The Spill Zone
Nobody's ever really explained the Spill. Was it an angelic visitation? A nanotech accident? A porthole opening from another world? Whatever it was, no one's allowed in the Spill Zone these days except government scientists and hazmat teams. But a few intrepid explorers know how to sneak through the patrols and steer clear of the dangers inside the Zone. Addison Merrick is one such explorer, dedicated to finding out what happened that night, and to unraveling the events that took her parents and left her little sister mute and disconnected from the world.

The Spill Zone Details

TitleThe Spill Zone
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherFirst Second
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, Science Fiction, Comics

The Spill Zone Review

  • Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!*
    November 12, 2014
    HOLY CRAP. Why isn't there more buzz about this yet?! This sounds SO. COOL.I found Scott Westerfeld's most recent book, Afterworlds, pretty disappointing––I had a feeling it was some kind of side project, and I guess it was because apparently he's been working on The Spill Zone for seven years. Whoa.Whatever happened, the Spill Zone isn't a place you want to go anymore. Staring at the lights in the storm drains gives you nightmares, and once you've seen mealy worms take down a deer, you won't ev HOLY CRAP. Why isn't there more buzz about this yet?! This sounds SO. COOL.I found Scott Westerfeld's most recent book, Afterworlds, pretty disappointing––I had a feeling it was some kind of side project, and I guess it was because apparently he's been working on The Spill Zone for seven years. Whoa.Whatever happened, the Spill Zone isn't a place you want to go anymore. Staring at the lights in the storm drains gives you nightmares, and once you've seen mealy worms take down a deer, you won't ever walk on the grass again. (And don't get me started on the meat puppets.) But the strangest part is the sense of an intelligence at work, a playful but inhuman force that animates the standing waves—whirlwinds of empty clothing, swing sets that never stop swinging. The Spill Zone is a character as well as a setting. (Source)*falls over*I need this book right now.
    more
  • Siina
    November 20, 2016
    Spill Zone is weird, awesome and scary! There's this Twilight Zone feeling to it and at the same time it feels normal with its paranormal colors. Addison lives with her sister, since their town was destroyed by a weird phenomenon making the place a spill zone, where you cannot enter and where reality is rendered into something unknown. Addison rides her bike to her former home town and takes photos that she sells. She has rules that she never breaks so that she can survive and come back safe. No Spill Zone is weird, awesome and scary! There's this Twilight Zone feeling to it and at the same time it feels normal with its paranormal colors. Addison lives with her sister, since their town was destroyed by a weird phenomenon making the place a spill zone, where you cannot enter and where reality is rendered into something unknown. Addison rides her bike to her former home town and takes photos that she sells. She has rules that she never breaks so that she can survive and come back safe. Now her art collector wants her to investigate the places better and break rules such as go inside the houses and for money, she complies. The comic is really spooky and odd. There's this hollow distant feeling to it and the plot moves slowly, which I enjoyed a lot. It's not predictable and I'm very much interested in what will happen.The colors are perfect for the comic! The weird color palette and the spill zone's ever changing world with the haunting circus-like splotches is amazing. The art is simple, but wonky at the same time. The line is rough and thick at times and remind me of the 1960s, which is great. It fits well with the colors and create this mystery filled feeling to the comic. The ever changing panels are a bit too much when added to this, though. The comic would've needed something stable in order to calm the rhythm. Spill Zone is entertaining and exciting and I do hope we get to see more! Westerfeld's imagination is enjoyable, so if you want to try something different and still understand it, then this is a comic for you.
    more
  • Billie
    July 10, 2016
    It has a sentient talking doll. Thankfully, it's not a clown doll. But, it still may want to murder you. Hard to tell. Her name is Vespertine and she's not exactly an open book, nor is she a spreader of joy and sunshine.I'm hoping we don't have to wait too long for volume two, because there are a lot of unanswered questions at the end of this one. Had at least some of those questions been answered, this may have been a five-star title, just for the sheer level of creepiness. (See above re: senti It has a sentient talking doll. Thankfully, it's not a clown doll. But, it still may want to murder you. Hard to tell. Her name is Vespertine and she's not exactly an open book, nor is she a spreader of joy and sunshine.I'm hoping we don't have to wait too long for volume two, because there are a lot of unanswered questions at the end of this one. Had at least some of those questions been answered, this may have been a five-star title, just for the sheer level of creepiness. (See above re: sentient talking doll.)This is one of those graphic works where the colorist contributes so much to the storytelling and I just want to give a special acknowledgment here to Hilary Sycamore for a bang-up job.
