Skim
Heartbreakingly funny, moving and vibrantly drawn, Skim is an extraordinary book--a smart and sensitive graphic novel of the highest literary and artistic quality, by and about young women."Skim" is Kimberly Keiko Cameron, a not-slim, would-be Wiccan goth who goes to a private girls' school. When Skim's classmate Katie Matthews is dumped by her boyfriend, who then kills himself, the entire school goes into mourning overdrive. As concerned guidance counselors provide lectures on the "cycle of grief," and the popular clique starts a new club (Girls Celebrate Life!) to bolster school spirit, Skim sinks into an ever-deepening depression. And falling in love only makes things worse...Suicide, depression, love, being gay or not, crushes, cliques, and finding a way to be your own fully human self--are all explored in this brilliant collaboration by cousins Mariko and Jillian Tamaki. An edgy, keenly observed and poignant glimpse into the heartache of being young.

Skim Details

TitleSkim
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 2008
PublisherGroundwood Books
ISBN0888997531
ISBN-139780888997531
Number of pages143 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, Comics, Fiction, Glbt, Queer

Skim Review

  • Ariel
    May 1, 2016
    You know, I enjoyed this when I read it. I found the story compelling and truly feel that it was an honest depiction of teenage life in high school. I found the illustration style a bit creepy and unsettling, but that went along with the story. My only problem is that now that I'm writing this review, two months after finishing it, I realized that I haven't thought about this book once since reading it. So personally it didn't have any long lasting staying power!
    more
  • Keith
    February 28, 2013
    Man, I am so tired of reading every-graphic-novel-I-should-have-read-but-didn't in preparation for a course I start teaching in a month, but it was all completely worth it to read Skim. It's the kind of good that makes you realize as you're reading it that you're only getting a tenth of what's going on, and then when you put the book down it starts unfolding, like you're still reading it, and man is that a warm, strange, velvety feeling to have going on in your head. I don't think I've ever read Man, I am so tired of reading every-graphic-novel-I-should-have-read-but-didn't in preparation for a course I start teaching in a month, but it was all completely worth it to read Skim. It's the kind of good that makes you realize as you're reading it that you're only getting a tenth of what's going on, and then when you put the book down it starts unfolding, like you're still reading it, and man is that a warm, strange, velvety feeling to have going on in your head. I don't think I've ever read a graphic novel that so brazenly exists in subtext, that acts out the outsider-y repressed nature of its protagonist so artfully, absolutely refusing to divulge all the layers of its meaning on a first pass. This is the most satisfying, absorbing reading experience I've had in a long time. Now I just have to decide if I want to break it into two parts when I assign it, so we have some space to absorb it slowly, or if I should make the students read it in one go, just to feel the rush of "what the hell was that amazing thing" that I felt when it was over.This is the best graphic novel you haven't read yet, kids. Don't make me judge you for not picking it up.
    more
  • Jackie
    August 19, 2008
    This reminded me a lot of Ghost World, being about a misfit girl, nicknamed Skim, and her best friend, whose paths are starting to diverge. There's not much story here, but to me, that felt true to life in high school. I, like Skim, watched from the sidelines, and when something does happen to you, it can be overwhelming and life changing, as when Skim's teacher kisses her. I liked the sly humor - the coven meeting that was also an AA meeting, the costume party with all the girls except Skim and This reminded me a lot of Ghost World, being about a misfit girl, nicknamed Skim, and her best friend, whose paths are starting to diverge. There's not much story here, but to me, that felt true to life in high school. I, like Skim, watched from the sidelines, and when something does happen to you, it can be overwhelming and life changing, as when Skim's teacher kisses her. I liked the sly humor - the coven meeting that was also an AA meeting, the costume party with all the girls except Skim and one other girl dressed as figure skaters and ballerinas, the carless geek dates. And I liked the gently melancholic undertone, visually represented through the fall setting. This is a quiet and subtle story, which reminded me of my own high school years. I liked it a lot.
