Hello, Sunshine
A Prep School Girl with a Hollywood DreamBecca Harrington is a reject. After being rebuffed by every college on her list, she needs a fresh start, so she packs up everything and moves to LA, giving herself one year to land an acting gig or kill herself trying. Unfortunately, not everything turns out as planned, and after a few grueling months, LA is looking like the worst idea ever. As hard as she tries, Becca can’t land an agent, she's running out of cash, and her mom is hounding her to apply to more schools. In an act of desperation, Becca and her friend Marisol start posting short videos online—with the help of their adorable filmmaker neighbor, Raj—and the videos catch the attention of a TV producer. Could this be it? Her big break? Or will she have to move back home with nothing but some bad head shots and a monstrous credit-card bill? Becca may not get the Hollywood ending she was hoping for, but perhaps she’ll learn there’s more than one way to achieve her dream.Readers will love every page of this funny, romantic, aspirational, and ultimately triumphant novel about a girl who just wants to make it on her own.

Hello, Sunshine Details

TitleHello, Sunshine
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN148472545X
ISBN-139781484725450
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Hello, Sunshine Review

  • Kristin Hackett (SuperSpaceChick)
    May 17, 2017
    3.5 stars - This was a really fun read but I still love the Nantucket series more.
  • Liza Wiemer
    July 9, 2017
    There is no spoiler, but for some reason, it's showing up that there is, so ignore that! Thank you. :)Hello, Sunshine is a book for young adults who have dreams and are afraid to go after them. It's a book for those who have experienced...heartbreak, betrayal, hard knocks, friendships lostand friendships found. It's a book for those who have struggled to cut those apron strings from Mom. This is a novel for those who have had to work hard and long hours without getting paid. It's a book aboutrel There is no spoiler, but for some reason, it's showing up that there is, so ignore that! Thank you. :)Hello, Sunshine is a book for young adults who have dreams and are afraid to go after them. It's a book for those who have experienced...heartbreak, betrayal, hard knocks, friendships lostand friendships found. It's a book for those who have struggled to cut those apron strings from Mom. This is a novel for those who have had to work hard and long hours without getting paid. It's a book aboutrelationships,sex,love,fighting self-doubts,finding your inner strength to go after what you want, even after you've lost everything but a kernel of hope.It's a novel about making mistakes, keeping secrets, making choices—some of them not good at all and living with them. It's filled with Hollywood dreams and Hollywood drama. This was a fast read for me. I finished it in one sitting. For those who are looking for and have been craving a young adult novel that opens the window to what can happen after high school, HELLO, SUNSHINE is perfect! Do I recommend it? Yes! I absolutely do! I loved it for all the reasons above! Maybe, just maybe your alternative (college) post-high school dreams could come true?
    more
  • katherine ✨
    May 23, 2017
    I actually really enjoyed this book, it put a smile on my face and was full of so much energy, which matches the lovely colourful cover perfectly as well! I loved Becca, I thought she was a great character and I really like the general feel of the story and how fast paced it was.Full review to come :)**thank you to netgalley and the publisher for the free arc**
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    June 27, 2017
    3.5 StarsHello, Sunshine is the perfect book to read if you’re looking for something inspiring. This story is about a young girl figuring out how to live on her own while trying to achieve her goal of becoming an actress. I loved this concept and the strong bonds the main character makes, but I found the pacing to be a bit slow. However, I would still recommend this to those who are interested in the world of acting.Since I’m a sucker for books about acting, the concept of this book immediately 3.5 StarsHello, Sunshine is the perfect book to read if you’re looking for something inspiring. This story is about a young girl figuring out how to live on her own while trying to achieve her goal of becoming an actress. I loved this concept and the strong bonds the main character makes, but I found the pacing to be a bit slow. However, I would still recommend this to those who are interested in the world of acting.Since I’m a sucker for books about acting, the concept of this book immediately drew me in. It is such an inspirational story about a girl trying to follow her dreams and become an actress in LA. I loved how this book shows the reader that being an actor isn’t easy. It follows Becca as she is constantly rejected, and doesn’t shy away from the hardship that she endures moneywise. The reader will definitely be rooting for Becca on her journey to fame and be able to relate to her as she learns how to live on her own as an adult.One of my favourite aspects of this book are the strong, supportive relationships that Becca has. Her two new friends live in the same building as her and help her out by cheering her up, attending her performances, and encouraging her. Becca’s mom also has a role in the story, which I loved. Parents in books are something that I always like to see. Becca’s mom wants the best for her daughter and tries to steer her towards college, even though college isn’t the future that Becca wants for herself. Despite all this, her mom’s pride towards Becca and her accomplishments and her constant text message check-ups are so sweet.While I enjoyed this book, the pacing bothered me. I found the story to be very slow-paced, and it felt like nothing was really happening. At first, Becca’s search for an agent was interesting, but after so many rejections, the plot got a bit old. I also didn’t agree with some of her decisions. For example, she goes out and buys a super expensive shirt right when she gets paid, even though she’s struggling with money. I found her ignorance to be frustrating, and it is kind of hard to believe that she knows so little about living on her own and priorities at her age.Hello, Sunshine is a motivational story about an actress trying to live her dream. I enjoyed the different perspective the book offers on the world of acting and what it’s like getting hired, and I loved the supportive relationships that the main character makes. However, I didn’t like the slow-pacing or the decisions that Becca makes, so this book didn’t impress me as much as it could have.
