Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot (Captain Underpants #12)
George and Harold, and their doubles, Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold, have a good thing going. Two of them go to school, while the other two hide in the tree house and play video games all day -- then they switch! But when their malicious gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, creates a method of mind control that turns their fellow students into attentive, obedient, perfect children, the future of all humanity will be in their hands!

Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot (Captain Underpants #12) Details

TitleCaptain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot (Captain Underpants #12)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 25th, 2015
PublisherScholastic Inc.
ISBN0545504929
ISBN-139780545504928
Number of pages208 pages
Rating
GenreHumor, Childrens, Middle Grade, Fiction, Comics, Superheroes, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Time Travel, Chapter Books, Comedy

Readers also enjoyed


Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot (Captain Underpants #12) Review

  • Taco Stocco
    August 25, 2015
    Wow.... The end of an era (perhaps?). Captain Underpants has always had a very special place in my heart. I think Pilkey has crafted very amazing books, especially in helping young boys to learn to read (like myself). It is amazing reading these books as adults, there is so much hidden in there that, much like other "children" media such as Pixar movies, they are actually for "all ages". I think that while this is not the most amazing or fun Captain Underpants adventure, it is probably the most Wow.... The end of an era (perhaps?). Captain Underpants has always had a very special place in my heart. I think Pilkey has crafted very amazing books, especially in helping young boys to learn to read (like myself). It is amazing reading these books as adults, there is so much hidden in there that, much like other "children" media such as Pixar movies, they are actually for "all ages". I think that while this is not the most amazing or fun Captain Underpants adventure, it is probably the most important one. To me, Captain Underpants has never been a silly fun book, but actually has a very serious point. That point is that it is okay to be yourself. Are the two main characters the smartest kids in the school? No. Are they most athletic, no. However, they are passionate about what they love, and take no apologies for that. This is such a special quality, especially since so many other uptight people want to ban the books or say they are not appropriate. I think this idea is no more evident in the book than the scene where homosexuality is mentioned. I think that this how's Pilkey's true view on life, that nothing matters except that if you are happy, and I felt this scene showed this beautifully. In summation I hope this is not the last Captain Underpants book. I feel that Pilkey has created something special and an important commentary on or society today
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    September 3, 2015
    And that's the end of Captain Underpants! It's been a long hilarious, successful journey that has come to a close with little fanfare. I can't say I found this volume as delightful as the usual outings. The silly toilet humour has been pared down and Pilkey sadly sinks to political correctness but it was still a wacky wild ride that tied up the Underpants story while at the same time leaving Harold and George wide open for further adventures ... in time!
    more
  • Clare
    September 18, 2015
    I can't believe this is the last one in the series! Surely not?! My boys have loved all of these, and I have to admit that I was the driving force behind choosing them as bedtime stories. There is something for everyone in these stories. I have heard that there are certain districts (?) in the U.S. That have banned these books, which I find utterly bizarre and rather sad. It's hardly graphic violence or pornography, and one can always chose not to buy a book. It's not like it's forced into a chi I can't believe this is the last one in the series! Surely not?! My boys have loved all of these, and I have to admit that I was the driving force behind choosing them as bedtime stories. There is something for everyone in these stories. I have heard that there are certain districts (?) in the U.S. That have banned these books, which I find utterly bizarre and rather sad. It's hardly graphic violence or pornography, and one can always chose not to buy a book. It's not like it's forced into a child's hand and they're forced to read it (Clockwork Orange style, with eyelids pinned open, tied to a chair). Why people feel the need to impose THEIR opinions on others and force their way of life on others, this is something that I will never comprehend. And it invariably backfires on the enforcer. But hey, that's my opinion. For me and my family: we love these books. There's nothing better than getting into bed with my sons, one on each side, reading these books and laughing at all the silly jokes. That's what I'll remember when my boys tell me they're too old for bedtime stories (how does 30 years from now sound?!).
    more
  • Rachel
    July 6, 2015
    My boys LOVE the Captain Underpants series and have read all the books but this is the first one I've read. I was actually pleasantly surprised. It wasn't nearly as gross as a thought it would be and had some adult humor thrown in that would probably go over most kids heads. For instance, one of the teachers is named Miss Anthrope. There were also some big words (e.g. megalomaniac) that can build up kids' vocabularies. Lastly, I loved that there is a same-sex couple and people of different races My boys LOVE the Captain Underpants series and have read all the books but this is the first one I've read. I was actually pleasantly surprised. It wasn't nearly as gross as a thought it would be and had some adult humor thrown in that would probably go over most kids heads. For instance, one of the teachers is named Miss Anthrope. There were also some big words (e.g. megalomaniac) that can build up kids' vocabularies. Lastly, I loved that there is a same-sex couple and people of different races in this book.I'm not sure my 11 year old cared about any of that. He just thought it was hilarious. And that's okay too.
