The Roll-Away Pumpkin
Suitable for readers aged 3 and up On a windy autumn day, Marla Little comes running down the hill yelling, “Help! My giant pumpkin is rolling away! Onward it goes, rolling and turning, with no sign of stopping! Diddle-dee-doo! Oh, what shall I do?”A little girl chases her giant pumpkin all over town with some help along the way. It's the perfect autumn bedtime story to read with your little pumpkin.The author uses repeating sentence structures to capture young listeners’ attention and give early readers confidence.The book is exquisitely illustrated by award-winning Italian illustrator, Daniela Volpari. Every page is a beautiful work of art and is one of those picture books whose images will linger long after you've turned the page."Marla Little's pumpkin is rolling away! Can she catch it before it's gone forever? Readers both young and young at heart will delight in this lovely, whimsical tale." -BookBub

The Roll-Away Pumpkin Details

TitleThe Roll-Away Pumpkin
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 1st, 2014
Number of pages36 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books

The Roll-Away Pumpkin Review

  • Rebekah Rodda
    October 3, 2016
    Beautifully illustrated, ok text with an unlikely end.
  • Tonileg
    January 18, 2015
    So I got this book in goodreads first read contest. I don't generally review children's books because I read too many of them with my children and don't count them in my already huge book reading collection.But I'm going to make an exception. I love the The Berenstain Bears' New Baby's books so I like a real story to go along with great illustrations because kids are young, but not stupid.So I enjoyed this very simple story which is great for one year olds, but more for early talkers around thre So I got this book in goodreads first read contest. I don't generally review children's books because I read too many of them with my children and don't count them in my already huge book reading collection.But I'm going to make an exception. I love the The Berenstain Bears' New Baby's books so I like a real story to go along with great illustrations because kids are young, but not stupid.So I enjoyed this very simple story which is great for one year olds, but more for early talkers around three because it will start conversations about 'bakers' and 'butchers' which doesn't persist much in the US which mostly people get everything in one place, the supermarket grocery store. My kids liked it, so it deserves at least three stars.Very safe (not insulting to any minority groups) story which would be fine for anyone because it is just clean fun.36 pages of illustrated fun reading4 stars
    more
  • Meredith
    August 18, 2015
    "It makes us get a little tired and fall asleep in the middle of it when you do. The part that people might like is when the pumpkin rolls away and then they get pumpkin stew. Maybe we can make some pumpkin stew, but I don't think I like he taste of pumpkins, do I? But I've tasted pumpkin pie, but I don't remember how to make pumpkin pie. The first time I got mixed up with pumpkin pie and apple pie, and then we ended up with apple pie instead of pumpkin pie, which is so not what I wanted. But we "It makes us get a little tired and fall asleep in the middle of it when you do. The part that people might like is when the pumpkin rolls away and then they get pumpkin stew. Maybe we can make some pumpkin stew, but I don't think I like he taste of pumpkins, do I? But I've tasted pumpkin pie, but I don't remember how to make pumpkin pie. The first time I got mixed up with pumpkin pie and apple pie, and then we ended up with apple pie instead of pumpkin pie, which is so not what I wanted. But we never had any pumpkins to make the pie. Which is why I've been trying to get pumpkins forever, which is what I've been trying to tell you every day. People would not like the fact that it makes hem fall asleep in the middle of it when you're already reading it and they will always forget. The other parts they will just like. Goodnight!" -Joshua"I think I love cake. I think she loves to make pumpkin pie." -Juliette
    more
  • Barbara Ann
    October 20, 2015
    Beautiful and creative illustrations are the heart and soul of this book. Simple plot consists of a little girl chasing her giant pumpkin, which has managed to roll away from her. Repetitive language and highlighted key words make the text appealing to preschoolers.While the story is not particularly creative, the child is introduced to nostalgic characters like the butcher, baker and the milkman. I do like the Marla's final solution to her problem at the end of the tale. Also
    more
  • Melki
    October 8, 2015
    A huge run-away squash leads a little girl and some concerned townsfolk on a merry chase through a very European-looking village. There is a happy ending for all but (view spoiler)[the pumpkin (hide spoiler)]. Daniela Volpari's illustrations are exquisite and the real star of the show here. You'll want to reread just to catch all the little details like the dog stealing sausages from the butcher. Simply lovely!