    more
  • Katie W
    July 12, 2017
    I really wanted to love this book, but I think I must get getting old, as some parts were not for me. I had higher expectations from a Disney publisher. This book is compared to a YA version of La La Land but this is the R-rated version, as far as content is concerned. I guess I was just taken by surprise. If you don't mind that, you'll probably really enjoy it.When Becca can't get into college, she drives across the country to give herself a year to make it into the acting world in Hollywood. T I really wanted to love this book, but I think I must get getting old, as some parts were not for me. I had higher expectations from a Disney publisher. This book is compared to a YA version of La La Land but this is the R-rated version, as far as content is concerned. I guess I was just taken by surprise. If you don't mind that, you'll probably really enjoy it.When Becca can't get into college, she drives across the country to give herself a year to make it into the acting world in Hollywood. This type of coming-of-age story is so interesting to me because it seems that so many 18-24 year olds struggle to launch into the real world successfully (without parental help). This story took me back to my late teens/early twenties years, although Becca's experiences differ vastly from my own.As I mentioned previously, my main problems are with the content. I have a daughter only a year younger than Becca and there's no way I would be happy with her doing the things that Becca does. I do love at how hard she tries to be self-reliant and how she makes a check list of things to accomplish, but she seems fairly naive and finds herself thrust into the grown up world without someone to help her navigate the channels of adulthood. Her story does give me hope for my kids--that they can find a way to support themselves in this big, crazy world.Content: At least two huge, heaping handfuls of F*bombs, as well as multiple other words; a couple of sex scenes (not too graphic); underage drinking.*I received a copy from the publisher, which did not influence my review. All thoughts are my own.*
    more
  • Jen Ryland
    June 28, 2017
    This book was adorable! Becca's feeling low. Not only was she rejected from every college she applied to, but after a cross-country road trip with her boyfriend - he's headed to Stanford, she's headed to L.A. to try to find work as an actress - he dumps her. But she pulls herself up and tries to make it work.I loved that this book didn't sugarcoat the difficulty of working toward your dreams. I was reading an NYT article recently that described a college that taught a class on failure -- being o This book was adorable! Becca's feeling low. Not only was she rejected from every college she applied to, but after a cross-country road trip with her boyfriend - he's headed to Stanford, she's headed to L.A. to try to find work as an actress - he dumps her. But she pulls herself up and tries to make it work.I loved that this book didn't sugarcoat the difficulty of working toward your dreams. I was reading an NYT article recently that described a college that taught a class on failure -- being open to it and bouncing back from it. The article argues that today's kids, raised by helicopter parents in a trophy-f0r-everyone culture, haven't been taught how to fail. (I'd also argue that social media culture, a culture that didn't exist during the 80s and 90s when I grew up, encourages all of us to pretend that our lives are great and perfect all the time.) So I kind of loved that Becca does fail. Even though she's hard-working and motivated, she suffers a lot of setbacks, which were painful to read about at times. But she never gives up.There was something so endearing to me about this book. I'm an HGTV addict, and loved Becca's struggles to set up her tiny apartment on a budget - yes, stories of hanging curtains on the cheap are fascinating to me. Becca also gets to know her motley crew of neighbors (very Melrose Place, lol), navigates the competitive and often frustrating showbiz world, and even finds time for a new romance. All in all, a super-cute book that's also inspirational. Great summer read!Read more of my reviews on YA Romantics, follow me on Bloglovin, or check out my Bookstagram!The FTC would like you to know that the publisher provided me a free advance copy of this book, that the fact the book was provided to me does not shape my opinion of it, and that other readers may disagree with my opinion.
    more
  • Cristina (Girl in the Pages)
    July 16, 2017
    Thank you so much to NetGalley and Disney-Hyperion for providing a review copy!I have such a soft spot for Leila Howland's Nantucket series, so I was thrilled to see a new book by her, although set on the West Coast. My NetGalley request to read Hello, Sunshine was approved with perfect timing as I had just listened to Leila's podcast interview with Sarah Enni on First Draft, and learned about her time spent as an aspiring actress herself. It set the stage perfectly for my reading of Hello, Suns Thank you so much to NetGalley and Disney-Hyperion for providing a review copy!I have such a soft spot for Leila Howland's Nantucket series, so I was thrilled to see a new book by her, although set on the West Coast. My NetGalley request to read Hello, Sunshine was approved with perfect timing as I had just listened to Leila's podcast interview with Sarah Enni on First Draft, and learned about her time spent as an aspiring actress herself. It set the stage perfectly for my reading of Hello, Sunshine as I felt more connected and as though I had more intimate insight to Becca's journey to stardom in Los Angeles.Hello, Sunshine begins with a rather daring premise- Becca, a recent high school graduate, is rejected from all of the colleges she applied to and makes a deal with her mom to move to LA for one year to try to break into the film/tv/acting industry. While a bit of an unbelievable premise in some ways, it's refreshing in its realism in portraying Becca's struggles. From her dingy studio apartment to her cheap Ikea furniture to having to negotiate how much food she can afford, I appreciated that Leila didn't shy away from how hard it is to support yourself when you're young, especially in California (where rent- and just about everything else- is crazy expensive). I enjoyed reading about Becca's gradual understanding of how to balance working, financial responsibility, and acting and it reminded me of the determination and grit that Cricket has in the Nantucket series.While at some points Becca's naiveté was a bit frustrating and surprising for someone who has wanted to be an actress for a while (for example, thinking she can just walk into agencies without an appointment or head shot and expect anyone to give her the time of day), I enjoyed learning about aspects of show business that I had no idea about. I knew breaking into the industry was hard (I knew many people in college trying to break into it from all angles- directing, producing, acting, etc.) however I was surprised to learn things like the catch-22 of becoming a member of the SAG or the fact that residuals aren't automatically paid to any actress/actor who stars in a commercial. I appreciated that Becca also learned she needed to pay her dues and never acted like a part or role was beneath her- she was always genuinely enthusiastic and honored to have the chance to be selected for any part.Another element of this book that I really enjoyed was the support system that Becca finds in Los Angeles. Raj and Marisol, neighbors in her run down apartment complex, become more than casual acquaintances and they genuinely go out of their way to support each other's crafts and dreams. While I found the "big reveal" about one of them toward the end of the book to be a bit distasteful the novel showed how a strong support system is essential when embarking on your own, and it doesn't always have to be made up of the most conventional people or relationships.Overall: I couldn't put Hello, Sunshine down once I started reading it, and breezed through it in just a few short sessions even during an extremely busy work week. I loved returning to Leila's writing and appreciated her slightly gritty humor and realism while still managing to write a fluffy summer read. I feel like Hello, Sunshine gave me not only insight into the show business industry but insight into Leila as well, and I can't wait to see what she writes next!