    more
  • Adrienne Furness
    July 4, 2015
    "Before we get into all of that, I should point out that it's impolite to use the word heck. These books have been criticized for their inappropriate language, and we're going to put a stop to that sort of thing once and for all. From how on**, you won't be reading any more words like heck, or tinkle, or fart, or pee-pee."I hope Dav Pilkey never stops making these wonderfully subversive books.
    more
  • Edward Sullivan
    December 11, 2015
    Harold is quietly outed.
  • Stacey
    August 31, 2015
    These were so good early on...this one was horrible! My rating is one star but Finian would probably give it five! ;-)
  • Yusuf
    March 22, 2017
    The last captain under pants book was... pretty good
  • Alex
    September 28, 2016
    veary funny book lots of action
  • Amy
    November 18, 2015
    I only ever read the first book in this series, but wanted to read this one because I heard that the future version of Harold has a husband! I was able to follow along even though I haven’t read most of the other books, but oh my gosh - the pace of this book made me feel like I was on meth. The basic plot: the gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, invents a spray solution that makes kids into mindless rule-followers. Harold and George are safe because they have colds and can’t smell, but they know their cold I only ever read the first book in this series, but wanted to read this one because I heard that the future version of Harold has a husband! I was able to follow along even though I haven’t read most of the other books, but oh my gosh - the pace of this book made me feel like I was on meth. The basic plot: the gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, invents a spray solution that makes kids into mindless rule-followers. Harold and George are safe because they have colds and can’t smell, but they know their colds won’t last forever. They decide they need trustworthy adults to help them, and the only ones that fit the bill are their future selves. So they hop in a time machine (from a previous book, I guess) and travel 20 years into the future to appeal to their adult selves (this is where we learn that future Harold has a husband, and it’s a complete non-issue - yay!). Future Harold and George travel back in time, and defeat Mr. Meaner with a little help from Captain Underpants. I liked that Pilkey pokes fun at the people who challenge his books. The whole book was pretty irreverent towards adults, and normally I’m cool with poking fun at pretty much anything. But the thing that got under my skin just a little bit was the fact that pretty much all of the teachers in the book are portrayed as evil bumbling idiots who aren’t deserving of respect. In my opinion, it bordered on mean-spirited...but maybe it was more tongue-in-cheek than I perceived it to be. Regardless, I’m so glad that books like this exist, if for no other reason than it proves that freedom of speech is alive and well!And I loved the flip-o-rama - I did each one, like, a lot. They really do look animated! And now I need to go take some downers to recover from this book. :P
    more
  • Sarah
    September 24, 2015
    It seems as if this is the end of the Captain Underpants series - oh no! Our hearts sank as we read that the scatological humour was to be toned down in this book (we though that was a joke, but there really is less of it than usual). Never fear - the series is brought to a highly satisfying conclusion. Time travel machinations are dealt with as adeptly as ever, the problem of having two versions of George and Harold is resolved, and we even get to meet a grown up George and Harold. My kids and It seems as if this is the end of the Captain Underpants series - oh no! Our hearts sank as we read that the scatological humour was to be toned down in this book (we though that was a joke, but there really is less of it than usual). Never fear - the series is brought to a highly satisfying conclusion. Time travel machinations are dealt with as adeptly as ever, the problem of having two versions of George and Harold is resolved, and we even get to meet a grown up George and Harold. My kids and I thought it was great that future Harold has a husband - my ten-year-old noted how rare gay characters are in mainstream children's books, and how fantastic that Pilkey would include this detail. As an English teacher, I love the use of sophisticated vocabulary in this series, the complex plots and the way the writer plays with genre and structural devices. And of course, the books get kids reading - my seven-year-old will sit down for hours absorbed in her Captain Underpants collection. The fact that they are the most banned books in America is insane - they should be in every school library.
    more
  • Alan 김 승 주
    December 2, 2016
    The ending... Some weird piece from the remains of "Smart Earth" has been eaten by Harold and George's gym teacher, and he has become super smart. What is going to happen? Will Mr. Meaner take over the world with his smelly starch spray in order to make children his slaves? Or will the future versions of George and Harold and George and Harold and Captain Underpants stop them? What if a combination of food create Mr. Meaner in a powerful sludge-like substance.
    more
  • Jenni Frencham
    November 21, 2015
    This was my first foray into the world of Captain Underpants, and I ended up enjoying it much more than I expected. If my to-read list weren't already miles long, I'd probably go back and read the first 11 volumes.
