Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1)
Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kelly never expected to meet the Devil’s daughter. She only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends partake of a powder meant to conjure spirits - and the results go horribly awry - Sarah is forced to make a choice. To keep their secret risks her own damnation, but to condemn them may invoke the accusing remnants of Salem to rise again.

Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) Details

TitleSalem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2014
PublisherAames & Abernathy
ISBN150037525X
ISBN-139781500375256
Number of pages252 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) Review

  • Leslie
    March 12, 2015
    The Salem Witch Trials, though an extremely dark part of American history, was equally an incredibly fascinating time…well, if you're a history buff like me. This story flowed evenly with well developed characters, but with new twists on how our ancestor's paranoia and misjudgments came about at the time. A way of life so foreign to our modern way of thinking.Truthfully, I really enjoyed this story but I will say-- when I had to put it down for a day (or two) I needed to go back and read the pri The Salem Witch Trials, though an extremely dark part of American history, was equally an incredibly fascinating time…well, if you're a history buff like me. This story flowed evenly with well developed characters, but with new twists on how our ancestor's paranoia and misjudgments came about at the time. A way of life so foreign to our modern way of thinking.Truthfully, I really enjoyed this story but I will say-- when I had to put it down for a day (or two) I needed to go back and read the prior page to remember where I left off. (Which also took more time than I would have liked.)Nonetheless, this is a well written historical novel (the first of three) and I was not only impressed with it's 17th century language throughout, but also the feeling of the story's authenticity--I actually felt as if I were there. Galvin did his research, that's for sure. A worth while read, especially if you enjoy this particular era of time and I congratulate Mr. Galvin for a job well done!
    more
  • Dianne
    April 23, 2015
    Forbidding a teen from joining in on things her friends are doing without a “good” reason was just as volatile of a situation in Salem MA in the 1600s as it is today. Sarah wanted to dance, have innocent fun with her friends, but what she found was a witches’ coven, dark magic and a priestess who claimed to be the Devil’s daughter. What started out as a simple act of defiance by sneaking out of her home grows into a nightmarish bloodbath, filled with strange substances, sacrifice and the horrors Forbidding a teen from joining in on things her friends are doing without a “good” reason was just as volatile of a situation in Salem MA in the 1600s as it is today. Sarah wanted to dance, have innocent fun with her friends, but what she found was a witches’ coven, dark magic and a priestess who claimed to be the Devil’s daughter. What started out as a simple act of defiance by sneaking out of her home grows into a nightmarish bloodbath, filled with strange substances, sacrifice and the horrors that Salem’s witches were long accused of.The priestess’ name was Hecate and she wanted Sarah, body, mind and soul, but why? And so begins another frightening tale of the witches from Salem and how the Salem Witch Trials became an ugly scar of the face of American history. Mysterious strangers, Satanic rituals, brutal murders and well-planned political machinations made the accusations of witchcraft fodder for hysteria and mob rule. Are there more secrets hiding in the words of a man now dead? Who is the man known as the Priest? Will Hecate use bait to draw Sarah out?Salem’s Vengeance by Aaron Galvin is more than a dark tale of horror and superstition, it is a journey into the hearts, minds and souls of this dark era as the evil of supernatural faces off against the innocence of one girl. Aaron Galvin has spared nothing in bringing history to life in all of its ugly glory. He allows us to be part of the story, as if we are standing alongside the characters, feeling the fear of the unknown, smelling the stench of unwashed bodies, and wanting to do anything to help Sarah. After a brilliant and mesmerizing tale, Mr. Galvin wraps it all up in an ending that shines! Ever wonder about the Salem Witch Trials? This is the perfect way to feel like you’ve fallen back in time where heroes rise and fall and magic can become a twisted weapon!I received this copy from Aaron Galvin in exchange for my honest review.Series: Vengeance Trilogy - Book 1Publication Date: July 22, 2014Publisher: Aames & AbernathyGenre: YA Historical FictionPrint Length: 264 pagesAvailable from: AmazonReviewed for: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Wren [t(he)y]
    May 1, 2015
    My review can be found at :http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogs...I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley. In this historical fiction novel, Sarah lives with her sister, mother, and father. She discovers a group of people who dance to hypnotic music in the moonlight and who wish for her and her friends to join them. She receives a mysterious journal and reads about Thomas Putnam's experiences in Salem during the Salem Witch Trials.When her friend Ruth becomes afflicted after comin My review can be found at :http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogs...I received a free copy of this book through Netgalley. In this historical fiction novel, Sarah lives with her sister, mother, and father. She discovers a group of people who dance to hypnotic music in the moonlight and who wish for her and her friends to join them. She receives a mysterious journal and reads about Thomas Putnam's experiences in Salem during the Salem Witch Trials.When her friend Ruth becomes afflicted after coming into contact with a mysterious powder, things take a deadly turn. What appeared to be an innocent yet unusual past time turns out to be the work of a vengeful woman who goes by the name of Hecate. She leads a large group of witches out for revenge, and she herself seeks revenge against Sarah's own father.With the help of Bishop and the mysterious Priest, she hopes to defeat these bloodthirsty witches once and for all. But will she, and those around her, live to tell the tale?I haven't read a book quite like this one before. Historical fiction isn't a genre I read often, but when I saw this on Netgalley I thought I'd give it a try.First of all, I was impressed with the writing style. Most of my experiences with historical fiction have included rather dry writing, but the author of Salem's Vengeance surprised me with detailed descriptions that were perfectly balanced. They weren't too extensive but provided enough information to form a clear picture of the settings and specifics of the situations which arose.I also appreciated that I was able to connect with Sarah, the main character and narrator. I found myself understanding her decisions and feelings, and I was rooting for her survival throughout the whole book. As for Bishop, I found him an asset to the story as he brought humor to the more serious events and was an overall entertaining character. Priest was a juxtaposition of Bishop: unlike Bishop, Priest was quiet and reserved, and much more secretive. I thought this was a great way to balance the humor and mystery in the story as depending on which character was the focus, the mood shifted.This novel also contained a lot of violence. There were attacks, sacrifices, murders, ambushes, and more. This didn't bother me personally, however I feel it is important to mention this because some readers may be offended by such content. So if you are easily upset when it comes to violence, you may want to steer clear of this book.In conclusion, it was overall an interesting read with lots of action and a likeable main character and narrator.I recommend this book to fans of historical fiction, those who like stories with action and violence, and to readers interested in books based on the superstitions surrounding the time of The Salem Witch Trials.
    more
  • Carla D.
    May 1, 2015
    Opinião em português no blog Pepita Mágica: http://pepitamagica.blogspot.pt/2015/...I received a digital arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Salem Trials are one of the few things about American History that actually interest me. For that reason, when I saw “Salem’s Vengeance” and read its synopsis I felt like I needed to read it. And when it tries to “explain” what happened through science/facts/logic that makes me even more interested! But I have to admit that my knowledge abou Opinião em português no blog Pepita Mágica: http://pepitamagica.blogspot.pt/2015/...I received a digital arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Salem Trials are one of the few things about American History that actually interest me. For that reason, when I saw “Salem’s Vengeance” and read its synopsis I felt like I needed to read it. And when it tries to “explain” what happened through science/facts/logic that makes me even more interested! But I have to admit that my knowledge about it is almost insignificant, although I'm always curious about stuff evolving magic, witches, warlocks, mythology and stuff.“Salem’s Vengeance” has two stories that are intimately tangled. We follow the story through Sarah’s eyes – once it is written in the first person – while she tells us what is happening in the “present” (1712 – after Salem trials), but that's not the only story. Sarah is a young girl, who is drawn by the moon to go to dance gatherings with her friends. One night, they meet Hecate and everything changes. Sarah senses something is wrong and backs away, not being able to take her friends with her. At that moment, Hecate secretly gives Sarah a diary and its through it that we read about what happened in 1692/1693, during the Salem trials.I don't know what I was expecting about this story; I don't know if I was rooting for the magic to really exist or rooting for a logical and factual tale. “Salem’s Vengeance” is well written and actually gets a story in a good path, I have to admit that, but I could not feel anything about what was happening nor its characters. Well, except one, Priest, because I got intrigued by him. Sarah, Emma, Andrew, Wesley, (you name it) were totally indifferent to me. I could never care for them. The first 50% of the book is boring, slow paced and nothing remotely interesting happens. After the 50% mark, it gets slightly better: its pace gets faster, there is some action, angst and a small love triangle (too forced, to be honest). I feel a bit disappointed. It never got near my expectations. I don't even know if I want to keep track of this trilogy.
