Dare to Disappoint
Growing up on the Aegean Coast, Ozge loved the sea and imagined a life of adventure while her parents and society demanded predictability. Her dad expected Ozge, like her sister, to become an engineer. She tried to hear her own voice over his and the religious and militaristic tensions of Turkey and the conflicts between secularism and fundamentalism. Could she be a scuba diver like Jacques Cousteau? A stage actress? Would it be possible to please everyone including herself?In her unpredictable and funny graphic memoir, Ozge recounts her story using inventive collages, weaving together images of the sea, politics, science, and friendship.

Dare to Disappoint Details

TitleDare to Disappoint
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 17th, 2015
PublisherFarrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN0374316988
ISBN-139780374316983
Number of pages190 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Autobiography, Memoir, Nonfiction, Comics

Dare to Disappoint Review

  • Ludmilla
    January 31, 2017
    Bırak Üzülsünler, çevrilmesini heyecanla beklediğim bir kitaptı. İletişim'den çıkacağını ve fiyatının bu olacağını tahmin etsem (49 TL gibi bir rakamdan bahsediyoruz) beklemez, alır okurdum. Neyse, Bırak Üzülsünler, 80 sonrası doğanlar için "bizi bize anlatan" bir hikaye. Özge Samancı'nın hayatında çoğumuza tanıdık gelecek o kadar şey var ki... Bunun yanı sıra renk seçimleri ve çizimler de oldukça başarılı. Ama, tabii ki ama olacaktı, bölümler arasında kopukluk, son kısmın aceleye gelmesi gibi u Bırak Üzülsünler, çevrilmesini heyecanla beklediğim bir kitaptı. İletişim'den çıkacağını ve fiyatının bu olacağını tahmin etsem (49 TL gibi bir rakamdan bahsediyoruz) beklemez, alır okurdum. Neyse, Bırak Üzülsünler, 80 sonrası doğanlar için "bizi bize anlatan" bir hikaye. Özge Samancı'nın hayatında çoğumuza tanıdık gelecek o kadar şey var ki... Bunun yanı sıra renk seçimleri ve çizimler de oldukça başarılı. Ama, tabii ki ama olacaktı, bölümler arasında kopukluk, son kısmın aceleye gelmesi gibi unsurların yanı sıra birazcık derine indiğinizde Bırak Üzülsünler'in sadece başka bir "kişisel grafik roman" olduğunu görüyorsunuz. En klişe kendini bulma hikayelerinden biri daha. Geçen -sanırım Goodreads'te- okuduğum bir yorumu aklıma getirdi: Bu kadar hikaye ve olanak varken çizerler neden birbirinin aynısı kişisel hikayelerini anlatıp duruyor? Evet, aynı soruyu ben de soruyorum. Özellikle de o kişisel hikaye derine inemiyor, klişe yumaklarından ibaret kalıyorsa. Yoksa geçenlerde okuduğum Sıradan Zaferler de, Parantez de had safhada kişisel ve iyi hikayelerdi. Bırak Üzülsünler'den ise yabancılar için "Türk Eğitim Sistemi" tanıtımını, bizim için "aşinalığı" çıkarırsanız geriye pek bir şey kalmıyor maalesef. Bu açıdan kıyaslandığı Persepolis'e göre de zayıf kalmış. Yine de -fiyatından gözünüz korkmadıysa- keyifle okuyabilir, kendinizi mutlu ve iyi hissedebilirsiniz. 3/5
    more
  • Evren Bay
    November 19, 2015
    Bir İzmirli ve Boğaziçi matematik bölümü mezunu biri olarak kendimden çok şey bulduğum bir kitap olduğu için biraz yanlı bir değerlendime olabilir :) Bir de Amerika'da uzun bir süre yaşamış ve benzer şeyleri Türkiye'li olmayan arkadaşlarıma anlatmaya çalışmış biri olarak beni rahatsız etmedi ama yazarın konumu itibariyle, kitabını "Amerika'lılara-anlatır-gibi" şekillendirmiş olması, belki Türkiye'li okurlar için bir handikap oluşturabilir. Öncelikle gerçekten çok titiz çalışılmış, çok açık yürek Bir İzmirli ve Boğaziçi matematik bölümü mezunu biri olarak kendimden çok şey bulduğum bir kitap olduğu için biraz yanlı bir değerlendime olabilir :) Bir de Amerika'da uzun bir süre yaşamış ve benzer şeyleri Türkiye'li olmayan arkadaşlarıma