Green Eggs and Ham
“Do you like green eggs and ham?” asks Sam-I-am in this Beginner Book by Dr. Seuss. In a house or with a mouse? In a boat or with a goat? On a train or in a tree? Sam keeps asking persistently. With unmistakable characters and signature rhymes, Dr. Seuss’s beloved favorite has cemented its place as a children’s classic. In this most famous of cumulative tales, the list of places to enjoy green eggs and ham, and friends to enjoy them with, gets longer and longer. Follow Sam-I-am as he insists that this unusual treat is indeed a delectable snack to be savored everywhere and in every way. Originally created by Dr. Seuss, Beginner Books encourage children to read all by themselves, with simple words and illustrations that give clues to their meaning.

Green Eggs and Ham Details

TitleGreen Eggs and Ham
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 29th, 1988
PublisherRandom House Books for Young Readers
ISBN0394800168
ISBN-139780394800165
Number of pages62 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Classics, Fiction

Green Eggs and Ham Review

  • Mark Lawrence
    September 18, 2012
    There are two kinds of people in the world. Those who like green eggs and ham, and those who don't.Well, three. Those who like green eggs and ham. Those who don't. And those who like the green eggs but not the ham. It's just ham, not green ham. We should get that straight. Oh, correction, it's green ham too.Anyhow four kinds of people. The haters, the likers, the green egg but not green hammers, and the green hammers but not green eggs.Actually I guess there are the people who would eat them wit There are two kinds of people in the world. Those who like green eggs and ham, and those who don't.Well, three. Those who like green eggs and ham. Those who don't. And those who like the green eggs but not the ham. It's just ham, not green ham. We should get that straight. Oh, correction, it's green ham too.Anyhow four kinds of people. The haters, the likers, the green egg but not green hammers, and the green hammers but not green eggs.Actually I guess there are the people who would eat them with a fox, but not in a box. And some who would eat them with a fox, in a box, on a train, but not with a goat.Ok. So there are lots of kinds of people in the world. Dr Seuss invents diversity. Kudos.Really the book is about the key existential question in the 20th and 21st centuries. Green food, yes or no, and under what conditions. It's a metaphor for where a man ... or woman ... or thing called Sam ... draws the line.Where people, where will you draw that line?Green eggs and (green) ham is a cipher for our age, an antithesis to the jejune, a whirlwind of growing complexity into which we pour our souls and come face to face with the naked question - will we try them? Try them and we may, I say. Seuss offers us a black and white and green question - do we like them? But this devolves into shades of grey (green), we're crippled with choice, seduced by the rhythm, shocked by the goat.In the end, my friends, there are only two kinds of people. Those who push the 'like' button on my review of Green Eggs and Ham, and those who suck.Join my 3-emails-a-year newsletter #prizes
    more
  • Peter
    October 4, 2007
    This is a very complex story of two gentlemen from two very different walks of life. Introvert, extrovert... good, evil... Democrat, Republican... you get the idea. It also parallels the generational gap between those set in their ways, and those willing to venture out and explore perhaps a different approach to life. However you dissect it, there is an initial, almost uncomfortable clash between the two main characters in this saga. None the less, you cannot help but continue to turn the pages This is a very complex story of two gentlemen from two very different walks of life. Introvert, extrovert... good, evil... Democrat, Republican... you get the idea. It also parallels the generational gap between those set in their ways, and those willing to venture out and explore perhaps a different approach to life. However you dissect it, there is an initial, almost uncomfortable clash between the two main characters in this saga. None the less, you cannot help but continue to turn the pages as you delve into this story, no matter how uncomfortable it may seem at the time. You find yourself relating to either of the characters, and perhaps even a little of both. The main crux of the story relates one man, Sam I Am, trying to please the elderly statesman into venturing into unknown worlds. The elderly character, who is nameless, seems old and set in his ways, seeming to fall back onto years of wisdom, and contradictally, foolishness, as he puts up walls between himself and Sam. Sam is relentless in his persuit to please the elder. Houses, foxes, goats, tunnels, trains, boats, mice. The story finally climaxes as the two characters have experienced a horrendous shipwreck, and as they are fighting for their lives together in the angry sea, the culmination of Sam's efforts converge into one page... a page without a word being spoken. The elder gentleman finally steps outside of his comfort zone, and realizes that he has wasted much energy fighting the personal demons that dwelled inside him. Rescued and back on shore, Sam and the gentleman forge a relationship that is much stronger than it could have ever been, had neither character played the "give and take" game that solidifies our own relationships we experience in our own lives. We see a little (or a lot) of each one of us in both characters, and I believe that the author is trying to deliver a message for generations to come about the importance of harmony in relationships.I highly recommend this book. You can easily finish it in a weekend. Once you start, it will be hard to put down.