    more
  • Lily
    October 25, 2015
    I mean, there's heartbroken and then there's all the stuff that comes each second after that, depending on who broke your heart. There's something purifying about this book: the monochromatic color scheme, the fine lettering, the whispered polyphony of words and images. The reader drifts, leaf-like, through a chilly autumn at a Canadian all-girls school in the early 1990s. The ex-boyfriend of one of the popular girls had just killed himself, sending the community on an upward (but actually downw I mean, there's heartbroken and then there's all the stuff that comes each second after that, depending on who broke your heart. There's something purifying about this book: the monochromatic color scheme, the fine lettering, the whispered polyphony of words and images. The reader drifts, leaf-like, through a chilly autumn at a Canadian all-girls school in the early 1990s. The ex-boyfriend of one of the popular girls had just killed himself, sending the community on an upward (but actually downward) spiral of frantically life-affirming positivity. As the world winds itself tightly around this dead stranger, we meet Kim: queer, biracial, goth, loner, would-be wiccan, a human in the process of untangling herself.It's amazing how, when you don't feel something everyone else feels, it just looks like nothing. Like watching people dance to a song you don't like. Every experience of grief is different, and some are more socially endorsed than others. We watch from a great distance as Katie, the girl whose boyfriend died, stumbles along in a way that no one understands. She can't accept the brand of consolation forced upon her by her clique and they, in turn, eventually can't accept her. But she has everything in life - surely she doesn't need our sympathy. And why would she, when we've never spoken to her. At one point, Kim reflects on a school production of Our Town: due to a shortage of roles, she took the role of the night, but some in the audience thought she was the moon. The story closes retaining this ambiguity: is Kim one with the darkness of detachment and rumors, or has she inadvertently become a light by which that darkness is reduced?
    more
  • Travis
    January 6, 2011
    It's 1993 and Kimberly Keiko Cameron, aka Skim, is in grade 10 at a Catholic girls' school. She is: Wiccan, biracial (Japanese-Canadian/white), sort of an outcast, overweight, falling in love with her English teacher, Ms. Archer.[return][return]I really loved this. It's so...ordinary. It's not a message book, even though there are lots of things (being Asian, homophobia, being queer, bullying, teen suicide, rumors, divorce, being overweight) that could be turned into big Issues to Teach a Lesson It's 1993 and Kimberly Keiko Cameron, aka Skim, is in grade 10 at a Catholic girls' school. She is: Wiccan, biracial (Japanese-Canadian/white), sort of an outcast, overweight, falling in love with her English teacher, Ms. Archer.[return][return]I really loved this. It's so...ordinary. It's not a message book, even though there are lots of things (being Asian, homophobia, being queer, bullying, teen suicide, rumors, divorce, being overweight) that could be turned into big Issues to Teach a Lesson, but they're not. They're just part of what happens. That's part of what makes this feel like a story about teens rather than a story particularly for teens (though it's not inappropriate for teens by any means). [return][return]I really love the art, too. The style is obviously Japanese-influenced...but not manga-influenced. Take a look at the cover here, which immediately calls to mind traditional Japanese paintings. It makes for a rather unique comic style and I really enjoyed it.
    more
  • jess
    March 18, 2009
    This is one of my new favorite graphic novels. It is _so_much_better_ than the Minx graphic novel by the same author (Emiko Superstar). The art is beautiful, great lines & strong white spaces. The emotions are pure. The cover art did not really engage me at all, but don't judge this book by its cover. The cover doesn't really do justice to the story and illustrations inside. It's about a teen girl in high school (Skim) who dabbles with Wicca, tries to make sense of her sexuality, and navigat This is one of my new favorite graphic novels. It is _so_much_better_ than the Minx graphic novel by the same author (Emiko Superstar). The art is beautiful, great lines & strong white spaces. The emotions are pure. The cover art did not really engage me at all, but don't judge this book by its cover. The cover doesn't really do justice to the story and illustrations inside. It's about a teen girl in high school (Skim) who dabbles with Wicca, tries to make sense of her sexuality, and navigates the dangerous waters of teen girl unpopularity. Skim has a crush on her art teacher that stabbed me right in the guts of every memory I have of my high school crushes on girls. It's a little bit Heathers (peppered with teen suicide references, and the annoying chipper "life affirming" aftermath), but Tamaki avoids the trap of the 1980s and rich-white-girl.
    more
  • Irena Freitas
    October 19, 2016
    Mais uma vez morta por motivos de Mariko e Jillian Tamaki sendo maravilhosas demais.Pouca gente sabe capturar teen angst de forma tão honesta e sincera como essas duas, realmente é sempre algo maravilhoso de ler.