anlatmaya çalışmış biri olarak beni rahatsız etmedi ama yazarın konumu itibariyle, kitabını "Amerika'lılara-anlatır-gibi" şekillendirmiş olması, belki Türkiye'li okurlar için bir handikap oluşturabilir. Öncelikle gerçekten çok titiz çalışılmış, çok açık yüreklilikle yazılmış bir kitap olduğunu söylemeliyim. Her bir karesinde çok büyük emek var. Bence bunda matematik okumasının da etkisi var :) Özge Samancı, bireysel hikayesini anlatırken, hem bir kızkardeşlik hikayesi, hem memur bir ailenin hikayesi, hem arkadaşlık, hem de 80'lerde Türkiye'de öğrencilik yapmanın hikayesini anlatıyor. Çoğumuzun yaşadığı ve bir çoğumuzun karşı duramadığı bu sistemden, ailesinin ve toplumun etkisinden sıyrılıp nasıl kendi sesini bulduğunu anlatıyor. Okurken sık sık gözlerimin dolduğu, yer yer ağladığım bir kitap olsa da, bu kitabı eğlenceli ve cesaret verici olarak hatırlayacağım.
    more
  • Russell Taylor
    December 7, 2015
    Dare to Disappoint: Growing up in Turkey felt like it should have been a longer tale. Özge Samanci’s early years are richly detailed; as the protagonist ages, though, the granularity of the narrative stretches out, with discrete events replaced by more overarching sketches of longer periods of time and emotion. This may simply be an artifact of memory: disjointed and episodic recollections of early years giving way to more comprehensive understandings of later phases of life. This flow breaks do Dare to Disappoint: Growing up in Turkey felt like it should have been a longer tale. Özge Samanci’s early years are richly detailed; as the protagonist ages, though, the granularity of the narrative stretches out, with discrete events replaced by more overarching sketches of longer periods of time and emotion. This may simply be an artifact of memory: disjointed and episodic recollections of early years giving way to more comprehensive understandings of later phases of life. This flow breaks down, though, near the end of the book when Özge decides to break with her and her father’s expectations to pursue a career more meaningful to her. She reaches her decision point, but the audience is left with an inspiring moral on the virtue of risk-taking, but little evidence apart from the book in their hands as to how it unfolded for the protagonist.The narrative is snappy and funny, with an informed but child’s-eye view of the dynamics of Turkish society in the waning days of the Cold War. Quite interesting are the hints and mentions of events and dynamics which go unexplored here, but which tie into well-known historical and current events: Samanci’s elementary-school version of Turkish independence, featuring a map with a purple blot labelled “Armenian,” a discussion of anti-leftist and -Kurdish censorship sprees by authorities, and a confrontation with a devout Muslim student illustrating the relatively elite, western, and minority perspective of the author’s experience. The quirks and strange perceptions of childhood are brought to life by Samanci’s fluid line, spare watercolor, and charming mixed media collages at the opening of most chapters. This is a graphic novel with precious few hard-edged panels. Scenes take place in isolated vignettes floating in whitespace or splashed across an entire page, but never does a full page of conventional rectangles appear. Never does this hinder the flow of the story; rather, while Samanci’s figures and faces are simple and expressive, her layouts add dimension and energy, practically dragging the eye across the varied spreads.
    more
  • Yeliz
    January 23, 2017
    Çevirisini merakla bekliyordum. Okurken çocukluğuma gençliğime döndüm. Otobiyografik bir romandan bir neslin karın ağrılarına nüfuz etmiş, çok başarılı.
