Lumberjanes, Vol. 1
FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX!At Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's camp for hard-core lady-types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are five rad, butt-kicking best pals determined to have an awesome summer together... And they're not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! The mystery keeps getting bigger, and it all begins here. Collects Lumberjanes No. 1-4.

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 Details

TitleLumberjanes, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 7th, 2015
PublisherBOOM! Box
ISBN1608866874
ISBN-139781608866878
Number of pages128 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 Review

  • Kat O'Keeffe
    May 5, 2015
    FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX! Fun and charming with a solid story and fantastic art! I want more!
  • karen
    November 30, 2015
    i am a fan of the spirit and the messaging and the energy of this book but i'm not personally crazy about either the artwork or the story. when this book first started making the rounds here on goodreads, for some reason i didn't clock that it was YA. i saw that people were adding it to their YA shelves, but i've come to terms with the fact that as long as there's a teenage character in a book, people are gonna shelve it as YA on goodreads regardless of whether it's intended for teen readers, o i am a fan of the spirit and the messaging and the energy of this book but i'm not personally crazy about either the artwork or the story. when this book first started making the rounds here on goodreads, for some reason i didn't clock that it was YA. i saw that people were adding it to their YA shelves, but i've come to terms with the fact that as long as there's a teenage character in a book, people are gonna shelve it as YA on goodreads regardless of whether it's intended for teen readers, or even appropriate for them. so when i finally decided to board this lumberjane-bandwagon and found it officially categorized in the teen section of the bookstore, it threw me for a loop for a second, but then i was all "i am glad i am now so broad-minded in the scope of my reading that i am not unwilling to read a book for a teen audience."and yet. it just read so young to me. young enough that you could probably get away with marketing this to a middle grade audience without any comprehension/content concerns. and having already adjusted (not lowered, mind you, but adjusted) my expectations to teen mode, i found myself requiring additional mental adjustments to try to fit in with the enthusiastic fans - to be the thoughtful reader this book deserved. maybe i'm just accustomed to the way teens in the YA novels i read sound like they're twenty-five and maybe this is a more accurate representation of how teens really speak and behave, but it still felt really childish and i don't think me-as-teen would have liked it. i think i would have felt talked-down to, the way religious material directed at teens misses that target of age-appropriateness by presenting unilaterally shiny and morally flawless characters who are perky and great at everything and willing to pitch in and fight fire and succor the needy, perfect and unstoppable like a fifties housewife on benzos. without, naturally, the benzos. as a female-person, it's hard not to want to love a book that's so oohrah girl power and full of smart math-loving girlnerds who say things like and that's emphasizing confidence and empowerment and athleticism and building strong female friendships, but it's just so excessively "HOLY ROLE MODEL, BATMAN!" that it becomes off-putting. it's a little too much of that tone that irked me in Boy Meets Boy where everything's acceptable! and girls can do anything! and conflicts are easily resolved! in this hunky dory goody goody role modelly wonderland! there's no tension here, and you know what happens when things are too relentlessly positive, right?when other perfectly normal emotions go unacknowledged? it's not at all bad, i guess i'm just too much of an old shriveled husk of cynical coal to not be filled with double-rainbow x chromosomes in response to this. i'm perplexed. i don't know how old these characters are meant to be, i don't understand how the magic works or what the blend of reality and fantasy is meant to serve, i don't know why everyone's going crazy for it. and that makes me feel lonesome. things i did like - fox tummies: every part that had to do with discovery channel-inspired phobias of blood-sucking catfish, river monsters, murder rivers etc… the fact that the pungeon master badge looks deeply ashamed and disappointed in itself. as it should. titillating subtext and pretty much every loud, adorable thing ripley says. ripley reminds me of a special girl i knew in the wayback - someone i was very close to and who rubbed off on me a bit, so i guess ripley also reminds me of ME, which makes me like her even more. here is a celebration of ripley whose "hungry" posture is the same as her "i have to pee" posture who is a marine biology enthusiast who likes kittens and also puppies who is willing to fight a rude bird for some chocolate and this especially made me misty, thinking about my old galpal, who was so refreshingly free from social niceties that when someone pissed her off, she'd just pee in their car at a party or something. my wonderful little beastgirl.i'll probably keep reading because sisterhood, but i'm not fangirling it yet.*******************************************3.5 stars for the reader-who-is-me, but i definitely love and respect it more-stars as an objective overseer acknowledging its important contribution to the bookworld.
