Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2)
Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.

Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) Details

TitleNow I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherDelacorte Press
ISBN0553522353
ISBN-139780553522358
Number of pages496 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Historical Fiction, Young Adult, Historical, Retellings, Glbt, Science Fiction, Alternate History, Romance, Fiction, Young Adult Fantasy

Now I Rise (The Conqueror's Saga, #2) Review

  • Destini Mia~ ♕ Sassy Lassie
    May 25, 2016
  • Simona Bartolotta
    October 12, 2016
    Jeez, the covers of this series...
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    October 25, 2016
    I FREAKIN' LOVE LADA! FIRST BOOK IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES! JUST PRE-ORDERED THIS ONE! JUNE 2017 PEOPLE! FREAKIN' JUNE!!!!!
  • Claire
    February 6, 2017
    Thank you, Netgalley for an ARC of this book. My review is entirely my own and unbiased.Let me just preface this by saying - THIS BOOK IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST. That's saying something because I absolutely loved the first one. And, much like the first one, this one took me entirely by surprise. When I first stepped into the world of Lada and Radu, it wasn't what I expected and I absolutely delighted in reading something new. The characters, while staying true to themselves from the first Thank you, Netgalley for an ARC of this book. My review is entirely my own and unbiased.Let me just preface this by saying - THIS BOOK IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST. That's saying something because I absolutely loved the first one. And, much like the first one, this one took me entirely by surprise. When I first stepped into the world of Lada and Radu, it wasn't what I expected and I absolutely delighted in reading something new. The characters, while staying true to themselves from the first book, have grown and developed in so many ways. The story and world grew, the history unfurled, and the stakes were great. There were a lot of times that the story swept you off your feet, throwing you into the world and taking the reader down such relentless twists and turns that I felt like I could hardly catch my breath (exactly why I read this book in a single day. Which is saying something because I DESPISE reading on my kindle). If you liked the first book, pick this one up! If you didn't like the first book, pick this book up anyway! White's daring take on Vlad the Impaler will leave you breathless and begging for more!
    more
  • Nina (Every Word A Doorway)
    October 11, 2016
    COVER REVEAL. Though And I Darken's had more colour, this one shines it its simplicity, and again, it promises a lot of slaying, piercing, and impaling. I'm so giddy for this I cannot even form coherent words. BRING IT ON.
  • Tova
    September 17, 2016
    airer/nounnoun: air1.the invisible gaseous substance surrounding the earth, a mixture mainly of oxygen and nitrogen.2. Something that does not seem to properly function until Tova gets her hands on the sequel of And I Darken Oh, I'm quite serious. Give me this book - or give me death. I need this book like I need air She looks so proud but on the verge of tears. Yup, that is footage of me dying when Lada leaves and becomes the dragon.How I feel right now: I NEED A TITLE. I NEED A COVER. I NEED airer/nounnoun: air1.the invisible gaseous substance surrounding the earth, a mixture mainly of oxygen and nitrogen.2. Something that does not seem to properly function until Tova gets her hands on the sequel of And I Darken Oh, I'm quite serious. Give me this book - or give me death. I need this book like I need air She looks so proud but on the verge of tears. Yup, that is footage of me dying when Lada leaves and becomes the dragon.How I feel right now: I NEED A TITLE. I NEED A COVER. I NEED THIS BOOK LIKE YESTERDAY. This is probably my number Uno anticipated book of 2017.I can't bare the thought of my precious cinnamon roll being alone without his LadaLIES. THIS IS NOTHING BUT LIES. SHUT YOUR MOUTH AHMED. YOU DIE AND LEAVE HER ALONE. IF ANY OF MY BABIES DO THAT IN THIS SERIES I WILL DIE--------------------October 12th, 2016Me NOWWE HAVE COVER! AND A TITLE! AND A SYNOPSIS! AND A RELEASE DATE! BEST DAY EVEH! I mean this makes everything better ( considering I was having a crap day)June 27th 2017- Also Known As the day my life ends.Wait - am I supposed to studying for my maths exam in the morning? Probably. I shouldn't be screaming. I don't hate math that much. Besides, I'm ecstatic!And I Rise! EPIC AFNot today. At least not until June 27th, 2017Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she’s always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn’t getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu’s subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople—and it’s no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines Radu longs for his sister’s fierce confidence—but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrif.Sacrif? Sacrif? What the hell does that mean? WHAT UP TYPO?A TYPO IN THE SYNOPSIS OF MY MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017! HOW DARE YOU INSULT THE QUEEN KIERSTEN WHITE!Am I excited? Excuse ME WHAT EVEN IF AIR RIGHT NOW? I am so productive.
