An Author's Odyssey (The Land of Stories, #5)
In the highly anticipated continuation of the Land of Stories series, Conner learns that the only place to fight the Masked Man's literary army is inside his own short stories!When the twins and their friends enter worlds crafted from Conner's imagination, finding allies no one else could have ever dreamed of, the race begins to put an end to the Masked Man's reign of terror. Can the twins finally restore peace in the fairy tale world?

An Author's Odyssey (The Land of Stories, #5) Details

TitleAn Author's Odyssey (The Land of Stories, #5)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 12th, 2016
PublisherLittle, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN0316317780
ISBN-139780316317788
Number of pages448 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade

An Author's Odyssey (The Land of Stories, #5) Review

  • Tabby
    January 13, 2016
    THE REVIEWWhy this book?I love this seriesWhat I thoughtOMG this was amazing !!! It was full of action, adventure,LMAO moments and new memorable characters. Along with the characters we all know and love. At first when I heard they were going into Connors stories I was disappointed but I was so wrong Connors stories were awesome. I just loved how Conner and Alex's mom and step dad and the fairytale characters had to babysit Connors characters. That whole situation was just hilarious. Oh and Trol THE REVIEWWhy this book?I love this seriesWhat I thoughtOMG this was amazing !!! It was full of action, adventure,LMAO moments and new memorable characters. Along with the characters we all know and love. At first when I heard they were going into Connors stories I was disappointed but I was so wrong Connors stories were awesome. I just loved how Conner and Alex's mom and step dad and the fairytale characters had to babysit Connors characters. That whole situation was just hilarious. Oh and Trollbellas Play = Priceless . I also loved seeing what was happening in the fairytale world even though most of the key players were gone. As for the cliffhanger OMG can't wait till the next book!!! Thankfully this wasn't the last book, because I wasn't ready to say goodbye.
    more
  • HP Fan
    October 18, 2015
    So I just finished this book. It was awesome except for the ending... Dun, dun, dun.Okay, so first of all: these books are amazing. I absolutely love the series and the way of writing is funny and imaginative. The plot is well thought and I am awed at what an incredible story this is.Second, the characters seem to come to life in front of you and I can totally relate to some of them. Watching Alex and Connor grow up and growing up with them is a great gift. You won't want to put this series down So I just finished this book. It was awesome except for the ending... Dun, dun, dun.Okay, so first of all: these books are amazing. I absolutely love the series and the way of writing is funny and imaginative. The plot is well thought and I am awed at what an incredible story this is.Second, the characters seem to come to life in front of you and I can totally relate to some of them. Watching Alex and Connor grow up and growing up with them is a great gift. You won't want to put this series down. Like, ever.The cliffhangers left me basically crying but it's worth it. To everyone: READ THIS SERIES!! It is so creative and witty and just on my scale of zero to rainbow unicorns it is definitely a rainbow unicorn.
    more
  • Remy Tallulah
    August 20, 2015
    I can't wait for this book to come out! The cliffhangers at the end of the books are so terrible everyone. Hass to wait a whole year for the next book! This is one of my favorite series ever!
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    December 8, 2016
    DNF Review to come.
  • Octavia
    January 24, 2015
    I wouldn’t trust my rating for this book. I’m honestly not sure if this series has actually decreased in quality, or I have just outgrown them, all I know is that I didn’t enjoy this one like I enjoyed the rest of the books.To be fair, I was having a lot of trouble remembering what happened in the previous book. I really just can’t wait a year in between books; I forget everything!I remember really enjoying the first three books. They were funny, had a great premise, and felt magical. I just did I wouldn’t trust my rating for this book. I’m honestly not sure if this series has actually decreased in quality, or I have just outgrown them, all I know is that I didn’t enjoy this one like I enjoyed the rest of the books.To be fair, I was having a lot of trouble remembering what happened in the previous book. I really just can’t wait a year in between books; I forget everything!I remember really enjoying the first three books. They were funny, had a great premise, and felt magical. I just didn’t feel that way with the last two, especially this one. Maybe it is because I’m getting older and have outgrown books with such a young and silly tone, but I could pinpoint a lot of issues, so I do think that this one was the weakest one.This one mostly follows Conner and Alex as they venture into Conner’s stories in order to recruit his characters to help them in fairytale world.I’m pretty sure it’s every writer’s dream to go hang out in the world they created with their characters, but this plot felt like complete filler. It felt so dragged out, and I honestly didn’t care about Conner’s characters. We already had an established cast of characters from the first four books, we didn’t need a bunch of new ones.That’s one of the big problems with this one; too many characters. Omg, there are SO many! Like why do we need to see from the point of view of the Book Huggers? What even is that random plotline? I like seeing a lot of perspectives, but when you have that many characters it becomes hard to be invested in any of them.This book is also ridiculously long. There are some books that can be over 400 pages and that’s the right length, but this isn’t one of them. So much of this book is made up of unnecessary filler and set up, which made me have an overall tedious reading experience where I was just waiting for it to be done.There are interesting bits, like back in fairytale world. It was hard for me to care though, because the The Masked Man is a cartoonishly evil and one dimensional villain.Pretty sure I’ve pointed this out in my review for each book in the series but THE ITALICIZING! Omg, I have never, in all the books I have ever read, seen someone so obsessed with the italics button. Like, it’s becoming harder and harder for me to deal with. It’s just bad writing.I’m assuming (and hoping) that the next book is the last. I will be reading it, because I like the main characters and have already spent my time reading five books in this series, but I don’t think I would recommend them at this point.
