Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17)
Navy men don’t come tougher than Lieutenant Peter Greene. Every day he whips hotshot SEAL wannabes into elite fighters. So why can’t he handle one fifteen-year-old girl? His ex’s death left him a single dad overnight, and very unprepared. Though he can’t relate to an angsty teen, he can at least keep Maddie safe—until the day she disappears. Though Pete’s lacking in fatherly intuition, his instinct for detecting danger is razor sharp. Maddie’s in trouble. Now he needs the Troubleshooters team at his back, along with an unconventional ally.Romance writer Shayla Whitman never expected to be drawn into a real-world thriller—or to meet a hero who makes her pulse pound. Action on the page is one thing. Actually living it is another story. Shay’s not as bold as her heroines, but she’s a mother. She sees the panic in her new neighbor’s usually fearless blue eyes—and knows there’s no greater terror for a parent than having a child at risk. It’s an ordeal Shay won’t let Pete face alone. She’s no highly trained operative, but she’s smart, resourceful, and knows what makes teenagers tick.Still, working alongside Pete has its own perils—like letting the heat between them rise out of control. Intimate emotions could mean dangerous, even deadly, consequences for their mission. No matter what, they must be on top of their game, and playing for keeps . . . or else Pete’s daughter may be gone for good.

Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17) Details

TitleSome Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN-139780345543820
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, War, Military Fiction, Suspense

Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17) Review

  • Auntee
    January 1, 1970
    Hardcover? Think I'll wait for the paperback...Obviously I didn't have to wait, thanks to Netgalley and the publisher...After a bit of a slow start, this book really took off, things started falling into place, and I ended up really enjoying it!It's been a while since I read a Brockmann book (she hasn't been so prolific lately) and I jumped at the chance to read another book in what once was my favorite RS series (Troubleshooters). While it wasn't the best Troubleshooters book ever, it was a sol Hardcover? Think I'll wait for the paperback...Obviously I didn't have to wait, thanks to Netgalley and the publisher...After a bit of a slow start, this book really took off, things started falling into place, and I ended up really enjoying it!It's been a while since I read a Brockmann book (she hasn't been so prolific lately) and I jumped at the chance to read another book in what once was my favorite RS series (Troubleshooters). While it wasn't the best Troubleshooters book ever, it was a solid read and one that got better and better as I got deeper into the book.The whole story centers around the hunt for Lt. Peter ('Grunge') Greene's runaway 15-yer-old daughter (the kind of obnoxious Maddie). Maddie's in trouble because her so-called female 'friend' framed her and now she has an evil drug dealer mad at her and out for the $10,000 she supposedly stole. If she doesn't pay him he will most likely kill her. She takes off with a friend of this friend (older semi-stoner 'Dingo', who is unaware that she's just 15) rather than just asking her father for help. (Hey, she's a stupid teenager). So why doesn't she trust her dad to get her out of this mess, you ask?Lt. Peter "Grunge" Greene Well, Maddie and Peter hardly know each other. He wasn't with her mom (who recently died a few months ago) for that long. Her mom (Asian-American Lisa) was a flighty woman who strung Peter along since high school. When Peter tried to provide for his family by enlisting in the Navy, Lisa couldn't take it so she left him and took their baby daughter with her, often moving from town to town. When Peter became a SEAL, he had less and less time to spend with Maddie, and they grew apart. Now with Lisa dead, the only real family left in her life is Peter. They hardly know each other, but Peter wants to change that and make an effort with Maddie. He moves them to a family friendly neighborhood in San Diego, but Maddie is stand-offish, surly, and grieving. She's not a bad kid but gets in with the wrong crowd, and now finds her life in danger. Deep down she doesn't believe that her father wants her or loves her. Can Peter's across-the-street neighbor, romance novelist Shayla Whitman, help change that perception?"Shay" Pretty, 40ish African-American Shayla Whitman, recent divorcee, and mother of two teenage boys, has noticed the hunky shaggy-haired Navy SEAL who recently moved in across the street. When she sees him trying to flag down a motorist for help outside the high school, she makes a quick decision to help him. Peter tells her to 'follow that car' that he's sure his teenage daughter got in to, and the chase is on. Over a matter of days, Shay helps Peter to try to locate his daughter, find out why she's on the run, and get father and daughter to learn about one another (through a series of clever texts detailing the relationship of Lisa and Peter). Along the way, the initial spark of attraction between Peter and Shay (who waste a lot of time assuming stuff about each other) ignites into a white hot fire--but is it just lust, or something more? Can something be right after only a few days together?I have to be honest, what made this book come alive was when Izzy Zanella (good buddy to Peter) first appeared! Yay! And then a very pregnant Lindsey, Mark, Adam, Eden, Jen, Gilman, Lopez...they were all either mentioned or had a hand in helping Peter. I also enjoyed seeing some new SEAL recruits--all named 'John' but of course they all had nicknames...Hopefully Suz will continue with these characters and give them each their own books.I really liked to Shay as a character. Wow, this woman was smart! I also enjoyed her inner dialogue with herself, and also her dialogue with one of her fictional heroes (a knockoff of gay FBI character Jules Cassidy). And...she had some pretty hot sex scenes with Peter. How they managed that while looking for his daughter? You'll just have to read it to find out.:)Peter was pretty cool too. Once he told his story to Shay about his relationship with Lisa and I learned more and more about him, I could see that he wasn't just a handsome guy, but an honorable guy with real substance. I wanted these two to work!So once things got moving in this book, it became hard to put down. I usually like Brockmann's writing because I always feel I learn something new when I read her books. And I did learn something about the Japanese internment camps in California during World War II. I only had limited knowledge of that time and SB managed to really open my eyes to something that was so, so wrong. And she expertly wove this into the story too without it seeming preachy.All in all a solid effort. If she continues with her new SEAL recruits (the 'Johns'), and even revisits Maddie and Dingo--he really grew on me, and now that he's (view spoiler)[ a Marine... (hide spoiler)] the possibilities seem endless--I think she'll have some winners on her hands. 4 1/2 starsARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Jonetta
    January 1, 1970
    Navy SEAL Lieutenant Peter (Grunge) Greene is a formidable BUD/S instructor, tough and is up to any assignment he's handed. However, becoming a father to his 15-year old daughter for the first time after her mother's sudden death might be the challenge that brings him to his knees. She's now missing and his instincts are screaming at him that she's in serious trouble (she is). Romance author and divorced mother of two Shayla Whitman was in the right place at the right time when he needed help. S Navy SEAL Lieutenant Peter (Grunge) Greene is a formidable BUD/S instructor, tough and is up to any assignment he's handed. However, becoming a father to his 15-year old daughter for the first time after her mother's sudden death might be the challenge that brings him to his knees. She's now missing and his instincts are screaming at him that she's in serious trouble (she is). Romance author and divorced mother of two Shayla Whitman was in the right place at the right time when he needed help. She just happens to be his neighbor and together they begin putting together clues and actions to find Maddie. There's a different vibe to this story but at the same time, a lot that's familiar. Told from Peter, Maddie and Shayla's points of view, it transitions from the varying voices rather seamlessly. I liked that Peter and Shayla are older (he's close to 40; she's there already) so it's a more mature relationship that develops without the protracted angst you typically find between two people thrown together in these circumstances. On the surface, they don't seem all that compatible but when they're together, everything about them works. I loved these two together and how she helped him forge a relationship with Maddie. It was brilliantly orchestrated while at the same time providing us with his crucial backstory. Shayla writes romantic suspense and her main fictional character is an FBI agent named Harry who is a major part of her own inner dialogue. It was disconcerting at first but as the story moved along, I found myself wanting Harry's opinion! It ultimately works as he's really her own alter ego that pushes her into romantic action with Peter. I loved this story and how the members of Boat Squad John and SEAL Team Sixteen were woven into the action. And through Shayla, we get an important plug for the romance genre, presenting a smart, talented writer who really shatters a few myths. She was classic Suzanne Brockmann and I adored her:) Well done on every level. 4.5 stars(I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)
