Pluto
Almost 2 million people have read the New York Times bestseller Wonder and fallen in love with Auggie Pullman. Last year readers were given a special look at another side of his story with The Julian Chapter, and now they'll get a peek at Auggie's life before Beecher Prep, with an exclusive new short story told entirely from the point of view of Christopher, Auggie's oldest friend.   Christopher was Auggie's best friend from the time they were babies until his family moved away; he was there through all of Auggie's surgeries and heartbreaks, through bad times and good—like Star Wars marathons and dreams of traveling to Pluto together.  Alternating between childhood flashbacks and the present day, an especially bad day for Christopher, Pluto is the story of two boys grown apart learning that good friendships are worth a little extra effort.

Pluto Details

TitlePluto
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 10th, 2015
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
Number of pages79 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Childrens, Middle Grade, Short Stories, Realistic Fiction

Pluto Review

  • Isa Cantos (Crónicas de una Merodeadora)
    March 10, 2016
    Me impresiona la capacidad que tiene R. J. Palacio de escribir desde la cabeza de niños pequeños. Muchos autores lo intentan, pero ella realmente lo logra; hace que las palabras, las actitudes y los pensamientos realmente sean los de chicos intentando entender cómo funciona la amistad, y no las de un adulto que pretende hablar como un niño. En este libro vemos desde la perspectiva de Christopher cómo se ve la vida de Auggie desde fuera y qué tan duro resulta muchas veces ser su amigo. Vemos cómo Me impresiona la capacidad que tiene R. J. Palacio de escribir desde la cabeza de niños pequeños. Muchos autores lo intentan, pero ella realmente lo logra; hace que las palabras, las actitudes y los pensamientos realmente sean los de chicos intentando entender cómo funciona la amistad, y no las de un adulto que pretende hablar como un niño. En este libro vemos desde la perspectiva de Christopher cómo se ve la vida de Auggie desde fuera y qué tan duro resulta muchas veces ser su amigo. Vemos cómo los niños pequeños pueden ser, a veces, mucho más crueles que los adultos entre ellos, pero también entendemos que para chicos como Christopher, la amistad va mucho más allá de apariencias y del qué dirán. Quizá lo que más me gustó de este libro es que conocemos a Christopher como un chico que cree que tiene que ser fuerte y aparentar que nada lo afecta, cuando en realidad en su vida, como en la de Auggie, están pasando muchas cosas. Lo mejor de R. J. Palacio en El Juego de Christopher es que no eclipsa los problemas de Chris comparándolos con los de Auggie, sino que les da la importancia que se merecen.
    more
  • Laura
    February 27, 2015
    Very much age appropriate for 8 or older. Easy read, good points about friendships that are thought provoking, and quick paced. Not my favorite by the author but still liked it and would recommend for a followup read to Wonder.
  • Danny Phanton
    March 21, 2015
    Una historia más sobre el mundo de La lección de August, no tiene mucha relevancia en la historia principal pero como el resto de estas historias es entretenida y siempre es bueno leer un poco más sobre August, me gustó Christopher y su historia pero como digo, no tiene mucha relación y como que sale sobrando, aun así, me gustó.
    more
  • Vitor Martins
    July 17, 2015
    um conto com pouco mais de 70 páginas mas que me emocionou e me fez chorar. aparentemente QUALQUER COISA que tiver o auggie no meio vai me fazer chorar.