    more
  • Adriana
    July 5, 2015
    WHAT? EEEEEEEEE!!! There is a 5th Book!? Please make a title and a cover fast, Chris Colfer! I cannot wait but, it is not going to come out until next year! NOOOOOOO!!!!!!I have GOT to tell my fellow book geek,TLOS geek, and friend Sydney. She would be overjoyed
    more
  • Allen Central
    October 22, 2015
    First thing's first: WHY DID IT HAVE TO BE A CLIFFHANGER?! However, besides that, I thought this book really pulled me in. I didn't need a portal potion to feel like I was experiencing these adventures. This book teaches the symbolism hidden within an author's story and what makes it so important. It was also funny and comical, especially with one of Conner's typos (rosary chicken instead of rotisserie chicken).
    more
  • Wassim Malek
    August 22, 2015
    Book five no way I need to read it. By the way your book 2 is my favorite.
  • Vernetta
    June 15, 2016
    This is such a good book!But why?!?!Why?!?!Why does Alex have to turn evil. But I am positive she will turn good again. Right?!I don't really like the very end though. Now the "other world" knows about magic, what is going to happen?!?!I really wish this was the last book, just so I can be satisfied with the ending. Hopefully. But I also am really happy there is is going to be a sixth book. But I also want this to be the last book so I won't die waiting for the next book I come out.But sadly and This is such a good book!But why?!?!Why?!?!Why does Alex have to turn evil. But I am positive she will turn good again. Right?!I don't really like the very end though. Now the "other world" knows about magic, what is going to happen?!?!I really wish this was the last book, just so I can be satisfied with the ending. Hopefully. But I also am really happy there is is going to be a sixth book. But I also want this to be the last book so I won't die waiting for the next book I come out.But sadly and happily, things can't change. I guess we all have to die waiting for the next book to come out. :D
    more
  • Olivia
    March 14, 2016
    Omigod, omigod, omigod! Loooved loved looooooved it!!!!!I thought this would be the last book in the series but I guess I was wrong :) (Not complaining in any way.)I am just so in love with the characters and the world(just wished it would be more about the old characters than Conner's new ones).TROLLBELLA'S SHOW OH MY FUCKING GOD! BEST PART OF THE WHOLE BOOK! And as usual, all my love to my Queen Red! Can't waaaait for the next book!!! (Yes, my terrible review is partly caused of lack of sleep)
    more
  • Samantha
    November 23, 2016
    3.5 Not enough of the fairy tale world, Mother Goose or Red, and Connor's stories didn't interest me all that much. I can't wait until the next book when they get back to the fairy tale world, and the battle happens.
  • Hannah
    September 5, 2015
    I have got to know whether or not the name of the book is really untitled or not. Actually I think that the title untitled would be a great title, but I will go crazy if Chris Colfer does not come out with a cover and/or a description of the book soon! though I would prefer a description first.
    more
  • Qamar Al Oqaily
    February 17, 2017
    4.5/5 stars !OmG OmG ! I cant believe that ending wtf?? :||
  • Anna - Boktycke
    January 11, 2017
    Oh, this one is just delightful! Just what I needed to recover from my reading slump. I thought this was the last book but there's going to be at least one more book so yay!Review to come.
  • Emmy
    September 6, 2016
    I love this book. This book shows what Conner feels and what Alex feels. his book has a lot of adventure and mystery.