    more
  • Brittany (The Book Addict's Guide/Novelly Yours)
    August 4, 2016
    Announcement reaction: New Leila Howland YA. I need this in my life so badly. THE EXCITEMENT IS REALInitial Impressions 6/7/17: I cannot tell you how much this kills me... But I didn't connect with this book in any way at all. Leila Howland's Nantucket series still remains one of my all-time favorite series. Cricket is my soul-sister. I get her. I loved her. Both books had this realism and magic. HELLO, SUNSHINE didn't have any of that for me. HELLO, SUNSHINE is a much lighter book than the Nant Announcement reaction: New Leila Howland YA. I need this in my life so badly. THE EXCITEMENT IS REALInitial Impressions 6/7/17: I cannot tell you how much this kills me... But I didn't connect with this book in any way at all. Leila Howland's Nantucket series still remains one of my all-time favorite series. Cricket is my soul-sister. I get her. I loved her. Both books had this realism and magic. HELLO, SUNSHINE didn't have any of that for me. HELLO, SUNSHINE is a much lighter book than the Nantucket books, which I really wasn't expecting. It's always hard picking up an author's sophomore novel or next series adventure because you're expecting the same kind of tone as what you first read and that's not always the case... which is GOOD. I actually love authors who can write any genre, any tone, and create a wonderful story, but this book was a total miss for me. I was okay with it not feeling like the Nantucket duet but it just didn't feel like there was any substance there and that was what I loved about Leila Howland's first books. HELLO, SUNSHINE in general is just not my cup of tea. The book is about high school graduate Becca who heads off to Hollywood after graduation instead of college. No college accepted her because she took the blame for an incident involving her and her friends so she gives up on going to college and instead decides to go become an actress... out of the blue. She has no experience, no plans, and no money. First off, this concept just drives me nuts. I'm a planner. I NEED to plan things and I could never head off to city with no plan, no job, no money, and not a care in the world. I understand people do this and some succeed, but characters who do everything on a whim are not my friends. I just don't get along with care-free spirits because I need some structure, and care-free characters with no plan often makes me feel like a book has no plan. Becca randomly grabs an apartment for herself and wait, she actually DOES make a list so there's that, but everything else is just randomly happening. Random friends happen, a random job happens, random encounters happen... and it just felt all over the place and I didn't know where things were heading. Obviously the end goal is for Becca to get an agent and land an acting job but the road to get there was too willy-nilly. I was doomed from the start because I couldn't care less about Hollywood and the whole breaking-into-show-business concept. Music? Yes. Acting? No. I'm not big into celebrities, I don't like the glitz and glam, and it all seems so forced and fake, so the concept of the book really wasn't a draw for me, but the author was. Combined with Becca's character, it just never came together for me where my personal reading preferences stood. The casting directors are weird or offensive or rude and I like reading about happy things, not people putting a main character down all the time. I also hated the way Becca was treated in this book and she didn't stand up for herself when she needed to. There was a weird, creepy semi-stalker guy in her apartment complex that kept hitting on her in the creepiest ways and she wouldn't tell him just go buzz off! I get that you don't want offend a neighbor, particularly one that may not be all there, but he was being gross and creepy and she should have stood up to him and said that she was uncomfortable. You can't be uncomfortable around your neighbors and feel unsafe where you live. I just didn't find it comical and it really turned me off. Becca gets pushed around by all of the professionals she encounters, and just when you think she's getting a break in an indie movie, the guy asks everyone to play the scene nude for no reason. Um, ew? No. Thankfully Becca did stand up for herself there, but again, why? I guess these things probably happen in the business and you do encounter situations like those, but again, one of the reasons I don't like reading about the movie business and the struggle to break into it because people DO end up doing things that they wouldn't normally do because it's so competitive and difficult. I don't like the way actors can be objectified like because someone of authority knows that they can do it and I was just hoping this book would be more meaningful and less slap-stick and shock value. I just didn't like any of Becca's relationships at all in this book at all. It got off to a bad start when her boyfriend drives her all the way out to LA (he's in college in California so it's on the way for him) and then dumps her when they get there. Then she tries to get back together with him and defends him to her new friends!! Nope. Not cool. The new romance didn't feel like a romance at first (just awkward friendship) and then once it turned into a romance, I really wasn't feeling it. I just didn't like any of Becca's relationships throughout the whole book, except for the mother-daughter relationship and how she talked with her mom. To be honest, I made it halfway through and then started skimming. It's been slow-going for a week and with very apathetic feelings about the book, I didn't feel the need to read everything in depth, because it didn't have the depth that I wanted from it. I was SO SURE this would be a hit given my past experiences with Leila Howland's books and I've been waiting forever for a new YA novel from her but this was a strikeout for me. I won't rate it one star because it wasn't AWFUL but it really didn't work for me at all. We all know what we like to read and what we don't and I wouldn't have picked this up if it wasn't Leila Howland.