    more
  • Jay
    May 3, 2015
    This copy kindly provided by NetGalley on behalf of the publisher. an intriguing new look at the historic Salem witch hunts. Set 19 years after the events at Salem, the “witches” are back! And with them comes the horrific (fictional) truth about what took place all those years ago, and who still continues to play puppet master.Along the way, young Sarah learns some very close to home truths, leaving her entire world in pieces, but that’s nothing compared to what she’s about to face. With the tw This copy kindly provided by NetGalley on behalf of the publisher. an intriguing new look at the historic Salem witch hunts. Set 19 years after the events at Salem, the “witches” are back! And with them comes the horrific (fictional) truth about what took place all those years ago, and who still continues to play puppet master.Along the way, young Sarah learns some very close to home truths, leaving her entire world in pieces, but that’s nothing compared to what she’s about to face. With the two strangers (now friends... no, make that family) by her side, she learns who she really is, fights the battle of her life, and embarks on a new future she’d never dreamed of.
    more
  • Clare
    June 11, 2015
    See my full review on www.stacksandshelves.wordpress.com :) My Review The Salem Witch Trials have always fascinated me and as a lover of all things paranormal and occult, I was really excited to start this book. As a History major, I was happy that the author included the modern-day perspective on what likely caused the accusers to experience fits of mania and other “cursed” behaviors. Galvin framed his story around the scientific explanation of ergot poisoning instead of using actual paranormal See my full review on www.stacksandshelves.wordpress.com :) My Review The Salem Witch Trials have always fascinated me and as a lover of all things paranormal and occult, I was really excited to start this book. As a History major, I was happy that the author included the modern-day perspective on what likely caused the accusers to experience fits of mania and other “cursed” behaviors. Galvin framed his story around the scientific explanation of ergot poisoning instead of using actual paranormal elements, which I thought was refreshing. While the story is based on true events of history along with science, he still wove in his own fictionalized tale of conspiracy and betrayal.That being said, the story was just…ok. I mean I liked it, it wasn’t bad. However, I kept putting it down to do other things and I wasn’t crazy about needing to get back to reading it. I also read several other books in between that held my attention more. The language used was a problem for me. Galvin wrote the story entirely in the vocabulary style of the day. Unfortunately, I felt that the way it was executed was overdone. Other novels have used the language of history to their advantage, such as A Great and Terrible Beauty. I felt the author was trying too hard, just throwing in “nigh” and “ere” haphazardly. The root in history was what drove me to continue reading.My main fault lies in the characters. I really did not like Sarah. Sarah is the protagonist. That is an issue. I found her to be extremely annoying. She is a naïve girl who cannot think for herself and is constantly “oh, woe is me, whatever can I do?” She is also entirely submissive to the males in the story, particularly her father. I realize this is set in a historical period where that was the norm. However, Sarah seems completely content with her “place,” rarely mentioning any feelings of resentment of her submission as a fair female. Towards the end of Salem’s Vengeance, there was some development of her character, but I felt it was only because of the dire situation rather than any true development. There was also a bad case of insta-love between Sarah and a character who legitimately says no words. He is portrayed as the strong silent type with secrets in his past and she falls for him hard. They barely exchange 3 sentences and t hat is within the last chapters of the book! Irritating.At times, I felt like I was rooting more for Hecate, the “Devil’s Daughter.” Yes, she is an evil woman who takes pleasure in making others suffer. However, as the story progresses, it becomes apparent that Hecate was wronged by those close to Sarah and it makes her quest for vengeance seem almost justified. Still, she turns two of Sarah’s best friends against her with the evil “powder” where they are basically on drugs. I didn’t feel that bad for them, which says something about their characters.The one character I did like was Bishop, the crass Irishman with an aversion to attachments. I felt his use of language was more believable and I loved how he didn’t care what any one of the righteous idiots thought. He was on a mission, he had a purpose. This is in direct contrast to the rest of the characters who were skittering around terrified and only acting reactionary. I did enjoy the ending of the novel, but it just took so long to get there. The showdown with the “witches” definitely had the action and story I was craving, I just wish the same could be said of the whole novel.In SummaryThe GoodRooted the story in history and scienceAdded an interesting plot of betrayal and conspiracyCrass IrishmanThe Not So GoodIrritating and passive main charactersPacing issues, took forever to get to the end which did not quite redeem the restOveruse of “historical” vocabulary that hindered the story telling rather than enhancingInsta-loveRecommendationIf you are not as bothered by constant use of historical vocabulary that doesn’t really enhance the story and can deal with an irritating main character, then by all means! The historical story woven with conspiracy did keep my attention. I would recommend this as a book to read in between others when you want something quick.
    more
  • Ashley
    August 2, 2015
    Rating: 3.5/5(I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher, Aames & Abernathy, via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.)***Minor spoilers***Salem's Vengeance, set only a few years after the notorious Salem Witch Trials shows a life where everyone still believes in witchcraft. If a person was accused of witchcraft, they would be condemned and it was believed they were consorting with the devil. Sarah is nearly a woman, and she and her friends like to sneak out at night and " Rating: 3.5/5(I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher, Aames & Abernathy, via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.)***Minor spoilers***Salem's Vengeance, set only a few years after the notorious Salem Witch Trials shows a life where everyone still believes in witchcraft. If a person was accused of witchcraft, they would be condemned and it was believed they were consorting with the devil. Sarah is nearly a woman, and she and her friends like to sneak out at night and "dance." One night, they sneak out and find other people where they usually meet. The leader of this dance calls herself Hecate, the Devil's Daughter. She succeeds in making two of Sarah's friends snort powder. When they don't get more, they are subject to convulsions, inhumane strength, and delusions - the same symptoms of someone who was "afflicted by witchcraft."I've always been interested in learning about the Salem Witch Trials. They sounded intriguing to me but for some reason, I never got around to researching them. While this book doesn't take place during the Salem Witch Trials, it does provide some background on it, and it was also interesting to learn what life was like after.I felt that the setting and the language was very authentic of the 1700's which I really enjoyed. I love reading historical fictions set over 100 years ago because I love learning about how different the society and expectations were back then. I don't believe I've ever read a book set in the 1700's and I really enjoyed this one.I did find the first bit of the story to be a bit dull, but since I read this book in fragments between other books, it didn't seem as bad because I wasn't reading it back to back. While it was perhaps dull in some places, I found it fairly easy to understand, which I was thankful for. Sometimes I find it difficult to understand some things in books set a long time ago since things were so different, but in this one I had no problems following along.I enjoyed how there was a tiny bit of romance in this book, but only a hint. It wasn't enough to take away from the story itself, but it did provide something light as a way to cheer me up from how dark the rest of the story is. I really liked how it wasn't insta-love, but it was gradual attraction and it actually seemed realistic to me. Overall, I enjoyed this book more than I expected to. I would've rated it higher if the first bit was more exciting, but I still didn't find the first part too boring. If you have an interest in the Salem Witch Trials or witchcraft in general (not real witchcraft, of course) or you're simple looking for an interesting quick read set in the 1700's, definitely pick up this book.
