It's everyone against everyone, with the heroes being only those people willing to live by the "I just don't give a fuck anymore," standard. Good for them!Is this a book about modern feminism? Hell Yes. Is it skewering in bright satire everything that's wrong with us? Hell YES.Men are This series is SO DAMN REFRESHING. It is an absolute indictment against all kinds of double-standards, it reads like a play-by-play scrapbook of everything that's wrong with PEOPLE. It's not just men versus women. It's everyone against everyone, with the heroes being only those people willing to live by the "I just don't give a fuck anymore," standard. Good for them!Is this a book about modern feminism? Hell Yes. Is it skewering in bright satire everything that's wrong with us? Hell YES.Men are the obvious targets, of course, but the commentary about women who are complicit in the system is truly scathing. Add all this to a damn brilliant script and effortless character development and fearless willingness to show real women with natural bodies that are nude over practically every other page and equally IJDGAFA because they're on a prison planet designed for women, and you've got yourself a beautiful pink brawl of a graphic novel well on the way to becoming a personal favorite across any genre.Yeah. I'm white and I'm a guy. So the fuck what? It's like I've been waiting for this comic all my life. I've hated the way women are treated and treat themselves ever since I could even think for myself.I hate all the fuckwits that reduce people into tidbits and object lessons and self-reinforcing shamebarrels of defeatism. Most of my issues with YA literature revolves around the way it turns girls and women into the nightmare versions of themselves instead of just REAL PEOPLE.This here comic is putting all the crap thinking on a spotlight, and I love it. Love it. Love it. Love it.If you think I'm joking about the message, then sit down and read the short essays at the end. I'm so fucking proud of these women. All I can really hope for at this point is that it becomes a runaway global success that crushes the patriarchy by the sheer weight of Penny. Or it's own hollow ideals. One or the other, it doesn't matter. It's a WIN, either way.
    more
  • ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)
    October 30, 2015
    Well, well, well, look who didn't like a book everyone else loves!» Blurb: "Think Margaret Atwood meets Inglourious Basterds."» Me: "I don't give a damn about Tarantino, but please don't insult Margaret Atwood." It is the second time I read a graphic novel by Kelly Sue DeConnick. It is the second time that the first thing that comes to my little mind after reading a graphic novel by Kelly Sue DeConnick is: "ERR…"✎ ERR…because most disappointing feminist slant ever. ✎ ERR…because great premise bu Well, well, well, look who didn't like a book everyone else loves!» Blurb: "Think Margaret Atwood meets Inglourious Basterds."» Me: "I don't give a damn about Tarantino, but please don't insult Margaret Atwood." It is the second time I read a graphic novel by Kelly Sue DeConnick. It is the second time that the first thing that comes to my little mind after reading a graphic novel by Kelly Sue DeConnick is: "ERR…"✎ ERR…because most disappointing feminist slant ever. ✎ ERR…because great premise but poor execution.✎ ERR…because bland bland bland, flat flat flat, dull dull dull, one-dimensional characters. ✎ ERR…because barely there, uninteresting, should-have-been-amazing, paper-thin plot.✎ ERR…because, just like in Pretty Deadly, Kelly Sue DeConnick tries too hard to be original, and clever, and cool, and hip, and wow-I'm-so-awesome. And the result is an unsatisfying, jumbled mess.✎ ERR…because I don't like the art. At all. Because it reminds me of outdated 60s/70s B movies. Because the style changes so much from one page to the next you'd think the artist had a personality disorder. And because the color chart is all over the place. There is absolutely no unity here. »» And the moral of this non-review is: either this graphic novel is really a confusing mess, or I've had too much vodka again. I've had it with over-hyped crap. I'm outta here.There is lots of nudity is this one, so if it's not your thing, stay away. Well, given my rating for this delightful masterpiece, I'd tell you to stay away from it, period. But hey, it's your life, you can waste it any way you want.
    more
  • Natalie
    September 19, 2016
    This review contains *spoilers*.I was feeling a bit under the weather these past few days, so this came at the perfect time for me to read and escape into. In a future not so far away, troublesome and offensive women are jettisoned to the off-world penitentiary commonly referred to as Bitch Planet.There's an incredible variety of characters that brought this volume to life, with my personal favorites being Kamau Kogo and Penny Rolle (issue three was my favorite because Penny got to be the star) This review contains *spoilers*.I was feeling a bit under the weather these past few days, so this came at the perfect time for me to read and escape into. In a future not so far away, troublesome and offensive women are jettisoned to the off-world penitentiary commonly referred to as Bitch Planet.There's an incredible variety of characters that brought this volume to life, with my personal favorites being Kamau Kogo and Penny Rolle (issue three was my favorite because Penny got to be the star). Her backstory was one of the most interesting ones!!Meanwhile, Kamau Kogo is tasked with pulling together a team of prisoners to compete in the all-male sport known as Megaton. Yes, you did!The women in this one were definitely the highlight, so when the focus shifted a bit from them, I kept losing my motivation to continue. I just personally loved the volume more when it didn't focus on the tedious men in "charge." And another thing: I wasn't expecting this graphic novel to be so enlightening, but it handled a lot of topics in the most informative way. It's similar to one of my favorite shows - Orange Is the New Black - in that way. They even both had a terrible cliff-hanger at the end... No one is safe.Seriously, damn that ending... the only silver lining is that the next volume comes out in October.And my only other (tiny) complaint is that I would've liked for more of a background on all the incredible women in this volume. So I'm hoping that will happen in volume two.Also, feminism in graphic novels? Yes and more, please. Overall, I'm really glad that I picked up this volume and cannot wait for what's to come next!*Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Bitch Planet, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission!* This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    December 30, 2015
    You are non-compliant, prepare for AWESOME.