  • Margaret
    January 23, 2017
    I loved how the classical fairy tale characters turn into real people in the book, but the cliff hanger is horrible! I must know what happens to Alex!!!
  • Al Anoud
    March 6, 2017
    This series just keeps getting better.
  • Micah DeGraw
    March 8, 2017
    Connor has to find an army to fight the literary armies. So he goes into his own stories and gets the armies from the stories he wrote. He goes to Starbordia, a story of and all female pirate crew, The galaxy queen, a story about a cyborg queen that has a cyborg army and wants planets, The Ziblings, a story about four sibling with superpowers, and The Adventures of Blimp Boy, a story about a young archaeologist that wants to find a mummy army. Connor collects all of the armies he needs.How to ha Connor has to find an army to fight the literary armies. So he goes into his own stories and gets the armies from the stories he wrote. He goes to Starbordia, a story of and all female pirate crew, The galaxy queen, a story about a cyborg queen that has a cyborg army and wants planets, The Ziblings, a story about four sibling with superpowers, and The Adventures of Blimp Boy, a story about a young archaeologist that wants to find a mummy army. Connor collects all of the armies he needs.How to have an imagination: First, write stories about what you love. Second, make a potion that can let you go into your stories and experience them. Then, use your stories to your advantage. Next you make friends in the stories you wrote. Finally, you take them back to your world and fight a literary army with another literary army.I liked this book, because it it shows that you can make incredible things if you want to. For example, Connor creates his stories how he wants them to sound and wants people to imagine them. He has been a help in my life. Because of this story, I have a better imagination.
    more
  • Eli
    March 6, 2017
    This was one of the best additions to the series. I really enjoyed this one. It was really cool getting to see Connor's imagination in all of his short stories. It was also a very sentimental one, leaving you off on a shocking cliffhanger.
  • Thibaut Nicodème
    July 9, 2015
    So…the usual first: I still really like Chris Colfer's writing. Well, specifically I like things about his writing that make the rest palatable. Yeah, his turns of phrase could use improvement (and especially variety), but the story behind it is pretty good and I am 100% in love with him his sense of humor.This book builds up on the previous one's story (and (view spoiler)[ending once more on a cliffhanger, which…I'm not sure how I feel about, to be entirely honest (hide spoiler)]). Instead of c So…the usual first: I still really like Chris Colfer's writing. Well, specifically I like things about his writing that make the rest palatable. Yeah, his turns of phrase could use improvement (and especially variety), but the story behind it is pretty good and I am 100% in love with him his sense of humor.This book builds up on the previous one's story (and (view spoiler)[ending once more on a cliffhanger, which…I'm not sure how I feel about, to be entirely honest (hide spoiler)]). Instead of classic literary worlds, we visit…"original" ones by Conner Bailey. Which are basically AU fanfic of his friends and/or himself.Yeah, this is where we get into "why I give this book 4 stars instead of 5". Well, the main reason why. See, this book seems to imply "write what you know" is literally the only way to write. Which I hate. Hell, I'm not even comfortable with the idea that every story an author writes has to be inherently personal. I could probably write a whole essay on the matter, because I have very strong feelings, but this is not the time nor the place.Then it kind of flip-flops on the author's relationship with his characters, going so far as to imply writers' imagination are merely a gateway into another world and Conner didn't create his characters, but the first story we see is influenced by typos Conner wrote, which implies he did in fact influence them? It's all very confused as a result.That part gets even worse in the climax, where…(view spoiler)[Bree's story is brought to life and includes an undead Bo Peep, who apparently has all the memories of the real Bo Peep. Does that mean all these worlds are connected somehow? Is this Bo Peep just a clone, so to speak? (hide spoiler)] Oh, speaking of the climax, (view spoiler)[the Masked Man (hide spoiler)] dying feel a bit like a weird copout, considering how (view spoiler)[he (hide spoiler)] was set up as the biggest threat around.The other reason I took a star off? The…weird race shit. I know the stories are meant to be the work of a pre-teen/young teenager, but when the one character who's established as a black man is also the scaryevil pirate, it…raises concerns. And then we have the frankly insulting treatment of India and Egypt later on (and by the way, they fly from one to the other overnight when the information I get online tells me a blimp would take 4-5 days to make the trip), which is just…I get that Conner is probably ignorant of all that stuff, but did you have to base one of the four main set pieces in your book around that ignorance?(Also, a pharaoh would totally be buried with a mummified cat, not a dog. The cat person in me is offended by that part)Anyway. The book's still really good, and you know I just love bitching. Besides, if you're interesting in reading a review for book 5 in a series, you're probably going to read it anyway, so it's not like my opinion on this will sway you one war or the other.
