Kanan - The Last Padawan
In Star Wars: Rebels, Kanan Jarrus is a cocky, sarcastic renegade fighting the Galactic Empire alongside the ragtag crew of the Ghost. But years before, during the Clone Wars, he was known as Caleb Dume, a Jedi Padawan training under Master Depa Billaba. Neither master nor apprentice ever suspected that their “loyal” Clone Troopers would turn on them upon the issuing of Order 66 — the Emperor's directive to execute all Jedi. How did Caleb Dume escape the Jedi purge? How did he learn to survive on his own after his master fell? And how did he become the man we know as Kanan Jarrus? What can a Padawan do when being a Jedi makes him a target? Join young Caleb for a tale that bridges the years between the Clone Wars and Rebels! Collecting KANAN: THE LAST PADAWAN #1-6.

Kanan - The Last Padawan Details

TitleKanan - The Last Padawan
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 3rd, 2015
PublisherMarvel Comics
ISBN0785193669
ISBN-139780785193661
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Marvel, Comic Book, Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics, Fantasy

Kanan - The Last Padawan Review

  • Bookdragon Sean
    June 23, 2016
    “Execute order sixty-six!” These few words changed Kanan’s life. His master is quickly annihilated by her clone troopers; she died so he could escape with his life, a sacrifice he will never squander. But what can he actually do now? He is still a padawan and Darth Vader has just marched on the Jedi temple murdering his entire order. Kanan has no home and very little life experience. All he has is the teaching of the Jedi. But being a Jedi is now a crime; thus, he must learn to hide his identi “Execute order sixty-six!” These few words changed Kanan’s life. His master is quickly annihilated by her clone troopers; she died so he could escape with his life, a sacrifice he will never squander. But what can he actually do now? He is still a padawan and Darth Vader has just marched on the Jedi temple murdering his entire order. Kanan has no home and very little life experience. All he has is the teaching of the Jedi. But being a Jedi is now a crime; thus, he must learn to hide his identity: he must learn to survive, though that’s not exactly easy. He is being hunted by clone troopers who failed to kill him the first time round, and revealing his true identity is a terrible risk. There is a price on the head of all Jedi. A swindler wouldn’t think twice about selling out a padawan for a few credits. The galaxy is a dangerous place for a Jedi, and even more so for a desperate one. There is literally no where he can truly go to be safe. His best bet was to go into hiding. Kanan is so very, very, young. If only he had the sense to follow Kenobi’s advice. Instead he flies straight into a trap and almost gets himself killed. It’s plain stupidity, but, again, he is very young. Though his Jedi training should have taught him some degree of sense; he should have the wisdom to follow a master’s orders: he should have stayed away from the emerging empire. But, that wouldn’t have made for a very interesting comic: a padawan hiding for six issues. So things get a little messy, and the young Kanan begins to realise how the whole galaxy has been manipulated. The leaders of the confederacy weren’t the real enemy; they were simply political pawns for a greater power. This was a good comic, though I'm in no rush to read the second volume.
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    December 12, 2015
    Writer Greg Weisman takes his Star Wars Marvel comic in a slightly different direction than the others that’ve appeared this year by setting his before the original trilogy. Wuh-oh - that means we’re in prequel territory! But don’t worry, it’s begins right at the very end of Revenge of the Shit and afterwards the prequels are never mentioned again (except for one scene where the cowardly Obi-Wan pops up in a message - boo!). So what happens at the end of that movie? Well - spoilers - it sucked ( Writer Greg Weisman takes his Star Wars Marvel comic in a slightly different direction than the others that’ve appeared this year by setting his before the original trilogy. Wuh-oh - that means we’re in prequel territory! But don’t worry, it’s begins right at the very end of Revenge of the Shit and afterwards the prequels are never mentioned again (except for one scene where the cowardly Obi-Wan pops up in a message - boo!). So what happens at the end of that movie? Well - spoilers - it sucked (“NOOOOOOOOO!!!”)! Also, the Emperor told all the clone troopers everywhere to “Execute Order Sixty-Six” turning them instantly from being allies to the Jedi, to shooting them all. Teen Padawan (Jedi apprentice) Caleb Dume’s master is shot and he escapes, making him...The Last Padawan! He must go on the run and survive from an Empire determined to wipe him out! Marvel’s Star Wars comics have been ok - nothing truly spectacular so far - but I had no knowledge of this character Kanan Bread. He’s apparently on this show called Star Wars: Rebels which I don’t watch. And that, coupled with the prequel stuff at the start, realllllly put me at odds with the book right away - and then, surprisingly, it started to win me over. If you’ve never seen Rebels either, it’s not a problem as this book is Kanan the Barbarian’s origin story where we see him go from Jedi Padawan Caleb Dume to Robin Hood-esque smuggler and secret Jedi Knight Kanan Jarrus. Weisman is still saddled with the prequel’s bullshit though and can’t explain how clone troopers - those goofballs we’ve seen get cut down by the even more inept battle droids numerous times - can suddenly exterminate all of these superhero Jedi! But that’s on George Lucas, not Weisman, it’s just a shame that made it into this comic. The problem is there’s not really enough story for six issues - more like three, maybe four. It’s interesting to see Kanan become “orphaned” and have to survive on the streets before meeting alien smuggler Janus Kasmir (who’s drawn a bit like a green Majin Buu in his slimmer form), a kind of space Fagin who uses Kanan on his heists as, essentially, slave labour.Then the story’s basically told. They go on some adventures, they have to save each other, and, because this whole thing is told in flashback, we have to wait for the moment when they part and Kanan decides to start his own band of space Merry Men (the characters whom, I assume, fans of the show will already know)! Except… Janus never really felt like a bad guy. He’s a smuggler but so was Han Solo and that dude’s beloved! He gives up Kanan but he also saves him. Artist Pepe Larraz always draws him with that bad guy smirk (so you know he’s a villain!) but I don’t think he deserved what Kanan gave him when he decided he no longer needed him to survive. It made me kinda dislike Kanan actually! Also that subplot about the two clone troopers who were hunting Kanan was weeeeeak. Really, two clone troopers are gonna take it upon themselves to hunt down a Padawan? Aren’t they mindless, controlled by Palpatine? Why aren’t thousands of clone troopers after him - why just these two wannabe detectives? Because they once fought in a battle with them? Very tenuous stuff. Kanan: The Last Padawan isn’t an amazing Star Wars comic but then none of them are and it’s not as bad as some (Mark Waid’s Princess Leia). If you’re in the mood for Space Oliver Twist - with lightsabers! - check it out.