    more
  • BookHookup
    July 10, 2017
    You can find Christina's original review here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.♥ Quick Thoughts and Rating: 3.75 rounding up to 4 full stars! Cute, entertaining, and brimming with vivacious characters, Hello, Sunshine is a breath of fresh air and a really quick read You can find Christina's original review here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.♥ Quick Thoughts and Rating: 3.75 rounding up to 4 full stars! Cute, entertaining, and brimming with vivacious characters, Hello, Sunshine is a breath of fresh air and a really quick read. Looking for a summer novel to make you smile? Well, look no further. Scoop this one up and fall head-over-Hollywood-heels (hills? I suppose either works in this scenario) in love with these fun characters.♥ Review: I needed a good book to get me over this dreaded book slump that I'm in, and I think Howland's latest release was just the ticket. I won't get into the real ins and outs of the plot, considering the fact that I think the Goodreads summary does a nice job of hitting all the hot spots, but I will say that I think that the author did a fairly good job of keeping things pretty realistic under most circumstances. The biggest of those was probably money issues and struggling on a tiny budget, which if you've ever moved out on your own as a young adult with no backing from the parentals, one finds out easily that the struggle is real. Okay, so yes Becca did manage to quickly meet up with some friendly folks in Hollywood who helped her on her way from the start and when she finally caught some breaks, they swung mightily in her favor, but that's not entirely out of the realm of possibility. Some people find good luck (or blessings, depending on what you believe) like that all the time, so I didn't roll my eyes too hard. But speaking of Becca and the friendly faces, I have to say that I really enjoyed this cast of characters. Another thing, Becca might have actively jumped at the whole idea of acting and living alone in LA with a serious case of naïvety, but aside from being a fresh-faced teenager, she also couldn't help how drastically her situation changed upon her arrival, so I gave her a pass on that. To be perfectly honest, I think it made her character development over the course of the book even better. More so, she was just downright likable and relatable, and as vibrant and hopeful as any eighteen-year-old with a dream has a right to be. Marisol and Raj were some great addictions as well. In fact, I wish we would have gotten even more time in with Raj and Becca as a couple, but I could appreciate that she took the time to try to get over her ex completely before diving in to a new relationship. Still, he was the sweetest and I would have scooped him up with a quickness. As for Marisol, I loved that she was blunt and proud and flawed and everything that a good friend should be, miscommunications (*cough*lying*cough*) and all. Also, yay for sex positivity and girls watching out for each other instead of being mean girls in YA! Also also, there were some really great adult role models in this book that watched out for the young ones, and that was awesome, too!As for my tiny little grievances with the novel, most of it revolved around the repetition of similar scenes and how I felt like that affected the pacing at times. Though, truthfully, it must not have messed with it too much as I finished this book it a matter of hours and all in one sitting.  My other little main issue was not finding out about how Raj's film did at the festival in the end, but I was certainly hopeful about how these characters' and their futures would pan out.♥  Teaser Quote:      He looks at me with deep recognition and awe, and I can feel then that Raj loves me. He loves me the way that I am–rejections and all. We kiss again. This time it's a long, deep kiss that goes on and on. The rest is like swimming at night in a place that you've been to a hundred times during the day. Only now it's quiet. The stars are out. The rocks you've known during the day have changed. They have the same shape, but seem to be made of something else. And when you jump in the water, you know it's not just the place that's different. You are, too. You're exhilarated, swimming with your eyes open, rising to the surface, skimming the moon. You're fearless and whole and anything is possible. – quote taken from the ARC of Hello, Sunshine, pg. 321-322 ♥ Rec It? Yes! I won't lie, it's been over a month since I've picked up a single book, and even though I was looking forward to this book when I got it, getting over this book slump has proven to be quite the chore at this point. But, surprisingly to me, once I scooped up this little beauty (seriously, that cover, y'all!), I couldn't set it back down again. I read it in a quick couple of hours and finished with a smile on my face.♥  A very special thanks to Disney-Hyperion (and their lovely publicist, Ms. Cassie McGinty, especially) for providing me with an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Brenda Ayala
    June 28, 2017
    Two stars for the beginning, three stars for the middle, and two stars for the end. The middle evens out the other two, though. Reasons:In the beginning Becca is ridiculous. She's so green with everything! How do you literally move across the company and assume you will be able to live off a couple thousand? Did she even bother to look at the living costs in Hollywood, let alone California? Why the hell did she not know anything about becoming an actor?! RESEARCH, girl!Plus, everyone is ridiculo Two stars for the beginning, three stars for the middle, and two stars for the end. The middle evens out the other two, though. Reasons:In the beginning Becca is ridiculous. She's so green with everything! How do you literally move across the company and assume you will be able to live off a couple thousand? Did she even bother to look at the living costs in Hollywood, let alone California? Why the hell did she not know anything about becoming an actor?! RESEARCH, girl!Plus, everyone is ridiculously nice in this novel. A man she's never met before buys her a $10 juice drink when she's too stupid to look at the price and realize she can't buy it. THAT DOES NOT HAPPEN IN LA. Ever. People don't even make eye contact let alone buy you shit. We may not be as bad as New York, but we're certainly not the Midwest. If you happily introduce yourself to someone they'll kind of just nod at you confusedly. So yeah, her moving and having all these conveniently nice people living next to her was highly unrealistic. The three stars comes in with the middle portion. It's still not very realistic, but at least things made a little more sense. She was actually working to get her face and name out there, and she managed to get some work out of it. I kind of absolutely hate her for being so idiotic with her money, though. Did her mother teach her NOTHING about living on her own? You do not buy yourself a $75 shirt the minute you get a credit card. Especially if said credit card is only there to help you make rent and groceries and shit. Aside from that, the middle portion was my favorite! They go to the pier. She does karaoke in Koreatown. These are things that are staples of living in the area, and I liked that the book highlighted them. Becca learns a lot more about the business and I appreciated the effort.The ending that warranted the two stars.... it's mainly because of the weird twist that happened with Becca's friend, Marisol. It was completely out of left field and totally unneeded--if anything, it took away from Becca's story so close to the end of the book. Weird as all get out.
    more
  • Adriana C
    July 24, 2017
    3.5 starsHello, Sunshine is a cute, light and fun contemporary young adult novel.Becca, an 18-year-old girl recently graduated from high school, whom after receiving her rejection letters from all the universities that she applied, decides to go to Los Angeles to try her luck and see if she can become an actress. Her mother gives her a year to follow her dream, but after that lapse she must try to apply to some other university.Becca has a plan, living with her cousin while she finds her way at 3.5 starsHello, Sunshine is a cute, light and fun contemporary young adult novel.Becca, an 18-year-old girl recently graduated from high school, whom after receiving her rejection letters from all the universities that she applied, decides to go to Los Angeles to try her luck and see if she can become an actress. Her mother gives her a year to follow her dream, but after that lapse she must try to apply to some other university.Becca has a plan, living with her cousin while she finds her way at LA and getting an agent as soon as possible, but from the moment she arrives to California nothing comes out as she expected and soon realizes that achieving her dream will not be as easy as she hoped, since it isn´t so easy to get an appointment with a good agent and the money she had is is running out faster than she thought so she´s resorting to her credit card and her debts increase, so her dream is further every day, but she does not lose hope of reaching it.Overall, Hello, Sunshine is an ideal novel for the summer, a light read without much heavy drama, I really enjoyed it.
    more
  • Forever Young Adult
    July 4, 2017
    Graded By: Mandy W.Cover Story: Hello, GorgeousBFF Charm: Big SisterSwoonworthy Scale: 7Talky Talk: Easy BreezyBonus Factors: New Adulthood, Hollywood DreamsRelationship Status: Summer FlingRead the full book report here.
  • Mehsi
    July 29, 2017
    0.5, and just no. No, and more no.Review to come (a very burning one at that).