  • Sean-Wyn
    November 8, 2016
    Happy Election Day everyone! Since I was really sad that I'm not old enough to vote yet, I went to my favorite store B&N today to read-not buy anything, sadly :( Because I finished the Julian chapter a couple days ago, I had something to compare this story to, which was nice. I felt like Palacio did a better job with character development in the Julian chapter; the Christopher one dragged in some places. Still giving it a 4.5 though :)
    more
  • Stefanie
    February 11, 2015
    "That's when I realized why they didn't hang out with us anymore. Being friends with Auggie could be hard sometimes."Pluto is yet another novella written by R.J. Palacio as an addition to her book, Wonder. This story is written in the perspective of Christopher, August's friend since they were babies. His character doesn't show up much in the book because he moved to Bridgeport with his family. In this book, R.J. Palacio takes the reader to a day in Christopher's life; in which he had to struggl "That's when I realized why they didn't hang out with us anymore. Being friends with Auggie could be hard sometimes."Pluto is yet another novella written by R.J. Palacio as an addition to her book, Wonder. This story is written in the perspective of Christopher, August's friend since they were babies. His character doesn't show up much in the book because he moved to Bridgeport with his family. In this book, R.J. Palacio takes the reader to a day in Christopher's life; in which he had to struggle with his own problems. And we'll also see the struggle he has to go through as August's friend."We would spend hours playing pretend games about missions to deep space, or landing on Pluto. That became our favorite planet to travel to. Pluto was our Tatooine."Christopher and August's mother are best friends, and Christopher is already used to seeing August face since he was a baby—so he doesn't really feel weird out about it. However, as time goes, Christopher started to realize how everyone else sees August; and then he understood that August is different, unlike the other normal kids they hung out with. Christopher was there when August had to go through surgeries. Together they were obsessed with Star Wars and having dreams of traveling to Pluto. But it wasn't always easy being August's friend. And as Christopher go through a very hard day in his life, he realized the true meaning of friendship—and that good friendship worth a little extra effort.I love how this novella takes us to a different perspective and setting than what we've seen in Wonder or even The Julian Chapter. This story only takes place in one day, but there's a lot of flashbacks involved—so the reader will get to see the history of Christopher and August's friendship. I love Christopher's character so so much. There are several heartwarming moments that made my heart melt. Indeed Christopher is not without flaws, but that's what makes his character feel believable and real to me; because I can imagine being in his shoes and acting the same way he did. In the end, I'm really glad Christopher took the decision he thought was best—although it might be hard for him. Everything about this story felt honest, heartfelt, and it definitely stirred my emotions."Listen, this was a scary thing that happened today. It's natural for you to be upset. When something scary like this happens, it acts like a wake-up call, you know? It makes us reassess what's important in life. Our family. Our friends. The people we love."....Read the full review here:http://www.thebookielooker.com/2015/0...
    more
  • Gisbelle
    February 14, 2015
    This one wasn't as good as The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story...maybe it was because I didn't remember anything about Christopher. Still, I liked it a lot. I loved the parts about when both Christopher and Auggie were still close friends.
  • Vlad
    June 13, 2016
    I just can't get enough of this.
  • Ricardo
    November 21, 2016
    5 / 5Amo cómo la autora nos hace recordar la importancia de las cosas que damos por sentadas, y que olvidamos que son por las que vale la pena vivir. Increíble.Reseña: http://www.eternamenteentiniebla.com/...
  • Flor Méndez
    January 23, 2017
    Qué feliz me hace todo lo escrito por R.J. Palacio. Esta mina hace bien al alma.
  • Syifa Luthfianingsih
    February 12, 2015
    We can't just be friends when it's convenient. Good friendships are worth a little extra effort.
  • Shoa Khan
    April 24, 2015
    Pluto happens to be yet another installment from Wonder-land.It tells the story from the POV of Christopher, Auggie's former best friend, who originally had barely more than a passing mention in Wonder.The story was pretty much okay-ish throughout, though it does get better towards the end, which is exactly what had happened in the case of The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story too.When I'd first seen the cover, I got really excited thinking this was a new stand-alone book from R.J. Palacio.(Also, t Pluto happens to be yet another installment from Wonder-land.It tells the story from the POV of Christopher, Auggie's former best friend, who originally had barely more than a passing mention in Wonder.The story was pretty much okay-ish throughout, though it does get better towards the end, which is exactly what had happened in the case of The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story too.When I'd first seen the cover, I got really excited thinking this was a new stand-alone book from R.J. Palacio.(Also, the first thing that came to my mind when i saw the cover was chota bheem :|)I think it's time she wrote something new, instead of cashing in on the popularity of Auggie Pullman.
