Living With Shame (The Irish Bastards: Volume 1)
At thirteen, I snuck a kiss. At sixteen, I fell in love.At eighteen, I despised loving him. He lied, cheated and killed. He also protected, provided and gave me solace.I ran the streets, doing whatever I pleased, until Shame showed up to claim me. For five years, the most notorious street gang in Boston became my family. The day I turned eighteen, I didn't want to leave. My heart belonged to Shame. I simply needed to convince him I was more than the little girl he rescued.I promised to love him, but could he ever love me back?Not all love was easy.Not all love was meant to be.And not all love could survive.From the author of The Irreparable Series comes a story of forbidden romance. With all the angst you expect from KJ Bell, Living With Shame will bring you to your knees and have you begging for a happy ending.

Living With Shame (The Irish Bastards: Volume 1) Details

TitleLiving With Shame (The Irish Bastards: Volume 1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 15th, 2017
Rating
GenreRomance, Dark, New Adult

Living With Shame (The Irish Bastards: Volume 1) Review

  •  ⚛ KAT ⚛ ⊱Kitty Kat's Crazy About Books⊰
    April 28, 2017
    LIVING WITH SHAME: by K.J. Bell is the first book in the (The Irish Bastards #1) series where we’re introduced to thirteen year old Breeze Clery and Shame AKA (Seamus O’Rilley). This is spoken in ‘Dual Perspectives’ and transitioned from ‘Present to Past’ until the very end where we're thrown back into Present time again. A long and complicated story about a forbidden love between Breeze & Shame (Seamus O’Rilley). But to understand all that we need to go back, back to the past, back to LIVING WITH SHAME: by K.J. Bell is the first book in the (The Irish Bastards #1) series where we’re introduced to thirteen year old Breeze Clery and Shame AKA (Seamus O’Rilley). This is spoken in ‘Dual Perspectives’ and transitioned from ‘Present to Past’ until the very end where we're thrown back into Present time again. A long and complicated story about a forbidden love between Breeze & Shame (Seamus O’Rilley). But to understand all that we need to go back, back to the past, back to where it all happened. This starts us off in the future, then swiftly takes us back to how these two star crossed forbidden loves met. At the age of thirteen Breeze and her bestie were going to a party inside the clubhouse of the Irish Bastards, a gang of hardened thugs who ran the streets of Southie. If asked they were to say they were eighteen because no one under the age of eighteen is permitted within the grounds, that was the one rule the club adhered to. Walking into the clubhouse that night Breeze felt like she’d finally come home, a feeling unknown to her, a feeling like this is the place she was meant to be, where she belonged. Breeze’s mission was to find the man that was the talk on the streets who everyone referred to as ‘Shame’ to see if he stood up to his reputation. His unruly dark hair begged to be brushed and his urban attire screamed, I’m badass. He had possibly the most beautiful lips I had ever seen on a guy, but his full beard reminded me he was a man. After being questioned by Shame how old she was and replying that she was eighteen Shame sealed his lips to hers.At thirteen, I snuck a kiss.At sixteen, I fell in love.At eighteen, I despised loving him. I dipped my head and sealed our mouths together. Her lips tasted as sweet as they smelled. The kiss itself though, so innocent, a sweet-natured longing that meant this girl was forbidden. - SHAMEHe knew after that kiss that she wasn’t eighteen, that she was lying to him about her age. That same night like thieves in the night, they stormed into Breeze’s house because of a debt her father owed to the club and unable to come up with the funds to cover it, as collateral damage he took Breeze as payment for the next five years she works off within the club. You never knew when love would grab hold of you. I didn't. I never saw it coming with Shame, but love took me hostage the moment I laid eyes on him. Things aren't easy for Breeze, leaving home was out of her hands, moving in with Shame she was set on a road of unchartered feelings for a man ten years older than her, a push and pull ensued she'd push her feelings on him and every time he'd pull away knowing that it was wrong on more than one level, add in underage and being associated with him could get her into situations where she could be killed. This review is going to be a jumbled mess, this book put me through the wringer and spat me out the other end leaving me gasping for more. A roller coaster of epic proportions, times I loved Shame others I just wanted to stomp on him, he was a hard guy to connect to, hot, cold, up and down, he gave me the worst case of whiplash I have ever encountered in a guy. And then throw in the feels this book threw at you you're on a fast track of heartfelt emotions. But for all his shortcomings you kind of fall in love with him along the way. I've never read a book like this before, yes it was centered around a forbidden love, was it dark and gritty to what I'm used to yes in some ways but not fully, most dark bits in the book were glossed over and done so quickly you were left wondering wtf had happened. And these guys do not ride harleys *gasps* not a one!! But the storyline grabs you right from the get go and doesn't let you go until your left dangling needing, craving, wanting, screaming for that next book in the series.