    more
  • ♥Rachel♥
    January 1, 1970
    Some Kind of Hero was a fast paced, action packed read that basically took off from the first paragraph. I enjoyed every minute! This is part of a series, but it’s not necessary to read the previous books, because each story is a standalone. The story opens as Navy SEAL Lieutenant Peter Greene flags down romance writer Shayla Whitman to “follow that car”! A car that contains his missing teenage daughter, Maddie. The game is afoot as they say as Shayla is dragged into trying to find Maddie with Some Kind of Hero was a fast paced, action packed read that basically took off from the first paragraph. I enjoyed every minute! This is part of a series, but it’s not necessary to read the previous books, because each story is a standalone. The story opens as Navy SEAL Lieutenant Peter Greene flags down romance writer Shayla Whitman to “follow that car”! A car that contains his missing teenage daughter, Maddie. The game is afoot as they say as Shayla is dragged into trying to find Maddie with Peter, and figure out why she left in the first place. Not that Shayla minds, Peter is one hunk of a man, smart and fun in between all the worrying. A caring father and sweet, chivalrous man. Her writer’s brain conjures up all kinds of hot scenarios, but in reality, she doesn’t think Peter would be interested. Peter is immediately taken with Shayla. She’s effortlessly pretty, and her clever mind captures his attention right away, but it seems Shayla wants him to stay firmly in the friend zone. Or does she? Peter is dazzled by her strategic thinking, honed by plotting out romantic suspense novels, and he’s attracted to her more and more as they try to track Maddie down.Maddie got herself into a dangerous situation. Lucky for her she has her badass SEAL dad, and a crafty romance novelist there to help whether she wants it or not. Some Kind of Hero was super fun, and while I did have to wait a while for these two to figure out they shared the same feelings, it was worth it when they finally clued in. Smoking hot! I loved the fact Shayla was a romance writer! Being an avid reader, it was interesting to get the other side of things, the writer’s perspective through her. I binge read the first three books of the Troubleshooters series a while ago, but then probably had to get to a review book, got distracted and just never got back to it. Some Kind of Hero reminds me just why I was so addicted in the first place. Suzanne Brockmann writes top notch romantic suspense! I loved both Shayla and Peter, and the interesting cast of secondary characters. Even Maddie and Dingo’s POV sucked me in! I’m definitely getting back to the past installment soon! A copy was kindly provided by Ballantine Books via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • WhiskeyintheJar/Kyraryker
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsI received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.When Shay recognizes the crazy man trying to flag down a car as her sexy Navy SEAL neighbor, she pulls over and thus begins the ride of her life. Peter is desperate to find his daughter and when he thinks he sees her get into a van, he knows this is his chance to get her. After an unsuccessful car chase, he finds surprising help from his neighbor. Drug 2.5 starsI received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.When Shay recognizes the crazy man trying to flag down a car as her sexy Navy SEAL neighbor, she pulls over and thus begins the ride of her life. Peter is desperate to find his daughter and when he thinks he sees her get into a van, he knows this is his chance to get her. After an unsuccessful car chase, he finds surprising help from his neighbor. Drug deals gone bad, the pain of loss, hurtful memories, and relationships being born and mended, Shay and Peter have quite the journey ahead of them. The nineteenth installment in the long popular Troubleshooters series, this can be read as a standalone, as long as you don't mind missing out on the numerous in and outs of the wide cast characters. Our main couple, Shay and Peter, along with a small secondary romance involving Peter’s daughter and her older guy friend, starts fresh here so you wouldn't miss out on any details there. One of the strengths of Ms. Brockmann's stories is her ability to juggle and incorporate characters, romance, and storylines. Those components were numerous here but I'm not sure they were all pulled off.  Our hero's daughter, Maddie, is coming to live with him after her mother died; she's fifteen and hasn't seen her father in years. This is due to Peter being a Navy SEAL and what appears to be a mother who wanted to somewhat color Peter in a less than flattering light. Maddie gets caught up in a missing ten thousand dollars owed to a drug dealer and takes off to find her friend, who got her into trouble, with the friend's ex-boyfriend. This situation simply felt too forced, Maddie has a Navy SEAL father, yes, she's a sullen teenager of fifteen and doesn't have a strong relationship with him, but her life was threatened, it was a stretch to think she would take off on her own. The author provides us an outline of how mature Maddie is in some aspects, taking care of her mother and having more common sense than the twenty year old she is with, and flips the coin to show how immaturely she thinks her father is "stupid". It felt like the author was trying to have it both ways to force the storyline the way she wanted. As this is the backbone for the book, it set-up a wobbly premise with me that I don't think the story ever overcame.  Our heroine is a romance writer and when we are first introduced to her, one of her characters likes to "speak" to her and had her continuously saying "shh" out loud. It levels off as the story continues but I personally found it somewhat intrusive, I'm trying to get to know the "real" characters in the beginning, and annoying, Shay's speaking out loud to a fictional character gave a tint of corniness. I also found it a bit odd her full throttle willingness to involve herself in Peter's situation but romantic suspense usually requires a bit of lenience. Shay's character as a whole, though, was fun, capable, interesting, and someone I'd definitely want as a friend. Peter's attitude and actions had him coming off as a genuine good guy, with a wonderful dash of wit and charisma. There was a lack of usual rom suspense action (until the very end) that had me missing him showcasing his special ops skills. He wonderfully wears his dress whites but that's almost the full extent we get of any Navy SEAL-ness. His and Shay's romance is a whirlwind that takes place over 5-6 days, so insta-lust/love does play a part here.  In order to bring Peter and Maddie together, the author has Peter tell Shay how Maddie's mother and he got together. It's a sweet way to bond father and daughter but having it go through Shay, she types up the story segments and sends them to Maddie, had it feeling a little weird and not coming off quite right. I would have liked to have Shay and Peter bonding moments over the inclusion of these stories.  Overall, this had the multi-faceted, all inclusive plethora of characters and storyline offshoots Ms. Brockmann excels at but I also did feel the romance was lacking and I missed a bit more action. If you're a Troubleshooters reader, you'll probably enjoy seeing past cast members and everyone won't want to miss Peter and Shay try to "myth bust" one of her book's sex scenes.  