    more
  • Marta Weasley
    June 8, 2016
    [3'5]La verdad es que ha sido bonito ir viendo como los personajes iban aprendiendo de sus errores y viviendo nuevas experiencias. Han sido historias bonitas pero en definitiva esperaba un poco más de ellas.Aún así los recomiendo ya que son una lectura amena, entretenida y está muy bien ir viendo como piensan y aprenden los personajes.
    more
  • Angie
    April 23, 2016
    Mas bien es un 3.5 No es un libro relevante para la serie, sin embargo vale la pena leerlo porque, aunque aporta datos menores, ayudan a conocer otros momentos en la vida de August.Mi reseña:http://www.navegandoentrelibros.cl/20...
  • •Anna•
    May 1, 2015
    It's clearly complicated for a child to completely understand Auggie's situation or just being sensitive about it. That's why I love Palacio's stories. For these little kids nothing is black and white and uncertaintes are allowed.
  • Adeeb
    May 24, 2016
    These kids in R.J. Palacio's world deserve a hug every now and then. Loved this story as well.
  • Rhea Dsouza
    December 18, 2015
    “We can’t just be friends when it’s convenient. Good friendships are worth a little extra effort!”This book is just 75 something pages of complete adorable. It may not be written in a serious vein like Wonder, and it may not be very long, but it was the most perfect, most relaxing little book I've read this year. Of course, like Wonder, Pluto is written for a Middle Grade audience, exploring problems well known to young children, but I was really surprised by how much I liked Christopher and his “We can’t just be friends when it’s convenient. Good friendships are worth a little extra effort!”This book is just 75 something pages of complete adorable. It may not be written in a serious vein like Wonder, and it may not be very long, but it was the most perfect, most relaxing little book I've read this year. Of course, like Wonder, Pluto is written for a Middle Grade audience, exploring problems well known to young children, but I was really surprised by how much I liked Christopher and his voice. He was an absolute delight to read, and even though I didn't remember too much about him from Wonder, he was an easily relatable, easy-going kid. Pluto is basically all about making tough choices about friendship and I think this book works really well as a companion to Wonder. I WAS PROVIDED A FREE ECOPY OF THIS BOOK IN EXCHANGE OF AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS DID NOT IN ANY WAY, HOWEVER, INFLUENCE THE CONTENT OF THIS REVIEW.
    more
  • Felipe Alemán
    March 22, 2015
    R.J. Palacio completely blew me away with Wonder and once I finished reading it I started wondering (no pun intended) why I hadn't read it before. She's an amazing writer and everything and I'm glad she has released something new but I really do wish she'd come up with something new, something far apart from what she created in Wonder. I don't know exactly what to think of this short story so I decided to give it a three-stars rating; it wasn't bad but I didn't enjoy it to be honest. This short R.J. Palacio completely blew me away with Wonder and once I finished reading it I started wondering (no pun intended) why I hadn't read it before. She's an amazing writer and everything and I'm glad she has released something new but I really do wish she'd come up with something new, something far apart from what she created in Wonder. I don't know exactly what to think of this short story so I decided to give it a three-stars rating; it wasn't bad but I didn't enjoy it to be honest. This short novel is about a minor character in Wonder who I can barely remember, so I feel like this story wasn't even necessary and doesn't aport anything to Wonder. I'll be patiently waiting for R.J. Palacio to release something new and I hope this time it's not another Wonder story.
    more
  • G
    October 1, 2015
    Definitely a good installment to Wonder! However, I just felt that The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story has a stronger inspirational impact compared to this, but this book is still a must-read especially for kids. :)
  • Darnia
    February 11, 2015
    This novella is awesome, even not as much as The Julian Chapter: A Wonder Story although there's always a lesson learnt.We can't just be friends when it's convenient. Good friendship are worth for little extra effortIndeed, brother....indeed
  • Rachele Bacco
    February 16, 2016
    Come ogni volta che finisco un libro di r.j palacio rimango soddisfatta , un libro pieno di emozioni e sentimenti . Io credo che tutti quanti dovrebbero leggere i suoi libri perchè non raccontano solo la storia di Auggie ma ti insegnano veramente tante cose che ormai si sono perse nella nostra generazione.
    more
  • Natalia
    March 2, 2016
    Encantada estoy con este nuevo enfoque de la historia de August, esta vez con su mejor amigo de protagonista. No me canso de leer estos relatos.Reseña: http://www.arte-literario.com/2016/04...