    more
  • Library Luv
    July 19, 2015
    This book was absolutely amazing. The Salem Witch trials has always fascinated me and was an intriguing thing to read about. I hadn't really found a retelling or a novel that had the premise of the witch trials that I really loved until I read this book.I believe a thing to note about this book would be the characters. Each had brought a different yet great aspect to the book in every way. There were the obvious antagonists, and then there were also surprises among the protagonists too. I found This book was absolutely amazing. The Salem Witch trials has always fascinated me and was an intriguing thing to read about. I hadn't really found a retelling or a novel that had the premise of the witch trials that I really loved until I read this book.I believe a thing to note about this book would be the characters. Each had brought a different yet great aspect to the book in every way. There were the obvious antagonists, and then there were also surprises among the protagonists too. I found the main character, Sarah Kelly to have all the right traits a female heroine needs for a story to be complete. She also made such strong and brave sacrifices for a girl her age. Then there was Bishop, he seemed to say the funniest things, even in the times that there shouldn't have been laughing involved. I believe he added a little extra to the story. Then there was Priest, I can truly say that I have found yet another character to add to my favorites list. He was the only character that had me in a crying fit... twice. He barely spoke, however when he did, it was deep and full of emotion and I just wanted to keep reading. Well done to Aaron Galvin for writing such brilliant characters. The story itself was also very well written. The only thing I found wrong with it was the slow start. I actually had some troubles to really get into the novel. I started getting more intrigued after I was already 35-40% done the book. That was unfortunate, however the rest of the 60% of the novel impressed me. The ending was also very nice. I know that this is a trilogy so I was worried that the author would end it on a cliff hanger, however that wasn't the case. The book ended nicely, I mean things that had happened before the ending were quite tragic, but the ending was nice.In Conclusion this book was very well written, and I believe the reading audience can be for anyone really. It had mystery, along with some romance. It also included humor. I do highly recommend this book, especially though for those who are looking for a good book the pertains around the Salem Witch Trials.
    more
  • Sheri
    June 23, 2015
    Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy Book 1) by Aaron GalvinWhile innocently dancing in the moonlight, sixteen ear old Sarah Kelly becomes entranced by a coven Dark Priestess. She doesn't expect to come face to face with the Devil's daughter either. Sarah an her friends (innocently) conjure up spirits and things turn bad quickly. Soon Sarah is faced with a tough choice, or Salem's horrible past may rise again, with a vengeance.A well written story set in the late 1600's, during the Salem witch t Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy Book 1) by Aaron GalvinWhile innocently dancing in the moonlight, sixteen ear old Sarah Kelly becomes entranced by a coven Dark Priestess. She doesn't expect to come face to face with the Devil's daughter either. Sarah an her friends (innocently) conjure up spirits and things turn bad quickly. Soon Sarah is faced with a tough choice, or Salem's horrible past may rise again, with a vengeance.A well written story set in the late 1600's, during the Salem witch trials. The characters are very well developed, the dialog is precise for that era, and the events of the witch trials are chilling to the bone. Sarah is very likable. She finds herself in a dangerous situation. As one young girl decides to go against her parents, she soon learns the dire consequences she must face. It was intense watching this original story unfold. The brutality of the witch trials, the satanic rituals, the bloodshed and danger is edge-of-your-seat intense. The accuracy of what did actually in Salem at that time mixed with fiction made a fascinating, compelling all night (intense) dramatic read. I strongly recommend Salem's Vengeance to those who love a great witch story, you won't be disappointed.
    more
  • Slytherin Rose
    August 18, 2014
    Genre: Fantasy/ Historical FictionAuthor: Aaron Galvin Book: Salem’s Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy #1)My Star Rating: 5Will I read I read it again? YesIntro: Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kelly never expected to meet the Devil’s daughter. She only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends partake of a powder meant to conjure spirits - and the results go horribly awry - Sarah is forced to make a choice. To keep their secret risks her own dam Genre: Fantasy/ Historical FictionAuthor: Aaron Galvin Book: Salem’s Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy #1)My Star Rating: 5Will I read I read it again? YesIntro: Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kelly never expected to meet the Devil’s daughter. She only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends partake of a powder meant to conjure spirits - and the results go horribly awry - Sarah is forced to make a choice. To keep their secret risks her own damnation, but to condemn them may invoke the accusing remnants of Salem to rise again.I really enjoyed this book. The witch trials with a new twist. The author did a wonderful job by keeping the 17th century language throughout the book. I found the characters to be really complex. It was sad to see a few die in this book. Some say it was graphic but I didn’t seem to mind it at all, I think it flowed really well with the writing style of the book where I didn’t think it was all bloody and kill, kill, kill book. I think the mom really sucked and she was very selfish. Don’t get me started on the father. I can’t wait to get started on book 2.I received this book for an honest review.
    more
  • Sandra Lopez
    April 29, 2015
    Story started off slow with a wide cast of nondescript characters. Confusion settled upon me as I tried to make sense of the plot. It seems to have all started in the 1700's with a family that appears to be an ancient coven. Do they practice witch craft? Is there a war with demonic underlings and otherworldly creatures? Then I think we fast-forward to the present and rehash the past with a series of letters or journal entries. One of the challenges, besides getting lost with time, was trying to Story started off slow with a wide cast of nondescript characters. Confusion settled upon me as I tried to make sense of the plot. It seems to have all started in the 1700's with a family that appears to be an ancient coven. Do they practice witch craft? Is there a war with demonic underlings and otherworldly creatures? Then I think we fast-forward to the present and rehash the past with a series of letters or journal entries. One of the challenges, besides getting lost with time, was trying to distinguish the various characters. Who were these people and what was their role, their significance, their purpose?Moving forward, the story only managed to fortify the complexity and diminish my interest. Initially, this sounded like a book that I would enjoy, but it just didn't turn out that way.
    more
  • Christy
    July 30, 2015
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. A fresh apporach to a well know American story. SALEM witchcraft. This book is slow on the pick up but draws you in still wiht the insights intot he character and keeps you guessing. Once the action starts is pretty much dosen't stop aslo. I am looking forward to read more in this series. And to see what direction she takes the characters in. this is a period set story and i appericate that she kept the characters true to h I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. A fresh apporach to a well know American story. SALEM witchcraft. This book is slow on the pick up but draws you in still wiht the insights intot he character and keeps you guessing. Once the action starts is pretty much dosen't stop aslo. I am looking forward to read more in this series. And to see what direction she takes the characters in. this is a period set story and i appericate that she kept the characters true to how they would have behaviored back then. I would reccommand this book for 14 plus. There is some sexual content
    more
  • Janet Robel
    June 9, 2015
    This book took me by surprise. As soon as I started reading, I was hooked. Told from sixteen-year old Sarah Kelly's perspective, the story grabs you by the throat. Good, creepy, historical fiction. These witches are not for the faint of heart. Grab your copy and see if you'll be able to sleep at night.