    more
  • Brad
    September 7, 2008
    Say! I love Green Eggs and Ham. I do! I love it Seuss-I-am. So I will read it with Miloš Or he will read it cause he's precoš.And I will read it with my TëAnd we will read it night and day. And I will read it to my ScoutAnd she will love it, I have no doubt.And I will read it in the rain.And I will read it on the train. And I will read it in my socks. And I will read it with a fox. And I will read it in the shower.And I will read it every hour.And I will read it doing dishes.And I will read it w Say! I love Green Eggs and Ham. I do! I love it Seuss-I-am. So I will read it with Miloš Or he will read it cause he's precoš.And I will read it with my TëAnd we will read it night and day. And I will read it to my ScoutAnd she will love it, I have no doubt.And I will read it in the rain.And I will read it on the train. And I will read it in my socks. And I will read it with a fox. And I will read it in the shower.And I will read it every hour.And I will read it doing dishes.And I will read it with the fishes. I will read it here or there. Say! I will read it ANYWHERE!I do so love Green Eggs and Ham. Thank you. Thank you, Seuss-I-am.Audio: Me reading this review thanks to Bird Brian.
    more
  • Manny
    January 25, 2014
    I do not think that Doctor SeussShould be a God, like Thor or ZeusAnd if you hate Green Eggs and HamMy Dear, I could not give a Damn
  • Mikey
    October 17, 2009
    Mommy: "What did you think?"Mikey: "That was easy, Mommy! I read it so fast!! I like that book. I did a good job, right Mommy?"Mommy: "Yes, baby. A very good job!"Mikey: "I read that one without any help! I want to read it again."Mommy: "Yes you did, baby. Okay, now how many stars?"Mikey: "5 Mommy. It's my favorite!!"Mommy: "Sure baby, lets log it into Goodreads..."(Mommy logging it in, while Mikey is reading the book again. =) Perfect for 1st grade confidence. )
    more
  • Jason Koivu
    June 24, 2010
    An epic poem for the ages! Until recently only heard orally as passed down from the mouths of ancient sages (my mom and dad), I just picked up this tome and realized the eggs and the ham were green. SICK! No wonder the poor target of Sam-I-Am's incessant torment didn't want to eat the horrible looking stuff!I admire an author who can seamlessly incorporate their opinion. However, I must say that is the one failure of Green Eggs and Ham. The negativity is driven home time and again until the read An epic poem for the ages! Until recently only heard orally as passed down from the mouths of ancient sages (my mom and dad), I just picked up this tome and realized the eggs and the ham were green. SICK! No wonder the poor target of Sam-I-Am's incessant torment didn't want to eat the horrible looking stuff!I admire an author who can seamlessly incorporate their opinion. However, I must say that is the one failure of Green Eggs and Ham. The negativity is driven home time and again until the reader cries out, "OKAY, I GET IT! YOU DON'T LIKE GREEN EGGS AND HAM!". Ah, but then comes the twist! The torture victim submits, tries the colorful culinary conglomeration and finds that he actually DOES like it, and thus is freed from torment! I tell you, Green Eggs and Ham rivals "the greatest story ever told".
    more
  • Josh
    May 11, 2008
    An exciting epic story about the battle between good and evil, It really makes you question life the universe and everything.