  • Kristin
    June 26, 2017
    Hello, Sunshine is a fun story about an 18 year old girl who drops everything, moves across the country to California, in the hopes of becoming an actress. She's got her head full of such ideas as to how she's going to make it but she has no idea for the reality that's about to hit her in the face. First up, living in LA is not cheap. So, she gets this run-down studio apartment that should have probably been updated years go. Then she realizes that to become an actress, you don't just waltz into Hello, Sunshine is a fun story about an 18 year old girl who drops everything, moves across the country to California, in the hopes of becoming an actress. She's got her head full of such ideas as to how she's going to make it but she has no idea for the reality that's about to hit her in the face. First up, living in LA is not cheap. So, she gets this run-down studio apartment that should have probably been updated years go. Then she realizes that to become an actress, you don't just waltz into an agency, say "hi", and get an agent. There are certain channels one goes through in order for that to happen, which are not easy. Not to mention that Becca seems to have no understanding of money management or how to live on her own. So, Hello, Sunshine is sort of a story about a girl who fumbles her way through the city without a clue as to how to survive. This is the first book by this author that I've read and I really enjoy the way she tells a story. While I felt that Becca's character was naive and I sometimes wanted to shake her, I was still rooting for her. While Becca isn't my cup of tea, the author was able to make me feel for her. She was able to paint a picture of what was going on without weighing it down with too much detail. The scenes flowed smoothly and I found myself continuously flipping pages to see what Becca tried next in her quest to become a star. Hello, Sunshine is a fun and light summer read. I mean, who wouldn't want to drop everything, move to a big city, and make it big. It was entertaining getting to read all the ups and downs of Becca's progress. There were times where I was smiling at some of the antics, times where I rolled my eyes at Becca's lack of understanding in certain things, and times where I wanted to shake her for being so clueless about the people around her. Let's just say that Becca was in her own little bubble the majority of the time. However, I enjoyed the story and I could definitely see this becoming a sitcom or something.
    more
  • Teresa in Ohio
    July 22, 2017
    This book gets 4 stars because the angst level is almost zero. There is no love triangle. There is no mean girl drama. This is just a story of a girl trying to figure out life after high school graduation.Becca has been rejected by eleven colleges and is freaking out about her future. She believes she can be an actress while her mother wants to pigeonhole into the college dream and getting a career. She convinces her mother to let her try Los Angeles for a year. Her boyfriend and her travel cros This book gets 4 stars because the angst level is almost zero. There is no love triangle. There is no mean girl drama. This is just a story of a girl trying to figure out life after high school graduation.Becca has been rejected by eleven colleges and is freaking out about her future. She believes she can be an actress while her mother wants to pigeonhole into the college dream and getting a career. She convinces her mother to let her try Los Angeles for a year. Her boyfriend and her travel cross country from Boston, him onto Standford, her onto to Hollywood. Upon arrival, Alex tells her we will go apart this year so let's break now. So Becca begins her year heart broken but determined to make her dreams come true. Upon moving into an overpriced studio apartment she meets two neighbors and they become friends. SHe also gets her first job waitressing which comes with some pitfalls. This story is easy to read as you can just read about her trials and tribulations on making her dream come true. Normally when parents are absent it bothers me. Not this time. She is 18 and being on her own is okay if scary. SHe does talk and text her mom often. I decline to give it 5 stars because the ending was a little rushed and too neatly tied up. s
    more
  • Christina
    July 8, 2017
    You can find my full review and teaser quote here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.Rating: 3.75, rounding up to 4 full stars! Not going to lie to y'all, the book slump has been strong in this one–like, haven't touched a single book in a month kind of bad slump–but p You can find my full review and teaser quote here on The Book Hookup.*Disclaimer: An ARC of this title was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. However, that did not influence this review in any way. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition.Rating: 3.75, rounding up to 4 full stars! Not going to lie to y'all, the book slump has been strong in this one–like, haven't touched a single book in a month kind of bad slump–but perhaps this was the cutest little book to knock me right out of it. Fun, realistic storyline. Diverse, relatable, likable characters. Filled with heart and angst to keep your emotions bouncing all over the place. A relatively solid ending that left a smile on my face and hopeful about the characters' futures.If you're looking for an adorable summer read, look no further.♥ A very special thanks to Disney-Hyperion (and their lovely publicist, Ms. Cassie McGinty, especially) for providing me with an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Kezia Miller
    July 25, 2017
    I thought this was a great coming of age story for those just graduated out of high school. It really shows you how much you have to do when you move out on your own. This book follows Becca Harrington and her dream to make it big in the acting industry. It includes lots of ups and downs that both help and hinder Becca's dreams. It was eye-opening to read about how much fighting you need to do for yourself in the acting industry. I probably won't read this again because I found some of the thing I thought this was a great coming of age story for those just graduated out of high school. It really shows you how much you have to do when you move out on your own. This book follows Becca Harrington and her dream to make it big in the acting industry. It includes lots of ups and downs that both help and hinder Becca's dreams. It was eye-opening to read about how much fighting you need to do for yourself in the acting industry. I probably won't read this again because I found some of the things mentioned to be for more mature readers and there was a fair bit of foul language that I didn't enjoy reading. But overall, I really enjoyed Becca's character and how unique and authentic she was and how she continued to follow her dreams even when those close to her didn't believe in her. I received an ARC copy of this book from my university in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lauren R.
    April 24, 2017
    4.5 stars. Well clearly I couldn't put that down. I didn't expect to start and finish this book today but here we are. I looooved this. Like in the Nantucket series, the main character was real and goal-oriented; she kept trying and really didn't give up. The Hollywood theme/setting drew me in immediately even though Becca's independence didn't feel super believable, considering how old she was. Her mom was really supportive and awesome even though, again, it's crazy that she let her daughter do 4.5 stars. Well clearly I couldn't put that down. I didn't expect to start and finish this book today but here we are. I looooved this. Like in the Nantucket series, the main character was real and goal-oriented; she kept trying and really didn't give up. The Hollywood theme/setting drew me in immediately even though Becca's independence didn't feel super believable, considering how old she was. Her mom was really supportive and awesome even though, again, it's crazy that she let her daughter do this crazy plan. This was really just an excellent book that I think NANTUCKET BLUE/RED fans will love too.