  • Steph Sinclair
    May 3, 2016
    I haven't been reading a lot this year, because Life has been very unkind to my hobbies, but I saw Leigh Bardugo talking about this on instagram one day and so I decided to check it out. So let me start telling you how much you need this in your life immediately. The comic is a work of brilliance. It tackles patriarchy and sexism in a way that will make you angry and empowered simultaneously. It makes you want to give the entire world the one finger salute and while healing it. It made me want t I haven't been reading a lot this year, because Life has been very unkind to my hobbies, but I saw Leigh Bardugo talking about this on instagram one day and so I decided to check it out. So let me start telling you how much you need this in your life immediately. The comic is a work of brilliance. It tackles patriarchy and sexism in a way that will make you angry and empowered simultaneously. It makes you want to give the entire world the one finger salute and while healing it. It made me want to burn shit down and tap dance on my desk. I don't know. I just had a hell of a lot of feelings after reading this. OH OH OH. THE SHOWER SCENE. NO WORDS EXIST THAT CAN EXPLAIN WHAT I'M FEELING. Just read it. You won't be disappointed.
    more
  • Scott (GrilledCheeseSamurai)
    October 25, 2015
    It's good. It's smart. I'm a dude. Doing any kind of review on this kind of scares me. Yeah. I'm intimidated. fuck you.The truth is, besides being scared, I just don't think I'm smart enough to review this properly. I mean, I'm smart, I just...I dunno. I'd just end up shitting my pants.So fuck it.Without getting into what this comic should mean to people...human rights, feminism, and all those smart ideas, I can say that beyond that, after all that, this is still a fuck-ton of fun to read. What It's good. It's smart. I'm a dude. Doing any kind of review on this kind of scares me. Yeah. I'm intimidated. fuck you.The truth is, besides being scared, I just don't think I'm smart enough to review this properly. I mean, I'm smart, I just...I dunno. I'd just end up shitting my pants.So fuck it.Without getting into what this comic should mean to people...human rights, feminism, and all those smart ideas, I can say that beyond that, after all that, this is still a fuck-ton of fun to read. What I mean to say is, even as important as it is, even without the agenda of a message, this comic is hella fun. The art is wicked - I loved every page - and the covers...every one of them is so badass. The characters scare the shit out of me. Both the people on earth and on Bitch Planet. The story doesn't pull any punches and, frankly, makes me feel kind of uncomfortable reading it.And I guess that's the point.DeConnick nails it. I applaud her and the success that this book is so deservedly getting.That said...with the way this volume wraps up, for the love of shit...can we please get the next one...!
    more
  • Jean Menzies
    May 21, 2016
    This volume did not let me down. I expected it to be very aggressively in your face with references to sex violence and lots of nudity because I'd been forewarned but generally speaking I think all of this worked perfectly. I thought the tone of the whole volume was really engaging. About mid way through a plot point was introduced that was essentially a rip off of The Longest Yard, this might irritate some (I'm somewhat indifferent although I did roll my eyes at the time) but I think it's going This volume did not let me down. I expected it to be very aggressively in your face with references to sex violence and lots of nudity because I'd been forewarned but generally speaking I think all of this worked perfectly. I thought the tone of the whole volume was really engaging. About mid way through a plot point was introduced that was essentially a rip off of The Longest Yard, this might irritate some (I'm somewhat indifferent although I did roll my eyes at the time) but I think it's going to be an important choice in moving the story along in future volumes.
    more
  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    January 29, 2017
    Imagine a world where the white men in power, rather than making and enforcing laws equitable for everyone, just remove the people they don't want to have to deal with from their vicinity, for any level of infraction. This is real life! In the news this week, it is people from specific countries and religions even with legal residency status in our country, barred from re-entry. In this graphic novel, it is "non-compliant" women, relocated to another planet. I decided to read it, thinking perhap Imagine a world where the white men in power, rather than making and enforcing laws equitable for everyone, just remove the people they don't want to have to deal with from their vicinity, for any level of infraction. This is real life! In the news this week, it is people from specific countries and religions even with legal residency status in our country, barred from re-entry. In this graphic novel, it is "non-compliant" women, relocated to another planet. I decided to read it, thinking perhaps it would feel like a balm, but instead it was a little too close for comfort.Politics aside, I felt a little dumped into the story, while recognizing that as typical comics strategy... but I could benefit from a little more back story and context to really understand everything that confronted me on the page. If a graphic novel is trying to tell a feminist story, do we still need pages filled with nudity? I'm no prude but it felt like overkill. There are other themes going on here, the performative expectation on female bodies, body image, and even the rankings within groups of women by race. I appreciate graphic novels but I think for this particular story I would have preferred a longer narrative like a novel. But I can give the authors and artists the space to further develop the story in their chosen form and see what happens.
    more
  • Donovan
    May 10, 2016
    "Hey Kids, Patriarchy!"Okay, I finally get it. I mean, I "got" what Kelly Sue DeConnick was trying to do last time, but on this reread, because I'm that dedicated to understanding, I really got it. And I actually laughed because it's absolutely absurd. "Earth is the father. And your father... has cast you out."Try to imagine the utmost patriarchal society. I bet it's not as patriarchal and bigoted as Bitch Planet, because in this book sexism has won. Women have "complied" and become crazy dietin "Hey Kids, Patriarchy!"Okay, I finally get it. I mean, I "got" what Kelly Sue DeConnick was trying to do last time, but on this reread, because I'm that dedicated to understanding, I really got it. And I actually laughed because it's absolutely absurd. "Earth is the father. And your father... has cast you out."Try to imagine the utmost patriarchal society. I bet it's not as patriarchal and bigoted as Bitch Planet, because in this book sexism has won. Women have "complied" and become crazy dieting, body-obsessed, subservient subordinate suburban slaves. And if they refuse or, you know, try to be thinking individuals, they're shipped off to Bitch Planet, the bitches! "Skins. They like 'em big like that. It's in their animal nature--big asses, big lips. You ever fuck a skin? Wild."It's no coincidence that Penelope Rolle, a (gay?) black obese woman, is singled out from the very beginning by the guards, and yet also by DeConnick because she's such a tough character. One of my favorite parts is when the Fathers have Penelope in custody and discuss her "treatment." They tell her she's insubordinate, aesthetically offensive, wantonly obese, and has disfigured hair, whatever that means. The guards hook her up to electronics which project her ideal self into a mirror, and she's exactly the same! The Fathers are incredulous. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it," Penny says. So yeah, this book does terrible things to women by a woman writer to illustrate how terrible women are actually treated in real life. They aren't shipped off to an otherworld prison, but women are still treated like shit. Paid less. Judged by their hair, weight, diet, makeup, clothing. Judged by their skin and sexual orientation. Objectified. Demoralized. Raped and blamed for being raped. Bodies controlled by legislation. Women's suffrage isn't even a HUNDRED YEARS old yet in America. And I'm a father now to a sweet little daughter, so this shit is really an active concern. I worry about her heading out into the insanity we call the "real world.""To peace, my friends...and god bless the bloodthirsty rites that help us to keep it."While DeConnick makes some very serious points with satire, it's also intermittently funny because it's insane. An offworld female prison? Nuts. Total compliance to men? Wacko. And the ad pages. These remind me of The Goon. Because they're in theme and totally ridiculous. Niagra libido pills? Spicy cinnamon taco douche spray? Hilarious!As a man with somewhat feminist ideals, this was a tough read (which required two reads) because women are treated so abhorrently. It's hard to watch what they go through. But that's the point. And as long as it's disturbing and obvious as bad behavior, it's okay to disassociate and laugh and be entertained. It's fucking terrible, right? But sometimes truth is stranger than fiction, because in some ways this book is spot on. I really enjoyed DeConnick's writing and humor this read through, and Valentine De Landro's illustrations (and covers especially) are fantastic.