  • Marcos Kopschitz
    July 21, 2016
    Dav Pilkey (1966) é um autor americano que faz sucesso com várias séries para crianças, como Ricky Ricota , Capitão Cueca e Coelhos Tapados , às vezes em parceria com ilustradores.Basta olhar os títulos do Capitão Cueca para ter uma ideia do tipo de humor da série. É pum pra lá, fedor pra cá, meleca, privada e por aí vai. Isso faz sucesso com meninos desde sempre, eu acho. Quem não se lembra do concurso de pum do filme do Menino Maluquinho , de Ziraldo? Pode até não ser um grande sucesso co Dav Pilkey (1966) é um autor americano que faz sucesso com várias séries para crianças, como Ricky Ricota , Capitão Cueca e Coelhos Tapados , às vezes em parceria com ilustradores.Basta olhar os títulos do Capitão Cueca para ter uma ideia do tipo de humor da série. É pum pra lá, fedor pra cá, meleca, privada e por aí vai. Isso faz sucesso com meninos desde sempre, eu acho. Quem não se lembra do concurso de pum do filme do Menino Maluquinho , de Ziraldo? Pode até não ser um grande sucesso com meninas, ou com adultos, mas tenho um sobrinho de dez anos que está destruindo a série a um ritmo de vários livros por dia! E vai me dando informações importantíssimas, como “A identidade secreta do Capitão Cueca é tão secreta que nem ele mesmo sabe!”. Interesse garantido.Além de histórias com elementos clássicos (super-heróis, identidades secretas, cientista maluco, viagens no tempo e suas implicações etc.), há a parte muito pouco correta, como os professores serem chatos, malvados (como o professor Edomal, neste volume 12) e perseguirem os alunos. Mas a esta altura, quem está preocupado? Já estão todos rindo!As histórias, no entanto, não são apenas humorísticas, refletem pontos de vista interessantes do autor, que é portador de ADHD (sigla em inglês), isto é, hiperatividade. De modo que há reflexões sobre crianças e seu relacionamento com o mundo, com a escola etc. O autor, como outros, propõe ver a ADHD de maneira positiva! De fato, Dav Pilkey (David, e o apelido “Dav” deve ser lido como “Dave”) começou a bolar o Capitão Cueca ainda na escola, em 1973! E outras reflexões sobre importantes questões sociais atuais, como neste volume 12 – mas vamos deixar para os leitores, sem entregar nada.A tradução do volume 12 é de Luiza Mello Franco. É boa e acerta especialmente ao adaptar trechos conhecidos de canções brasileiras como títulos de capítulos (“Meu coração, não sei por que, bate feliz quando soco você”, ou “Pela estrada afora, eu vou bem fedido”!). Mas deixou sem traduzir (intencionalmente?) algumas coisas como nomes de professores, perdendo as piadas feitas com trocadilhos, que representam a rebeldia dos alunos contra os professores. “Mrs. Guided” ficou sendo “Sra. Guided”. Em inglês, “Mrs. Guided” soa como misguided, “errada”, “perdida”. Se fosse para traduzir, poderia ser “Dona Trasada” ou algo assim, já que aqui praticamente não se chamam professoras de Senhora. “Srta. Fitt” também não diz nada em português – onde é que se chama a professora de Senhorita?? “Miss Fitt” é um trocadilho com misfit, “desajustada”, desajeitada”. Que tal “Tia Tolada”? Este 12º volume, publicado em 2015 tanto nos EUA quanto no Brasil, parece indicar que seria o último da série, iniciada em 1997. Mesmo que isto ocorra, não faltam outras séries e livros de Dav Pilkey, como a do Superbebê Fraldinha, supostamente escrita pelos personagens Jorge e Haroldo!O formato é de um livro ilustrado, com cerca de metade de todas as páginas com texto e a outra metade com ilustrações, com alguns capítulos intercalando quadrinhos – tudo em preto e branco. Pois é, aí você vai ver, e é o próprio autor quem confirma:“Meu objetivo foi fazer um livro em capítulos que PARECESSE um livro ilustrado. Então escrevi capítulos muito curtos e tentei preencher cada página com mais imagens que palavras. Eu queria criar um livro que crianças que não gostam de ler iam querer ler.” – Dav PilkeyUma coisa bem interessante é que algumas páginas possibilitam uma pequena animação com uma antiquíssima técnica quadro a quadro com folhas de papel. Bom para apresentar essa ideia para crianças. Aqui, recebe o ótimo nome de “Vire-o-game”!Quem publicava o Capitão Cueca por aqui era a Cosac Naify, importante casa que revolucionou o mercado editorial brasileiro. Infelizmente, anunciou o encerramento de suas atividades ao final de 2015. Então, os títulos tendem a se esgotar com o tempo e não serem reimpressos. Assim, é aconselhável adquiri-los enquanto estão disponíveis.ReferênciaÓtimo site do autor, em inglês, com detalhes de todos os volumes, biografia do autor etc.http://pilkey.comA série do Capitão Cueca1. As aventuras do Capitão Cueca2. Capitão Cueca e o ataque das privadas falantes3. Capitão Cueca e a invasão das incrivelmente malvadas garotas da cantina do outro