    more
  • Paul
    November 3, 2015
    Much to my surprise, I really enjoyed the first five issues of this collection. The artwork was nice, the story fast-paced and interesting... No mean feat when it's about a character I really don't give a crap about.Shame about the final issue, then, which was a kind of half-arsed epilogue that had 'filler material' written all over it. It really diluted the material.Still, overall, not too bad.
    more
  • Sesana
    December 11, 2015
    I love Star Wars: Rebels. It is, I think, a better show than Clone Wars was. That may have affected my enjoyment of this tie in comic, because I was already familiar with the characters, particularly Kanan himself. (Yes, I know he's still going by Caleb for the majority of this book, but I'll always know him as Kanan.) Then again, maybe not. I do feel like you basically have all the information that you really need to know about Kanan at that point in his life. It's definitely true to the charac I love Star Wars: Rebels. It is, I think, a better show than Clone Wars was. That may have affected my enjoyment of this tie in comic, because I was already familiar with the characters, particularly Kanan himself. (Yes, I know he's still going by Caleb for the majority of this book, but I'll always know him as Kanan.) Then again, maybe not. I do feel like you basically have all the information that you really need to know about Kanan at that point in his life. It's definitely true to the characters as seen on the show, which is what I'd expected. It is, after all, written by Weisman himself. In all honesty, if it hadn't been written by him, I probably wouldn't have bothered with this comic at all.From the cartoon, we know that Kanan had been a Padawan when Order 66 went down, but we don't know that much about what happened to him after. This is Weisman's attempt to fill in that (sizable) gap. And it works, to a certain point. The thing is, this is a particularly rough part of Kanan's life, and he's not really a likable character through much of the book, for reasons that do make a certain amount of sense in context. If you don't already know his character from later in life, this will not endear him to you. Even if you do, it doesn't really make for the most pleasant reading experience. And there's a somewhat convenient side plot about two clones who had served under Kanan's dead Master, which feels kind of shallow. I know Weisman can do better with this idea, but it's like it didn't have enough room to grow. This is something that I would recommend to fans of Rebels, especially those who like Kanan. If you already don't like him, or if you have no idea who he is, it's an ok book, but definitely not required reading. But if you're a Star Wars fan who isn't watching Rebels, let me strongly suggest that you do so.
    more
  • Paul Decker
    September 16, 2015
    Kanan is a new character to Rebels, but he was around during the Clone Wars. We've already had an origin story of him meeting Hera in A New Dawn, but this story goes back farther to the moment that ended the Clone Wars, Order 66. This is the first in-depth account of Order 66 in the new canon, other than the film. The relationship between Kanan and the clone troopers is very interesting. I'm very interested to see that relationship more if its origin is explored in Volume 2. This graphic novel r Kanan is a new character to Rebels, but he was around during the Clone Wars. We've already had an origin story of him meeting Hera in A New Dawn, but this story goes back farther to the moment that ended the Clone Wars, Order 66. This is the first in-depth account of Order 66 in the new canon, other than the film. The relationship between Kanan and the clone troopers is very interesting. I'm very interested to see that relationship more if its origin is explored in Volume 2. This graphic novel reminded me of some of the Dark Times dark horse comics. It was cool to see the events that made Kanan the way he is. It was also very cool to see the Rebels crew drawn in a different style.I give this graphic novel a 5/5. I look forward to the next volume.