    more
  • Jeannette Nikolova
    June 7, 2016
    Also available on the WondrousBooks blog. Ha ha ha. I can't  believe the time for me to review this finally came. You know, considering the fact that I read it half a year ago and I kind of never found the time and motivation to write this review. Except that now it is exam time, so of course there is time to write random reviews. Uh-uh.When I was introduced to the story of Bitch Planet by my comic book guru, I thought "That sounds so cool!" Yeah... about that.It was too much for me on so many Also available on the WondrousBooks blog. Ha ha ha. I can't  believe the time for me to review this finally came. You know, considering the fact that I read it half a year ago and I kind of never found the time and motivation to write this review. Except that now it is exam time, so of course there is time to write random reviews. Uh-uh.When I was introduced to the story of Bitch Planet by my comic book guru, I thought "That sounds so cool!" Yeah... about that.It was too much for me on so many levels. So much, in fact, that I once fell asleep while reading it.Bitch Planet is very harsh, kind of vulgar and trying to be hardcore, while failing to a certain degree. I swear, I have never in my life seen so many boobs. Even if I look at mine 50 times a day, I would still not see as many boobs in a day as there are in Bitch Planet. And do not be fooled into believing that those are boobs from hot sex scenes. They are just random boobs. Everywhere. Night of the Prison Beewbs.The overall feel of the characters for me was disappointing. I could care less for all of them. They were all depicted as tough bitches with basically no personality traits, aside from that. They were their toughness and their respective looks to set them apart from one another.And my problem with the story was that as cool as the idea is(and can still become), it wasn't clear what it was trying to be. Is Bitch Planet a thriller? Action? Horror? Some weird mix of Andy Warhol and noire detective novel? All of the above? What?But the art was overall undeniably pretty. It had a charm and a grit that I did appreciate. (But too many boobs.) And as much as this was an unsatisfactory first volume, it could possibly serve at least as a good stepping stone for the continuation of the series, which I am kind of looking forward too, because I have put this on my lookout list and I do believe there is a future in this story. (God... I say this every time. I am too big of an optimist. Eek.)
    more
  • Macarena
    October 27, 2016
    "Sos... ¿muy gorda? ¿Muy flaca? ¿Muy ruidosa? ¿Muy tímida? ¿Muy sexual? ¿Muy negra? ¿Muy lo que sea que quieran juzgar? Entonces tal vez pertenezcas al... ¡¡Bitch Planet!!" Clasificada M por contenido maduroEsta novela gráfica es una hipérbole del Patriarcado. Es tanto así que las mujeres "no complacientes" son enviadas al Bitch Planet un planeta/cárcel para mujeres. Las mujeres en este mundo solo sirven para el gusto de los hombres. Que hoy en día es una hipérbole que estamos tratando de alej "Sos... ¿muy gorda? ¿Muy flaca? ¿Muy ruidosa? ¿Muy tímida? ¿Muy sexual? ¿Muy negra? ¿Muy lo que sea que quieran juzgar? Entonces tal vez pertenezcas al... ¡¡Bitch Planet!!" Clasificada M por contenido maduroEsta novela gráfica es una hipérbole del Patriarcado. Es tanto así que las mujeres "no complacientes" son enviadas al Bitch Planet un planeta/cárcel para mujeres. Las mujeres en este mundo solo sirven para el gusto de los hombres. Que hoy en día es una hipérbole que estamos tratando de alejarnos lo más que podemos pero que en pequeños focos todavía existen, además de otras maneras de violencia de tipo psicológica como "imagen corporal perfecta" entre otras.Es una novela de gran interés. Te abre los ojos a las pequeñas cositas del patriarcado interiorizadas en nuestra cultura... ¡Espero que la lean! Yo me estoy comprando el volumen dos, ahora mismo :D Reseña completa en mi blog próximamente.
    more
  • Ashley
    July 7, 2015
    I don’t even really know what to say about this book, other than you should probably read it.I was a bit skeptical going in to Bitch Planet, despite glowing reviews, because I’d read Kelly Sue DeConnick’s other non-superhero ongoing comic, Pretty Deadly, earlier this year, and was pretty unimpressed with it at the least, actively turned off at worst. Still can’t decide which at this point. (The art was gorgeous, though.) But holy crap, I shouldn’t have been worried. This was AWESOME. Like, I nee I don’t even really know what to say about this book, other than you should probably read it.I was a bit skeptical going in to Bitch Planet, despite glowing reviews, because I’d read Kelly Sue DeConnick’s other non-superhero ongoing comic, Pretty Deadly, earlier this year, and was pretty unimpressed with it at the least, actively turned off at worst. Still can’t decide which at this point. (The art was gorgeous, though.) But holy crap, I shouldn’t have been worried. This was AWESOME. Like, I need posters on my walls. I’m not quite at the point where I’m gonna get myself a Non-Compliant tattoo, but perhaps I am close.You’ve definitely got to be into this sort of thing, though. “This sort of thing” being an intensely feminist, profane, satirical dystopian exploitation riff where women are sent to prison on another planet for being “non-compliant” (a phrase which can be stretched to accommodate all manner of behaviors–let’s just say if I lived in this world, I would have been sent to Bitch Planet long, long ago). And it’s funny! And sad. And gross! And my favorite character is the legit best, but I don’t want to spoil it, but it’s soooo good.Valentine De Landro’s art wasn’t drop your pants gorgeous like Emma Rios’ in Pretty Deadly, but its pulpy style with limited color palette works perfectly with the tone of the story, and it has fun with itself, while still managing to convey some heady stuff. I think I actually prefer it to Rios’, even though Rios’ is so beautiful. I mean, just look at that mother of a cover. Right up in your face with those birds. The whole thing is like that. Not for the easily offended, but fun and smart and incisive. Lots of nakedness and unruly wimminfolk.Where’s she supposed to put it, you guys???My only warning to anyone interested, be prepared for waits in between issues. Even though the first three issues were published consecutively, it was five months in between issues four and five, and two months in between three and four. They didn’t issue the first trade until almost a year after the first issue was originally published. Issue six comes out in January. If the pattern holds, we won’t have the next trade until November of 2016. I didn’t know any of this when I picked it up. Perhaps I would have waited if I did. It’s even worse than the wait in between Saga’s![4.5 stars]
    more
  • Bee (Heart Full of Books)
    March 23, 2017
    This was recommended to me by one of my seminar tutors, and I'm so glad I picked it up! It was awesome and powerful, and I can't wait for Vol. 2!