  • ChapterOne
    March 6, 2016
    It's crazy how much love and kindness there is in this entire world surrounding Auggie Pullman. Not only do I love Auggie, I love everyone that loves him as well. 5 stars
  • Tudor Vlad
    July 3, 2016
    Better than I expected.
  • Bebo Wouters
    March 25, 2017
    En la "Historia de Julian" pudimos ver otro aspecto de la historia de August, en este libro "El Juego de Christopher" no siento que haya una conexión directa con August, se podrían sacar las pocas partes donde se nombra a August y simplemente ser un libro independiente.Esta no es del todo una critica porque, Como no amar la forma de escribir de R.J Palacio?? Es sencillamente esperanzadora y dulce y tierna y en muchos aspectos poética! Me gusto mucho en verdad.⭐⭐⭐⭐ (4 de 5 estrellas) En la "Historia de Julian" pudimos ver otro aspecto de la historia de August, en este libro "El Juego de Christopher" no siento que haya una conexión directa con August, se podrían sacar las pocas partes donde se nombra a August y simplemente ser un libro independiente.Esta no es del todo una critica porque, Como no amar la forma de escribir de R.J Palacio?? Es sencillamente esperanzadora y dulce y tierna y en muchos aspectos poética! Me gusto mucho en verdad.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (4 de 5 estrellas)
    more
  • IzamaRi H. Fabela
    November 20, 2016
    RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜ https://goo.gl/Q2e66CA estas alturas de partido, creo que todo el mundo conoce la espectacular historia de August (y si tu no la conoces debes de leer “La lección de August”, un libro que se convertirá en tu favorito quieras o no) y también la de Julián, el matón de la escuela quien se encargó de hacer más difícil la vida de August. Y ahora en este segundo libro complementario conoceremos a Christopher, quien desde su nacimiento fue mejor amigo de August gracias a que sus ma RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜ https://goo.gl/Q2e66CA estas alturas de partido, creo que todo el mundo conoce la espectacular historia de August (y si tu no la conoces debes de leer “La lección de August”, un libro que se convertirá en tu favorito quieras o no) y también la de Julián, el matón de la escuela quien se encargó de hacer más difícil la vida de August. Y ahora en este segundo libro complementario conoceremos a Christopher, quien desde su nacimiento fue mejor amigo de August gracias a que sus madres embarazadas se hicieron las mejores amigas.Christopher es de los pocos niños que tratan con naturalidad a August pero gracias a una mudanza y la presión social, la unidad entre ambos se va desquebrajando hasta que al final es más fácil poner escusas que verse entre ellos.¡Quienes somos! ¡Nosotros! ¿Correctos? ¿Qué tipo de gente somos? ¿Qué tipo de persona eres? ¿No es lo más importante de todo? ¿No es el tipo de pregunta que nos deberíamos hacer nosotros mismos todo el tiempo? ¿Qué clase de persona soy yo?RESEÑA COMPLETA ➜ https://goo.gl/Q2e66C
    more
  • Valery Tikappa
    February 27, 2016
    Non posso fare a meno di amare ogni cosa scritta da R.J. Palacio.Il libro di Christopher è uno spin-off della storia di Wonder, un libro che parla di bambini, di vita, di gioia e contemporaneamente anche dei piccoli problemi che già dalla più tenera età si comincia a vivere.Chris è un bambino come tanti, va a scuola, ha degli amici, i suoi genitori stanno divorziando.. è ritardatario cronico. E' il migliore amico di Auggie.Devo ammettere che Palacio ha dato un perfetto ritratto diquesto bambino, Non posso fare a meno di amare ogni cosa scritta da R.J. Palacio.Il libro di Christopher è uno spin-off della storia di Wonder, un libro che parla di bambini, di vita, di gioia e contemporaneamente anche dei piccoli problemi che già dalla più tenera età si comincia a vivere.Chris è un bambino come tanti, va a scuola, ha degli amici, i suoi genitori stanno divorziando.. è ritardatario cronico. E' il migliore amico di Auggie.Devo ammettere che Palacio ha dato un perfetto ritratto diquesto bambino, soprattutto veritiero! Chris è un bambino, fa ragionamenti da tale ma a volte si comporta anche come l'adulto che poi diventerà. E' legato alla mamma, sa quanto le amicizie, qualsiasi tipo, possano diventare complicate a volte.Ed affronta tutto con immensa sincerità.E' davvero una novella che insegna e che, ancora una volta, apre gli occhi sul mondo dei bambini e su quanto loro, in realtà, abbiano da insegnare a noi adulti.Chris è così: è dotato di compassione, di affetto, di volontà di saper fare, di fame di riuscire ed emergere.Chris è un pò tutti noi. Ecco perchè questo racconto mi è piaciuto tanto!