  • Nathan
    October 1, 2007
    Roughly fifteen years ago, when I was just starting out in high school, nothing in the world was more subversive or thought-provoking for me than staying up late on the weekend and watching Saturday Night Live. Around the same time, I think during the final year or two of the Reagan administration (my memory is not so good), the Reverend Jesse Jackson made a cameo appearance on the Weekend Update segment. He read Green Eggs and Ham. No adlibbing, no extra jokes, nothing. He just read the book, c Roughly fifteen years ago, when I was just starting out in high school, nothing in the world was more subversive or thought-provoking for me than staying up late on the weekend and watching Saturday Night Live. Around the same time, I think during the final year or two of the Reagan administration (my memory is not so good), the Reverend Jesse Jackson made a cameo appearance on the Weekend Update segment. He read Green Eggs and Ham. No adlibbing, no extra jokes, nothing. He just read the book, completely straight. In his voice - with all the authority and suppressed rage of Jackson in his anti-Reagan prime - this book's subversive undercurrent stood out for all to see. "I do not like them, Sam I am!" became a cry for all the people the 1980's forgot about. Suddenly, a correlation was drawn in my head between a story I loved as a kid, and my teen angst-fueled growing fascination with "fight the power" comedy. Fifteen or more years later, this remains one of my favorite books of all time. I am sure Dr. Suess had a lot to do with me becoming the man I am today, but this book, in particular, is one I come back to over and over again. Shortly after George W. Bush was re-elected in 2004, I read it again, and for weeks I couldn't get the mantra out of my head, "I do not like them, SAM I AM." NC
    more
  • Jilly
    May 11, 2016
    I had to pick a childhood book for my 2016 Reading Challenge with the Machalo group, so this one wins. Why? I have it memorized. It was required reading for me according to my children so that they would go to sleep at night. Something about the repetitive wording would lull them off to dreamland.
    more
  • Yulia
    May 29, 2008
    Sometimes things aren't so bad as we imagine them.
  • Tim
    April 18, 2008
    I think Seuss is a genius at two distinct genres of children's lit -- the message book and the early reader. This is the book in which I feel that he best balances the two. From the message side, Sam teaches us about persistence while his unnamed, skeptical pal learns that one need not cling desperately to an old idea because ideas (like tastes in oddly colored foodstuffs) can change. But it's also a great example of what a child's reader should be. It has an engaging plot, but effectively uses I think Seuss is a genius at two distinct genres of children's lit -- the message book and the early reader. This is the book in which I feel that he best balances the two. From the message side, Sam teaches us about persistence while his unnamed, skeptical pal learns that one need not cling desperately to an old idea because ideas (like tastes in oddly colored foodstuffs) can change. But it's also a great example of what a child's reader should be. It has an engaging plot, but effectively uses repetition of simple, rhyming words to enable the developing reader to begin reading along quickly. And the illustrations are brilliant as the Seussian ones always are.
    more
  • Amy
    January 27, 2011
    I never appreciated Green Eggs and Ham when I was a kid. I mean, it was ok, and it was Dr. Seuss, but it is a book about green eggs and ham. When my niece and nephew were born, however, all that changed. I should say, when my very strong-willed, don't-take-no-for-an-answer, nag-the-grown-ups-until-they-break-down-sobbing niece and nephew were born, Green Eggs and Ham read like a completely different book to me. That Sam-I-Am drives this poor... whatever-he-is to complete distraction! I feel for I never appreciated Green Eggs and Ham when I was a kid. I mean, it was ok, and it was Dr. Seuss, but it is a book about green eggs and ham. When my niece and nephew were born, however, all that changed. I should say, when my very strong-willed, don't-take-no-for-an-answer, nag-the-grown-ups-until-they-break-down-sobbing niece and nephew were born, Green Eggs and Ham read like a completely different book to me. That Sam-I-Am drives this poor... whatever-he-is to complete distraction! I feel for that poor wretch! And when I read this story to the kids, I now have a practically bottomless pool of personal experience to draw upon when I give voice to that chattering Sam-I-Am and that poor whatever-he-is, who is just trying to cling to the last disintegrating threads of his sanity! As a kid I didn't think Green Eggs and Ham was anything special. As an adult, I don't think that there is any other book that speaks with a truer, more authentic voice than Green Eggs and Ham.
