Where's Walrus? And Penguin?
When Walrus escapes the zoo with his new friend Penguin, their adventures are twice the fun!In this sequel to the acclaimed Where's Walrus?, author Stephen Savage doubles the fun when Walrus escapes the zoo with his mischievous pal, Penguin. Will the zookeeper find them? Or will these clever runaways stay one step ahead disguised as subway riders, baseball players, and even grand opera performers? Hiding in plain sight, they elude the clueless zookeeper until a fly ball at a baseball game leads Walrus and Penguin to a chance encounter with surprising results!

Where's Walrus? And Penguin? Details

TitleWhere's Walrus? And Penguin?
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 29th, 2015
PublisherScholastic
ISBN0545402956
ISBN-139780545402958
Number of pages32 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Animals

Where's Walrus? And Penguin? Review

  • karen
    November 30, 2015
    this is the follow-up book to Where's Walrus? and it has the same general shape - in a no-text picture book, animals escape from the zoo and blend into the city amongst humans in unexpectedly well-camouflaged ways while an increasingly frantic zookeeper (and the giggling reader) tries to find them. in the first book, the escapee was a lone walrus but here he contributes to the delinquency of a penguin and the pair have an extremely productive day that culminates in an unexpected event. (view sp this is the follow-up book to Where's Walrus? and it has the same general shape - in a no-text picture book, animals escape from the zoo and blend into the city amongst humans in unexpectedly well-camouflaged ways while an increasingly frantic zookeeper (and the giggling reader) tries to find them. in the first book, the escapee was a lone walrus but here he contributes to the delinquency of a penguin and the pair have an extremely productive day that culminates in an unexpected event. (view spoiler)[♥walrus nuptials♥!!! (hide spoiler)]the artwork is really cute, and it feels like it falls on the younger side of the picture book age range, even down to the safety scissors-rounded edges of the illustrations. it's sort of a pre-where's waldo book - the pages aren't cluttered enough to be challenging, but it's a fun way to train little eyes to look for the unexpected in picture books. overall, it's one of those picture books i liked, but it doesn't have that hard-to-define quality that's gonna make it live in my heart forever. which is fine - my heart's pretty crowded already. i was only medium on the first book, but when i saw this one at BEA i thought, "maybe it just needed a penguin to push it over the hump and into my heart." but nope! it's cute and i'm sure little kids'll love it to pieces, but i can only like, i cannot love.
    more
  • Jess
    October 26, 2015
    Super fun wordless picture book that made me audibly HA several times until (view spoiler)[he briefly meets a lady walrus working at a hospital, immediately falls in love, and gets married? Sigh. I don't know why it bothers me that that's where this leads, but marriage is the last thing on the mind of the target age for this age. Plus, it takes away from the penguin walrus friendship / day out plot we're be rocking in the rest of the book. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Kimberly
    November 22, 2015
    Fantastic wordless picture book with wonderful pictures. Kids will get a kick out of finding Walrus and Penguin (and the zookeeper!) on every page, and laughing at the animals' clever disguises.
  • Traci Bold
    February 4, 2016
    A no text picture book that will delight readers with it's hide and seek format. Walrus and his friend Penguin have escaped from the zoo and the zookeeper is hot on their trail to find them. The reader is in on the joke as the pair are hidden in plain sight. To me it is a continuation of the first book, 'Where's Walrus' which is a take on the Where's Waldo books.Wonderfully illustrated.Illustrated by Stephen Savage, published by Scholastic.
    more
  • Laela
    August 29, 2015
    I know it is hard to believe, but I like this one better then the original. Walrus's new adventure with penguin just leaves me wanting more. Savage sure has a way with art. May I give this a sixth star, please?
  • Daphne
    September 8, 2015
    Fantastic wordless picture book with each page showing a disguised walrus and penguin and zookeeper hot on their tails. The illustrations tell a tale while keeping the laughs coming. Wonderful! (I love Stephen Savage)
  • Gulsah
    July 18, 2016
    I. Love. It.
  • Autumn
    November 20, 2015
    Love this stylish collection of sight gags with a surprise ending that is so great a kid could have made it up.
  • Sarah
    September 22, 2015
    This fun wordless book doubles as a seek and find. Are you able to find Walrus and Penguin in every picture?
  • Alyson
    August 30, 2015
    Love, love, love. Made all my coworkers read it as assigned reading for the day.