    more
  • Matthew
    September 8, 2015
    To find all my reviews: http://dancinginth3dark.blogspot.com Disclaimer: I read the individual comics.Disney created a brand new television show after Star Wars: The Clone Wars which is called Star Wars Rebels. It takes place 13 years after Revenge of the Sith or 4 years before A New Hope. Within the show, we get to see the evil wrath of Darth Vader through the Galactic Empire and pretty much all hell is loose as rebels try to gather up courage and risk safety for a better tomorrow.We meet a bo To find all my reviews: http://dancinginth3dark.blogspot.com Disclaimer: I read the individual comics.Disney created a brand new television show after Star Wars: The Clone Wars which is called Star Wars Rebels. It takes place 13 years after Revenge of the Sith or 4 years before A New Hope. Within the show, we get to see the evil wrath of Darth Vader through the Galactic Empire and pretty much all hell is loose as rebels try to gather up courage and risk safety for a better tomorrow.We meet a boy named Ezra who steals in order to survive and through different encounters and other drama, he meets Kanan who is actually a Jedi but no longer goes by that title and his crew of rebels who Ezra decides to tag along and learn the force since Kanan figured out that Ezra has the force within him.I am not giving anymore details because I believe the show is phenomenal and now that the 2nd season has premiered, the show has better graphics, storylines, and full of action pack adventures with brand new and familiar characters. I highly suggest you watch the show because you will not have a clue what this comic is about unless you have read A New Dawn.Since Kanan was a young boy who survived the Clone Wars and the rise of the Empire, the show hasn't had much time to get into details since Kanan isn't the only important person on the show. Now through the comics we get an inside look into Kanan's past and how his rebel fleet was created. The show is meant for children but this comic book doesn't hold back and it breaks your heart seeing Kanan's fellow comrades switch from being his best friend to killers because of Order 66.Kanan witness his master getting killed and because he was young, innocent, and hopeless Kanan runs away and tries to hide from the Clones and how to figure out what to do now since he was never prepared for all of this to happen (no one did for that matter).Along his journey of survival, he meets other crooks who at first was reluctant to work with him but later became close pals and partners. They taught him how to fight and survive without using a light saber which is crucial for him as he is a wanted felon. For this first volume, you get a huge introduction into Kanan's past and then the last issue shifts forward into the present and clearly this is not the last time we get to see memories of his past.I am making this spoiler free because I believe it is a great comic especially for those who are fans of the show and an interesting topic covering the years of the Empire before Luke Skywalker comes into the picture. The only thing I have an issue with is how they drew the characters from the show looking like very low production cartoonish creepy and they make Kanan look like Prince Charming compare to the show.Any thoughts I have towards the future of this series and show is very interesting and speculative into the Force Awakens. These theory's may sound crazy but they are my ideas and mine alone.The fate of Kanan is going to end in Death. Between the show and now this comic only confirms that belief for me that he is going to get killed. Obviously he isn't feature in the original trilogy because it was filmed almost 40 years ago but even if he did survive after the Battle of Endor, he would have to be incredibly old by the time the Force Awakens arrives. Another theory is Ezra Bridger becomes Kylo Ren. It sounds way out of proportion and the only way for that theory to go away is the creators of this show and comics need to decide on what is the correct hair color of Ezra. It drives me nuts like in the show is always constantly changing between Blue or Purple depending on the episode and graphics. Then now in the comics, his hair is black and the way he is portrayed looks exactly like Adam Driver. Adam has black hair and it sounds preposterous to believe Ezra is Kylo because of the hair issue but I think it possible for him to become this evil villain.Ezra has moments of deep anger that he cannot control and wants to be left alone since he grew up by himself and now he has a master who doesn't know how to properly train him, does this not sound familiar or what? Plus the ending of the show could be Ezra kills Kanan or Vader helps Ezra turn to the dark side like Anakin.If it comes out that Ezra is Kylo Ren, all I got to say is I TOLD YOU SO. I thought I would never come up with these crazy ideas but I am losing my patience for The Force Awakens to be released. I'm sorry for my rant but this is the only way I can talk about the show with the people I care about when this comic is based on the show. Plus if you watch the premiere of 2nd season, Kanan makes a reference to his past that only the readers of the comics would understand. Until next time! May the Force be with you.**Star Wars Confirmed**After my whole rant of Ezra being Kylo Ren, Star Wars on Twitter wrote me reply indicating that Ezra would be to old to be Kylo and put down my crazy theories. I am not disappointed but I am jumping like crazy that Star Wars wrote me a tweet.
    more
  • Octavi
    February 23, 2017
    Una historia cojunda y un buen dibujo.
  • Michael
    August 19, 2015
    Ok so I'm back to doing reviews and I'm way behind on some of my reading because I've been so busy the past few years. Anyway I've gotten to watching Star Wars rebels and I was prepared to hate the show and the character Kanan but after watching the full first season and reading this I've been completely sold on the character. Out of the new comics that are coming out from marvel I'd have to say that this is probably my favourite (second only to the main Star Wars comic).
    more
  • Chris Comerford
    January 11, 2016
    Another solid opening for a new Star Wars ongoing. It's good to see Weisman back on the scene; he makes the story quite accessible to someone like me, who's never watched Rebels (I'm working on it, don't hate me!).Art's great, though gets a little shaky in the final chapter. But it's definitely an auspicious beginning.
    more
  • Stephen Richter
    April 3, 2016
    This is a tale of young Padawan Caleb Dume from Order 66 to his escape from certain death thanks to friends who use to be enemies. Better known as Kanan Jarrus from the Disney channel's show StarWars Rebels, a must read for those who are fans.