    more
  • Lisa
    May 6, 2014
    5 "I DO NOT LIKE GREEN EGGS AND HAM. I DO NOT LIKE THEM SAM I AM." Stars!My four year old daughter adores this book. I can recite this book without even opening it up. Sigh! That is how many times I have read it! ;)
  • Ferdy
    August 13, 2015
    Lots of fun. Loved all the different rhymes, they were cleverly written with how simple and catchy they were, the illustrations were great as well and perfectly depicted the absurdity of Sam-I-Am and No-name's back and forth about the green eggs and ham. Wish I'd read it as a child though, would have absolutely adored it then.
    more
  • Sam
    April 22, 2007
    On the surface, this seams to be a simple tale of learning to like things you never tried. but if you dig deeper, you find a much more sinister manifesto filled with mind control and evil world domination. Yes, I may be treading on thin ice but many have overlooked the subtext and true purpose of this microtome.Be cautious if you plan on reading this book. not many can remain the same once they have peered into a bucket of pure truth.
    more
  • Jose Monarrez
    November 8, 2016
    “Try them, try them, and you may! Try them and you may, I say.”No hay mucho que decir... solo que estoy descubriendo que Dr. Seuss es el autor que debí empezar a leer cuando quise empezar a aprender inglés... es fácil y entretenido, imaginativo y didáctico, pero todo esto de una forma rara.“I will not eat them in a house, i will not eat them with a mouse,i will not eat them in a box i will not eat them with a fox, i will not eat them here of there i will not eat them anywhere, I do not like gree “Try them, try them, and you may! Try them and you may, I say.”No hay mucho que decir... solo que estoy descubriendo que Dr. Seuss es el autor que debí empezar a leer cuando quise empezar a aprender inglés... es fácil y entretenido, imaginativo y didáctico, pero todo esto de una forma rara.“I will not eat them in a house, i will not eat them with a mouse,i will not eat them in a box i will not eat them with a fox, i will not eat them here of there i will not eat them anywhere, I do not like green eggs and ham i do not like them sam i am” Este libro en esencia es fácil de leer, y cuenta con imágenes para guiar en la lectura, pero usa frases y lugares que no siguen una lógica normal, sino la lógica de los “Who´s” y eso, a mi entender es muestra del gran respeto que tenía Dr. Seuss de los niños, la lectura es fácil, pero aun así un reto. Simplemente genial.Nota: Me estoy haciendo adicto a Dr. Seuss
    more
  • Alexxy
    November 8, 2015
    WTF?!I understand the moral of the story. I also understand this is a children's book. Doesn't make it less stupid. Good god it was short!
  • Bil
    November 22, 2016
    I was confused at first to why use an unusual color for eggs and ham. The story clearly had a deeper meaning to it but I didn’t really grasp it. It didn’t matter though since I found the rhymes catchy and I couldn’t stop reciting them in my mind as I read the lines.
    more
  • Stephen
    August 15, 2010
    3.0 stars. One of those books that everyone read and loved as a child and I was no exception. What was truly special was reading this book to my five year old daughter and re-living the magic through her eyes.