    more
  •  Sonya-❥Chatterbooks book blog ❥
    April 24, 2017
    K.J Bell certainly knows how to get your attention and let me tell you, she hijacked the hell out of mine! This story was so addictive, I barely came up for air while reading this one. I INHALED this story so much, I think I have a permanent high and quite frankly, I don’t want to ever let go of this feeling. These characters were messy, unforgiving, and made my palms twitchy with the need to smack the hell out of them. But you know what? They were also loving, fearless, and they protected w K.J Bell certainly knows how to get your attention and let me tell you, she hijacked the hell out of mine! This story was so addictive, I barely came up for air while reading this one. I INHALED this story so much, I think I have a permanent high and quite frankly, I don’t want to ever let go of this feeling. These characters were messy, unforgiving, and made my palms twitchy with the need to smack the hell out of them. But you know what? They were also loving, fearless, and they protected what was theirs and when you have characters like that, you’ve got yourself one hell of a story. “Love knows no bounds is a lie. Love has nothing to do with it. It is magnetism that truly bonds us.” Have you ever wondered why certain people came into your life? It could’ve been for a couple of minutes, hours, months or years and you’re thinking: What was the purpose? To make it better, or to set you on a path that would lead you to your own destiny? I believe who we meet in life, serves a purpose for everything and whether or not we understand it, our story has already been written. Reading this book, I now know WHY certain people are in our lives. Breeze has always had to look out for herself from a very young age forcing her to grow up a little too fast. Deciding to take a little walk on the wild side with her best friend, Breeze comes face to face with the Boston leader of the “BASTARDS” gang. Little does she know that walking into his club, is going to forever alter her life and set a domino effect into motion. When you’re around a man like Shame, life as you know it, will never be the same. Seamus “Shame” O’Rilley has been through his fair share of loss over the past few years. Now king of the BASTARDS club, his only mission is to make sure his family is protected and no one crosses his turf. Meeting a girl that made him feel centered for the first time in his life, was soul awakening. Finding out that she was off limits? That was soul crushing. Do you remember when I asked “Why do certain people come into your life”? Shame is about to find out his “WHY “and it’s a journey that’s going to be five years in the making. “We were perfect when we gave up control and allowed our bodies to do the talking. The rest of the time, though….we were severely flawed. “ They say through tragedy, we will soon find something beautiful. In the beginning, I was honestly bracing myself for the beautiful because I felt the tragedy was going to come and overpower my view on this story. I was so wrong! The beauty was in every chapter even when the characters had their flaws and that’s what I loved about this story. It was different and every action served a purpose and even though I couldn’t see it at first, the story held you in it’s grip and refused to let you go until you understood. This was a slow burn and I think it couldn’t have been done any other way because Breeze and Shame’s relationship needed time and I loved how the author portrayed their internal struggles. Now I have to be honest, there were some things I was not comfortable with and I wanted it to be different but everything happens for a reason and after reading that ending, I now know that for a fact. If you’re looking for a sweet story with a little bit of angst, this book is not for you. If you want a love story that is years in the making and a man who would do whatever it takes to protect that woman, then this is for you. This is not an easy read but no one ever said the best love stories are.Please be advised: This ends on a semi cliffhanger. Part two release date is TBA.
