Shingaling
Almost 2 million people have read the  New York Times  bestseller  Wonder and fallen in love with Auggie Pullman. Readers have also been given a special look at another side of his story with  The Julian Chapter and a peek at his life before Beecher Prep in  Pluto. In this third Wonder Story, they’ll get to see his first year of school and what follows in the beginning of the next year through the perspective of reader-favorite Charlotte.

Shingaling Details

TitleShingaling
Author
FormateBook Kindle
ReleaseMay 12th, 2015
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN0553499106
ISBN-139780553499100
Number of pages127 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fiction, Childrens, Middle Grade, Contemporary

Shingaling Review

  • Ryk Stanton
    May 19, 2015
    Completely irrelevant to the Wonder story. I'm disappointed.Charlotte is one of the three kids who is asked to show Auggie around the school when he goes to visit the campus before the school year begins. She is polite and helpful but then just sort of fades away as the book goes on. She's not a friend, not an enemy ... just a nice kid who helped out when the principal asked her to.Nothing that happens to Charlotte is relevant to the action of the novel in more than a superficial way. She knows Completely irrelevant to the Wonder story. I'm disappointed.Charlotte is one of the three kids who is asked to show Auggie around the school when he goes to visit the campus before the school year begins. She is polite and helpful but then just sort of fades away as the book goes on. She's not a friend, not an enemy ... just a nice kid who helped out when the principal asked her to.Nothing that happens to Charlotte is relevant to the action of the novel in more than a superficial way. She knows about the Plague and the boy war and everything, but she is more focused on a dance she is learning with two other students. This is the story of their friendship, and -- there just is no power here. Yeah, I love Wonder too. But if this - Shingaling - if this were a short story on its own, would it stand up? No.I respect Palacio's worldbuilding and multiple perspectives, but she can't go on and tell everybody's story for that year. The only remaining story I want to hear is Mr. Browne's -- that would be a great tale, to see how this inspirational teacher dealt with this situation through the year, how he modified his lessons to incorporate more Auggie and to teach the kids tolerance, how he selected his precepts. I doubt I'll buy any more of these peripheries unless she writes one for that teacher - and I sincerely hope she does.
    more
  • Aya Hamza
    August 11, 2016
    This was disappointing.I didn't enjoy the story at all. I didn't care about these characters' life-styles.The 2 stars are for Summer and Charlotte whom I loved in the original Wonder story.
  • Sean-Wyn
    November 10, 2016
    Even though Auggie didn't show up much in this, I loved this Wonder story! It's a close second to the Julian chapter. I felt like I could relate to Charlotte so, so much-the group dynamic between her, Ximena, and Summer (a friendship that becomes hidden the moment they enter their social groups at school), her obsession with the homeless man, her constantly fluctuating feelings. Even though she's an elementary schooler, some of her experiences mirrored mine in high school so closely that it was Even though Auggie didn't show up much in this, I loved this Wonder story! It's a close second to the Julian chapter. I felt like I could relate to Charlotte so, so much-the group dynamic between her, Ximena, and Summer (a friendship that becomes hidden the moment they enter their social groups at school), her obsession with the homeless man, her constantly fluctuating feelings. Even though she's an elementary schooler, some of her experiences mirrored mine in high school so closely that it was scary. Palacio needs to write another book about middle school/elementary life; we all know how rare good ones are these days. I especially appreciate how she didn't paint the "mean" girls as some 1D rich brats with CEO daddies. But still only a 4.5 because I felt like the comparison between Charlotte's treatment of the homeless man and her later treatment of Auggie was too overt.
    more
  • Lindsey
    May 13, 2015
    This story takes place from the viewpoint of Charlotte, one of the Beecher prep students. I felt like this story started off pretty slow and was mostly just repeating the same occurrences we have already read, especially if you have read Wonder, The Julian Chapter, and Pluto. So I was pretty bored with it at first. However it did get better and later on we start to see more about Charlotte and we find out even more about the Beecher Prep students such as Ximena, Maya, Summer, and Ellie. So I did This story takes place from the viewpoint of Charlotte, one of the Beecher prep students. I felt like this story started off pretty slow and was mostly just repeating the same occurrences we have already read, especially if you have read Wonder, The Julian Chapter, and Pluto. So I was pretty bored with it at first. However it did get better and later on we start to see more about Charlotte and we find out even more about the Beecher Prep students such as Ximena, Maya, Summer, and Ellie. So I did end up kind of enjoying it. That being said, I really wish RJ Palacio would stop milking the Wonder cow and write something new, because I feel like this is about to turn into a Babysitters Club series where you just read over and over again about the characters of a certain town or in this case school. Pleas give us something new to read!!