  • Brittany
    July 18, 2016
    Hilarious
  • Amanda
    September 2, 2015
    Liked this better than the first book.
  • Round Lake Area Library Youth Services Department
    January 5, 2016
    4.5 out of 5 (rounded up)Walrus and Penguin snuck out of the zoo! Will the poor zookeeper be able to see through their disguises and bring them home? In this fun, colorful sequel to Where’s Walrus?, Walrus brings his friend Penguin with him for the adventure as they disguise themselves as opera singers, boaters, and baseball players. This is a wordless book, but the images are full of color and kids will have fun searching for Walrus, Penguin, and the zookeeper hidden on each page. While a book 4.5 out of 5 (rounded up)Walrus and Penguin snuck out of the zoo! Will the poor zookeeper be able to see through their disguises and bring them home? In this fun, colorful sequel to Where’s Walrus?, Walrus brings his friend Penguin with him for the adventure as they disguise themselves as opera singers, boaters, and baseball players. This is a wordless book, but the images are full of color and kids will have fun searching for Walrus, Penguin, and the zookeeper hidden on each page. While a book with no words may sound odd to someone who hasn’t read one before, they can actually be a fantastic way to teach early literacy skills! Wordless picture books allow parents and children to make up the story together and really engage with the story. Children learn to read from left to right, learn that stories have a beginning, a middle, and an end, and learn to use pictures as clues to what’s happening in the book. I love the clean, brightly colored illustrations, and had to smile at the surprise twist at the end. Children of all ages (and parents!) will have fun with this one!
    more
  • Barbara
    November 17, 2015
    Although I see the appeal of books like this one for young readers since they need to look for the missing animals on each page and they develop visual acuity, the books never particularly appeal to me personally. I like them well enough, of course, just as I always enjoy wordless picture books. But I wish there were a little bit more or more of a challenge to this one. (I know that I'm in the minority here, and this book will be wildly popular.) That doesn't mean that I fail to find something w Although I see the appeal of books like this one for young readers since they need to look for the missing animals on each page and they develop visual acuity, the books never particularly appeal to me personally. I like them well enough, of course, just as I always enjoy wordless picture books. But I wish there were a little bit more or more of a challenge to this one. (I know that I'm in the minority here, and this book will be wildly popular.) That doesn't mean that I fail to find something worth noting in the digital illustrations because I do. A penguin and a walrus stroll right out of the zoo and into a lot of trouble. In various scenes readers will find them in a magazine kiosk and hawking newspapers on the street as well as conducting the orchestra and singing in the opera. A baseball mishap leads to a meeting that just might foretell a lifelong bond. Fans of these two adventurous animals will smile at how the story ends back at the zoo for a momentous occasion. Who knows where these animals will end up next?
    more
  • Margie
    July 8, 2015
    As the sun sets on a summer afternoon filled with freedom or on one of those final warm days in autumn, a chill seeping into the air, neighborhood guys and gals gather for a rousing game of hide-and-seek. Each player searches to find the perfect spot out of sight or blending in with their surroundings and standing as still as stone. Excitement swirls around the participants, each thrilling at their ability to elude the one hoping to find them.The enjoyment in this ability to evade discovery is h As the sun sets on a summer afternoon filled with freedom or on one of those final warm days in autumn, a chill seeping into the air, neighborhood guys and gals gather for a rousing game of hide-and-seek. Each player searches to find the perfect spot out of sight or blending in with their surroundings and standing as still as stone. Excitement swirls around the participants, each thrilling at their ability to elude the one hoping to find them.The enjoyment in this ability to evade discovery is heightened when shared. In Where's Walrus? (Scholastic Press, February 1, 2011) Stephen Savage introduced readers to a quick-witted walrus and a frustrated zookeeper. Those two have returned in a companion title, Where's Walrus? And Penguin? (Scholastic Press, August 25, 2015). This time Walrus has a willing partner in Penguin. The laughter doubles as these two boldly blend in wherever they go.My full review: http://librariansquest.blogspot.com/2...