    more
  • Kayla Cagan
    June 26, 2017
    Howland's Hello Sunshine is a departure from her Nantucket Summer series. It's grittier by sheer placement of Los Angeles over Nantucket, and the characters, all of them, have a lot to learn about making it in "the big city". I found myself more worried about Becca, who deeply wants to redeem herself and her ego after not getting into college (not a spoiler) and brave a whole new life super different from her own. There's a large cast of characters that demonstrates the realities of big city liv Howland's Hello Sunshine is a departure from her Nantucket Summer series. It's grittier by sheer placement of Los Angeles over Nantucket, and the characters, all of them, have a lot to learn about making it in "the big city". I found myself more worried about Becca, who deeply wants to redeem herself and her ego after not getting into college (not a spoiler) and brave a whole new life super different from her own. There's a large cast of characters that demonstrates the realities of big city live v. smaller, sheltered city life. While I LOVE Marisol and Raj, F*cky kind of scared me. Yes, that's his real name! Also, I hate hate hate Becca's manipulative and gaslighting ex in the best kind of way. What a jerk.Such a good summer read, and if you like LA or live in it, you'll catch a lot of cool references. LIKE!!!
    more
  • Lindsey
    July 23, 2017
    Cute read, but I hated her annoying mom. And her road to stardom seemed a little contrived. Can't win 'em all.
  • bookrockbetty
    July 10, 2017
    4.5!!! Review to come!
  • Faith
    March 17, 2017
    I received an ARC on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. (Thanks!)Rating: 4.5 starsHello, Sunshine was just a fun YA contemporary book to read. It's about a teenage girl named Becca Harrington, who moves to LA to pursue an acting career when she doesn't get accepted into college. She has a year to try out this dream before she has to reapply to go to college. With the help of her new LA friends, she starts the difficult journey of becoming an actress.This novel is kind of like a cheerier I received an ARC on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. (Thanks!)Rating: 4.5 starsHello, Sunshine was just a fun YA contemporary book to read. It's about a teenage girl named Becca Harrington, who moves to LA to pursue an acting career when she doesn't get accepted into college. She has a year to try out this dream before she has to reapply to go to college. With the help of her new LA friends, she starts the difficult journey of becoming an actress.This novel is kind of like a cheerier version of London Belongs to Me. Like in London Belongs to Me, the main character is struggling to get into the entertainment industry and is learning to be in a new industry and is dealing with rejection. In some ways, Hello, Sunshine kind of felt like a NA novel. Becca is 18, living by herself, struggling to pay her bills in LA. There is some sex scenes that are kinda described as well. I wouldn't say it was A Court of Mist and Fury level of sexy scenes but I wouldn't say it is entirely tame.I loved that this book had a really clear plot. Sometimes YA contemporary books don't really go anywhere and as a avid fantasy reader, I sort of always want the characters to be going toward a goal. In Hello, Sunshine, Becca has a goal list, which sort of marked the passage of time and drove the book along.I also loved the romance in this book. The love interest is kinda Becca's friend before he becomes her romantic interest. I would have liked some more scenes of them together but I think that the romance was not exactly a focus of the novel.Instead, Hello, Sunshine was focused on Becca's friendship with Marisol, Becca adult-ing and her acting career. (all of which I liked!) Becca and Marisol's friendship was so pure. They supported each other in their acting careers (Marisol would help Becca get ready) and in surviving in LA, living by themselves. I loved reading about their adventures in LA and I totally would love to have Marisol as a friend.Becca's adulting journey was so relatable. I mean, I totally wouldn't go as crazy as she did with her credit card spending, but I could understand what it is like living by yourself in a new city. Watching her struggle in her waitressing job was so relatable! I thought it was so fascinating to read from the perspective of a character who didn't get into college. It's just a different perspective that I don't see often in YA and I thought it was really well done. As a booknerd, I loved that Becca used a book to navigate the acting industry. Trust me, the only way I can adult so well is because of books and the internet.I also loved the portrayal of the acting industry. You get to see Becca auditioning for commercials, discovering the play scene and seeing the indie side of acting. I thought it was really realistic. You see Becca get some success, but she also gets her hopes up and things don't work out. But that doesn't get Becca down! It's quite inspiring how she never gave up.I would highly recommend this novel to anyone in college who wants a chick-lit kind of YA novel. It's definitely for an older audience because of the sexual content and I think older audiences would relate to some of the themes better. Go grab a copy of this book when it releases on July 11th, 2017!
    more
  • Maggie
    June 19, 2017
    Loved, loved, loved! I am so happy Leila Howland is back with another YA book. And friends, I have to say I think she's grown a lot as an author since the Nantucket books and I loved those books, too! Becca is a killer character. She's smart, funny, goes after what she wants, but is still flawed and held back by things that hold many of us back (fear of rejection, wanting people to like her). Even though it was painful at times watching her struggle through life in LA, it was really such a joy. Loved, loved, loved! I am so happy Leila Howland is back with another YA book. And friends, I have to say I think she's grown a lot as an author since the Nantucket books and I loved those books, too! Becca is a killer character. She's smart, funny, goes after what she wants, but is still flawed and held back by things that hold many of us back (fear of rejection, wanting people to like her). Even though it was painful at times watching her struggle through life in LA, it was really such a joy. Yes, she made friends too easily and yes, I wanted to shake her at times for not just doing the things she should do (but I feel that way about myself, so...) but she was still so much fun. This is such a good coming of age story that's told in a way that feels original, true, and relatable. Read it!
