Darth Vader, Vol 1
The original Dark Lord of the Sith stars in his first ongoing series! Ever since Darth Vader's first on-screen appearance, he has become one of pop-culture's most popular villains. Now, follow Vader straight from the ending of A NEW HOPE (and the pages of the new STAR WARS comic book) into his own solo adventures — showing the Empire's war with the Rebel Alliance from the other side! But when a Dark Lord needs help, who can he turn to? As Vader pursues a very personal vengeance against the Rebels and investigates the Emperor's secret machinations, he clashes with weapons scavenger Aphra and deadly Battle Droids, and returns to Geonosis to build an army. But some very powerful people don't want him to learn the truths he seeks! Guest-starring Jabba the Hutt, Boba Fett and more! Collecting DARTH VADER #1-6.

Darth Vader, Vol 1 Details

TitleDarth Vader, Vol 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 20th, 2015
PublisherMarvel
ISBN0785192557
ISBN-139780785192558
Number of pages160 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Marvel

Darth Vader, Vol 1 Review

  • Alejandro
    December 4, 2015
    The Dark Side of the Force is strong in this one! I got this run on its single comic book issues but I am doing the review using this TPB edition to make a better general review about the whole story. The story is set after the events of “Star Wars IV: A New Hope” but before the events of “Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back”. This TPB edition contains from the title of “Star Wars: Darth Vader” #1-6 in its new Marvel Canonic run.Creative Team:Writer: Keiron GillenIllustrator: Salvador Larroca The Dark Side of the Force is strong in this one! I got this run on its single comic book issues but I am doing the review using this TPB edition to make a better general review about the whole story. The story is set after the events of “Star Wars IV: A New Hope” but before the events of “Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back”. This TPB edition contains from the title of “Star Wars: Darth Vader” #1-6 in its new Marvel Canonic run.Creative Team:Writer: Keiron GillenIllustrator: Salvador Larroca YOU DON’T KNOW THE POWER OF THE DARK SIDE! Keiron Gillen is doing a superb job bringing into the front, the side (The Dark Side!) of the story involving Darth Vader where you can get into his head and realizing the struggles in his conflictive mind. Salvador Larroca again prove that he is an artista of thousand styles, since unlike most of the comic book artists that they developed certain recognizale style, Salvador Larroca is in constant movement re-inventing his own style. FALL FROM GRACE Darth Vader has been the loyal apprentice of Darth Sidious (aka Emperor Palpatine) and he has proved to be an effective instrument to enforce the politics and strategies of the Galactic Empire.However, The Death Star was blown to pieces in his watch......Bummer!Now, the Emperor isn’t pleased (to say the least!) and he is putting Vader now under the command of Grand Admiral Tagge (Commander-in-Chief of the Imperial Starfleet).The worse is that Vader notices that Palpatine is developing some kind of operation without his knowledge. GO VADER TEAM! It’s evident to Vader that with Palpatine keeping secrets from him and Grand Admiral Tagge pulling his rank over him, that Vader needs his own private team.Vader hires from Jabba the Hutt, two of his best bounty hunters, one that most of you are acquaintance with him and his vast supply of Mandalorian gadgets and one big hulky Wookie with dark hair. Two bounty hunters but two separate missions.But those bounty hunters are hardly of trust. Vader needs a private team with unquestionable loyalty to him, therefore...Enter: Dr. Aphra!Dr. Aphra is a human female with a deep knowledge about droids...Enter: 000 (Triple-Zero) and BT!Now, Vader has his own protocol droid (with knowledge of six million of killing techniques!) and a blastodroid disguised as astromech (with a vast supply of weapons!).And thanks to Dr. Aphra, now Vader also has his private team of battle droids loyal only to him.Vader is still deep into the Dark Side of the Force......but is Palpatine too? Secrets and lies aren’t the issue, but heresy about following the path of the Dark Side of the Force? That’s something that Vader will have to meditate what must be the proper reaction...