  • Brandon St Mark
    July 1, 2016
    This was really fun! I don't watch Rebels (unless Ahsoka is a major character in an episode), so I don't really know anything about Kanan, but I might have to check the series out after this! It's a shame there's only one more volume to this series...
    more
  • Anna
    December 25, 2015
    Oh Kanan, the more of his backstory we learn, the more I love him.This comic is simply just excellent and i'm so in love with the art. The story is interesting, the characters are easy to love and I just can't wait to continue unravelling the mystery that is Kanan Jarrus.
    more
  • Katie
    November 30, 2015
    AHHHHHHHHHHGGGGGHHHHH!YOU CAN'T END THE VOLUME LIKE THAT I NEED THE NEXT ONE RIGHT NOW
  • Paige
    January 3, 2016
    I just want to go on forever and ever about how great this was. The story, the art, everything. This was a perfect way to start this series.
  • Wing Kee
    December 10, 2015
    Hands down the best new canon series I've read to date, though in all honest that's not saying much. But yes this is really really good.I like Star Wars Rebels, it's a fun part of the Star Wars universe to explore and I've gobbled up each episode weekly so when they announced this series I was very happy but also skeptical as tie in books are rubbish. So how does this first arc go for this series? Great!World: If you watch the tv show Star Wars Rebels you will fit right in, the world is fully fo Hands down the best new canon series I've read to date, though in all honest that's not saying much. But yes this is really really good.I like Star Wars Rebels, it's a fun part of the Star Wars universe to explore and I've gobbled up each episode weekly so when they announced this series I was very happy but also skeptical as tie in books are rubbish. So how does this first arc go for this series? Great!World: If you watch the tv show Star Wars Rebels you will fit right in, the world is fully formed and relied heavily on reader knowledge of the crew of the Ghost and Kanan as a character. It's a great set up because we immediately jump into Kanan's past and the world of Kellar when the bulk of his story takes place. The world is presented wonderfully through the art and the storytelling. There is no heavy info dumping to set up the world but rather we get to know it organically which is a tribute to Weisman's writing and the art. The art on the other hand is iffy for me. It's not terrible and I will say that it's the better of the Star Wars comic books, but it still feels fairly static and ordinary compared to the other amazing work found in this medium. I guess this is simply the sign of a tie in book that they will never get huge artists to illustrate these books. Oh well.Story: This is the best part of the book and it makes it the best Star Wars canon book to date. I think this is because while it is about a main character on an ongoing tv series, it does not deal with the big characters from the movies and so is not so much burdened with their characterization and portrays on screen. The story of Kanan is relatively unknown and because of this Weisman has much more freedom to tell the story that he wants to tell. The story moves along at a brisk pace but does not forget the small character moments which as essential tie the reader to the characters. The first issue is amazing, only with 20+ pages giving us an anchor to the lead players of this tale that other Star Wars books have yet to do. Weisman spends time with the quiet moments which other books have loathed to do and replaced them with explosions and running. This is a really good Star Wars story and a must read for Rebels fans.Characters: We know a lot about Kanan the tv series but it is still the broad strokes, here we get to see the origin of this character and it's handled very well. It's not surprising how well it's done since Weisman is great at breaking down arc into episodes and now he applies this approach to issues. What I found in the other Star Wars books is a forgoing of character development for loud bangs and explosions. Here, a good writer is able to balance both, we care that Kanan is in danger because we had the quiet moments to get to know him and the people around him, it's not mindless action. The first issue is a testament to that and it sets up this series wonderfully. I won't ruin the book anymore so all I can say is just enjoy the characterization.This is bare none the best Star Wars new canon comicbook series I've read to date, it focuses on character and allows for the reader to really care about their plight. If you are a fan of Star Wars Rebels this is a must read, if you are a fan of Star War and want to get into Rebels this is also a good place to start. Just read it if you like Star Wars!Onward to the next book!
    more
  • Joe
    February 15, 2016
    Full disclosure: Over the last 3 weeks, I have become obsessed with "Star Wars: Rebels." I blasted through Season One, have begun Season Two, and am reading "A New Dawn." Go big, or go home I say. Which brings us to "Star Wars: Kanan, Vol. 1." Obviously, only read this book if you are watching or want to begin watching Rebels, but I feel like that's a silly disclaimer to put on a Star Wars book. That'd be like saying "Only read this Star Wars book if you like Star Wars." You clearly already do, Full disclosure: Over the last 3 weeks, I have become obsessed with "Star Wars: Rebels." I blasted through Season One, have begun Season Two, and am reading "A New Dawn." Go big, or go home I say. Which brings us to "Star Wars: Kanan, Vol. 1." Obviously, only read this book if you are watching or want to begin watching Rebels, but I feel like that's a silly disclaimer to put on a Star Wars book. That'd be like saying "Only read this Star Wars book if you like Star Wars." You clearly already do, that's why you're here.I enjoyed this book a great deal but it had to fight against many of my own biases and preconceived notions. I HATED the prequels and I didn't like any of the Clone Wars cartoons. It was all gobbledygook that just didn't make sense. They took the mysticism of the original trilogy and made it boring and made characters annoying and stupid. Obi-Wan went from wise old man to a real asshole. Darth Vader became an annoying brat and then a dickish young man. The Clone Troopers looked dumb and the Jedi went out like a bunch of chumps. I had always imagined that the Jedi being hunted down and killed by the Emperor and Vader would be more like "The Fugitive." The Jedi being chased from place to place, helping people and then moving on like the Incredible Hulk.But no, in "Revenge of the Sith" we see that all of the Jedi were more or less immediately gunned down and despite their massive powers and ability to control minds they were all killed. But we find out in "Star Wars: Kanan, Vol. 1" that it not quite all were killed. Kanan was a padawan who survived. And then went on the run and was hunted by the Empire. It's like they were reading my dream journal. (We'll know for sure if there's ever an Ewok coming-of-age comedy called "Ewok like a Man.")This book does a great job of washing the stink off of the prequel crap and making you genuinely care for the characters. That's one thing I hadn't realized I wanted until I saw "The Force Awakens": New characters. I so want to see new characters doing new things in the Star Wars universe and when it's done well it's great!I'll definitely be reading Volume 2.