    more
  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)
    July 10, 2015
    I was kind of disappointed with this one. I had thought going into this that Noelle Stevenson had done the art, but alas I was wrong. I kind of wish she would've done the art, because I wasn't a huge fan of Brooke Allen's style. It's kind of messy in my opinion. I still enjoyed the story and will definitely be picking up the next volume, but I just wasn't impressed with this volume.
    more
  • Patrick
    November 16, 2016
    I picked this up because so many of my friends that I trust have gushed about it. (That's how I end up picking up most of my books these days.)And I wanted to love it. But... I didn't.Don't get me wrong. I liked it fine. But that's the very definition of damning something with faint praise...This happens every once in a while. A book everyone else loves leaves me kinda feeling.... meh. This happens to everyone I think, and it's not an issue of quality. I think it's an issue of personal taste. I I picked this up because so many of my friends that I trust have gushed about it. (That's how I end up picking up most of my books these days.)And I wanted to love it. But... I didn't.Don't get me wrong. I liked it fine. But that's the very definition of damning something with faint praise...This happens every once in a while. A book everyone else loves leaves me kinda feeling.... meh. This happens to everyone I think, and it's not an issue of quality. I think it's an issue of personal taste. I think this is one of the books that I appreciate more than I enjoy. I see what it's doing, and the craft of the book is excellent, but it just isn't the right flavor for me. I felt the same about Tank Girl when I read it. I really wanted to like it, but... meh.So yeah. I liked it. Didn't love it. But I will pass along the huge gushy enthusiasm of many others. If you enjoy non-superhero comics, it's probably worth a try...
    more
  • Lola Reviewer
    July 17, 2015
    Err… Alright. This is not the tale I was expecting. Yetis, three-eyed foxes, talking animals, crazy boys (literally)… you name it, this graphic novel’s got so many paranormal things that I didn’t even bother to count them. I’m not going to lie, I thought the whole thing to be quite weird. You can’t make sense of it at all, and we’re not even given some kind of explanation for what’s happening. The characters just go along with everything, because… why wouldn’t they? They’re young, they want acti Err… Alright. This is not the tale I was expecting. Yetis, three-eyed foxes, talking animals, crazy boys (literally)… you name it, this graphic novel’s got so many paranormal things that I didn’t even bother to count them. I’m not going to lie, I thought the whole thing to be quite weird. You can’t make sense of it at all, and we’re not even given some kind of explanation for what’s happening. The characters just go along with everything, because… why wouldn’t they? They’re young, they want action, adventure, and I guess they, too, want to know what the hell is happening. But, well, it's such a childish quest.I also didn’t like the drawing style. It’s not… clean. It’s whatever and however; the colours are pretty, but the bodies and backgrounds… not so much. But hey, this is super personal and you might even disagree with me at one hundred percent because art is perceived differently by every living creature. Do you know about the webcomic The Black Brick Road of Oz? That’s my favorite kind of art style. I can say I love manga as style, too, but again, it depends of the artist. *shrugs*It doesn’t deserve a one-star rating, since it’s fast and entertaining in a strange way, but I sadly can’t bring myself to grant it more than two stars. Bah.