    more
  • Rebekah Crain
    February 7, 2017
    The Spill Zone is what remains of the town of Poughkeepsie after some massively unexplainable event took place. Was it aliens? A chemical spill? There's no one left inside to tell, and the outside world finds this all just a little curious. What remains inside no one really knows, but it's weird and can't be good.Addison and her little sister Lexa live alone, just on the outskirts of the Spill Zone. With their parents lost in the Spill, it's up to Addison to provide for and take care of Lexa. Sh The Spill Zone is what remains of the town of Poughkeepsie after some massively unexplainable event took place. Was it aliens? A chemical spill? There's no one left inside to tell, and the outside world finds this all just a little curious. What remains inside no one really knows, but it's weird and can't be good.Addison and her little sister Lexa live alone, just on the outskirts of the Spill Zone. With their parents lost in the Spill, it's up to Addison to provide for and take care of Lexa. She does this by sneaking in to the Zone and taking pictures of the mysterious things she sees. It's scary and dangerous, but her sister needs her. Her sister who was inside the zone when all hell broke loose. Her sister who hasn't spoken since that day. Her sister who has a very fracking creepy doll named Vespertine who somehow manages to talk psychically to her [Lexa], unbeknownst to Addie.The Spill Zone is eerie not just because of the story, but because of the crazy illustrations as well. The doll Vespertine looks like the next Chucky- only WORSE! She's seriously freaking sinister looking. I really enjoyed this graphic novel and found it kept a good pace. But, what the heck is up with the 0-60 stop in .2 seconds?! Talk about a cliffhanger. I need to know what happened. I need to know now!!! Please oh please let Westerfeld have book 2 already waiting in the wings. This girl needs to know what happens next! Thanks to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for this review copy and opportunity.
    more
  • Sami
    March 8, 2017
    Tough-as-nails Addison will do anything to provide for her little sister Lexa-that includes going in the Spill Zone, aka the most dangerous place on Earth. After an unnatural disaster hits her city, killing her parents and causing her sister to become mute, Addison survives by selling pictures of the Spill Zone, despite the danger it puts her in. Spill Zone is the cool, creepy, and awesome story of how Addison breaks all her safety rules for a million dollar payoff-and how the Spill Zone might w Tough-as-nails Addison will do anything to provide for her little sister Lexa-that includes going in the Spill Zone, aka the most dangerous place on Earth. After an unnatural disaster hits her city, killing her parents and causing her sister to become mute, Addison survives by selling pictures of the Spill Zone, despite the danger it puts her in. Spill Zone is the cool, creepy, and awesome story of how Addison breaks all her safety rules for a million dollar payoff-and how the Spill Zone might want to keep her there forever.
    more
  • Lynndell
    March 25, 2017
    Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.Thanks to NetGalley and First Second Books for the opportunity to read and review Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld. Spill Zone is fan art geared toward young adults. The art feels frantic and rushed and the drab colors help portray the devastation that an environmental accident caused. The story is interesting, but dreary and a bit creepy. There is some swearing to show the amount of worry and danger of the story. I can see readers of g Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.Thanks to NetGalley and First Second Books for the opportunity to read and review Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld. Spill Zone is fan art geared toward young adults. The art feels frantic and rushed and the drab colors help portray the devastation that an environmental accident caused. The story is interesting, but dreary and a bit creepy. There is some swearing to show the amount of worry and danger of the story. I can see readers of graphic novels and dystopian stories enjoying this book- 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Tony
    January 18, 2017
    This is so clever. Westerfeld tells backstory better than almost anyway in the YA Game. The world is a crap hole, our hero Addison is trying to survive there. She has a creepy sister who has a creepier talking doll. Artist Alex Puvilland has a field day in this. It must be fun to draw what is going on inside Scott's head. Bravo team. Bring on book 2.Thanks Net Galley for being awesome.
    more
  • Kellee
    March 23, 2017
    *Whoa! I didn't know what I was getting myself into, and this is epic, guys!Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld is everything you would expect from Scott Westerfeld: unique, mind-blowing, and fantastical. I cannot believe this books is not getting more hype because it is going to be a series that readers will not be able to put down and readers will be so anxious to read the next one. I loved the premise that is so mysterious and only little clues sprinkled throughout the book to help you figure thin *Whoa! I didn't know what I was getting myself into, and this is epic, guys!Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld is everything you would expect from Scott Westerfeld: unique, mind-blowing, and fantastical. I cannot believe this books is not getting more hype because it is going to be a series that readers will not be able to put down and readers will be so anxious to read the next one. I loved the premise that is so mysterious and only little clues sprinkled throughout the book to help you figure things out, but there is SO MUCH more to know--I cannot wait for the next book!
    more
  • Michael
    March 22, 2017
    PDF - A real solid life-in-disaster-zone adventure story, with a seriously creepy living doll. Puvilland provides strong artwork, and Westerfeld delivers an engaged script with a terrific cliffhanger.