    more
  • Erma Talamante
    August 30, 2015
    A cute story about a little girl and her giant pumpkin and the people of her town that are willing to stop everything in order to help her.This is a great kids' book, beautifully illustrated, and it falls squarely into a 4.5 star rating, but since I got it for free on my Kindle, I gave it the full 5. Read the full review here:https://ermareads.wordpress.com/child...
    more
  • Eileen Carter
    July 5, 2015
    Cute storyCute story that is very skilled to the gingerbread man story. This book is one that teachers can use for sequencing. The colorful pictures make the story all the more interesting. Children from young ages to upper elementary school ages will enjoy the story.
    more
  • Devon
    July 5, 2015
    CuteEnjoyed reading this with my 4 yr old daughter. She thought it was fun and liked the ending! Cute story!
  • Lynette Oxley
    August 6, 2015
    Similar to The Gingerbread Man. Illustrated with warm colours and a limited pallet.
  • Teresa Niehenke
    February 4, 2015
    Another great book to read to the grandkids.
  • Nousha
    August 20, 2015
    Wonderful illustrations!
  • Doris Lucas
    June 2, 2017
    This book has beautiful illustrations. This story is about a girl named Marla who has a giant pumpkin that rolls away. It doesn't seem like it will ever stop. Along with townspeople, Marla chases it from one spot to another. This book has Simple storylines that will engage young children. This book would go along great with an Autumn lesson plan
    more
  • Sultan * Baby Mama Smut-a-teer*
    September 26, 2016
    what a cute story to get you ready for fall. My little guy loved it!
  • Ian Wood
    July 13, 2015
    This is the complete review as it appears at my blog dedicated to reading, writing (no 'rithmatic!), movies, & TV. Blog reviews often contain links which are not reproduced here, nor will updates or modifications to the blog review be replicated here. Graphic and children's reviews on the blog typically feature two or three images from the book's interior, which are not reproduced here.Note that I don't really do stars. To me a book is either worth reading or it isn't. I can't rate it three- This is the complete review as it appears at my blog dedicated to reading, writing (no 'rithmatic!), movies, & TV. Blog reviews often contain links which are not reproduced here, nor will updates or modifications to the blog review be replicated here. Graphic and children's reviews on the blog typically feature two or three images from the book's interior, which are not reproduced here.Note that I don't really do stars. To me a book is either worth reading or it isn't. I can't rate it three-fifths worth reading! The only reason I've relented and started putting stars up there is to credit the good ones, which were being unfairly uncredited. So, all you'll ever see from me is a five-star or a one-star (since no stars isn't a rating, unfortunately).I rated this book WORTHY!Is a Pumpkin considered kin folk of a pump? Is there some significance in the initial letters of this story's title spelling "trap"? Neither of these idiotic questions will be answered in this book, but that's no reason at all not to love it. I enjoyed and positively reviews Junia Wonders's Boy and the Very Lonely Pony back at the end of June 2015, and this story was equally charming.The artwork here is by a different artist, Daniela Volpari, but it's equal to anything on the other book. Indeed, it has its own charm, and is very elegantly executed. The story is simple and perfect for the young age group this book is aimed at, and highly suitable for the fall, which is not as far away as you might think.A young girl loses control of a pumpkin - and I'm tempted to say if I had a dime for every time that's happened to me..., but that's all pie in the sky, and it doesn't help to be prideful about it because summer comes before a fall, as we all know.In a chase rather reminiscent of the ending to an old Benny Hill show, not only the girl goes running pell-mell after her errant pumpkin; pretty much everyone she passes during her frantic chase joins in with her, until a veritable parade of people is in pursuit which is perfect since today was actually supposed to be the local vegetable parade, and what better way to end all the exertion than to sit down with a nice bowl of fresh pumpkin soup? Orange you glad it all ended without anyone becoming browned off?I recommend this delightful story.
    more
  • Marylou
    September 24, 2016
    This is a cute little story with gorgeous illustrations!