    more
  • Natalie
    March 26, 2016
    Lumberjanes follows a group of five butt-kicking best friends determined to have an awesome summer together. And they're not going to let a magical quest or an array of supernatural being get in their way!I’ve been looking to get my hands on this volume for months now. But I didn’t enjoy this graphic novel as much as I hoped I would, there was just something lacking in it for me.The characters weren’t as developed as I would have like and there wasn't one that stood out to me, although April man Lumberjanes follows a group of five butt-kicking best friends determined to have an awesome summer together. And they're not going to let a magical quest or an array of supernatural being get in their way!I’ve been looking to get my hands on this volume for months now. But I didn’t enjoy this graphic novel as much as I hoped I would, there was just something lacking in it for me.The characters weren’t as developed as I would have like and there wasn't one that stood out to me, although April managed to make me laugh on multiple occasions.Also, the action in this volume didn’t make me feel excited or scared or anything really…I just didn’t feel any connections to the art, plot, or characters.It was, however, a quick and funny read and I’m glad I flew through it.*Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Lumberjanes, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission!* This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Steph Sinclair
    October 17, 2015
    HA! This was so cute and hilarious. I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would. But with the solid artwork (IT'S SO PRETTY), the dialogue causing me to LOL multiple times and the story being just plain FUN, how could I not?Things I loved:- Loved that the camp sign had HARD CORE LADY TYPES nailed over "Ladies." - Also, FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX! Heck yeah, positive female friendships!- The Lumberjanes pledge! "Then there's a line about god or whatever." I DIED.- Unexpected puns. LOLOLOLOLOL. Pung HA! This was so cute and hilarious. I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would. But with the solid artwork (IT'S SO PRETTY), the dialogue causing me to LOL multiple times and the story being just plain FUN, how could I not?Things I loved:- Loved that the camp sign had HARD CORE LADY TYPES nailed over "Ladies." - Also, FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX! Heck yeah, positive female friendships!- The Lumberjanes pledge! "Then there's a line about god or whatever." I DIED.- Unexpected puns. LOLOLOLOLOL. Pungeon Master Badge. Can this be a thing? Let's make it a thing.- The clever and hilarious way gender is challenged. Loved it!Basically, I'm definitely reading the next one!
    more
  • Raeleen Lemay
    May 25, 2015
    WELL THIS WAS DISAPPOINTING. The plot basically made no sense at all, and the art didn't match the art on the cover which makes me so sad... There were a couple of funny moments (Ripley is incredible), but overall it was too silly for my taste.
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    December 11, 2015
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Allow me to introduce the Lumberjanes. They aren’t your typical girl scouts . . . Nope, these girls aren’t interested in selling cookies. They want ACTION and ADVENTURE!!! It’s action and adventure they will find at Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Hard-Core Lady-Types. Follow along as the girls face one quest after another and use their smarts . . . To make it past any obstacle in their way . . . Even Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/Allow me to introduce the Lumberjanes. They aren’t your typical girl scouts . . . Nope, these girls aren’t interested in selling cookies. They want ACTION and ADVENTURE!!! It’s action and adventure they will find at Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Hard-Core Lady-Types. Follow along as the girls face one quest after another and use their smarts . . . To make it past any obstacle in their way . . . Even stuff you always thought only existed in your nightmares . . . This was just about the most adorable thing I’ve ever seen. While the plot was kind of a bit all over the place, Lumberjanes was pure fun. I made a new friend . . . And confirmed something I’ve known for a long time . . . I keeeeeeeeeeeeed. The only things to really complain about is that something that can easily be read in less than 30 minutes costs so much money (Thank Jeebus for the library!) and that I might have a bit of a volatile reaction should I ever hear the phrase “what the junk?” again . . . I don’t care if they are children.
    more
  • Kristina Horner
    April 24, 2015
    I found this to be absolutely delightful and I can't wait to get more.
  • mark monday
    December 8, 2015
    sweet and goofy and perfect for my friend's kid. she'll love it! well I hope she loves it. the Lumberjanes are really supportive to each other and I can't remember the last time I've seen that in an adult comic. some great messages in here but nothing moralistic or obnoxious. the art is colorful and super fun. yay, Lumberjanes!
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 26, 2015
    I'm in love. Every boy's own adventure book I read as a kid has been expertly transformed into this totally fantastic badass lady-types, rip-roaring, fun never stops, comic of perfection. The characters are just screamingly wonderous; the art - a breath of fresh air; the story- hilarious. If you know anyone who is, or loves, a badass lady-type then make them read this because they will love it forever.