planeta4. Capitão Cueca e o perigoso plano secreto do Professor Fraldinha Suja5. Capitão Cueca e a fúria da facinorosa mulher tentacular6. Capitão Cueca e a grande e desagradável batalha do Menino Biônico Meleca Seca (parte 1): a noite das repugnantes melecas de narina7. Capitão Cueca e a grande e desagradável batalha do Menino Biônico Meleca Seca (parte 2): a revanche dos robôs melequentos ridículos8. Capitão Cueca e a sina ridícula do Povo do Penico Roxo9. Capitão Cueca e o aterrorizante retorno do Caído Tilintar das Calças10. Capitão Cueca e a revoltante revanche da Robocueca Radioativa11. Capitão Cueca e a terrível retaliação da Privada Turbo 200012. Capitão Cueca e saga sensacional de Fedor, o Grande *** ROutros livros de Dav Pilkey:Ricky Ricota e seu Super-Robô - Volume 1 (também uma série) *** RO Menino Entregador de Jornal (ilustrado a cores pelo próprio autor) *** R*** R – veja resenha
    more
  • Courtney Umlauf
    November 3, 2016
    See my review of the series overall here**For basic reading comprehension questions for this book, check out my Teachers Pay Teachers store.**
  • Ms. Yingling
    May 31, 2015
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineGeorge and Harold are living happily with their twins (that were created as a result of time traveling), but the teachers who were sent to the rest home after their school-wide break down get zapped with Zygo-Gogizzle 24, and this makes Mr. Meaner, the gym teacher, a diabolical genius. He comes up with a formula (Rid-o-Kid 2000TM) that, when inhaled, induces Attention Superfluous Lethargy Syndrome in students, so they are all quiet and do exactly what they E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineGeorge and Harold are living happily with their twins (that were created as a result of time traveling), but the teachers who were sent to the rest home after their school-wide break down get zapped with Zygo-Gogizzle 24, and this makes Mr. Meaner, the gym teacher, a diabolical genius. He comes up with a formula (Rid-o-Kid 2000TM) that, when inhaled, induces Attention Superfluous Lethargy Syndrome in students, so they are all quiet and do exactly what they are told. Since Original Formula George and Harold are home with colds, Yesterday George and Harold inhale the brown cloud of mood altering substance and become quiet and attentive. Knowing that their colds, which kept them from being affected, won't last forever, George and Harold seek out the only adults they feel they can trust-- themselves in 20 odd years! They take the time machine and find themselves, living next door to each other and both creating comic books! They take themselves back with them, where they engage the now humongous Sir Stinks-a-Lot in an epic battle, where Captain Underpant's Super Power Juice is removed from his system, rendering him temporarily powerless. Luckily, Tony, Orlando and Dawn, the hamsterdactyls save the day, and everyone can return to their regularly scheduled lives... except for Original Formula George and Harold, who are off on another adventure!There are, as always, multiple layers of jokes in this book. Mr. Pilkey is almost exactly my age, so I appreciated all of the chapter headings that were 1970s songs (The Night the Lights Went Out in Piqua, Da Ya Think I'm Stinky, Laughter Moon Delight). Younger readers will have to content themselves with the less sophisticated humor, like the teachers in their underwear, the signs in school that George and Harold change to thinks like "Teacher Farts Stain Underwear", or the inventive sound effects. The villain, Sir Stinks-a-Lot (aka Mr. Meaner) was especially fun. The Rid-o-Kid 200 is comprised of "butyric acid, tryptophan, and Clamato juice", and is certainly a huge threat to George and Harold's lives. It was also a good plot device to encourage them to find their older selves. Aside from the possible political statements about drugging children (Pilkey himself struggled with ADHD and dyslexia in school, earning him a lot of trips to sit in the hallway), there is a warning to that some Grouchy Old People "who have way too much time on their hands" (pg. 18) have taken offense at the language in the previous books, so THIS book will include "references to gardening, Bob Evans Restaurants, hard candies, FOX News, and gentle-yet-effective laxatives". For that sentence alone, I need to replace all of my falling-apart Captain Underpants books with nice news copies, so Mr. Pilkey can get him $1.37 in royalties.There will probably be more complaints, although I do not understand challenging these books, even after reading this breakdown in Business Insider. But I'm sure that there will be an outcry from some quarters about Old Harold and his husband and twins. Even more reason to upgrade to a nice new set.