    more
  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥
    January 1, 1970
    Rich with unique characters, snarky humor, sizzling romance, and intense suspense, Some Kind of Hero is another great read in the Troubleshooters series!  Brockmann’s signature multifaceted characters and plotlines are prevalent, although to a somewhat lesser extent than some previous books, and as always, heroes are larger than life.Anyone with dreams of becoming one of the elite Navy SEALS must make it through BUD/S Training and survive Hell Week as in overcome every impossible obstacle that L Rich with unique characters, snarky humor, sizzling romance, and intense suspense, Some Kind of Hero is another great read in the Troubleshooters series!  Brockmann’s signature multifaceted characters and plotlines are prevalent, although to a somewhat lesser extent than some previous books, and as always, heroes are larger than life.Anyone with dreams of becoming one of the elite Navy SEALS must make it through BUD/S Training and survive Hell Week as in overcome every impossible obstacle that Lt. Peter “Grunge” Greene throws in their path.  Failure is not an option if they are to become one of the elite.  Grunge practices what he preaches in every aspect of his orderly life.  So what stops this big, bad*ss SEAL dead in his tracks, throwing him off his game?  Grunge is suddenly faced with the overwhelming responsibility of raising a teenage daughter he doesn’t know - a mere, mortal 15-year-old.  Should be a piece of cake for a man who whips wannabe SEALS into shape, right?  Wrong.  Rebellious, sullen, unhappy, and mourning the sudden loss of her mother, Maddie isn’t interested in getting to know her father – a man she believes never wanted her - and so she splits at the first opportunity with 20-year-old “Dingo” no less – a kinda weird, possible hippie/druggie who befriended her.  Before the unpacking is done, Grunge has lost track of Maddie!  When it becomes obvious that he’s not the only person searching for her – that she’s in real danger, he hits panic mode and calls in back-up.Shayla Whitman is a smart, funny, creative single mother extraordinaire raising two boys on her own while penning romance/suspense novels and arguing with voices in her head.  When she sees the sexy SEAL that just moved in across the street flagging down cars and yelling “my daughter is missing,” she does what any Mom would do . . . drives to the rescue with both “mom-barrels” blazing.  Shayla is in for the long haul, ready to share her “mother-of-a-teenager” knowledge along with some of her suspense/mystery solving skills aka romance/suspense book research.  With intense sexual chemistry sparks flying, their journey from strangers to friends to cohorts to lovers begins.Some Kind of Hero started off with a different vibe for me – not the norm I have come to expect from the Troubleshooter books.  While the scenario of a frantic father looking for his missing daughter is intense, the delivery had a light-hearted tone.  It threw me at first as Peter seemed out of character and came across as a little inept for a SEAL, making some costly *well, duh* mistakes for the professional, well-trained man that he is and often relying on Shayla to tell him what to do.  I realized, however, that he was reacting as an inexperienced scared Dad vs. a take-charge Navy SEAL. As the story unfolds, it flows more toward what I have come to expect from these books – deeper, more action-intense plot line, past characters riding in to the rescue, slow-burn romance simmering with lots of tension.  And as with many of the other books, a past historic story line weaving its way throughout - connecting past places, times, and characters with the plot of the present - adding yet another rich and heart-touching layer.  Favorites like Izzy help deliver another intriguing Troubleshooter story with just the right blend of snarky humor, romance (with a side of HOT sex), and suspense with a few twists along the way.  Another Must Read in one of my favorite series ever! Love a story about a genuinely good alpha male and a strong female! Hello, Grunge...I'll meet you in the garage anytime! ;)
    more
  • *Avonna
    January 1, 1970
    Check out all of my reviews at: http://www.avonnalovesgenres.comThere are a large number of great authors and out of that group everyone has their favorites that just always deliver for them. You disappear into their fictional worlds with no difficulty and love all the characters no matter how long you have been away and it always feels like you just visited yesterday. One of my favorites is Suzanne Brockmann and her latest romantic suspense SOME KIND OF HERO (Troubleshooters, #17) delivered. On Check out all of my reviews at: http://www.avonnalovesgenres.comThere are a large number of great authors and out of that group everyone has their favorites that just always deliver for them. You disappear into their fictional worlds with no difficulty and love all the characters no matter how long you have been away and it always feels like you just visited yesterday. One of my favorites is Suzanne Brockmann and her latest romantic suspense SOME KIND OF HERO (Troubleshooters, #17) delivered. Once again she gave me a noble and hunky Navy SEAL to fall in love with right along with a unique heroine and a fast paced suspense plot. Even though this is the 17th Troubleshooter book, it can easily be read as a standalone, but I don’t know why you would not want to meet all the other great characters in this series.Lieutenant Pete Greene “Grunge” whips BUDs into SEALs that are ready for anything. What he is not ready for is the sudden guardianship of his sullen 15 year old daughter, Maddie after the death of her mother. They are strangers that are having serious difficulties relating to each other. Before Pete can connect, Maddie gets into serious trouble with a girl she thought was her friend and disappears. Pete knows she is in trouble, but does not know how much and is desperate to find and help her.Shayla Whitman is a romantic suspense author and Pete’s neighbor. She has seen him around with his daughter, but has always been too intimidated by his hero worthy looks to introduce herself until she finds out Maddie is missing. Being a divorced mother of two boys, she knows the terror of having a child missing and at risk and wants to help in any way she can. As Shayla and Pete work to find Maddie and figure out who she is running from and why, Shayla can’t believe she is actually living a real life romantic suspense story.These two are just perfect together. They both have been hurt in love before and need to learn to trust and open up again. Maddie and her buddy, Dingo make great secondary characters. I really loved when Shayla kept sending Maddie text stories of her mom and Pete’s relationship to make her understand that Maddie and her dad did have common ground; they both loved her mother.Once again, a great addition to the Troubleshooter series! Strong, fully developed characters introduced in this book and a few friends from previous books. A suspense plot that keeps the tension high and the pages turning. A must read series for me!
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Here’s your phrase: Navy Seal. Who or what crosses your mind? Are you blushing? Suzanne Brockmann knows the power and appeal of the Navy Seals and once again, has come up with another fast, fresh, fun and dangerous mission of the heart for Lt Peter Greene. Sure Peter is one bad ass warrior, but he is no match for his hormonal fifteen-year-old daughter who is reeling from the loss of her mother and being forced to live with the father she never knew; the father who could make recruits cry, but is Here’s your phrase: Navy Seal. Who or what crosses your mind? Are you blushing? Suzanne Brockmann knows the power and appeal of the Navy Seals and once again, has come up with another fast, fresh, fun and dangerous mission of the heart for Lt Peter Greene. Sure Peter is one bad ass warrior, but he is no match for his hormonal fifteen-year-old daughter who is reeling from the loss of her mother and being forced to live with the father she never knew; the father who could make recruits cry, but is clueless on how to deal with young Maddie.Enter Romantic Suspense writer, Shayla Whitman when Maddie goes missing and together, she and Peter will do all they can to find Maddie before she comes to harm, because she will come to harm, thanks to her trusting ways, need to spread her wings and poor choices in friends.Who is the more formidable warrior, Peter of the brawny muscles or Shayla, mother extraordinaire? Together they are a dynamic duo on the hunt, but when Cupid steps in, they are blind to the love that is growing between them. SOME KIND OF HERO is romantic action at its finest! Fast-paced, with moments of high-tension, sweet uncertainty and denial of the heart as the chase is on for one father to find and protect the daughter he had no idea would mean so much to him! Yep, Suzanne Brockmann knows how to create MY kind of hero or should I say heroes? Start to finish, heart pounding action, passion and romance that feels good! Part of a series that stands proud on its own!I received an ARC edition from Ballantine Books in exchange for my honest review.Series: Troubleshooters - Book 17Publisher: Ballantine Books (July 11, 2017)Publication Date: July 11, 2017Genre: Romantic SuspensePrint Length: 353 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Every once in a while you come across an extraordinary romantic suspense. Its a story with resilience, that ability to stick with you long after you are through. SOME KIND OF HERO has that special something and it comes in the way Brockmann creates her characters. Relateable, likeable and oh, so human. Fast paced, fun and packed full of everything that I've come to love from Brockmann brand of writing. SOME KIND OF HERO is an example of contemporary romance at its finest with a good dose of susp Every once in a while you come across an extraordinary romantic suspense. Its a story with resilience, that ability to stick with you long after you are through. SOME KIND OF HERO has that special something and it comes in the way Brockmann creates her characters. Relateable, likeable and oh, so human. Fast paced, fun and packed full of everything that I've come to love from Brockmann brand of writing. SOME KIND OF HERO is an example of contemporary romance at its finest with a good dose of suspense on the side.I received this ARC copy of Some Kind of Hero from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine. This is my honest and voluntary review. Some Kind of Hero is set for publication July 11, 2017.My Rating: 5 starsWritten by: Suzanne BrockmannSeries: Troubleshooters Sequence in Series: Book 19Hardcover: 352 pagesPublisher: Ballantine Books Publication Date: July 11, 2017ISBN-10: 0345543823ISBN-13: 978-0345543820Genre: Romantic SuspenseItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/some...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Some-Kind-Hero...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/some...Reviewed for:http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Sarina Bowen
    January 1, 1970
    God, I loved this book. Not only was it a real page-turner, it gave me hope during a rather dark month. And who doesn't love a swoony single dad? Read it. You won't be sorry.