  • Seth T.
    July 25, 2011
    Being neither a teenage girl nor overly sympathetic toward the needlessly mopey, I am pretty clearly not the target audience for Skim. I’m sure that if I were of like age, culture, and circumstance with Skim‘s lead, Kimberly Keiko Cameron, I might find the book soul-piercing and intelligent. But I’m not and so I don’t.There is one singular obstacle facing any author who hopes to present a story featuring realistically portrayed teenagers: teens are uninteresting. Their problems are generally ove Being neither a teenage girl nor overly sympathetic toward the needlessly mopey, I am pretty clearly not the target audience for Skim. I’m sure that if I were of like age, culture, and circumstance with Skim‘s lead, Kimberly Keiko Cameron, I might find the book soul-piercing and intelligent. But I’m not and so I don’t.There is one singular obstacle facing any author who hopes to present a story featuring realistically portrayed teenagers: teens are uninteresting. Their problems are generally overblown trivialities. Their insights are comically common, with the depth of a drying brook. Their social perception is little better than that of gradeschoolers—and what growth exists is generally diminished by an acute absence of wisdom. It’s good then that most authors diminish the realism of their teenage protagonists for the sake of their story, substituting instead younger versions of their adult selves.I mean, it’s fine to have the occasional literary novel posit a realistic kid just so readers unfamiliar with our younger world-companions will remember that teenagers are really just like adults minus the perspective, wisdom, and restraint that experience grants those who live to be older than teenagers. But really, do we need more Harry Potter: Book Fives? Because in case you forgot, Harry was a repellent little punk in that book. Whiny, moody, reckless, selfish, and irritable. Harry was not someone whom I really wanted to spend that entire book with.And it’s pretty much the same thing with Skim.Kim, as protagonist, is not someone who captures reader interest. She bears the typical marks of teen self-righteousness, believing herself wise and aloof, better than those around her. She describes herself—in that perfectly elitist manner that seems unique to those who haven’t really seen much of the world—as a freak, as someone whom those around her could never possibly understand even if given the time an infinite number of monkeys are usually allotted to complete literary masterworks. She’s kind of a more reserved, less acerbic, less funny version of Ghost World‘s Enid. She’s also a bit of a dilettante, dabbling in the arts and in an amateurish brand of Wicca (she has an altar in her bedroom, goes to the woods to summon a recently deceased student, and wears charms meant to bring her love). She’s exactly as miserable as you would expect her to be. She is, after all, a teenager deeply in love with herself and the prison she can turn life into. (No offense to Wiccans or teenagers who aren’t these things.)In the end, her troubles are typical and her response to them expected. There is no story to her story. Skim might as well be biography for how mundane it all is—biography of a perfectly average life with nothing to recommend it. There’s a reason that people don’t read biographies of the average person, that they don’t salivate to discover what occurs next in the life of Joe the bus driver or Cheryl the data analyst or Tom the elementary school custodian. It’s not that such people can’t be fascinating on an individual level or don’t lead wholly worthwhile lives. It’s more just that their stories aren’t different enough from our own to merit our interest.Now don’t read me as saying there’s no place for teenagers or average people or mundane stories in fiction. Great literature is lousy with the stuff. The problem is when these stories either don’t take their characters to new places or, in choosing to maroon their characters in personal stagnation, have nothing to add to the human conversation. If a Cheryl-the-data-analyst story chronicling the humdrum of the day-in-and-out had a point or explored Cheryl in an interesting fashion or gave us a better view of ourselves, then maybe a story about Cheryl would merit the pages devoted to her. Stories don’t