Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17)
Navy men don’t come tougher than Lieutenant Peter Greene. Every day he whips hotshot SEAL wannabes into elite fighters. So why can’t he handle one fifteen-year-old girl? His ex’s death left him a single dad overnight, and very unprepared. Though he can’t relate to an angsty teen, he can at least keep Maddie safe—until the day she disappears. Though Pete’s lacking in fatherly intuition, his instinct for detecting danger is razor sharp. Maddie’s in trouble. Now he needs the Troubleshooters team at his back, along with an unconventional ally.Romance writer Shayla Whitman never expected to be drawn into a real-world thriller—or to meet a hero who makes her pulse pound. Action on the page is one thing. Actually living it is another story. Shay’s not as bold as her heroines, but she’s a mother. She sees the panic in her new neighbor’s usually fearless blue eyes—and knows there’s no greater terror for a parent than having a child at risk. It’s an ordeal Shay won’t let Pete face alone. She’s no highly trained operative, but she’s smart, resourceful, and knows what makes teenagers tick.Still, working alongside Pete has its own perils—like letting the heat between them rise out of control. Intimate emotions could mean dangerous, even deadly, consequences for their mission. No matter what, they must be on top of their game, and playing for keeps . . . or else Pete’s daughter may be gone for good.

Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17) Details

TitleSome Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN0345543823
ISBN-139780345543820
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, War, Military, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Some Kind of Hero (Troubleshooters, #17) Review

  • Auntee
    September 9, 2015
    Hardcover? Think I'll wait for the paperback...Obviously I didn't have to wait, thanks to Netgalley and the publisher...After a bit of a slow start, this book really took off, things started falling into place, and I ended up really enjoying it!It's been a while since I read a Brockmann book (she hasn't been so prolific lately) and I jumped at the chance to read another book in what once was my favorite RS series (Troubleshooters). While it wasn't the best Troubleshooters book ever, it was a sol Hardcover? Think I'll wait for the paperback...Obviously I didn't have to wait, thanks to Netgalley and the publisher...After a bit of a slow start, this book really took off, things started falling into place, and I ended up really enjoying it!It's been a while since I read a Brockmann book (she hasn't been so prolific lately) and I jumped at the chance to read another book in what once was my favorite RS series (Troubleshooters). While it wasn't the best Troubleshooters book ever, it was a solid read and one that got better and better as I got deeper into the book.The whole story centers around the hunt for Lt. Peter ('Grunge') Greene's runaway 15-yer-old daughter (the kind of obnoxious Maddie). Maddie's in trouble because her so-called female 'friend' framed her and now she has an evil drug dealer mad at her and out for the $10,000 she supposedly stole. If she doesn't pay him he will most likely kill her. She takes off with a friend of this friend (older semi-stoner 'Dingo', who is unaware that she's just 15) rather than just asking her father for help. (Hey, she's a stupid teenager). So why doesn't she trust her dad to get her out of this mess, you ask?Lt. Peter "Grunge" Greene Well, Maddie and Peter hardly know each other. He wasn't with her mom (who recently died a few months ago) for that long. Her mom (Asian-American Lisa) was a flighty woman who strung Peter along since high school. When Peter tried to provide for his family by enlisting in the Navy, Lisa couldn't take it so she left him and took their baby daughter with her, often moving from town to town. When Peter became a SEAL, he had less and less time to spend with Maddie, and they grew apart. Now with Lisa dead, the only real family left in her life is Peter. They hardly know each other, but Peter wants to change that and make an effort with Maddie. He moves them to a family friendly neighborhood in San Diego, but Maddie is stand-offish, surly, and grieving. She's not a bad kid but gets in with the wrong crowd, and now finds her life in danger. Deep down she doesn't believe that her father wants her or loves her. Can Peter's across-the-street neighbor, romance novelist Shayla Whitman, help change that perception?"Shay" Pretty, 40ish African-American Shayla Whitman, recent divorcee, and mother of two teenage boys, has noticed the hunky shaggy-haired Navy SEAL who recently moved in across the street. When she sees him trying to flag down a motorist for help outside the high school, she makes a quick decision to help him. Peter tells her to 'follow that car' that he's sure his teenage daughter got in to, and the chase is on. Over a matter of days, Shay helps Peter to try to locate his daughter, find out why she's on the run, and get father and daughter to learn about one another (through a series of clever texts detailing the relationship of Lisa and Peter). Along the way, the initial spark of attraction between Peter and Shay (who waste a lot of time assuming stuff about each other) ignites into a white hot fire--but is it just lust, or something more? Can something be right after only a few days together?I have to be honest, what made this book come alive was when Izzy Zanella (good buddy to Peter) first appeared! Yay! And then a very pregnant Lindsey, Mark, Adam, Eden, Jen, Gilman, Lopez...they were all either mentioned or had a hand in helping Peter. I also enjoyed seeing some new SEAL recruits--all named 'John' but of course they all had nicknames...Hopefully Suz will continue with these characters and give them each their own books.I really liked to Shay as a character. Wow, this woman was smart! I also enjoyed her inner dialogue with herself, and also her dialogue with one of her fictional heroes (a knockoff of gay FBI character Jules Cassidy). And...she had some pretty hot sex scenes with Peter. How they managed that while looking for his daughter? You'll just have to read it to find out.:)Peter was pretty cool too. Once he told his story to Shay about his relationship with Lisa and I learned more and more about him, I could see that he wasn't just a handsome guy, but an honorable guy with real substance. I wanted these two to work!So once things got moving in this book, it became hard to put down. I usually like Brockmann's writing because I always feel I learn something new when I read her books. And I did learn something about the Japanese internment camps in California during World War II. I only had limited knowledge of that time and SB managed to really open my eyes to something that was so, so wrong. And she expertly wove this into the story too without it seeming preachy.All in all a solid effort. If she continues with her new SEAL recruits (the 'Johns'), and even revisits Maddie and Dingo--he really grew on me, and now that he's (view spoiler)[ a Marine... (hide spoiler)] the possibilities seem endless--I think she'll have some winners on her hands. 4 1/2 starsARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley
    more
  • Sherwood Smith
    February 15, 2017
    Suzanne Brockmann specializes in romantic suspense novels. The ones I like best find that balance between the romance and the action, which is not an easy achievement. Every reader draws a different line, but for me, when the hero and heroine meet and fall into instant lust (like one where they were in a dungeon about to be shot as spies) and go on and on about how hot each other are, then the so-called danger diminishes to a paint-by-numbers plot. Nothing bad is going to happen. There will just Suzanne Brockmann specializes in romantic suspense novels. The ones I like best find that balance between the romance and the action, which is not an easy achievement. Every reader draws a different line, but for me, when the hero and heroine meet and fall into instant lust (like one where they were in a dungeon about to be shot as spies) and go on and on about how hot each other are, then the so-called danger diminishes to a paint-by-numbers plot. Nothing bad is going to happen. There will just be just enough mustache-twirling threat to transition between the long sex scenes, with maybe a dose of miscommunication aaaaangst.Some readers adore that, but not I.So, here we have Peter Greene, newly become a single dad, flagging down Shayla Whitman, a few years older, and mom of two teenage boys. As soon as Greene (who she notices is super hot) says that he just saw his kid get into a car with two unknown guys, she goes instantly into mom mode, and helps him because the man needs help. Not because he's hotter than hot.And aside from one obvious blunder (view spoiler)[ even I know that those old cars have removable seats in back so anyone could get into the trunk, but I totally give Brockmann a free pass because otherwise there would have been no story (hide spoiler)] the balance between rising tension, character development, and romantic slow-boil heat, is expertly managed. It was a pleasure to watch these two negotiate the landmines of their respective pasts as they dealt with the dangers of the present.Teen Maddie, Peter's daughter, is not only three dimensional, but so is her loser boyfriend Dingo. Shayla is a writer, and the writerly meta sometimes had me laughing out loud. Peter's struggle between his Navy SEAL persona and becoming Dad to a girl who hates him was beautifully handled, and in short, this was a terrific, atmospheric, tender, funny, fast-paced read with nail-biting tension at the end, and a sobering dose of real California history that I thought excellently handled.Copy provided courtesy of NetGalley
    more
  • Sarina Bowen
    February 9, 2017
    God, I loved this book. Not only was it a real page-turner, it gave me hope during a rather dark month. And who doesn't love a swoony single dad? Read it. You won't be sorry.