  • Vanessa Bettencourt
    September 16, 2016
    Good illustrationsThe illustrations are pretty, ( all stars go to the art) but there's no actually story here. A girl chases her pumpkin down the street, people join to help, they eat the pumpkin in the end.
  • Lisa Rae Williams
    February 15, 2017
    This was a cute book. My daughter really like this book. She was able to read it to herself and enjoyed the pictures as well. The text was well written.
  • Daniel Middleton
    November 12, 2014
    Marla Little has a serious problem: her giant pumpkin has rolled away, as the book's title suggests. Down the hill it goes, and she tries her best to chase after it, and thus we are led through the scenic settings of this colorful universe. First we stumble past an idyllic farm with a signature red barn in the background (windmill to boot); and then we storm past the baker's quaint little shop. Before long the farmer and baker are tagging along to aid Marla Little in her quest to stop the pumpki Marla Little has a serious problem: her giant pumpkin has rolled away, as the book's title suggests. Down the hill it goes, and she tries her best to chase after it, and thus we are led through the scenic settings of this colorful universe. First we stumble past an idyllic farm with a signature red barn in the background (windmill to boot); and then we storm past the baker's quaint little shop. Before long the farmer and baker are tagging along to aid Marla Little in her quest to stop the pumpkin's roll. Soon a veritable army of locals is giving chase as the pumpkin threatens to roll into a group of parade marchers. But of course this whimsical tale cannot end tragically, therefore everything is tied up in a neat little bow to this reader's satisfaction. This was a clever story written in a manner that may well render it timeless, as it evokes classic tales that will leave you feeling nostalgic.That brings me to the artwork. One word comes to mind when describing Daniela Volpari's art: quintessential. The pages look and feel like an exquisite children's book, from the character renderings to the backgrounds and color schemes. Subtle gradients and expert highlighting and shadowing create an almost 3D effect that lifts the elements from the page. The story and art, together with the professional book design ranks this title up there with the best of the bunch. Highly enjoyable.
    more
  • Clifton McLendon
    September 14, 2016
    A Delightful Book!I can easily see how the story-line would delight the little ones. For me, the pictures were the best part.
  • Rayleigh
    November 23, 2016
    A giant pumpkin rolling out of control, it takes a village to stop it! In this fun little rhyming book, we follow a girl chasing her pumpkin in a desperate attempt to stop it.The illustrations are gorgeous and capture the mood of the book with perfection while the writing brings the reader into the story in a fun way that is sure to keep the youngsters engaged in the story.The only *possibly* questionable content is that one of the lines in the book refers to a "plump lady" and she is indeed, il A giant pumpkin rolling out of control, it takes a village to stop it! In this fun little rhyming book, we follow a girl chasing her pumpkin in a desperate attempt to stop it.The illustrations are gorgeous and capture the mood of the book with perfection while the writing brings the reader into the story in a fun way that is sure to keep the youngsters engaged in the story.The only *possibly* questionable content is that one of the lines in the book refers to a "plump lady" and she is indeed, illustrated very plump. And though I don't wish to be that reviewer that finds something to get offended about in every book, however I know from interacting with different children, that some kids who may struggle with obesity can be very sensitive to that and this may trigger certain emotions.But despite the last said, I think the The Roll-Away Pumpkin is a cute book and can be enjoyed by both girls and boys to get into the Autumn mood, I give it 4 out of 5 stars!This review was originally published on Literature Approved (http://literatureapproved.wordpress.com).
    more
  • Cheyenne
    July 8, 2015
    Rating: 3.5-4 starsSeasonal/holiday themed books tend to be very popular with kids and this one will fit right in with it's giant pumpkin. The book follows a little girl chasing the giant pumpkin through her village (based off the little Italian villages the author saw while in Italy) and warning all the people she and the pumpkin crosses, the farmer, baker, butcher, etc out of the way. They end up chasing the pumpkin with her until they finally stop it and it ends up as food. It will show child Rating: 3.5-4 starsSeasonal/holiday themed books tend to be very popular with kids and this one will fit right in with it's giant pumpkin. The book follows a little girl chasing the giant pumpkin through her village (based off the little Italian villages the author saw while in Italy) and warning all the people she and the pumpkin crosses, the farmer, baker, butcher, etc out of the way. They end up chasing the pumpkin with her until they finally stop it and it ends up as food. It will show children people helping one another and that sometimes a problem (i.e the roll-away pumpkin) can be turned around into something good and helpful. The pictures are fantastic and I don't see any child not loving them. Truly magnificent. The sentences were repeated throughout, kind of like how "I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them at all, said Sam I Am" appeared again and again in "Green Eggs and Ham" though the words more advanced than that.