    more
  • Sean Gibson
    December 12, 2015
    There’s a reason you don’t see a lot of long-running comic series focused on diabolical evildoers. Writing a series with a bad guy—not an antihero, mind you, but a legit villain—as the main character involves a high degree of difficulty. As much as we love compelling foes for our heroes, ultimately, we want the heroes to win out because, let’s face it, you can only be so sympathetic toward a guy whose favorite hobbies include things like, in the case of Darth Vader, using the Force to crush peop There’s a reason you don’t see a lot of long-running comic series focused on diabolical evildoers. Writing a series with a bad guy—not an antihero, mind you, but a legit villain—as the main character involves a high degree of difficulty. As much as we love compelling foes for our heroes, ultimately, we want the heroes to win out because, let’s face it, you can only be so sympathetic toward a guy whose favorite hobbies include things like, in the case of Darth Vader, using the Force to crush people’s windpipes, generally oppressing lesser beings, and treating even the most mundane daily interactions (“Can I take your cape for you, Mr. Vader?” said the hostess at Darth’s favorite restaurant) as confrontations to be addressed with the lit end of a lightsaber. Overexposure is a compelling villain’s worst nightmare (and ours, frankly, as I have no desire to see crusty old Anakin exposing himself) because he inevitably becomes less scary and interesting the more you see of him. Think about Vader: he’s spooky in the original trilogy because we don’t see him that much and, when we do, when he walks in a room, there is palpable fear. When that happens in every single scene in a comic, it starts to become less novel. And if you go too far overboard in chronicling your villain’s adventures, well…let’s just say that the intimidation factor goes down by at least an order of magnitude the first time you see the bad guy emerge from the executive washroom with toilet paper clinging to his boots or continually flubbing his attempt to record an out-of-office voicemail message on his work phone because he’s going to be away from the Death Star on a business trip for the next week and you should contact his secretary if you need immediate assistance in crushing any rebellions in his absence. Fortunately, Messrs. Gillen and Larroca do a good job of staying away from giving Darth the mockumentary treatment and keeping him pretty scary, but, still—this is too much Darth for my taste. Seeing Darth belittled and disrespected by his fellow Empire cronies and essentially told he’s yesterday’s news is interesting, perhaps, but I prefer my Vader to remain scary and badass, thank you very much. But, hey—what do I know? It usually takes me at least five attempts to record a new out-of-office message on my phone whenever I travel for work. Not sure I want to chat about that at the water cooler with Vader, though.
    more
  • Bookdragon Sean
    February 3, 2016
    Now this was cool. Vader comes across in all the necessary degrees of ruthless, angry and intense. The flash backs were also great; they helped to deliver the full nature of his personality in this new story. The Sith Lord has been cast aside. He is no longer in favour with the Emperor after he let the Death Star be destroyed. The Emperor is angry at his apprentice’s lack of military tact; he respects Vader’s strength, but despises his lack of cunning. He assigns him an imperial officer to guide Now this was cool. Vader comes across in all the necessary degrees of ruthless, angry and intense. The flash backs were also great; they helped to deliver the full nature of his personality in this new story. The Sith Lord has been cast aside. He is no longer in favour with the Emperor after he let the Death Star be destroyed. The Emperor is angry at his apprentice’s lack of military tact; he respects Vader’s strength, but despises his lack of cunning. He assigns him an imperial officer to guide him, leaving him in the role of a simple solider. Vader, as ever, is angry at such treatment. He sacrificed everything when he embraced the dark side.How could he be so easily cast aside? He who killed everything he once loved?Vader endeavours to prove the Emperor wrong. He musters his own personal military might. He salvages an old droid tactical unit along with a small army of Geonosian droids. He strikes directly at the Emperor’s contingency plan: androids that resemble Jedi knights. They are to replace Vader should he prove too weak. The Emperor wants to see how Vader will respond to such a threat; he only wants the strongest enforcer to bend to his will. Naturally, Vader is pissed off. He thought he was secure in his position as the Emperor’s right hand. At the end of this comic, he comes to a monumental decision. He will try to turn his son, and together they will rule the galaxy! (evil laugh.) He will never look at his master the same way again.This was great. The plot slotted perfectly in the time frame between a New Hope and the Empire Strikes back. It showed Vader’s off screen development, and his full realisation as to his vulnerable position as a Sith Lord. There is no sentiment between Master and Apprentice, something Vader was very slow to learn. This seemed like a massive smack in the mouth for the cold hearted traitor. As Anakin Skywalker, he was friends with Palpatine. Well, at least, he thought he was. I guess, from Vader’s point of view, there was more between the two of them.The artwork was slick and fab, the story engrossing. I really like this comic, and I really like seeing this dynamic between Master and Apprentice explored. I’m looking forward to reading the next collection of issues! Vader Comic Volumes 1. Vader- A dark four stars
    more
  • Kemper
    December 23, 2015
    Even a Sith Lord like Darth Vader has a boss he has to answer to, and when he failed at his last assignment which resulted in a Death Star going KERBLOOEY then he sure wasn’t going to pass that next performance review.So Vader is really in the Emperor’s dog house which results in him suffering a demotion and having to take orders from an Imperial officer who sees him as simply a weapon to be used. However, Vader also has his own agenda like finding out exactly who was that Force-strong pilot who Even a Sith Lord like Darth Vader has a boss he has to answer to, and when he failed at his last assignment which resulted in a Death Star going KERBLOOEY then he sure wasn’t going to pass that next performance review.So Vader is really in the Emperor’s dog house which results in him suffering a demotion and having to take orders from an Imperial officer who sees him as simply a weapon to be used. However, Vader also has his own agenda like finding out exactly who was that Force-strong pilot who blew up his shiny new Death Star.This shares a story line with the main Star Wars comic that Marvel has been doing, and I very much enjoyed the first half of this which brought up some plot points that I had never thought about like how the Emperor probably wouldn’t have been very happy with Vader after the events of A New Hope. The second half fades a bit because Vader uncovering a secret program that the Emperor has been hiding didn’t seem like anything special. I also thought the new droids Vader acquires, Triple-Zero and Bee-Tee, were a nice touch since they’re essentially C-3PO and R2-D2 if they went bad and developed a taste for torture and murder. It was entertaining and did find some new angles to probe with Vader as a character and his role as the Emperor’s enforcer, but it felt like maybe the highlights should have just been put in the main Star Wars book rather than being it’s own title because it did start to feel thin after a while.