    more
  • Qhuinn
    May 17, 2017
    The heroine of this story is a 15 or 16 year old virgin, and the hero has feelings for her, but he doesn't act on those feelings, mostly because he's so much older than she is. Instead, he has a girlfriend/fuck-buddy that he sleeps with, in plain sight of the heroine. This goes on for pretty much the entire book. Also forgot to mention that the h and H live together. The hero claims to love the heroine and wants to protect her, but when he comes home to find his girlfriend choking the life out o The heroine of this story is a 15 or 16 year old virgin, and the hero has feelings for her, but he doesn't act on those feelings, mostly because he's so much older than she is. Instead, he has a girlfriend/fuck-buddy that he sleeps with, in plain sight of the heroine. This goes on for pretty much the entire book. Also forgot to mention that the h and H live together. The hero claims to love the heroine and wants to protect her, but when he comes home to find his girlfriend choking the life out of the heroine, he doesn't break up with her. The hero asks them to both apologize to each other and basically kiss and make up. In the end, that same girlfriend ends up kidnapping the heroine with the intent of selling her into sex trafficking. And big surprise, the heroine ends up getting gang raped by the men holding her, all because the hero was too stupid to notice he'd been sleeping with the enemy. This book should've came with a warning or something.
    more
  • Book-Bosomed blog
    May 17, 2017
    How in the loving hell is this "romance?" Seriously wish the romance genre would cease being a dumping ground. Trigger warnings: https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Erin
    March 20, 2017
    5 stars- I am not sure if I have enough words to truly capture the epicness of this books. Author KJ Bell has once again hooked me heart and soul with her characters. She knows exactly how to combine raw and gritty with sexiness and humor to form a story that will leave you in a book hangover for days.Living with Shame is the first book in the Irish bastard series. Shame is the leader of the Irish Bastards, a club that is not known for being model citizens. He knew exactly what he wanted until B 5 stars- I am not sure if I have enough words to truly capture the epicness of this books. Author KJ Bell has once again hooked me heart and soul with her characters. She knows exactly how to combine raw and gritty with sexiness and humor to form a story that will leave you in a book hangover for days.Living with Shame is the first book in the Irish bastard series. Shame is the leader of the Irish Bastards, a club that is not known for being model citizens. He knew exactly what he wanted until Breeze crossed his path. He had saved her from her drunken father, but can he save her from the most dangerous person of all ..... himself.
    more
  • Books Laid Bare
    May 16, 2017
    I can say only one thing about this book and that is ...Be Prepared.The quality of the writing and the depth of feeling that the book drew from me caught me off guard. The author presented a story that was as raw as I could have possibly imagined from a book with this title but what I hadn’t anticipated was the fact that it was also so heartfelt and intensely passionate, everything about it was powerfully emotional and realistically challenging.Some may say that this is not for the faint hearted I can say only one thing about this book and that is ...Be Prepared.The quality of the writing and the depth of feeling that the book drew from me caught me off guard. The author presented a story that was as raw as I could have possibly imagined from a book with this title but what I hadn’t anticipated was the fact that it was also so heartfelt and intensely passionate, everything about it was powerfully emotional and realistically challenging.Some may say that this is not for the faint hearted and I suppose that for some it may be too much but I think if you are prepared for the fact that this will test you, you should power through…not doing so in my opinion means that you are missing out on a superb read.Breeze and Shame are the lead roles and the story as painful as it is, is told from their alternating points of view, my heart broke for them in some respects when all they wanted was their happy ever after in whatever form that took but there were those around them that we set to ensure that they had a battle to get where they needed and wanted to be.If you like guy that may be everybody’s definition of a bad boy but who loves his girl with every ounce of his being, then this is the guy for you…totally besotted!!!!I found the pace and pulse of the book had me on the edge of my seat on more than one occasion and at one point I had to take time away in order to compose my thoughts enough to carry on at one point but that was only because I felt myself getting completely absorbed, I could feel my heart breaking and the breath being sucked from my lungs. I would be remiss if I didn’t say that being the first in the series, this ends on a cliff hanger and will definitely leave you scratching around on the internet looking for the date of the next release…yep, guilty!!!