    more
  • Silvia
    October 12, 2016
    THAT COVER. Can I just tape it on the inside of my eyelids? *want want want*
  • Kisses A
    July 18, 2016
    Why don't I have book 2 in my hands right now Kristin White????
  • Ro
    September 17, 2016
    A teenage Game of Thrones? wtf?It gives me the creeps when publishers compare their books with straight-up bestsellers. Update:The cover is beautiful though.
  • Brooke ♥booklife4life♥
    February 4, 2017
    I GOT AN ARC OF THISSSSSSSS YASSSSSSSS
  • Jenn *The Crimson Dark Lord Scribe, House of Slytheread*
    November 7, 2016
    *UPDATE 3.21.17*I just read an excerpt of this book.... AND I NEED MORE!!! WHAT'S GOING ON?! WHY THE COLD SHOULDER!? WAS THERE A FALLING OUT!?*sucks thumb* I need to know so bad.....____________________This. This needs to be in my hands right TF now. Seriously, I NEED TO KNOW WHAT'S HAPPENING! (view spoiler)[Does Radu get Mehmed? *wiggles eyebrows* (hide spoiler)] Seriously. Like I need the info STAT!If you would like to join this buddy read just let me know! Seriously, I just met a whole bunch *UPDATE 3.21.17*I just read an excerpt of this book.... AND I NEED MORE!!! WHAT'S GOING ON?! WHY THE COLD SHOULDER!? WAS THERE A FALLING OUT!?*sucks thumb* I need to know so bad.....____________________This. This needs to be in my hands right TF now. Seriously, I NEED TO KNOW WHAT'S HAPPENING! (view spoiler)[Does Radu get Mehmed? *wiggles eyebrows* (hide spoiler)] Seriously. Like I need the info STAT!If you would like to join this buddy read just let me know! Seriously, I just met a whole bunch of peeps that read the first book right when I did, LET US BAND TOGETHER FOR BOOK 2!!!Buddy Read with my lovlies: Tova||Nastassja||
    more
  • Erika Osborne
    January 19, 2017
    This comes out the day after my birthday....
  • Juliet-Camille
    August 10, 2016
    Need this NOWWWWMore LadaMore MehmedMore RaduMore actionMore sexual tension
  • Fatma
    October 12, 2016
    (this gif was too funny not to share)OMMMYYGAAADD THE COVER IS SO NICE I AM SO INCREDIBLY EXCITED FOR THIS SEQUELIT'S GONNA BE EVEN MORE EPIC THAN AND I DARKEN I CAN FEEL IT IN MY BONESI am SO ready for an even more badass Lada. AND THERE'S A SYNOPSIS: "And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart." SAME, LADA, SAME. Thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to my thorny heart too."There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him befor (this gif was too funny not to share)OMMMYYGAAADD THE COVER IS SO NICE I AM SO INCREDIBLY EXCITED FOR THIS SEQUELIT'S GONNA BE EVEN MORE EPIC THAN AND I DARKEN I CAN FEEL IT IN MY BONESI am SO ready for an even more badass Lada. AND THERE'S A SYNOPSIS: "And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart." SAME, LADA, SAME. Thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to my thorny heart too."There’s no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her." THAT'S MY GIRL"Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, Radu knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself—but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?" *distant screaming* AND AN EXCERPT TOO OMG: "Impulsively she reached out and tugged on one of his ears like she had when they were children. An unexpected smile bloomed on his blocky features, and suddenly she was back with him, tormenting Radu, raiding the kitchens, sealing their bond with blood on dirty palms. Bogdan was her childhood. Bogdan was Wallachia. She had him back. She could get the rest." AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA"Lada startled, turning away from Bogdan and the warmth in her chest. " *clears throat* *SCREAMS*
    more
  • Elise (The Book Actress)
    November 20, 2016