  • Sesana
    October 21, 2015
    (Received from Netgalley for review.)The title kind of put me off this one for a bit. I don't know about you, but I don't relish carrying around a book with "bitch" in huge letters on the cover. But I heard so many great things about this book, and I love the cover, and I generally trust DeConnick. So I jumped at the chance to get it from Netgalley, and I'm very glad I did.Bitch Planet is a deeply feminist take on "women in prison" exploitation media, and it's damned good. It has all the action (Received from Netgalley for review.)The title kind of put me off this one for a bit. I don't know about you, but I don't relish carrying around a book with "bitch" in huge letters on the cover. But I heard so many great things about this book, and I love the cover, and I generally trust DeConnick. So I jumped at the chance to get it from Netgalley, and I'm very glad I did.Bitch Planet is a deeply feminist take on "women in prison" exploitation media, and it's damned good. It has all the action it would need to be entertaining, while seamlessly folding in the social commentary that makes it more than just a women in prison comic. See, you get sentenced to "bitch planet" by being a non-compliant woman. By being fat or a lesbian or getting in the way of your husband marrying his younger mistress or anything that would make you less than a perfect little woman. It's dystopian, to be sure, but some of the things said are uncomfortably close to things said every day. Which is, of course, what makes it effective.To me, the single best issue is the one that focuses on Penny, an unapologetically and happily big woman. It's perceptive and carefully written and powerful. The moment when it's confirmed that Penny really does love herself as is was one of the most joyful things I've read in comics in a long time. There's more than a bit of nudity in this book, which actually didn't bother me. The nudity is resolutely non-sexual, and I appreciate the diversity in body types represented. I think that it was included because it's such an integral part of women in prison exploitation, and DeConnick and De Landro wanted to desexualize the situation. And it works, partly because the women don't all look alike, and they definitely don't all look conventionally attractive.I was hoping that I would like this, but I was surprised with just how much that I love it. I am kind of disappointed that the essays that were at the back of the original issues weren't included in the trade. I would have loved to read those, too.
    more
  • David Schaafsma
    June 5, 2015
    I very much like the energy and originality and edginess of this comic's first volume. Women who do not fit into society's ideal image for women--physically, emotionally, and so on--get sent to Bitch Planet, and as they say on the cover, these women are "caged and [justifiably] enraged." Men take a hit in this one, of course, but women take their fair share of abuse, for buying into and helping reinforce societal standards. There's plenty of humor with the political commentary, which is perhaps I very much like the energy and originality and edginess of this comic's first volume. Women who do not fit into society's ideal image for women--physically, emotionally, and so on--get sent to Bitch Planet, and as they say on the cover, these women are "caged and [justifiably] enraged." Men take a hit in this one, of course, but women take their fair share of abuse, for buying into and helping reinforce societal standards. There's plenty of humor with the political commentary, which is perhaps primarily feminist, but also points to increased societal standardization/othering. Fake ads on how women can become acceptable and "in compliance" accompany each issue in the volume, and are funny and insightful and right on. Sometimes collected volumes leave out such "extras" but here they are smart to include. Matt Kindt does this fake commercials thing, in Mind Mgmt, and probably lots of others do, too, but this is to the point in the larger send-up of advertising/media in the world of women's image-making. The feel of it you can see from enlarging that cover. It has a retro feel (i.e., see my hippie phrase "right on," above) :) as if calling forth the Women's Liberation movement of the sixties, but there's updating to the present, too. There's also this retro feel of it from fifties films about women in prison, but it turns that sort of s/m "caged women"purpose of those films (made for men, natch, primarily) on its head and shows you women who are not just trapped sex kittens but really angry ass-kicking women. The presentation is very inviting. DeConnick's writing is solid and engaging, but Valentine De Landro's artwork is even a more attractive aspect of this one so far; funky and attractive, really inventive, and like I said, edgy. Not much happens in this first volume except world-building, to see what happens on Earth and what happens on Bitch Planet. We get to meet expected asshole creepy guys who send women away for being non-compliant with men's rules. You get some back story about a favorite character, the extra extra large Penny, but not so much about other specific characters yet. But it's a great start to this series, which reminds me a bit of other women-forced-into-servitude stories, such as The Stepford Wives (okay, that's different, I know) and Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and so on, though this one is wilder, for sure.
    more
  • Mike
    November 1, 2015
    Gorgeous art, arresting premise, good storytelling. I have the great fortune to live in Portland, where Kelly Sue either (a) lives or (b) has stationed an incredible LMD to keep us fooled. I have gone out for nearly every signing that Kelly Sue has held, and taken the time to get to know her as a person (almost moreso than as a writer).Kelly Sue's a fascinating person - opinionated and generous, painfully self-critical and talented and expressive as soon as she gets out of her own way. Successfu Gorgeous art, arresting premise, good storytelling. I have the great fortune to live in Portland, where Kelly Sue either (a) lives or (b) has stationed an incredible LMD to keep us fooled. I have gone out for nearly every signing that Kelly Sue has held, and taken the time to get to know her as a person (almost moreso than as a writer).Kelly Sue's a fascinating person - opinionated and generous, painfully self-critical and talented and expressive as soon as she gets out of her own way. Successful in ways I could only envy - every time I see her table at one of the Portland comics shows, the lineup of people waiting to see her gets longer and more daunting. (Hell, at the last Rose City Comicon, I almost walked straight up to her table because I assumed the line of 30+ people was waiting for the bathroom. Barely walked away with my life.)The stories of Kelly Sue's that I like best as weird/dark and sarcastic as hell, expressing a point of view that is fuelled by incredibly personal feminism and socialism, without becoming that kind of smash-you-over-the-head screed that unsubtle creators throw at us when they're new to the gig. (I still remember my brother taking me to see one of his Toronto theatre idols do a one-man show about politics that couldn't have been more political and tone-deaf if it was written by a ten-year-old. We were both disappointed to the point of drink.)This book has all the markings of near-future sci-fi, and some great characters who I'm instantly interested in (and in the case of Penny, instantly in love with).