  • Barb Middleton
    May 29, 2016
    This graphic novel is well done, but I'll have to send it up to the middle school library as it is too young adult for elementary students. Ozge Samanci's minimalist illustrations and dry sense of humor make this an excellent look into what it was like growing up in Turkey. The heart of the story is about Ozge trying to figure out what she wants to do in life and the difficulty of trying to live up to her father's expectations and imitate her brilliant older sister. She recounts the political an This graphic novel is well done, but I'll have to send it up to the middle school library as it is too young adult for elementary students. Ozge Samanci's minimalist illustrations and dry sense of humor make this an excellent look into what it was like growing up in Turkey. The heart of the story is about Ozge trying to figure out what she wants to do in life and the difficulty of trying to live up to her father's expectations and imitate her brilliant older sister. She recounts the political and cultural upheavals growing up and the dangerous culture she lived in. A near rape, prejudice from extreme ideologies at school, and fierce competition of trying to make it into prestigious schools make this a page turner. Ozge never takes herself too seriously though and the humor and lightness balance out the dark incidents. A terrific read. Ozge grew up in a middle class family with two parents that were educators and nonreligious. They raised Ozge to be strong and wanted her to have a good job. Getting into the top high schools and universities was competitive and difficult. Ozge chronicles this difficult journey that show flaws in an educational system many will relate too. Her path of self-discovery follows first in her sister's footsteps and she fails, next she tries to follow her father's path and fails, and last she tries to follow her own heart and fails. She never gives up and finds, with the help of family and some loyal friends that help tutor her through her classes so she can pass, that she is able to discover her passion for drawing. It is the failures and resilience to learn from her mistakes that are a part of Ozge's journey of discovering what she wants to do with her life - something we all can relate to. She is one brave person that is easy to cheer on as she works through issues.The author does a good job explaining the different leaders of the country and how they affected her country. A funny bird crops up on many of these pictures with some wisecrack comment. She shows the leaders saying one thing but doing the opposite in private while the bird hangs upside down on the president's speech bubble saying, "Liar." Later, she's trying to get the courage to tell her mom about her teacher's corporal punishment of all the students in the classroom and the bird is making light of the incident. Ozge is a strong-willed girl willing to stand-up for herself. She's a bit of a loose cannon as a young kid and her yellow hair that shoots out all over the place reflects her high spirits. There are pictures of her friends with rock star posters in their bedroom and Ozge has Jacques Cousteau because she's going to be a famous diver. Later, she humorously "talks" to Poster Jacques trying to sort out what she wants to be in life. The page where she is suspended for speaking her mind at school and criticizing the play chosen for the theater production is a hoot. The close-up photo of the suspension letter with her miniaturized and sliding down its folded edge off the page with the bird and its speech bubble saying, "Bye," is one of my favorites. I'm sure you'll find your favorites too.
    more
  • Raina
    November 5, 2015
    Professional Review:How much do outsiders know about the country of Turkey? Here, a professor from Northwestern University tells what it was like to grow up in Turkey. She follows her early life, starting in 1981 (before she started school), and ends during college as she looks toward a professional path. Graphic novels are an evocative medium for memoir, and Samanci uses the strengths of visual storytelling to great effect. Her thesis was on using comics in the digital context, and this is clea Professional Review:How much do outsiders know about the country of Turkey? Here, a professor from Northwestern University tells what it was like to grow up in Turkey. She follows her early life, starting in 1981 (before she started school), and ends during college as she looks toward a professional path. Graphic novels are an evocative medium for memoir, and Samanci uses the strengths of visual storytelling to great effect. Her thesis was on using comics in the digital context, and this is clearly a thoughtful work. Her own drawings are cartoonish in a slightly silly way, at first, and she integrates those drawings with elements of collage. There are no panel borders – instead, the images float on white pages. She uses color sparingly -- for instance, to make her blonde head stand out in a crowd scene – and keeps the pages alive with a wide variety of layouts. Her story is a very personal one, in the vein of Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis and Zeina Abirached’s A Game for Swallows, but she does take time to reflect on some of the larger issues affecting her world, such as governmental elections and the educational system. This is an important story, and one which will be essential in public libraries, particularly given its relevance to current headlines. In the school context, it may be best suited to high school libraries, due to some of the author’s experiences and the scope of this story.The Personal Touch:Samanci is just a few years older than I am, so reading her story was particularly poignant for me. She also doesn't always thrive in school (which may or may not have to do with the school system in Turkey), and that was illuminating to watch, especially with the focus on her school experiences. She talks a lot about the reverence for one historical figure in Turkish history, and how that influenced her life - he was like a god. As far as trigger issues go, there is an attempted rape scene, and it has pretty major life ramifications for her, but the scene itself is relatively tame. So there's that.I had a hard time with the aesthetic at first, until I really sunk into the story -- and flipping back through it, I'm now struck by the beauty and creativity in her art. I love that she includes photos of actual ephemera from her life (transcripts, etc) in the vein of Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf. Her chapter openings are knockouts. I'm very curious about what it was like for her to transition from this story to amerika. I hope she writes a sequel about that.Extra star for the uniqueness of this story.