  • Marissa
    December 6, 2016
    ** Digital ARC provided by NetGalley **What kind of ending was that?! That can't be it! I need more!
  • Kate
    March 3, 2017
    Too short. Amazing story and art, but to end it where it did?!?! Come on! The sequel better be out within the year. I need to know what happens.
  • Stephanie Cooke
    December 27, 2016
    The Spill ZoneWritten by Scott WesterfeldArt by Alex PuvillandColours by Hilary SycamoreReview by Stephanie CookeWhat IS The Spill Zone? No one really knows exactly but in this story, we see a small town drastically affected by an accident that has wiped out nearly the entire population and has done who knows what to others. Animals, buildings and other random objects aren’t immune to what has transpired, forcing the military to quarantine the town from the rest of the world.Of course, there’s o The Spill ZoneWritten by Scott WesterfeldArt by Alex PuvillandColours by Hilary SycamoreReview by Stephanie CookeWhat IS The Spill Zone? No one really knows exactly but in this story, we see a small town drastically affected by an accident that has wiped out nearly the entire population and has done who knows what to others. Animals, buildings and other random objects aren’t immune to what has transpired, forcing the military to quarantine the town from the rest of the world.Of course, there’s one person who manages to sneak past the guards and into the town where she risks her life to take photos of the strange things happening within the town since the accident. This girl sells the photos she takes to art collectors willing to pay exorbant amounts to see the aftermath, using the money to take her of her younger sister.I was completely unprepared for how much I would enjoy this story. The first collected volume is put out by First Second but was released originally (and currently) as a web comic. Friends of mine have sung the praises of Westerfeld for ages and now I can see the merit to their claims. The story is skillfully told and paced and manages to do that tricky thing where you desperately WANT answers but you don’t NEED them right away. The Spill Zone draws you in and makes you care for the characters so they’re your first priority in that you want them to be ok and for them to get theyough whatever it is that’s happening. The rest of it, such as what’s actually happening and the larger picture is wonderfully engaging as well making the whole thing utterly and completely worth reading.I can’t say enough good things about the art by Alex Puvilland with colours by Hilary Sycamore. We won’t lump those two things together though because they’re separate pieces of praise worthy of being addrsssed as such.Puvilland knocks the line work out of the park. The characters, expressions, the whole look of the town, the altered beasties, and more are expertly crafted in a fantastically original and stylized way. Reading comics week after week is amazing but you there are so many typical comic book styles that it’s beyond refreshing to see someone use their own approach put to use.The art so perfectly goes along with the story that Westerfeld is telling that it feels as though the whole book is just being done by one person. It’s not unheard of, obviously, but I feel like it’s hard to come across a multi-person creative team that manages to produce work that feels like it all came from one brain.Now, the colours. Hilary Sycamore is an absolute artist and no one should say otherwise. I realize that she’s not an official co-creator of the series but it’s a damn shame that she’s not credited on the front of the book since she absolutely kills it. The last few years have seen colourists rise in the esteem of their peers and I genuinely feel like she deserves a credit here to let people know just how much the quality of the book rides on the atmosphere she’s built with her use of colour. She’s credited within the book, of course, but she should be on the cover along with Westerfeld and Puvilland.Sycamore’s colours demand your attention and draw your eye to all the right places. Her palettes are a wide variety of bright colours that you wouldn’t think would work so wonderfully alongside a book about a horrific accident. However, they add to the magical element of the series and help to show the beauty behind even the worst tragedies.I can’t find any credit for the letterer so I’m not sure if there’s one that isn’t listed anywhere or if Pullivand is responsible, but it should be noted that they’re masterfully done. They add an extra layer to the visuals of the story and set the tone and voices of the characters so vividly in my mind.Just an all-round stellar job from this whole freaking team.Verdict:Buy this book! Seriously, it took me by surprise how great The Spill Zone was. I unfortunately don’t have a ton of time to follow along faithfully with the web comic but this volume has convinced me that the collected editions are something that I want to follow and potentially pass along to friends whether they’re already into comic books or not.The Spill Zone has no prior continuity that I’m aware of so jumping right in is easy for anyone to do. The story layouts are easy to follow, making it a perfect book for anyone who might be looking to try comics out for the first time.Definitely invest in this series and take a chance with it. You won’t be sorry. The physical version of The Spill Zone hits store shelves on May 2, 2017.
    more
  • Angela
    March 12, 2017
    Exciting post-apocalyptic weirdness! Grittier than I usually prefer, but YA enough to be fun.