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    June 21, 2015
    The second title in the 2015 Marvel Star Wars relaunch is Darth Vader, the most iconic character in the series and one of the best villains of all time. And the book is… just ok. Like Jason Aaron’s Star Wars series, Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca’s Darth Vader takes place between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, and even links in with Aaron’s book by showing what Vader got up to in between his appearances there. The premise of this series makes sense but it’s also quite weak. The Empe The second title in the 2015 Marvel Star Wars relaunch is Darth Vader, the most iconic character in the series and one of the best villains of all time. And the book is… just ok. Like Jason Aaron’s Star Wars series, Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca’s Darth Vader takes place between A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back, and even links in with Aaron’s book by showing what Vader got up to in between his appearances there. The premise of this series makes sense but it’s also quite weak. The Emperor is displeased that Vader failed him by allowing the Rebels to blow up the Death Star; Vader must prove himself worthy by defeating the Emperor’s potential replacements for him. It’s weak because we know Vader isn’t replaced - he’s in Empire and Return of the Jedi - so there’s no real tension over whether or not he’ll triumph. Gillen introduces some new characters but they’re derivative of other, more well-known characters. Dr Aphra IS female Indiana Jones. Her introduction is exactly like the opening sequence to Raiders of the Lost Ark but Star Wars-ified, and she describes herself as a rogue archaeologist. There’s also 0-0-0 (Triple Zero) and BT-1, two droids who look exactly like Threepio and Artoo but with black plating because they’re EVIL. I’m not sure if they were meant as comic relief but they’re not funny and were distracting for being such unimaginative creations.One of the things I was hoping these comics wouldn’t do was reference the heinous prequels. I really wanted them to be forgotten like the nightmares they were and Marvel would just focus on the original trilogy and beyond, like the forthcoming Force Awakens movie. Jason Aaron adopted this approach but Gillen disappoints by referencing the prequels throughout this book. There are flashbacks to Vader as Anakin with Padme in Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith, references to Mustafar, Geonosis and Vader’s hatred of the Sandpeople; he even resurrects the tired old theme of building a secret army and we see the Nubian royal starship (the silver spaceship from Phantom Menarghhgh - couldn’t say it!) that Vader still uses as his own private ride (out of sentimentality?). A couple shots even looked like they were taken from the prequels, specifically those long, boring CGI shots of interiors on Coruscant - ugh!Did any of that make the book better, or was any of it even necessary? Nope! Just stirred up bad memories once again. Up yours, Kieron Gillen! Salvador Larroca’s art is gorgeous though, drawing the familiar characters beautifully, even presenting the comic like a movie with wide panels and splash pages. Adi Granov’s covers too were absolutely fantastic, as always. But, like I said, this title merges with Jason Aaron’s so certain moments like Vader on Tatooine meeting Jabba, hiring Boba Fett to track down Luke, and that final shot, are repeated. That doesn’t mean you need to read this to appreciate the other though - in fact, given how ordinary this book is, you could skip this entirely and just read Aaron’s far better Star Wars book instead and not miss anything important! I’m sure most people will read this book because who can resist a great villain, especially one as cool as Vader? But it’s not a great story, though it has fantastic art. Star Wars works as an ensemble piece - break that up and focus on just one element and even the strongest piece, like Vader, seems weak and unimpressive. Gillen proves that with this average book by not really knowing what to with the character alone. The Force is mediocre with this one!