    more
  • Dogukan
    June 24, 2016
    I felt so much reading through this masterpiece, partly because I have taken and I am taking the same journey Özge did by living in the same culture and family archetype, and partly because I am so much like her in so many ways I could only try to count, that I became a bug that beeps "This is me!" at every page, that I had to pause sometimes, put the book down in its shelf with ghostly tears in my eyes, feeling a physical pain in my chest for a time period, my tongue drowning in a taste of an a I felt so much reading through this masterpiece, partly because I have taken and I am taking the same journey Özge did by living in the same culture and family archetype, and partly because I am so much like her in so many ways I could only try to count, that I became a bug that beeps "This is me!" at every page, that I had to pause sometimes, put the book down in its shelf with ghostly tears in my eyes, feeling a physical pain in my chest for a time period, my tongue drowning in a taste of an agony I could only try and fail to name before I could pick it up from the shelf again. Masterly drawn, and beautifully written, the book leaves you with a sense of incompleteness, a delusion that it should have been longer, braver and fuller, a much intended delusion aimed at and kept as a secret from you from beginning to end by the writer victoriously; and you are hanging in time and space aching to find closure, only to realize it's the only thing the book hasn't offered you. Just like this country, Turkey itself. And you think, just for a second that this was an error, a defect, a misjudge the writer had come to in her writing process, and that second ends with a painful smile on your face only to show you that this has been the idea all along. I am incomplete, I've always felt incomplete, and this feeling I've been left with when the book ended, this was just the thing the book tried to achieve all along, and knowing its reader, it didn't take much to have done. Because this is the only thing this country makes you, "incomplete." And it's our diamond, and it's our curse. We will be torn apart because of it, and we will rise on it. Well done Özge Samancı, the joke was on us all along. You truly are an artist.
    more
  • David Schaafsma
    November 5, 2015
    A graphic memoir about growing up in Turkey by now Chicagoan artist Samanci. I knew very little about Turkey so was interested. Also, it begs comparisons with Persepolis, as we get history of Turkey and the extent to which totalitarianism has affected its people. It sure affected Samanci, who was influenced by her uncle not to be a cog in the machine. It doesn't spare us some violence, so I wouldn't say its primary audience is necessarily kids, though it is a growing up story. Her stern Dad want A graphic memoir about growing up in Turkey by now Chicagoan artist Samanci. I knew very little about Turkey so was interested. Also, it begs comparisons with Persepolis, as we get history of Turkey and the extent to which totalitarianism has affected its people. It sure affected Samanci, who was influenced by her uncle not to be a cog in the machine. It doesn't spare us some violence, so I wouldn't say its primary audience is necessarily kids, though it is a growing up story. Her stern Dad wants her to be an engineer, but she chooses math, which she is not so good at. Most of the book is about her learning to be herself and getting in trouble in school, and failing at math. It's not particularly about her being good at anything. There's no references to any artistic talent, really, until the very end, so that is surprising. Why be an artist? It's typical for people to start out doing things their parents want them to do to be successful, and many people just do those jobs, but it's not like it's this budding thing she always knew was in her heart. This part is Dare to Disappoint, the failure years. After essentially failing at math, it's almost as if we are ready for part II, the artist part, or for her to do something other than memoir with her comics art.I liked the art work, it's very attractively laid out and colored, and I thought as a memoir it was solid, straightforward, likable, with very few surprises, stylistically or narratively. Still, I look forward to more work from Samanci.