    more
  • Mckenzie Richardson
    November 11, 2016
    A very cute story, similar to the The Gingerbread Man.I absolutely loved the illustration style. The pictures were beautiful and very detailed.I also enjoyed the creative thinking of the main character and her ability to turn a bad situation into something that benefited everyone.My one teeny, tiny critique was the way the male characters are described by their profession (farmer, baker, butcher, milkman), while the woman at the end is described by her appearance ("a plump lady"). Who is she? A A very cute story, similar to the The Gingerbread Man.I absolutely loved the illustration style. The pictures were beautiful and very detailed.I also enjoyed the creative thinking of the main character and her ability to turn a bad situation into something that benefited everyone.My one teeny, tiny critique was the way the male characters are described by their profession (farmer, baker, butcher, milkman), while the woman at the end is described by her appearance ("a plump lady"). Who is she? A chef? A supervisor? We never find out. Her one quality is her plumpness.Other than that, I enjoyed the story. A very cute children' book.
    more
  • Monica
    October 2, 2015
    I came across this book one day and thought it would be perfect to review before Thanksgiving. I really enjoyed this story of the roll away pumpkin and the whole town that stops everything to try to catch it.This is the great book to read to the kiddos, the story is cute and funny and the illustrations are breathtaking! It makes a wonderful bedtime story one that’s perfect for these chilly autumn nights.
    more
  • Rey Skywalker
    July 8, 2016
    "Diddle-dee-doo! Oh, what shall I do?"Go make pumpkin soup of course. I read this in the summer, but the art was giving me autumn feels. There were times different words could have been chosen to rhyme the story, but not every children's book needs to rhyme, and I don't think rhyming every sentence was what the author intended to do. Also, I have the e-copy of this book and it looks really cute while reading it on my phone.
    more
  • Angela Lambkin
    October 2, 2016
    WOW! What delightful story this is and just in time for fall pumpkin pickingSuch beautiful illustrations within a cute and funny kids' story that I would like to recommend for five stars and tor those 2-6. All about a rolling away pumpkin. Will they who are running after it, catch in time?I received this for free and in return , here is my honest review. Great job Junia! By Angela
    more
  • Jane
    November 7, 2016
    Marla Little is off chasing The Roll-Away Pumpkin with the help of her friends. The children love the repeating phrases and the way the book has a rhythm. The ending with everyone enjoying pumpkin soup is a good way to show children how communities come together and share experiences. This is one of the children's favorite books that they ask for often.The illustrations are wonderful and fit the story in a way that makes the book attractive to both children and adults.
    more
  • Joy
    September 16, 2016
    I picked this book up for free on Kindle and read it to my girls tonight (ages 5 and 6). They seemed moderately interested it in so I'll give it three stars.A girl chases a pumpkin through the town, warning the villagers of the giant rolling pumpkin. In turn each of the villagers joins her chase until it ends....with pumpkin soup.This book had a lot of repeated phrases and could definitely be used in a classroom or acted out in readers theater.
    more
  • Stephen Self
    September 14, 2016
    If only the text were half as nice as the illustrationsThis book is gorgeously illustrated. I just want to stare at the pictures and even inhabit them. The story, though, is lacking in the extreme. Beautiful but insipid and uninspired. Five stars for pictures. One for story.
    more
  • Jemila Sunsong
    June 14, 2015
    Good Picture BookThe main reason my 2 1/2 son & I chose this book was because of its pictures & simplicity. Short yet no real story so simple as an adult not one of my favorite children's picture books, but it appeased my son before bedtime & that's worth something to us both.
    more
  • RJ
    July 5, 2015
    The story is similar to Gingerbread Baby. The pumpkin rolls away. The story is short and age appropriate for 3+.The illustrations are amazing. The palate is autumn colors. The characters are all shapes and sizes.
Write a review