  • Carina Mcdonagh
    March 27, 2012
    'Green Eggs and Ham' by Dr. Seuss is a delectable tongue twister of a story. The simple lexis is constantly repeated and turned on its' head to make for a fast paced, action packed rhythmic tale. The simple premise for the story is 'Sam I Am' trying to persuade or force his very unwilling friend to try green eggs and ham. Through this process the pair travel to different places and meet interesting characters. By the end of the story 'Sam I Am' manages to make his friend try the green eggs and h 'Green Eggs and Ham' by Dr. Seuss is a delectable tongue twister of a story. The simple lexis is constantly repeated and turned on its' head to make for a fast paced, action packed rhythmic tale. The simple premise for the story is 'Sam I Am' trying to persuade or force his very unwilling friend to try green eggs and ham. Through this process the pair travel to different places and meet interesting characters. By the end of the story 'Sam I Am' manages to make his friend try the green eggs and ham and much to Sam's surprise he actually likes them!This story with its odd characters and acid coloured illustrations was written in 1960 and since being published has become a firm favourite. Teachers may dislike reading this book because it has to be read carefully and quickly in order to maintain the rhyming element and with expression to help the children understand the storyline. However it is a story I really enjoy reading to children because it is a challenge and when read correctly the euphonious words are a pleasure to articulate. One word of caution I would add though is the need to check children's understanding of the events, it is very easy to get carried away with the story particularly as it suits a fast reading pace, so I would advise asking questions about the story at the end.'Green Eggs and Ham' is a useful story to use in the early years to encourage children to try different foods and could be extended with tasting unusual foods, making different coloured foods ie. blue biscuits using food colouring and mixing colours. The story is also a rich source of rhyming words which are simple to understand, children in key stage one could make lists of rhyming words taken from the story, they could then go on to make up their own poems using some of the words. They could also write about or draw their own favourite foods and explain where and how they would persuade a friend to try them. I have used a CD ROM version of the story that children can access for themselves, in this way children can read the story at their own pace and pause at particular parts that interest them.'Green Eggs and Ham' is part of a range of rhyming stories including 'Fox in Socks' and The Cat in the Hat' that all encourage children's enjoyment of words. They are humourous stories that appeal to adults and children alike.
    more
  • Jonathan
    February 2, 2012
    I think I see where Dr. Seuss was headed with his books. Clearly he was a man of great culture. I mean think about it. He was into green eggs and ham*; he had a wocket in his pocket (most fashionable)**; he may have travelled a little but as is clearly even more fashionable he encouraged others to travel to imaginary lands***; he described in meticulous detail how an acquaintance of his stole Christmas****; he wrote of another acquaintance's attempt at unauthorised child minding*****; he wrote a I think I see where Dr. Seuss was headed with his books. Clearly he was a man of great culture. I mean think about it. He was into green eggs and ham*; he had a wocket in his pocket (most fashionable)**; he may have travelled a little but as is clearly even more fashionable he encouraged others to travel to imaginary lands***; he described in meticulous detail how an acquaintance of his stole Christmas****; he wrote of another acquaintance's attempt at unauthorised child minding*****; he wrote about vixens in socks******; and he also was not afraid to write about the elephant in the room - imaginary friends*******. Yes I think Oscar Wilde would have been very pleased had he been able to met Dr. Seuss. My question however is this? What is the point of writing a review on these books when you have to be over thirteen to use this site? I'm glad to say I have none whatsoever save for getting rid of thoughts about Dr Seuss' books that currently amuse me!*Green Eggs and Ham**There's a Wocket in My Pocket!***Oh, the Places You'll Go!****How the Grinch Stole Christmas*****The Cat in the Hat******Horton Hears a Who!*******Fox in Socks
    more
  • Shannon (Giraffe Days)
    June 13, 2013
    I think this book and Seuss's Cat in the Hat are his two most famous books, and I'm pretty sure this is one (maybe the only one) I did read as a kid.For the adult reader (reading aloud to kids, no doubt), it's a repetitive, long, and obvious book: Sam offers some green eggs and ham to his grumpy older friend (who remains nameless), and this friend gets angrier and angrier the more Sam tries to convince him to try them (and you can't blame the angry one: green eggs and ham? Sounds utterly disgust I think this book and Seuss's Cat in the Hat are his two most famous books, and I'm pretty sure this is one (maybe the only one) I did read as a kid.For the adult reader (reading aloud to kids, no doubt), it's a repetitive, long, and obvious book: Sam offers some green eggs and ham to his grumpy older friend (who remains nameless), and this friend gets angrier and angrier the more Sam tries to convince him to try them (and you can't blame the angry one: green eggs and ham? Sounds utterly disgusting, like they've gone off or something). Until finally he does try eating it, and discovers that he does like them after all.It's enlivened by the silliness of Sam's suggestions: would you eat them in a box with a fox, or in the dark, or with a goat. The wording does change, going through the various grammatical options: would you, could you, will not, could not, do not like etc. It's a surprisingly entertaining battle of wills and for as obvious as the message is, it's a message that all parents spend a great deal of time and energy getting across to their kids ("Try it! Just try it, how do you know you don't like it until you try it?!"), so it's always nice to have a popular book reinforce it.