  • ❤ Romance Novel Junkie ❤
    February 8, 2017
    Some many thoughts I don't know where to start!First, I am so happy to be back in the Troubleshooters world again. If you ask me what my favorite series of all time I would have to say this one (tied with J.R. Ward's BDB series). Not only do I love the TS books, I love anything Suzanne Brockmann writes. I would probably read her grocery list and be happy. I'm not a crazy person but I would totally go fangirl if I ever met her in person. In fact, I emailed her once and she emailed me back. I stil Some many thoughts I don't know where to start!First, I am so happy to be back in the Troubleshooters world again. If you ask me what my favorite series of all time I would have to say this one (tied with J.R. Ward's BDB series). Not only do I love the TS books, I love anything Suzanne Brockmann writes. I would probably read her grocery list and be happy. I'm not a crazy person but I would totally go fangirl if I ever met her in person. In fact, I emailed her once and she emailed me back. I still have the email and that was in 2005. (Don't judge. It's not every day one of your favorite authors emails you.)Some Kind of Hero starts out right in the middle of trouble, and the story sucks you right in. The heroine, Shayla, come across her neighbor, our hero, Lt Peter Greene, while he's searching for his missing fifteen-year-old daughter, Maddie. What starts out as Shayla giving Pete a ride turns into her helping Pete find Maddie, and along the way they get to know each other and fall in love.I really like both the H and h, and thanks to Shayla's description I would now like SB to provide a picture of what Pete looks like in his white boxers. (*sigh* A girl can dream, anyway.) Both Shayla and Pete have their own issues, but they are pretty well grounded and not overly dramatic. This a huge plus for me. I really do like angst for the sake of angst. I like that Shayla is a little older and that they are in a biracial relationship. Suzanne doesn't do the standard hero/heroine formula and that's one of the things I love about her. Her relationships are real and not perfect. One thing I loved about Shayla is that she's a writer and one of her main characters, Harry, talks in her head all the time. Harry made me laugh and it had me wondering who Suzanne has talking in her head. Sam? Jules? Izzy? All of the above? Which make me wish I could spend some time hearing the "advice" Sam and Izzy would dish out, while I assume Jules is constantly trying the to be the voice of reason.And then there is Lieutenant Peter Green. He's a perfect example of what an alpha male should be. In a world where jerk alphas are becoming more and more popular in the romance genre, Suzanne still writes her alphas how I feel they should be. You can be a dominate, know what you want, hardass guy and not treat women like they are second class citizens. Just because a hero is polite and respectful, it doesn't take away from his hotness or make him weak. Pete can say hello to me anytime.Some Kind of Hero reminded me a lot of The Unsung Hero. I think because of the young ladies' POVs in both books. In The Unsung Hero there is Mallory, and in Some Kind of Hero there is Maddie. Besides Shayla, Pete, Maddie (and Maddie's friend Dingo), we get Izzy's POV. Yay! Love me some Izzy. I always love seeing my favorite characters come back to visit. Some Kind of Hero also made me think of the books more toward the beginning of the series because many of the books had overall continuation from one book to the next. (Even though the H/h got their HEAs, other things in the Troubleshooters world wasn't quite finished.) In this book the main conflict is relevant to only this book and it is wrapped up by the end. I suppose that's a good thing but it does make me wonder what Suzanne is going to write next. And I do love the continuation throughout the series. That's what make Suzanne Brockmann such a good author. But she did think she was done with Izzy's story so it makes sense that she had to start with something fresh.I hope that I remembered all the highlights and stuff I wanted to share. One last thing. Make sure you read Free Fall, Home Fire Inferno [Burn, Baby, Burn!], and Ready to Roll before reading Some Kind of Hero. Of course, you should really read all the books before reading this one, but I know some people skip the novellas so I thought it was worth mentioning.I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Regina
    December 16, 2014
    LOVED IT. More soon.