    more
  • Leylak Dalı
    January 22, 2017
    Bir kız çocuğunun Türkiye'de büyüme ve meslek seçme öyküsü çizgilerle ancak bu kadar güzel anlatılırdı...
  • Blue
    December 6, 2015
    Dare to Disappoint by Ozge Samanci is perhaps the quintessential tale of growing up in the 80s and 90s in Turkey in a middle class family. There is so much here that resonates with the experiences of many Turks who grew up in Izmir and Istanbul, went to cram school on the weekends in preparation for the national entrance exams, tried so hard to fulfill the expectations of many middle class families of parents working for the government, who, unable to bestow wealth to their children, insisted fo Dare to Disappoint by Ozge Samanci is perhaps the quintessential tale of growing up in the 80s and 90s in Turkey in a middle class family. There is so much here that resonates with the experiences of many Turks who grew up in Izmir and Istanbul, went to cram school on the weekends in preparation for the national entrance exams, tried so hard to fulfill the expectations of many middle class families of parents working for the government, who, unable to bestow wealth to their children, insisted for them to be "good students" so that they could have a degree nobody could then take away from them and therefore a good future. The story is almost too familiar, down to Samanci's parents who work for the government (so did mine), her uncle who was politically active and a bit of a good-for-nothing youth (so was one of my uncles), the political climate of the 80s and 90s playing cruel tricks on the middle class and their aspirations, even her obsession with Jacques Cousteau (I was obsessed with him, too!)... Yet, Samanci makes the story her own, with her quirky childhood, her numerous attempts and failures to live up to the boring expectations of her parents, her struggle to be like her older sister... She also has a great eye for the things that are uniquely captivating about the Turkish childhood, like the ruler with shapes (including the unmistakable profile of Ataturk!!! I loved my ruler with its Ataturk bust, and had forgotten all about it until I read Dare to Disappoint.)Some of the issues Samanci raises, the great divide between the conservative Muslim boys in school and the liberal girls, the economic hardships of the ever-poorer and smaller middle class, the wild political swings allowed by a not-so-solid democratic system, are some of the hard truths of Turkey. Samanci does a good job of explaining things in a way that anyone can understand them, making the memoir all the more real and universal. At this time, Samanci's memoir might be chronicling a vanishing type of childhood and young adulthood (or not, hard to say, but the trendline doesn't have an encouraging slope...) It's a good primer to those who wish to understand the complicated past and convoluted ways of Turkey at the end of the past century, which may help understand what is happening today.Recommended for those who like binoculars, plastic rulers, stuffed potatoes, and to those who hate national exams and cram school.
    more
  • Ev
    February 6, 2016
    This book was more sentimentally rated as a 5 - the colorful innocence in Ozge's imagery, as well as the acute awareness of self in the context of family and society, were marvelously poignant and led me to realize more about my own self. Ozge adroitly illustrated the shifting sands of identity and stability as we navigate life. She bravely showed her vulnerability, and it made the reader - this reader - braver too.Is this not the purpose of art? To touch another's soul, and to purpose enlighten This book was more sentimentally rated as a 5 - the colorful innocence in Ozge's imagery, as well as the acute awareness of self in the context of family and society, were marvelously poignant and led me to realize more about my own self. Ozge adroitly illustrated the shifting sands of identity and stability as we navigate life. She bravely showed her vulnerability, and it made the reader - this reader - braver too.Is this not the purpose of art? To touch another's soul, and to purpose enlightenment?
    more
  • Selcoline
    January 23, 2017
    Çocukluğuma, gençliğime, üniversite hayallerime yolculuk yaptım. Yer yer güldüm yer yer hüzünlendim. 80 sonrası dönemin çok çok güzel bir özeti olmuş. Çizimler de çok başarılı... Çok beğendim.