    more
  • Dachokie
    July 1, 2015
    Hmmm …This book was reviewed as part of Amazon's Vine program which included a free copy of the book.My 9 year old daughter loves the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books (and movies) and I figured Captain Underpants would be another illustrated series of stories for her to sink her teeth into … the titles alone are enough to generate interest. But, the SENSATIONAL SAGE OF SIR STINKS-A-LOT didn’t interest her the way I thought it would.My daughter wasn’t familiar with Captain Underpants and neither of u Hmmm …This book was reviewed as part of Amazon's Vine program which included a free copy of the book.My 9 year old daughter loves the “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” books (and movies) and I figured Captain Underpants would be another illustrated series of stories for her to sink her teeth into … the titles alone are enough to generate interest. But, the SENSATIONAL SAGE OF SIR STINKS-A-LOT didn’t interest her the way I thought it would.My daughter wasn’t familiar with Captain Underpants and neither of us knew how she’d react. This was the first book of the series she read and I like that the author didn’t punish her for not climbing on-board from the beginning. A 7-page introductory chapter primed her for SIR STINKS-A-LOT and at no point did she feel that she was “out-of-the loop” regarding the main characters and the storyline. I, on the other hand, wasn’t so sure that jumping into the world of Captain Underpants at volume 12 was the best move.While these frenetically illustrated books seem to be the rage for young kids these days, I find them a little “over-the-top” (like a video game on paper). My daughter generally consumes these type of books at a decent clip, but she felt this story jumped around a bit and found some of the vocabulary a little more challenging. Overall, however, it was a relatively easy read (with the exception of the Smart Earth chapter, which she described as “complicated” and “weird”). I assumed that Captain Underpants was more a “boys” book, but it wasn’t. The “potty-humor” generated by the book is universally appealing to all kids and is sure to generate a gross-out chuckle or two, but nothing extreme. I admit I was a little surprised to find a number of adult-themed/political issues slipped into a book, but most of these instances were (thankfully) over my daughter’s head (I still appreciate her political innocence). SIR STINKS-A-LOT elicited a mixed bag of reactions from both my daughter and I. I found the subtly mature humor and even some of the vocabulary peppered throughout the book to be a little advanced for a child to comprehend. The much-celebrated “flip-o-rama” picture sections didn’t measure-up and elicited a simple “meh” from my daughter. While she found the book somewhat entertaining/funny, it didn’t grab her interest like the Wimpy Kid books. Overall, I wondered whether is particular installment was the best way to introduce her to the series. After this book, I’m wondering if it may have been best to simply start with the first Captain Underpants book.
    more
  • Brendan
    February 21, 2017
    Would you like to travel through time? Then accidentally make a double of yourself. If you were brainwashed with fart smelling spray can you get out of it? Do you like to make comic books? George(s) and Harold(s) are running for their lives. Can you change their story paths? This is a great book for Captain Underpants fans.