have to be all about churning out one exciting event after another. Things besides plot are allowed to arc. An interesting bit of insight or turn of character could have turned Skim around in a heartbeat—or at least nudged it in the right direction. I kept waiting for that to come.Note to teachers: it’s never appropriate to kiss your students in the woods. Even if it’s a lesbian kiss.Despite the fact that Skim, as a story, fails to generate anything better than ambivalence toward its characters’ plights, the book’s dialogue is competent enough. None of the characters seem overblown or outlandish and there’s not a lot of the kind of unbelievable soliloquy that often inhabits the day-in-the-life genre (writer Mariko Tamaki saves that for the journal-entry narration that interprets all events for us). Really, I could see almost everything in this book actually happening and I could believe that a sixteen year-old would write about these things in this manner. Unfortunately, I think Skim could use a little less believability.Really, it’s a shame about the story. And not just because I had to read through the entire thing. Artist Jillian Tamaki does a beautiful job with the script she’s given. Her characters flow naturally and her balance of white and black and midtones set a number of visually impressive stages. She excels especially in her drawings of the woods, lending a very organic sense to these two-dimensional representations. Actually, the same could be said for some of her figure-work as well. Particularly, the way in which she renders Kim in soft, rounded lines gives the girl a sense of believability.Strange how I’m praising believability in the art but lashing out against it in the writing,but that’s just the way this one falls out.I am not the target audience for Skim. The only problem is that I’m not sure who is. Maybe a very particular sort of teenager (or an adult attached to re-evaluating their own pasts through the mistakes of fictional characters) could find its contents invigourating. Maybe I’m not being generous enough. But at the end of the day, while the book has certain qualities to recommend it, Skim was a chore for me to finish and so I’m hard pressed to recommend the book to anyone.[review courtesy of Good Ok Bad]
    more
  • Paul
    April 29, 2008
    For a story about emotions and connections, I felt rather unconnected to Skim, the title character. Maybe it was because author Mariko Tamaki went a little too overboard in making Skim an "every girl" character. Sure, she had some petulant goth / wicca leanings, but within those categories she felt a little too much like she was always playing a role. Maybe that's what bothered me with the story as a whole---it was always by the numbers, there was always the proper event happening at the proper For a story about emotions and connections, I felt rather unconnected to Skim, the title character. Maybe it was because author Mariko Tamaki went a little too overboard in making Skim an "every girl" character. Sure, she had some petulant goth / wicca leanings, but within those categories she felt a little too much like she was always playing a role. Maybe that's what bothered me with the story as a whole---it was always by the numbers, there was always the proper event happening at the proper time, and the events were always peopled by the proper characters. That said, I'm very much interested in seeing what the author does next, because what IS here on the pages has great value, it's just that I thought there should be more. And it takes longer to be a good writer than it takes to just be a writer...good writing takes an ability to sit down with your past projects and feel how they worked, see how they could have worked differently. Good writing is fueled by comments from your readers and your peers, and of course it takes the Grand Insolence of ignoring any feedback you don't like. As for the art, Jillian Tamaki does a beautiful job, but I would have liked to see a range of portrayed emotions besides "sullen." Even the smiles seemed sullen. Still, oh, such beautiful linework. Again, I'm eager to see what comes of the next project. Also, whichever of them (author Mariko Tamaki or artist Jillian Tamaki) chose to use "apply" as an actual sound effect (when putting on underarm deodorant) is brilliant.