  • Dov Zeller
    November 17, 2015
    I love the mischievous, rebellious sensibility that came through the pages early on in this book, much through the great relationship between Ozge and her sister and her parents. There is a lot to be said for the way these relationships are sketched out, and for the pluck of Ozge's young self. But somehow the book never quite came together for me. There were a lot of historical and relational moments I appreciated, but just as the Ozge of the book is trying to find herself, the book itself seems I love the mischievous, rebellious sensibility that came through the pages early on in this book, much through the great relationship between Ozge and her sister and her parents. There is a lot to be said for the way these relationships are sketched out, and for the pluck of Ozge's young self. But somehow the book never quite came together for me. There were a lot of historical and relational moments I appreciated, but just as the Ozge of the book is trying to find herself, the book itself seems to be trying to find its voice and rhythm throughout. So far there aren't too many reviews, but the ones I read I appreciated. I liked this one in particular. https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
    more
  • Sibel Kaçamak
    February 5, 2017
    İki günde keyifle okudum. Büyük şehirlerde yaşayan bir kesitin ortak geçmişi söz konusu. Sonu biraz aceleye gelmiş.
  • Elizabeth A
    March 9, 2017
    This graphic memoir is not labeled as such, but would work really well for kids, especially girls, fourteen and up. It's the coming of age story about a young Turkish girl who struggles to reconcile her dreams with those her father has for her. Can she be both an engineer and a scuba diver like Jacques Cousteau? It's a delightful tale of family, friendship, and self-discovery, and while it touches on some of the social, political, and religious issues of the day, it does so lightly, and readers This graphic memoir is not labeled as such, but would work really well for kids, especially girls, fourteen and up. It's the coming of age story about a young Turkish girl who struggles to reconcile her dreams with those her father has for her. Can she be both an engineer and a scuba diver like Jacques Cousteau? It's a delightful tale of family, friendship, and self-discovery, and while it touches on some of the social, political, and religious issues of the day, it does so lightly, and readers not familiar with the backdrop can read up on the events mentioned. When there are so many voices telling you how act, and who to be, how does one have the courage to listen to her inner voice? Can she please everyone she loves without making herself miserable?I really liked the art, the use of collages, and the fact that unlike most graphic novels, there aren't many rectangular boxes in this one. The whimsical style and light watercolors work really well for this memoir. Like memory itself, there's a bit of disjointedness, but I was rooting for young Ozge the entire time. A lovely, and quite feminist read, that I'll be putting in the hands of my nieces before too long.
    more
  • Züleyha
    March 15, 2017
    Gülümseten ve çokça hüzünlendiren detaylarla doluydu. Hayatımın özeti gibiydi. Çok ama çok masum olduğumuz, bir o kadar da haksızlığa uğradığımız yıllar. Bizim "Bir zamanlar" denilen sihirli ülkemiz. Romantik, bihaber gençliğimiz...
    more
  • Gauri
    March 27, 2016
    Dare to Disappoint is a graphic novel that speaks about the author's struggle as a young girl in Turkey during the 80's to live up to her parents' and society's high expectations with her education and career. Throughout her adolescence and college years, she comes up short to her goals, even with great determination and work. Ultimately, though, she realizes that she only went through this difficult path to please her father, and she should finally consider what she wants. She dared to disappoi Dare to Disappoint is a graphic novel that speaks about the author's struggle as a young girl in Turkey during the 80's to live up to her parents' and society's high expectations with her education and career. Throughout her adolescence and college years, she comes up short to her goals, even with great determination and work. Ultimately, though, she realizes that she only went through this difficult path to please her father, and she should finally consider what she wants. She dared to disappoint. However, the way the novel is structured places most of its time on showing the amount of pressure that was put on her and her beating herself down, rather than the method through which she gained her liberation. There are a couple of pages of her internal struggle, personified through her dialogue with Jacques Cousteau, but it has a very generic message.She says at the end of the book, upon finishing her degree, that by failing and struggling through her mathematics course, she learned how to learn and was able to pursue anything she wanted. I found that fascinating, but no explanation or comment was offered on the subject. I would argue that this would be the most important part of the book, given the intended message.