    more
  • Tori (InToriLex)
    February 9, 2016
    Find this and other Reviews at InToriLexThis was an awesome Mashup of satire, humor, truth and awesome visuals. I recommended this for mature readers over 18.  In this dystopian future women are sent to Bitch Planet for non-compliance=not following the manipulative script the ruling men, have decided all women must follow. The visuals are fantastic, and there's gems all over the place taking aim at all the crap society tell women they must be. Loving yourself for who you are in this world, is a Find this and other Reviews at InToriLexThis was an awesome Mashup of satire, humor, truth and awesome visuals. I recommended this for mature readers over 18.  In this dystopian future women are sent to Bitch Planet for non-compliance=not following the manipulative script the ruling men, have decided all women must follow. The visuals are fantastic, and there's gems all over the place taking aim at all the crap society tell women they must be. Loving yourself for who you are in this world, is a radical rebellion that is punished harshly. Most of this issues focus on meeting the main characters who will be forming a Bitch Planet team to compete in Megaton/ Duemila, a national violent sport that usually only involves trained athletes. But we also see glimpses of how warped the society at large is. It is dangerous to value woman as more than shells used for the service of men, and anyone trying makes themselves a target. There's  social commentary about how luxurious it is for the people who can exercise power over others to act all knowing, while the people they enslave are just struggling to survive. In this too familiar future, everything seems to be for sale, while violence is used unfairly and often. There is a lot of nudity in this comic, but it shows the many ways a woman's body can look rather than what's passes in our society as the standard. There's so much goodness to unpack, and I'm really looking forward to how the plot develops in future issues. I'm also interested in how race is addressed in this world. The back of each issue has awesome ads, that poke fun at normalized ads telling women that what is natural and normal, should be changed. This is a delight that pulls no punches, and should be a joy for all comic lovers and readers who enjoy feminist satire.
    more
  • Melanie
    November 25, 2015
    I don't read a lot of comics or graphic novels, but Bitch Planet is the best I've ever read. I'm not sure if it's because it's the only feminist comic I've ever read, but I'm officially addicted and need more. The art is fantastic, the banter is wonderful, and the messages are perfect. And at the end of each comic there are ads, but not the regular marketing ads, but Bitch Planet ads. I loved this touch, and it really makes you feel like you're in this world. Some ads are messages from people in I don't read a lot of comics or graphic novels, but Bitch Planet is the best I've ever read. I'm not sure if it's because it's the only feminist comic I've ever read, but I'm officially addicted and need more. The art is fantastic, the banter is wonderful, and the messages are perfect. And at the end of each comic there are ads, but not the regular marketing ads, but Bitch Planet ads. I loved this touch, and it really makes you feel like you're in this world. Some ads are messages from people in the story. Some are for the "guard gear" that the guards of Bitch Planet wear. Some are just blatant reminders of the "non-compliant" women's places in this world. This is a dystopian future where women who are not "compliant" are sent to Bitch Planet to live out their lives. The women have a vast array of reasons to be sent to this planet prison. Some women are sent there from just not pleasing their husbands. This bind up has the first five volumes in this world: Issue #1: This comic is basically just setting up the world for you. You will learn the hard way that successful men can pretty much do away with their wives at the drop of a hat. Having a mistress is completely okay. Just send your wife to Bitch Planet. Issue #2: We learn more about our star, Kamau Kogo! She's an ex-professional athlete, who is wanted for Megaton; which is two teams, with the allowance of 2,000 pounds, who will fight to the death, while playing a game for the world to see. One team will be made of the guards of Bitch Planet, the other will be a team made by Kamau. Issue #3: This was my favorite issue, because it was all about my favorite character; Penelope Leona! She is the embodiment of loving your body, no matter what. I know it might sound crazy, but I connect with this character more than I connect with books I read full series of. Hell, I connect more with Penelope than real life humans. And the ending of this issue was nothing short of perfection. Issue #4: Kamau really shows how strong she is. Obviously she is physically strong, but she also showcases her mental strength by forming a new alliance (even if it was by brute force). We also learn that Kamau has a weak spot that will probably be exploited. Issue #5: This comic is the first game of Megaton. It becomes very apparently, very quickly, how the games are going to go, and how the guards care nothing about the lives of the Bitch Planet prisoners. Bitch Planet surprised the hell out of me. My only regret is that I didn't read it sooner, or that there is only one more single issue out as of today. It will make you angry, it will make you think, it will make you want to do something. I can't think of the last time I've felt so strongly about a graphic novel, because I never have before. Bitch Planet is what every girl should be reading.Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  • Paul
    July 1, 2016
    I'm very much pro-sexual equality, because I'm not a cretin, but having a feminist message doesn't guarantee a good review from me, I'm afraid.Despite this book's overall message, I just found it to be a little too much Orange Is The New Black in space, despite the bait-and-switch of principle protagonist early on in the story... which was too much of a blatant 'Look! We're not really just doing OITNB in space!' moment for my tastes.Also, didn't Dark Horse do this exact concept in their (admitte I'm very much pro-sexual equality, because I'm not a cretin, but having a feminist message doesn't guarantee a good review from me, I'm afraid.Despite this book's overall message, I just found it to be a little too much Orange Is The New Black in space, despite the bait-and-switch of principle protagonist early on in the story... which was too much of a blatant 'Look! We're not really just doing OITNB in space!' moment for my tastes.Also, didn't Dark Horse do this exact concept in their (admittedly hit-and-miss) Grindhouse book just last year?Then the sport plot kicks in and, I'm afraid, for this old-as-the-hills reader, that just turned it into a copy of Harlem Heroes but with the racial issues swapped out for gender issues. Most of this book's readers will probably be far too young (or not British enough) to remember Harlem Heroes, so the creative team probably won't lose any sleep over that one.So, essentially, Bitch Planet scores very low in the originality stakes and the execution (which can often make even a derivative concept worth reading) wasn't good enough to elevate it beyond 'pretty entertaining'. Still, worth a read. The fake adverts on the back covers are hilarious (although that, too, is somethings that's been done before).