    5 stars with no regrets. And I Darken was a very well-written book, but I had mixed feelings on the romance and wanted a bit more in the character department. I did not expect White to fix... both of those things?? {minor spoilers throughout, major spoilers tagged}Now I Rise far surpasses book one in terms of character work. We got a real look at Radu, who I didn't particularly care for in the first book. Here, though, he got an INCREDIBLE character arc. I am still reeling from this character ar 5 stars with no regrets. And I Darken was a very well-written book, but I had mixed feelings on the romance and wanted a bit more in the character department. I did not expect White to fix... both of those things?? {minor spoilers throughout, major spoilers tagged}Now I Rise far surpasses book one in terms of character work. We got a real look at Radu, who I didn't particularly care for in the first book. Here, though, he got an INCREDIBLE character arc. I am still reeling from this character arc. I cannot get over how much Radu has grown and changed and how much I LOVE HIM. Radu's inner debate over (view spoiler)[which side truly deserves to win Constantinople (hide spoiler)] really stands out throughout the book, in both his internal and external conflict. I still love Lada as a character, and she doesn't get any less brutal during this book. She gets a little more brutal, but she's not heartless; she has some very compelling relationship development with several side characters. The thing is, she just doesn't have as far to go in terms of development. There are some GREAT new side characters as well, from Nicolae to Nazira (my absolute wife) to Cyprian. The side characters really stood out here. None of them are one-dimensional. They all feel so REAL. Even my least favorite side characters never felt like plot devices. There's some great relationship development in this book, too. Lada and Radu and Mehmed's relationships with each other are of course still significant, but the new relationships introduced really stand out. Nazira and Radu's platonic relationship development is one of my favorite parts of this book. Their banter!! I loved (view spoiler)[how many characters made comments about how they clearly love each other, but without passion. They're two people who don't always trust others, but they are always so real with each other. (hide spoiler)] Lada and her many soldiers, Lada and a mentor she finds, (view spoiler)[Lada and Bogdan (hide spoiler)]. But let's be real here: (view spoiler)[Radu and Cyprian (hide spoiler)] were the absolute crowning gem, with so many heartbreaking moments and one of the most incredible slow build relationships I have ever had the pleasure of reading about. Am I crying typing this? Yes, yes I am. The one issue with this book is that Lada's actual plotline is less entertaining in comparison to Radu's. (view spoiler)[ Since she's already left the capital and become a fierce, brutal warrior, she spends a lot of the book biding her time, and not much forward motion happens at times. Radu's plot never goes two chapters without moving forward. (hide spoiler)] Part of this is that Lada's character had her initial character arc last book, while Radu's character had almost all of his character arc in this book. It's not much of an issue, though; Lada's chapters would probably be my favorites in any other book. All that being said, this was truly an incredible book, and I can't wait to see where the plot goes next. (I also wanted to give a mini shoutout to the author for (view spoiler)[guaranteeing that no lesbians will die in this series. It's a really great guarantee to hear from an author in an environment where my immediate reaction to Nazira and Fatima's existence is "they're going to die, aren't they". (hide spoiler)])I was so lucky to get an ARC of this from my local bookstore.
    more
  • Giovanna
    October 12, 2016
    YAAAAAAS.Need to buy a physical copy of And I Darken YESTERDAY. XD
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    October 18, 2016
    Wait how is the world did I end up missing both the title reveal and the cover reveal!? Man where was I? Lol But anyways, this cover is stunning! So far this series has had some amazing covers =D
  • Emi Miranda
    October 12, 2016
    These books are in third person? Why are the titles in first person? Just a small pet peeve of mine. Anyways A TITLE AND COVER I AM SO EXCITED. THE FIRST BOOK WAS SO GOOD. I NEED IT IN MY HANDS RIGHT NOW.