    more
  • Marian
    January 2, 2016
    This graphic novel is lovely to read. It manages to hold emotional weight, depicting major conflict and violence, while allowing you to journey through the adventures of a heart-felt and well-drawn comic (that can be sweet in its depictions and yet never sickly sweet). This is a fast read but I'm tempted to go through it again because it feels rich and layered and that details would be missed in the first attempt. It also made me want to learn much more about Turkey --- though written for someon This graphic novel is lovely to read. It manages to hold emotional weight, depicting major conflict and violence, while allowing you to journey through the adventures of a heart-felt and well-drawn comic (that can be sweet in its depictions and yet never sickly sweet). This is a fast read but I'm tempted to go through it again because it feels rich and layered and that details would be missed in the first attempt. It also made me want to learn much more about Turkey --- though written for someone who knows nothing about Turkish history (me), it compels me to learn more about what is clearly more than a backdrop to Samanci's childhood and education.
    more
  • Twofrontteethstillcrooked
    July 20, 2016
    I pulled this ahead in my threatening-to-topple-and-crush-me tall pile of to-be-read books because, hey, reading something about Turkey seemed timely. This is a lovely memoir with lots of energetic, clever, mixed-media illustrations. Samanci's journey, more to a decision than an actual place, is interesting and hopeful, and given weight because she's a character (so to speak) of charm and courage trying to survive a culture at times deeply hostile to her existence. Her humanity and even-handedne I pulled this ahead in my threatening-to-topple-and-crush-me tall pile of to-be-read books because, hey, reading something about Turkey seemed timely. This is a lovely memoir with lots of energetic, clever, mixed-media illustrations. Samanci's journey, more to a decision than an actual place, is interesting and hopeful, and given weight because she's a character (so to speak) of charm and courage trying to survive a culture at times deeply hostile to her existence. Her humanity and even-handedness is evident; though this is just a slice of life in Turkey, and a very personal view at that, it made me both more and less worried about her country's future.
    more
  • Stacy
    January 17, 2016
    This book was love at first sight for me! The title pulled me in right away, and the more I read of it the more that love grew! A brilliant and true depiction of what it's like to grow up in poverty and in an oppressive place with standards you know you couldn't meet even if you wanted to.This graphic tale is about discovering who you are and learning about yourself along the way. If you have ever felt lost or feel lost right now, this book will bring you peace (and insights into history).
    more
  • Perri
    January 12, 2017
    I know so very little about Turkey, so this graphic memoir of a girl growing up there was an education. The culture and politics are very different from the US but a universal is the love between parent and child and the desire to please.
  • Mehsi
    September 25, 2016
    Een redelijk goed autobiografisch boek over de jeugd van de schrijfster in Turkije. Het was af en toe best chaotisch, en ik vond het einde ook wel een beetje jammer, ze had eindelijk een plan, en toen was het voorbij?
  • MelteM Ural
    January 18, 2017
    Ama az ama çok, ama illaki kendini de görüyorsun...
  • Benjamin Fry
    March 24, 2017
    There is a wonderful balance between the images of Dare to Disappoint and its story. Both of them are unique and original. Images are so "hand-made": collages, textures, unexpected materials, stamps, jewelry, beads, fabric, maps, they all combined with comics. I can dive deep into each image.