    more
  • Konstantinos Georgokitsos
    November 17, 2015
    Most of the stars go to the artistic team Larraz/Curiel.I confess, I sit down with my kids every week and watch the newest Rebels cartoon. Not enough, and after not being very impressed with the current flagship Star Wars comic, I somehow ended up getting this (Yeah, "somehow", right. I had to pick it up obviously. Consciously. So there. Enough embarassement. Because I thought I would abstain from any licensed books).While Weisman's writing is solid and well in line with the animated version, La Most of the stars go to the artistic team Larraz/Curiel.I confess, I sit down with my kids every week and watch the newest Rebels cartoon. Not enough, and after not being very impressed with the current flagship Star Wars comic, I somehow ended up getting this (Yeah, "somehow", right. I had to pick it up obviously. Consciously. So there. Enough embarassement. Because I thought I would abstain from any licensed books).While Weisman's writing is solid and well in line with the animated version, Larraz' and Curiel's art excels, giving depth to the characters, "Rebels" can't.Nice read.I am in serious danger of reverting to an adolescent, drooling SW fanboy in my old age. But I am diverting, I gotta go get the next book.
    more
  • Amy Sturgis
    June 9, 2016
    I've grown quite interested in and appreciative of the character of Kanan Jarrus, thanks to both John Jackson Miller's A New Dawn and the television series Star Wars: Rebels. Kanan, Vol. 1: The Last Padawan and Kanan, Vol. 2: First Blood -- which together tell a complete story -- are invaluable reading for those of us who want to understand better the life of Jedi youngling Caleb Dume, his apprenticeship to Jedi Master Depa Billaba, and the terrible losses and challenges he experienced after Ord I've grown quite interested in and appreciative of the character of Kanan Jarrus, thanks to both John Jackson Miller's A New Dawn and the television series Star Wars: Rebels. Kanan, Vol. 1: The Last Padawan and Kanan, Vol. 2: First Blood -- which together tell a complete story -- are invaluable reading for those of us who want to understand better the life of Jedi youngling Caleb Dume, his apprenticeship to Jedi Master Depa Billaba, and the terrible losses and challenges he experienced after Order 66. His transformation from Caleb Dume to Kanan Jarrus receives welcome attention here. I thoroughly enjoyed this backstory.
    more
  • Nick Nguyen
    December 1, 2015
    3.5 starsFun origin series that opens up the STAR WARS REBELS continuity into canon. The initial flashback lead-in is executed rather clumsily but once the narrative is firmly set in motion, it's a fun ride. Fans of the show will have a good time noting the similarities and parallels that Kanan and his story share with Ezra.
    more
  • Kevin L
    December 28, 2015
    This excellent collection provides Kanan's backstory starting with Order 66. It's well told and the art is outstanding. If you're a fan of Rebels it's a no-brainier to pick this up.
  • TJ
    December 3, 2015
    Loved it! Everything about it was great; art, writing, etc. It was very cool to see more background to Kanan. 5/5 stars!