    more
  • Paul
    November 11, 2015
    Amazing. This is my favourite of the new Star Wars comicbooks by a long way.Kieron Gillen has hit the right tone for this book perfectly. The interaction between Vader and Jabba is wonderful. Gillen has the relationship between Vader and the Emperor down. You can feel the Emperor's contempt oozing off the page and Vader's barely checked fury is palpable.I love the new characters too; I wasn't sure about the evil versions of C-3PO and R2-D2 when they first appeared but they really grew on me. I'm Amazing. This is my favourite of the new Star Wars comicbooks by a long way.Kieron Gillen has hit the right tone for this book perfectly. The interaction between Vader and Jabba is wonderful. Gillen has the relationship between Vader and the Emperor down. You can feel the Emperor's contempt oozing off the page and Vader's barely checked fury is palpable.I love the new characters too; I wasn't sure about the evil versions of C-3PO and R2-D2 when they first appeared but they really grew on me. I'm also just geeky enough to love Vader having a female Indiana Jones as a sidekick.Oh, and the final issue? Particularly the closing scene? It gave me chills.Oh, and I don't want to finish my aimless ramblings without mentioning the artwork. Salvador Larocca must be absolutely stoked to be playing in the Star Wars sandpit because he has produced the best work of his career here by a country mile. When Larocca draws these characters I can hear them breathing.I was initially a bit cynical about the new Star Wars comicbooks but this title in particular has really changed my mind and I can't wait for the next volume.
    more
  • Stephen
    February 1, 2016
    The Death Star has been destroyed and the Emperor, is really disappointed in Vader and blames everything on him for his failure to defend the space station. And as we know the Sith do not tolerate failure, The Emperor has now demoted Vader, Vader now has to report to General Cassio TaggeVader is angry with the treatment he gets from the Emperor, Vader now plans to build an army of his own in secrecy if that’s what it takes to take back control.We also get introduced to some new characters, Aphra The Death Star has been destroyed and the Emperor, is really disappointed in Vader and blames everything on him for his failure to defend the space station. And as we know the Sith do not tolerate failure, The Emperor has now demoted Vader, Vader now has to report to General Cassio TaggeVader is angry with the treatment he gets from the Emperor, Vader now plans to build an army of his own in secrecy if that’s what it takes to take back control.We also get introduced to some new characters, Aphra BT-1 and Triple Zero. Aphra a rogue archeologist who searches for lost weapons. BT-1 and Triple Zero are basically the evil twin versions of R2 and Threepio, they team up with Vader in order to build his secert army.
    more
  • Mario
    December 29, 2016
    A solid start to a series that has great potential. The art style is pretty amazing, and the story so far has been intriguing (it's Darth Vader, so of course it is intriguing). Off to the second volume.
  • Terence
    December 29, 2015
    Emperor Palpatine is angry with Darth Vader over the destruction of the Death Star.Because of that Vader got a demotion to messenger/errand boy/whatever the Emperor says you better do.I like Star Wars. The philosophy is intriguing in it's simplicity and lightsabers are awesome. Galactic Politics are eh and trade routes are just...yuck. Delving into the minutiae between A New Hope and the Empire Strikes back is far from awesome. Perhaps it's knowing exactly what happens up to Vader's end that mak Emperor Palpatine is angry with Darth Vader over the destruction of the Death Star.Because of that Vader got a demotion to messenger/errand boy/whatever the Emperor says you better do.I like Star Wars. The philosophy is intriguing in it's simplicity and lightsabers are awesome. Galactic Politics are eh and trade routes are just...yuck. Delving into the minutiae between A New Hope and the Empire Strikes back is far from awesome. Perhaps it's knowing exactly what happens up to Vader's end that makes it less interesting, but it feels like watching Vader going grocery shopping in the evil galactic grocery store. "I need unquestioning henchmen, bounty hunters to seek out my enemies, and possibly a new job because my boss looks like he wants to fire me."2.5 out of 5 stars
    more
  • Sesana
    July 6, 2015
    There are parts of this book that are really solid. There really is a gap between A New Hope and Return of the Jedi, particularly where Vader is concerned. In A New Hope, he's kind of Tarkin's sidekick, enough so that Admiral Motti feels free to mouth off to him. But by Empire Strikes Back, he's feared and powerful in his own right. And he knows who Luke is. So what happens in between? In Gillen's version, Vader is out of favor with the Emperor, which does make a certain amount of sense. And he' There are parts of this book that are really solid. There really is a gap between A New Hope and Return of the Jedi, particularly where Vader is concerned. In A New Hope, he's kind of Tarkin's sidekick, enough so that Admiral Motti feels free to mouth off to him. But by Empire Strikes Back, he's feared and powerful in his own right. And he knows who Luke is. So what happens in between? In Gillen's version, Vader is out of favor with the Emperor, which does make a certain amount of sense. And he's driven to discover the identity of the pilot who destroyed the Death Star, because of course. So far, it makes sense. And so does the notion that the Emperor would be making plans to replace Vader, because of course he intends to outlive Vader. So far, so good. And Gillen can generally write Vader fairly well. I often got the sense of how genuinely frightening he would be, and Gillen doesn't make the mistake of giving him too much dialog or internal narration.But the cast of supporting characters... Yikes. I didn't like the character of Aphra in this book. Don't get me wrong, I liked her. She's a really cool character, a little Indiana Jones, generally smart, daring, all that good stuff. But she just felt out of place here. If she had been added to, say, the main Star Wars book, or the Princess Leia book, or the upcoming Lando book, I wouldn't have minded. But even though she's a cool character, she just didn't feel like the right character for this book. And honestly, I just plain didn't like the two homicidal droids. They were just too obviously evil Threepio and Artoo for me, and I didn't feel like they added enough to overcome how derivative they were.I wasn't a fan of the way Vader's search ended. It felt, to me, like Gillen just wanted to throw all of these ideas out there as quickly as possible in case he didn't get a chance to use them. Which is an approach I'm not a fan of. Some of these ideas may actually be good, but you don't really get time to appreciate them. Of course, I'm not actually sure how many of those last minute ideas were good.There's also some overlap with the main Star Wars book, which means that you'd read the same scene twice if you were reading them both. In a way, it does make sense. I don't suppose you could really assume that everybody would read both, though I bet most readers would. But generally, I felt like the main book handled those moments better, though this book went into more detail. Do you need to read both? Well, there's no reason not to. The main book is better, verging on great, but this is pretty good, much better than I'd thought it would be. I'm now terribly worried that Princess Leia will disappoint.