  • Kate
    March 9, 2017
    Was lucky to get an ARC at ALA Midwinter. Loved this book and can't wait to buy copies for the library!
  • Leah (Jane Speare)
    March 5, 2017
    Inside this beauty:Scott Westerfeld writing? Check.Mysterious disaster zone with a life of its own? Check.Plotting toy dolls? Check.Monsters? Check."The moonlight has never smelled this sharp before."What are you waiting for?
  • Elia
    February 24, 2017
    I have no idea what I just read, but I want to read more!
  • Ashley
    February 17, 2017
    I love Scott Westerfeld's other books (woo, Leviathan Trilogy!) so when I saw he was doing a graphic novel about a "spill zone" I was all: I need it now, please. Thanks to the wonderful existence of NetGalley, I got to read a copy. It's definitely intended to be the first book in a series, so don't expect a lot by way of answers, but all of the questions got me hooked immediately: what caused the spill? What even *is* the spill? What the hell happened that night in Poughkeepsie? What's up with t I love Scott Westerfeld's other books (woo, Leviathan Trilogy!) so when I saw he was doing a graphic novel about a "spill zone" I was all: I need it now, please. Thanks to the wonderful existence of NetGalley, I got to read a copy. It's definitely intended to be the first book in a series, so don't expect a lot by way of answers, but all of the questions got me hooked immediately: what caused the spill? What even *is* the spill? What the hell happened that night in Poughkeepsie? What's up with that North Korean guy? (Also, since when does NYC have a North Korean embassy? And such a nice, huge one, too? I thought we didn't do that with hostile foreign governments...). Are the lifeless "meat puppets" of the people left in Poughkeepsie still alive? What the hell is that giant wolf-tentacle-thing? Can the doll Vespertine actually talk? What did the spill do to Lexa? What is it doing to Addison?? I need to know. I absolutely must have volumes 2, 3, 4 and 5 immediately.
    more
  • Kimberlee
    January 21, 2017
    I heard Scott Westerfield speak today at ALA midwinter and got a free advanced copy of his graphic novel. I couldn't wait to crack it open! Spill Zone is a graphic novel about a young woman named Addison. Three years ago, the city of Poughkeepsie had a strange and tragic incident called the Spill. Since then the area has been blocked off by the government.Addison was out of town the night of the spill and her little sister, along with a bus full of children, mysteriously escaped thanks to the ef I heard Scott Westerfield speak today at ALA midwinter and got a free advanced copy of his graphic novel. I couldn't wait to crack it open! Spill Zone is a graphic novel about a young woman named Addison. Three years ago, the city of Poughkeepsie had a strange and tragic incident called the Spill. Since then the area has been blocked off by the government.Addison was out of town the night of the spill and her little sister, along with a bus full of children, mysteriously escaped thanks to the efforts of a driver who remains unknown. Since that day Lexa has never spoken and communicates primarily with her doll Aspertine. Though it's forbidden, Addison makes money to support herself and her sister by sneaking into the Spill Zone every night to take eerie photographs. These 'art pieces' are sold to the highest bidder. One day, Addison is approached with an offer too good to turn down. She must go into the city and retrieve a device from the hospital. There's a few problems, however. This endeavor threatens to break every rule Addison has made for herself in the Spill Zone. What's worse, Addison's parents were working in the hospital the night of the spill. Going in means potentially discovering what horrid fate they came to. Things lurk in the Spill Zone, mysterious things, and Addison might not make it out of this one alive. Westerfield and Puvilland (illus) tell a haunting story in Spill Zone that pairs the supernatural with survival. Addison is a strong woman who feels responsible for her younger sister and overwhelmed by the loss of her parents. The art pairs very well with the narrative, making it a nice, flowing story that I can't wait to read the next volume of. I'll definitely be picking up a final copy of this graphic novel when it's published (if only to see the full color version) and I'll definitely recommend it for the library. 4.5/5 stars on Goodreads
    more
  • Krys
    February 14, 2017
    So I was definitely left with more questions than answers at the end of this but I'm okay with that because this was a wild and interesting read. Can we also, for like a really long moment, admire the coloring inside this thing? Because, wow! Gorgeous. Definitely brought the story to life, especially when inside the Spillzone.Can't wait for book 2 and some answers.
    more
  • Mrs. Kenyon
    February 12, 2017
    Review to come closer to publication date.