    more
  • Kristen
    July 7, 2015
    Originally published on seriestracker.wordpress.comDupped again by the synopsis! When, oh when, will I ever learn? Since I got Salem's Vengeance by Aaron Galvin from Netgalley, I will post the description that made me do the downloading:"Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kelly never expected to meet the Devil’s daughter. She only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends partake of a powder meant to conjure spirits - and the results go horribl Originally published on seriestracker.wordpress.comDupped again by the synopsis! When, oh when, will I ever learn? Since I got Salem's Vengeance by Aaron Galvin from Netgalley, I will post the description that made me do the downloading:"Sixteen-year-old Sarah Kelly never expected to meet the Devil’s daughter. She only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends partake of a powder meant to conjure spirits - and the results go horribly awry - Sarah is forced to make a choice. To keep their secret risks her own damnation, but to condemn them may invoke the accusing remnants of Salem to rise again."The expectations that I had from reading that - let's just say it didn't match up. This isn't a knock on the book. Because I really liked it. But, boy, I wish I had been better prepared. I expected actual supernatural (you know, the reference to the devil's daughter sort of set that expectation) and found myself facing down another historical.Well researched, fast paced, and intriguing, Salem's Vengeance is the story of both what really happened during the Salem Witch Trials and the aftermath of all that lunacy. It's not non-fiction but in many ways it feels that way. Upon laying my eyes on the words on the pages of this book, I was transported from my 21st century setting with an e-reader in my lap and a cell phone in my pocket to a time of candles and horse-drawn carriages. Filled with mystery and intrigue, as to who the characters really were, I knew there were surprises coming, and I knew characters weren't who they professed to be but I was surprised at every turn as to the exact identities of almost of them, as they were revealed in time.Know going into this that the language takes a little getting used to. Written in an old English style, similar I would guess to the writings of the time, I did at first find that the reading was slower. The pace of the story wasn't impacted by it, as that moved fairly quickly. But my ability to read the story was slowed slightly in the beginning by the exact turn of phrase used by the author. Narrated from the perspective of Sarah, out teenage protagonist, her thoughts (and the journal she reads) must have taken considerable time to craft in the language of he 17th century. It was quite impressive.Maybe I am reading too much in to the story, but it felt a little like a commentary on society and society's ability to work itself into a paranoid frenzy without having all the facts (or perhaps precisely because of that fact). And, I am reminded on a great quote from the ever wonderful Agent Kay: " A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals and you know it". And that is what is described here - not once, but twice as we see the events of Sarah's present day and the events of Salem through a journal Sarah is reading. It is well done too. The author gets just the right amount of facts in front of the characters in each parallel event and the mob mentality takes over, without any logic or reasons peeping it head up for even a quick look around. Instead, both have their heads buried firmly and far into the ground and events spiral out of control until lots of people are dead. I would like to say that in the world we live in today that could never happen, but it happens more often today with the ability for anyone to push information, on a mass scale, regardless of the truth of it. So, it was interesting to see the parallels between the Trials and what Sarah faces and what society is facing on a near daily basis, across so many aspects of society. I won't name any so as to keep this review apolitical, but I conjured the analogies in my mind as I read this book. But, there are a number of excellent lessons here in history repeating itself as well as society's inability to think rationally at certain times. Even the title, to me, seems to represent multiple things: Hecate's vengeance, Bishop's vengeance, Sarah's once her father is killed. But... oh well... again, maybe I was just reading too much into things.The funny thing about my expectations not being met is not that I was disappointed. Far from it, in fact. I truly enjoyed this - from start to finish. Even with the need to chart out a few of the characters (especially those in the journal as we read the events of the Salem Trials unfolding) to keep them all straight, I am hard pressed to point to any criticism. The characters were well thought out and obviously the author did significant research. I am sure that added to the genuine, historical feel to the book.One other thing to know - and this is not a criticism either - it is fairly dark. The entire tone of the book (and this too might be in part based on the speech patterns used to tell the story) is dark and creepy. The notion of witches and the devil's daughter, even without any of it working out to be paranormal in any way, is moody and brooding. It is a revenge story after-all; the telling of horrendous crimes against those in Salem and a fitting (from Hecate's point of view) fate for those who inflicted the damage upon Salem. It is also the telling of a vicious and evil plan to hunt down and kill others. Darkness is required to pull that off without it seeming comical or melodramatic. I could picture the creepy woods and the tiny little colonial town. The ability to conjure those images with the right amount of sinister-ness was something the author excelled at. I found it easy to form the mental pictures of the forest and the witches dancing around their priestess. And I didn't feel like the images were from some horror spoof. The author found the perfect balance - I was fearful for the fate of Sarah and her siblings but wasn't creeped out or rolling my eyes that it was overdone. Again, it was near perfect.This is how a book should read. The plot was more straightforward that it seems at first. And it was clear that the details of the plot were calculated and planned. There weren't the haphazard moments where I had to wonder where did that come from or doesn't that contradict what I read earlier. Instead, it was near perfect. I was engrossed in the story and had to see how it ended. That's the way it should be for me. Those are my favorites. And, it was nice to see that this was merely the first in a trilogy. I can't wait to see what happens to the characters next!I just wish synopsis writers could have been as close to perfect with what they wrote as Salem's Vengeance is!
    more
  • Lindsay
    May 2, 2015
    Sarah Kelly is waiting for her sister Rebecca to fall asleep so she can sneak out with her friends to participate in a gathering in the forest. They will dance under the moonlight and relax for a few hours before returning home before dawn. Charlotte and Ruth are excited to sneak out, but Sarah is hesitant. She doesn't want to get caught and accused of being branded as a witch. Emma, on the other hand, hates disobeying the rules and Sarah has to stay by her side during the gathering, reassuring Sarah Kelly is waiting for her sister Rebecca to fall asleep so she can sneak out with her friends to participate in a gathering in the forest. They will dance under the moonlight and relax for a few hours before returning home before dawn. Charlotte and Ruth are excited to sneak out, but Sarah is hesitant. She doesn't want to get caught and accused of being branded as a witch. Emma, on the other hand, hates disobeying the rules and Sarah has to stay by her side during the gathering, reassuring her that they will leave soon. Once they arrive in the forest, they take notice to more people than expected and also a woman situated by a fire. She calls herself Hecate and takes interest in Sarah, wanting her to join their group like Charlotte and Ruth plan to do. Sarah is wary of the offer and Hecate ends up slipping a small book in her apron before asking her to think it over and strolling off. It isn't until later that Sarah opens the book to see a journal of a man who was part of the Salem Witch Trials. Shortly after the midnight rendezvous, two strangers show up in town claiming that witches are among them. And then Sarah and Emma run into Ruth after church and realize she isn't acting like herself. The night prior at the gathering, she inhaled a powder and they are certain that it is behind her strange behavior. Later that day, Sarah's father is called to Ruth's house on behalf of Ruth fighting off her parents and throwing a fit. Sarah's witnesses the extreme side of the new Ruth and knows for certain it connects to Hecate. Going to the initial gathering is what starts the chain of events that follow until the end of the novel. The two strangers arrive at Sarah's house once her father and her return from Ruth's and later that night Sarah and her father venture off to secretly watch the gathering which ultimately turns ill-fated. The events to follow are unbelievable and heinous, but it serves as a reminder of something similar that once happened in Salem, Massachusetts. I started this book with low expectations. The summary is what attracted me to the novel, but as I read the first chapter I didn't feel that click with the story line and characters. By the time I made it to the second chapter, I got hooked to the plot and characters and had questions that I wanted answered. I sped through the pages, wanting all my questions answered (how these characters related to those from the Salem Witch Trials and why everything was happening again in a small town in the South) and then worrying over the fate of characters. I didn't realize how attached I was to the characters until they started dying. Towards the end of the novel, I was power reading the sentences, hoping that my favorite characters would survive, and once I finished the book I was craving for more. It was definitely better than my first assumption. The only reason I rated this book 4 stars instead of 5 is because of how certain things were written and portrayed. It took me a while to understand the lingo from that time period, but I had a harder time understanding Bishop. I know he is from Ireland, but his words were too confusing half of the time for me to understand what he was saying. I only got bits and pieces from when he explained his back story to Sarah, and I did read through it a couple of times, but nothing flowed together for my liking. I also didn't care for a lot of the characters dying (minor and major), but I understand the plot of the story and how the deaths wound into it. It wouldn't have made sense for all the characters to have lived in the end since many battles were being fought by each person. Some of the questions I had were not answered, but I am glad to see that there is another novel in the trilogy where I hope some of my questions will be answered. I really liked Priest and hope to find out more about him in the next book, and by looking at the summary I believe I will. I received a copy of Salem's Vengeance by NetGalley in exchange for a review.