    more
  • Rachel
    July 16, 2017
    HELLO, SUNSHINE is a fun and hopeful, sweet and also bittersweet, thoroughly engaging, and incredibly entertaining read. Its heroine, Becca, is both optimistic and anxious, lovable yet maddening, completely relatable, and absolutely adorable. And with an adventure in Los Angeles that is full of highs and lows, successes and failures, financial and emotional challenges, and challenging and interesting and odd people, it promises to be a captivating and utterly delightful, one-sit read.Becca Harri HELLO, SUNSHINE is a fun and hopeful, sweet and also bittersweet, thoroughly engaging, and incredibly entertaining read. Its heroine, Becca, is both optimistic and anxious, lovable yet maddening, completely relatable, and absolutely adorable. And with an adventure in Los Angeles that is full of highs and lows, successes and failures, financial and emotional challenges, and challenging and interesting and odd people, it promises to be a captivating and utterly delightful, one-sit read.Becca Harrington wished she could put a positive spin on her decision to move to Los Angeles to spend a year pursuing a career in acting. But she would much rather be going to college like everyone else in her class, even if it meant going to school in the same city as her rival, Brooke.She never thought every school she’d applied to would reject her for one mistake. She never thought her boyfriend would bail. And she never expected to be filled with such doubt and uncertainty about herself, her abilities, and her future.Unless she can figure out how to support herself, learn to survive and get ahead in a city as cutthroat and temperamental as Los Angeles - without a car - and overcome her self-esteem issues - in an industry that is known for destroying confidence - she’ll have to go back home, reapply to college, and hope she doesn’t get turned down again.Though with a plan, a little bit of luck, a few good ideas, a couple of friends to lend a hand, and the courage to take chances, she just might make it.Leila Howland wrote a story that is uplifting, though not overly so. She put Becca on an emotional rollercoaster. She gave her a number of lucky breaks, but balanced them out with crushing losses. She introduced her to some wonderful people, but also those that weren’t nearly as nice or as normal. And she tested her strength, her resiliency, her adaptability, and her willingness to do whatever it takes to succeed.HELLO, SUNSHINE is not a cotton candy read - super sweet, light and fluffy, and nothing more. While it has moments that are upbeat and hilarious, it has many more that are substantive. Becca learns a lot about what it means to be an adult, to rely on herself, to persevere, to choose her own path. She also learns what it’s like to wear a bear costume, to eat yogurt without a spoon, to get creative with shower curtains, and just how expensive juice can be in Los Angeles.For those looking for a summer - or anytime - read that will make them laugh, keep them hooked, make them root for the heroine a bit more often than they’ll want to throttle her, and that will give them a taste of the life of an aspiring young actress in L.A., HELLO, SUNSHINE is a must.
    more
  • Sherry
    July 12, 2017
    I enjoyed both of Leila Howland’s earlier novels set in Nantucket, but I have more mixed feelings about her newest book.Becca Harrington decides to move to Los Angeles to try to make it as an actress after not getting accepted at any of the colleges she applied to. Still reeling from that rejection, she promptly gets dumped by her boyfriend as soon as she arrives in L.A. Becca has no choice but to make the best of things, so she starts doing everything she can to make her acting dreams come true I enjoyed both of Leila Howland’s earlier novels set in Nantucket, but I have more mixed feelings about her newest book.Becca Harrington decides to move to Los Angeles to try to make it as an actress after not getting accepted at any of the colleges she applied to. Still reeling from that rejection, she promptly gets dumped by her boyfriend as soon as she arrives in L.A. Becca has no choice but to make the best of things, so she starts doing everything she can to make her acting dreams come true. She gets a job as a waitress, looks for acting gigs, and tries to get an agent. While she has some successes, everything is a lot harder than she thought it would be. What gets her through is the support of her new friends—Marisol, another actress, and Raj, an aspiring director and screenwriter (who just happens to be really cute). However, as Becca flounders, she starts to wonder whether it’s really possible to succeed in Hollywood.Becca is an appealing character. She’s smart and spunky. Her plans for her life are totally upended when she doesn’t get into college and her boyfriend dumps her, but she keeps on trying, even when she doubts herself. Becca seems like a real 18-year-old, in that she makes impulsive decisions and doesn’t always make the best choices. It made me cringe when she blew a big tip on buying an expensive shirt, but an 18-year-old from a well-to-do prep school background may not have ever had the opportunity to learn that lesson. It’s her acting adventures that leave me a little conflicted about this book. On the one hand, the author actually was a member of a New York theater company, so some of the details she includes about life as an actor seem very realistic. At the same time, Becca’s successes sometimes come just a little too easily to seem real to me. She just happens to get invited along to sing karaoke and then lands a commercial job that pays thousands of dollars? I suppose it’s possible, but it doesn’t seem very likely. In particular, the way Becca finally lands an agent seems more like a fairy tale than anything approaching reality, and that part of the novel really hit a sour note for me.While I had some problems with this book, readers who are looking for a feel-good story about a teen pursuing her dreams will probably enjoy the novel.An eARC of this novel was provided by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly
    July 4, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Hello, Sunshine is a quick, fun read about a teenage girl trying to make her way in the tough world of L. A. Becca Harrington sets out to make her acting dreams come true after being rejected from all of the colleges she applied to. To top it off, her boyfriend dumps her right as she gets there, leaving her heartbroken, but also determined. She's is ready to prove herself to the kids back home who said she wo Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Hello, Sunshine is a quick, fun read about a teenage girl trying to make her way in the tough world of L. A. Becca Harrington sets out to make her acting dreams come true after being rejected from all of the colleges she applied to. To top it off, her boyfriend dumps her right as she gets there, leaving her heartbroken, but also determined. She's is ready to prove herself to the kids back home who said she wouldn't make it, the colleges that wouldn't take her, and to her now-ex, hoping maybe in the process she'll even win him back. Like I said, this book is a quick read, but it is also an enjoyable one. It was interesting to see how Becca handled her setbacks, and it made you cheer for her when she finally seemed to be accomplishing her goals. Along the way, Becca meets new people and makes two really great friends, Marisol and Raj. The main downside of this book for me was that at times it felt superficial, as far as the characters and relationships. I didn't feel like there was as much depth there to make the characters and their relationships with one another feel realistic. I don't mean to be a cynic, but I almost have a hard time believing Becca became friends with Marisol and Raj so fast. I know there are many good, kind people out there, but finding two of them right off the bat in L. A. seemed like an extreme case. Also, the pacing of this book seemed kind of slow at times. I think there was a definite arc to Becca's storyline and growth, but there were times where it seemed to be taking a long time to get there. Especially when Becca was out trying to find an agent or an acting gig. After a little bit, it felt like a lot was going on but not much was happening. As for the ending, I wasn't a fan of that little twist with Marisol. It felt very random and out of left field and I really didn't feel like it was necessary, especially that close to the end of the book. It just created unnecessary drama that I could've done without. Overall, it was still a fun read, it just wasn't my favorite.