    more
  • Nicky
    September 12, 2011
    I can’t get enough of stories about depressed teenage girls who don’t know where they fit in. Probably because I was that girl. When I hear people talk about high school with actual fondness, I am always deeply suspicious of their character, even though it’s totally possible (and even likely) that some people had a grand ole time. Skim is on my team, and I loved her, not just because of that, but because she’s also smart and funny and does the unexpected. All of the girls in this book were so fi I can’t get enough of stories about depressed teenage girls who don’t know where they fit in. Probably because I was that girl. When I hear people talk about high school with actual fondness, I am always deeply suspicious of their character, even though it’s totally possible (and even likely) that some people had a grand ole time. Skim is on my team, and I loved her, not just because of that, but because she’s also smart and funny and does the unexpected. All of the girls in this book were so finely drawn (literally and figuratively) that I felt like I knew them (and in a lot of ways I did). Girls dealing with first love and no love, too much attention and not enough, friends who turn into enemies who turn into acquaintances then vice versa and sometimes even back again. High school is like a non-stop roller coaster at times, and this book makes the ride feel so exquisite. Here’s hoping for a sequel.10/4/20114/1/2014
    more
  • Brendan Nicholls
    October 9, 2016
    Took a little longer but I finally sat down and finished this one. I enjoyed the book and found the artwork cold but suiting the story. I just found this story to be brilliant and interesting, if you have a friend who thinks graphic storytelling is superheroes just hand them this. The story is part about accepting rejection and coming of age, that difficult step of developing yourself as a person. The cold artwork inks each page with careful precision, there isn't anything as fodder. I'm eager t Took a little longer but I finally sat down and finished this one. I enjoyed the book and found the artwork cold but suiting the story. I just found this story to be brilliant and interesting, if you have a friend who thinks graphic storytelling is superheroes just hand them this. The story is part about accepting rejection and coming of age, that difficult step of developing yourself as a person. The cold artwork inks each page with careful precision, there isn't anything as fodder. I'm eager to track down more work by the author but my library is a little lacking in this department.
    more
  • David
    January 7, 2012
    I grabbed this at random while I was browsing graphic novels at the local library. I have a nostalgic fondness for teen coming-of-age graphic novels, though none of the published ones I've read (Blankets, Black Hole) are as good as a handful of web comics.Anyway, I am totally not the target audience for this book, or else I am just too old. For one thing, the characters are all teenage girls at an all-girls' high school. It's also set in the early 90s, so not only do I not relate to them now, I I grabbed this at random while I was browsing graphic novels at the local library. I have a nostalgic fondness for teen coming-of-age graphic novels, though none of the published ones I've read (Blankets, Black Hole) are as good as a handful of web comics.Anyway, I am totally not the target audience for this book, or else I am just too old. For one thing, the characters are all teenage girls at an all-girls' high school. It's also set in the early 90s, so not only do I not relate to them now, I don't relate to them as being like myself when I was that age, since they are from a slightly later generation.The main character, Kim ("Skim") is a biracial girl whose parents are separated. She's a goth and into wicca and tarot cards and she and her best friend are both somewhat outsiders at school and they totally think they are the only ones who really understand how stupid everyone else is and she's a little depressed and confused and her life sucks and don't you just feel so, so sorry for her? Yeah, even Skim would say she doesn't particularly deserve sympathy.Anyway, somewhere in here is a story of a student-teacher crush which maybe makes Skim a lesbian and maybe not, and there are poignant episodes with Skim's best friend drifting away to become a typical boy-crazy teen who's totally in LOOOVE with her boyfriend, and meanwhile the bitter angry girl who jumped off a roof after her boyfriend dumped her just before committing suicide becomes her new friend. The turbulent, dynamic relationships of teenagers, their unfinished thoughts which seem so profound and important to them, and the general misery of being a high school student, is portrayed here with a deft touch.Ultimately, though, it's a plot that doesn't really go anywhere, just as most teenagers don't have a "plot" for their high school career. Shit happens and you get through it and then someday you'll be an adult who writes condescending book reviews about fiction for teenagers that you just don't get.So, I'm sure there are probably lots of teens who find Skim speaks for them, but it's basically kind of dull with expressive but not very impressive art. A good thing to have on library shelves, but not for me.
    more
  • Marissa
    June 8, 2010
    This is a pretty amazing coming-of-age style graphic novel. The drawing style is beautiful and there's some really exciting artistic experimentation going on with the lay-out, the angles the artist chooses in the panel, the lettering etc. Jillian Tamaki doesn't just illustrate the characters and events in the book, she brings their moods and movement to life. Not to mention that her imitation of the style of classical Japanese portraiture to draw the teenaged protagonist gives the whole work an This is a pretty amazing coming-of-age style graphic novel. The drawing style is beautiful and there's some really exciting artistic experimentation going on with the lay-out, the angles the artist chooses in the panel, the lettering etc. Jillian Tamaki doesn't just illustrate the characters and events in the book, she brings their moods and movement to life. Not to mention that her imitation of the style of classical Japanese portraiture to draw the teenaged protagonist gives the whole work an extra layer of visual interest and adds dimension to the character. To top it all off, the book is also really well-written. Writers' attempts to craft an authentic teenage first-person voice, particularly in diary format, are almost always eye-rollingly bad, with too much slang thrown in and WAY too much Catcher-in-the-Rye-style faux-philosophical depth. Mariko Tamaki has done an excellent job of keeping the voice of her protagonist both authentic and sympathetic, while also avoiding many of the genre's worst cliches. This is the most impressed I've felt with a graphic novel's sensitivity and depth since the release of Persepolis. I can't wait to see more from the Tamakis and I highly recommend picking this up if you haven't yet.