    more
  • Carmen
    July 7, 2015
    It is the urge to learn how to lay and follow trails, identify the healing abilities of local fauna, how to walk great distances and run even farther, and how to work around the unnatural and supernatural forces that a Lumberjane is bound to confront.This book was awesome.It's about 5 scouts at a summer camp. Age? Unclear. The book blurs the lines between fantasy and reality, for although the girls live in what seems to be a normal world, they keep encountering animals with three eyes. Also rive It is the urge to learn how to lay and follow trails, identify the healing abilities of local fauna, how to walk great distances and run even farther, and how to work around the unnatural and supernatural forces that a Lumberjane is bound to confront.This book was awesome.It's about 5 scouts at a summer camp. Age? Unclear. The book blurs the lines between fantasy and reality, for although the girls live in what seems to be a normal world, they keep encountering animals with three eyes. Also river monsters, yeti, and bear-women.PROS: - All the MCs are female. - And a variety of skin color, body type and sexuality is represented (in both males and females). Mal and Molly have a crush on each other and it's obvious to any (hopeful) reader that they will soon start a relationship. Other characters, such as April and Jen, express a romantic interest in boys. (But perhaps not only boys?) Not only do characters come in all skin tones, but they are chubby, thin, short, tall, with big thighs, skinny thighs, short hair, long hair.... great diversity. It's important to teach kids that bodies come in all shapes and sizes and colors. And everyone has a distinct, different, and vibrant personality. - The book is amazingly feminist without being all "We're feminist!" or giving readers the feeling like some kind of message is being forced on them. - Males are shown doing things like baking cookies, drinking tea, knitting, and scrapbooking (in addition to scout stuff, like starting fires, tracking, etc.). While clearly being romantically attracted to females. The one "manly-man" character who says stuff like "I am going to catch a fish by wrestling it away from a bear" is seen as a laughable buffoon, and later (view spoiler)[an evil villain. (hide spoiler)] - The art, especially when it comes to the supernatural creatures, is great. - The book is funny! I was laughing. Cute. - The book is smart! Anagrams, Fibonacci sequence, etc. CONS: - I don't like this drawing style where all the characters (except April) have beady little eyes. I enjoyed the end section of this volume because it included covers in a variety of drawing styles and I finally saw the characters with irises and pupils. o.O...Tl;dr - I just picked this up because I was seeing it everywhere on GR. It was great. A wonderful graphic novel for anyone, regardless of gender or age. Funny, adventurous, supernatural, brave, mysterious, strong female friendships, goodnatured, exciting and smart.I would say appropriate for all ages.
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    August 19, 2015
    The artwork was amazing but the rest was just kinda meh :(
  • Dannii Elle
    August 8, 2016
    This was just absolutely everything I wanted it to be! The characters were sassy, the colours were vibrant, the plot was action-packed and, basically, this just gave me all of the feminist feels. YAY for feisty female protagonists who kick butt!
  • Melki
    June 2, 2015
    Because I so enjoyed Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery, Goodreads and Amazon were constantly recommending this one, so much so that I finally broke down and bought it.Sigh.Lumberjanes, you're no Rat Queens.I was expecting art work like the excellent cover by Stevenson. BUT NO - the illustrations are by Brooke A. Allen and done in a rather sloppy, rather annoying, semi-manga style:The story itself was okay - girls at a summer camp have Indiana Jones-style adventures in the hopes of earning m Because I so enjoyed Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery, Goodreads and Amazon were constantly recommending this one, so much so that I finally broke down and bought it.Sigh.Lumberjanes, you're no Rat Queens.I was expecting art work like the excellent cover by Stevenson. BUT NO - the illustrations are by Brooke A. Allen and done in a rather sloppy, rather annoying, semi-manga style:The story itself was okay - girls at a summer camp have Indiana Jones-style adventures in the hopes of earning merit badges. There are encounters with three-eyed varmints and some overly-prepared guy scouts. (Their exceedingly rugged leader has the best line in the book - "I am going to catch a fish by wrestling it away from a bear.") The girls themselves don't seem to possess distinct personalities. They're just one big, ball of giggly teenaged fun.I seem to be pretty much alone in thinking this one was not the bee's knees. Maybe I'm just too old. (After all, I did just use the term "the bee's knees.") Or maybe it's because this - is the only camping badge I ever earned.