    more
  • Kristen
    September 23, 2016
    Okay...so I read this one hoping Colfer would redeem himself from the dismal Beyond the Kingdoms with the premise of Alex and Conner exploring Conner's original stories.While I did enjoy this one a little more than the last installment, mostly because some of Conner's stories are cute, I have the same problems with it: too many characters, too many story lines, too many cheesy lines. The sheer number of characters was ridiculous in the last one--this one just adds more. Instead of allowing new c Okay...so I read this one hoping Colfer would redeem himself from the dismal Beyond the Kingdoms with the premise of Alex and Conner exploring Conner's original stories.While I did enjoy this one a little more than the last installment, mostly because some of Conner's stories are cute, I have the same problems with it: too many characters, too many story lines, too many cheesy lines. The sheer number of characters was ridiculous in the last one--this one just adds more. Instead of allowing new characters to take the lead and having older characters take background roles, Colfer tries to cram in a story line for EVERYONE. Like...why are there pages about the four girls from Alex and Conner's old school who suspect something might be suspicious with the twins? Their story literally goes nowhere. And we get all this information about what the witches are planning in the beginning of the story...and then we never see them again until the very end (only to find out their entire plan won't happen until the next book.)Ugh. Just too much. I don't know that I'll continue reading the series.
    more
  • Karen
    August 1, 2016
    I breezed thru the fifth entry in Colfer’s Land of Stories series and can’t wait for the next one. At the end of the last book, the Masked Man had taken over the Fairy Tale World with the help of literary villains Captain Hook, the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, and the Wicked Witch of the West and their minions. Now 15 year-old twins Connor and Alex (a girl who just happens to be the new Fairy Godmother) must travel into Connor’s short stories to recruit their own army to liberate th I breezed thru the fifth entry in Colfer’s Land of Stories series and can’t wait for the next one. At the end of the last book, the Masked Man had taken over the Fairy Tale World with the help of literary villains Captain Hook, the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, and the Wicked Witch of the West and their minions. Now 15 year-old twins Connor and Alex (a girl who just happens to be the new Fairy Godmother) must travel into Connor’s short stories to recruit their own army to liberate that world from the newly installed tyrants. It was great fun meeting the denizens of the short stories, who included pirates, cyborgs, child superheroes, and a kid archeologist. Old friends from past books (Jack of beanstalk fame, Goldilocks, Red Riding Hood) return as well. As in other series books, this will make little sense if one hasn’t read the others in sequence. In addition, there are getting to be so many characters that a refresher of the last couple books would be helpful before delving into this adventure.
    more
  • Alba
    August 27, 2016
    Chris Colfer lo ha vuelto a conseguir, me ha vuelto a cautivar completamente. Sinceramente leyendo sus libros no puedo ser objetiva porque todo lo que haga este hombre me parece maravilloso. Pero el mundo que ha creado y desarrollado en esta saga es algo que cada libro me hace adorar más y más. Y al igual que en los anteriores este no podía haber sido menos. Principalmente me ha encantado que por primera vez nos solo conocemos a los personajes de los cuentos clásicos, sino que esta vez nos prese Chris Colfer lo ha vuelto a conseguir, me ha vuelto a cautivar completamente. Sinceramente leyendo sus libros no puedo ser objetiva porque todo lo que haga este hombre me parece maravilloso. Pero el mundo que ha creado y desarrollado en esta saga es algo que cada libro me hace adorar más y más. Y al igual que en los anteriores este no podía haber sido menos. Principalmente me ha encantado que por primera vez nos solo conocemos a los personajes de los cuentos clásicos, sino que esta vez nos presenta los personajes creados por Conner, por lo que so historias totalmente nuevas y al no saber nada de ellas hace que cobres mucho interés en ver que ha creado su mente esta vez. Y bueno ese final, no sé como voy a aguantar hasta el siguiente libro porque el cliffhanger es bien grande. Tampoco quiero decir más porque desvelaría mucho del libro, pero por favor, que nadie se deje llevar porque sean historias para niños, cualquier edad es buena para disfrutar del maravilloso mundo que Colfer ha creado. Sin lugar a dudas los disfrutaréis como nunca un libro infantil os ha hecho sentir.