  • Miranda (MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It)
    January 1, 1970
    I went into this book with no knowledge of the previous books, so I was a little worried that there would be things I wouldn't understand in this book. However, I was glad that this book truly could be read as a standalone OR a continuation of the series. I do think that I would have enjoyed this book a little more if I had read the previous books, but it was still enjoyable nonetheless. I will admit that Some Kind of Hero started off a bit rocky for me. It was hard to wrap my mind around what w I went into this book with no knowledge of the previous books, so I was a little worried that there would be things I wouldn't understand in this book. However, I was glad that this book truly could be read as a standalone OR a continuation of the series. I do think that I would have enjoyed this book a little more if I had read the previous books, but it was still enjoyable nonetheless. I will admit that Some Kind of Hero started off a bit rocky for me. It was hard to wrap my mind around what was happening. The beginning felt a bit abrupt and unbelievable, which made it a little difficult for me to really get into the book. However, around halfway through the book, things really started to kick off. The action and romance both started to come to a head and become explosive. I thought the suspense the author weaved into the later portion of the book was extremely exciting and addictive. The main female character, Shayla, was a fun character to read about. She was funny, dedicated, kind, thoughtful, and fiercely loyal. I really admired how great of a mom she was. She truly wanted her children to be happy and she always tried to go out of her way to make the best lives for her kids. I also loved that she was an author because as a book fanatic, I thought it was wonderful that I could relate to her love of books. I thought she was a strong and wonderful main character. My only issue with Shayla was the fact that she talked to her fictional characters in her head. It got very annoying and even confusing when she would talk to her characters in her head. Personally, it took me out of the story and I wish it wouldn't have been as prevalent. Peter the main male character, was a hot and charismatic alpha male. It was very attractive to see how much he cared about his daughter, even though he wasn't that close to her. I thought at times he was a little overbearing, but he was very swoon-worthy overall. His romance with Shayla was full of sexy moments that made me want to fan myself off. I thought they made a very dynamic duo and I liked how well their personalities complimented each other. Maddie was Peter's daughter and I was surprised how much time we got to spend with her in the book. There were times when she came off as bit bratty and immature, but I could see how smart she was and that she would grow into a smart and dynamic woman. Her relationship with Dingo warmed my heart. Dingo wasn't necessarily a great guy, but he had a kind heart. I really enjoyed watching their friendship blossom. Since there was an age gap with Maddie being so young (Maddie was only 15), I had a hard time shipping them romantically. However, I would love to see them in a book in the future once they have aged a bit. I definitely think they could have a romance that would steal my heart. The chase for Peter's daughter created an exciting and nail-biting plot for this book. I think fans of this series and fans of suspenseful romances will really enjoy this book! 3 / 5 Fangs *This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * MrsLeif's Two Fangs About ItFacebookTwitter
    more
  • Shawna
    January 1, 1970
    1 star - Romantic SuspenseBrockmann's Troubleshooters series has been one of my favorite romantic/military suspense series, but this was a very blah addition.I don't know what happened, but the last few books I've read by this author have been huge disappointments for me.Other readers/fans seem to like this one just fine, but sadly, I did not.
    more
  • Bj
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 "Writer's Block/Love Muse" Stars!Suzanne Brockmann is romantic suspense royalty. It's hard to believe that Some Kind of Hero is the seventeenth installment in the series as Ms. Brockmann is still creating fresh, interesting and engaging romantic suspense stories utilizing the Troubleshooters cast of characters, many of which have either been the protagonists or already been introduced in prior books. Fortunately, for newcomers to the series, however, Some Kind of Hero can still be read as a 4.5 "Writer's Block/Love Muse" Stars!Suzanne Brockmann is romantic suspense royalty. It's hard to believe that Some Kind of Hero is the seventeenth installment in the series as Ms. Brockmann is still creating fresh, interesting and engaging romantic suspense stories utilizing the Troubleshooters cast of characters, many of which have either been the protagonists or already been introduced in prior books. Fortunately, for newcomers to the series, however, Some Kind of Hero can still be read as a standalone as both the suspense and romantic arc are fully contained within this book. All that said, for those of you who are familiar with at least some of the Troubleshooters cast of characters, that prior knowledge undoubtedly adds an extra layer of excitement and connectedness to the plentiful secondary characters who make appearances in this book. So if you're already a Troubleshooters fan, you will be equally and perhaps extra pleased with Ms. Brockmann's latest.Lieutenant Peter Greene has his work cut out for him. Not only is he in charge of training new Navy SEALs, but he recently became a full-time father of his teenage girl (Maddie) when her mother passed away. Needless to say, Maddie is still grieving for her mother and not particularly happy to have to move to San Diego to move in with her previously "absentee" father. But Pete is trying his best to change her mind--even if he has no idea how to be the father of a teenage girl--when she ups the ante by running away. But its not too easy to hide from a man with his SEAL skills, so he's chasing her down when he literally runs into Shayla Whitman's car and begs her for a car ride to tail his fleeing daughter. Thus ensues a wild car chase when the pair nearly apprehend Maddie but with the help of a decidedly older man with a questionable Australian accent, she manages to get away. As Shayla and Pete get to know one another, however, over the chase, they realize they are neighbors and both single parents to teenagers (2 teenage boys in Shayla's case). Moreover, Shayla being a romantic suspense writer (even if she has been suffering from a terrible bout of writer's block for quite sometime), puts her writing skills to the test by helping Pete sleuth out just where Maddie and the much older "boyfriend" they suspect her of being with might be.But there is much more to this story than at first meets the eye, including matters occurring both in the past and present which Ms. Brockmann slowly unfurls for her readers' pleasure. Moreover, to solve this case and bring Maddie safely back home, Pete (and Shayla who insists on being part of the rescue operation) have to call in a number of Troubleshooters members to help. Can Shayla, Pete, and the Troubleshooters find and bring Maddie home safely? Moreover, do Shayla and Pete really share a heartfelt attraction or are they just reacting to the intensity and adrenaline inducing lust of the looming danger?I enjoyed so many things of this great read. From the humor to the chemistry to the slow unwinding of the events of the past and how it impacted Pete's and Maddie's relationship, this is one engaging and emotional journey. Moreover, Pete is a hero that really knows how to tug at your heart strings. Perhaps his only fault is that he is almost too perfect. From his understanding and protective nature to his loyal to a fault devotion, my heart poured out for him--this is one hero I definitely wanted to see get his HEA. Moreover, the quirky and funny Shayla (whose book characters speak to her in her mind) and who unfortunately has been made insecure by an equally unlucky past, also was a heroine that I rooted for. Whether you're a romantic suspense lover who is a Troubleshooters novice or a Troubleshooters afficionado, Some Kind of Hero is definitely worth a read!Source: Review copy provided for review purposes.
    more
  • Anita
    January 1, 1970
    Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.I am a Suzanne Brockmann groupie. I love everything she has written from her early sweet romances to her SEAL series, Tall, Dark and Dangerous, to Troubleshooters. I love them all. I've had this book for months and have just waited. I don't know why exactly, except I've had some disappointments with current books by other favorite authors and I just don't want to be disappointe Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) provided by the Author and Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an fair and honest review.I am a Suzanne Brockmann groupie. I love everything she has written from her early sweet romances to her SEAL series, Tall, Dark and Dangerous, to Troubleshooters. I love them all. I've had this book for months and have just waited. I don't know why exactly, except I've had some disappointments with current books by other favorite authors and I just don't want to be disappointed by this one. So, soon, soon I'll read and know.This book is Awesome! I think there are a lot of clues to the process that Suzanne Brockmann goes through to produce a book and maybe, like her character Shayla, she was a bit blocked at times. Loved the romance, loved the suspense, loved the main characters and loved Izzy! In short, I Loved This Book! I also loved Boat Squad John and will be extremely disappointed if they don't get their own books. You really need to read Ready to Roll before you read this one. It is a novella that introduces Lt. Peter Green and Boat Squad John and takes place right before the action in this book. Lt. Peter "Grudge" Greene is a BUDs instructor and career Navy SEAL. He is also the clueless father and now only parent of 15 year old Maddie Nakamura, whom he hasn't seen in a long time. Life has not been easy for them for the past two months as Maddie has had a really tough transition time. Now, she is on the run for her very life and Peter doesn't even have a clue as to why she's gone. The SEALS pull together to support and help Peter find Maddie. Shayla Whitman is their across the street neighbor, but they don't meet until Peter desperately needs to follow a car he saw Maddie get into. Hot SEAL On Board, Shay becomes Peter's road trip buddy as he searches for Maddie and the guy she took off with. The whole mystery and drama of it appeals to Shay who is a romantic-suspense writer who is having a hard time writing right now. What better way to procrastinate from your fictional romantic-suspense is there than to actually live one? But as she gets to know Pete and what happened with Maddie's mother, Lisa, she sees a lot more than HOT SEAL when it comes to Peter.Maddie hates her father as only a 15 year old who has to live with the guy for the first time can. Hate, love, hurt, misery, all describe Maddie. Now, her best friend, Fiona, has betrayed her and she is running for her life with Dingo, the 20 year old ex-boyfriend of Fiona and going nowhere slacker, and she doesn't know how she is going to get out of this, or even if she will. Maddie's trip takes her to some interesting places and with Shayla's skill in relating Peter and Lisa's story via text, she also comes to see that through a different perspective. Maddie also proved along the way that she is, indeed, her father's daughter.