    more
  • books are love
    July 17, 2014
    I received this from the author in exchange for a honest review.This is a well written and well researched fictional take on the Salem’s witches and witches in general at the time of and after the Salem witch trials. I have read many books on the Salem Witchcraft, the witches and their trials. The author has thoroughly researched these events and by doing so, this book, although a new twist on this historical period of Salem Witch trials, holds many truths. His new twist on this time in history I received this from the author in exchange for a honest review.This is a well written and well researched fictional take on the Salem’s witches and witches in general at the time of and after the Salem witch trials. I have read many books on the Salem Witchcraft, the witches and their trials. The author has thoroughly researched these events and by doing so, this book, although a new twist on this historical period of Salem Witch trials, holds many truths. His new twist on this time in history in this first book of the trilogy is very intriguing and I believe is a great beginning to what will be a wonderful trilogy. What I loved the most was the hints dropped throughout the story that helped the reader better understand the title and what was going on. But what was wonderful as well was that it still left you with questions.Sarah is drawn to the moon dances as were her friends Ruth, Emma, and Charlotte. They loved the free feeling they got from the dancing. But one night this changes and the dance takes on a new meaning. And that night, a lot of other things change as well. Sarah's eyes open up to a whole new world. She shows courage and independence and begins to question and learn things. As things change, Sarah learns about the story behind the Salem witch trials.She learns the sinister meaning behind them and what Hecate is about. Hecate is a dark soul who wants Sarah. Wants her for her master. This is a complicated one that no one is clear of. As the tale is revealed Sarah sees the hand of evil around her. Sarah also meets Bishop and Priest. Priest who captivates her. He is more than just a man who protects her. He is a part of the Salem trials in a remote way. He has suffered under Hecate's hand as well. They are trying to protect Sarah and her family. As the battle ensues for Sarah's life we see the ideas from the Salem witch trials come about. We see the fear and turning people over because of the fear. We also see people like Wes and Andrew stand up to all and fight for what is right. We see love take over and show protection and strength. What we see unfold throughout the book is that Sarah is the key to whatever is happening. Her dad is part of the problem and that as Sarah learns the truth she realizes that the past of a good man doesn't matter because once you repent it is just that the past. Sarah learns the reason behind the past and present going on around her now. And it gives her a new strength to live and fight. The characters are complex and go through so much self discovery and growing up. The plot has the the book leap off the pages and infuse you with a new view on the witch trials themselves giving you something to think about. this was a wonderful book. A great twist on the witch era and one that keeps your attention. The research that went into the book helps to keep the book real and has it come alive on the pages while the new take on it helps to keep you thoroughly entertained and on the edge of your seat. The fight and all that ensues leaves you with more questions and wanting to know more. Wanting to know what is next. That is the sign of a amazing book and a amazing series-being kept on the edge of your seat while still wanting answers to questions. Another fantastic and amazing start of a trilogy for Aaron Galvin that will have you salivating and wanting more of the tale that is unfolding
    more
  • China
    July 27, 2015
    MEHHHHHH.*heavy sigh*I got this book from Netgalley as an ARC ebook.I really wanted to like this more. It's wasn't awful, I'll be honest about that. But, it just didn't live up to what I had expected. I always try to find new young adult books that I think the students at our school would like, and this one just left me sighing and wanting more.First off, these aren't real witches. I was looking for a paranormal/spooky/witchy book- it wasn't. The 'witches' were drug addicts. The epilogue explain MEHHHHHH.*heavy sigh*I got this book from Netgalley as an ARC ebook.I really wanted to like this more. It's wasn't awful, I'll be honest about that. But, it just didn't live up to what I had expected. I always try to find new young adult books that I think the students at our school would like, and this one just left me sighing and wanting more.First off, these aren't real witches. I was looking for a paranormal/spooky/witchy book- it wasn't. The 'witches' were drug addicts. The epilogue explains this drug combination before the story ever even starts. So, I hate that they were referred to as witches. Yes, they were dancing around a fire in the moonlight, which is often depicted in witch stories, but that's about it. After a bit of dancing, they snorted the equivalent of LSD and cocaine. Snorting drugs doesn't make you a witch - it makes you a drug user.Secondly, the characters. All flat. All boring and easily forgettable. I felt that so many of the characters that were discussed were pointless. Mentioned once and then forgotten. The only character that had enough spunk to make you like her was Rebecca, the little sister. Even she was a bit drab. Oh, Bishop, the Irishman, was good too. Okay, so it was set in the 1700s and people back then were probably a bit drab, buy come on - it's a work of fiction...give them some life. That being said, the 'love interests' in this book were so insane, especially Wesley. The local boy. He just rushes up to her and says "I love you" out of ht blue. Like, really? Of course, Sarah (main girl) has not interest. Why would she when she has Mr. Tall, dark and handsome to fuel her lady bits. Easy and predictable. I find that is the case in so many young adult books. Throughout the story, Sarah was reading a journal given to her by the main, bad witch. THAT JOURNAL. There were like 3 entire chapters devoted to Sarah reading this journal. I get it, we were supposed to read it. But the story being told in that journal was really convoluted. I had a very hard time, as an adult reader, getting that story straight. There were so many characters, so many names and so much confusion. Luckily, I was able to discern enough from those journal entries to understand what influence it had in Sarah's story. I think young adults/youth readers may see some confusion with that as well. It was just too much. The information was needed but I felt like it could have been explained in an easier to understand way. I don't want it dumbed down - I just think it needs to be edited and reworked to help with clarity. I really felt this had potential, I just felt mislead by the 'witch' aspect. I wanted cauldron stirring, spell casting, witchery. I wanted being being demonized and terrorized by witches. That's not was I got. I got drug addicts, boring characters and a huge wasted potential. The story has potential...it really does. I just think it fell incredibly short on the 'good book scale.' Wasn't the worst book I've ever read. It was interesting enough..but I felt the entire time that I was grasping for more...and it just wasn't delivered.