  • adam-p-reviews
    February 11, 2016
    I read the whole book in one night; the story was so good! It tells the tale of Kanan as a young Padawan under the guidance of Jedi Depa Billaba on the planet of Kaller. The Jedi and Clone Army have liberated the planet from the iron grip of the Separatists and Kanan is enjoying his victory. However, when his friends Captain Styles and Commander Grey receive order sixty six from the newly crown Emperor, Kanan’s sheltered life as a Jedi apprentice is soon cut short. Kanan manages to escape with h I read the whole book in one night; the story was so good! It tells the tale of Kanan as a young Padawan under the guidance of Jedi Depa Billaba on the planet of Kaller. The Jedi and Clone Army have liberated the planet from the iron grip of the Separatists and Kanan is enjoying his victory. However, when his friends Captain Styles and Commander Grey receive order sixty six from the newly crown Emperor, Kanan’s sheltered life as a Jedi apprentice is soon cut short. Kanan manages to escape with his life as Depa Billaba sacrifices herself to save the young Padawan. He finds himself alone in Kaller’s capital city, scrounging for food and trying to keep a low profile as he plans to escapes the planet. As always, the Force works in mysterious ways and leads Kanan to a smuggler and rogue called Janus, who takes the starving and scared child under his wing. The former Padawan thinks he can get on with his new life and though he has disappeared, his two old friends Styles and Grey are still on the hunt for the young Jedi traitor that got away…This comic was everything I wanted; it told a compelling story about a character who I thought was interesting but knew would never get a movie or TV series of his own. In addition, the artwork was beautiful and I felt there was an almost Anime feel to Pepe Larraz’s and Jacapo Camagni’s art which I really appreciated. The colourist David Curiel made his art very dark and grungy, using lots of browns and oranges which I think added an atmosphere to Greg Weisman’s writing; helping show Kanan’s distress at losing his master and starting a new life.I really enjoyed reading this comic and I am looking forward to picking up the other editions in the series that have been released. I hope my review was ok, it’s my first one so please be kind! I don’t know that much about art or comic book artists, but approached this review as I would any other book review and gave my honest opinion!If you are an avid comic book reader please suggest some series to me, I would love to get into more obscure comics, as I assume any Star Wars comic is pretty popular!For more book reviews google adam-p-reviews
    more
  • Annalisse
    December 9, 2015
    4/5 StarsKanan: The Last Padawan is yet another Star Wars comic being released by Marvel. If you haven't watched Star Wars Rebels, you may not be familiar with the titular character of this story, Kanan Jarrus. He's a fighter for the rebellion, working with a team to intercept supplies, stop Imperial plans, and really just being a hindrance to the Empire. He's more than that though, one of the last remaining Jedi to survive Order 66. This is an origin story in flashback, triggered by the return 4/5 StarsKanan: The Last Padawan is yet another Star Wars comic being released by Marvel. If you haven't watched Star Wars Rebels, you may not be familiar with the titular character of this story, Kanan Jarrus. He's a fighter for the rebellion, working with a team to intercept supplies, stop Imperial plans, and really just being a hindrance to the Empire. He's more than that though, one of the last remaining Jedi to survive Order 66. This is an origin story in flashback, triggered by the return to a familiar planet.When a run for The Ghost brings Kanan back to Kaller, his memories of the past haunt him, reminding him of the last days of the Republic, fighting side by side with clone troopers and his master, Depa Billaba, as a young padawan. Order 66 is given and Kanan's whole world crashes around him. He has to give up being a Jedi to avoid capture, becoming a rogue and making a living.This narrative was a story of survival, of doing what you must to make it through. Relying on people, that may not be that reliable. Learning how to lie, cheat, and steal. Shifting and shaping one's self to make a new life, taking a new name, and forging a new path. Filled with just as much action and adventure, pain and loss, Kanan's story fits so well in the Star Wars universe.Overall I enjoyed Kanan: The Last Padawan by Greg Weisman. I'm not nearly as connected with the character as I am with those in the movies and Clone Wars but it was very interesting to find out how he survived and came to be with his crew on the Ghost. The art was beautifully done and I'll definitely be keeping up with this story in the future. Now to go catch up on Season 2 of Star Wars Rebels!Full review here: http://wp.me/p6xfg7-pD
    more
  • Brandt
    January 20, 2016
    So first thing's first--if you aren't watching Star Wars: Rebels, you should be. Now that that's out of the way. we can talk about Kanan: The Last Padawan. Since Rebels essentially starts with the story of the Force sensitive Ezra Bridger, one of the mysteries of the show is how Ezra's mentor, Kanan Jarrus managed to survive Order 66, which eliminated all of the Jedi (with a few notable exceptions.) With the publication of Kanan it's apparent that Star Wars: Rebels is not going to spend much tim So first thing's first--if you aren't watching Star Wars: Rebels, you should be. Now that that's out of the way. we can talk about Kanan: The Last Padawan. Since Rebels essentially starts with the story of the Force sensitive Ezra Bridger, one of the mysteries of the show is how Ezra's mentor, Kanan Jarrus managed to survive Order 66, which eliminated all of the Jedi (with a few notable exceptions.) With the publication of Kanan it's apparent that Star Wars: Rebels is not going to spend much time on Kanan's backstory, leaving it instead to novels like A New Dawn (review forthcoming) and this series. I'm not in a place to speak on the quality of A New Dawn yet (I'm only 10 chapters in) Kanan: The Last Padawan is rising to the level quality that I have come to expect from most of the Marvel Comics published Star Wars comics.If you are an ardent Rebels watcher like myself, then you are surely wondering how Kanan survived the purge. Your answers are here, as are answers to how he assumed the identity of Kanan Jarrus (A New Dawn readers are told that Kanan's birth name is Caleb Dume in the first ten pages of the book, as are readers here, so I don't consider that a spoiler.) But we are just scratching the surface of Kanan's back story in this volume, and there is apparently another volume out in May, so this book does what any good comic book does--leave us wanting more.