    more
  • Dimitris
    November 27, 2015
    Perhaps this is blasphemy but in this comic book I kinda like the darker and more murderous versions of C-3P0 and R2D2, Triple Zero and BT-1 more than Darth Vader. They were so freakin’ awesome
  • Daniel
    December 7, 2015
    Odlican artwork koji je nazalost bacen na relativno dosadnu pricu. Imazabavnih likova i dobijamo par vrlo lepih detalja ali sve ukupno je nekako dosadno sto bas i nisam ocekivao.Ali prica obecava za dalje tako da se nadam boljem.
  • Raoofa Ibrahim
    September 25, 2016
    Me while readingAfter what Vader did to Palpatine, sacrificed a lot to be a Sith lord, Palpatine isn't treating him well, and is thinking of a replacement. Vader is also looking for the pilot who blow up the Death Star! and he is having a sentimental flashbacks! :( (view spoiler)[(hide spoiler)]----I really loved those 6 issues !
    more
  • Lindsey Lynn
    November 25, 2015
    Of course he is the best Bounty Hunter. Don't judge. ughhh I am seriously loving these comics! Definitely going to keep buying these!
  • Blindzider
    October 1, 2016
    3.5 StarsThis was actually something new! Vader is basically in trouble after the the destruction of the Death Star. Gillen shows us another side of Vader as he's now in a position where his job is in trouble. Seeing Vader walking around in "regular" places is different too. I still say Larocca's art is still the best match for these Star Wars series.A minor nitpick, and I'm not sure if it is completely Gillen or Larocca, or both, but there are elements of the story that are clearly taken from o 3.5 StarsThis was actually something new! Vader is basically in trouble after the the destruction of the Death Star. Gillen shows us another side of Vader as he's now in a position where his job is in trouble. Seeing Vader walking around in "regular" places is different too. I still say Larocca's art is still the best match for these Star Wars series.A minor nitpick, and I'm not sure if it is completely Gillen or Larocca, or both, but there are elements of the story that are clearly taken from other movies: Aliens, Raiders of the Lost Ark and Avengers. There's a line between homage and copying and it felt a little more on the copying side for me.Looking forward to reading the next volume.
    more
  • Joe
    January 10, 2016
    Oh boy, oh boy was this great! It's strange but for all of my imagination free time I've spent on Star Wars over the years, precious little of it was spent on Darth Vader. I didn't care about his back story before the prequels and after I felt vindicated in that feeling. Vader was like a good Lovecraft story: the less I knew, the scarier he was.I started to change my tune last year after reading "Lords of the Sith." That book took place before "A New Hope" and was basically Darth Vader and the E Oh boy, oh boy was this great! It's strange but for all of my imagination free time I've spent on Star Wars over the years, precious little of it was spent on Darth Vader. I didn't care about his back story before the prequels and after I felt vindicated in that feeling. Vader was like a good Lovecraft story: the less I knew, the scarier he was.I started to change my tune last year after reading "Lords of the Sith." That book took place before "A New Hope" and was basically Darth Vader and the Emperor meets "Black Hawk Down." It was a thrilling adventure from start to finish and helped me to further appreciate his character in ways I never had before.And now this, "Star Wars: Darth Vader Vol. 1". Amazing! It takes place after "A New Hope". Vader is licking his wounds after failing the Emperor and needs to prove himself. He sets off to raise his own robot army with the help of a Lara Croft type adventurer who is hilarious and awesome and an evil C3P0 and R2D2. I can't believe how funny this book was but it makes sense. Vader is the ultimate straight man and makes everything else funny by comparison. I especially like the way the artist keeps cutting back to Vader's eternally deadpan expression to great effect.I could read a whole series just on the evil C3P0 character. He's amazing! All he wants to do is torture people and drain them of blood, but there's no reason to be rude about it.A must read for Star Wars fans.