    more
  • Robin
    January 1, 1970
    On her way home after dropping her son off at school, Shayla Whitman sees her new neighbor, Lt. Peter Greene, trying to flag cars down along the highway. When she stops to see what is wrong, he jumps in the car and orders her to follow a car in which his 15-year-old daughter just climbed into. Pete has been searching for his daughter, Maddie, since she left the house the previous day. Romance writer Shayla is thrilled to help out her handsome Navy Seal neighbor. She's also thrilled to be part of On her way home after dropping her son off at school, Shayla Whitman sees her new neighbor, Lt. Peter Greene, trying to flag cars down along the highway. When she stops to see what is wrong, he jumps in the car and orders her to follow a car in which his 15-year-old daughter just climbed into. Pete has been searching for his daughter, Maddie, since she left the house the previous day. Romance writer Shayla is thrilled to help out her handsome Navy Seal neighbor. She's also thrilled to be part of a rescue, just like the characters she writes about. As Pete and Shayla work to track down Maddie and her boyfriend, Dingo, they discover that Maddie may be in serious danger. I'm so glad Suzanne Brockmann is continuing her Troubleshooters series. This new addition to the series makes it feel like she never took a break. Pete and Shayla are both wonderful characters. I had a little trouble getting used to Shayla's inner dialogue coming from her own fictional character named Harry. But after a while I started enjoying Harry's quips. I also really liked Maddie's boyfriend, Dingo. Maddie wasn't a favorite of mine since she is very immature and somewhat selfish, but that can be forgiven since she just lost her mother and is still mourning her.Several favorites from previous Troubleshooter books are here to help, including Izzy Zanella. You can't go wrong when Izzy is on the scene. I'm looking forward to more Troubleshooter books in the future. My rating: 5 Stars.
    more
  • Sherwood Smith
    January 1, 1970
    Suzanne Brockmann specializes in romantic suspense novels. The ones I like best find that balance between the romance and the action, which is not an easy achievement. Every reader draws a different line, but for me, when the hero and heroine meet and fall into instant lust (like one where they were in a dungeon about to be shot as spies) and go on and on about how hot each other are, then the so-called danger diminishes to a paint-by-numbers plot. Nothing bad is going to happen. There will just Suzanne Brockmann specializes in romantic suspense novels. The ones I like best find that balance between the romance and the action, which is not an easy achievement. Every reader draws a different line, but for me, when the hero and heroine meet and fall into instant lust (like one where they were in a dungeon about to be shot as spies) and go on and on about how hot each other are, then the so-called danger diminishes to a paint-by-numbers plot. Nothing bad is going to happen. There will just be just enough mustache-twirling threat to transition between the long sex scenes, with maybe a dose of miscommunication aaaaangst.Some readers adore that, but not I.So, here we have Peter Greene, newly become a single dad, flagging down Shayla Whitman, a few years older, and mom of two teenage boys. As soon as Greene (who she notices is super hot) says that he just saw his kid get into a car with two unknown guys, she goes instantly into mom mode, and helps him because the man needs help. Not because he's hotter than hot.And aside from one obvious blunder (view spoiler)[ even I know that those old cars have removable seats in back so anyone could get into the trunk, but I totally give Brockmann a free pass because otherwise there would have been no story (hide spoiler)] the balance between rising tension, character development, and romantic slow-boil heat, is expertly managed. It was a pleasure to watch these two negotiate the landmines of their respective pasts as they dealt with the dangers of the present.Teen Maddie, Peter's daughter, is not only three dimensional, but so is her loser boyfriend Dingo. Shayla is a writer, and the writerly meta sometimes had me laughing out loud. Peter's struggle between his Navy SEAL persona and becoming Dad to a girl who hates him was beautifully handled, and in short, this was a terrific, atmospheric, tender, funny, fast-paced read with nail-biting tension at the end, and a sobering dose of real California history that I thought excellently handled.Copy provided courtesy of NetGalley
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I confess I’ve had a long, slightly obsessive love affair with Ms. Brockmann’s Navy SEALs since I first read Prince Joe (Tall, Dark & Dangerous) way back in 1996. From TDD to the Troubleshooters series, I can’t get enough. I’m one of those readers who would be waiting for the bookstore to open on release day, to sit in my car reading the latest book because I couldn’t wait long enough to drive home to get started on it. Ms. Brockmann is a woman of many talents and interests, which she has be I confess I’ve had a long, slightly obsessive love affair with Ms. Brockmann’s Navy SEALs since I first read Prince Joe (Tall, Dark & Dangerous) way back in 1996. From TDD to the Troubleshooters series, I can’t get enough. I’m one of those readers who would be waiting for the bookstore to open on release day, to sit in my car reading the latest book because I couldn’t wait long enough to drive home to get started on it. Ms. Brockmann is a woman of many talents and interests, which she has been pursuing the last several years. I applaud and support her in all her endeavors, but I’ve missed getting new books from her on a regular basis. I’m always excited to read a new Troubleshooters book. As one would expect in a 16+ book series, I love some books more than others, but every book in this series is a solid read. Some Kind of Hero probably won’t be on my list of Top Five Troubleshooters book, but I did thoroughly enjoy it. Shayla quickly catapulted to the top of my list of Ms. Brockmann’s heroines. She is smart, witty, compassionate, quick-thinking, and brave. Shayla is a successful author of romantic suspense, who hasn’t written a word in several years. I couldn’t help but think of her as the embodiment of Ms. Brockmann’s own experiences as a writer—readers constantly asking about the next book springs to mind. I have no clue if Ms. Brockmann was channeling any personal experience, but I read parts of it as a tongue-in-cheek commentary on the life of a writer, and I found it hilarious. Shayla’s internal dialogue—conversations with her main character, Harry, had me laughing out loud. I’m not sure if it was her maternal instinct (she’s a single mom to two teenage boys), or just her compassion that had her stopping everything to help, but I admired her resourcefulness, her humor, and her willingness to help someone she didn’t even know when her neighbor, Navy SEAL Peter Greene, enlists her help to find his runaway teenage daughter, Maddie. Peter didn’t affect me the way some of her other SEALs have, but he’s still pretty damn appealing. I’m not sure if it’s his earnest desire to be a good father to the daughter he’s never known, his cluelessness about how to actually accomplish that goal, or just that whole SEAL thing, but I found him very charming and sweet.Maddie and her friend, Dingo, was a sweet , if slightly unconventional, secondary love story. The historical plot thread of the Japanese-American internment during WWII is of great interest to me. I grew up in California’s San Joaquin Valley, home to many Japanese-Americans, many of whom were incarcerated for the duration of the war, including my uncle’s family. I’ve always loved the pieces of history Ms. Brockmann includes in the novels of this series.Even though characters from the series’ other books (Hello, Izzy Zanella!) play an important role in Some Kind of Hero, I don’t think it’s necessary to read the previous books, however, this is one of my all-time favorite series and I highly recommend reading from the beginning, The Unsung Hero. Some Kind of Hero doesn’t have the plot complexity, nor the depth of character development of the rest of the series, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it!Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    January 1, 1970
    Seriously enjoyed this SO much!! How could I not with a Navy SEAL single father hero and a romance writer heroine? This was my first Suzanne Brockmann book but it won't be my last! Full review to come!Thanks to the publisher for generously providing me a copy to review.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    January 1, 1970