  • Tami
    March 28, 2017
    My definition of a standalone is that you don't need to read the previous books in the series to follow all the happenings. This needed previous books to follow along some of the plot. Definitely not a standalone. #DeadbeatDadThis review is based on the ARC provided by the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • ImABookAddict
    March 14, 2017
    I received this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.When I requested an ARC of this book, it was because the blurb sounded delicious. I had no idea about the series or on Suzanne Brockmann's writing. Now that I've finished the book, I'd have to say it was an unexpected, excellent read that I would be reading again because the dialogue was just. THAT. GOOD.The story starts off with Shayla seeing her new neighbor Pete trying to flag down any car by the side of the road near the com I received this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.When I requested an ARC of this book, it was because the blurb sounded delicious. I had no idea about the series or on Suzanne Brockmann's writing. Now that I've finished the book, I'd have to say it was an unexpected, excellent read that I would be reading again because the dialogue was just. THAT. GOOD.The story starts off with Shayla seeing her new neighbor Pete trying to flag down any car by the side of the road near the community's high school. She then proceeds to stop her car to check what he needs. While this is extremely dangerous in real life, it didn't seem to much of a TSTL move for our intrepid heroine because she knew he was a Navy Seal with a teenage daughter. They haven't officially met yet but she knows of him and their kids go to the same high school (though it is a pretty big one). So, she stops and he tells her he’s not dangerous, he’s a Navy Seal, yada, yada, yada. He just needs someone to help him follow a car that his teenage runaway daughter just got into. Yes, we officially start the story with the daughter already in the wind for thirty-six hours. And Shayla, being a mom, is immediately along for the ride. I must say, being a mother myself, that I would have had the exact same reaction as Shayla had when the word “daughter” (or son) is paired up with “missing.” Even if it’s coming from a stranger. Because this is a parent’s worst nightmare. This is my worst nightmare. And since Suzanne Brockmann started off the book with this, there was no question that I was immediately hooked. There was no initial introduction to Maddie (the daughter) as an angsty teenager or a quick preview into her relationship with her dad before she goes missing. You’re not allowed to judge who she is as a person. You’re not given a chance to like or dislike her personality. You’re just shown that a teenage girl is missing and she needs to be found, safe and sound, right effing now. And that is really what matters. Whether the girl is sweet or a brat of epic proportions, when a child goes missing, you act and you invest your emotions in finding them. And I loved that this was how it was done because reading the next few chapters, we get to see how Maddie has been uncooperative, sullen, angry at the world, especially at her dad. I understand that her mother just died and she knows nothing of her father whom she believes abandoned them. We, on the other hand, get to see just how much Pete loves his daughter and is trying to be the dad that she deserves. So, while I did get a bit annoyed at Maddie for not running to her dad for help and being all antagonistic to him, it never made me think too badly of her because I was already invested in her as someone’s daughter who needed to be found. But what really made the story for me was Shayla and Dingo. Yes, you read it right. There was a character named Dingo. Before we go to that, let’s talk about Shayla. She is the mother that I want to be. Strong on the outside despite the numerous fears on the inside. She’s funny, smart, loving, compassionate, and strict. She’s close to her kids and friends with her ex-husband (even if he cheated on her) because she wants her kids to be happy. She is Mom. She’s also a romantic suspense author who uses her creative thinking skills to help Pete figure out where to look next, who to talk to, and plan for different possible scenarios. I love her mind. I don’t think I’m adequately describing how great she is. She’s no Mary Sue because she has her flaws like talking to herself a lot and hearing the voice of one of her main characters in her head. She always shushes him (the voice) out loud which can get annoying. But did I mention she was funny?“One of my characters had really bad migraines,” she told him, “but I don’t get ‘em, I’m lucky right? Anyway, I went onto one of those medical symptom-checker websites to do a little research… one of the things on their general symptoms list was Can you taste words? And ever since then, I’ve used that as a personal benchmark. How’m I doing? Great, because you know what? Things might be bad, but I’m still not tasting words.”And then there was Dingo. The 21-year-old fake Aussie who was in love with 15-year-old Maggie. Before you go “WTF!”, there was no action between the two. Dingo was very conscious of Maggie’s age and behaved appropriately at all times, even when Maggie was trying to get him to do something. But he’s no saint either. He’s just a marijuana-dealing, lives-in-his-car guy who has a good heart and would do anything to protect Maggie, including from himself. Anyway, I know this is awfully long already but there was just so many things that clicked for me in this book. I can’t gush about it enough. I’ll definitely be putting Some Kind of Hero on my keeper shelf.
    more
  • Natalie
    February 20, 2017
    I received an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI had some high expectations for this one; I love the Troubleshooter series so much! And having devoured the latest novellas starring my fave Seal of all time, Izzy Zanella, I was really excited for this one. However, for me this one fell a bit short. I feel like in the beginning it dragged a bit, and after a while it was becoming a struggle to keep reading, and I get the slow build to action but this was a bit too slow IMO. I kept I received an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI had some high expectations for this one; I love the Troubleshooter series so much! And having devoured the latest novellas starring my fave Seal of all time, Izzy Zanella, I was really excited for this one. However, for me this one fell a bit short. I feel like in the beginning it dragged a bit, and after a while it was becoming a struggle to keep reading, and I get the slow build to action but this was a bit too slow IMO. I kept waiting for the action to get here! And I did like the end part because finally something was happening, but felt there could have been more build up I guess. I’ll admit the few Izzy POV chapters were what intrigued me the most, but as I said earlier he is my fave so team Izzy for life! Things that irked me: I get that people are flawed creatures, we sometimes say and do some reallyyy cringe worthy stuff BUT I could not get past some things Shayla said/thought, I just couldn’t. For instance when she goes to Peter’s house and some of his friends are there and she just literally met Adam (at this moment she’s unaware that Adam is actor Adam Wyndham) and her first though is he’s adorable and probably gay????? Um say what??? How did she land on gay? There was nothing in her thought processes that even indicated why she would think this. Is she just assuming this because of how Adam’s dressed? He’s just sitting there, so what makes her assume this? Because, yeah I know IRL people make allll sorts of assumptions about others but really Shay? You’re just gonna assume this right off? Another thing that really bothered me was when Shay much later down in the book says that Maddie’s mom/Peter’s ex: “was probably seriously clinically mentally ill…” again what is Shayla even basing this on?? She’s never met Lisa, only knows anything about her from Peter’s story and yes, while it’s clear Lisa was a cheater and a perhaps a liar too how does Shay deduce Lisa’s supposed mental illness from anything Peter says? She backs up her assumptions with nothing, just assumes this and Peter doesn’t call her on it either so does he agree or just not care what she’s saying?? >.> I’m no expert on mental illness at all and I could be very wrong, but this seems like a huge assumption on Shay’s part. Now onto the whole Dingo and Maddie situation. Dingo is twenty, Maddie is fifteen. We see that Dingo realizes he likes Maddie and he’s very aware that she’s underaged, he says this to himself and won’t give in to his attraction to her, except he does by kissing her after the earthquake >.> She is fifteen!!! And they supposedly love each other (Maddie says it first). But did we forget she is fifteen???? So there was the kiss after the earthquake and the one where he was sleeping and Maggie kisses him, supposedly after Dingo kisses her (he was sleeping and thought he was dreaming this then wakes up like wtf she’s kissing me). I’m reallyyy glad we get Dingo letting Maddie know that no that wasn’t cool cuz he was asleep and couldn’t consent to the kiss so kudos to Dingo for that but really? This whole thing between them just had me sighing in a not good way! Dingo who I might remind you is an adult and twenty, and Maddie who is freaking fifteen?? Yeah no. And even though we see Dingo telling Maddie nope we’re not gonna do this, he’s not gonna give into his supposed love for her I’m like…was it even necessary to set up this whole we can’t be together cuz you’re underaged thing in the first place? They could’ve just been strictly friends and later on, in another book perhaps, when Maddie is an actual adult you see the friends to more grow. But right now? With her being fifteen? I just could not get past that fact. I don’t think Dingo’s a bad guy at all…he risked a lot to help Maddie, hell he jumped in front a gun for her and at least he didn’t take advantage of her (side eyes him for that first kiss tho) but he’s an adult, she’s fifteen! And yes at the end there’s the whole he’ll wait til she’s of age and meantime they’ll be chaperoned visits etc etc but Yes I’m still gonna be stuck on that! I feel like that still shouldn’t go un-acknowledged. So when Maddie is an actual adult I look forward to their story, if there will be one written.I did like that Shay does call Peter on his bossy “you need to do this thing I’m telling you to do” by letting him know right off that yeh no do not tell her/command her what she has to do and challenges him on this. Good. Lots of books I see the hero telling the heroine what she has to do like she doesn’t get a choice in the matter. Even if done out of worry for her safety he got called on it so yes, go Shay! So while I’m sad to say this one wasn’t my fave I am looking forward to what’s next in this series. *cough* please Jay Lopez’s book please. Also want to see more of Boat Squad John, those guys are awesome! And as always more Izzy Zanella please and thanks!