    more
  • Sabrina
    June 8, 2015
    Not in love with the story yet, but this comic deserves all of the props for unabashedly tearing down the patriarchy and celebrating intersectionality. The latter is particularly important because it is often neglected in more popular feminist works (Caitlin Moran's How to Be a Woman, for instance). I really liked issue 3 in particular, and wish it was more indicative of the comic as a whole. I also enjoyed a lot of the retro ads, which were funny and depressing. I wish the feminist essays that Not in love with the story yet, but this comic deserves all of the props for unabashedly tearing down the patriarchy and celebrating intersectionality. The latter is particularly important because it is often neglected in more popular feminist works (Caitlin Moran's How to Be a Woman, for instance). I really liked issue 3 in particular, and wish it was more indicative of the comic as a whole. I also enjoyed a lot of the retro ads, which were funny and depressing. I wish the feminist essays that I've heard were in the single issues were found here :[
    more
  • Crystal Starr Light
    November 17, 2015
    Bullet Review:This was awesome! I love the in-your-face, unabashed feminism. I love the diversity of characters. I LOVE PENNY.Kick some @$$ NCs!!!OH and it's ACTUALLY a dystopia! DO NOT FAINT!
  • Gavin
    June 5, 2015
    I find KSD books not quite my cuppa...but they're never boring.I think she's a very important voice to have in th industry.This book was huge hyped, and for most of it, I'm like...hmm, this isn't doing it.But then there was a moment where the evil male overlords (Fathers) tried to defeat Penny, a very large black girl with attitude (cliche yes, but...) by showing her that her own ideal image of herself wasn't what she was...but then, turns out Penny is already her ideal self, and in that moment, I find KSD books not quite my cuppa...but they're never boring.I think she's a very important voice to have in th industry.This book was huge hyped, and for most of it, I'm like...hmm, this isn't doing it.But then there was a moment where the evil male overlords (Fathers) tried to defeat Penny, a very large black girl with attitude (cliche yes, but...) by showing her that her own ideal image of herself wasn't what she was...but then, turns out Penny is already her ideal self, and in that moment, when they try to strike her down, she becomes more powerful than they could possibly imagine.I loved this message. Body image and shaming in the social media world is a horrid thing, and kids already have a hard time loving themselves. A book with a message like that? Power. This is a 3.5 star book, but that moment is beyond ranking.The plot itself is patriarchy sends women to off planet prison for doing anything not accepted, even thinking against the man...then the one tough bad bitch is gonna fight using the system and turn it against them. Yawn.However, I'm going to treat this as less about plot and more about characters and social commentary. In that regard, this has a lot to say, and I respect it for that, and will read more. If you like plot only, then this isn't as exciting.I look forward to someone wanting to discuss this book further...Anne? Mike? Seasana?
    more
  • Chelsea
    January 11, 2016
    The game is rigged and it's frustrating as hell to read but I want the girls to prevail. This is probably the most diverse cast of any graphic novel I've ever read and kudos to the writers for actually fleshing out the characters. I'm angry while reading this because I know the system is rigged against them and it's only going to get harder from here but I can't stop reading. I love everything that this book stands for and I think it's incredibly creative, brave and refreshing. Definitely pickin The game is rigged and it's frustrating as hell to read but I want the girls to prevail. This is probably the most diverse cast of any graphic novel I've ever read and kudos to the writers for actually fleshing out the characters. I'm angry while reading this because I know the system is rigged against them and it's only going to get harder from here but I can't stop reading. I love everything that this book stands for and I think it's incredibly creative, brave and refreshing. Definitely picking up the second volume.
    more
  • Jennifer
    July 2, 2015
    Dislaimer(s): I read this as issues (and haven't yet read #5 since it hasn't come out yet), including the essays at the end by various feminist writers, which I'm almost positive increased my opinion of this series.This book is definitely not for everyone, including, but not limited to those who don't want to deal with sticky subjects like oppression, problems with the penal system, feminism, racism, and every other -ism you can think of. It's also not for those who don't feel like reading a com Dislaimer(s): I read this as issues (and haven't yet read #5 since it hasn't come out yet), including the essays at the end by various feminist writers, which I'm almost positive increased my opinion of this series.This book is definitely not for everyone, including, but not limited to those who don't want to deal with sticky subjects like oppression, problems with the penal system, feminism, racism, and every other -ism you can think of. It's also not for those who don't feel like reading a comic full of nudity, violence and swearing. (In general, I find nothing wrong with someone not wanting to read about these things in their comics, especially if they're reading comics for adventure escapism. This is not meant to belittle anyone. I truly mean it as a warning!)I was *very* skeptical of this title, and honestly, I wasn't that impressed after I finished the first issue. The title "Bitch Planet" rubbed me the wrong way, since it screamed of shock value, as did the opening pages full of nekkid women, and the possible attempt to ride the coattails of the popularity of "Orange is the New Black." Around the same time Matt Fraction also released ODY-C, and between that and Bitch Planet, part of me was rolling my eyes and wondering if Kelly Sue and Matt (notably white people...just saying) had weird gender shit pillow talk and wanted to release indie-cool feminist books. I mention this only to underscore the fact that, if three issues later, my opinion is staunchly positive, and I want to give this comic to several people that I know, this comic really must be badass.The turning point for me was probably the third issue, the "special" issue that focused on Penny, a huge woman who knows how big she is, and not only doesn't give a f*** but is (genuinely and not faking it) loud and proud. The essay at the end of that issue echoes the issue, with basically the message, "Be awesome and don't give a f*** about stupid people's opinions."One of my major worries was that Bitch Planet would do as Hollywood often does, and use supposed "girl power" for justifying sexy (straight) male-oriented fan service. While Bitch Planet does have many many panels of naked women, their bodies are different, and thankfully they don't all sport sphinx or Brazilian bikini waxes. Furthermore, it's clear (at least to me) that the scenes parody "male sexy-tropes" (as Kelly Sue refers to them in one of her commentaries). In this age in which Saga is crazy popular, and comic consumers are more accustomed to nudity, sex, and swearing, especially in a tongue-in-cheek capacity, readers are ready to read an appreciate a book like Bitch Planet, which wouldn't have been true on a large scale even five years ago.Bitch Planet is over-the-top, intentionally, in a B-movie sort of way, and I'm kind of expecting the popular sport of Megaton to have the feel of a luchadora match, but the disconcerting thing is that it sometimes doesn't feel *that* exaggerated when it parodies the social, governmental, and media messaging for women to remain dissatisfied with themselves and content with lack of power and objectification by males. Bitch Planet is not only brash/in-your-face (in plot as well as ideas), sexy, and sarcastic, but it also smartly explores intersectionality, thereby tapping into something that female readers and people of color as well as feminists from non-marginalized groups (e.g. cis, hetero, upper middle class white). Quick thoughts about the art-I enjoy how pink, often thought of as a "girly" color (with negative connotations of airheadedness and frivolity) has been co-opted for all of the perpetual negative demeaning messages to women, much like the comic co-opts the word "bitch," much in the way that offensive terms for other marginalized groups are often "taken back."-The layouts are clearly very thoughtful, most obviously in ensuring that the art is not too "porny," but also in controlling the pace and direction of readers' eye movement in order to communicate the scenes' tone, background noises, and character thoughts.