  • Melissa Rose
    October 13, 2016
    AHHHHHH look at that cover!!! Gorgeous!!! Ugh I can't believe I have to wait until June 27th!!!
  • Mic
    May 29, 2016
    10/12/16 THAT COVER. THAT EXCERPT. THAT TITLE. I'M ALL KINDS OF DESTROYED BY THIS BOOK ALREADY. ------------------------5/29/16 I will preorder this right now.*rocks in a circle*
  • Nina (JustAddAWord)
    October 11, 2016
    That TITLE. That COVER. That SYNOPSIS. I. NEED. THIS. NOW.
  • Henni Ro
    March 3, 2017
    the uk cover is just perfect <3
  • S.L.J.
    June 26, 2016
    Is it weird that I want to read books just to see how bad they are?"A teenage Game of Thrones set in the Ottoman Empire."So...that means the author is going to take all the of awesome things in Game of Thrones, replace them with idiotic tween angst all set to the backdrop of an empire that we already know crashes and burns which was a warm up for World War I.Yeah, this is gonna be bad. Anytime anything compares itself to GOT, it's bad.
    more
  • Jessica
    February 4, 2017
    *SQUEAL* I just received an electronic ARC of this book from the publisher through Netgalley! I'm soooo excited!!!!*UPDATE-FINISHED BOOK*Can't reveal too much but let me say this: if you loved And I Darken, you will love Now I Rise. This book doesn't suffer from the dreaded "middle book syndrome" and stands on its' own merit in this series.
    more
  • Silanur
    July 7, 2016
    This is probably my most anticipated sequel right up there with The Dark Artifices. I need it. I'm so nervous, but I need it. I'm CRAVING MORE YOU DONT UNDERSTAND*sobs indefinitely*
  • Tracy (Cornerfolds)
    February 15, 2017
    Read more of my reviews at Cornerfolds.com!Initial reaction:*Review to come!*
  • Nadia
    May 5, 2016
    So... 2017. What am I gonna do.I repeat 2017. It's like everyone else is Rachel and I'm Monica. Oh God, the wait will be painful.UPDATE 10/17/2016 :WE HAVE A COVER. AND A SUMMARY. *hyperventilates*I don't like the cover as much as the previous one for And I Darken, but it still is stunning. And dark. *evil grin*The summary is in my opinion, as intriguing, if not more so than the first promising more bloodshed and everyone's favorite insane MC, Lada! With descriptions referring to blood-strewn pa So... 2017. What am I gonna do.I repeat 2017. It's like everyone else is Rachel and I'm Monica. Oh God, the wait will be painful.UPDATE 10/17/2016 :WE HAVE A COVER. AND A SUMMARY. *hyperventilates*I don't like the cover as much as the previous one for And I Darken, but it still is stunning. And dark. *evil grin*The summary is in my opinion, as intriguing, if not more so than the first promising more bloodshed and everyone's favorite insane MC, Lada! With descriptions referring to blood-strewn paths, white-hot rage and conflicted feelings, to name a few, this definitely a lot darker than your conventional YA fluff.Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.Bring on the chaos, Kiersten, bring on the chaos. (;
    more
  • Jess
    October 12, 2016
    13/10.2016UMMMM YESS LOOK AT THAT COVER THAT TITLE!!! BITCHH!!!http://www.ew.com/article/2016/10/12/... PLUS THERES AND EXCEPRT
  • Kait Goodwin (Scintillating Reads)
    October 14, 2016
    Full review to come, (http://kaitgoodwin.com/scintillatingr...) but basically THIS BOOK WAS SO (insert favorite expletive here) GOOD!!!!!!I simply CANNOT wait for the conclusion of this series, but at the same time I don't ever want it to end. Just... read it asap. It's worth it, trust me.
    more
  • Stephanie (Bookfever.♥)
    April 16, 2016
    I loved the first book so the wait for this one will be so painful!
Write a review