    more
  • Sarah
    July 28, 2011
    This is the best queer Wiccan young adult graphic novel I have ever read. It is also the only one I have ever read because it is completely unlike anything I've seen before. The dark pencil sketch art style brought to mind another graphic novel about religious faith, Blankets by Craig Thompson, but the story is more mult- faceted. I enjoyed the many things going on here - the relationship with her female teacher, her introduction to Wicca, her relationship with her best friend, and the backdrop This is the best queer Wiccan young adult graphic novel I have ever read. It is also the only one I have ever read because it is completely unlike anything I've seen before. The dark pencil sketch art style brought to mind another graphic novel about religious faith, Blankets by Craig Thompson, but the story is more mult- faceted. I enjoyed the many things going on here - the relationship with her female teacher, her introduction to Wicca, her relationship with her best friend, and the backdrop of packaged and sanctioned grief over the suicide of a boy she barely knew. The high school pressures and confusing social dynamics were fascinating and very realistic. And Kim/Skim herself really leaps off the page at the reader. I was left hoping that we will see more of her in sequel. This is a very meaty story and it would make a great discussion book in a class or book club.
    more
  • Raina
    November 17, 2008
    I think they could have edged up the cover a bit - it doesn't reflect the goth, witchy, lesbian elements of the book. And granted, Kim's self discovery is the central point, and not all those other elements which merely contribute, but still. I loved the subtlety of the storytelling - nonlinear, deviceful but not, the cynicism and assertion of authenticity, the portrayal of the transference of friendships, and the heartbreak of young emotion. A treat, and a quick read, although I would love a fr I think they could have edged up the cover a bit - it doesn't reflect the goth, witchy, lesbian elements of the book. And granted, Kim's self discovery is the central point, and not all those other elements which merely contribute, but still. I loved the subtlety of the storytelling - nonlinear, deviceful but not, the cynicism and assertion of authenticity, the portrayal of the transference of friendships, and the heartbreak of young emotion. A treat, and a quick read, although I would love a framed print of a few of those spreads to stare at for a while. Read it, it's good. And deep, and great insight... all that shit. :)And easy to sell to TRL's heavy goth sector - I've already sold it to one girl. :)
    more
  • Noran Miss Pumkin
    March 5, 2015
    This book needed to come out of the closet more, on this issues it skirted on the edges about, al least for me. The weirdly shaped faces of the while girls really bothered me, while Skim's face was right out of Japanese art.
  • Zizeloni
    July 20, 2016
    It's a book about a teenage girl, kind of introverted, kind of goth/Wiccan, that does not feel happy with her life.I think the story was really good, looked so real...No fake YA stuff.And the drawing of course was awesome.
  • Marta
    July 22, 2016
    Beautifully drawn and very personal take on the turbulent and difficult time of growing up, first love, heart ache, fitting in, discovering your identity and coming to terms with it. Love changes everything.
  • Jamila
    February 25, 2009
    Hilarious and sad. I loved the Girls Celebrate Life club and the mystery of Ms. Archer. Great book about friendship, loneliness, young love, and identity.