    more
  • Bungluna
    March 22, 2017
    The latest in the Troubleshooter series by author Suzanne Brockmann centers around Lt. Peter Green and his troubles with his daughter Maddie. The latter comes to live with him after her mother dies in a car crash; since they haven't been in contact for years, their relationship is very strained. When Maddie pulls a runner, he enlists his neighbor, romantic suspense novelist Shayla, to help him locate the runaway teen.The first meeting between Peter and Shayla never made no sense to me. Why was h The latest in the Troubleshooter series by author Suzanne Brockmann centers around Lt. Peter Green and his troubles with his daughter Maddie. The latter comes to live with him after her mother dies in a car crash; since they haven't been in contact for years, their relationship is very strained. When Maddie pulls a runner, he enlists his neighbor, romantic suspense novelist Shayla, to help him locate the runaway teen.The first meeting between Peter and Shayla never made no sense to me. Why was he on the side of the road and why did he need Shayla to stop and give him a ride to pursue a car that he thinks his daughter got into?!Frankly, the suspense part of the story was lacking, if not outright boring. This author excels at truly edge-of-your-seat action and there was non of that in this one. Maddie was exasperating and her reasons for taking off with Shaggy in the Mystery Machine, er, Dingo in his beat-up car, made no sense. She needed a spanking, in my opinion.The relationship between Shayla and Peter wasn't very interesting either. But the biggest disappointment was the denouement. No great SEAL action here at all.Seeing Izzie and the gang was good, but not good enough. If I hadn't been following this series since the beginning, I wouldn't be so disappointed, I think, As it stands, I don't consider this one a worthy entry into the Troubleshooters world.
    more
  • No Apology Book Reviews
    February 15, 2017
    I would like to thank Suzanne Brockmann, Ballantine/Random House Publishing Group, and NetGalley for allowing me to read an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Lieutenant Peter Greene’s daughter, Maddie, goes missing, and Shayla Whitman offers to help him find her. Over the next few days, they use every resource available to them to track her down, but Maddie is on the run with her friend Dingo and doesn’t want to be found. As Pete and Shayla spend time together chasing leads, they find themsel I would like to thank Suzanne Brockmann, Ballantine/Random House Publishing Group, and NetGalley for allowing me to read an ARC in exchange for an honest review.Lieutenant Peter Greene’s daughter, Maddie, goes missing, and Shayla Whitman offers to help him find her. Over the next few days, they use every resource available to them to track her down, but Maddie is on the run with her friend Dingo and doesn’t want to be found. As Pete and Shayla spend time together chasing leads, they find themselves struggling to resist the attraction growing between them. Their lives don’t need any more complications…but the heat between them may melt their resolves.________I was going to rate this four stars, but by the time I got done overanalyzing it, I realized it really wasn’t all that impressive. Coming after Do or Die, it was disappointing.Now, I liked this book. Every time I had to step away, I was eager to get back to it. It was fun while I was reading it. But…I still have a love/hate relationship with Brockmann’s very conversational writing style, with all the unnecessary yeahs and okays and oh Gods that most authors would edit out to sound more sophisticated. It sets her apart, though, and makes her writing identifiable, which is good, so more power to her. The characters were sympathetic, relatable, and lovable, but I cared more about Maddie and Dingo than Shayla and Pete. I’m not sure why; maybe because they’re closer to my age, or maybe because they were on the run while Shayla and Pete were relatively safe. Maddie’s attitude was annoying, of course, as it was supposed to be, but she’s so smart, and there were glimpses of maturity that drew me into her arc. And Dingo was an idiot who was involved in drugs and living in his car, but he was such a sweetie, I was more in love with him than Pete. I think what made the younger set so attractive was their potential to evolve into extraordinary people. Maddie could bloom into an intelligent, confident, and strong woman; Dingo could find his spine and learn to use his brain. Shayla and Pete were already established adults with firm convictions, just horny and lonely and emotionally conflicted enough to be self-conscious.The plot was far less complicated and more predictable than Brockmann’s other Troubleshooter books, and it was noticeably shorter than the others. That’s not necessarily a bad thing; it just seemed like an unusually simple and straightforward plot for her. However, there were several things that bothered me. First, while many aspects of the story gave me the feels, I felt the narrative overall wasn’t very exciting, or even particularly dramatic. It had everything it needed to be both, but it never managed to get my blood pumping with anticipation. It was intriguing enough to keep me hooked, but the few action scenes were kind of low-key and bland, which means the climax of the story was disappointing: SPOILERI expected a team of SEALs to bust in and open a can of whoop-ass on a drug cartel, but Shayla and Pete just had to take on a couple of dumbass thugs. I don’t think they even broke a sweat. I remember I finished reading the scene and thought, That’s it?End SpoilersAlso, the Manzanar bits felt forced. I know Brockmann usually works in an entire WWII-era subplot, but apparently she couldn’t think of a way to incorporate one this time. She still wanted to reference the horrors of that time period, however, because she’s always knocking America upside the head, so she shoehorned it in there. But it just wasn’t necessary, at least not to that extent. It could have been removed, the script tweaked, and the same ends would have been achieved.Then, I’m really confused about how Pete was in the position he was when he and Shayla met at the beginning. I went back and used keywords to search for an explanation I might have missed, but I couldn’t find one. If it’s there and I’m just oblivious to it, I apologize and please skip past the following paragraph.But from what I can tell, Shayla and Pete only get together because he needed a ride to pursue the car Maddie was in. Because for some reason, Pete didn’t drive to the school, he “hiked.” He was at home with his friends, worrying about Maddie and “getting more silent and tight-lipped as each hour passed, until [he] announced that he was hiking over to the high school because he couldn’t just sit still any longer.” I’m not sure what Brockmann meant by that; did Pete just get restless and go for a walk, or did he go to the school to look for Maddie and search for clues? If the former, then I guess it makes sense that he was on foot and unexpectedly needed a ride, but I can’t imagine him wasting energy going for an aimless walk when he’s frantic about his daughter’s whereabouts. It wouldn’t have been in character for him. But then if he went looking for Maddie, why on earth didn’t he take his truck? Also, would he seriously have thought he’d find her at the school at seven o’clock in the evening? It was very, very lucky for him that Maddie got cold and wanted to fetch her coat from her locker, even though there were blankets in Dingo’s car, and went to the school at seven because she thought that was a time when her father *wouldn’t* be at the school looking for her. Major irony there. And I’m confused about what Maddie, Dingo, and Daryl had been doing at that time, too. No agenda was mentioned, and there are a million possibilities for why three young people were out driving at seven at night, but it’s implied that the trip was made so Maddie could get her coat…(what self-respecting runaway leaves her coat at school?)