    more
  • Joe Valdez
    May 9, 2016
    I've never read J.K. Rowling's fiction but I now have a clue what readers who live and breathe the wizarding world of Harry Potter are so attracted to. I found an abundance of wonder and wit in Lumberjanes, a graphic novel series that requires less of a time commitment than the trip to Hogwarts and didn't tip the scale into a children's book for me. I should clarify that the creators of this series are not riffing on Rowling. There are enough authors doing that. This is not another fantasy serie I've never read J.K. Rowling's fiction but I now have a clue what readers who live and breathe the wizarding world of Harry Potter are so attracted to. I found an abundance of wonder and wit in Lumberjanes, a graphic novel series that requires less of a time commitment than the trip to Hogwarts and didn't tip the scale into a children's book for me. I should clarify that the creators of this series are not riffing on Rowling. There are enough authors doing that. This is not another fantasy series about a school for gifted children or magic, but I think Hogwarts lovers will relate to the imagination at play here; it slapped a giddy smile on my face and kept my attention rapt.Published April 2015, Lumberjanes, Vol 1: Beware the Kitten Holy contains four chapters, plus a cover gallery with thirty pages of alternate character designs or illustrations not seen in the book. It was written by Noelle Stevenson & Grace Ellis and illustrated by Brooke Allen. The series creators are Shannon Watters, Grace Ellis & Noelle Stevenson. This was the first graphic novel I've read. Ever. Something in the description from Goodreads reviewers tickled my fancy in a way no other graphic novel, comic or work of fantasy fiction really has--long names and geography and handshakes I have to learn are enough to give me an ice cream headache and keep me away from most epic fantasy.The story plunges the reader into the world of five Lumberjane scouts at Miss Quinzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Girls Hardcore Lady Types in the thick of the summer season. Long after dark, one of the Lumberjanes, a redhead in riding hood named April, is in the woods searching for something. April's flashlight locates two of her friends, an athletic blonde wearing a coonskin cap named Molly and her girlfriend, the terror stricken Mal. Their search has also turned up empty. The girls are soon joined by a rockabilly named Jo, and a cannonball named Ripley who's something of a simpleton.The Lumberjanes are surrounded by a pack of three-eyed foxes and when the creatures attack, Mal suggests something called a Little Red formation, which April and the others apparently go off script by administering an all-purpose butt stomp. The foxes stop their assault to wail "Beware the kitten holy," before disappearing. Mal responds with a recurring Lumberjanes curse, "What. The. Junk?!" Sneaking back to their cabin, the girls are caught out of bed by their cabin leader Jenny, a put-upon but respected Lumberjane responsible for the five girls and for laying down the law. "I should've taken that internship with the space program. It would've been less of a headache," she remarks as she escorts the girls to stand before Rosie, the camp director.April explains they violated eight camp policies to track a bearwoman, or as April describes it, "a super weird old lady" who she and Jo spotted outside their cabin before it turned into a bear. Waking the other three girls ("because FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX, obviously...") they went in search of the bearwoman before being surrounded by some foxes that didn't seem to like cats. Rosie promises the girls they'll see some stuff this summer they won't understand, and issues them all Up All Night badges for their moxie. In pursuit of their Naval Gauging badge, Everything Under the Sum badge and Robyn Hood badge, the Lumberjanes confront a river monster, a talking statute, hipster yetis and the scouts of Mr. Theodore Tarquin Reginald Lancelot Herman Crumpet's Camp for Boys.This novel is a demographics buster. While the Lumberjanes seem 12-15 years old, the appeal of the book is much broader than that. Much in the way that The Pee-Wee Herman Show conjured a world of puppets and cowboys by tapping into the kitsch of '50s television programming for kids, appealing to children on a superficial level while communicating to parents on the sly, Lumberjanes conjures supernatural mystery by mining the world of summer camps and scouting with that same love, plus monsters that the creators of Scooby Doo: Where Are You? never colored far enough outside the lines to produce. Everything the Lumberjanes experience reinforces their bonds of friendship and builds self-esteem.As an added plus, this book is hilarious. I take my reading habits seriously and cannot stand joke-oriented books. But I busted up each time the girls fled pell-mell from some monster, usually moments before one of the characters uttered a curse based on a female cultural pioneer ("What the Joan Jett...") The character work done on Jenny, the aggrieved cabin leader, is hysterical. Stevenson & Ellis don't make Jenny a butt of the jokes but the character's vexations make me believe the writers tapped into experiences babysitting as teenagers. Each chapter begins with a sample taken from the Lumberjanes Field manual, which I noticed is rife with spelling and grammatical errors that would give the girls even more reason to roll their eyes at it:To obtain the Naval Gauging badge