    more
  • Jason
    July 14, 2013
    The best book of rhyming ever! Pretty sure Dr Seuss invented rhyming. The illustrations are like an acid trip, so always a good book to read to your kids. I've read this many times and it's my favourite kids book.EDIT: just read this two more times to my daughter. I've read quite a few Dr Seuss books lately and this is still easily my favourite. During this reading I realised how much my daughter is like the green eggs and ham hater in the book, getting her to try stuff is really difficult. Next The best book of rhyming ever! Pretty sure Dr Seuss invented rhyming. The illustrations are like an acid trip, so always a good book to read to your kids. I've read this many times and it's my favourite kids book.EDIT: just read this two more times to my daughter. I've read quite a few Dr Seuss books lately and this is still easily my favourite. During this reading I realised how much my daughter is like the green eggs and ham hater in the book, getting her to try stuff is really difficult. Next time I'll be able to annoy her with lines from this book until she gives in and tries it.
    more
  • Chris
    October 28, 2008
    I read somewhere that Green Eggs and Ham was written on a dare. Dr. Seuss was dared to write a story using 50 different words or less. Those 50 words have become one of the greatest books in our families library.When I was young, this was THE book I would bring home from school. Every Wed. for 2 months, I would check our Green Eggs and Ham. My mom called the school and asked them not to let me check it out anymore. Now, many years later, I still will pick it up and read it. (even at the library! I read somewhere that Green Eggs and Ham was written on a dare. Dr. Seuss was dared to write a story using 50 different words or less. Those 50 words have become one of the greatest books in our families library.When I was young, this was THE book I would bring home from school. Every Wed. for 2 months, I would check our Green Eggs and Ham. My mom called the school and asked them not to let me check it out anymore. Now, many years later, I still will pick it up and read it. (even at the library!)
    more
  • Ian
    December 27, 2011
    Green and Purple SceneMum! Green eggs and ham!I wish you'd make them, not justPurple eggs and spam.Could Not, Would NotI could not, would notEat green eggs and ham aloneAnywhere but home.Green Eggs and LoxIt would pay to askCan you swap the ham for lox?At Barney Greengrass.