    more
  • Lorilin
    June 27, 2015
    This is Book 12 in the Captain Underpants series. It has the same potty humor and general silliness of the other books. I have to say that I really enjoyed the little poke in the beginning of the story at the more conservative parents who don't appreciate the crassness of these books: "In the interest of pleasing all the Grouchy Old People (GOP) out there, I have also included topics of interest especially for them. So this adventure will contain references to health care, gardening, Bob Evans R This is Book 12 in the Captain Underpants series. It has the same potty humor and general silliness of the other books. I have to say that I really enjoyed the little poke in the beginning of the story at the more conservative parents who don't appreciate the crassness of these books: "In the interest of pleasing all the Grouchy Old People (GOP) out there, I have also included topics of interest especially for them. So this adventure will contain references to health care, gardening, Bob Evans Restaurants, hard candies, FOX news, and gentle-yet-effective laxatives." That went completely over my kids' heads, but it made me smile.In this book, Mr. Meaner, the gym teacher, ingests some radioactive material that makes him exceptionally smart. He decides to use his newly developed intelligence to create a medicinal mist that makes kids well-behaved rule followers. Luckily, Harold and George have colds, so the mist doesn't affect them, but they still have to save their fellow classmates. (Spoiler alert: they do.) And if you are wondering, there is no doubt that this story line is absolutely a criticism of our tendency to medicate children--especially kids diagnosed with ADHD.Overall, I liked this book. My five-year old son thought it was really funny, and I enjoyed the message beneath the potty humor. Another well done Captain Underpants book.
    more
  • MyACPL Athens County Public Libraries
    April 8, 2016
    from James:Alas, I fear this is the last in the series, but it's okay. It's better to go out on top. My 8-year old and I have enjoyed these a lot. They are often laugh-out-loud funny. More so than with the others, I imagine you'd be pretty confused if you haven't read the titles leading up to this one; the grand annulment requires keeping straight several sets of Georges and Harolds.Pilkey's books always had inside jokes that are aimed at adults. That is especially true in this book. The opening from James:Alas, I fear this is the last in the series, but it's okay. It's better to go out on top. My 8-year old and I have enjoyed these a lot. They are often laugh-out-loud funny. More so than with the others, I imagine you'd be pretty confused if you haven't read the titles leading up to this one; the grand annulment requires keeping straight several sets of Georges and Harolds.Pilkey's books always had inside jokes that are aimed at adults. That is especially true in this book. The opening chapter riffs on censorship. To a kid, it's just about how silly adults can be, but to a librarian, it resonates deeper (though I guess the takeaway is the same: adults can be silly).Something else important happens in this book. At one point, Harold and George go into the future to illicit help from the only adults they can trust--themselves. In the process, we met their future families and learn (without further comment) that George has a husband. It's not an issue and could almost be missed (in fact, my son didn't even hiccup about it). It nearly made me choke up in its normality. In many ways Pilkey's books have always been topical. This is just one more example and one that's certain to set off certain silly adults.
    more
  • Paula
    January 15, 2016
    In this installment of the “Captain Underpants” series, mischief-makers George and Harold face off against evil gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, who is able to turn school children into perfect, obedient mindless robots. After gaining super-intelligence, Mr. Meaner concocts the smelly mind-numbing gas and plans to market it to parents worldwide. In order to stop him, George and Harold travel to the future and meet their future selves to enlist their help in stopping Meaner. Add Captain Underpants to the In this installment of the “Captain Underpants” series, mischief-makers George and Harold face off against evil gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, who is able to turn school children into perfect, obedient mindless robots. After gaining super-intelligence, Mr. Meaner concocts the smelly mind-numbing gas and plans to market it to parents worldwide. In order to stop him, George and Harold travel to the future and meet their future selves to enlist their help in stopping Meaner. Add Captain Underpants to the mission and you have all the components for a rollicking, silly story complete with scatological references, puns, wordplay and the ever-popular flip-o-rama segment. The George and Harold doubles, hamsterdactyls and the Robo-squid suit return and play pivotal roles in bringing down Mr. Meaner. The numerous illustrations and brief chapters will keep readers engaged and entertained. The informal narrative includes vocabulary to challenge and enlighten readers. The title is a must for fans of the series. There is enough introductory material to get newbies up to speed for this installment and adults will appreciate much of the humor and retro references.
    more
  • Evan Esther
    October 18, 2016
    The book Captain Underpants and the sensational Saga of sir stinks a lot by Dav Pilkey. This book was In my opinion this was a funny kids book I would not really recommend for a high schooler or middle schooler this book was a easy book for me.In this book George and Harold are starting off normal with their twins and switching school days,until the gym teacher gets hit with a giant asteriod from smart Earth. Then he became the smartest thing alive and starts mind controlling kids. I thought the The book Captain Underpants and the sensational Saga of sir stinks a lot by Dav Pilkey. This book was In my opinion this was a funny kids book I would not really recommend for a high schooler or middle schooler this book was a easy book for me.In this book George and Harold are starting off normal with their twins and switching school days,until the gym teacher gets hit with a giant asteriod from smart Earth. Then he became the smartest thing alive and starts mind controlling kids. I thought the characters in my Novel were okay and they just acted a bit to silly sometimes. My favorite character is probably captain underpants because he is a strong super hero in underwear which find pretty funny.The plot is to stop the evil gym teacher sir stinks a lot but they can't stop him because of the gas in the air that enslaves children so they have to go the future because they can only trust them future selves to stop him no one else would listen.