    We already met our hero Peter in the previous book - he's the SEAL instructor in San Diego.But at the moment he's a concerned Dad. He just - kind of - inherited his 15 year old daughter Maddie. Her mom left him when the baby was just a toddler and he never saw them again. She's been with him for three months now and she's NOT loving it. And now she's also ... missing! That's how he ends up in his neighbor Shay's car to follow a trail. But they don't find her. But Shay and Pete are not giving up, We already met our hero Peter in the previous book - he's the SEAL instructor in San Diego.But at the moment he's a concerned Dad. He just - kind of - inherited his 15 year old daughter Maddie. Her mom left him when the baby was just a toddler and he never saw them again. She's been with him for three months now and she's NOT loving it. And now she's also ... missing! That's how he ends up in his neighbor Shay's car to follow a trail. But they don't find her. But Shay and Pete are not giving up, obviously. The single mom of two teenage boys is a romantic thriller author, and she has all the best ideas what to do in these kinds of situations! ☺ And with the help of Peter's huge Troubleshooter family they do everything in their power to find Maddie and fix her problems!══════════════════════════Finally a new #Troubleshooters book!I've loved Suzanne's SEALs books since the very first one I've read ages ago!They're all so full of ... story and history and love.They're so much fun! They're suspensy and sexy and adorable and ... deep.And this new Troubleshooter book was just as great as the others.I loved it. It was extremely romantic and sexy and funny and exciting.I only have two tiny little things to complain about ... the first one ... it might've been a bit too long. With a few more cuts here and there the reader wouldn't have felt that the story dragged a bit every once in a while. BUT, as I always say with my beloved Troubleshooters - the more the better! ☺ It didn't bother me much!!!And then Harry. Who is Harry you ask? Remember Anastasia Steele's inner goddess? Yup, that's Harry here. He's the star of Shay's FBI book series and he's in her head telling her what to think - or rather, he's telling her how hot Peter looks most of the time. And that she should hit that!☺ I never loved the inner goddess - I hated her. And I didn't much love Harry either. He's not around all that much, but he confused me in the middle of Suzanne's already slightly confusing writing style! BUT - since our beloved Jules Cassidy wasn't in this book, it was totally ok to have a fictional gay FBI guy in Shay's head! (Missing you JC!!!)☺☺Some people might complain about the standalone part of the book, because of course we have lotsa people from other books showing up. But what do you expect when you start at book 19 in a series. START at the beginning people! You don't know what you're missing out on!If you've always been a fan of the Troubleshooters, you NEED to read this book. You do not want to miss meeting everyone again. And you also want to find out if and how Shay and Grunge will get their HEA!!! New readers can of course read it too, but I would suggest you start with book #1! These characters are such an amazing bunch of people! It would be a shame to miss meeting them all! BUT - this story can totally be read as a standalone! It's an amazingly huge romantic suspensy family drama thing! I just loved it!Can't wait for the next Troubleshooter book! ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    January 1, 1970
    Writing this review is HARD.As in—I Don’t Wanna Do It But I Promised I Would And Now I Wanna Throw Up.First off, I LOVE Suzanne Brockmann. She is the epitome of all the goodness and bad assery every writer hopes to be like one day. If I could have one-tenth of her talent, I would consider myself lucky and die a happy woman. There, my fangirl swoon is over. So, I have been waiting like forty freaking eternities for a new Troubleshooters. I love this series so hard and can never recommend it enou Writing this review is HARD.As in—I Don’t Wanna Do It But I Promised I Would And Now I Wanna Throw Up.First off, I LOVE Suzanne Brockmann. She is the epitome of all the goodness and bad assery every writer hopes to be like one day. If I could have one-tenth of her talent, I would consider myself lucky and die a happy woman. There, my fangirl swoon is over. So, I have been waiting like forty freaking eternities for a new Troubleshooters. I love this series so hard and can never recommend it enough for those who love to read about the men and women who protect the good ‘ole Red, White, and Blue. BEST Fictional SEALs to date. BEST Military Romance Series EVER. Okay, I have procrastinated enough. Some Kind of Hero was just not what I had been expecting (Ugh—I feel nauseated just saying that out loud). For me, it started out slow and didn’t hold my attention. Usually, I absorb EVERY WORD and fall hard for Brockmann’s heroes. But the writing didn’t seem familiar. You know, you read an author long enough, you can SEE them in the words. I didn’t SEE Suzanne for most of the book. It wasn’t until the last third of the book that I was able to recognize what I’d come to know as Suzanne’s flair for heart pounding action and witty dialogue. Even the appearance of one of my favorite characters (Izzy) fell kind of flat. (Where was my snarky, highly-inappropriate Zannella?) In fact, some of the Izzy scenes felt unnecessary and didn’t promote the overall storyline. Have I mentioned how much I DON’T want to write this review? It hurts to say that Some Kind of Hero was just a so-so read. The heroine (Shayla) had this annoying habit (for me, anyways) of talking to her fictional hero (Oopsie. Forgot to mention Shayla is a romance writer) and uttering, “Shhh…” OUT. LOUD. And no one ever calls her out on it. After this happens a few times, I kept waiting for Peter to go….”Um….you all right?” or “Who the hell are you talking to?” Or at least run away in the other direction. Will I stop reading Brockmann? HELL.NO. And here’s why: As a reader, we tend to expect a stellar read with every book in a favorite series. And although I wouldn’t go as far as saying SKoH is horrible (nope, it wasn’t), I do have to say it was disappointing. But I will continue to read Suzanne Brockmann, especially the Troubleshooters series. It’s my crack. UGH--I feel like I just shit on my favorite author and that was NOT my intention. So I will leave off with what I DID like:1. The last third of the book. The pacing picked up. The heroine shows spunk and smarts. She “rescues” the hero with her on-the-spot intellect and is a heroine you can admire. Go Shayla!2. Hot, yet funny sex between the H/h. Sexy-against-the-wall lovin’ that had me laughing and squirmy. 3. While it started out kind of weird, I did like the secondary love story between Maddie and Dingo. I’d like to see more of this couple in future books. For the avid readers and fans of the Troubleshooters series, I hope you find more enjoyment out of SKoH than I did. And if you happen to be Suzanne Brockmann and reading this review . . . don’t hate me. Because you still are the epitome of all the goodness and bad assery I hope to be one day. *ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Guest Reviewer Trish❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Gretchen (About That Story)
    January 1, 1970
    This was a fun, chaotic read. Nothing like jumping into a series with book 17! I loved the sound of the synopsis and decided to give it a try.Some Kind of Hero was a fun, light, romantic suspense story that was rather light on the suspense. I enjoyed the overall storyline of Shayla and Peter, Peter and his daughter Maddie, and even with Maddie and her friend Dingo. There were some entertaining moments, some sweet and heartfelt ones, some drama, and action. It was a good read and I liked it well This was a fun, chaotic read. Nothing like jumping into a series with book 17! I loved the sound of the synopsis and decided to give it a try.Some Kind of Hero was a fun, light, romantic suspense story that was rather light on the suspense. I enjoyed the overall storyline of Shayla and Peter, Peter and his daughter Maddie, and even with Maddie and her friend Dingo. There were some entertaining moments, some sweet and heartfelt ones, some drama, and action. It was a good read and I liked it well enough that I read it to the end because I wanted to know what happened and to get to the HEA. I thought Shayla and Peter had a decent romance happening but it all felt very fast paced and not very deep, but definitely sweet.The first half felt drawn out with everything and everyone being introduced and I was having a hard time being fully invested because there was just so much information being given. It was easy to put it down and walk away. The second half came around and it totally picked up. The pace and flow were better, and it became exciting to read. Great ending which had a nice amount of action. It ended nice and neat and clean.It was good but I had some issues. There were multiple POVs, so many that I felt it was confusing. Lots of characters were introduced and since this is book 17 in the series but the first one I’ve read, it felt like a lot and it gave it a very cluttered feel. Shayla was a writer and her main character talked to her in her head, it was pretty much her conscience but it happened so much that it felt like over kill and got old pretty quick.I liked it well enough but I honestly don't know if I'd back track and read other books in the series. It was good but I wasn't blown away. I really enjoyed the light and fun aspects of it that made it entertaining however, I loved those moments. A solid 3 stars.Complimentary copy received for honest review.