    more
  • Nate
    December 27, 2014
    Read this in one sitting and was at the edge of my seat the whole time. Thank god the Masked Man is gone. He was getting annoying and the witches and literary villains are a much more menacing antagonist. He had a very fitting ending.All the plotlines, Grimm, Himmelsbach, Witches, Twins, are converging. I think that the last chapter with the President could have been done better. The plan with the dust draws from an old fairy tale not well-known so kudos to Chris for using it. Charlotte had some Read this in one sitting and was at the edge of my seat the whole time. Thank god the Masked Man is gone. He was getting annoying and the witches and literary villains are a much more menacing antagonist. He had a very fitting ending.All the plotlines, Grimm, Himmelsbach, Witches, Twins, are converging. I think that the last chapter with the President could have been done better. The plan with the dust draws from an old fairy tale not well-known so kudos to Chris for using it. Charlotte had some great scenes in the book that showed her as a character not just their absentee mother. Next book is going to have lots of sudden meetings allowing all the groups to work together because that army is now going to have to fight witches, not the masked man's army though they will also have to do that to free the fairy tale world. I hope that it doesn't lead to a double world thing where regular people travel back and forth and the worlds are symbiotically together. Read for Booktubeathon challenge to read a book by a favorite author
    more
  • Declan
    August 3, 2016
    In the 5th novel of The Land of Stories, Conner and Alex go on an adventure inside of Conner's short stories to raise an army against the masked man and his band of literary villains. I liked this book because it was easier to read and follow the plot than previous novels. I also enjoyed Conner's short stories because they were original and different than other fairy tales. The characters from Conner's short stories were based off the old classic characters from the land of stories series and it In the 5th novel of The Land of Stories, Conner and Alex go on an adventure inside of Conner's short stories to raise an army against the masked man and his band of literary villains. I liked this book because it was easier to read and follow the plot than previous novels. I also enjoyed Conner's short stories because they were original and different than other fairy tales. The characters from Conner's short stories were based off the old classic characters from the land of stories series and it was funny when they met. There are two main events that are a little predictable but are exciting nonetheless. It is a good read and I suggest you read it.
    more
  • Annika
    August 22, 2016
    I think that this book was amazing! ~spoilers ahead~However it ends in a total cliff hanger!! It ends with Alex exploding a room and Goldilocks just giving birth. This all happens like two pages after the Masked Man dies for good. The literary army doesn't even know about Conner's secret army yet! I believe this is the last book but boy do I hope not! Over all I loved the creativity of this book and it made me really think about how we connect ourselves with out writing. Very fun read but I sure I think that this book was amazing! ~spoilers ahead~However it ends in a total cliff hanger!! It ends with Alex exploding a room and Goldilocks just giving birth. This all happens like two pages after the Masked Man dies for good. The literary army doesn't even know about Conner's secret army yet! I believe this is the last book but boy do I hope not! Over all I loved the creativity of this book and it made me really think about how we connect ourselves with out writing. Very fun read but I sure hope there is another book!
    more
  • michelle
    July 12, 2016
    I absolutely loved the first two books in this series, unfortunately, I have liked the later books less and less. I was completely intrigued by this one as they go into Conner's stories, but it didn't do much for me. What was so spectacular about the first two books was looking at the fairy tale world in a completely different light. The books have lost that magic. There are still moments of brilliance and insight, but over-all, it didn't wow me. I'm mailing this out to my daughter at sleep-away I absolutely loved the first two books in this series, unfortunately, I have liked the later books less and less. I was completely intrigued by this one as they go into Conner's stories, but it didn't do much for me. What was so spectacular about the first two books was looking at the fairy tale world in a completely different light. The books have lost that magic. There are still moments of brilliance and insight, but over-all, it didn't wow me. I'm mailing this out to my daughter at sleep-away camp tomorrow and she will probably completely disagree with me.
    more
  • Peyton
    October 13, 2016
    I really enjoyed this book. I really thought that it was wrote well. Alex and Conner are trying to defeat the Masked Man once and for all, they had to recruit an army out of Conner's stories. Conner and his family have to work together to save the other world and themselves, and if they are to late, they will be in deep trouble, and there will be no way to get out.
    more
  • Kristie
    July 9, 2015
    Enjoyed this one also...Can't wait for their next adventure...because there has to be another. Great to see love interests develop for some...dreams can come true. Listened on audio and the narrator did an awesome job.
  • Tobi
    February 22, 2016
    the title and cover just came out and i found out the book is being released the day b4 my bday. BEST DAY EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
Write a review