    more
  • TJ
    December 31, 2016
    I was a HUUUGE Captain Underpants fan when I was younger! Unfortunately, there was a six year gap between books, and I never got to see how the story continued. Finally though, I've picked up the final volume (skipped the middle three I missed because logic, right?). I'm not sure if Pilkey was straight up giving the middle finger to his critics more than usual in this one because it was the final volume (I think so, but I can't remember exactly the extent in the earlier ones), but I was DYING fr I was a HUUUGE Captain Underpants fan when I was younger! Unfortunately, there was a six year gap between books, and I never got to see how the story continued. Finally though, I've picked up the final volume (skipped the middle three I missed because logic, right?). I'm not sure if Pilkey was straight up giving the middle finger to his critics more than usual in this one because it was the final volume (I think so, but I can't remember exactly the extent in the earlier ones), but I was DYING from laughter. 2016 just officially ended, and I could feel his "doneness" with the year (let's ignore the fact that this came out in 2015). I love his commitment to diversity in these books, which includes POC and LGBTQ leads. The fact that I grew up on this man's sense of humor and morals (a positive thing) probably defined me to a degree. This was a cute conclusion to the Captain Underpants series! I enjoyed it, and it brought back great memories. 5/5 stars!
    more
  • Julia Erlanger
    July 1, 2015
    Reviewed from an uncorrected proof.It's Captain Underpants. It's glorious and hilarious, filled with potty humor and puns and really intelligent jokes with large vocabulary words that are just perfect.Best moment: Chapter 2, where Pilkey directly addresses the banning of his books by devoting a chapter to the GOP ("Grouchy Old People") with too much time on their hands, who don't like "inappropriate language." Needless to say, Pilkey has exactly the correct answer to them, and it's MOAR cheekine Reviewed from an uncorrected proof.It's Captain Underpants. It's glorious and hilarious, filled with potty humor and puns and really intelligent jokes with large vocabulary words that are just perfect.Best moment: Chapter 2, where Pilkey directly addresses the banning of his books by devoting a chapter to the GOP ("Grouchy Old People") with too much time on their hands, who don't like "inappropriate language." Needless to say, Pilkey has exactly the correct answer to them, and it's MOAR cheekiness. Also shout-out to Harold, who, as shown by Old Harold in the future, turns out to be gay and has twins with his husband and no one says anything about it. Because it's NOT A BIG DEAL.Highly recommended. Read the whole rest of the series first, or else you won't have a clue what's going on. But it's amazing.
    more
  • Hua
    December 8, 2016
    I really like this as a conclusion to the tale. A LOT of loose ends are wrapped up, and I appreciate that. There could be more to tell, and there are some loose strings, but honestly, the ending was really sweet, with the two boys just being friends and doing what they love that I'll forgive it. I grew up with this series as a kid, and its such an experience knowing its done... (the end doesnt have the "Here we go again" that other books have had) I didnt like the middle books as much or the lat I really like this as a conclusion to the tale. A LOT of loose ends are wrapped up, and I appreciate that. There could be more to tell, and there are some loose strings, but honestly, the ending was really sweet, with the two boys just being friends and doing what they love that I'll forgive it. I grew up with this series as a kid, and its such an experience knowing its done... (the end doesnt have the "Here we go again" that other books have had) I didnt like the middle books as much or the later ones because I felt the story dragged and was more zany than I liked, but I still appreciate this series for getting me to read and enjoy more, and I have some fond memories as a kid of reading this, even if I didnt enjoy some later books as much.tl;dr good, sweet ending to a nice little children's book series.