    more
  • Lisa - (Aussie Girl)
    January 1, 1970
    DISCLAIMER - I love the Troubleshooters series, it takes me to my reading "happy place" so the five star rating is as much for that as for this actual instalment. Some Kind of Hero reminds me a lot of SB's earlier Alpha Team 10 series in that it's more a story about family relationships and happily ever afters rather than gripping romantic suspense. And she didn't get her character Richard "Dingo" Dingler quite right as as Aussie, I think SB got us a bit confused with Englishmen. But nevertheles DISCLAIMER - I love the Troubleshooters series, it takes me to my reading "happy place" so the five star rating is as much for that as for this actual instalment. Some Kind of Hero reminds me a lot of SB's earlier Alpha Team 10 series in that it's more a story about family relationships and happily ever afters rather than gripping romantic suspense. And she didn't get her character Richard "Dingo" Dingler quite right as as Aussie, I think SB got us a bit confused with Englishmen. But nevertheless there was quite a lot humor and the Troubleshooters legendary camaraderie (love Boat Squad John) and despite a simpler plot line still a really enjoyable read. 4.5 stars
    more
  • Aja James
    January 1, 1970
    Maybe I'm not into this kind of writing style any more. You can see all my detailed progress notes as I read the book... It was underwhelming. :(The Hero did not seem like the sharpest tool in the shed, which, given that he's a SEAL and an instructor at that, was a bit unbelievable. The Heroine's internal dialogue with her fictional character took way too much prime time in the book. The side story with the daughter I totally skipped. Most of the book was just not believable. Ms. Brockmann lost Maybe I'm not into this kind of writing style any more. You can see all my detailed progress notes as I read the book... It was underwhelming. :(The Hero did not seem like the sharpest tool in the shed, which, given that he's a SEAL and an instructor at that, was a bit unbelievable. The Heroine's internal dialogue with her fictional character took way too much prime time in the book. The side story with the daughter I totally skipped. Most of the book was just not believable. Ms. Brockmann lost me from pretty close to the first few pages when the guy is trying to flag down a car to chase after his daughter and the woman driving the car decides to then stick with him like glue for 3 days, tho they're strangers and she has a life of her own with 2 sons!Then there's the - because I'm a NAVY SEAL, every female should be salivating over me thing - which, I get, I do, and it's why I read these types of books. But clubbing me over the head with this at every opportunity is really overdoing it. I chatted up a SEAL (Senior Chief if I recall correctly) recently during my travels and while he definitely expected there to be an impressed reaction when he tells people he's a SEAL, it was only on the initial introduction. I felt like reading this particular book, the stereotypical SEAL was just too stereotypical and not as compelling as many of Ms. Brockmann's other Heros. The Heroine, given the unbelievability of her actions, I didn't like at all.So. Maybe I need to take another very long break before I pick one of these books up again.
    more
  • ❤ Romance Novel Junkie ❤
    January 1, 1970
    Some many thoughts I don't know where to start!First, I am so happy to be back in the Troubleshooters world again. If you ask me what my favorite series of all time I would have to say this one (tied with J.R. Ward's BDB series). Not only do I love the TS books, I love anything Suzanne Brockmann writes. I would probably read her grocery list and be happy. I'm not a crazy person but I would totally go fangirl if I ever met her in person. In fact, I emailed her once and she emailed me back. I stil Some many thoughts I don't know where to start!First, I am so happy to be back in the Troubleshooters world again. If you ask me what my favorite series of all time I would have to say this one (tied with J.R. Ward's BDB series). Not only do I love the TS books, I love anything Suzanne Brockmann writes. I would probably read her grocery list and be happy. I'm not a crazy person but I would totally go fangirl if I ever met her in person. In fact, I emailed her once and she emailed me back. I still have the email and that was in 2005. (Don't judge. It's not every day one of your favorite authors emails you.)Some Kind of Hero starts out right in the middle of trouble, and the story sucks you right in. The heroine, Shayla, come across her neighbor, our hero, Lt Peter Greene, while he's searching for his missing fifteen-year-old daughter, Maddie. What starts out as Shayla giving Pete a ride turns into her helping Pete find Maddie, and along the way they get to know each other and fall in love.I really like both the H and h, and thanks to Shayla's description I would now like SB to provide a picture of what Pete looks like in his white boxers. (*sigh* A girl can dream, anyway.) Both Shayla and Pete have their own issues, but they are pretty well grounded and not overly dramatic. This a huge plus for me. I really do like angst for the sake of angst. I like that Shayla is a little older and that they are in a biracial relationship. Suzanne doesn't do the standard hero/heroine formula and that's one of the things I love about her. Her relationships are real and not perfect. One thing I loved about Shayla is that she's a writer and one of her main characters, Harry, talks in her head all the time. Harry made me laugh and it had me wondering who Suzanne has talking in her head. Sam? Jules? Izzy? All of the above? Which make me wish I could spend some time hearing the "advice" Sam and Izzy would dish out, while I assume Jules is constantly trying the to be the voice of reason.And then there is Lieutenant Peter Green. He's a perfect example of what an alpha male should be. In a world where jerk alphas are becoming more and more popular in the romance genre, Suzanne still writes her alphas how I feel they should be. You can be a dominate, know what you want, hardass guy and not treat women like they are second class citizens. Just because a hero is polite and respectful, it doesn't take away from his hotness or make him weak. Pete can say hello to me anytime.Some Kind of Hero reminded me a lot of The Unsung Hero. I think because of the young ladies' POVs in both books. In The Unsung Hero there is Mallory, and in Some Kind of Hero there is Maddie. Besides Shayla, Pete, Maddie (and Maddie's friend Dingo), we get Izzy's POV. Yay! Love me some Izzy. I always love seeing my favorite characters come back to visit. Some Kind of Hero also made me think of the books more toward the beginning of the series because many of the books had overall continuation from one book to the next. (Even though the H/h got their HEAs, other things in the Troubleshooters world wasn't quite finished.) In this book the main conflict is relevant to only this book and it is wrapped up by the end. I suppose that's a good thing but it does make me wonder what Suzanne is going to write next. And I do love the continuation throughout the series. That's what make Suzanne Brockmann such a good author. But she did think she was done with Izzy's story so it makes sense that she had to start with something fresh.I hope that I remembered all the highlights and stuff I wanted to share. One last thing. Make sure you read Free Fall, Home Fire Inferno [Burn, Baby, Burn!], and Ready to Roll before reading Some Kind of Hero. Of course, you should really read all the books before reading this one, but I know some people skip the novellas so I thought it was worth mentioning.I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jacqueline
    January 1, 1970
    I feel that for me Ms Brockmann has lost her shine. This book felt very studied, very deliberately written. I finished it 3 days ago and cannot remember what it was about. Okay, just looked at the synopsis inside the front cover. There was a lack of character development which kept the relationship between the hero and the heroine from being more immediate. Maybe it was a deliberate choice but there wasn't much physical description of the characters. It took me until 2/3rds of the book to figur I feel that for me Ms Brockmann has lost her shine. This book felt very studied, very deliberately written. I finished it 3 days ago and cannot remember what it was about. Okay, just looked at the synopsis inside the front cover. There was a lack of character development which kept the relationship between the hero and the heroine from being more immediate. Maybe it was a deliberate choice but there wasn't much physical description of the characters. It took me until 2/3rds of the book to figure out for sure if the heroine was african american or latina. Just saying she had dark skin is no help. I'm not sure at all what Peter looked like other than he was built. I know that's not real important to a story but having a firm grasp on what your characters look like helps place them firmly in your mind. Also there wasn't a lot of conflict between the two of them which is really what makes a romance work in a memorable way. Actually my favorite character turned out to be stoner Dingo. At least there wasn't a lot of preaching in this one which is a relief from the last few books by SB. The suspense part of it also was just sort of blah. If SB is intending to continue this series, I am wondering why she is not starting a story for another couple in the course of this book which is what worked so well in the early novels in the Troubleshooters series, watching a couple work towards their HEA through the course of several books so that you were totally invested by the time you got to their book.Will I quit reading her? Probably not but I am hoping for more of that old zing in future books.