  • Eva Mitnick
    September 12, 2008
    This graphic novel covers some of the same territory as Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci, but in very different style and somewhat more effectively (although I did really enjoy Plain Janes and look forward to reading the sequel). Kim, a Canadian who is half-Japanese and half-white, lives with her mom and attends a private school. While the rest of the school reacts in various ways to the suicide of a male student (a ludicrous life-affirming club, for instance), Kim (known as Skim because she isn This graphic novel covers some of the same territory as Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci, but in very different style and somewhat more effectively (although I did really enjoy Plain Janes and look forward to reading the sequel). Kim, a Canadian who is half-Japanese and half-white, lives with her mom and attends a private school. While the rest of the school reacts in various ways to the suicide of a male student (a ludicrous life-affirming club, for instance), Kim (known as Skim because she isn't - she's a bit chubby) and her friend Lisa roll their eyes at the pathetic-ness of their school and life in general. However, Kim has a secret - she has fallen in love with their English teacher - a young, bohemian woman. The artwork is fabulous - a virtuoso use of dark space and shading creates an amazing look, and enables both artist and author (cousins) to highlight particular moments, as when Kim's white face floats in the dark like a Kabuki mask or the moon. This is much more stylish than most "teen" graphic novels, and is a must-read for thoughtful older teens, especially those who are not finding life or high school a smooth sail.
    more
  • I. Merey
    February 12, 2013
    I found the title appropriate... Skim. Reading this book felt like sitting alone deep in a forest, staring at a clean, clear pond. Nobody is around, at one point, you pick up a stone and skip it along the water. The pond is deep and cold; the stone just disturbs the surface...Skim is a high-school girl dealing with a few formidable issues in her life. Her parents are divorced, her mother is bitter; her best friend Lisa, with whom she's exploring Wicca, is a bitch. A boy commits suicide at her sc I found the title appropriate... Skim. Reading this book felt like sitting alone deep in a forest, staring at a clean, clear pond. Nobody is around, at one point, you pick up a stone and skip it along the water. The pond is deep and cold; the stone just disturbs the surface...Skim is a high-school girl dealing with a few formidable issues in her life. Her parents are divorced, her mother is bitter; her best friend Lisa, with whom she's exploring Wicca, is a bitch. A boy commits suicide at her school and the heightened awareness puts Skim in the spotlight as a gloomy goth aka potential suicide. And then... she may be in love with her teacher, Miss Archer...Many things are happening in this GN, many things are implied; many times words and pictures skim the surface, never breaking fully through. The artwork was interesting--sometimes, a page literally took my breath away and I loved the rich brush strokes and free lines. Did I want the book to delve into these issues deeper? Did I like hanging at the end? I can't decide myself but the ambiguity is positive.
    more
  • Tori
    September 3, 2015
    i had really high hopes for this graphic novel because, hello, queer young asian girl who struggles with her mental health and Isn't Thin! which, tbh, i think was an unfair burden of an expectation.it's a quiet kind of read, and tamaki really captures the quiet emptiness of depression/growing up/feeling like an outsider bc of ur queerness.that said – the teacher/student relationship made me REALLY uncomfortable. i had a moment where i was like 'wtf did u tag for this shit??' before remembering t i had really high hopes for this graphic novel because, hello, queer young asian girl who struggles with her mental health and Isn't Thin! which, tbh, i think was an unfair burden of an expectation.it's a quiet kind of read, and tamaki really captures the quiet emptiness of depression/growing up/feeling like an outsider bc of ur queerness.that said – the teacher/student relationship made me REALLY uncomfortable. i had a moment where i was like 'wtf did u tag for this shit??' before remembering that this wasn't a fic on ao3. ALAS. idk man, i think it wasn't handled as horribly as it could've been, but still, like. c'mon. C'MON. i probs would've given this one two stars if it weren't for the ending. i really liked the ending. :')EDIT, 1/31/16: i've changed my rating from three to two stars because the ending hasn't stuck with me but the teacher-student relationship definitely has. :/
    more
  • Michelle Lynne
    March 20, 2014
    One of my favourite graphic novels. It dealt with a lot of themes that I find simultaneously entertaining, moving and interesting to read about (suicide, Wicca, searching for identity, LGBT issues, etc.) I really liked the art style, but it was the characters that really got to me; I could really relate to Kim and the people in her life at the high school level, including a lot of the things she goes through and that she is feeling.