    more
  • S. Nash
    August 15, 2014
    I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of the review. Horror writers invent scenarios to scare us. Readers are delighted to be frightened because the horror to which we willingly subject ourselves is fictional. Evil perpetrated by other humans in our past and present are very real. Aaron Galvin uses the historic Massachusetts witch hysteria in 1692-93 as a prelude to the novel, Salem’s Vengeance.I took my eReader I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of the review. Horror writers invent scenarios to scare us. Readers are delighted to be frightened because the horror to which we willingly subject ourselves is fictional. Evil perpetrated by other humans in our past and present are very real. Aaron Galvin uses the historic Massachusetts witch hysteria in 1692-93 as a prelude to the novel, Salem’s Vengeance.I took my eReader to the auto shop, intending to kill some time reading while I waited for my repairs. When the attendant called my name to pick up my car, I was shocked. It wasn't time! I’d only been sitting there reading for a few minutes! No. I’d been there few minutes shy of two and a half hours, completely engrossed in this story. Sarah Kelly, a sixteen-year-old young woman, joins her friends Emma, Ruth, and Charlotte for a midnight dance under the full moon. She loves the danger of sneaking out of her house, the freedom of dancing with her friends, and the respite from her puritanical father. This night is different. Other dancers arrive from “the North” and an enigmatic woman called Hecate is officiating. Sarah sees the “strange customs” of the woman at the dance, and watches as Ruth and Charlotte are given a black powder with alarming effects. Sarah doesn’t feel right and resists joining in. Hecate gives Sarah a journal and tells her, “Learn your truth… as I did.” Sarah and Emma flee for home, but events are set in motion for another witchcraft hysteria, this time in their small town of Winford.Sarah reads the journal, a first-hand account of the events in Salem some 20 years prior. The secrets revealed in the pages, and the madness overtaking Winford threaten to sweep Sarah and her family into another panic.Salem’s Vengeance is beautifully written. The author did a fine job of evoking 17th-century English usage into a form that recalls the period without making it sound pretentious. Sarah squabbles with siblings, teases her friends and titters at handsome young men in ways perfectly appropriate for a sheltered child of Calvinists. As for the historical aspects of the story, I didn't dig too deeply but what I found on a cursory fact-check was accurate in the modern understanding of the witch trials in Massachusetts. I highly recommend this novel. If you enjoy YA fiction, or historical fiction, or straight-up horror, you’re going to like this. Danger, mysterious strangers, a touch of romance, thrilling action and gruesome supernatural-inspired horror all combine to make a fantastic read. This review originally published at http://www.bookie-monster.com
    more
  • Magda
    July 28, 2015
    Read this review and more at https://maginibooks.wordpress.com/201...Prepare yourself for a dark story. Story about witches, but not the merry kind, throwing their magic everywhere. This one is from a historical point of view, where painted people chase young girls and women to use them in rituals and kill everyone who’ll stand in their way. It’s revenge for all the innocents killed during witch trials.Here you will find a man with not so pleasant past, a witch looking for revenge and a girl who Read this review and more at https://maginibooks.wordpress.com/201...Prepare yourself for a dark story. Story about witches, but not the merry kind, throwing their magic everywhere. This one is from a historical point of view, where painted people chase young girls and women to use them in rituals and kill everyone who’ll stand in their way. It’s revenge for all the innocents killed during witch trials.Here you will find a man with not so pleasant past, a witch looking for revenge and a girl who got in the middle of this all.I picked this book up from NetGalley with intention to review it.When Sarah and her friends sneak out to dance under the moonlight, they don’t expect to find real witches coven in their spot. It was supposed to be an innocent dance, but it turns out fate had something different planned for them.When they finally get to the clearing, what they see are women with bodies painted with wicked looking symbols. Some of them look sick, their skin marked with blisters. Ruth, Sarah’s friend, was already waiting for her at the bonfire. She introduces Sarah to the leader of the witches – Hekate.When Hekate ensnared some of the girls, Sarah runs away, dragging one of her friends with her.Next day strangers come to town. For now their intentions are unknown, but it seems they bring news about witches.The book is written in language specific for the time period. That really worked for me and it showed that author cared enough to do the research in this area. Also Bishop speaks with his own Irish accent, that made him more believable, more alive. In most books you’ll just read that this character’s from somewhere else, so remember that. In this one you remembered anyway, because you could almost hear him talk differently.All the characters are well developed, you know they have a past, some are even haunted by it. They also have a place to grow, everything they do becomes a part of them, changes them. All their decisions count and they might have consequences.Netgalley put this book in YA and Horror – Thriller sections. As much as I can agree with the second choice, this read haven’t felt like your typical young-adult.Author did a very good job with basically everything. Yes, I admit I like every piece of this story :). It was good from the very first pages. It’s one of those books, that seems to bend time while you read it. At one moment I was getting onto a train to go to work and, what seemed like barely few minutes of action-packed piece of book later, I had to get out already.My advice – buy this book and read it!
    more
  • Michael
    May 18, 2015
    I received a free copy of this from Netgalley and I have to be honest and admit that I'm not a fan of historical fiction, but being a horror writer I am intrigued by the Salem Witch Trials and have read countless books regarding the subject both fiction and nonfiction. As I began to read Vengeance I was immediately pulled into the story. Galvin certainly did his research and it shows in his writing. It's a well thought out book that truly captures the era that the story takes place. This is als I received a free copy of this from Netgalley and I have to be honest and admit that I'm not a fan of historical fiction, but being a horror writer I am intrigued by the Salem Witch Trials and have read countless books regarding the subject both fiction and nonfiction. As I began to read Vengeance I was immediately pulled into the story. Galvin certainly did his research and it shows in his writing. It's a well thought out book that truly captures the era that the story takes place. This is also the first book in a trilogy which usually means a lot of back story so that the next two books have something to hinge upon. The first book is how the author captures your attention and Salem's Vengeance does that. As a whole the book is hit or miss. By the second half of the book it begins to falter a bit but Galvin manages to pull you back in through the mysterious journal that Sarah is given. Who wrote the journal? That is the big question and as the story unfolds you begin to see just why Sarah is so important. The main theme here is vengeance and Galvin plots the story in such a way that when he does reveal something it's quite shocking. We begin to see people as they once were, and we see that no matter how much you try to escape your past it's always there. You can't escape it. The shadow of Salem looms over these characters and Galvin expertly melds true historical events with fiction. It all blends together seamlessly, but sometimes the book does drag a little in the middle and I found myself skimming a little because there was nothing important happening. The book did keep me guessing and even though I'm not big on historical fiction or even trilogies this was one that was well thought and handled its subject matter well. That alone makes the book worth checking out but for fans expecting a dark tale filled with horror you're not going to find it here.. Overall there is a bit of creepiness but not so much that you'll want to sleep with the lights on. Salem's Vengeance is a novel for people who want an interesting story and enjoy popular fiction. I think that's why the book seemed to drag so much for me. It's an ordinary story that will appeal to reader's of by the number fiction. This is the kind of book that some will find edgy, but it's really not. There are tons of books like these being pumped out and I was hoping that Salem's Vengeance would frighten me a little or at least make me think a little. It just didn't do that. Don't get me wrong it's not a bad book at all, and fans of popular fiction will drool all over this but to me it was good, but nothing memorable.
    more
  • Rachel Simson
    January 27, 2015
    At first the book took me a little while to get in to. This is mainly from my lack of experience with historical fiction and because of Aaron's uncanny ability to write like a girl who actualy lived in the 1600s. However it didn't take long for the book to pick up pace and I was thrown into the action; this is when I began to love the book. At first I didn't really enjoy the diary parts but when I realised why I was reading them I enjoyed it a lot more. The characters in the book were fantastic At first the book took me a little while to get in to. This is mainly from my lack of experience with historical fiction and because of Aaron's uncanny ability to write like a girl who actualy lived in the 1600s. However it didn't take long for the book to pick up pace and I was thrown into the action; this is when I began to love the book. At first I didn't really enjoy the diary parts but when I realised why I was reading them I enjoyed it a lot more. The characters in the book were fantastic as was the concept. I really liked the complexity of Sarah's fmaily from her adorable but strange sister, her brother who wanted to grow up fast, her mother who was wimpy and cowardly and her father who was brave and loving with a very dark past. I also enjoyed the characters of Priest and Bishop who to me had the lovliest relationship. [ Beware Of Spoilers in the rest of the review ]The death of Sarah's father came to me as a bit of a shock, it was sudden, painful and heartbreaking all at once. This is when the book found it's feet for me as it was non stop action from this point onwards. I love how Galvin captured the true nature of the witch trails in Salem as an excuse to punish people they didn't like but he also managed to bring in a fantasy element even though that was still in a way grounded in science and reality. I think that is the reason why I found this book so haunting and creepy. It was the most realistic piece of fiction about witches that I have read based on corruption and strange drugs more than mystic and magic. Galvin captured the essence of that century perfectly with the battles between natives and americans centralising most of the book. Glavin gave us a glimpse into a real piece of history in his book with the struggles in the new colonies and the lies and deciet used to claim property off the natives. I really enjoyed reading the battle against the witches, but maybe it wasn't the best Idea to read it in the dark... I also loved the blossoming relationship between Priest and Sarah as it was beautiful but did not distract from the main essence of the book which was the battle with the witches. Galvin didn't hold back in the battle eaither. The fights were descriptive, bloody and gory making it seem even more realistic. Reading this book you really did feel like you were there with the characters and you felt every pain and heartbreak Sarah felt along the way. I would recomend my readers to give this book a go and to not give up over the first part as it does honestly become amazing in the end.