…and I have a hard time believing they would have made the trip just so she could get her coat. Homeless Dingo couldn’t afford to waste gas—but he didn’t seem to worry about it much, so maybe he was too ignorant to realize or too busy worshiping Maddie to think practically. But I really can’t imagine Daryl indulging her, especially when there were blankets in the car that she could have wrapped up in to keep warm. I think I’m supposed to assume that they were out looking for Fiona, as well as evading Nelson, and made a detour to the school, but they go on to do things in their search that I would think they’d have already done… And why would Daryl have wanted to get involved in that? … I don’t know, I’m tired of puzzling over it. The point is that the beginning confused me. I feel that it was weak and convenient and Brockmann could have done a much better job setting things up.There was one other issue that was introduced, then never really got resolved. Pete’s friend Izzy was incredibly hurt that his supposed best bud never told him he had a daughter. Pete apparently never even hinted at ever having had relationships other than one night stands. But Izzy got over it because his friend needed his help, which is awesome and incredibly mature…but I think it needed to be addressed at some point for Izzy’s peace of mind. Or at least my peace of mind. It wouldn’t have ever come between them, of course, they’re completely loyal to one another, but when the dust had settled, I think even Izzy wouldn’t be able to resist asking, maybe over a beer, “Hey, so how come you never mentioned your daughter?” It’s kind of a big deal. And no, the book wasn’t about Izzy and Pete’s friendship, it was about Pete and Shayla falling in love, so it isn’t relevant, right? Then why mention it AT ALL?? Why did Brockmann bring it up if she was just going to gloss over it? I haven’t read the last few Troubleshooter books, but I have a feeling it might have been a way of allowing Pete to have a surprise daughter that was never mentioned before.I wonder if Shayla’s writer’s block was inspired by Brockmann’s personal experience, because this book was pretty darn lazy…like this was all she could manage to write while her creativity wasn’t firing on all cylinders. There’s the baffling beginning, the unresolved issues, the token explanations—and the fact that Shayla was a romance novelist. There is nothing lazier than a novelist writing about a novelist, unless the character needs to be a novelist in order for the plot to work, and here her occupation wasn’t integral to the plot. It was more of a running gag.Also, the earthquake was just an excuse to get Shayla and Pete together so they could have sex, and Shayla’s fear of earthquakes was just an excuse to make the earthquake sort-of matter. Honestly, she seemed like a pretty fearless person and did things that someone who professes to be afraid of “literally everything” wouldn’t do. Wouldn’t even think to do. Maybe I’m supposed to think it was part of her arc, that she faced her fears and evolved as an individual, but I don’t buy it. A civilian who’s afraid of “literally everything” wouldn’t have the guts to jump the curb and drive down the sidewalk to get around a line of cars. That was “explained” by her maternal instincts going into overdrive, but I think that was an excuse for her to be uncharacteristic. Shayla had to be afraid of “literally everything” in order for the earthquake sequence to work, but then she needed a reason to override her fear of “literally everything” when Peter needed her to.Okay, okay, I’m done. I’m just…done with this book. You probably won’t believe me at this point, but this book IS fun to read…if you don’t think about it too hard, as I just have. I gotta stop doing that.PS - I would sell my soul for more Maddie and Dingo.noapologybookreviews.com
    more
  • Teresa
    February 14, 2017
    **I received a copy of Some Kind of Hero from Net Galley and Random House Publishing -Ballantine and Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Some Kind of Hero by Suzanne Brockmann is book 19 in her Troubleshooter's series. I have read the other series by the author and was able to read this as a stand alone without problems as it also included a few of the previous books characters and some new ones.Shayla Whitman is a romance writer who has hit the writer's block wall but when **I received a copy of Some Kind of Hero from Net Galley and Random House Publishing -Ballantine and Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Some Kind of Hero by Suzanne Brockmann is book 19 in her Troubleshooter's series. I have read the other series by the author and was able to read this as a stand alone without problems as it also included a few of the previous books characters and some new ones.Shayla Whitman is a romance writer who has hit the writer's block wall but when driving home one afternoon, she sees her new handsome neighbor, Lt. Peter Greene waving down anyone who'll stop. When Shay stops and realizes that its her very hot Navy neighbor, she doesn't hesitate to go on a hunt to help him find his 15-year-old daughter, Maddie. When they come up with possible suspects, it will take Peter's team and new recruits from Boat Squad John to find Maddie who is on the run from her ex-best friend's drug dealer. I'd loved the banter between Shay and her detective character, Harry Parker, who kept giving suggestions on what he'd do. Lieutenant Peter Greene is still trying to find his way around the complex job of raising his 15 year old daughter, Maddie, whom he hasn't had contact with since she was an infant. But when she runs away and joins up with two of her friends, he does what he can and turns to his new neighbor for how to make things right with Maddie. But her boy friend, Dingo, isn't really who he wants in her life so with Shay, Izzy, Time bomb, Seagull, and his other SEAL Team 16 team mates they will find a way to get Maddie home to her dad. When both Shayla and Peter finally give into their feelings for each other he'll do anything to get Shay, her two sons, Tevin and Frank, and Maddie to be a family together.Great book and a wonderful story line with all of the old characters from previous books and new characters.
    more
  • Beth
    February 8, 2017
    I received this ARC copy of Some Kind of Hero from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine. This is my honest and voluntary review. Some Kind of Hero is set for publication July 11, 2017.