    more
  • Ms. B
    October 10, 2015
    Full disclosure - I have only read the first two Captain Underpants books. It appears that this will be the last book in the series and author Dav Pilkey makes sure to poke fun at anyone who has contested his books in past. Apparently a lot has transpired since then. There are now two Georges and two Harolds. There is a time machine and an alternate universe. This one should have lots of fans. Young readers who like humorous books, along with the adults who grew up reading these books. The first Full disclosure - I have only read the first two Captain Underpants books. It appears that this will be the last book in the series and author Dav Pilkey makes sure to poke fun at anyone who has contested his books in past. Apparently a lot has transpired since then. There are now two Georges and two Harolds. There is a time machine and an alternate universe. This one should have lots of fans. Young readers who like humorous books, along with the adults who grew up reading these books. The first Captain Underpants book was published almost 20 years ago! it could be for those adult reades. Or perhaps it is even for the grandparents of today's young readers as each of the chapter titles appears to be a pun of a pop song from the 1970s.
    more
  • Robin
    October 5, 2015
    So, there's a lot to love here. There were laugh aloud and read out loud moments. But I couldn't shake the thought that Pilkey was writing more here for the GOPs (grumpy old people) than for the kids and his fans. The language feels angry rather than mischievous and jubilant. The story line puts Captain Underpants to bed, perhaps for the last time. Is this Captain Underpants' Contractual Obligation Album? All the others in the series are awesome fabulous hilarious so, please, read those, and all So, there's a lot to love here. There were laugh aloud and read out loud moments. But I couldn't shake the thought that Pilkey was writing more here for the GOPs (grumpy old people) than for the kids and his fans. The language feels angry rather than mischievous and jubilant. The story line puts Captain Underpants to bed, perhaps for the last time. Is this Captain Underpants' Contractual Obligation Album? All the others in the series are awesome fabulous hilarious so, please, read those, and all the love in the world to Dav for keeping kids excited about reading for more than a decade.
    more
  • Dan Wilson
    December 26, 2015
    Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot, by Dav Pilkey.This is the 12th entry in the Captain Underpants series. Like the others, it is a fun mix of action and silliness, heavy on the puns, gags, and sublimely ridiculous plot elements. Thankfully, the plot of this one was less convoluted than that of the previous two or three entries. Unlike previous Captain Underpants books, there is no teaser at the end for a next installment, so this is potentially the last volume in th Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot, by Dav Pilkey.This is the 12th entry in the Captain Underpants series. Like the others, it is a fun mix of action and silliness, heavy on the puns, gags, and sublimely ridiculous plot elements. Thankfully, the plot of this one was less convoluted than that of the previous two or three entries. Unlike previous Captain Underpants books, there is no teaser at the end for a next installment, so this is potentially the last volume in the series. I suspect that there is still more to come, but if not, the glimpse into George and Harold's happy futures is a great note on which to end.Review copy provided as a loan from the Queens Library.
    more
  • Jeff Raymond
    December 30, 2015
    I've been a strong booster of Captain Underpants for as long as I've been aware of the character and his series. This book (which might be the last traditional one), flops in a few ways, both with the kind of ham-fisted messaging in the beginning and the loss of a lot of what makes it great throughout. It almost feels like it's trying to be more like the end books in the Origami Yoda series but, seeing as it's not quite the same style, it just doesn't pan out.Meanwhile, all the complaints you he I've been a strong booster of Captain Underpants for as long as I've been aware of the character and his series. This book (which might be the last traditional one), flops in a few ways, both with the kind of ham-fisted messaging in the beginning and the loss of a lot of what makes it great throughout. It almost feels like it's trying to be more like the end books in the Origami Yoda series but, seeing as it's not quite the same style, it just doesn't pan out.Meanwhile, all the complaints you hear about it are about the most innocuous, well-placed story twist in the series, and not the other stuff. Just kind of strange.Kids might miss a lot of what I saw. That's fine. Just not the greatest entry in one of my favorite series.
    more
  • Jackie
    September 21, 2015
    Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-a-Lot is George and Harold's latest adventure in mad, wacky antics. George and Harold use their time machine to conjure up their doubles and send them off to school to do their work...but gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, has his own agenda. He creates and uses Rid-O-Kid spray which brainwashes kids to be perfect in every way (well, perfect for the likes of Mr. Meaner, that is). Now it's up to George and Harold, yesterday George and yesterday Haro Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-a-Lot is George and Harold's latest adventure in mad, wacky antics. George and Harold use their time machine to conjure up their doubles and send them off to school to do their work...but gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, has his own agenda. He creates and uses Rid-O-Kid spray which brainwashes kids to be perfect in every way (well, perfect for the likes of Mr. Meaner, that is). Now it's up to George and Harold, yesterday George and yesterday Harold, and Old George and Old Harold to save the day. Can they? Will they? You can just bet they'll have fun trying to out-do Mr. Meaner, Mr. Krupps, and all the teachers at school.
    more
Write a review