    more
  • Lori ~ BF Bookies
    May 12, 2017
    KJ Bell is back, y’all! Living With Shame is a delicious, forbidden romance that will have you gripping your kindle tightly, all the while devouring each page until the very end.I absolutely loved this book. It fulfilled my expectations, and then some. After reading the blurb, I knew it was going to rock my world. Once I started reading, I didn't want to stop... I couldn’t stop. It's starts off with a bang and sucked me right in. The superb writing and storytelling of this author made me connect KJ Bell is back, y’all! Living With Shame is a delicious, forbidden romance that will have you gripping your kindle tightly, all the while devouring each page until the very end.I absolutely loved this book. It fulfilled my expectations, and then some. After reading the blurb, I knew it was going to rock my world. Once I started reading, I didn't want to stop... I couldn’t stop. It's starts off with a bang and sucked me right in. The superb writing and storytelling of this author made me connect easily with the characters and fall in love with them immediately. Breeze is a beautiful, young girl who looks and acts much older than her 13 years. With no mother around and because her father is an alcoholic, she’s left to fend for herself. Often neglected, she’s able to come and go as she pleases. And she does. And she catches the eye of one sexy, much older Bastard. Shame is head of the Irish Bastards, instantly attracted to Breeze the second he sees her walk into the clubhouse. Kisses are stolen, sparks fly... and their journey begins. You should probably buckle up, because it's a thrilling one.As I read this story, I experienced all the feels I love in a good book. Some moments had me angry, some had me smiling, and a lot of them had me wanting to scream out in frustration. The struggles these two went through was enough to drive me mad. Angst, angst, and more angst - LOVED every second of it! I constantly thought about these characters and what was going to happen next if I wasn’t reading. I am not surprised with how much I loved this, because I am a huge fan of this author. I had a good feeling she was going to knock it out of the park - and she did. If you love forbidden romance, I am confident you will enjoy this. I highly recommend it! "The disgrace and the loneliness, the feeling no one else could understand was my shame to bear. But not the man … my Shame … he was easy. I was his burden and he was my constant and I had loved him since I was thirteen. Living with Shame had never been easy. It had always hurt. But, of course I would forgive him. I loved him. I would always love him."
    more
  • Sangria
    May 25, 2017
    So, I really, really wanted to love this book and follow this story, its only like for me, but honestly I need romance in my criminal books and there's just not enough in it. Also, I would of preferred that scene with the h didn't happen after all she'd been thru. It was overkill.I might read the next book, it's strange too, I've read some seriously gritty mafia books but this one....I don't know why I can't seem to get past it. I like this author a lot too and was definitely excited to read it. So, I really, really wanted to love this book and follow this story, its only like for me, but honestly I need romance in my criminal books and there's just not enough in it. Also, I would of preferred that scene with the h didn't happen after all she'd been thru. It was overkill.I might read the next book, it's strange too, I've read some seriously gritty mafia books but this one....I don't know why I can't seem to get past it. I like this author a lot too and was definitely excited to read it. I know many will love it. It's just like for me though.Extra points for an Irish book. There's slim pickings out here and lots of Irish families. Strange.