    more
  • Mimi
    June 11, 2015
    In "Wonder", "The Julian Chapter" and "Pluto", we learn about the boys in the fifth grade, their relationships, and how they change and grow in these relationships as the school-year progresses. This book, "Shingaling" is not a story about Auggie; it is about the girls in Auggie's class. We see the clicks these girls form, their preconceived ideas about some of the other girls in the class, and how many of them learn to look beyond those preconceived ideas to form new friendships or rekindle old In "Wonder", "The Julian Chapter" and "Pluto", we learn about the boys in the fifth grade, their relationships, and how they change and grow in these relationships as the school-year progresses. This book, "Shingaling" is not a story about Auggie; it is about the girls in Auggie's class. We see the clicks these girls form, their preconceived ideas about some of the other girls in the class, and how many of them learn to look beyond those preconceived ideas to form new friendships or rekindle old friendships. I was expecting this novella to be Charlotte's point of view on Auggie so I was pleasantly surprised to learn that we see the forming of friendships, being nice, and being kind from the girls' POV. This was an enjoyable (and fast) read!
    more
  • G
    October 8, 2016
    There are some actions or ideas that are needed to be contemplated first before doing, but being kind isn't one of those. Just a fine amount of goodness to make one's day fancy! On the side note, I am hoping that R.J. Palacio will soon come up with a fresh concept apart from narrating the stories of the characters from Wonder.
    more
  • Vlad
    June 13, 2016
    I liked this one the most out of all the short stories/novellas. It's just so cute to see Charlotte's evolution throughout the year, how she started from being the nice-girl wannabe to being an actual nice, kind, considerate friend to everyone. However, I'm so sad I'm done. Looking forward to future novellas like this one.
    more
  • Danny Phanton
    February 26, 2017
    Ser amable es el primer paso para ser bueno.Bueno, bueno, pues la verdad es que el libro es bastante entretenido y se lee en nada, como todos los de R.J. pero como dije en el de Julian, igual y ese era un poco necesario en la historia y conocer más del chico que molestaba a August y todo, pero en este libro de Charlotte creo que no aporta nada, de verdad, nada a la historia, podría ser un libro completamente diferente hablando de Charlotte y listo, no tiene casi nada que ver con La lección de Au Ser amable es el primer paso para ser bueno.Bueno, bueno, pues la verdad es que el libro es bastante entretenido y se lee en nada, como todos los de R.J. pero como dije en el de Julian, igual y ese era un poco necesario en la historia y conocer más del chico que molestaba a August y todo, pero en este libro de Charlotte creo que no aporta nada, de verdad, nada a la historia, podría ser un libro completamente diferente hablando de Charlotte y listo, no tiene casi nada que ver con La lección de August, se le menciona unas cuantas veces y ya, es más un libro sobre Charlotte lejos de August, me gustó, si, pero creo que es un libro innecesario, en fin, se los recomiendo si son fans de La lección de August, tendrán un momento agradable leyéndolo.
    more
  • Dany
    July 31, 2015
    "It's not enough to be friendly. You have to be a friend."Charlotte is barely mentioned a few times in Wonder's story, but I knew there was more to say about her. In "Shingaling", we learn how Charlotte experienced Auggie's arrival, how the first year of middle school went for her and we realise she is also friends with the lovely Summer, so she also appears a lot in this nice short book.Four stars!
    more
  • Tudor Vlad
    July 3, 2016
    This was okay, I quite liked it, but it had way too much teenage drama for my taste. I'm glad I'm finally done with all the Wonder novellas. I planned to read them right after finishing the main book (I loved that book), but I always found myself starting some other book...
    more
  • Denise
    February 13, 2015
    The difference between nice & kind.
  • Kats
    October 14, 2015
    Even though I think that Ms Palacio should consider writing an entirely new story instead of spinning off more and more stories riding on the coat tails of Wonder, I can't deny that I love returning to the familiar setting at Beecher Prep School with the various characters in Auggie's life. This is Charlotte's story; she was part of Auggie's "Welcome Committee" organised by Mr Tushman at the beginning of grade 5. Charlotte is seen by most (including this reader) as a goody two-shoes; basically a Even though I think that Ms Palacio should consider writing an entirely new story instead of spinning off more and more stories riding on the coat tails of Wonder, I can't deny that I love returning to the familiar setting at Beecher Prep School with the various characters in Auggie's life. This is Charlotte's story; she was part of Auggie's "Welcome Committee" organised by Mr Tushman at the beginning of grade 5. Charlotte is seen by most (including this reader) as a goody two-shoes; basically a plain Jane with great grades, and it's interesting to read that this is what she is most anxious about (other people's opinions about her being a bit dull and swatty). Shingaling gets you into the hearts and minds of tween girls, and at times it's a stark reminder of how conniving and cliquey girls - of any age - can be, but of course good triumphs over evil, and the overall message of Wonder " wherever you are, whenever you can, you should try to act a little kinder than is necessary" is emphasised once again. Whilst Auggie gets a few honorary mentions in Shingaling, I'd say that this short story has actually very little to do with him and his personal struggles and is all about the drama that goes on between teen/tween girls.