    more
  • Althea J.
    November 4, 2015
    In an interview a year or two ago, Kelly Sue DeConnick mentioned a comic she was working on (that would end up being Bitch Planet). A vocal minority of critics had been complaining that her reinvented Captain Marvel was too feminist. I'm totally paraphrasing, but she said her reaction to those critics was something along the lines of, You think that's too feminist? I'll show you feminist!My reaction: YYYYEEEESSSSSSSS!!!! Sign me up. Go, Kelly Sue, go! It is a tragedy that actively identifying as In an interview a year or two ago, Kelly Sue DeConnick mentioned a comic she was working on (that would end up being Bitch Planet). A vocal minority of critics had been complaining that her reinvented Captain Marvel was too feminist. I'm totally paraphrasing, but she said her reaction to those critics was something along the lines of, You think that's too feminist? I'll show you feminist!My reaction: YYYYEEEESSSSSSSS!!!! Sign me up. Go, Kelly Sue, go! It is a tragedy that actively identifying as feminist is some kind of radical statement, but it is. In a climate where even the creators working on Wonder Woman are afraid of using the f-word, Kelly Sue declared her intentions, in no uncertain terms. There's never been so much pressure on a single title to be the embodiment of a full-fledge movement. As an article on vox proclaims as its title, "Bitch Planet is the feminist comic book we've all been waiting for" How can you expect a comic book to be the voice for an entire population of female readers who are hungry for something that articulates their frustration? and in a way that is artistically innovative, thoroughly entertaining regardless of its "agenda" (if it must be called that), and triumphantly representative of the diverse experiences of women? The pressure was/is massive, but the crazy exciting thing... so far, BITCH PLANET DELIVERS!!!!!!Now, wade through all of the hype and go see for yourself if you agree.I've been collecting the single issues month-to-month as they're released, and there is something about that that heightens the experience of Bitch Planet into the stratosphere. It's one of the only books I’m picking up in single issues because 1st of all, I can’t wait to see what Kelly Sue has got for us each month, and 2nd of all, the extras (feminist essays, letters from Kelly Sue, letters from readers, tweets, pics, back page ads – all them goodies) make every issue feel like a connection. Like there’s this community bubbling under the surface of mainstream comics-reading that has finally been given a voice and the go-ahead to let our feminist freak flags fly. There's an energy that reverberates throughout social media spaces in real time. Essentially, reading Bitch Planet is like no comics-reading experience I’ve ever had.--- I'm not saying that everyone experiences this series like I do, or that you need to drink the kool aid in order to enjoy it. I'm just mentioning my personal reaction to it, which is admittedly fangirly, but I'd argue, justifiably so. ---I was deeply concerned that this energy and ethos would be lost to people who are encountering Bitch Planet for the first time in this first collected trade, Bitch Planet, Vol 1: Extraordinary Machine. Reading it cover to cover I am thrilled that the story and art alone (without the essays and community building extras) hold their own. I encourage people to go to their local comic book store and pick up the next issue (#6 is slated to come out Jan 6th) to get a taste, or download the single issues digitally going forward. But as this book demonstrates, Bitch Planet, Vol 1: Extraordinary Machine is itself something special. I loved reading the story again, straight through, all at once. The packaging and the inclusion of the back page ads capture the vibe in a fun way. This is a great "in" for people to give Bitch Planet a try!!
    more
  • Julia
    February 25, 2017
    Wow, I loved this more than I expected to.I'm at the point in my life where I'm really into intersectional feminism. For those of you unfamiliar with the concept, that's feminism that is representative of women from varying racial, class, sexual, ability, ethnic, national, and sexuality backgrounds. And this was intersectional AF! I loved it! It did it well and it really resonated with me. The artwork was good and the plot was interesting. It was like a dystopian, heightened version of what we l Wow, I loved this more than I expected to.I'm at the point in my life where I'm really into intersectional feminism. For those of you unfamiliar with the concept, that's feminism that is representative of women from varying racial, class, sexual, ability, ethnic, national, and sexuality backgrounds. And this was intersectional AF! I loved it! It did it well and it really resonated with me. The artwork was good and the plot was interesting. It was like a dystopian, heightened version of what we live in now. A world where we run the risk of falling victim to pop culture expectations. Body negativity. Racism. Sexism. Homophobia. Transphobia. A world where we can turn on a television for ten minutes only to be reminded what is wrong with us and what we need to buy to fix it. And this comic really hammered in on this with a page of fictional advertisements at the end of each issue advertising things for women to buy to change the way they look or act to please a man. And there's also a discussion guide in the back! I loved this because it's very open about being a hyper-representation of the world we live in and wants to facilitate open discussion. Overall, I really loved this. One of my favorites and I can't wait to read the next one. The ending was a little cliffhangery too. Sometimes the paneling was a little jarring because it wasn't immediately clear how it flowed but it wasn't a big deal. Really happy with this.