  • Samantha
    January 29, 2017
    I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Scott Westerfeld, and the publisher, First Second, for this opportunity.I loved this graphic novel. I've been a big fan of Westerfeld's novels and when I saw he had a graphic novel coming out I had to read it. It was a quick read because each page left you eager to read the next. The graphics by Alex Pullivand and the coloring by Hilary Sycamore are brilliant and pair perfectly with the mood of the saga. So I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Scott Westerfeld, and the publisher, First Second, for this opportunity.I loved this graphic novel. I've been a big fan of Westerfeld's novels and when I saw he had a graphic novel coming out I had to read it. It was a quick read because each page left you eager to read the next. The graphics by Alex Pullivand and the coloring by Hilary Sycamore are brilliant and pair perfectly with the mood of the saga. Something tragic happened in an area now called the Spill Zone. Only one girl dares to go back and even then she returns only as a means to an end. More mystery than answers, this graphic novel is a great set up for more in what is bound to be a captivating series.
    more
  • Mariana Calderon
    January 27, 2017
    -creepy and atmospheric, in a Vandermeer's Southern Reach meets Sarah Porter's Vassa in the Night sort of way-likeable kickbutt protagonist who's not afraid throw a punch at someone who cheats her-creepy talking doll who potentially may want to murder you....but you can't really tell-clear and spooky art. The couple of color pages in this ARC hint that the (full color!) final edition will be amazing. Lots more to like here. I can't wait until 1) it's released, and the 2) more come out #bookselle -creepy and atmospheric, in a Vandermeer's Southern Reach meets Sarah Porter's Vassa in the Night sort of way-likeable kickbutt protagonist who's not afraid throw a punch at someone who cheats her-creepy talking doll who potentially may want to murder you....but you can't really tell-clear and spooky art. The couple of color pages in this ARC hint that the (full color!) final edition will be amazing. Lots more to like here. I can't wait until 1) it's released, and the 2) more come out #booksellerproblems
    more
  • Nadine
    January 20, 2017
    The kids that like creepy scary books are going to love this one. Great art work and the colorist is excellent. My main complaint is the same as that for the secret coder GNs - it ends on a cliffhanger but before we've had any kind of a completion of a self contained story. This is very annoying - especially for kids and particularly because the time lag between books in the GN world is so long. Review based on a review copy given by Net Galley.
    more
  • Charolette Cleveland
    October 18, 2016
    I absolutely loved volume one- I got an arc and just ate this up! It's compelling and I want the next installment- I personally thought it was grand! new and fresh! You will like it, I'm sure :) no detailed review cause spoilers ;) Thanks for the ARC Scott Westerfeld! When it comes out in all color I'll get a copy for sure- but this arc itself was a treat! ♡ Get ready people! You'll be waiting for the next! :)
    more
  • Theresa
    February 4, 2017
    A really good dystopian, supernatural story in graphic novel format. I thought the illustrations could have been better and wish it was longer, but I will definitely read volume 2.
  • Heather Brown
    December 21, 2016
    The Spill Zone is amazing! I can't wait for the next installment, but until that comes out, I will definitely be showing it to all of my Eighth grade students! Some were reading over my shoulder, asking what it was and what was going on. We are all really excited to find out what is going on in the Spill Zone!
    more
  • Diana
    December 11, 2016
    Received an ARC at YALLFEST '16. I really like the rough-line artwork and stark solid colors (the ARC only has a small colored section at the beginning), and the story is very creepy and mysterious. Very atmospheric. There's an interesting cast of characters introduced that I am very curious to learn more about. I'm intrigued to know the rest of the story!
    more
  • Tracey
    December 14, 2016
    *Reviewed from uncorrected e-galley* teen graphic novel (sci fi/fantasy - nanotech that reanimates bodies + nuclear mutants?) Great story, great artwork. There is some language (including f-bombs) but the violence isn't too graphic.
  • Ally Renell
    January 29, 2017
    Maybe more like 3.5, but still good. I'll need to read the next one to find out what happens, this book mostly seems to set up the situation and there is no resolution or answers about what happened.
  • Sarah
    January 6, 2017
    Really quick and fast-paced read. Very unique concept that I can't wait to explore more in future volumes. Really enjoyed this.Thanks to the publisher for a digital review copy, provided via NetGalley.
Write a review