    more
  • Paula
    May 25, 2016
    Savage’s sequel to “Where’s Walrus?’ is just as engaging and humorous as the original. Walrus, with new pal Penguin in tow, escapes the zoo one rainy day. The frantic zookeeper follows them on their gambol through the big city. By cleverly disguising themselves, Walrus and Penguin elude the zookeeper. They ride the subway and a limo, enjoy a row on the lake and take in an opera and a baseball game as part of their many adventures. It is at the baseball game that Walrus is injured and taken to th Savage’s sequel to “Where’s Walrus?’ is just as engaging and humorous as the original. Walrus, with new pal Penguin in tow, escapes the zoo one rainy day. The frantic zookeeper follows them on their gambol through the big city. By cleverly disguising themselves, Walrus and Penguin elude the zookeeper. They ride the subway and a limo, enjoy a row on the lake and take in an opera and a baseball game as part of their many adventures. It is at the baseball game that Walrus is injured and taken to the hospital where he is cared for by a comely walrus nurse. Walrus is immediately smitten and you can guess the rest. This wordless tale is engaging and witty on many levels. Pre-readers will enjoy following the animals’ antics through the uncluttered and subdued digital illustrations. The book is ideal for non-readers and for language development. It’s a smart, mischievous, and funny tale that is made even more so because it is wordless. It’s a must for any family with toddlers.
    more
  • Jess
    September 8, 2016
    September 2016 - the perfect, easy look-and-find for a beginner. Ben likes hunting for things in pictures, but isn't quite at Waldo level yet. This one is immediately gratifying and he found it very funny - he also immediately thought that the second walrus was the mom, so it turned into a twist ending for him!
    more
  • Annette
    July 28, 2015
    WHERE’S WALRUS? AND PENGUIN? by Stephen Savage is a follow-up to the popular Where’s Walrus (2011) picture book.This charming, wordless story takes zoo escapees Walrus and Penguin on an adventure through the city. All goes well until a baseball game and a trip to the hospital. Despite the accident, children will cheer the happy ending. Using simple shapes, basic colors, and interesting patterns, Savage is able to effectively hide Walrus and Penguin in plain sight. The pair use fascinating disgui WHERE’S WALRUS? AND PENGUIN? by Stephen Savage is a follow-up to the popular Where’s Walrus (2011) picture book.This charming, wordless story takes zoo escapees Walrus and Penguin on an adventure through the city. All goes well until a baseball game and a trip to the hospital. Despite the accident, children will cheer the happy ending. Using simple shapes, basic colors, and interesting patterns, Savage is able to effectively hide Walrus and Penguin in plain sight. The pair use fascinating disguises to avoid detection by the zookeeper. Children will enjoy finding the animals on each two-spread. Librarians will find a huge audience for this adorable series. It’s the perfect chance to bring out the flannel board and retell the story with other animals.To learn about the author/illustrator, go to http://www.stephensavage.net/.Published by Scholastic on August 25, 2015.
    more
  • Jim Erekson
    November 25, 2015
    I confess I didn't read the first Where's Walrus? yet. But it's a fun wordless searching book. Walrus and Penguin are on the lam, the zookeeper searching each double-page spread for both characters. It's a simple and fun dramatic irony making the find, knowing that the dumb zookeeper is being tricked. On each spread I had to look around to see not only how Walrus is being matched up to some other similar-looking figures, but also where Penguin is plugged in. The fun in this is that I got drawn i I confess I didn't read the first Where's Walrus? yet. But it's a fun wordless searching book. Walrus and Penguin are on the lam, the zookeeper searching each double-page spread for both characters. It's a simple and fun dramatic irony making the find, knowing that the dumb zookeeper is being tricked. On each spread I had to look around to see not only how Walrus is being matched up to some other similar-looking figures, but also where Penguin is plugged in. The fun in this is that I got drawn into looking all around the illustration. The ending was a little ridiculous, if sweet. I'd definitely want it in a stack of wordless picturebooks for an exploration of how this format works.