    more
  • Cindy Martin
    May 17, 2017
    I was lucky enough to receive a ARC of this book. I have missed KJ Bells books. This book was so different from what I was expecting, in a really good way. Her writing kept me riveted right up until the last page. She was so spot on with the details I felt like I was right there. I can't wait to see what happens next
    more
  • CYNDY
    May 2, 2017
    *****5 Living With Shame Stars*****K.J. Bell gives us a story about forbidden romance, humor, passion, strength, horrible and sad and dark moment; she wrote one hell of a story (I need part 2 now please). You will be glued to the pages sitting on the edge of your seat to see what happens next. Breeze and her best friend are at party that she knows they should not be at only being 13 years old and all but she wants to catch a glimpse of Seamus (Shame) O’ Riley leader of the Bastards Club. When Sh *****5 Living With Shame Stars*****K.J. Bell gives us a story about forbidden romance, humor, passion, strength, horrible and sad and dark moment; she wrote one hell of a story (I need part 2 now please). You will be glued to the pages sitting on the edge of your seat to see what happens next. Breeze and her best friend are at party that she knows they should not be at only being 13 years old and all but she wants to catch a glimpse of Seamus (Shame) O’ Riley leader of the Bastards Club. When Shame lays his eyes on Breeze he knows she like no else his ever met but there one question he needs the answer too, how old is Breeze? After he already Kissed Breeze, Shame knew that kiss was too innocent; Breeze becomes payment for her alcoholic father’s debt per Shame she to work for Shame until she turns 18. Breeze and Shame have this crazy undeniable pull to each other; they struggle to find the right spot in each other lives; it’s strictly forbidden for years. There are so many twist turns and secrets to discover. THIS IS MUST READ!*****ARC from Social Butterfly PR for review*****http://cyndysreads.blogspot.com/Living With Shame
    more
  • Amelia Florence
    June 3, 2017
    " Because we perceive a situation to be horrible and crippling, doesn’t make it so. We can change our perception. It requires a bit of regrouping, but it can be accomplished. We simply have to learn to control our thoughts, guide them to visualize a situation more positively and let go of our expectations of others and ourselves." “Maybe a normal life isn’t something you build at all. Maybe normal is loving the life you’re given.”" Simplifying our lives means avoiding complications. It means we " Because we perceive a situation to be horrible and crippling, doesn’t make it so. We can change our perception. It requires a bit of regrouping, but it can be accomplished. We simply have to learn to control our thoughts, guide them to visualize a situation more positively and let go of our expectations of others and ourselves." “Maybe a normal life isn’t something you build at all. Maybe normal is loving the life you’re given.”" Simplifying our lives means avoiding complications. It means we have to stop being lazy. It means we have to live a moral life. It means we can no longer justify our mistakes. It is being accountable for our choices. Life is only as complicated as we make it, and we sure do love to complicate our lives."" When things are out of order, we scramble to find some way to put everything perfectly back into place. The truth is there is nothing wrong with a little turmoil. Adversity opens the mind and allows us a chance to reposition ourselves somewhere better."" Of course boys were a distraction. They had been since the start of man. I was fairly positive cave boys had scribbled the trickery on the walls. Idiot!"" And in our quest to victory, we often forget how dangerous games can be. We forget people could get hurt. Or worse . . . we could lose."" Stumble: On the road of life, we will stumble, and we will probably fall. We will make bad choices. The key is to learn from our mistakes so we don’t stay down."" We also have a bad habit of pretending we are not miserable. We hide, but eventually we are found. We cannot run from the inevitable reminder of our failures forever. And we shouldn’t. The only way to end the misery, is to own the responsibility""When is it okay to fight? There is no right answer. We have to stand up for ourselves. We have to defend those we love. If we do not take a stand, we will suffer because we are human. It does not mean we have to condone violence. We simply have to choose our battles. There is no more powerful feeling than taking a punch for being true to who we are."" Soon is an awful word. As is maybe, probably, eventually, and we will see. Still, they are words we cling to for the slightest bit of hope. Even when faced with the impossible, we all want to believe there is a chance.""Sometimes, soon is exactly what we need. Soon can be that tiny bit of light at the end of the tunnel. As long as we can