a Lumberjane must be able to tie rapidly six different knots. She will find herself well versed in rope work as it can be extremely important in her future adventure, she must know how to splice ropes, use a palm and needle, and fling a rope coil. A Lumberjane must be able to row, pole, scull, and steer a boat; also bring a boat properly alongside and make fast. She must know how to box the compass, read a chart, and show use of parallel rules and dividers. She must be able to state direction by the stars and sun, and be capable of swimming fifty yards with shoes and clothes on.As other reviewers have commented, Stevenson & Ellis forward a progressive oriented vision without making an issue of it. There are no politics or current events in the book. There are no keywords like "same-sex relationship" in the book. Readers might even miss that Molly and Mal are a couple. It's just accepted and no one questions it. I liked how the girls demonstrated curiosity about the natural and unnatural world, running away when terrified but always using their Lumberjane badge skills to navigate the wilderness or solve puzzles. Each girl feels at times that they are not contributing to the group and that the others seem awfully close to each other, which of course is quickly proven untrue when the next weird monster or challenge arises and they are able to help.Summer officially begins on June 20 and Lumberjanes ended up being a terrific way to kick it off. As an adult, I hear about other adults who've forgotten what it was like to be a kid and perhaps in my determination to read Pulitzer Prize winning fiction or Russian classics, I've had to let go a lot of the content I gobbled up as a kid like The Pee-Wee Herman Show. This book helped me get back in touch with my imagination. I've ordered Vol. 2 and Vol. 3 in this series and imagine buying more as long as the creative dynamos behind this volume keep cranking them out. I'm happy to support them with my cash if they do.
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    December 23, 2014
    A small group of friends spend their summer at Lumberjanes Scout Camp where things get surprisingly weird. The surrounding forest is full of talking Yetis, three-eyed snakes, three-eyed falcons – three-eyed everythings! All clues point towards a mysterious tower as the source of the oddities. And off they go – what will they find? Lumberjanes was a lot more imaginative than I expected. I thought, modern young girls going to summer camp, it’s not going to be that great, probably some hipster nons A small group of friends spend their summer at Lumberjanes Scout Camp where things get surprisingly weird. The surrounding forest is full of talking Yetis, three-eyed snakes, three-eyed falcons – three-eyed everythings! All clues point towards a mysterious tower as the source of the oddities. And off they go – what will they find? Lumberjanes was a lot more imaginative than I expected. I thought, modern young girls going to summer camp, it’s not going to be that great, probably some hipster nonsense with the kids talking like witty adults, and then it turned into this kinda cool fantasy adventure. I wouldn’t say I loved it mostly as I’m not really the target audience, ie. younger readers, who’ll probably enjoy it more and actually find it funny. The look and overall flavour of the script reminded me of a Saturday morning cartoon on Nickelodeon or whatever channel da yoofs of today are watching. It’s nice to have a feminist comic with realistically depicted female body types who aren’t quipping non-stop. The characters are as you’d expect young teen girls to be: awkward, clumsy, silly, innocent-ish, and I liked that they’re not overly obsessed with their looks or boys and junk. Two of the girls also discover romantic feelings for each other and their burgeoning relationship was handled very sweetly with the girls sometimes holding hands but mostly avoiding each other’s gaze. The creative team obviously have a very strong attachment to the group though it does work against the comic at times. The panels are a bit too crowded as they try to give every one of the five characters an equal share of the spotlight. By focusing on all of the characters at once, it’s hard to distinguish between them. I ended up knowing them by singular traits rather than anything else: there’s the lil girl who’s goofy and adorable, the smart one, the strong one, and the remaining two are falling in love with each other. But at least they do have character traits. While the stories just about hold the attention, they sometimes feel a bit derivative. In particular, one issue is a clear homage to Indiana Jones with the famous door closing/hat grabbing scene played out again, and the faith walk scene in The Last Crusade as the girls have to find out the right squares to step across a chasm without falling in. Some stories underline the feminist angle a little too obviously like the opening scene where the girl are fighting wolves and beating them, telling us this ain’t no Red Riding Hood kinda tale. Lumberjanes isn’t without its problems but I feel like those stem from my perspective being an adult male reader. Give this comic to a tween girl? I think they’d really enjoy it. It’s a very kid-friendly all-ages comic full of action and adventure with a group of likeable characters. It might not be for me but in a way I’m glad that it’s not. It’s great that there’s a comic out there catering for a completely different audience, and that it has as many positive messages in it as Lumberjanes does.