    more
  • Drown Hollum
    November 23, 2015
    Kanan the Last Padawan takes one of Rebels' more dull characters, and fleshes him out it a way that both makes him lovable and also covers the gap of animated canon. We flashback to Palpatine's Order 66, witnessing the fall of the Jedi through the eyes of a padawan, only just beginning to understand his place in the galaxy. The tone of the book cleverly blends styles from both Clone Wars and Rebels, employing a narrative voice that almost feels outdated in comics, but instead adds a level of aut Kanan the Last Padawan takes one of Rebels' more dull characters, and fleshes him out it a way that both makes him lovable and also covers the gap of animated canon. We flashback to Palpatine's Order 66, witnessing the fall of the Jedi through the eyes of a padawan, only just beginning to understand his place in the galaxy. The tone of the book cleverly blends styles from both Clone Wars and Rebels, employing a narrative voice that almost feels outdated in comics, but instead adds a level of authenticity to the Star Wars setting. The writing is deceptively masterful beneath its apparent low bar of entry, with a well rounded and dynamic cast of characters, and an intelligent plot with a persistent sense of memory and adventure. I was consistently surprised at how great this little book actually is. Rather than serving as a kidsy read for Rebels-fans just dipping into comics, it exists as an excellent piece of Star Wars canon, that treats its audience with the same respect offered by the excellent Clone Wars animated series. And then comes the art, which is an emotional joy, with equal respect paid to cartooning and the particular brand of Star Wars realism. I can confidently recommend this one to everyone. Fans of Rebels will love it, old fans will love it, and new fans will love it. Anyone looking for another window into the Star Wars universe will find an impeccable one, in Kanan the Last Padawan.
    more
  • Michelle (In Libris Veritas)
    December 16, 2015
    The Last Padawan follows the character Kanan Jarrus, one of the main characters in the Star Wars tv show Rebels. He’s a Jedi who survived the deadly Order 66 and has since been focusing on making a life that doesn’t pull that past to the forefront. Unfortunately as time goes on and he beings working more and more with the rebellion he is forced to face that past.This new EU doesn’t have a ton of Order 66 era stories, only those in the Clone Wars movie and tv shows, so this is a welcome look back The Last Padawan follows the character Kanan Jarrus, one of the main characters in the Star Wars tv show Rebels. He’s a Jedi who survived the deadly Order 66 and has since been focusing on making a life that doesn’t pull that past to the forefront. Unfortunately as time goes on and he beings working more and more with the rebellion he is forced to face that past.This new EU doesn’t have a ton of Order 66 era stories, only those in the Clone Wars movie and tv shows, so this is a welcome look back into that history. Especially since Kanan is one of the few Jedi who managed to survive it against all odds. Kanan of the show Rebels one slow to trust, daring, and exceedingly cautious about putting himself in the path of the Empire..and it’s great to have a comic that focuses on the events that have shaped him. It’s really awesome to see how he got into the life that lead him to A New Dawn, and why running with Hera wasn’t all that new to him.The art is fantastic though, and I think it really brings in details that they sort of smooth out and lose in Rebels (seriously, everyone looks to be made of plastic). The art does change at the end, but the majority of the volume is done beautifully.Is this a super necessary SW book? Maybe not entirely. We already know much about Kanan from the show itself, but it really does add some nice depth to his character and sheds some light on just why he struggles the way he does. I can’t wait to read the next set of issues!
    more
  • Lorien
    January 4, 2016
    For years after Episode III, I was interested in seeing some padawan survive Order 66 (like that boy almost did, T~T) and while I didn't get that with Clone Wars, the moment Rebels was announced my fangirl died and became one with the Force. Been a fan since the first 5 minutes of episode 1, and really enjoyed A New Dawn, which is how Hera and Kanan met, while also revealing Kanan's real name. But it just felt...short. Even though it's a chunky book, I wanted more, more of what Kanan meant by go For years after Episode III, I was interested in seeing some padawan survive Order 66 (like that boy almost did, T~T) and while I didn't get that with Clone Wars, the moment Rebels was announced my fangirl died and became one with the Force. Been a fan since the first 5 minutes of episode 1, and really enjoyed A New Dawn, which is how Hera and Kanan met, while also revealing Kanan's real name. But it just felt...short. Even though it's a chunky book, I wanted more, more of what Kanan meant by going to a dark place after Order 66, and why he's determined "Ezra not be like me".This comic gives that. It shows the Ghost crew doing their thing in season 1, while flashing back to just what Kanan did to survive, and what he went through started with the day they had before Order 66. It shows the clones working through coming out of it, and what happened to an old Separatist general. It doesn't disqualify the revelations of A New Dawn, merely added onto it beautifully. It's quite good and ends on a cliffhanger and now I really need to see what happens next!!! Will it go into season 2? Will we see more of how Kanan went from thief to miner to rebel?
    more
  • Terry Tuttle
    January 12, 2016
    An engaging read. The story tries to be darker than Rebels, but with what I think is mixed success—the tone is there, but the content isn't always dark enough to merit it. In spite of that (or maybe because of it), Kanan's characterization rings fairly true to the show.(mild spoilers about story setup) (view spoiler)[I like the framing device used to tell the story, which is mostly extended flashbacks between glimpses of an obscure point after the beginning of the show. The scenes with the rest An engaging read. The story tries to be darker than Rebels, but with what I think is mixed success—the tone is there, but the content isn't always dark enough to merit it. In spite of that (or maybe because of it), Kanan's characterization rings fairly true to the show.(mild spoilers about story setup) (view spoiler)[I like the framing device used to tell the story, which is mostly extended flashbacks between glimpses of an obscure point after the beginning of the show. The scenes with the rest of the Ghost's crew were the most interesting to me, and I really like the way they were drawn. In fact, out of the Ghost crew, I'm the most leery of Kanan's design (though I don't know very much about comics). His expressions are good, though. (hide spoiler)]Overall, I'm definitely looking forward to volume two.
    more
  • Craig
    January 21, 2016
    My favorite so far of the Marvel Star Wars trades.