see it, we will not give up. The kicker is, soon, can also be an excuse some people use so they can avoid never."" Soon . . . is never soon enough. Soon . . . is never the answer we want. Soon . . . is never satisfying. But we will always take it, because soon . . . is something we can hold onto."" Perception: Our perception of a situation determines how we feel. Whether faced with something life changing, or something minor, how we perceive it is how it will affect us. The truth is if we see our situation as helpless , we will feel helpless. If we decide it sucks, it will suck. If we want things to be different we have to change how we think.""There are two versions to every story, the right version and the wrong version, the truth and the lie. It is often hard to distinguish, because the people who believe their tale superior have manipulated both versions." "When two versions of a story have legal consequences, sorting out right and wrong gets tricky. Especially, if the wrong version is actually right , and the lie is safer than the truth.""What do we do when the nightmares keep us up, and we cannot simply forget? For most, we get angry, we fight, and then we live in denial until we have to succumb to our own mortality." “Change is a good thing.” That is what people say to make other people feel better about their current circumstances. The truth is, until the situation is resolved, no one knows if change is good or bad. We can fight against change, roll with it, or take complete charge of it. Whatever we decide , change is inevitable, so we better be prepared."Every now and then , life forces us to make an adjustment . We are inherently able to adapt. It is in our DNA. It is why we are able to survive whatever life throws our way. Without the ability to adjust, we would become hostage to our fears, lose who we are , and become stagnant.""Making an adjustment is not easy. We are programmed to accept things how things are . When we have to adjust, our instinct is to dig our heels in. It is when we stop resisting and deal with change we discover new things. We learn life has wiggle room. This is when we discover we can be whomever we want, and we don’t have to lie dormant.""Clarity can be fickle. It eludes us and sometimes we never find it. When that happens, we are left with our best effort. We can only pray we do not choose poorly, and that we are not about to fall on our face. Worse than not finding clarity, is finding it, only to realize , doing the right thing is going to sting.""Throughout life, we experience many revelations. The first one most of us remember is when we realize our parents are human. When we love for the first time, we face the awful revelation a human heart can in fact break. Over time, our friends reveal themselves to be nothing more than acquaintances. But there are also happy revelations. When you realize you are stronger than you thought, or becoming a parent and realizing you will never love harder. Then there are surprise revelations, and good or bad, those are the ones that change us."" There are times we are not ready to see a revelation. We refuse to trust what we see, even if it is right in front of us. Sometimes it is because we are jaded by our past. We cannot sustain another let down, so we close our eyes.""It is only when we open our eyes we can experience a revelation. But when we have been hurt deeply, when we have experienced a loss of control, we squeeze our eyes shut. Denial is far easier than facing the truth.""The stories we read in newspapers or see on the evening news are typically unimaginable. In our mind, such horrible atrocities would never happen to us. We are smarter. We are different. We are untouchable. In truth, we are ignorant.""Each of us deals with the unimaginable in our own way. Regardless of how we go about forgetting, one thing is certain; we will survive."" How one rises from defeat defines their character.""When someone we have always known to be strong is suddenly delicate we become lost. We feel like failures. We fight against closing ourselves off completely. We want to because it is easier than the horrific feeling of not being able to restore the faith a person once had in you."" Finding ourselves in an emotionally delicate place can feel stifling. If we can somehow find the strength to take a breath , and reach for the person closest to us, we can survive. We can once again find our strength. We are only as fragile as we choose to be.""Sometimes the unexpected doesn’t just blindside us, it knocks us flat on our ass and holds us down. In the blink of an eye our life has changed. Then we have a choice; get up and fight back or give up.""Being blindsided by the unexpected is life. A wake up call is good for the soul. Sometimes we need a good kick in the ass to remind us what we are fighting for. No matter how damaged we think we are, there are always people in our lives who need us to recover. There is no time for living with Shame."