  • Jen
    March 2, 2017
    I will preface my review by saying I absolutely love the Troubleshooters series. I've read pretty much every book in the series, minus one or two novellas. Suzanne Brockmann is simply one of my favorite authors; I was really excited to read this one.So it pains me to write a review in which I really didn't enjoy a Brockmann book that much. I liked it, but I didn't love it like all the others. This book really just wasn't very memorable and it moved incredibly slow. I kept waiting for things to g I will preface my review by saying I absolutely love the Troubleshooters series. I've read pretty much every book in the series, minus one or two novellas. Suzanne Brockmann is simply one of my favorite authors; I was really excited to read this one.So it pains me to write a review in which I really didn't enjoy a Brockmann book that much. I liked it, but I didn't love it like all the others. This book really just wasn't very memorable and it moved incredibly slow. I kept waiting for things to get really exciting and when things finally did pick up, it was just boring and over in a minute. There were no SEALs sweeping in to the rescue. The Troubleshooters team was also MIA in this book for the most part, which was disappointing since I love those guys (and ladies). The best parts of the book were those that involved Izzy, because who doesn't love him?I love that Brockmann always includes some historical segments in her books, but the Manzanar pieces really didn't add much to the plot. It was a nice history lesson for those who may not have been aware of it, but that's about it. The part that annoyed me the most was that every time Peter/Shayla got close to Maddie/Dingo, they were just a little too late. EVERY SINGLE TIME. This happened nearly every chapter it seems, so it just became expected and not at all exciting after a while. So the story begins with Lieutenant Peter Greene stopping author Shayla Whitman in the middle of the road when he spots his 15 year old daughter getting into someone's car. Peter doesn't realize at the time that Shayla is his neighbor and she recognized him, else she probably wouldn't have stopped. His daughter has gone missing and he finally gets the break he needs. Shayla agrees to follow the car with Peter riding shotgun. They track them to a mall, but Maddie is nowhere to be seen. Peter & Shayla's journey to becoming a couple begins here, as well as their quest to find Maddie and bring her home. The Maddie/Dingo storyline is actually more interesting in my opinion than Peter/Shayla a lot of times. Maddie is 15, Dingo is 20...yeah, big problem for Dingo there once he discovers her real age. Maddie's friend Fiona is psychotic it seems and owes a local drug gang leader $10K, but tells the guy that Maddie has the cash, while Fiona is sent out to a boarding school after trying to burn down her aunt's apartment. So the bad guys are now after Maddie and instead of turning to her 'just met him' Navy SEAL dad for help, she turns to Dingo for help instead. I just wanted to scream at her the entire book to finally just talk to her dad. I mean he knows what he's doing and can surely protect her. I still don't quite understand why she didn't want his help. Yes, he wasn't a part of her life until after her mom died, but he's still her dad and he has a lot of connections that would have been useful against people trying to find and hurt her. I had respect for Dingo reaching out to Peter/Shayla behind Maddie's back though. He didn't have to, but he did the right thing when he saw that she was going to continue to be an immature stubborn 15 year old. He's still too old for her, but I have high hopes that things will work out for them in the future when she's of age. The Peter/Shayla story was sweet, but at times the 'great communicators' that they were seemed to forget that they also needed to communicate their feelings. They made way too many assumptions about the other person's feelings. I'm use to seeing that in books, but again, it kept happening over and over again. I did love that Peter/Shayla did what it took to rescue Maddie. It was risky, but both of them wanted to protect her from harm and I respected their courage. The epilogue was sweet, but predictable.I just hope the next book in the series is better. I have a lot of respect for Suzanne Brockmann as a writer, but in this one just fell short this time.Disclaimer: I was provided with an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Marlene Brown
    February 25, 2017
    I am a huge fan of Suzanne Brockman and being given this opportunity to read an advanced copy of her book was a wish come true. I have missed the teams ( the novellas have been great) and was looking forward to more...Grunge, Pete, was a mystery character in previous books, novellas, and seemed a little bit out of place with the surfer dud thing he had going on,, so now being able to understand his background I was able to better understand him and I went back and read other books where he appea I am a huge fan of Suzanne Brockman and being given this opportunity to read an advanced copy of her book was a wish come true. I have missed the teams ( the novellas have been great) and was looking forward to more...Grunge, Pete, was a mystery character in previous books, novellas, and seemed a little bit out of place with the surfer dud thing he had going on,, so now being able to understand his background I was able to better understand him and I went back and read other books where he appeared. Yes that is how much I love these books. Shayla was just so fun, and Harry a hoot. I really enjoyed the backstory with her writing and the blocks....very interesting and educational. The way they come together, work together and write together, OOOHHHH the letters to Maddie are beautiful. The way the author is able to make a character be so present without even being alive, and the way we get to know her just by these letters, unbelievable. I wish there were more. I love touching base with my trouble-shooters / Seal teams, I mean who does not want more Izzy in their life. . And then we have Dingo!!! Please tell me there will be more......his letter to Peter, well my heart expanded and then the epilogue, so many feels for this!! My heart melted...Hello!!!! OMG The only negative I have is when the characters make the wrong assumptions about what the other may want, let's talk it out sooner people!!! There was enough mystery and misunderstanding in the book without having to go there. This was a great great book and I can't recommend it enough.
    more
  • Tarah
    March 16, 2017
    I received an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI love this book!!!! Easily one of my to 3 favorite Suzanne Brockman books!!! I am a hardcore Suzanne Brockman fan and I love her books but this was really one that I really enjoyed! I like how the characters come to life and how they poke fun at each other, even at Suz herself. I love Shay and i can say that she is my favorite heroine from all of Suz's heroine so far ( yes I like her better than Alyssa). She was super relatable to I received an ARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI love this book!!!! Easily one of my to 3 favorite Suzanne Brockman books!!! I am a hardcore Suzanne Brockman fan and I love her books but this was really one that I really enjoyed! I like how the characters come to life and how they poke fun at each other, even at Suz herself. I love Shay and i can say that she is my favorite heroine from all of Suz's heroine so far ( yes I like her better than Alyssa). She was super relatable to me. She is quearky, smart, funny, and badass and an indépendant woman. All of Suz's heroine are strong fleshed out women but Shay is different to me in the sense that she is really accomplished.She has lived a full life and has made a name for herself on her own. She is at a point in her life where she does not have any of the hang ups that most heroine ( and younger women) have, and that was really refreshing. Plus she has characters in her head! The hero is really interesting too , even after finishing the book I wanted to know more about him.Once you start reading this book,you just cant put it down! It is just so engaging! And Izzy is part of it too,which is alway a plus!Suz' s books are pretty diverse in general but this cast was just awsome.If this book was a movie, the ratio for white and other ethnicities would be 50/50 and I just love it!!!!Overall, great read! I am already impatient to read her next book an who knows when that going to come out!