    more
  • Brigid *Flying Kick-a-pow!*
    January 18, 2016
    My younger siblings have really gotten into these books lately, plus I'd seen them a lot around the internet and in bookstores and whatnot. So today, I picked up the first volume––and read the whole thing in one sitting, naturally.Just ... SO MUCH YES. I loved this so, so much. For many reasons:• It reminded me a lot of my Girl Scout days. (I laughed a lot at the Lumberjanes pledge––"Then there's a line about God or whatever." It's too real.)• The humor is spot-on. There were times I had to just My younger siblings have really gotten into these books lately, plus I'd seen them a lot around the internet and in bookstores and whatnot. So today, I picked up the first volume––and read the whole thing in one sitting, naturally.Just ... SO MUCH YES. I loved this so, so much. For many reasons:• It reminded me a lot of my Girl Scout days. (I laughed a lot at the Lumberjanes pledge––"Then there's a line about God or whatever." It's too real.)• The humor is spot-on. There were times I had to just put the book down for a second because I was laughing so hard. (THE PUNGEON MASTER, oh my gosh.)• I love how diverse the characters are. They're all different shapes, sizes, and colors (and I suspect, sexualities)––and they all have unique personalities as well. • SO MUCH FEMALE FRIENDSHIP (and romance????). <3• The art style is wonderful. As I already said, I love the character designs––but also I loved the scenery, the characters' facial expressions, etc. And I loved the cover gallery at the end of the book. The final word:I love this book! I only finished it like half an hour ago and it's already one of my faves. It's adorable, hilarious, and empowering. Read it right now. RIGHT NOW.
    more
  • Raina
    March 15, 2015
    This collects the first 4 volumes of the comic into a small paperback, and I'd add it to every middle school & library shelf. Fun, spastic, feminist, delightful. The Girl Scout camper in me can't wait for more.
  • The Holy Terror
    May 1, 2015
    LOVED this. So much.And the colors are just beautiful. These Lumberjane scouts use their wits and rely a great deal on friendship when things go awry. Each issue contributes to the overarching story which helped keep me interested, and monsters, hilarious hijinks, and a fascinating mystery surround Miss Quinzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Hardcore Lady Types.HARDCORE LADY TYPES.Read this. Now.
    more
  • Sesana
    July 11, 2014
    This was absolutely adorable, and I loved it. The best way I can describe it is if there were a Girl Scout camp in Gravity Falls. There's very little that you could do to make this more perfect for me. As you might guess from the Gravity Falls comparison, this is filled with really weird and basically inexplicable things. I don't really need a reason for why there's, say, a sea monster in the river. I just need to have fun reading about it. And the adventures are fun, because the girls are fun.A This was absolutely adorable, and I loved it. The best way I can describe it is if there were a Girl Scout camp in Gravity Falls. There's very little that you could do to make this more perfect for me. As you might guess from the Gravity Falls comparison, this is filled with really weird and basically inexplicable things. I don't really need a reason for why there's, say, a sea monster in the river. I just need to have fun reading about it. And the adventures are fun, because the girls are fun.And that's where the book really shines, for me. I love this cast of characters. The girls are so lively, capable, and effortlessly diverse. But yes, it is kind of a big cast. With this many characters, you always run the risk of leaving somebody behind. But the writing tries really hard to keep them all included, which almost goes too far in the other direction. Because everybody is always sharing the spotlight, nobody gets a lot of depth added to their characterization. It's a bit of a draw back, but I like what I did learn about them so much that I seriously don't really care.All of the weird happenings aside, this is a really upbeat comic. I mean, just look at how many times I've used the word "fun", or something like it, in this review. It's simply enjoyable to read. The bright, poppy colors help, for sure, but it's really the total package that delivers. There's also a very tweenage feel to the book, but I'm totally immature so that doesn't bother me in the slightest.
    more
  • Jan Philipzig
    August 4, 2015
    High-energy adventure romp for "hardcore lady-types" of all ages - nothing you haven't seen before, but lively and likable enough.