    more
  • Crystal's BookWorld ~ Crystal Cordova
    May 14, 2017
    This book killed me! I was gutted, anxious, and loving every freaking page of Loving with Shame. This book surprised me. Yes the Blurb was amazingly good. This is why I was so happy to have the opportunity to read it. K.J. Bell writes like no other I have read before when it came to a Street Gang. I was pleasantly surprised. The feels!! It has angst, madness, love, hurt, and just every other feel you can imagine. There were some parts in the book that were hard to get through. But it made it This book killed me! I was gutted, anxious, and loving every freaking page of Loving with Shame. This book surprised me. Yes the Blurb was amazingly good. This is why I was so happy to have the opportunity to read it. K.J. Bell writes like no other I have read before when it came to a Street Gang. I was pleasantly surprised. The feels!! It has angst, madness, love, hurt, and just every other feel you can imagine. There were some parts in the book that were hard to get through. But it made it the story line come together. Shame was not what I would have expected. I had a love-hate relationship with the sexy bastard. But in the end I was head over heels for the yummy bearded hottie. He has a lot of baggage. He has to hold his feelings for Breeze because she is forbidden. That part gutted me how he would have to go through life to try to forget her. But then I would hold out for hope since she is the first person to make him feel alive again. Breeze is strong willed and learns how to hold her own. She does not have the typical lifestyle. Shame takes her away at the young age of 13. To protect her and make sure she will survive the streets, the war. Shame is her fresh breath of air. That attraction and love at first sight. The sorrow that she goes through and still has the will to survive. I was behind Breeze through it all. This story has a hold of your heart. The end was just WOW! The story is a dual POV. Just like the book says, there are two different sides to a story. I loved how Living With Shame was written. You get the thoughts of Breeze and Shame in the same scenarios. Living with Shame is completely and utterly devastating but with a lot of love. If you don’t understand what that means, read the book and you will get it ;)
    more
  • Jacqueline Sanders
    May 9, 2017
    This book threw me for a loop! I loved how the author set up the storyline to show the present and the past; I felt as if I were watching it all play out in movie-format! This is the first book I've read by KJ Bell and I have to say...she now has a fan for life. I loved everything about this book. The plot was perfectly executed and the author really kept you on the edge of your seat the entire time. I couldn't put this book down, it was like I was sucked into Bell's world and I never wanted to This book threw me for a loop! I loved how the author set up the storyline to show the present and the past; I felt as if I were watching it all play out in movie-format! This is the first book I've read by KJ Bell and I have to say...she now has a fan for life. I loved everything about this book. The plot was perfectly executed and the author really kept you on the edge of your seat the entire time. I couldn't put this book down, it was like I was sucked into Bell's world and I never wanted to come up for air. That's how amazing this book is. The entire story wraps around you in a way that leaves you thinking about it for days after you've finished reading it. The characters were believable in a messy, real-life kind of way. Life can sometimes suck and it was no different for these characters. “We were perfect when we gave up control and allowed our bodies to do the talking. The rest of the time, though….we were severely flawed." Breeze didn't grow up in a fairytale. Her world was dark and unforgiving. She knew pain through neglect and disappointment. Shame lived a hard life as well and now he's the leader of the Irish Bastards, a street gang that has more than its fair share of rivals. Both come from worlds that treated them poorly, but they continue to do what they've always done....survive. Breeze is stronger than she looks and Shame has a heart that he refuses to let anyone see. Their chemistry is instant but the love between them is a slow burn. It fits the book because honestly...it couldn't happen any other way. I loved the dual points of view..with that we are able to see just how affected each character is and how they continually have to fight to stay away from each other. "What do you want from me?" he growled, throwing his hands up again."I want you to at least act like you care about me." "I want you, Dimples. I want you so fucking bad it hurts, and because you want me too is why you have to go." I loved watching Breeze grow into a strong woman and watching Shame finally allow his heart to open up made me fall in love with him hard. Don't get me wrong..he can be an ass, but he's an ass that makes it hard really hard not to love him. Your heart will break and you'll probably need to stop and catch your breath a few times, but this book is so worth the pain. Just be aware that there is a semi-cliffhanger and the next installment does not have a release date yet.