    more
  • Jocelyne
    December 3, 2015
    I really enjoyed reading this book! Since i had read wonder it was very fun to read more about important characters in Wonder. This book was about Charlotte and how she feels going to a school where there is controversy on a boy named Auggie Pullman and on how she is trying to balance her life doing dance which she loves and her school life.
    more
  • Cynthia
    May 12, 2015
    RJ Palacio has done it again! After reading this I had both my daughters 9age 9 & 10) sit down and read it as well. Wonderful story for tween girls, how to be a good friend, expectations and misperceptions of classmates. Many lessons in this quick read.
    more
  • Flor Méndez
    March 10, 2017
    Precioso, quizás mi favorito del universo Wonder después del principal (incluso, quizás, más que El Libro de los Preceptos del Señor Browne). Charlotte es súper honesta y es la primera vez que vemos la historia de Auggie y el universo escolar desde el punto de vista de una de las chicas; la amistad-rivalidad entre el grupo es tan real, dude. Kudos a R.J. Palacio por acordarse de cómo eran sus 10, 11, 12 años.
    more
  • IzamaRi H. Fabela
    March 7, 2017
    RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜https://goo.gl/6uzspV Supongo que a estas alturas del partido ya deben de saber que soy fan de la historia de Auggie en donde conocemos a varios personajes que son clave para el crecimiento del personaje. Son precisamente algunos de estos personajes de los que la autora lanzó tres historias cortas donde nos cuenta su punto de vista de la historia complementándola así. En esta ocasión es Charlotte quien nos cuenta su historia pero a diferencia de las historias cortas anterior RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜https://goo.gl/6uzspV Supongo que a estas alturas del partido ya deben de saber que soy fan de la historia de Auggie en donde conocemos a varios personajes que son clave para el crecimiento del personaje. Son precisamente algunos de estos personajes de los que la autora lanzó tres historias cortas donde nos cuenta su punto de vista de la historia complementándola así. En esta ocasión es Charlotte quien nos cuenta su historia pero a diferencia de las historias cortas anteriores donde Auggie tiene un poco más de protagonismo, en esta historia más bien queda en segundo plano pues la autora se concentra más en presentarnos el lado femenino de la historia ya que en la historia principal apenas y lo llegamos a conocer. A medida que te vas haciendo mayor empiezas a saber que a veces las historias no tienen un final feliz Para ser sincera al principio que la historia se alejara de Auggie me fastidio un poco pues lo que me gusta de estos libros (al menos de los dos anteriores) es el nuevo punto de vista que te ofrecen de él pero conforme las páginas fueron pasando me di cuenta que aunque la historia cambia bastante la idea de la autora sigue presente... RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜https://goo.gl/6uzspV
    more
  • Miss Bookiverse
    March 24, 2015
    I wish this story had been from Summer's or Ximena's point of view. They were much more interesting and likable than Charlotte. First of all she's pretty bland, she's really proud of always staying "neutral" but it felt more like a lack of backbone. She always wants to please everybody. I know she's still young and might need space to grow but uurgh, she just made for such in uninspiring character to read about.Also the writing rubbed me the wrong way. There were tons of exclamation marks and wo I wish this story had been from Summer's or Ximena's point of view. They were much more interesting and likable than Charlotte. First of all she's pretty bland, she's really proud of always staying "neutral" but it felt more like a lack of backbone. She always wants to please everybody. I know she's still young and might need space to grow but uurgh, she just made for such in uninspiring character to read about.Also the writing rubbed me the wrong way. There were tons of exclamation marks and words printed in cursive for emphasis which was not necessary to get her point across. Maybe the author did this to make Charlotte sound more juvenile but seriously, middle graders are not daft, they can talk like normal people do.What I did like was the exploration of different types of friendship and the look behind some character's facades.All in all the worst of the 3 Wonder short stories.