    more
  • Denele
    February 6, 2012
    I definitely could have used a graphic novel like this when I was in high school. Many of the characters are quite relatable. Wise cracking know it all Lisa made me chuckle, while sensitive and quiet Skim had moments where my heart ached for her. There wasn't really an advanced plot, but more of a focus on the reflections of a teenage girl responding to the many people and situations in her life. I enjoyed the nonchalant approach to some controversial issues.
    more
  • Nidhi Srivastava
    June 13, 2016
    Experiencing wave after wave of warm fuzzies.====================================One of the things I want to point out is that the blurb says Skim is sinking into depression - I disagree! I don't think so. Twist- should have been predictable but wasn't. Thankfully I didn't try to get ahead of the plot and went with the flow
    more
  • Robin Stevens
    April 24, 2016
    Sharp and often uncomfortable, this is a graphic novel about a teenage girl who's trying to navigate a (deeply problematic) first love in a school that's been disrupted by a boy's recent suicide. This makes difficult reading, but I think it's brilliant.
    more
  • Jeffrey
    May 24, 2009
    I really enjoyed this more than I thought I would. Although it was less emotionally resonant with me - probably because of my own experiences and current situation more than anything - the story is engaging and the art is beautiful, and in terms of its comics mechanics is consistently interesting.
    more
  • Sian Lile-Pastore
    July 25, 2015
    Great stuff! All my favourite things in comic form- Wicca, being aTeenager, possible romance with a teacher and death.
  • Will Walton
    March 8, 2015
    Is it possible I liked this even MORE than This One Summer?? I DON'T KNOW!!
  • Sarah
    November 7, 2013
    SkimBefore I recommend this, I’m going to take the liberty to attach a small trigger warning to this book. It discusses suicide and depression frequently throughout, just so you know. Don’t read stuff that you think will make you feel awful!‘Skim’ is the diary of Kimberly Keiko Cameron, who considers herself to be a witch and is otherwise a typical teenage girl in high school. The story covers Skim’s first love, her friendship with her best friend Lisa, stories of her past and the rising caution SkimBefore I recommend this, I’m going to take the liberty to attach a small trigger warning to this book. It discusses suicide and depression frequently throughout, just so you know. Don’t read stuff that you think will make you feel awful!‘Skim’ is the diary of Kimberly Keiko Cameron, who considers herself to be a witch and is otherwise a typical teenage girl in high school. The story covers Skim’s first love, her friendship with her best friend Lisa, stories of her past and the rising caution and publicity in their school about depression, after a boy commits suicide.This book was intensely relatable. It brought me right back to the painful elements of the girl world in school – bitchiness, shallow friendships, bullying – without being too much of a downer. It was emotional at points, but all written and illustrated with this wit and dark humour. I loved that Skim, the main character, is neither good nor bad. She’s no better than the other girls in the story, even if she is more interesting. All together, she was a very realistic and ‘whole’ character. I liked her a lot.The focus on mental illness was interestingly, though not exactly sensitively, done. It covers many things, including suffering with depression, the causes, symptoms and the opinions of the rest of the world. It’s never detailed whether Skim really has depression, or whether she’s just projecting her sadness, or whether she’s feeling it a little from those who surround her. Either way, it feels very real. Her emotions sing out of the page. The words are beautifully and carefully chosen, and the drawings to go with them really bring them to life.I gotta admit, I sometimes feel like everyone and their mother has some form of mental illness nowadays – maybe it’s a contagious type of thing, or maybe people are just more open about it. This is touched on a little, too, which I was happy about. In that typical bitchy high school way, one of the characters talks about how common and ‘cool’ it now seems to have a mental illness. I liked that because it, too, is real. In real life, not everyone is sensitive to sickness, not everyone understands it, and not everyone is telling the truth.That was the best thing about this book. It was insensitive in some places but that made it so much more realistic. It captured the human-ness of humans particularly well.The drawings were beautiful. Stunning, wondrous, spectacular. I loved them. The use of black and white backgrounds at different times really gave atmosphere to the book. The characters were easily distinguished, yet the consistency between them is so excellent.Overall, an excellent book. I devoured it in one day, fawning over every page. It’s a realistic, pretty and witty take on girls in high school, first love and mental illness. I thought it was beautiful.
    more
Write a review