    more
  • Philippa Lodge
    March 8, 2017
    I've been eagerly looking forward to this book since it was announced a few months ago and recently reread most of the series (Yes, that's a lot of books). Then I saw that it was available on NetGalley and thought "Ooooh, I have NetGalley account!" So I got a new password (It's been a while) and requested and TA-DA! ANYWAY.I really enjoyed it. Like some of the other books in the series, the hero and heroine get along almost too well right from the start. They're both convinced the other one isn' I've been eagerly looking forward to this book since it was announced a few months ago and recently reread most of the series (Yes, that's a lot of books). Then I saw that it was available on NetGalley and thought "Ooooh, I have NetGalley account!" So I got a new password (It's been a while) and requested and TA-DA! ANYWAY.I really enjoyed it. Like some of the other books in the series, the hero and heroine get along almost too well right from the start. They're both convinced the other one isn't going to want a long-term relationship, but everything they reveal about themselves says that they're both eager for a long-term relationship. So the conflict between them could have been stronger, but, you know: when it's right, it's right.That was balanced by so much outside conflict with "Grunge's" daughter being chased by a drug lord because her one friend in her new school (while she's living with the dad she's never met) told the drug lord that Maddie had the $10,000. And poor, messed-up "Dingo" trying to save her and trying to be noble and not fall for a fifteen-year-old (I have more opinions about this, because setting up a relationship between a 20-year-old and a 15-year-old is NOT COOL, but am glad Dingo turned out to be a good guy, even though he was a major f***-up in every other way).Most of all, this was a book for authors, though. No, really.The heroine is an author. A successful author of romantic suspense novels with a gay FBI character who talks in her head. SOOOO. Oh, and she's been unable to write for the last couple years due to writer's block, probably because of all the other stuff going on in her life. If you follow Brockmann online at all, you'll know that she's had about a thousand other things going on over the last couple years, but it's also been a while since her last novel came out.All the thoughts and statements about life and character and writing and so on rang true for me as an author, which is what helped bumped my rating up to a five, because I almost gave it 4 stars because it felt like there were threads that just meandered off and were never tied off. Others were tied up a bit too tidily.Other things that bumped my rating up: I read it as fast as I could, staying up too late the first night and sneaking pages over breakfast and lunch and while waiting for kids to get out of school.My opinion went up once I thought of this as instead of Peter and Shayla wooing each other (though they did), they had to woo Maddie (as well as physically save her). Shayla was a little too good at being a mom and never seemed to goof up with her kids or even with Maddie.Overall, a great read, especially for fans of the Troubleshooters (Hooray! Izzy! Boat Squad John!) and for authors.
    more
  • Marcia
    March 17, 2017
    Romance author and divorced mother of 2 teen boys, Shayla Whitman has had writer's block for two years, so when she sees are new sexy SEAL neighbor on the side of the road signaling for help, she stops her car, lets him in and begins the biggest adventure she has every had. Lieutenant Peter Greene is looking for his teenage daughter, Maddie, who has disappeared. Maddie's mother had refused to marry Peter when then were both too young to be parents and had taken off with their baby, moving from o Romance author and divorced mother of 2 teen boys, Shayla Whitman has had writer's block for two years, so when she sees are new sexy SEAL neighbor on the side of the road signaling for help, she stops her car, lets him in and begins the biggest adventure she has every had. Lieutenant Peter Greene is looking for his teenage daughter, Maddie, who has disappeared. Maddie's mother had refused to marry Peter when then were both too young to be parents and had taken off with their baby, moving from one parter to the next, but at that time Peter had thought it was the best for Maddie, to let them go. When Lisa suddenly dies, Maddie is sent to live with her father, hence the new house. As a new student , who is lost and depressed, she falls in with the wrong crowd and is suddenly being chased by a drug dealer's goons, when her "friend", Fiona, who owes the dealer money, tells him that she gave it to Maddie before she left town. Not knowing her father, and believing her mother's tales that he didn't care about her, she takes off with Fiona's "ex" the two of them trying to figure out how to stay alive. With Shayla's skill set as a mother and with the imagination of a writer, they search for Maddie and of course, since this is a romance, move from friends, to lovers. I received an ARC from netgalley.com to review before release. This is the first book that I have read from this author, which put me at a slight disadvantage since I was not already familiar with the series and peripheral characters, but enough backstory was added to make this not a problem. I found this a very well written, exciting, but also humorous book and will add the previous 16 books to my "to read" list.
    more
  • Marie
    February 27, 2017
    4.5 stars for this entertaining read by one of my favorite authors.Shayla, romance author, sees her Navy SEAL neighbor waving his arms at the side of the road so she quickly stops. He has no idea who she is but asks her to help him find his 15-year-old teenaged daughter who he believes her to be in a car that is getting away. Sometimes life is stranger than fiction and Shayla immediately follows 'that' car. Suzanne Brockmann uniquely combines a romance author with an alter ego and her teenaged 4.5 stars for this entertaining read by one of my favorite authors.Shayla, romance author, sees her Navy SEAL neighbor waving his arms at the side of the road so she quickly stops. He has no idea who she is but asks her to help him find his 15-year-old teenaged daughter who he believes her to be in a car that is getting away. Sometimes life is stranger than fiction and Shayla immediately follows 'that' car. Suzanne Brockmann uniquely combines a romance author with an alter ego and her teenaged boys with a Navy SEAL and his troubled daughter in a story riddled with action, suspense and of course, romance! My sincere appreciation to Ballantine/Random House, Netgalley and the especially the author for allowing my advance read of this story.