    more
  • Manybooks
    December 9, 2009
    I have always much loved Green Eggs and Ham. Both Dr. Seuss' poetic, rhythmic text and his accompanying illustrations are entertaining and enchanting (a sweet delight, with movement, joy and exuberant silliness), and yet, the presented underlying message also shows a basic and important, necessary truth (to not simply and categorically insist that one does not enjoy a certain food, but to actually try it first, that one needs to at least taste a food before making a decision as to whether one li I have always much loved Green Eggs and Ham. Both Dr. Seuss' poetic, rhythmic text and his accompanying illustrations are entertaining and enchanting (a sweet delight, with movement, joy and exuberant silliness), and yet, the presented underlying message also shows a basic and important, necessary truth (to not simply and categorically insist that one does not enjoy a certain food, but to actually try it first, that one needs to at least taste a food before making a decision as to whether one likes it or not). That being said, I can also to a point appreciate that some individuals might consider Sam-I-Am massively annoying, bordering on the offensive, with his continuous insisting, basically hounding if not actually stalking the other nameless character until he finally gives up and resignedly tries Sam's green eggs and ham. Thus, while I personally do very much adore Green Eggs and Ham and cherish the message Dr. Seuss is trying to convey, I also do comprehend that for some, Sam-I-Am is at best tedious and a bit like a recurring mosquito annoyingly buzzing around one's ear.But actually, for my adult and educated self, for my teacher/instructor self, the genius of Green Eggs and Ham lies NOT so much in the message of the narrative, but in Dr. Seuss' poetic, repetitive text, a text that with fun and rhythm introduces children to important tenets of English grammar and word usage (different verb forms, prepositions and negation are prominently featured, and by repeating the author's words or by having them read aloud, children learn, children become accustomed to proper preposition usage, the differences between the future and the present tenses of verbs, modal verbs such as "can" and "should" and the position of the negative). A wonderful, marvellous combination of enjoyment and didactic intent, and highly recommended for both in-class and at home practice/use, and absolutely outstanding for ESL instruction (case in point, in grade four, after my family had immigrated from Germany to Canada, my homeroom teacher used Green Eggs and Ham with me and it definitely made learning English verbs and the many different prepositions much easier and also much more fun to both learn and remember). And not just for children either, as I have also used the Green Eggs and Ham as a fun introductory activity for novice adult ESL learners with lasting and successful results (with the caveat to NOT ONLY use material primarily meant and designated for children with adult learners, but that as a quick activity, Green Eggs and Ham is an enjoyable, teachable interlude).
    more
  • midnightfaerie
    March 18, 2012
    You have to live in a box not to know who Dr. Seuss is. Out of all of his books, this one has always been one of my favorites. On the top of my list, because of the pictures, and the lesson involved, it teaches a child to try something before automatically deciding whether or not he likes it. It also has trains in it, which I completely forgot, and which was a big win with my twin 3 yr olds. I also, love reading Dr. Seuss books, the flow of the rhymes just so much fun to say. Wonderful book.
    more
  • Miriam
    June 22, 2008
    I was very open to trying new foods as a kid, but Sam I Am actually makes me want to refuse them just because he's such a pushy jerk.
  • Kathryn
    April 9, 2015
    Revisited Green Eggs and Ham for the first time in many years. It was certainly a part of my childhood, though never one of my favorite Seuss books. I think as a kid I got a little frustrated with Sam continuing to pester and it seemed too repetitive. Now, of course, I can appreciate Seuss's genius in creating a story with so few words though I do still feel it's a tad long especially as my two year old son enjoys it very much for about the first half then closes the book, though he does ask for Revisited Green Eggs and Ham for the first time in many years. It was certainly a part of my childhood, though never one of my favorite Seuss books. I think as a kid I got a little frustrated with Sam continuing to pester and it seemed too repetitive. Now, of course, I can appreciate Seuss's genius in creating a story with so few words though I do still feel it's a tad long especially as my two year old son enjoys it very much for about the first half then closes the book, though he does ask for rereads later (but does the same thing). My favorite aspect this time around is the illustrations! Especially in the "Skeptical Eater's" expressions (he doesn't have a name, right? I've never heard of a name for him). Just love the range of emotions (especially the chagrin, LOL, and disbelief) on his face as Sam-I-Am tries all his persuasive measures. All the little aspects, even the way he holds that fascinating little fork, are ones that made impressions on me as a kid, too.
    more
  • David
    September 25, 2007
    set in the congo in the 30's, this book details the lives of two lesbian lovers who must fight a cholera epidemic that broke out in the village of N'go(click)kamena(click). Sophie, the wealthy British dowager, bravely fights cholera, but gets confused because cholera is microscopic and ends up burning the village down. a must read for anyone who is handicapped and can't go outside.
    more
Write a review