  • Book Walk
    February 16, 2016
    Für die deutschen Star Wars Rebels - Die komplette erste Staffel [3 DVDs] Fans hat der Panini Verlag aktuell ein ganz besonderes Schmuckstück im Angebot, welches sich mit einem der fünf Protagonisten aus Star Wars Rebels befasst. In diesem STAR WARS Sonderband geht es, wie der Titel der Graphic Novel erahnen lässt, um den Jedi-Ritter Kanan, welcher in Star Wars Rebels in einer Untergrundbewegung auf Lothal gegen das Imperium kämpft. Doch wie ist es dem jungen Jedi-Ritter Kanan vor Star Wars Rebe Für die deutschen Star Wars Rebels - Die komplette erste Staffel [3 DVDs] Fans hat der Panini Verlag aktuell ein ganz besonderes Schmuckstück im Angebot, welches sich mit einem der fünf Protagonisten aus Star Wars Rebels befasst. In diesem STAR WARS Sonderband geht es, wie der Titel der Graphic Novel erahnen lässt, um den Jedi-Ritter Kanan, welcher in Star Wars Rebels in einer Untergrundbewegung auf Lothal gegen das Imperium kämpft. Doch wie ist es dem jungen Jedi-Ritter Kanan vor Star Wars Rebels ergangen? Wie ist er zu dem Menschen geworden, der er heute ist? Dies und vieles mehr wird im ersten von insgesamt zwei STAR WARS Sonderbänden verraten. Den Anfang dabei macht die Graphic-Novel Der letzte Padawan und im kommenden September 2016 wird die Geschichte um Kanan abgeschlossen.Die Geschichte beginnt an Bord des Raumschiffs Ghost, welches eifrigen Zuschauern der TV Serie Star Wars Rebels bereits ein Begriff sein sollte. Die Besatzung der Ghost verschlägt es aufgrund eines Einsatzes auf den Planeten Kaller, mit welchem Kanan zahlreiche Erinnerungen verbindet, da er bereits des öfteren während seiner Jugend auf dem Planeten gewesen ist. Daher driftet er in Gedanken zurück in eine längst vergangene Epoche, zurück zur Zeit der Klonkriege. Kanan ist noch ein sehr junger Padawan und zusammen mit seiner Meisterin Depa Billaba auf einer Mission auf dem Planeten Kaller unterwegs, begleitet von einem Trupp Klonkrieger. Was die beiden Jedi jedoch nicht wissen ist, dass sie kurz nach der Ankunft auf eine böse Überraschung stoßen werden, da der Imperator die Order 66 ausrufen wird. Verraten von der Institution, wofür die beiden ihr Leben verschrieben haben, werden sie von nun an ins Exil getrieben wobei Kanan von nun an auf sich allein gestellt ist. Im stetigen Kampf ums Überleben wird Kanan immer mehr zu dem, was er zu bekämpfen geschworen hat. Er muss seine Identität verbergen und ungeahnte Allianzen eingehen, um den Kampf um sein Leben gewinnen zu können. Nicht fertig ausgebildet und vollkommen auf sich allein gestellt beginnt eine sehr schwierige Zeit für den noch sehr jungen und vermutlich letzen Padawan Kanan und gefährliche Gegner und Herausforderungen kommen auf Ihn zu, die er zu meistern hat.Als riesiger Star Wars und Star Wars Rebels Fan war es für mich ein Leichtes, mich sofort und von Anfang an in der Geschichte wohl und gut aufgehoben zu fühlen. Der Zeichenstil ist herausragend gut gelungen und das so geliebte Star Wars Feeling wurde perfekt eingefangen. Man erkennt auf Anhieb die vielen liebgewonnenen Details und Charaktere wieder, sowohl in der Zeichnung als auch in der Erzählung. Hierbei haben der Autor Greg Weisman und der Zeichner Pepe Larraz ausgezeichnete Arbeit geleistet, die leider des öfteren ihresgleichen sucht.Dem Duo gelingt es scheinbar kinderleicht, alles relevante aus der Star Wars Welt gekonnt einzufangen und viele offene Fragen, die den interessierten Zuschauer der TV-Serie und den Leser der Bücher zur TV Show Star Wars Rebels auf der Zunge liegen, zu beantworten. Es geht darum, wieso die Botschaft von Obi-Wan Kenobi auf einem Holocron zu finden ist, wieso Kanan sein Lichtschwert immer auseinandergebaut bei sich trägt und noch vieles mehr. Diese Graphic Novel ist einfach von Beginn an stimmig. Sie ist actionreicht, unterhaltsam, vermittelt gekonnt die tolle Star Wars Atmosphäre und glänzt mit gelungenen Charakterdarstellungen. Ein rundum gelungener erster Band der Kanan Reihe. Ich kann es gar nicht erwarten, das weitere Abenteuer von Kanan zu verschlingen. Eine absolute Leseempfehlung und eine Pflichtlektüre für jeden Star Wars und Star Wars Rebels Fan!Fazit zu STAR WARS Sonderband: Kanan - Der letzte PadawanFesselnde und überzeugende Star Wars Action ab der ersten Seite mit vielen tollen Infos für Star Wars Rebels Fans.
    more
Write a review