    more
  • Marina
    November 15, 2015
    Me ha encantado este libro. Tenía unas ganas inmensas de leer este libro. Tenía muchas expectativas, y se han cumplido. Me ha encantado ver los problemas que tenían las chicas, ya que principalmente habíamos visto las peleas que habían tenido los chico. Los problemas que tenían las chicas, eran totalmente ciertos, muchos de ellos yo los he vívido. El personaje principal, Charlotte, es genial. También me ha sorprendido mucho Ximena: hay que ver como cambia la visión que tienes hacia una persona c Me ha encantado este libro. Tenía unas ganas inmensas de leer este libro. Tenía muchas expectativas, y se han cumplido. Me ha encantado ver los problemas que tenían las chicas, ya que principalmente habíamos visto las peleas que habían tenido los chico. Los problemas que tenían las chicas, eran totalmente ciertos, muchos de ellos yo los he vívido. El personaje principal, Charlotte, es genial. También me ha sorprendido mucho Ximena: hay que ver como cambia la visión que tienes hacia una persona cuando la conoces. Sobre Summer, es adorable. Me ha parecido genial que el baile formase una parte importante de la historia. Recomiendo mucho este libro y la saga en general.
    more
  • Earl
    June 14, 2015
    You would think I'd be tired of all these Wonder novellas floating around but I'm not. Shingaling is a strong addition to the series focusing on one of Auggie's classmates, Charlotte. We get a female's perspective on things that have transpired that faithful fifth year in Beecher Prep.In hindsight, it would probably have been better to categorize these stories under Beecher Prep since everyone (including the teachers) seemed to have a fascinating backstory.A lesson that stood out to me in this o You would think I'd be tired of all these Wonder novellas floating around but I'm not. Shingaling is a strong addition to the series focusing on one of Auggie's classmates, Charlotte. We get a female's perspective on things that have transpired that faithful fifth year in Beecher Prep.In hindsight, it would probably have been better to categorize these stories under Beecher Prep since everyone (including the teachers) seemed to have a fascinating backstory.A lesson that stood out to me in this one was that it's one thing to be nice, it's another to be kind.
    more
  • Syifa Luthfianingsih
    December 22, 2015
    Alright I started reading this book on the last day of 2016 and finished it on the first day of 2017.Throughout the reading, I found myself wondering why did the author decide to tell Charlotte's point of view instead of Summer's. Like, come on, Charlotte has nothing to do with Auggie at all, except for the fact that they're both students at Beecher Prep. It's quite disappointing, tbh. But I somehow can relate to this quote,Some friendships are like that. Maybe even the best friendships are like Alright I started reading this book on the last day of 2016 and finished it on the first day of 2017.Throughout the reading, I found myself wondering why did the author decide to tell Charlotte's point of view instead of Summer's. Like, come on, Charlotte has nothing to do with Auggie at all, except for the fact that they're both students at Beecher Prep. It's quite disappointing, tbh. But I somehow can relate to this quote,Some friendships are like that. Maybe even the best friendships are like that. The connections are always there. They’re just invisible to the eye.
    more
  • David Yuan
    June 13, 2015
    I really enjoyed this story! Summer, my favorite character from Wonder, plays a prominent part in this story. I am an adult man, but this story allowed me to see what middle school would be like through the eyes of a young girl with all the associated drama. It's a story about friendships and how they are not always what we expect. I thought it rang true. I can't wait for my two daughters to read this story. I know they will enjoy it as well.
    more
  • Aryaman Bharath
    September 27, 2015
    I definitely recommend this book because although the book is in the perspective of Charlotte the setting was the same but the whole story was on the girls side of thing in Breacher Prep. One thing I like is seeing everybody's mind and reading about what they do and how they think at certain situations. Overall I recommend this book because it is a little different to the wonder story with the only similarity being the setting.
    more
  • Isabel
    June 13, 2015
    I love this story, even if it doesn't really add to the plot of Wonder. It gives a girl perspective of what was going on with the "boy war" and also what was going on with the girls. Summer, Ximena and Charlotte's friendship was really nice and I really like the way everything turned out in the end.
    more
  • Angie
    August 4, 2016
    Creo que todos los libros anexos a "La lección de August" han aportado aunque sea un granito a la historia principal, sin embargo "Charlotte tiene la palabra" se concentra demasiado en la historia de Charlotte y muy poco nos cuenta sobre Auggie. Estuvo bien, pero sólo eso.Reseña en http://www.navegandoentrelibros.cl/20...
    more
  • Steph
    August 16, 2015
    Not my favorite Wonder Story and doesn't have as wide as an age range appeal as some of the other Wonder tales in my opinion. I can see how young fans wanting to know more about various characters, particularly the female ones, might find value in this story though.
    more
  • Michelle
    May 31, 2015
    While this short character story wasn't quite as involved or eye opening as the story about Julian, I still really love and appreciate these deeper character insights. Really helps complete the Wonder story
  • Mary Drayer
    July 14, 2015
    The Wonder series continues...I really liked Summer in the first-Wonder book- now we get to find out a little more...plus mnay others in the world of Wonder.