    more
  • Sharon
    June 22, 2015
    PreK&upThis charming sequel to Where's Walrus continues the wordless antics of everyone's favorite escape artist as the Walrus again sneaks out of the zoo and goes on an adventurous romp around the city- this time accompanied by his sidekick Penguin. Savage's stylish retro illustrations are very appealing, as are the antics of the two friends as they attempt to hide from the persistent zoo-keeper. All ends well with a new addition to the team, a surprise wedding, and a return to familiar gro PreK&upThis charming sequel to Where's Walrus continues the wordless antics of everyone's favorite escape artist as the Walrus again sneaks out of the zoo and goes on an adventurous romp around the city- this time accompanied by his sidekick Penguin. Savage's stylish retro illustrations are very appealing, as are the antics of the two friends as they attempt to hide from the persistent zoo-keeper. All ends well with a new addition to the team, a surprise wedding, and a return to familiar grounds as (presumably) Walrus and Penguin happily settle down now that their wanderlust has been appeased- at least until the next book comes out!This book was obtained at BEA15 in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Stephanie Croaning
    November 4, 2015
    This is a wonderful follow-up to Stephen Savage's previous wordless picture book, Where's Walrus? Walrus has snuck out of the zoo again, but this time he is joined by a penguin friend. I love how the first illustration picks up where the previous story ended. The continuity of characters and setting welcomes readers of the previous book.Savage uses basic shapes and colors in the illustrations, and his style, combined with a few clever disguises let's our naughty duo hide in plain sight. There is This is a wonderful follow-up to Stephen Savage's previous wordless picture book, Where's Walrus? Walrus has snuck out of the zoo again, but this time he is joined by a penguin friend. I love how the first illustration picks up where the previous story ended. The continuity of characters and setting welcomes readers of the previous book.Savage uses basic shapes and colors in the illustrations, and his style, combined with a few clever disguises let's our naughty duo hide in plain sight. There is a twist at the end of this book that is endearing.
    more
  • Heidi-Marie
    December 8, 2015
    AHHH! A sequel! I love it!!! So funny. I love searching for walrus (and now penguin) in the pictures. I like to see their adventures. And I did not expect the hospital twist at the end. That gave me a very good laugh. Must use in storytime!6/1/16 Used in P is for... theme in Literacy Moment. The kids helped me tell the story and then found the beginning letters of words they were telling me. They enjoyed the pictures. They loved the ending and its silliness.
    more
  • AMY PRIDGEN
    January 5, 2017
    This wordless book is perfect for kids from Gr. K-2. A walrus and penguin secretly escape from the zoo and are actively pursued by the zookeeper all over town. They manage to blend in on each page, giving children the opportunity to find them. The ending made me laugh out loud! This is fun, fun, fun! What an excellent way to tell a story without any words! This book should have been considered for a Caldecott award. It's very cleverly drawn! Loved it! Highly recommended for Gr. K-2.
    more
  • Juliana Lee
    March 6, 2016
    Walrus and Penguin are friends. Together they escape the zoo on a rainy day. No one notices but the zookeeper who is on their trail. He follows them down the subway, through the busy streets, into the park, to the opera, to the ballgame, and the hospital where Walrus meets a lovely nurse. Back at the zoo Walrus and the nurse get married. Penguins are the attendants. And the zookeeper officiates.
    more
  • Laura McLoughlin
    June 26, 2015
    A cute wordless story about a walrus and penguin who have escaped from the zoo and the intrepid zookeeper who wants to bring them home. Kathryn got annoyed that there were no words, but other kids will enjoy making up their own stories. The pictures are very pretty and it is fun to try and find the 3 characters (walrus, penguin, and zookeeper)
    more
  • Tina
    April 2, 2015
    Walrus strikes again! And this time he has a friend with him.Once again Savage gives us an adorable picturebook that will bring a smile to anyone's face who looks at it. Each page is full of charm and wit, and this one brings an ending that Walrus truly deserves. Pay attention when reading to the conductor - it was one of my favourite pages!
    more
  • Becky B
    February 8, 2015
    Walrus and Penguin slip out of the zoo and evade zookeepers by masquerading as a variety of various people all over the city. Eventually they are caught, but given the circumstances, neither seems to mind much at all.A very easy hide and seek for little ones. There are no words either, so this is a good book for very young readers.
    more
  • Paula
    November 20, 2015
    Walrus and Penguin have escaped from the zoo! Will the zookeeper find them? Or will these clever runaways stay one step ahead disguised as subway riders, baseball players, and even grand opera performers? In this mischievous, wordless picture book, join Walrus and Penguin on their breezy escapade in the big city as they find fun wherever they go.
    more
  • Ms. B
    August 13, 2015
    Sequel to one of my favorite picture books from 2011, Where's Walrus? This time, Penguin escapes with Walrus from the zoo. Readers will locate Penguin and Walrus long before the zookeeper. What readers may not expect is the twist at the end. This may end up being even more popular than the original.
    more
  • Roben
    December 10, 2015
    Walrus is back! He and penguin escape from the zoo and cleverly manage to elude the zookeeper who is chasing them. But there’s a happy ending just waiting to happen! This wordless book would be fun with a wide variety of ages -- it's fun to find Walrus and Penguin in each spread. And wait - is that another Walrus?
    more
Write a review