    more
  • Lisa Zeigler
    March 4, 2017
    I’ve been reading Ms. Brockmann’s books for many years with some of the earlier ones with Blue, Cowboy, Frisco, and Harvard in the Tall, Dark, and Dangerous, etc. type books. Then when she started the Troubleshooters with The Unsung Hero and many more and I fell in love with her characters, the storylines, the action, romance, and dialogue. I miss some of the earlier characters such as Max, Tess, Nash, and Decker. Some of the other TS/FBI/Navy characters have continued in several books and I lov I’ve been reading Ms. Brockmann’s books for many years with some of the earlier ones with Blue, Cowboy, Frisco, and Harvard in the Tall, Dark, and Dangerous, etc. type books. Then when she started the Troubleshooters with The Unsung Hero and many more and I fell in love with her characters, the storylines, the action, romance, and dialogue. I miss some of the earlier characters such as Max, Tess, Nash, and Decker. Some of the other TS/FBI/Navy characters have continued in several books and I love Jules, Sam, Alyssa, Jenkins and others. I love all of the characters but Izzy became my favorite and still holds that spot. So I was thrilled that he was a part of this story. I love his quirkiness, his bursting into song, his friendship, loyalty, and his love for Eden.I’ve read almost every book of Ms. Brockmann’s but haven’t read the recent novellas so wasn’t very familiar with Peter ‘Grunge’ Greene. I can’t say this is my most favorite book by Ms. Brockman as she’s had so many outstanding ones but any story by her is entertaining and a fun read.Peter’s neighbor, Shayla is a romance writer and it was hilarious how one of her characters, Harry, ‘talks’ to her and she receives many odd looks when she responds out loud to Harry! The more I read about Peter and his relationship with Lisa, his daughter Maddie’s mother, the more my heart broke for him. I won’t go into the many years after he and Lisa broke up till the present day as that is addressed in a very special and unique way, but his personal life was just drifting and not making personal connections. Ms. Brockmann deftly writes characters that I love no matter if they are straight or gay, white, black, or interracial. She also adds some history to many of her stories and I always learn something new. I enjoyed watching the developing relationship between Peter and Shayla while they each wonder how the other really feels. Ms. Brockmann can certainly write some passionate sexy times! The suspenseful portion of the story kept things hopping with Peter’s missing daughter, Maddie and each of their experiences trying to find her before the bad guys.I loved seeing Izzy, Eden, Mark, Lindsey, Gilman, Jenn and their ongoing lives and changes. I was SO excited for Izzy at the end of the book. The ‘Boat Squad John’ was too funny with everyone named John and watching as they struggle through the Seal training. Patrick Lawlor has narrated the majority of Ms. Brockmann’s Troubleshooter books and as soon as Izzy showed up in the story, I started ‘hearing’ his voice. He does an outstanding job on all of the characters so I can’t wait till this is out in audio.Thanks to Ms. Brockmann and Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book. I’ve been waiting a LONG time for another one of her stories.
    more
  • Linda
    March 27, 2017
    Peter and Shayla are neighbors but don’t meet until Peter’s 15 year old daughter, Maggie, goes missing. There’s a little bit of everything in this book. Peter’s a Navy Seal and Shayla is a romantic suspense author, there’s a movie star, a pregnant ex-cop, a drug dealer, lots of bad guys, drug money that’s missing, excitement, murder, love! See, everything that you could ask for in one book. It’s all there. And it’s a really good book. I loved it! I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in Peter and Shayla are neighbors but don’t meet until Peter’s 15 year old daughter, Maggie, goes missing. There’s a little bit of everything in this book. Peter’s a Navy Seal and Shayla is a romantic suspense author, there’s a movie star, a pregnant ex-cop, a drug dealer, lots of bad guys, drug money that’s missing, excitement, murder, love! See, everything that you could ask for in one book. It’s all there. And it’s a really good book. I loved it! I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Marjorie
    February 27, 2017
    I love the Troubleshooters books and this did not disappoint. Take a Navy Seal, Peter Greene, who suddenly has custody of his teenage daughter and he doesn't know how to handle her. When she goes missing, he meets his neighbor, Shayla Whitman, an author. She assists him in his search with helpful suggestions so he finds himself falling for Shayla. Shayla is divorced with two sons and the realistic romance expectations of blending families is handled very well.Keep up the good work, Ms. Brockmann I love the Troubleshooters books and this did not disappoint. Take a Navy Seal, Peter Greene, who suddenly has custody of his teenage daughter and he doesn't know how to handle her. When she goes missing, he meets his neighbor, Shayla Whitman, an author. She assists him in his search with helpful suggestions so he finds himself falling for Shayla. Shayla is divorced with two sons and the realistic romance expectations of blending families is handled very well.Keep up the good work, Ms. Brockmann.
    more
  • Molli Struebing
    February 10, 2017
    This book was gifted to me as a proof by the publisher. Another great story by Suzanne Brockmann. She never disappoints a reader. Loved Pete and Shayla, and how great was it 'seeing' Izzy Zanella again! "Boat Squad John' was awesome, and I hope we see more of them. As always you can tell the tremendous research that went into the WW2 back story. And seeing Pete's teenage daughter grow into her own was wonderful. I definitely recommend this book.
    more
  • Sheila
    February 19, 2017
    You won't be disappointed. There are returning characters but they don't steal the spotlight from our leads. The synopsis is perfect without giving anything away but I will say this: I need a short story of how Harry met his husband.
  • Chantal Ostiguy
    February 26, 2017
    I loved these books in the series. This one was not what I expected. It was a bit long before the story unfolds. I was a bit disappointed with the storyline. But I enjoyed it still. I hope to have more books from Suzanne Brockmann
  • Kaetrin
    March 6, 2017
    Reviewing for Dear Author. Link to come. Review will be posted around release date (in July 2017)
  • Samantha
    February 21, 2017
    Suzanne Brockmann is back and better than ever. Review to come closer to book release. Fantastic!
  • mary beth bourgeois
    February 10, 2017
    I loved this book.. It had returning characters and new faces. I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Marj Ward
    March 19, 2017
    Another book in the Troubkeshooter's series. This is Peter (Grunge) and Shayla's story. Peter's daughter (who comes to live with him after the death of her mother), runs away, is later kidnapped and Peter and Shayla fall in love. I enjoyed reading this book very much.
    more
  • Brooke
    March 14, 2017
    **This ARC was given to me by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**Really, Suzanne Brockmann can do no wrong. I always love her writing; she's one of my very favorites in this genre, and maybe this wasn't my favorite adventure, but it was still a very enjoyable read. Great characters, fun dialogue, and a whole lot of action equals an excellent book. This is always the case with Suzanne's books--no exception here. Can't wait for the next one!
    more
  • Michelle
    March 12, 2017
    To say I was happy to be back in the world of the Troubleshooters is an understatement. Even though I don’t remember being introduced to Peter Greene in previous books, it doesn’t matter. He was memorable enough in this one, and there are enough visits from previous heroes and heroines that I felt right at home. Suzanne Brockmann is a master of romantic suspense, and when you throw in a military hero, she’s that much better. Some Kind of Hero would be fine as a stand-alone, but you will get more To say I was happy to be back in the world of the Troubleshooters is an understatement. Even though I don’t remember being introduced to Peter Greene in previous books, it doesn’t matter. He was memorable enough in this one, and there are enough visits from previous heroes and heroines that I felt right at home. Suzanne Brockmann is a master of romantic suspense, and when you throw in a military hero, she’s that much better. Some Kind of Hero would be fine as a stand-alone, but you will get more out of it having read the previous books in the series.Full review soon!
    more
Write a review