    more
  • SunshineGirl
    May 18, 2017
    **I won an ARC and am voluntarily writing a review.** I am not sure how I feel about this book yet. It is not my typical romance/erotica book that I read. I have ventured out before and will continue to do so. Living with Shame has lots of "club/gang" action which is not my usual thing.The story starts off with the present, jumps back to years before and moves forward and back to present day. Quick action happens right from the start of the book that leads us to learn about how the two main char **I won an ARC and am voluntarily writing a review.** I am not sure how I feel about this book yet. It is not my typical romance/erotica book that I read. I have ventured out before and will continue to do so. Living with Shame has lots of "club/gang" action which is not my usual thing.The story starts off with the present, jumps back to years before and moves forward and back to present day. Quick action happens right from the start of the book that leads us to learn about how the two main characters first meet and end up in the current situation.Shame is the head of the Irish Bastards in a small town whose rival are the Villains. Shame first meets Breeze when she is a minor (lying about her age) and he comes to her rescue, so he claims, because of knowledge he has in town about the rival club, the Villains. For many years, Breeze lives with Shame to protect her until she is an adult. Once she is of age, more information is brought out about the Villains, Shame's family history and the connection between Shame and Breeze. The book ends with a few scenes that are a continuation of the beginning action/situation that Shame and Breeze are in. There were many times when I skimmed text. There were many times when I smiled, laughed and even cried with the storyline. The book does end in a cliff hanger, but I am not on the edge of my seat waiting for the next volume.
    more
  • Reading Wahine
    May 28, 2017
    Full of angstThis story is full of angst and has a sexy danger vibe. I'm so glad there was nothing that happened with them while Breeze was underage. The story was really well developed and had a lot of intrigue and mystery. Can't wait for book 2!
  • Amy Houser
    May 22, 2017
    Can't wait for book twoI loved shame and breeze! What an epic love story with more to come. This is my first book by this author and I love the writing style. Ill be waiting for the next book. Definitely recommend this book.
  • Rosemarie Mckenzie
    May 12, 2017
    OMG you guys!!!! KJ Bell kicked some major add with this book. Living Shame was one fantastic thrill ride that once I hopped on I didn't want to hop off. I went to bed at 12am because I couldn't put the book down, I was held captive and I was a willing prisoner.
    more
  • Carrie White
    May 19, 2017
    Wow these bastards rocked book 1!!! Extremely antsy to get more of Shame, Breeze & the gang.This was my first time reading any of Ms Bell's work and I'm definitely hooked. A suspenseful, forbidden romance with enough violence to bring you to your knees gasping for air!
    more
  • Ivette Pacheco
    May 16, 2017
    Ok, the wait is over and like always KJ Bell puts me through hell and back, I thought I learned my lesson with Tug and The Hustle but Noooo, she came back with vengeance and delivered Irish Bastards #1, please wake me up when IB #2 is Live because I want more!!!
    more
  • Frances
    May 25, 2017
    ShameIt would be a shame if you didn't read this book it is full of twists and turns and bad guys and all around family kitty and love you can never be without .
  • D
    September 30, 2016
    This is the kind of story I love to read. Intense, passionate, heartfelt, all the feels, sexy, and love. This story isn't tainted with gratuitous sex and shock value. Living With Shame is gritty, raw and everything in between with endearing moments, ugly moments, sadness, and the right amount of humor that the words on the pages keep me invested in the story. This is without a doubt KJ Bell's best writing yet. She has thrown caution and safety out the window and written with her heart. The chara This is the kind of story I love to read. Intense, passionate, heartfelt, all the feels, sexy, and love. This story isn't tainted with gratuitous sex and shock value. Living With Shame is gritty, raw and everything in between with endearing moments, ugly moments, sadness, and the right amount of humor that the words on the pages keep me invested in the story. This is without a doubt KJ Bell's best writing yet. She has thrown caution and safety out the window and written with her heart. The characters in this story, imprint themselves on your heart and your mind. The characters are large in personality and to read the layers that get peeled away as the story unfolds makes Living With Shame a must read.I'm a sucker for a truly bad boy that has a heart that is loyal, fierce and forever when it comes to the woman they love. And while stories should never be compared, Living With Shame gave me the same racing heart, goosebumps and shivers as Jay Crownover's Point Series. These bad boys take my breath away.D 5/5
    more
Write a review