  • Tammy Kesteloot
    January 1, 2016
    Well written, very nice! A great incite into Charlotte's character. We saw her character often in Wonder, but again she wasn't very explored until this book. Her growth was nice as well.
  • Leymy
    January 21, 2017
    Wow this was.. not my favorite... Maybe I should stop now before I ruin my view on wonder.
  • Lorelupin Acevedo
    January 31, 2017
    Como siempre es un gusto volver a esta historia a la cual le tengo mucho cariño y que como saben es de mis favoritas y en cuanto me entere que salio el libro al día siguiente no dude en ir por el y en ese mismo día terminarlo por que como sabrán si los han leído son lo máximo y puedo decir que esta historia es muy bonita, sin dudas me gusto mucho ya que fue muy interesante conocer a Charlotte, no solo la parte en como ve ella las cosas que sucedieron en cuanto a la historia de Auggie, si no cono Como siempre es un gusto volver a esta historia a la cual le tengo mucho cariño y que como saben es de mis favoritas y en cuanto me entere que salio el libro al día siguiente no dude en ir por el y en ese mismo día terminarlo por que como sabrán si los han leído son lo máximo y puedo decir que esta historia es muy bonita, sin dudas me gusto mucho ya que fue muy interesante conocer a Charlotte, no solo la parte en como ve ella las cosas que sucedieron en cuanto a la historia de Auggie, si no conocer de ella en cuanto a su vida, aunque creo que este es el libro que menos menciona a Auggie y que como tal no se centra en la historia general, por que nos va a dar pinceladas de lo poco que vio o supo Charlotte del asunto, pero este libro tiene un plus con unos personajes que nos van a enseñar más de lo que creen, aunque a pesar de todo me surgió la pregunta de ¿Porque la autora eligió a Charlotte y no a Summer que es una de las amigas de Auggie en la escuela? digo estaba más pegada a la historia, pero creo que como ella también nos cuenta su sentir en el primer libro la autora se queda con eso o no lo se, pero si se me hace muy curioso que la autora tomara esta decisión, en pequeñas porciones el el libro nos habla sobre la historia principal eso que ni que.Pero a pesar de todo esto creo que no me siento muy identificada con la historia como con los otros libros, pero igual como dije disfrute muchísimo de la lectura, ya que me di cuenta de que no tiene una relación muy estrecha con la historia original como los otros libros pero si tiene la misma esencia, ya que nos habla de la aceptación y de encontrar ese lugar que alguna vez (creo) todos nos preguntamos al que pertenecemos y me di cuenta que no se necesita tener una enfermedad como Auggie para sentir eso, creo que hasta con el problema más pequeño nos puede pasar, por otro lado el final me deja mucho en que pensar, no me esperaba el final que tiene ya que es un final muy diferente a comparación de los demás, pero es muy bonito, aunque creo que el final no tiene tanta trascendencia como algunas escenas antes, una que si quiero destacar es la conversación donde Charlotte habla con el Director Traseronian y esa conversación si tiene que ver mucho con la historia principal, ya que aquí se habla mucho de la importancia de ser amable con tus semejantes y ayudarlos sin importar de quien se trate, esa escena y lo demás que les cuento me hicieron ver el significado hermoso que tiene este libro, que es el de valorarte y aceptarte a ti mismo, seas de la forma, color o tipo que seas no importa y que no hay problema pequeño todo hay que afrontarlo de la mejor manera posible y así salir adelante, ya que así no tendrás que tratar de ser aceptada, valoraras que con que te aceptes tu es más que suficiente y que así sabrás tu lugar en la vida y todo esto junto te permitirá ser más amable y ayudar a los demás.Este libro creo que es una perspectiva al lado de las chicas en la historia, ya que en el caso de la historia de Auggie se ve lo que pasa con los chicos y aquí vemos la parte de lo que paso con las chicas mientras todo eso sucedía, creo que este libro nos da una nueva perspectiva de las cosas con unos lindos mensajes, espero se animen a leerlo por que es de esos libros que creo que vale la pena leer.Reseña completa en: http://calderoliterario7.blogspot.mx
    more
Write a review