    more
  • Richard Guion
    September 5, 2015
    This series was very surprising, the best of all Marvel's Star Wars books and it helped renew my interest in the main Star Wars series. Darth Vader, the most popular Star Wars character of all time, how do you build a solo series around him? He needs a cast of supporting characters! Who do you pick? Kieron Gillen wisely introduces some great new characters: Dr. Aphra (sort of a twisted female version of Indiana Jones), Triple Zero and BT-1 (murderous bots - the flip side of C-3PO and RT-D2). Vad This series was very surprising, the best of all Marvel's Star Wars books and it helped renew my interest in the main Star Wars series. Darth Vader, the most popular Star Wars character of all time, how do you build a solo series around him? He needs a cast of supporting characters! Who do you pick? Kieron Gillen wisely introduces some great new characters: Dr. Aphra (sort of a twisted female version of Indiana Jones), Triple Zero and BT-1 (murderous bots - the flip side of C-3PO and RT-D2). Vader needs someone to fight against, and he can't have a showdown with Luke until this series ever catches up to Empire so what do you do? Set Vader against the Emperor! The Emperor is punishing Vader for the loss of the Death Star, has demoted him and placed him under the control of other minions, the Dark Lord needs to fight back and struggle to attain his former position of power.The artwork by Salvador Larroca is excellent, very nice line work, there is an elegant simplicity to his style, but he captures the look / intensity of Darth Vader very well.
    more
  • Matthew
    January 12, 2017
    Great story... solid art. I'm looking forward to reading more.
  • Maria Dimitrova
    June 14, 2015
    This is what Star Wars used to be! Marvel delivered big time. The story follows the events after the Rebel Alliance blew up the Death Star from Vader's point of view. He has to deal with the fallout and Palatine's ire as the sole survivor of the disaster. Palatine being the evil Sith mastermind doesn't care who's fault it is as long as there is a scapegoat. The constant push and pull that characterizes the relationship between the two Sith Lords as a result of the tenets of the Rule of Two is th This is what Star Wars used to be! Marvel delivered big time. The story follows the events after the Rebel Alliance blew up the Death Star from Vader's point of view. He has to deal with the fallout and Palatine's ire as the sole survivor of the disaster. Palatine being the evil Sith mastermind doesn't care who's fault it is as long as there is a scapegoat. The constant push and pull that characterizes the relationship between the two Sith Lords as a result of the tenets of the Rule of Two is the main plotline. Palatine always looks for a weakness to exploit, for Vader to slip and not get up. He engineers situations that test Vader against his potential replacements and cares only for the winner. If Vader fails "Oh well I don't really need him.". Vader on the other side tries to thwart these plans, to seize the initiative and maybe come out on top for a change. Another major plotline ties up with the ESB and we see the beginning of Vader's collaboration with Boba Fett and how Vader learns Luke's identity. During these moments there are flashbacks to the prequels that make the story more cohesive. Finally a few words on the newly introduced characters - doctor Aphra and her droids. To me she's like a morally ambiguous Indiana Jones and I quite like her. Hope she'll get more pagetime in the other issues. But for me the sociopathic protocol Droid and the homicidal asthromech stole the spotlight and win the award for beloved new character. I just couldn't get enough of them. There was just one thing that annoyed me and usually it would have led me to lower my rating but the story was so great I can ignore it. There were a couple of panels where Vader is drawn with his arms crossed. I know it looks badass but if you watch the OT carefully you'll see it's out of character. Vader never crosses his arms cause Dave Prowse was actually incapable of the gesture. It's one of the things that passed off the fans originally at the end of RotS when Christiansen did just that. I know it's small detail but it really bugged me. Now where I can get my hands on the next issue, hmm?
    more
  • Paul
    February 18, 2017
    Read this in conjunction with Skywalker Strikes. I like the new territory this series is bringing to the overall universe.