    more
  • Carbaes
    March 2, 2017
    ¿Qué pasaría si todo lo que el patriarcado nos impone socialmente fuera obligatorio por ley? Esto es: es ilegal estar gorda, cortarse el pelo de forma extravagante, ser más fuerte que un hombre, ser mala madre, ser irrespetuosa.Lo que pasaría es Bitch Planet.O las cazas al vuelo, o no las pillas. Fíjate en los detalles, en lo que esconde el diálogo principal. Siente los puñetazos de Penny y la velocidad de Meiko. Y odia al padre Tierra.
    more
  • Τζο
    April 6, 2016
    Δεν διαβάζω πολλά graphic novels. Δεν μπορώ να πω πως μου ταιριάζουν αναγνωστικά. Με μπερδεύουν, τα πίσω-μπρός, τα συννεφάκια και γενικά ο τρόπος που είναι στημένο ένα κόμικ. Παρόλα αυτά έχω διαβάσει μερικά τεύχη απο δίαφορα κόμικ και πάντα ψάχνω κάτι καλό, ίσως για να μυηθώ πιο γρήγορα. Έτσι έπεσα επάνω σε αυτό το υπέροχο graphic novel που αν δεν κάνω λάθος το είχα πρωτοσυναντήσει στο blog της Ελένης με τον ευφάνταστο τιτλο “Bitch planet”. Διαβάζοντας την υπόθεση θυμήθηκα την Ιστορία της πορφυρ Δεν διαβάζω πολλά graphic novels. Δεν μπορώ να πω πως μου ταιριάζουν αναγνωστικά. Με μπερδεύουν, τα πίσω-μπρός, τα συννεφάκια και γενικά ο τρόπος που είναι στημένο ένα κόμικ. Παρόλα αυτά έχω διαβάσει μερικά τεύχη απο δίαφορα κόμικ και πάντα ψάχνω κάτι καλό, ίσως για να μυηθώ πιο γρήγορα. Έτσι έπεσα επάνω σε αυτό το υπέροχο graphic novel που αν δεν κάνω λάθος το είχα πρωτοσυναντήσει στο blog της Ελένης με τον ευφάνταστο τιτλο “Bitch planet”. Διαβάζοντας την υπόθεση θυμήθηκα την Ιστορία της πορφυρής δούλης της Margert Atwood, μονο που βρήκα την ιστορία τούτη πιο… αισιόδοξη.Λίγα λόγια για την υπόθεση: Στο μέλλον οι γυναίκες που δεν θα ακολουθήσουν τις εντολές των αρχηγών των πολεών τους με τον τίτλο “Πατερες” στέλνονται στην φυλακή θηλέων οπού βρίσκεται εκτός γης, σε έναν άλλον πλανήτη, με το ψευδόνυμο “bitch planet”. Το κόμικ ξεκινάει με την νέα φουρνιά κατάδικων να καταφτάνει στην φυλακή. Απο την αρχή είναι προφανές πως αυτές οι τρόφιμοι θα ξεκινήσουν κάτι νέο στην φυλακή. Ίσως κερδίσουν και την ελευθερία τους.Η ιστορία έχει έντονη φεμινιστική γεύση τονίζοντας την καταπίεση με την οποία έχει καλύψει την γυναικεία φύση ο πατριαρχισμός. Οι πατέρες νόμιζουν πως πράττουν ως προς το συμφέρον των γυναικών με το να τους δείχνουν το πως πρέπει να είναι τόσο εξωτερικά όσο και εσωτερικά για να είναι αρεστές στους άντρες τους, οι οποιοί δεν έχουν κανένα ενδοιασμό να τις δίωξουν όταν αντιληφθούν ότι δεν “υπακοούν” πια ή όταν δεν καλύπτουν πλέον τις ανάγκες τους με τον χείριστο τρόπο (βλ. Bitch planet).Το κυρίαρχο κάστ των χαρακτήρων είναι φυσικά γυναίκες και μάλιστα πολύ δυναμικές που αγαπούν τον εαυτό τους και θέλουν την ανεξαρτισία τους, κάτι για το οποίο θα παλέψουν σκληρά. Οι άντρες έχουν ένα δευτερεύοντα και κατα κύριο λόγο καταδυναστικό και φασιστίκο. Αγάπησα όλες τις κοπέλες.Μια απο τις αγαπημένες μου σκηνές ήταν όταν θέλησαν να δείξουν μέσω μιας τεχνολογικής εφεύρεσης σε μια κοπέλα υπέρβαρη και γεμάτη πάθος και ανεξαρτησία τον πραγματικό της εαυτό για να μπορέσει να καλυτερεύσει τον εαυτό της, το μήχανημα της έδειξε ότι έβλεπε και η ίδια μόνο με ένα μεγάλο χαμόγελο.Το προτείνω σε όλους έκτος αν σε ενοχλεί το γυμνό και οι “κακές” λέξεις.
    more
  • Steve
    October 28, 2015
    I received this from Netgalley and Image Comics in exchange for an honest review.I wasn't sure what to expect from this one. The title is off-putting, and the shelves that have been created for this one were, um, interesting. I mean, "Feminism" isn't a description you normally see for a comic book/graphic novel. But after reading this one, it is totally appropriate and completely perfect.The setting is a world much like ours, except women are viewed as second-class citizens to the point that ANY I received this from Netgalley and Image Comics in exchange for an honest review.I wasn't sure what to expect from this one. The title is off-putting, and the shelves that have been created for this one were, um, interesting. I mean, "Feminism" isn't a description you normally see for a comic book/graphic novel. But after reading this one, it is totally appropriate and completely perfect.The setting is a world much like ours, except women are viewed as second-class citizens to the point that ANY infraction against a man's word/rule is met with extreme punishment: banishment to an off-world prison known as Bitch Planet. Most of the infractions are petty: women speaking out against immoral laws, women getting pregnant without "permission", women simply being themselves. The men in charge are known as "The Fathers, and their rule is extreme and complete. Of course, political power plays drive the men to even more extreme acts of immorality.I would say that this comic will be a topic of study and discussion for years to come, and the first volume assists in this by providing a discussion guide at the back of the book. In addition to the guide, pay close attention to the details in the art throughout and the "ads" at the end of each issue. They provide an incredible amount of information that might be missed if you skim these parts.I'll definitely be looking for future volumes of this series!
    more
Write a review