    more
  • Ashley Fae
    July 5, 2015
    Salem’s Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy Book 1)By Aaron Galvin Sarah loved the late night dances beneath the moonlight she shared with her three nearest and dearest friends. But all that changed when Hecate, the supposed daughter of the devil, showed up, secretly slipped a small diary into the pocket of Sarah's apron. It was the diary belonging to one of the men who she would learn orchestrated the evils that took place 19 years early in Salem. Was the same about to befall Winford, or was the only Salem’s Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy Book 1)By Aaron Galvin Sarah loved the late night dances beneath the moonlight she shared with her three nearest and dearest friends. But all that changed when Hecate, the supposed daughter of the devil, showed up, secretly slipped a small diary into the pocket of Sarah's apron. It was the diary belonging to one of the men who she would learn orchestrated the evils that took place 19 years early in Salem. Was the same about to befall Winford, or was the only evil at work here revenge?Salem's Vengeance is intelligently written. Aaron Galvin is super clever in the way this book piggybacks off of Arthur Miller's, The Crucible, a classic written in 1953. I'd almost stretch to call it fan fiction. Regardless of what you’d call it the layering of the two stories is very well done.The story is told from the POV of Sarah Kelly. She and her two siblings-George and Rebecca-live with their devote, church-going parents. The picture perfect family until the moonlit night Hecate made her ominous arrival into Sarah and her three girlfriends' lives. And for some reason Hecate has singled Sarah out. Is it the devil's work at hand or is something else going on? Of course, you'll have to read yourself in order to find out because I'm not going to ruin the excitement!Aside from a great story line, Salem's Vengeance is well edited with great imagery. Galvin does a great job writing for the time period-the early 1700's. You never doubt the validity of the descriptions, dialogue, and historical references.I must warn those who are opposed to reading anything about witchcraft and the paranormal should probably skip this book. Albeit this a YA book, there's quite a bit of violence. However, the majority is historically accurate and could be compared to any American history textbook.As I'm sure you've guessed by now, I truly enjoyed this book and I feel many of you will as well. And as an aside, I feel that many adults would enjoy this book as well as the YA crowd. I am hoping I'll have the opportunity to review the next book as this is a trilogy.A Fae
    more
  • Leah
    May 31, 2015
    I regret that it took me so long to read this when it's been sitting in my Kindle, just waiting for me to pick it up. I'm so glad that I randomly decided to do so the other day because this book was fantastic. Aaron Galvin did the most amazing job with this book and I could tell that he did his research. Extensively, even. Like a lot of people, the Salem Witch Trials have been an endless fascination for me. Granted, I've never actually did much research on it, but I've watched the documentaries I regret that it took me so long to read this when it's been sitting in my Kindle, just waiting for me to pick it up. I'm so glad that I randomly decided to do so the other day because this book was fantastic. Aaron Galvin did the most amazing job with this book and I could tell that he did his research. Extensively, even. Like a lot of people, the Salem Witch Trials have been an endless fascination for me. Granted, I've never actually did much research on it, but I've watched the documentaries and have seen the movies that center around it -- those count, right? It was such a dark spot in our history that was filled with so much anger, fear, misery and hate - how could I not have been intrigued by it? This book sucked me in from the very first page. The use of the language and the way they phrased their sentences was impressive; the writing was so believable that it was hard to believe that it was a work of fiction. The author's use of the details throughout the book was so well that I vividly saw the entire book play like a movie in my mind's eye. The usage of a journal of the past to compare to what was happening in the present was genius, the realizations and the shock were felt keenly through the pages. There was quite a bit going on in the book, but not enough to make me feel lost or that I had to backtrack in order to find my footing in the book. The pace was great and towards the end of the book, the tension and anxiety I felt during its climax - when everything came together and collided so violently, was a unique experience.Definitely not willing to give too much away if some haven't read the book yet, but trust me, it's so worth the read. I cannot sing this book's praises enough.
    more
  • Sarah Briggs
    January 18, 2015
    (I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review).(This review may contain spoilers).Having seen the live broadcast of The Crucible at the cinema some weeks ago, I was immediately interested in reading this book when it was offered on one of the websites I'm a member of. The blurb of the book sounded really intriguing and I was pulled into the storyline really easily.It was good to see the book stay in one first person POV and I felt Sarah was quite an interesting character. There w (I received a free copy of this book in exchange for a review).(This review may contain spoilers).Having seen the live broadcast of The Crucible at the cinema some weeks ago, I was immediately interested in reading this book when it was offered on one of the websites I'm a member of. The blurb of the book sounded really intriguing and I was pulled into the storyline really easily.It was good to see the book stay in one first person POV and I felt Sarah was quite an interesting character. There were occasionally some comments that sounded a little too modern, but for the most part, I felt the author did a good job of making the setting and time feel real.I did have a bit of confusion with what was going on, at least for some of the book. As the book progressed, I did have something of a better understanding, but there were certain things that didn't make as much sense to me, such as the motivations of certain characters. I would have liked a bit more detail about that.Reading parts of the diary of one of those responsible for the Salem witch trials was really unnerving, whether or not there was any truth in that potential theory.Hecate was a really creepy, but I particularly liked Priest and Bishop as characters. I found it intriguing that Priest didn't speak much. It added a lot to the mystery of him as a character.There wasn't much of the mob mentality shown in this book, but there were some very intense scenes nevertheless. I found myself pulled in and able to see a lot of the events happening in my mind.I was still left with some questions by the end of the book. I would like to read the next book (I think this is a trilogy) and see what will happen with the characters next. I'd especially like to see how some of the relationships develop and have some of my questions from this book answered.
    more
  • Thannya
    May 6, 2015
    Expect the unexpected. This was how I felt while reading this book. I have always found the Salem Witch Trials a very interesting part of American history - even though, it's a dark part of its history. I read "Young Goodman Brown" by Nathaniel Hawthorne and that was all I read related to the subject until I discovered "Salem's Vengeance". The book gives an inside look at the Salem Witch Trials and its repercussions. I found "Salem's Vengeance" a very interesting story with all its mysteries and Expect the unexpected. This was how I felt while reading this book. I have always found the Salem Witch Trials a very interesting part of American history - even though, it's a dark part of its history. I read "Young Goodman Brown" by Nathaniel Hawthorne and that was all I read related to the subject until I discovered "Salem's Vengeance". The book gives an inside look at the Salem Witch Trials and its repercussions. I found "Salem's Vengeance" a very interesting story with all its mysteries and twists - as I wrote previously, expect the unexpected. When Sarah receives a journal from Hectate, the devil's daughter, she learns the truth about the trials. Sarah's life completely changes after meeting the devil's daughter because everything she thought she knew wasn't real - there's character development; one more reason to love this book. It's clear Galvin did his historical research - the 17th century language (I found it difficult to read a few times), the life of a puritan community (especially their devotion to God), the mention of historical figures... The historical facts brought authenticity to the story. Also, Galvin did a great work describing the evil inside the human beings that leads them to do unspeakable things - the puritan community wasn't as pious as it pretended to be.I recommend "Salem's Vengeance" to everyone who enjoys historical fiction with a bit - well, more than a bit - of horror. Run from the witches! [I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you.]