  • Darren
    December 16, 2015
    While I enjoy Vader's arc in the original series - and in the stand alone novels by Luceno - I approached this TPB uncertain how much I was going to get hooked into his story in graphic form.To do that, given that Vader is such a strong character, motivations needed to be sufficiently powerful. Having failed the emperor following Ep. IV, and wanting to redeem himself, I was pleasantly surprised that it certainly did provide for some believable velocity through the first few books (there are six While I enjoy Vader's arc in the original series - and in the stand alone novels by Luceno - I approached this TPB uncertain how much I was going to get hooked into his story in graphic form.To do that, given that Vader is such a strong character, motivations needed to be sufficiently powerful. Having failed the emperor following Ep. IV, and wanting to redeem himself, I was pleasantly surprised that it certainly did provide for some believable velocity through the first few books (there are six in this TPB). The introduction of a few familiar faces (Fett for sure) was also very rewarding. Especially near the end of book 6.I'll admit that the Emperor's "secret" project (revealed in book 5 and developed in book 6) was a little tiring; lacked believability in my view.I will be pushing on to the next TPB when it's released in early 2016 (believe in captures books 7-12).
    more
  • Parsa Zigheimat
    January 23, 2017
    As glorious as Darth vader.به جرعت میگم جزو برترین کارهای کمپانی مارول توی چندین سال اخیر. شخصیت پردازی فوق العاده قوی، طراحی های خوب و دل نشین. علاوه بر اون داستان فوق العاده جذاب و روون پیش میشه هیچ جا خسته کننده نمیشه. به جز اون میتونم بگم بهترین کاری که تونسته عظمت سیث ها و مهم تر از اون لرد ویدر رو نشون بده همین مجموعه بوده.به نظرم برای کسانی که از جنگ ستارگان خوششون اومده و کسایی که عاشق دارث ویدرن خوندن این مجموعه واجبه. چون واقعا از خوندنش لذت خواهید برد. علاوه بر اون ترجمه ی این کار جزو As glorious as Darth vader.به جرعت میگم جزو برترین کارهای کمپانی مارول توی چندین سال اخیر. شخصیت پردازی فوق العاده قوی، طراحی های خوب و دل نشین. علاوه بر اون داستان فوق العاده جذاب و روون پیش میشه هیچ جا خسته کننده نمیشه. به جز اون میتونم بگم بهترین کاری که تونسته عظمت سیث ها و مهم تر از اون لرد ویدر رو نشون بده همین مجموعه بوده.به نظرم برای کسانی که از جنگ ستارگان خوششون اومده و کسایی که عاشق دارث ویدرن خوندن این مجموعه واجبه. چون واقعا از خوندنش لذت خواهید برد. علاوه بر اون ترجمه ی این کار جزو شیرین ترین کارهای ترجمه ی من بود وخیلی چیز ها ازش یاد گرفتم. میتونم بگم لذت بخش ترین کاری که تا امروز ترجمه کردم این مجموعه بوده.
    more
  • Robert
    November 21, 2015
    This was pretty much OK.Plenty of cameos from popular established characters throughout make it accessible to the everyday fan, and Salvador Larroca's art is beautiful as always.I didn't really care for the "Replacement Vaders" story arc, but on the whole the idea of showing Vader trying to work outside the establishment to secure his own sources of intelligence and power post-Battle of Yavin is an interesting one.
    more
  • TK421
    December 9, 2015
    Even Vader sometimes has the blues...
  • Collin
    October 16, 2016
    As much as I live and breathe Star Wars, I've never been a huge Vader fan. I'd never buy anything with Vader on it just because he was on it. In the original series, he just doesn't do much for me, and he's too far removed from Anakin for me to feel bad for Anakin anymore. This, though, digs into those hints that Vader is just the Emperor's leashed attack dog, which has always been the most fascinating aspects of Vader's existence in the original trilogy. To the Rebellion, Darth Vader is a terri As much as I live and breathe Star Wars, I've never been a huge Vader fan. I'd never buy anything with Vader on it just because he was on it. In the original series, he just doesn't do much for me, and he's too far removed from Anakin for me to feel bad for Anakin anymore. This, though, digs into those hints that Vader is just the Emperor's leashed attack dog, which has always been the most fascinating aspects of Vader's existence in the original trilogy. To the Rebellion, Darth Vader is a terrifying monster; to the Empire, he's just a relic who serves a purpose. It's a fascinating contradiction that, if it had been more apparent in the movies, could have really boosted my enthusiasm for Vader as an antagonist; as it was, this volume did a lot to fill the imperfection in the market.I just really enjoy Vader being a person, you feel me? He's a terrible person, sure, but he's a PERSON. His state in the Empire is just as wobbly as anyone else's - maybe more, because he's a Sith, an outdated antique with a religious complex. It just did my heart good to see this /explored/. I enjoyed Aphra, too - she's a fun, chill, savvy woman who seems to believe in something, like a mix between Han and Leia that was really fun to see acted out. Sure, Triple Zero and Bee Tee were just the Dark AU version of Threepio and R2, and the gimmick might have gotten a /little/ old, but it still had its entertaining bits.The three stars is misleading; I'd say more 3 1/2, just because I wasn't really emotionally invested. I'm hoping Vol 2 gets a full four stars.