    more
  • Miss Bookiverse
    March 23, 2015
    It always breaks my heart to read more stories about Auggie from Wonder or disfigured kids and how they are treated by other people, in general. Most of the time I understand both sides. I understand that a child is scared by someone who has a facial abnormality (I bet even I'd be upset) but at the same time my heart aches for the other person and the stares, the pity and the rejection they must experience every other day.I'm glad Auggie has a friend like Chris even though Chris is far from perf It always breaks my heart to read more stories about Auggie from Wonder or disfigured kids and how they are treated by other people, in general. Most of the time I understand both sides. I understand that a child is scared by someone who has a facial abnormality (I bet even I'd be upset) but at the same time my heart aches for the other person and the stares, the pity and the rejection they must experience every other day.I'm glad Auggie has a friend like Chris even though Chris is far from perfect but then again he's only in 4th grade and still developing his morals.What annoyed me was the rockband meeting because people just kept saying "dude" and it sounded so over the top and stupid. Also they chose to play The Final Countdown and the lyrics are later incorporated in the story. Like, seriously?
    more
  • Rhiannon
    February 22, 2015
    I really enjoyed Wonder so when I saw this I had to read it. One of my favourite things about Wonder is the way it's written, with each point of view character written in a different way - using different vocabulary, different sentence structure etc. and I noticed that this continued with Pluto. It's interesting to see the perspective of someone who has been friends with August for so long especially as he was a fairly minor character in the original story. This story made me laugh many times bu I really enjoyed Wonder so when I saw this I had to read it. One of my favourite things about Wonder is the way it's written, with each point of view character written in a different way - using different vocabulary, different sentence structure etc. and I noticed that this continued with Pluto. It's interesting to see the perspective of someone who has been friends with August for so long especially as he was a fairly minor character in the original story. This story made me laugh many times but also had serious messages. I'd recommend it to anyone who read Wonder, and if you haven't read Wonder I'd recommend that!**I received a free copy of this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Judith
    June 11, 2015
    Pluto is a short spin off from Wonder by R.J. Palacio and is about Auggie Pullman`s friend Chris and his perspective on their childhood friendship. Beautifully written with much emotion painting a picture of the strain of continuing a long distance friendship especially when other children can't appreciate just how special Auggie is. When Chris has the worst day ever and believes his mom is neglecting him to help Auggie and his family, he is shocked to discover the real reason she has not return Pluto is a short spin off from Wonder by R.J. Palacio and is about Auggie Pullman`s friend Chris and his perspective on their childhood friendship. Beautifully written with much emotion painting a picture of the strain of continuing a long distance friendship especially when other children can't appreciate just how special Auggie is. When Chris has the worst day ever and believes his mom is neglecting him to help Auggie and his family, he is shocked to discover the real reason she has not returned to school with his forgotten homework. It's only when Auggie comes to his rescue that Chris recognizes the true value of their friendship. Great for middle grade readers and older "kids" alike.
    more
Write a review