    more
  • Kelly
    July 24, 2015
    Sarah Kelly only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends take a sniff of a powder meant to conjure spirits, things start to go all wrong. Hunted by witches, Sarah soon discovers that the people surrounding her have been keeping secrets from her that have everything to do with the Salem witch trials…So, the Salem Witch Trials are the reason I had to read this book. I love all things paranormal and occult. Throw in some witchcraft & Sarah Kelly only sought innocent dancing in the moonlight, not a coven entranced by their dark priestess. When her friends take a sniff of a powder meant to conjure spirits, things start to go all wrong. Hunted by witches, Sarah soon discovers that the people surrounding her have been keeping secrets from her that have everything to do with the Salem witch trials…So, the Salem Witch Trials are the reason I had to read this book. I love all things paranormal and occult. Throw in some witchcraft & wizardry and I’m sold. Needless to say, I was kinda excited to read this book.I did have some trouble getting into the story though. There were a lot of characters to “get to know” at the beginning of the book, which slowed the story down a bit for me. Then there was the language. The author tried to write the story with the vocabulary used back in the 17th/18th century. But, especially in the beginning of the story, it felt like the words “ere” and “nigh” were just randomly tossed into every sentence to make it feel more authentic. I kept on reading anyway and I’m glad I did.The story was pretty good and some of the characters turned out to be pretty interesting. I didn’t like Sarah all that much. She was a bit too submissive for my liking. Bishop, Priest & Hecate on the other hand were quite fascinating and I loved their storylines. I also loved that the story was pretty action packed at times. The events are violent & brutal at times. Weapons are used, blood flows, people die. Combine this with some satanic rituals and the need for vengeance and you’ve got yourself a very thrilling story. Very curious for the 2nd book in the trilogy.
    more
  • Mati
    July 23, 2014
    Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Sometimes facts are spookier than fiction, and the Salem Witch Trials were certainly one of those cases. Aaron Galvin has managed to breathe new life into this time era, and Salem's Vengeance is a dark but eye opening look into a frightful time in history. What started as nothing more than childish impulses grows into a terrifying bloodbath, where fear becomes the true enemy of those involved. This book brings facts Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.Sometimes facts are spookier than fiction, and the Salem Witch Trials were certainly one of those cases. Aaron Galvin has managed to breathe new life into this time era, and Salem's Vengeance is a dark but eye opening look into a frightful time in history. What started as nothing more than childish impulses grows into a terrifying bloodbath, where fear becomes the true enemy of those involved. This book brings facts to the witch hunts, and the greedy men who helped create them, showing a well researched and engaging novel that is entertaining and enlightening.To be honest, I can be a pansy when it comes to gore and violence, and there were quite a few moments in this book that involved it. Yet I still found the writing tasteful, and not overdone. The journal entries Sarah would read about the Salem Witch Trials felt a bit long at some points, but they were spaced out enough I didn't feel too dragged down by the passages. I liked the authenticity the story has, with family relationships, Sarah's friends, and even the little touches or romance. While I'm not a huge history buff, what I've learned about the Trials did match up with the writing in this book.There are some intense scenes (this does deal with the Witch Trials, after all), but I feel most readers would be able to handle it. It has sort of those spooky movie shivers; if you're squeamish, just build your pillow fort before you start. Overall, another great novel by Aaron Galvin.
    more
  • Wendy C
    August 23, 2014
    Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) by Aaron GalvinSalem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) by Aaron Galvin tells the story of Sarah who loves to dance underneath the moon and the freedom she feels while doing so. One night, Sarah and her friends dance beneath the moon but it’s different this time. There are more people and it feels different to Sarah. At this time, she meets Hectate, whose attention seems to be focused on Sarah. Hectate later gives Sarah a book to read so Sarah can “lear Salem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) by Aaron GalvinSalem's Vengeance (Vengeance Trilogy, #1) by Aaron Galvin tells the story of Sarah who loves to dance underneath the moon and the freedom she feels while doing so. One night, Sarah and her friends dance beneath the moon but it’s different this time. There are more people and it feels different to Sarah. At this time, she meets Hectate, whose attention seems to be focused on Sarah. Hectate later gives Sarah a book to read so Sarah can “learn her truth”. Later she meets Bishop and Priest who are “witch hunters” who end up helping Sarah and her family fight to stay alive against the witches. Sarah starts to read the book/journal that Hectate has given her. Sarah learns about the Salem witch trials and she eventually learns that her father has been lying to her.( His name is not who he said it was )The author has done a wonderful job at crafting this story with authentic facts about the witch trials and the time period they took place in. He has given the reader multifaceted characters that develop and mature into characters you want to read about. The reader is never bored with this story and I think it is a good beginning to what I’m sure is going to be a great new series!3.8 Stars*I won this book through Goodreads First Reads giveaway. In no way has this influenced my rating or opinion of this book.
    more
  • Britt Kramer
    June 27, 2015
    I received this book for free off of Netgalley in exchange for my full and honest review.So, I don't have much to say about this book. It was good. I will admit, it's definitely a book you need to be fully focused on to get the full picture. It fills you with a LOT of information that you have to take in all at once and then remember for letter on in the story, mostly characters. I was confused at the beginning of the book with everything going on, but soon things started to unfold and I got les I received this book for free off of Netgalley in exchange for my full and honest review.So, I don't have much to say about this book. It was good. I will admit, it's definitely a book you need to be fully focused on to get the full picture. It fills you with a LOT of information that you have to take in all at once and then remember for letter on in the story, mostly characters. I was confused at the beginning of the book with everything going on, but soon things started to unfold and I got less confused as the book went on. Surprisingly, it was a very quick read. I finished it in like 3 sittings, but could have finished it in around one sitting. The characters all had their own personalities, whether they were shown fully or not, you could tell there was something about them that set them apart from each other. I enjoyed, also, the little hint of romance at the end, as well. After everything that had happened it was definitely a relief to see something happy. I loved the plot twists and how we weren't too sure what side Priest was on half the time but then we'd realize he was a good guy after all. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who loved the Crucible (seems to make a lot of references to the crucible) or people who are interested in the Salem Witch trials!
    more
  • Jessica
    July 14, 2015
    Thanks to NetGalley for providing me an arc.I feel somewhat deceived by this book. I originally thought that Salem’s Vengence was going to be a paranormal novel but instead it was historical fiction more than anything else. There are no “real” witches, the powder used to conjure spirits was a herb that was similar to what I’m guessing is LSD and crack (not really a spoiler, it’s addressed in the beginning of the book). Salem’s Vengeance takes place in the 1700s, a few years after the Salem Witch Thanks to NetGalley for providing me an arc.I feel somewhat deceived by this book. I originally thought that Salem’s Vengence was going to be a paranormal novel but instead it was historical fiction more than anything else. There are no “real” witches, the powder used to conjure spirits was a herb that was similar to what I’m guessing is LSD and crack (not really a spoiler, it’s addressed in the beginning of the book). Salem’s Vengeance takes place in the 1700s, a few years after the Salem Witch Trials. Sarah and her friends dance under the moon with a bunch of strangers posing as witches and drugs are given out which cause immediate reaction and addiction. From then on the “witches” are after her. Sarah learns the truth about Salem from a journal that the “Devil’s Daughter” gives her. With the help of Bishop and Priest (here silent love interest - which I can’t lie was kind of adorable) she tries to defend her, her family, and her friends from the revenge this coven is seeking. Overall the story was good even though it wasn’t what I expected it to be. The writing was okay, it dragged a little in my opinion because of the 1700s language style. The ending was a little far fetched but I enjoyed the journey. I’d give Salem’s Vengeance 2.5 stars out of 5.
    more
Write a review