  • Miriam
    November 30, 2015
    This was on the "too much" side of cute and quirky for my taste, but it was clever enough that I still enjoyed it. It was a quick read and I am curious about the mysteries so I'll probably check out the next volume at least. But not right away. After something less sugary.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    May 25, 2015
    Cute and sweet. A mix of the Powderpuff Girls and Eleanor Roosevelt.
  • Maddie (Heart Full Of Books)
    February 27, 2016
    A strong female friendship, adventure and chaos, what's not to love? All of these girls defy appearance stereotypes and it's truly magical.
  • Kaitlin
    August 23, 2015
    Well this is a book I knew I would love because of how much I enjoyed Nimona (also by Noelle Stevenson) and the amount of my friends who have read and loved it. This is the story of Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley who are a group of young excitable girls off on their summer holidays at a summer camp. They're ambitious and clever, witty and enjoyable to read about and this is a book which I believe would totally appeal to anyone anywhere of any age :)This story reminded me of what it was like t Well this is a book I knew I would love because of how much I enjoyed Nimona (also by Noelle Stevenson) and the amount of my friends who have read and loved it. This is the story of Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley who are a group of young excitable girls off on their summer holidays at a summer camp. They're ambitious and clever, witty and enjoyable to read about and this is a book which I believe would totally appeal to anyone anywhere of any age :)This story reminded me of what it was like to be a member of the Brownies and Guides and I think it's so reminiscent of the ideals which are taught by these organisations. With that said it's totally different from my personal experience of Brownies and Guides because there's fantastical creepy sea monsters, spooky tombs, crazy people, Yetis and even the Kitten Holy :) The girls manage to fight their way through and survive an enormous amount of crazy bonkers stuff and come out the other side with their friendship and their badges in tact! It's fabulous!There were some truly wonderful moments of puns or jokes which made me laugh and smile, and there were many moments where I fell in love with whatever imaginative adventure they were on because of their humour and personalities. It's a book which I think is super easy to fall in love with from page one, and it keeps your attention all the way through with the joy and smiles it produces :)The artwork is also truly stunning in this comic because it's vibrant, bright and full of life. Everything is bold and beautiful and full of strong, saturated colour palettes. I also have to say that I think that Brooke Allen and Noelle Stevenson are both just fabulous at capturing the facial expressions and gestures which truly show the adventure and excitement of the characters and they're all consistently wonderful. It's bold, bright and full of laughs and light, why would you not give it a go? 5*s, fantastic, and recommended for kids and adults alike :)
    more
  • Melina de Souza
    January 27, 2017
    Queria ter tido a oportunidade de ler essa história quando era mais nova, mas mesmo assim gostei bastante e quero ler os outros volumes :)Gostei muito da amizade entre as meninas e adorei as várias referências a mulheres fortes nos diálogos.Apesar de ter gostado do estilo da Brooke Allen, estava esperando encontrar desenhos da Noelle Stevenson dentro (já que a capa foi feita por ela).Amei as artes que têm no final <3
    more
  • Ashley
    April 1, 2016
    So this was really cute, but didn't wow me. The humor was 10/10. But the story just wasn't quite there for me. Will definitely continue this series though, it's super fun.
  • Kai
    July 4, 2016
    Lumberjanes is one of the cutest, funniest and loveliest graphic novels I've read.To be fair, I haven't yet read that many. But it's hard to find any, that capture my interest as much as this series does. (Of course there's Saga, Vol. 1, which is by far my favourite.)Anyhow, what I enjoy in graphic novels is a creative and orginal plot, lots of colours, as well as diverse and exciting characters. Lumberjanes has all of that and it's cute as a bad full of kittens. Thumbs up!
    more
Write a review