    more
  • Kait's Bookshelf
    June 27, 2017
    I was absolutely thrilled when I received an advanced reader copy of Hello, Sunshine from Disney-Hyperion because I’ve loved all of their young adult novels that I’ve read in the past. Hello, Sunshine did not disappoint. While this was the first book by Leila Howland that I’ve read, I can assure you that it will not be my last.The synopsis of this book intrigued me right away. An eighteen year old prep school graduate finds herself doing the walk of shame through her school hallways and pretty m I was absolutely thrilled when I received an advanced reader copy of Hello, Sunshine from Disney-Hyperion because I’ve loved all of their young adult novels that I’ve read in the past. Hello, Sunshine did not disappoint. While this was the first book by Leila Howland that I’ve read, I can assure you that it will not be my last.The synopsis of this book intrigued me right away. An eighteen year old prep school graduate finds herself doing the walk of shame through her school hallways and pretty much all over town when she is not accepted into any of the colleges she’s applied to. So she decides to do the next best thing and most logical thing in her eyes – move to L.A. to become an actress. What could go wrong?I was surprised by how much I got into this story. The writing was excellent! I was so drawn into the story that when I turned the last page I actually said out loud, “No, don’t be over!” It wasn’t because the story ended with a cliffhanger or anything but because I had become attached to these characters and didn’t want their stories to end.I loved the main character, Becca, right away! She was very relatable, especially for the target audience of young adult. I absolutely loved the dreamer spirit that Howland conveys through Becca and her two friends, Raj and Marisol. I also appreciated the underlying theme of friendship. One of the things on Becca’s “to do” list after moving to L.A. was to make a friend or two. Life is hard, no matter what age you are, and friends are important to have. Even when we want to make it “on our own,” we can still get lonely, and friends can be lifelines just by being there. I loved how Howland wove the importance of friendship into Becca’s story of independence. All in all, I thought it was a great read, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys young adult novels. Read Full Review at: KaitsBookshelf.com
    more
  • Cindy Mitchell
    July 10, 2017
    Howland, Leila Hello, Sunshine, 358 pages. Hyperion, 2017. $18. Language: R (50+ swears, 25+ ‘f’); Mature Content: PG-13 (off page sex, body parts); Violence: G.As her long-time boyfriend drops Becca off for her new life in LA, he also dumps her – right at the curb. Not the way Becca thought her one year to a new life would start. Instead of living with her aunt in safe Pasadena, she takes a risk and moves into a dingy apartment in Hollywood. Since her life is falling apart, she is determined to Howland, Leila Hello, Sunshine, 358 pages. Hyperion, 2017. $18. Language: R (50+ swears, 25+ ‘f’); Mature Content: PG-13 (off page sex, body parts); Violence: G.As her long-time boyfriend drops Becca off for her new life in LA, he also dumps her – right at the curb. Not the way Becca thought her one year to a new life would start. Instead of living with her aunt in safe Pasadena, she takes a risk and moves into a dingy apartment in Hollywood. Since her life is falling apart, she is determined to put herself in a place where she has a chance of making it. Following the advice of a self-help book, Becca makes her list and slowly starts crossing off items. She finds a couple of friends in her complex, hits the street with determination and some head shots and finds a day job at a diner ruled by a thankless head waitress. Small steps and setbacks come in succession. Then comes that point when Becca has to decide – is it finally time to call it quits? Perhaps it is.While Howland makes some parts of Becca’s life a little easier than reality (and why shouldn’t she), she still very adroitly weaves a real-feeling tale of making a go of it in Hollywood, without venturing into the unbelievable. I found that I liked Becca and her friends very much and wanted her to be happy more than anything else. Howland’s work is a cut above.HS – OPTIONAL. Cindy, Library Teacherhttps://kissthebook.blogspot.com/2017...
    more
  • Victoria Bunce
    July 10, 2017
    Please note: I received HELLO, SUNSHINE on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to both the Publisher and author.Loved it! Fabulous writing and the characters truly captured my heart. As a drama teacher/college coach, this book resonated with me in a lot of ways because I'm often with theater students in the trenches as they make similar decisions as Becca. Do you go to college for the next four years studying your craft and delaying your start in the business, or do you wing it Please note: I received HELLO, SUNSHINE on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to both the Publisher and author.Loved it! Fabulous writing and the characters truly captured my heart. As a drama teacher/college coach, this book resonated with me in a lot of ways because I'm often with theater students in the trenches as they make similar decisions as Becca. Do you go to college for the next four years studying your craft and delaying your start in the business, or do you wing it and pursue the Great American Dream? Becca chooses the path less taken because she doesn't get into any theater program (or college). That's a reality of theater kids because the competition is fierce for those few spots. Right off the bat, Becca loses her boyfriend. Then she realizes all that glitters is not gold and she might not achieve the Hollywood ending she has banked all of her hopes and dreams on. However, her journey to adulthood and success is right around the elusive corner. Becca, with the help of some really great friends and somewhat chill mother, learns while there's no straight and narrow path to achieving her acting dreams, it's those twists and turns life throws you that make all the difference.
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 16, 2017
    ~Disclaimer~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Becca Harrington has just made it to Los Angeles. After not being accepted into any of the Colleges that she applied to, Becca decides to go to L.A. and try to make it as an actress. She has everything planned out. Even where she will meet her boyfriend of two ~Disclaimer~ I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Becca Harrington has just made it to Los Angeles. After not being accepted into any of the Colleges that she applied to, Becca decides to go to L.A. and try to make it as an actress. She has everything planned out. Even where she will meet her boyfriend of two years every week Alex, whose going to Stanford. Everything quickly unravels when Alex breaks up with her while dropping her off at her cousins house in Pasadena. She moves into a very sketchy apartment on her own and makes a list of goal for herself.1. Get an agent2. Get curtains3. Get a pillow4. Buy pots and pansEtc.In her building she meets Raj and Marisol who help her navigate life in Hollywood. She has given herself one year before she goes back to Boston and goes to community college. Will she be able to get an agent, auditions or any roles in that time?I really enjoyed this book. Seeing Becca discover herself and finally believe that she wasn't a failure was great. She learns that everyone has their own path. You have to do what's right for you. On her own Becca discovered herself and became a better person because of it.I do have to say that in the short time she was in L.A Becca had a lot of big breaks. Kind of making it a little unbelievable and too easy.All in all it was a quick, fun read. I loved it and I loved Becca.5/5 ⭐
    more
Write a review