    more
  • Linda
    June 19, 2016
    Dare to Disappoint is a graphic memoir following Özge as she grows up in Turkey. Told with an interesting mix of drawings, photos and other media, each chapter reveals another crucial point in her life as she attempts to be a model student, be like her sister, not be a ZERO, and win the approval of her family and others. What she sees as “failure” or “rejection” along the way eventually helps to bring her life and ambitions into focus and gives her the courage to seek her own happiness even if i Dare to Disappoint is a graphic memoir following Özge as she grows up in Turkey. Told with an interesting mix of drawings, photos and other media, each chapter reveals another crucial point in her life as she attempts to be a model student, be like her sister, not be a ZERO, and win the approval of her family and others. What she sees as “failure” or “rejection” along the way eventually helps to bring her life and ambitions into focus and gives her the courage to seek her own happiness even if it means swimming against the current. It’s an informative look into a culture you may not know about with relatable struggles that are common to every culture. Though the cover and initial look of the pages might give the impression that this is a story for a younger audience, Özge’s journey includes some disturbing but honest pictures of fear and violence – including government oppression, beatings and executions, and a physical assault on an older Özge– making the recommended audience 8th grade and older. Additional note for parents: also includes mild language and reference to sex.
    more
  • Alicia
    February 12, 2016
    There is something equally attractive and unattractive about the illustrations that is engaging in the story of Samanci's life growing up in the 80s in Turkey. I like hearing and learning about experiences of children in other countries and at different periods of time, so her life is fascinating and what she chooses to share is both practical, a bit humorous, and very 'slice of life'. She's struggling between the expectations of her parents, particularly her overbearing father that wants to pus There is something equally attractive and unattractive about the illustrations that is engaging in the story of Samanci's life growing up in the 80s in Turkey. I like hearing and learning about experiences of children in other countries and at different periods of time, so her life is fascinating and what she chooses to share is both practical, a bit humorous, and very 'slice of life'. She's struggling between the expectations of her parents, particularly her overbearing father that wants to push her in to math/engineering rather than allowing her to pursue her artistic goals. For a while she tries to do both, but fails at both and must "dare to disappoint"-- I love this message! by pursuing what she's interested in and not outside forces. Thoroughly enjoyed this graphic memoir that has a great message, multicultural awareness, and some humor. Book Hook: Memoir, nonfiction, biography, deliberate, melodramatic, exotic, episodic, familiar
    more
  • Lara
    September 5, 2016
    I really liked Samanci's style, and enjoyed this story of her growing up a pretty normal kid in Turkey in a time of violence. But I never really felt any sort of emotional connection to her story, and at the end we're left to sort of infer that things turned out ok for her, since she's published this book, but it felt really abrupt to me, and I wanted more about what she did after that point to get to where she is today. And it seems like so much of the book is about her wanting to gain her dad' I really liked Samanci's style, and enjoyed this story of her growing up a pretty normal kid in Turkey in a time of violence. But I never really felt any sort of emotional connection to her story, and at the end we're left to sort of infer that things turned out ok for her, since she's published this book, but it felt really abrupt to me, and I wanted more about what she did after that point to get to where she is today. And it seems like so much of the book is about her wanting to gain her dad's approval, and then she makes this decision to disappoint him, but we don't actually get to see how he reacts to it, at all. Still, I liked this book, and I'll definitely read more of Samanci's work if I run across it in the future!
    more
  • Jory
    February 23, 2016
    I loved how this book was both specifically about growing up in Turkey in the 80s & 90s -- I learned a lot in some ways from this book -- as well as an incredibly universal story of a girl trying to find herself. It was hopeful, yet not pat, and I loved the drawings. I only wish there had been more clues about doodling/drawing throughout. Or maybe I just missed them. What a good question this book asks its reader: Do you dare to disappoint?
    more
  • Vanessa (splitreads)
    November 13, 2016
    3.5. I found Samanci's perspective and life fascinating. The art spreads were beautiful: lots of white space, no panels, watercolors, mixed media art, vibrancy (I love the yellows/blues). I wish we learned more of her career trajectory and more of an exploration of her feelings towards her father's dreams for her. It felt rushed towards the end - but maybe there will be a part 2 in the future which explains it better.
    more
  • Earl
    January 23, 2017
    An interesting memoir of growing up in Turkey and wanting to please her parents while trying to figure out what it is she wants to do. The look into how the educational system was set up was fascinating, kind of similar to how it is in the Philippines where I grew up. And, of course, the political situation had an eerie resonance.I admit that it sort of fizzled out for me towards the end and then seemed to wrap things up quickly.
    more
Write a review