    more
  • Irene Sim
    January 1, 1970
    Arc provided by publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.RTC
  • i fall in love book blog
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsI was worried that I would be out of the loop when I started this book, so I was hesitant to pick it up at first. It is a true standalone and I enjoyed it, but not as much as I think I would have had I been a loyal reader of the series. This is my first Suzanne Brockmann book and I can see the appeal that she has. It was funny, light, and a bit suspenseful all rolled up into a nice package. The characters were interesting and I wouldn't mind reading more from her.As I stated before, I t 3.5 StarsI was worried that I would be out of the loop when I started this book, so I was hesitant to pick it up at first. It is a true standalone and I enjoyed it, but not as much as I think I would have had I been a loyal reader of the series. This is my first Suzanne Brockmann book and I can see the appeal that she has. It was funny, light, and a bit suspenseful all rolled up into a nice package. The characters were interesting and I wouldn't mind reading more from her.As I stated before, I think if I had read the Troubleshooters series previously then I would have really enjoyed it. There were many couples mentioned, with MANY updates that I would have enjoyed had I already read their books. As it was, I felt like I was just getting a piece of the story with each of them and I wished I had more.I received an advance reader copy of this book that I have chosen to review.
    more
  • Teresa
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this one! I always appreciate Suzanne's ability to write diverse, interesting, and strong characters. Shayla was one of my new favorite heroines, and I loved that she was a romance writer. All the meta romance writer stuff was fun. I loved that these two characters were older, mature, and both had kids and some things to overcome from that angle first. The plot and action was exciting too. It made for an overall awesome read. And now I'm sad to be all caught up on Troubleshooters. But than Loved this one! I always appreciate Suzanne's ability to write diverse, interesting, and strong characters. Shayla was one of my new favorite heroines, and I loved that she was a romance writer. All the meta romance writer stuff was fun. I loved that these two characters were older, mature, and both had kids and some things to overcome from that angle first. The plot and action was exciting too. It made for an overall awesome read. And now I'm sad to be all caught up on Troubleshooters. But thank goodness Suzanne has such an extensive backlog for me to finally dive into.
    more
  • ShoSho
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsI have to start by saying I regretted requesting this book on Netgally a few hours after I clicked on request. I have had this book on my Goodreads shelf since Feb 05, 2015. I added it after finishing Do or Die (Reluctant Heroes, #1) the first book in Reluctant Heroes which I absolutely loved. That was my first Suzanne Brockmann book ever and this book was suppose to be the second book in that series not #19 in Troubleshooters series which I haven't read any of the books. For some unkno 4.5 starsI have to start by saying I regretted requesting this book on Netgally a few hours after I clicked on request. I have had this book on my Goodreads shelf since Feb 05, 2015. I added it after finishing Do or Die (Reluctant Heroes, #1) the first book in Reluctant Heroes which I absolutely loved. That was my first Suzanne Brockmann book ever and this book was suppose to be the second book in that series not #19 in Troubleshooters series which I haven't read any of the books. For some unknown reason the GR librarians or perhaps the publishing team has changed the series name instead of creating a new book! When I added it, it clearly said unknown title (reluctant heroes #2) and not Troubleshooters #19.Being OCD about reading series in order it was really hard for me to make myself start reading the book. But I had committed myself by requesting so I made myself pick this up.Being the 19th book in the series there are obviously a lot of characters that enter the story and it is assumed the reader knows their story. And being fair and honest here, the part these characters had wasn't too big and I could guess a little of their back story. This can be read as a stand-alone, it's just that it made me uncomfortable reading out of order!My rant is over and now the review:Everything about the characters worked for me, their ages, their race , their jobs and their families.They were such a lovely and unique combination.Shayla was a few years older and a romantic suspense writer. How good is that? I absolutely loved her, well no that's a lie! Scratch that I loved everything about her expect one thing. She had the habit of talking to her imaginary book character aloud. It was funny sometimes but most of the time I found it annoying.Other than this I loved everything else about the book. Peter/Grunge was a great hero. I really liked how he still had feelings for his ex. Some people might not like this about him but it shows that he is steady and true in his feelings. Ever since I finished the book last week, one of the characters, a 20 year old man/boy has been on my mind. I work with 19-22 year-olds, mostly boys. I was trying to see one of them as this character and I couldn't. He was a puzzle for me.As for the plot, I needed a bit more convincing reasons for a criminal to go to this much trouble to get this little money out of a teenager. In the end it all worked well.I'm hoping to pick up more books from Suzanne Brockmann back list. There are so many to choose from but this time I'll try the first book in one of her series.
    more
  • Regina
    January 1, 1970
    LOVED IT. More soon.
  • Caitlyn Lynch
    January 1, 1970
    It's been a while since I've read any Suzanne Brockmann - my TBR list is bonkers and unless I fall utterly in love with an author I don't religiously read their every work - but I remember her books as being solid romantic suspense with sexy heroes, strong heroines and hot love scenes. So when I spotted this one on NetGalley I figured I'd pick it up. Should be a nice solid read to counter the run of eye-burningly awful ones I've had in the last couple of weeks, I thought.Well.Look, it wasn't bad It's been a while since I've read any Suzanne Brockmann - my TBR list is bonkers and unless I fall utterly in love with an author I don't religiously read their every work - but I remember her books as being solid romantic suspense with sexy heroes, strong heroines and hot love scenes. So when I spotted this one on NetGalley I figured I'd pick it up. Should be a nice solid read to counter the run of eye-burningly awful ones I've had in the last couple of weeks, I thought.Well.Look, it wasn't bad.But that's kind of damning with faint praise for an author as well-known as Brockmann, isn't it? And faint praise is about all I can muster, because about three days later, I'm having to wrack my brains to remember the names of the principal characters. The hero's jailbait daughter and her older boyfriend were far more interesting than the Navy SEAL and his neighbourly girlfriend.There were some hefty info-dumps about the internment of Japanese Americans in WWII, which while quite intriguing to those interested in history, also came off as lecturing. Including subject matter which the author finds interesting is all very well but you have to find a way to make it interesting to the reader, and we saw Manzanar through the eyes of a teenage girl who saw it not as the national disgrace it is and the site of the internment of some of her family members, but as a possible place to hide out from trouble. It made it hard to care, about Manzanar and about the character who just came off as a disrespectful little brat by that point.Brockmann also falls into the series trap many authors fall into of including characters from her previous books (which is fine) but making whole chunks of the book actually about them and told from their PoV (which is not). I didn't give a toss about Izzy Zanella, whoever he was. If you're writing a long-running series, you need to make it new-reader-friendly. Or even old-reader-who-missed-that-book-friendly, because otherwise the reader can get the feeling of having just stumbled into an exclusive club where everyone but you knows the secret handshakes.One other thing which as an author I found really problematic; Shayla, the MFC of the book, is a romance author who has conversations out lout with Harry, one of her characters who lives in her head.This isn't the funny, quirky, charming trait of authors it was made out to be. A lot of authors do differ psychologically from the majority of the population and our mental issues aren't something to make a joke of. Not cool, Ms. Brockmann. Not cool at all.Some Kind Of Hero has its good moments; the love scenes were as hot as I expected and Peter and Maddie were very believable as the estranged father and daughter trying to come to terms with each other. At the end of the day, though, I can't say any more than 'it was okay', and therefore I'm giving it 3 stars.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review through NetGalley.
    more
Write a review