    more
  • Ryan Stewart
    July 16, 2015
    Read this in single issues and, unlike a lot of titles tend to do on a month-to-month basis, I never felt like it lost steam. Jason Aaron's main Star Wars book might have bigger high points and more explosive in-your-face action, but the slow burn of this title added to the menacing presence of Vader and I found it fitting. This is probably my favorite of the new Star Wars offerings from MARVEL to date. One of the things that really made this stand out to me was the creeping doubt the Emperor an Read this in single issues and, unlike a lot of titles tend to do on a month-to-month basis, I never felt like it lost steam. Jason Aaron's main Star Wars book might have bigger high points and more explosive in-your-face action, but the slow burn of this title added to the menacing presence of Vader and I found it fitting. This is probably my favorite of the new Star Wars offerings from MARVEL to date. One of the things that really made this stand out to me was the creeping doubt the Emperor and the new "Grand Moff" have regarding Vader's abilities to lead following the destruction of the Death Star. So we see Vader on a quest to prove his worth by his master's side... and boy does he ever prove it. This is Vader at his smartest, his most calculating and tactical, and also his most brutal. There's one pretty big bombshell here in the final issue, but I won't ruin anything for anyone. I will recommend this, though. (Note: this ties in closely with the main SW title in some areas, particularly the end).
    more
  • Jordan Lahn
    February 8, 2015
    Everybody loves a good villain. And of course, when you're writing a villain book you need to create an even badder bad guy for the villain to come into conflict with. No one really wants to read about Darth Vader crushing innocent civilians and thwarting the Rebellion's efforts to bring freedom to the galaxy. This book manages to show Darth Vader at his most vulnerable, in between A New Hope (where he's essentially Tarkin's sidekick, until he allows the Rebels to get the plans that let them blo Everybody loves a good villain. And of course, when you're writing a villain book you need to create an even badder bad guy for the villain to come into conflict with. No one really wants to read about Darth Vader crushing innocent civilians and thwarting the Rebellion's efforts to bring freedom to the galaxy. This book manages to show Darth Vader at his most vulnerable, in between A New Hope (where he's essentially Tarkin's sidekick, until he allows the Rebels to get the plans that let them blow up the Empire's zillion-credit investment) and Empire Strikes Back (where he is the feared leader of the entire Imperial Navy). It's interesting to see him fighting his way back to some level of status, when everyone including the Emperor is treating him like a has-been. The end of the 6th issue really highlights Vader's motivation for seeking out Luke, and I enjoyed seeing that moment.
    more
  • Paul Decker
    December 17, 2015
    This trade paperback opens wonderfully. The first issue of this ongoing series is fantastic. Darth Vader, shortly after the loss of the Death Star, goes to Jabba the Hutt looking for aid in getting back into the Emperor's favor. By the end of this first volume though, I didn't feel the same energy and momentum. Some very cool things happen, like a return to Geonosis, but I was definitely more impressed with how this ongoing series started than where it left off.I will continue with this series, This trade paperback opens wonderfully. The first issue of this ongoing series is fantastic. Darth Vader, shortly after the loss of the Death Star, goes to Jabba the Hutt looking for aid in getting back into the Emperor's favor. By the end of this first volume though, I didn't feel the same energy and momentum. Some very cool things happen, like a return to Geonosis, but I was definitely more impressed with how this ongoing series started than where it left off.I will continue with this series, but I am hoping for more interesting stories coming up. I liked how new characters were introduced in this series pretty early on. I'm excited to read the big Vader Down crossover event.I give this first volume a 4/5. A very strong start, but hopefully it didn't peak too early.
    more
  • Kim
    November 30, 2015
    A long time ago in a galaxy far far away..............The one sentence that gets all of us Star Wars junkies chills. I decided to read some excellent Star Wars comics to get myself pumped up for the new Star Wars movie coming out soon!! *****excited scream*****And this comic definitely did just that! This comic is so visually appealing that I give it 5 stars just on the pictures alone. Yes pictures make me happy! Darth Vader...... "We do not suffer failure"And this comic will not fail u! Read it A long time ago in a galaxy far far away..............The one sentence that gets all of us Star Wars junkies chills. I decided to read some excellent Star Wars comics to get myself pumped up for the new Star Wars movie coming out soon!! *****excited scream*****And this comic definitely did just that! This comic is so visually appealing that I give it 5 stars just on the pictures alone. Yes pictures make me happy! Darth Vader...... "We do not suffer failure"And this comic will not fail u! Read it! 5 stars all the way!
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    June 5, 2015
    Where the main Star Wars comic hews too closely to the films, begging the question of why these stories weren't told there and thus undermining itself, Gillen identifies a gap in which a secret history can be woven. How does Vader move from defeat at the end of the first film to greater power in Empire Strikes Back? As much as any non-film answer can, this feels 'true', a worthy part of the world it expands. And the homicidal analogues of C-3PO and R2 are a delight.
    more
Write a review